View Full Version : Everyones real life

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5

beez
1 Jul 2008, 13:14
Welcome back Tess!! Hope you enjoyed your break

Snag Breac
1 Jul 2008, 13:32
Thanks to everyone, it did take a while to decide it's time to just say it but I am glad I did. I don't expect special treatment, I just expect the same rules as apply to others being enforced ..... but hey shite happens.

Good to see the Irish form in use here, Tess.:thumbsu::p None of that boring oul "shit".

spartan-magpie
2 Jul 2008, 22:14
im a sparkologist... soon to get my licence and start my own business... finally...

Rgs011
23 Jul 2008, 15:58
My turn?
I am 31, Married, 3 Kids (2 x Boys...both Pies 1 x Girl ...likes Cats because she likes the animal/cat...will change that!).

I am a Senior Project Management Consultant, Masters degree, lived all around Australia as I was in the Air Force for a number of years, although I am a Country Vic boy originally, I call Melbourne home. Spent a large amount of time in Canberra too.

I go to every Pies game (Legends Member) except interstate (although been to a few). Love most ball sports, Victory, Storm, also Leeds Utd mad and go the UK at least once a year to watch them.

Was an average player in my youth, spent some time with the Murray U/18's before losing interest, although I made a semi comeback this year with Broadford before work became too busy for me train etc.

tess
23 Jul 2008, 16:22
Broadford, well it's good to have another strong country lad here.

RRRooocccaaa
23 Jul 2008, 16:25
One in, all in.

37, web designer, married, 1 daughter. BA in Graphic Design at Bendigo. Pommy/Irish background.

Melbourne boy (Bayswater :eek:), but grew up in Mt Beauty as a teenager. Lived and worked in Townsville, Sydney, back here in Melbourne and in London for 2 and a half years.

Set up our own design and web company here in Melbourne Town so work here but live in Sleepy Hollow now.

Mum always told me when I was about 4 and living in Mentone that we bumped into Tommy Hafey running on the beach - he picked me up and said I had good shoulders for a footballer. How wrong he was :p

Have bled black and white since around '76 - used to have a guernsey with the big number 30 on it. By rights I should probably adopt Josh Fraser as my Magpie Buddy list but I can't help loving the big lug Rocca (and his bigger brother for that matter) for the sheer joy he's given us in the last 10 years.

Snag Breac
23 Jul 2008, 22:26
One in, all in.

37, web designer, married, 1 daughter. BA in Graphic Design at Bendigo. Pommy/Irish background.

Ace! When the day comes that I need a website, I'll know who to go to.:thumbsu: And if I didn't spend so much time on BF, that wouldn't be too far away.:o

pipeline
25 Jul 2008, 16:02
http://blogs.trb.com/sports/football/jets/blog/simpsons_handshake.jpg

That looks just a tad like Irish wrestling a la J P Donleavy. What do you reckon Snag?

RiverRat
25 Jul 2008, 16:21
I run an unsuccessful shrimp company.

Snag Breac
25 Jul 2008, 16:28
That looks just a tad like Irish wrestling a la J P Donleavy. What do you reckon Snag?

I reckon it looks fairly discreet. We should use it to identify oneanother when we get together at the Lexus Centre. And see if we can't get them to use Riverrat's shrimp company as caterers. He needs a leg up.:thumbsu:

collingwood1992
25 Jul 2008, 19:29
hey... ok, year 10 student (private school but grew up in public schools til high school, and i agree there are a few wankers in the private schools), dont post much on BF but visit a lot. Live in Melbourne... Play footy and cricket. Love Collingwood and always have. I also work at Safeway casualy.

Godfrey Jones
13 Aug 2008, 08:01
hey... ok, year 10 student (private school but grew up in public schools til high school, and i agree there are a few wankers in the private schools), dont post much on BF but visit a lot. Live in Melbourne... Play footy and cricket. Love Collingwood and always have. I also work at Safeway casualy.

and your boss doesnt mind??

ba dum pshhhhh

lol :o

another fact when i was 18, 19 i tried stand up comedy. i had some good gigs, some terribly bad gigs. my worst gig was the one they decided to feature on channel 31 lol

Optimax
13 Aug 2008, 11:48
and your boss doesnt mind??

ba dum pshhhhh

lol :o

another fact when i was 18, 19 i tried stand up comedy. i had some good gigs, some terribly bad gigs. my worst gig was the one they decided to feature on channel 31 lol
really stand up comedy?

Id like to try that one day im quick of wit, cant actually write down jokes and read from script.

IMsure id bomb terribly but an experience none the less

Godfrey Jones
13 Aug 2008, 17:14
yeh the experience is great i did it like 8 times lol. the worst as i said was in front of like 400 people in a final for some competition and i just panicked on stage :o

the best was in front of my uni, i was so scared because i knew everybody in the crowd but it went great thankfully, and i was performing along side some well known aussie comedians at our comedy night

MagpieGirl_13
13 Aug 2008, 20:55
But, GJ..... are you funny??? :eek::p:D

Will you make me ROFLMAOLOL!!!!!!! ???? :p:D:p:D

Godfrey Jones
13 Aug 2008, 21:15
nah im not funny haha.

oh well i try :o

i forgot all my jokes though

one of them was about the silly bell that the tram drivers use when they get angry lol

i was just talking nonsense up there :p

Snag Breac
13 Aug 2008, 21:22
nah im not funny haha.

oh well i try :o

i forgot all my jokes though

one of them was about the silly bell that the tram drivers use when they get angry lol

i was just talking nonsense up there :p

They say there are 2 kinds of comics; the ones who say funny things, and the ones who are just funny. Maybe you fit into the latter category?:p

Godfrey Jones
13 Aug 2008, 21:25
well, the crowd did start laughing before i even said anything :o

Snag Breac
13 Aug 2008, 21:30

Aha! How encouraging is that?

MagpieGirl_13
13 Aug 2008, 21:35

Well that's usually an indication that the crowd is laughing AT you not WITH you......:p:D:D

Godfrey Jones
13 Aug 2008, 21:41
thats what i was getting at lol

hey as long as they're laughing right :p

Optimax
13 Aug 2008, 22:43
thats what i was getting at lol

hey as long as they're laughing right :p
That is the theory i work on

tess
2 Sep 2008, 15:28
In a mischievous thread about Buddy Franklin wacker said this....
Tess is off the red card....
To which Figjam responded......
He should stay off the red wine!!

As this quote from Figjam shows even in 2008 we have recalcitrant's among us. I reported the post, but as Figjam and I have "dealt" with each other for years on the forums I highly doubt this was an "honest" slip.

Some people think I play the Victim, I don't but when things like this happen I think a spotlight should be shone on the perpetrator.

Snag Breac
2 Sep 2008, 15:40
In a mischievous thread about Buddy Franklin wacker said this....

To which Figjam responded......

As this quote from Figjam shows even in 2008 we have recalcitrant's among us. I reported the post, but as Figjam and I have "dealt" with each other for years on the forums I highly doubt this was an "honest" slip.

Some people think I play the Victim, I don't but when things like this happen I think a spotlight should be shone on the perpetrator.

Surely both Whacker's and Figjam's comments were in the spirit of light-hearted repartee, Tess? Godfrey Jones called me a, "nutter" yesterday - moi! - just because I had a horde of Riff's after him. Didn't worry me, or Godfrey.

No point in running towards disaster with your arms open, or finding offfence where none was intended. Give yourself peace.

tess
2 Sep 2008, 15:47
Snag considering I have as I expressed in this thread had a sex change male to female and Figjam knows that very well I've got no drama with being told to get off the sauce or juice or cookies. I have an issue with being reffered to as a male when the author should know betterer.

beez
2 Sep 2008, 15:49
Godfrey Jones called me a, "nutter" yesterday - moi! - just because I had a horde of Riff's after him. Didn't worry me, or Godfrey.

Thats coz you are a "nutter" :p

NB. please reply with some of your fancy big, bold, colourful writing

Snag Breac
2 Sep 2008, 15:55
Thats coz you are a "nutter" :p

NB. please reply with some of your fancy big, bold, colourful writing

NEVER! That would be so corny and predictable.:o

didaka
17 Sep 2008, 15:06
Don't think I've posted in this thread.

My name is Brent, I'm 25 years old, I live on the Mornington Peninsula.

Was the normal sort of person growing up. Played a lot of sport, had a lot of fun, chased a lot of girls and completed school.

Moved into the trade industry when I left school but didn't ever really settle with it, and never really enjoyed it, so I was young enough to make a quick career change went back to school and completed studies to work in the fitness industry which I moved into when I finished my schooling.

This year I was diagnosed with a form of cancer which is rare in my age bracket which appears to be under control, but I am still being treated for and will continue to until early 2009.

I am currently off work and living under my family's care, but once I am ready to move back into normal lifestyle I plan to move into motivational speaking.

I have been in a steady relationship since I was 21 and am happy with the way things are panning out there.

heffernone
17 Sep 2008, 15:50
I'm a 16 year old schoolgirl, my name is Tiffany and I'm fun loving and adventurous, petite but busty. I like white satin underwear and older men that barrack for the Pies.. I'd do anything for them

scruffydog
17 Sep 2008, 19:07
Haha, heffer.

My name is Shay (yes, it's a boy's name too :() and I'm a 23 year old male living in Greensborough, Melb.

Did a bunch of IT related stuff after high school and last year finally found myself a full time job in the field. Pretty good one too... unfortunately I worked for 6 months and then not unlike Didaka up there, was diagnosed with cancer. Fortunately it's Hodgkin's Lymphoma (one of the 'curable' cancers) and everything so far is going to plan. I've actually just finished all the treatment and will have some tests soon enough to see how they went. I'm far too stubborn to give in to cancer either way. Not until we win a damn flag, anyway.

I still remember the 1990 GF (impressive, considering I was 5 at the time) as I was watching it at my grandparents house and had to leave before the end. We checked the final scores on the way home via a TV in a shop window :)

I'm the only person in my family who cares at all about football, which is sad.

I'm a paid member of CFC this year for the first time, and will continue to be for as long as I live.

So... hi :)

tess
17 Sep 2008, 19:15
Good to hear your treatment is going well Shay, those of us with good health should be so thankful.

Ya wanna join us in our player sponsorship attempt?

scruffydog
17 Sep 2008, 19:42
Ya wanna join us in our player sponsorship attempt?

I saw it, and was considering it... but seriously I'm not working at the moment so I probably should stop committing to extra costs when my income is massively stunted (Sickness Allowance from Centrelink is all I've got). For example I recently started sponsoring a child through World Vision.

I certainly do like the idea though, and if I go back to work by the time you're still taking people will let you know.

heffernone
17 Sep 2008, 20:38
Haha, heffer.

My name is Shay (yes, it's a boy's name too :() and I'm a 23 year old male living in Greensborough, Melb.

Well Shay if I really was Tiffany you'd be my first choice.. you keep kicking arse Collingwood style!!!

Snag Breac
17 Sep 2008, 21:00
Haha, heffer.

Did a bunch of IT related stuff after high school and last year finally found myself a full time job in the field. Pretty good one too... unfortunately I worked for 6 months and then not unlike Didaka up there, was diagnosed with cancer. Fortunately it's Hodgkin's Lymphoma (one of the 'curable' cancers) and everything so far is going to plan. I've actually just finished all the treatment and will have some tests soon enough to see how they went. I'm far too stubborn to give in to cancer either way. Not until we win a damn flag, anyway.

I still remember the 1990 GF (impressive, considering I was 5 at the time) as I was watching it at my grandparents house and had to leave before the end. We checked the final scores on the way home via a TV in a shop window :)

I'm a paid member of CFC this year for the first time, and will continue to be for as long as I live.

You're just down the train line form me, Scruffy. And Shay is a proud Irish name which means "Noble" and "Hawk-like". The original spelling was Seaghdha.

Very sorry to hear we have another young lad with cancer, but you seem to be doing well. You and Didaka = black and white blood brothers, and a blessing for this board.:thumbsu:

scruffydog
17 Sep 2008, 21:43
Noble and hawk-like? Hah, I'll take that :)

Thanks though. I'm getting through this fine and I'm sure Didaka will too. We have Pie blood in our veins. It's a good thing we don't have Freo blood cause then we'd be right-screwed.

Actually, I left a mesage in Didaka's visitor's channel thingy, but let me also say here (to you Didaka) that if you need any help or info or just an impartial ear, I've gone through a lot of what you're going through now so you can hit me up. I imagine you've no doubt got all the support you need already through family and friends (and this board, from the looks of all the messages, heh) but my last treatment (hopefully, waiting for tests) was literally 6 days ago, so I'm still very much attuned to what you're going through.

Godfrey Jones
17 Sep 2008, 22:08
Well Shay if I really was Tiffany you'd be my first choice.. you keep kicking arse Collingwood style!!!

if you really were tiffany you would be my first choice too...

er, i mean in two more years that is :cool:

AuckMel
17 Sep 2008, 22:09
Howdy guys.

Don't post much in these forums, but I'm a CFC member who goes to as many games as possible. My role at the Northern Saints has limited the amount of games I can attend this year.

I love many sports and are a passionate Rugby league supporter.

I'm a meat manager at Safeway and that's about it.

Godfrey Jones
17 Sep 2008, 22:11
Noble and hawk-like? Hah, I'll take that :)

Thanks though. I'm getting through this fine and I'm sure Didaka will too. We have Pie blood in our veins. It's a good thing we don't have Freo blood cause then we'd be right-screwed.

Actually, I left a mesage in Didaka's visitor's channel thingy, but let me also say here (to you Didaka) that if you need any help or info or just an impartial ear, I've gone through a lot of what you're going through now so you can hit me up. I imagine you've no doubt got all the support you need already through family and friends (and this board, from the looks of all the messages, heh) but my last treatment (hopefully, waiting for tests) was literally 6 days ago, so I'm still very much attuned to what you're going through.

best of luck mate and glad to hear you're doing ok... like snag said having you and didaka on board and sharing your stories and your fighting spirit (which comes from your black and white blood) is a blessing to this board :thumbsu:

MagpieGirl_13
17 Sep 2008, 22:15
Well I posted this quite some time ago & I thought I shoud update it a bit....

I'm in Year 10 so... High School. Girl (if you didn't realies it!). Year 11 now. Oh yeah, my name is Courtnie (for those who don't know) & I'm 16yo.
Plan to go to uni in either Melbourne or Brisbane(not sure yet) to study Physiotherapy, my dream would be to be a physio at Collingwood... but thats just a dream... Not any more.... I have decided I want to be a Radiographer. That's if I ever make it out of High School :p
Live 5hrs north of Brisbane, a smallish town, so don't go to the footy much. Only about 5 - 10 Collingwood supporters here, don't know them all except 2 at my school & my Dad. Ok, so maybe there is more than 5-10. I think there are actually quite a few Collingwoood supporters here. I'm either seeing them or being told about them often. So I'm not alone!! :D

Been an AFL supporter my whole life, largely thanks to my Dad. Did AusKick when I was 9 with my sister & my Best Friend. Got to play on the Gabba to! Was a lions supporter for a year, ewww... Then my Dad introduced me to COLLINGWOOD!!!! never looked back...
My grandad played in the reserves for Collingwood so that was kinda kool!!

My whole life pretty much revolves around Footy, when Collingwood's playing, if its on TV or radio... oh, I probably should say school to, but even thats effected by football..
I also love my local footy, (see 'other teams' in my profile lol) It's always lots of fun going down & watching them play..
I'm on the Collingwood website every day (& now I've discovered BigFooty i'm obsesed with this!!) not so much anymore, unfortunately
Ok thats enough about me... soz

*sigh* I was so immature when I first wrote that lol :o & it was less than a year ago :o

heffernone
17 Sep 2008, 22:27
You're just down the train line form me, Scruffy. And Shay is a proud Irish name which means "Noble" and "Hawk-like". The original spelling was Seaghdha.

You know an awful lot about the Irish for a French sausage :p

Pie eyed
18 Sep 2008, 00:33
Haha, heffer.

Finally, a valid reason for the Pies to not win a flag.....the best of luck with your fight.

Cheers.

Bloben
18 Sep 2008, 00:36
I'm glad that you are through your treatment Scruffydog. I had a medical scare a while back where I had some strange symptoms which could have been either one of Sarcoidosis, Tuberculosis or Lymphoma. Because TB was a possibility I got rushed to Box Hill hospital and lived as the bubble boy for 10 days even though I felt as fit as buckley with better hamstrings. Honestly people had to wear gloves and a mask to be in this atmoshpheric chamber with me.

There were endless tests over that time with some interesting times. The respiratory specialists told me they thought I had Sarcoid yet 5 minutes later the contagious disease specialists told me they believed I had TB. Then one night I was woken in the middle of the night by a doctor practically running into my room telling me that some tests came in and they had to prep me immediately for brain surgery. He then left me still somewhat half asleep yet fully shitting myself before sheepishly coming back to tell me he had the wrong room. I laughed to myself before realising that some poor bugger would get the surgery.

To cut a long story short, it turned out to be Sarcoidosis which they treated with a course of steroids. For those few weeks though I was living with the thought that there was a good chance I had cancer and it scared the hell out of me. I don't know how I would have reacted if it did turn out to be Lymphoma and I hope I never do. I have found Didaka's and recently your story quite moving though to hear that you have handled it with such a level grace and determination. Best of luck to you mate.

Pie eyed
18 Sep 2008, 00:40
I saw it, and was considering it... but seriously I'm not working at the moment so I probably should stop committing to extra costs when my income is massively stunted (Sickness Allowance from Centrelink is all I've got). For example I recently started sponsoring a child through World Vision.

I certainly do like the idea though, and if I go back to work by the time you're still taking people will let you know.

Jesus Scruffy, are you a bloody saint?
With what you have on your plate you can do this?

I'll put the cash in for you.

Pie eyed pledges $100.00 to the Player Sponsorship fund for ScruffyDog.

Tess, take notes.

sirlothie
18 Sep 2008, 00:49
Similar thing happened to me Bloben, I had a really sore neck for some reason so I went to the chemist and told them about it and asked for something to help. They told me to go straight to the emergency room as apparently a really sore neck is a strong sign of something serious, something about spinal fluid and swelling.

So off I went and waited about 4 hours (some emergency right...), then finally saw a doctor.

He told me to take off my shirt, I said doc... I'm flattered but... then he said no he wanted to see if I had any kind of rash. I took it off and lo and behold I did.

He then told me I probably have meningococcal disease and in all likelihood if I did I wouldn't live past the weekend. Came as a major shock and I started to come to grips for an hour with my impending death and saying my goodbyes and was waiting for a lumbar puncture (apparently the most painful thing they can do to you...).

Then he comes back and says sorry my bad... you just have a sore neck and a rash on your back. You're not dying.

So I put my clothes back on and went home....

Strange, strange night...

Bloben
18 Sep 2008, 00:54
Jesus christ sirlothie that mad me laugh!

The medical world is crazy and I'm sure some people like TRS could tell us hundreds of stuff like this. Makes me glad that I only have to work with accountants.

scruffydog
18 Sep 2008, 01:33
Haha, these stories are definitely great. I on the other hand - with no health insurance, I might add - have had a pretty great experience from most of the places I've gone to for medical reasons so far. Especially the people at the Peter Mac I go to for Radiation. Almost no waiting, everything is super fast and everyone is helpful and great.

However there was that time I was admitted to the Austin when became very sick... and waited in the ER on a stretcher for 19 hours before they found me a bed...

btw SirLothie, you're very lucky you didn't get a lumbar puncture, lol. I had a bone marrow biopsy at the start of the year, where they drilled into my hip with a needle that looked kind of like one of those apple-corers, and my bones were too strong so the nurse was full on pushing with all her might into my hip bone to get it through (it was slipping and scraping along my hip, while I could feel the blood running down my back). Finally she finished... to find she hadn't got the bone out... and had to do it again. So this went for about 20 minutes. Hands down that was the most painful thing I've ever done, and I'm certain it will be the most painful thing I'll ever do... with the exception of maybe a lumbar puncture. That's the only thing I could ever imagine possibly hurting more. I don't ever want to find out though, lol.

And PieEyed... are you sure!? That's a lot of money to basically just give to a stranger (I realise it's going to CFC, but on behalf of me...)! I usually hate accepting things like this, because I'm fairly proud and stubborn, but I'm thrown this time around by the immense generosity. Make sure you want to do it first, no hard feelings if you change your mind.

And as for the World Vision kid, heh, yeah... I started signing up and what-have-you and then thought to myself 'probably should wait until I have a steady income again...' but by then I'd already started and if I had have stopped, I may never have started up again, so I went ahead with it anyway. And after spending long periods of time without food (thanks to radiotherapy busting up my throat) I certainly feel I did the right thing in supporting a starving kid and his village.

didaka
18 Sep 2008, 01:38
I have one.

About April this year I had an appendectomy which was all good it come on after I had foot surgery in March. So anyway that was a success and I went home the day after I believe by memory.

2 days later I couldn't keep anything down, and I had the worst pains in the left side of my stomach that I have ever felt, the pain was so immense I was slipping in and out of consiousness, the vomiting made it 10 times worse, and when I say vomiting I was vomiting for hours.

So the good people at Rosebud hospital organize a CT scan at the MIA next door which is obviously the way to go. To do this they have to administer a foul tasting green/yellow liquid that highlights through your body on the inside as it passes through.

Anyway long shory stort....They administered the liquid wrong. The MIA took the scan, but shortly told me the liquid was administered wrong and said I needed to wait and do it again properly which I didn't really care.

Anyhow I'm waiting to go again when a MIA nurse comes out and tells me don't worry about doing another scan, it's just ilias which is when the bowel stops working momentarily due to the fact it is touched during surgery. So I end up in hospital with that for 4 days with a tube in my nose. That hurts by the way.

Had they administer the liquid right and did their job right, they would have picked up the massive tumor towards the bottom of the bowel which was obviously the problem:mad:.

Obviously it was eventually found due to everything else happening, but man I was pissed. I would've gone straight into surgery early April had it removed and almost been finished treatment by now if they did their job right.

didaka
18 Sep 2008, 01:43
Haha, these stories are definitely great. I on the other hand - with no health insurance, I might add - have had a pretty great experience from most of the places I've gone to for medical reasons so far. Especially the people at the Peter Mac I go to for Radiation. Almost no waiting, everything is super fast and everyone is helpful and great.

However there was that time I was admitted to the Austin when became very sick... and waited in the ER on a stretcher for 19 hours before they found me a bed...

btw SirLothie, you're very lucky you didn't get a lumbar puncture, lol. I had a bone marrow biopsy at the start of the year, where they drilled into my hip with a needle that looked kind of like one of those apple-corers, and my bones were too strong so the nurse was full on pushing with all her might into my hip bone to get it through (it was slipping and scraping along my hip, while I could feel the blood running down my back). Finally she finished... to find she hadn't got the bone out... and had to do it again. So this went for about 20 minutes. Hands down that was the most painful thing I've ever done, and I'm certain it will be the most painful thing I'll ever do... with the exception of maybe a lumbar puncture. That's the only thing I could ever imagine possibly hurting more. I don't ever want to find out though, lol.

And PieEyed... are you sure!? That's a lot of money to basically just give to a stranger (I realise it's going to CFC, but on behalf of me...)! I usually hate accepting things like this, because I'm fairly proud and stubborn, but I'm thrown this time around by the immense generosity. Make sure you want to do it first, no hard feelings if you change your mind.

And as for the World Vision kid, heh, yeah... I started signing up and what-have-you and then thought to myself 'probably should wait until I have a steady income again...' but by then I'd already started and if I had have stopped, I may never have started up again, so I went ahead with it anyway. And after spending long periods of time without food (thanks to radiotherapy busting up my throat) I certainly feel I did the right thing in supporting a starving kid and his village.

Dude you've been through some horrible stuff.

One thing I am really thankful for is I don't have to have radiotherapy or whatever it's called. I believe it just makes you burn which would be horrendous at times:(. Thankfully science has come so far now and bowel cancer is very well treated by chemotherapy.

I think the worst thing about my chemo is that the mouth and bowel are similar in what they are made of, and because of that it attacks my mouth. I have 10 mouth ulcers right now and I ****ing hate mouth ulcers:D. Give me all the nausea you want, just **** of with the mouth ulcers. One of them I have had for six week. It's a dirty mutha****er. It starts to go down then BAM, gets me again.:D

scruffydog
18 Sep 2008, 01:59
To do this they have to administer a foul tasting green/yellow liquid that highlights through your body on the inside as it passes through.

Haha, at least they didn't give you the imitation Yakult. Thick, pale white liquid that I had to drink a litre of. The second CT scan they gave me something which was basically cordial. I was like 'what the? Why the hell didn't I get THIS last time?"

As for radiotherapy v chemo, you've actually got it backwards. Chemo is far worse. I slept A LOT with chemo, and my whole body felt wrong basically until it was time to go for the next lot. However, I'm pretty sure if I wasn't getting radiotherapy in the area I'm getting it, I wouldn't even notice it. The only problem with radio is that because it's targetting my mouth and throat area, the skin or whatever on the inside of my throat is peeling and torn, which makes swallowing hell. Also, half my saliva glands have stopped working which adds to the issue, and the inside of half my mouth became... well I'd say more scarred than just ulcerous. It really was quite a mess. But it's all healing now so it's all good. Also it looks like I'm quite sunburnt on just half of my face and neck.... like I'm either terrible at applying sunscreen or I've been constantly walking half in the shade, lol!

Oh, as for the ulcers you're getting, you should be rinsing your mouth out with salt water after every single meal. That's what they told me. I did it for about a week and then realised I wasn't really getting them myself... so I only did it if ulcers started popping up. Since they're hounding you, do it often. Stir a spoonful of salt into a small amount of boiling water till it's melted, and then mix in some cold water to make it the right temperature (not too hot) and then swish it around in your mouth. I used this for ulcers before any of this cancer stuff, and it worked then, and it still works now. Do it.

Snag Breac
18 Sep 2008, 13:52
You know an awful lot about the Irish for a French sausage :p

Mais oui, biensure. And I know that Heffernan's an Irish name too.:thumbsu:

And Tiffany should be home working on her English Texts. Now if you'd been Bertha, I don't think God would have almost misbehaved. He can just stick to his Pippos to Strippos fantasy.

Optimax
18 Sep 2008, 15:01
Scruffy and didaka you too have been through one hell of alot.

Im glad it seems everything is looking up for both of you, you both needs to be cut some slack eventually

didaka
18 Sep 2008, 15:06
Scruffy and didaka you too have been through one hell of alot.

Im glad it seems everything is looking up for both of you, you both needs to be cut some slack eventually

I'm hoping to win Powerball, or Oz lotto. 50 mil will do. I'm not greedy.

Optimax
18 Sep 2008, 15:09
I'm hoping to win Powerball, or Oz lotto. 50 mil will do. I'm not greedy.
Just 50 mil? no where near enough either you or scruffy deserve.

Im just hooing to be able to complete successfully my 3rd year Project, less time on here may help lol

Pie eyed
18 Sep 2008, 15:12
And PieEyed... are you sure!?

Hey. I pledged 2 hungie last season and it did not get up. I have only pledged $100 this season so really I'm just matching last year.
I am happy to for it to go in your name. Cheers.

The Sqawka
18 Sep 2008, 15:15
Hey, i ony just saw this thread, its not bad.

well im Grant, a 23 year old from the Mornington Penninsula, I am in my last year of uni studying marketing (i have done some work experience with the pies and might get a gig next year). I play football for a very very successful club on the penninsula. I have and always will love Collingwood to death!

Godfrey Jones
18 Sep 2008, 15:17
Hey, i ony just saw this thread, its not bad.

lol this made me laugh for some reason. are you going to monash frankston campus?

this thread makes my heart smile.

not like that stupid pippos thread :mad:

The Sqawka
18 Sep 2008, 15:22
lol this made me laugh for some reason. are you going to monash frankston campus?

this thread makes my heart smile.

not like that stupid pippos thread :mad:

No i go to Monash in Berwick. its not too bad of a drive. lol why did it make you laugh? i like this thread because we all are so opinionated about the team we love so much, yet sometiems its easy to forget that behind the computer screens we are all humans with our own life happening.. its good to share these things. :)

Optimax
18 Sep 2008, 15:42
No i go to Monash in Berwick. its not too bad of a drive. lol why did it make you laugh? i like this thread because we all are so opinionated about the team we love so much, yet sometiems its easy to forget that behind the computer screens we are all humans with our own life happening.. its good to share these things. :)
I have to say the creation of this thread was oen of my finer moments lol:p

Welcome aboard sqawka

scottyD
18 Sep 2008, 16:21
I read in ZOO that you have a better chance of guessing a random persons phone number than winning the lottery.

Bloben
18 Sep 2008, 16:22
I read in ZOO that you have a better chance of guessing a random persons phone number than winning the lottery.

They have articles?

scottyD
18 Sep 2008, 16:27
Pub Facts i think it was in. Love reading them whilst at work;)

scruffydog
18 Sep 2008, 17:36
Just 50 mil? no where near enough either you or scruffy deserve.

Ijust want 7 mill, and I've been entering quite a lot of OzLotto and Powerball games in an attempt to get it, lol. Unfortunately I had like... 1 in 25,000 chance of getting Lymphoma, and a further 1 in 10,000 chance of getting the type I have... so I think I've already had my lucky odds :\ (especially considering one of the places I've had to go was the Tattersalls Cancer Centre, heh).

Hey. I pledged 2 hungie last season and it did not get up. I have only pledged $100 this season so really I'm just matching last year.
I am happy to for it to go in your name. Cheers.

Well... thanks. I'll remember this. :D

(By the way, speaking of money, I just opened an envelope to find an unexpected bill. I thought radiotherapy was free, like chemo was, but it turns out chemo had a rather large advantage. 3 weeks of radio, and I just received a bill for over $1800. What the ****. Thank God for Medicare, and getting hopefully most of it back again.)

Bloben
18 Sep 2008, 17:41
Ijust want 7 mill, and I've been entering quite a lot of OzLotto and Powerball games in an attempt to get it, lol. Unfortunately I had like... 1 in 25,000 chance of getting Lymphoma, and a further 1 in 10,000 chance of getting the type I have... so I think I've already had my lucky odds :\ (especially considering one of the places I've had to go was the Tattersalls Cancer Centre, heh).

Well... thanks. I'll remember this. :D

(By the way, speaking of money, I just opened an envelope to find an unexpected bill. I thought radiotherapy was free, like chemo was, but it turns out chemo had a rather large advantage. 3 weeks of radio, and I just received a bill for over $1800. What the ****. Thank God for Medicare, and getting hopefully most of it back again.)

Scruffydog think of it as similar to a game of footy. During the first we may be absolutely shafted by the umpires and get absolutely nothing from them, but by the end of the game the free kick count will even itself out.

You have had an incredibly unlucky first quarter but by the final siren I'm sure things will even itself out. So keep buying powerball tickets!!

scruffydog
18 Sep 2008, 17:52
You have had an incredibly unlucky first quarter but by the final siren I'm sure things will even itself out. So keep buying powerball tickets!!

Not tonight though, I'm not settling for a measly $3 mill :)

(Also, now I can barely afford it. omfg Peter Mac...)

But yeah, I figure it's gotta all come back around to me eventually. And then me and Didaka will go around the world on giant hot air balloons, throwing cash to the children below as they stare up at us with our top hats and monocles... /cough... er....

sirlothie
19 Sep 2008, 03:58

Tell me about it lol... I remember it all almost perfectly to this day even though it was about 6 years ago now... the doctor said the only way to get true confirmation that I had meningitis or meningococcal disease (same thing?) and he said this will be probably be the most painful thing ever done to you, he needed to extract a sample of my spinal fluid. I said oh yeah, it's ok, I can handle pain pretty well. He said oh son, you don't know pain yet. That's when I started to get scared lol.

The bone marrow biopsy sounds like a good one too. Wow... what is it about hospitals they just know how to hurt you lol. Even when I went to hospital with a broken jaw, I was asleep for the operation so that was ok, and came out with it wired which I expected and while they were there they took out a wisdom tooth, ok fair enough whatever. That's not so bad considering.

The thing that made it horrible was they wouldn't let me eat or drink for about 48 hours because if I did I would vomit it on the table apparently, and painkillers, nope couldn't have them either. So I had to rectally take them, yep that's right, I had lube up these 2 long sticks of what was just panadol apparently and shove them up my ass. At first they offered a male nurse to do the honours (that'd be right) so I said nah look, I'll give it a crack.

Your asshole does not take kindly to being penetrated I found out and you have to stick something in it really, really far before it doesn't just naturally make it's way back out again. I'm talking the entire length of your index finger but still not quite so it still needs a shove after that then finally whatever is there will surrender and stay there.

Hard to do that wearing a dress with my ass poking out and still feeling dignified.

loki04
21 Sep 2008, 01:44
25 yr old , have 1 duaghter and a wifee.:thumbsu:

Work in mining industry (crusher operator).
Step father was an Australian powerlifting champion and came 18th in world -125kg div. (Greg Marini for those interested)

http://www.worldpowerlifting.info/en/IPF/2001/mens-world-powerlifting-championships/

Footy played with B.Staker (were good mates) made my A grade debut at 17 and got best on ground from umps on that day, was decent player who played rough, played in 6 gfs straight and lost all 6 :(. At 18 I then moved to adelaide for 4 years and stopped playing took up fishing lol.

Love my footy coming out of retirement nxt year and hopefully myself and the mighty maggies take the big one.:thumbsu:

tess
21 Sep 2008, 09:53
My poor mum has a driving test tomorrow, she has been assessed by a Occupational Therapist last week and seemed to pass that although when he asked what year it was she got the 08 right..... problem was when she said 8008 and I had to hold a giggle in but the OT saw what she said for what it was.

Part of me hopes she doesn't pass, part says I hopes she does. Mum only drives around our suburb and my main concern would be her getting lost.

As for radiotherapy v chemo, you've actually got it backwards. Chemo is far worse. I slept A LOT with chemo, and my whole body felt wrong basically until it was time to go for the next lot. However, I'm pretty sure if I wasn't getting radiotherapy in the area I'm getting it, I wouldn't even notice it. The only problem with radio is that because it's targetting my mouth and throat area, the skin or whatever on the inside of my throat is peeling and torn, which makes swallowing hell. Also, half my saliva glands have stopped working which adds to the issue, and the inside of half my mouth became... well I'd say more scarred than just ulcerous. It really was quite a mess. But it's all healing now so it's all good. Also it looks like I'm quite sunburnt on just half of my face and neck.... like I'm either terrible at applying sunscreen or I've been constantly walking half in the shade, lol!

Oh, as for the ulcers you're getting, you should be rinsing your mouth out with salt water after every single meal. That's what they told me. I did it for about a week and then realised I wasn't really getting them myself... so I only did it if ulcers started popping up. Since they're hounding you, do it often. Stir a spoonful of salt into a small amount of boiling water till it's melted, and then mix in some cold water to make it the right temperature (not too hot) and then swish it around in your mouth. I used this for ulcers before any of this cancer stuff, and it worked then, and it still works now. Do it.

My dad had throat cancer and I watched him go through some real rough shit. He had a tube into his stomach because he couldn't eat for months. We had tins of brownish liquid he would have to pour into his feeding tube and he was really good doing it himself. I remember the ulcers and mouthwash and him having huge swabs he could dip in water to quench his thirst.

person_pitch
21 Sep 2008, 12:53
I don't exist in real life :(

RRRooocccaaa
21 Sep 2008, 14:05
Tell me about it lol...

Cor blimey, I have the sudden need to watch some happy-time cartoons to get that mental image out of my head :eek:

It's true, though. Things don't seem as bad during 'everyday' life when you've had to endure stuff like that. I had kidney stones once. First time I had the 'boom' treatment with a sonic device, and I was wee-ing out rocks the size of large peas. Ouch. Then I found out (rather painfully, during the middle of a rather large drinking session) that one or two were still stuck inside.

Had to go back and have another op to get rid of them. During that time I had to wear a colostomy bag for a week until I had the removal op scheduled. And we had tickets to see the Midnight Oil show that week... So I bit the bullet and went to the show with a large flannel shirt covering my shame. Let's just say that I'm glad for other people that they didn't slam-dance into me that night :D

So yeah, after having the embarrasment of a long slinky-like tube inserted down the wrong end of you-know-what, jigging up and down at a concert with a large bag of you-know-what and having spent three weeks in the company of a bunch of 60+ blokes moaning about their prostates... I can safely say not much bothers me during 'everyday' life anymore!

BTW, can I recommend one thing...

DRINK LESS COFFEE AND HAVE 2 LITRES OF WATER A DAY!!! Trust me...

beez
21 Sep 2008, 15:51

Please dont tell me to drink less coffee. I love my lattes :(

Godfrey Jones
21 Sep 2008, 15:54
^what was your old sig beez?

tess
21 Sep 2008, 16:42
Cor blimey, I have the sudden need to watch some happy-time cartoons to get that mental image out of my head :eek:

It's true, though. Things don't seem as bad during 'everyday' life when you've had to endure stuff like that. I had kidney stones once. First time I had the 'boom' treatment with a sonic device, and I was wee-ing out rocks the size of large peas. Ouch. Then I found out (rather painfully, during the middle of a rather large drinking session) that one or two were still stuck inside.

Had to go back and have another op to get rid of them. During that time I had to wear a colostomy bag for a week until I had the removal op scheduled. And we had tickets to see the Midnight Oil show that week... So I bit the bullet and went to the show with a large flannel shirt covering my shame. Let's just say that I'm glad for other people that they didn't slam-dance into me that night :D

So yeah, after having the embarrasment of a long slinky-like tube inserted down the wrong end of you-know-what, jigging up and down at a concert with a large bag of you-know-what and having spent three weeks in the company of a bunch of 60+ blokes moaning about their prostates... I can safely say not much bothers me during 'everyday' life anymore!

Should I add my tale of hospital stays.......

beez
21 Sep 2008, 17:09
^what was your old sig beez?

"Go Matty Mitcham, one for the fags!"

I dont really think the mods deleted it, just for some reason, a few days ago it just disappeared :confused:

Optimax
21 Sep 2008, 17:41

I dont really think the mods deleted it, just for some reason, a few days ago it just disappeared :confused:
Probably due to the use of the word Fag

Snag Breac
21 Sep 2008, 20:10

Don't know what's funnier, Beez - the old sig, or the fact that you're baffled as to why it was deleted. :p

Pie eyed
21 Sep 2008, 20:46
25 yr old , have 1 duaghter and a wifee.:thumbsu:

Work in mining industry (crusher operator).
Step father was an Australian powerlifting champion and came 18th in world -125kg div. (Greg Marini for those interested)

http://www.worldpowerlifting.info/en/IPF/2001/mens-world-powerlifting-championships/

Footy played with B.Staker (were good mates) made my A grade debut at 17 and got best on ground from umps on that day, was decent player who played rough, played in 6 gfs straight and lost all 6 :(. At 18 I then moved to adelaide for 4 years and stopped playing took up fishing lol.

Love my footy coming out of retirement nxt year and hopefully myself and the mighty maggies take the big one.:thumbsu:

Geez, I should think so, 25 is too young to chuck it in...every year you miss you regret later, believe me. I'm on the comeback trail at 45 (masters) and love it. (did a Achilles though, first time and it's a PIA).

Anyway, don't miss a second...

didaka
21 Sep 2008, 20:49
I'm making a return next year as well hopefully. Can't ****'n wait.

Godfrey Jones
21 Sep 2008, 21:45
Don't know what's funnier, Beez - the old sig, or the fact that you're baffled as to why it was deleted. :p

hahaha... but honestly i dont think it was that bad. mods are stupid. i was looking through my personal messages the other trying to find something and i saw that the first 10 messages i got on bigfooty were infractions lol

thatday
21 Sep 2008, 22:38
I'm actually kind of surprised it was deleted. Plenty worse things around bigfooty than that.

Pie eyed
21 Sep 2008, 22:42
I'm making a return next year as well hopefully. Can't ****'n wait.
Who do you play for?

scottyD
21 Sep 2008, 22:52
Made my return this year. Great feeling.

MagpieGirl_13
21 Sep 2008, 22:55
I like eggs.

beez
21 Sep 2008, 23:20
Made my return this year. Great feeling.

Are we gonna see you as a mature age recruit under Bucks' in 7-8 years time?

MagpieGirl_13
21 Sep 2008, 23:21
^ (Shhhh......) yes.....

:p:D:thumbsu:

scottyD
21 Sep 2008, 23:45
I like eggs.
Fertilized?

EDIT: Ooops. Thought this was TBT.

scottyD
21 Sep 2008, 23:47
Are we gonna see you as a mature age recruit under Bucks' in 7-8 years time?
Haha nah. Won't get close with the injury i had mate. Would be a dream but meh. That's life.

MagpieGirl_13
21 Sep 2008, 23:49
Fertilized?

*shakes head at you*

didaka
22 Sep 2008, 01:33
Who do you play for?

I'm not sure who I'll play for.

Godfrey Jones
22 Sep 2008, 02:38
hey dids, you should keep us informed and for your first game we should all go down and make it a bigfooty meet up

Snag Breac
22 Sep 2008, 13:27
Fertilized?

Tread warily, young Scotty. MagpieGirl is a poster - as opposed to a girl - on this board.

I think Beez, the objection to your sig may have been that it diminished the athlete by underlining his sexual -preference, rather than his sporting achievement. See Scotty's similar faux pas above.

beez
22 Sep 2008, 15:02
I think Beez, the objection to your sig may have been that it diminished the athlete by underlining his sexual -preference, rather than his sporting achievement. See Scotty's similar faux pas above.

Meh, complete crap! But totally over it.

I'm gonna say "faux pas" to someone this arvo just to make me sound smart :D

tess
22 Sep 2008, 15:10
I'm not sure who I'll play for.

I changed teams, it's not that hard.

didaka
22 Sep 2008, 16:23
It's a tuff decison (choosing a football club. Maybe not as hard as saying goodbye to ya wanger though) tess-tickle (or lack of them).

I have played with a few sides around my area, and the honest truth is a doubt i'd like to play for any of them again.

I might head to the amo's and play for the Peninsula team with my young bigfooty co-member dodgeball.

scottyD
22 Sep 2008, 16:24
Come play for my club? Might be a 300km drive each week but it'll be worth it;)

didaka
22 Sep 2008, 16:27
Come play for my club? Might be a 300km drive each week but it'll be worth it;)

Will they pay for the black gold I have to fill my car with:)

scottyD
22 Sep 2008, 16:29
They probably would:)...

didaka
22 Sep 2008, 16:31
They probably would:)...

They might have when I was a little younger, but these legs haven't served me well the last few years. Waste of money for them I reckon.:D

Snag Breac
22 Sep 2008, 17:00
Meh, complete crap! But totally over it.

I'm gonna say "faux pas" to someone this arvo just to make me sound smart :D

Yes, a harsh judgement, but good to see your resilience, and increasing sophistication.:p

scruffydog
22 Sep 2008, 18:03
The fact that you're considering taking up footy again is awesome Dids. Chemo actually managed to **** up my lungs so while they're still considered 'average' in condition, I certainly am never going to be able to take up any serious sports. Although the fact that I'm also horribly unfit after months of sitting around doing nothing would put a quick stop to that also. (Although I'm never allowed to scuba dive now either... ever :\).

Was never interested in playing sports when I was younger... it's only once you grow up and think about how fun it must be that you realise you should have gone for it. Now I'll just live vicariously through Collingwood, and the rest of you guys.

But seriously, good on ya Dids.

didaka
22 Sep 2008, 18:14
The fact that you're considering taking up footy again is awesome Dids. Chemo actually managed to **** up my lungs so while they're still considered 'average' in condition, I certainly am never going to be able to take up any serious sports. Although the fact that I'm also horribly unfit after months of sitting around doing nothing would put a quick stop to that also. (Although I'm never allowed to scuba dive now either... ever :\).

Was never interested in playing sports when I was younger... it's only once you grow up and think about how fun it must be that you realise you should have gone for it. Now I'll just live vicariously through Collingwood, and the rest of you guys.

But seriously, good on ya Dids.

I want to, but there is a lot of water to go under the bridge. If I want it enough I will get there.

Sucks about your lungs, if I had scuba diving taken away from me I would cry for many days. I love diving and hope to dive the greatest reefs throughout the world before I die. So far I have dived the Barrier Reef and hope to dive in Thailand next year.

My man concern with my chemo is nerve damage. The type I have is harsh on your hands and feet, and for the majority of the 2 weeks between chemo I cannot touch anything remotely cold or my hands ache and go stiff. When I walk on cold floors the pain in un-believable. I hope this has no lasting effect.