View Full Version : Everyones real life

Pages : [1] 2 3

Optimax
22nd October 2007, 15:50
Just so we have some idea of who we are agreeing/arguing with i thought i would make this thread.

Im a uni student 2nd year of(almost over now) elctronic engineering and biomedical engineering double degree (dont ask what it is i cbf explaining it)

I also work at the local target being the everything registers bitch 9not a thing on them i cant do lol), been their since year 10 of high school and thankfully they have allowed me to go to most colingwood matches and its them paying me that allows me to buy my membership every year.

i also go out most weekend with mates getting pissed, playing pool, ****ing around and basically being annoying lol, and hopefully not getting into trouble with our Gfs when we get home lol.

During the footy seaspn its basically Collingwood, work school and everything else fits in around, no one gets attention during footy season

so lets hear about others

Snag Breac
22nd October 2007, 17:14
You may be too young to know Sir Humphrey Appleby; he would have described this thread as "courageous". Isn't much of the appeal of blogging that you have no identity other than the cyber creation you fashion with avatars, signatures etc? Uncoordinated weeds who couldn't kick a footy to save their lives get to ruthlessly critique the greats from the safety of cyber space.

So it's a big ask.....But it's a great idea. I take it you're at La Trobe? I'll look out for you at Target - Epping, Reservoir or G'boro? I'm out north too, green wedge end.:thumbsu:

Optimax
22nd October 2007, 18:18
You may be too young to know Sir Humphrey Appleby; he would have described this thread as "courageous". Isn't much of the appeal of blogging that you have no identity other than the cyber creation you fashion with avatars, signatures etc? Uncoordinated weeds who couldn't kick a footy to save their lives get to ruthlessly critique the greats from the safety of cyber space.

So it's a big ask.....But it's a great idea. I take it you're at La Trobe? I'll look out for you at Target - Epping, Reservoir or G'boro? I'm out north too, green wedge end.:thumbsu:

i could gkick a footy but knee injuries finally derailed it lol, never super good though more of your sammy iles type, and yeah its brave but its on my myspace and that hasnt caused any damamge yet

Ed D
23rd October 2007, 22:45
I might as well say who I am!

I finished high school, studied graphics for two years, worked for a few years, completed a course in small business management and now I'm running my own clothing label. Plus on the side I'm just starting to get into share trading.

I never really played much team sports outside of school but I currently play basketball and competition pool.

Tarkyn_24
24th October 2007, 06:40
i could gkick a footy but knee injuries finally derailed it lol, never super good though more of your sammy iles type, and yeah its brave but its on my myspace and that hasnt caused any damamge yet
...yet

Year 10 student in Perth. Hate the Dockers, hate the Weagles so turned to the family teams, Collingwood, and to a lesser extent, Sydney(who I've lost the spark of the soft spot I've cherished for them for so long, now Dempster and Schnids are gone)

Looking to do a Law-Commerce double in the near future

Play and coach basketball teams

Snag Breac
24th October 2007, 12:09
I'm running my own clothing label.

What's your label, and where can I see it?

Ed D
24th October 2007, 15:34
I'm running my own clothing label.

What's your label, and where can I see it?
It's called Whoop Whoop. I need to update the site pretty soon because I'm just about ready to roll:

http://www.whoopwhoop.com.au

shawthing09
29th October 2007, 14:49
Uni doing a 2nd year psych degree, Do some promotional stuff with fix nightclub, part time warehouse work. Played cricket and footy till a couple years ago, still play cricket.

Dazman
29th October 2007, 15:03
I's first year doing BBusCom. I also work in a supermarket been there for 3 amd a bit years and having fun with that - got some good mates there.

Can't wait till next Monday as I'll be finished for close to 4 months. I go out in moderation with mates but I've had a long stint off from the pubs cos of uni.

I play 2's footy in winter - not that good tho. Bit of an Alan Toovey and thats not a joke. Played full back in unders and now I'm learning how to be a flanker cos I'm not big enough for kpp at senior level.

Jabso
29th October 2007, 18:13
I'm a highly paid bigfooty moderator. Easiest job in the world. Get paid for sitting on your ass.

Optimax
29th October 2007, 18:25
I'm a highly paid bigfooty moderator. Easiest job in the world. Get paid for sitting on your ass.

you actually get paid to do this crap?:rolleyes:

MagpieGirl_13
29th October 2007, 19:20
I'm in Year 10 so... High School. Girl (if you didn't realies it!).
Plan to go to uni in either Melbourne or Brisbane(not sure yet) to study Physiotherapy, my dream would be to be a physio at Collingwood... but thats just a dream...
Live 5hrs north of Brisbane, a smallish town, so don't go to the footy much. Only about 5 - 10 Collingwood supporters here, don't know them all except 2 at my school & my Dad.

Been an AFL supporter my whole life, largely thanks to my Dad. Did AusKick when I was 9 with my sister & my Best Friend. Got to play on the Gabba to! Was a lions supporter for a year, ewww... Then my Dad introduced me to COLLINGWOOD!!!! never looked back...
My grandad played in the reserves for Collingwood so that was kinda kool!!

My whole life pretty much revolves around Footy, when Collingwood's playing, if its on TV or radio... oh, I probably should say school to, but even thats effected by football...
I'm on the Collinwood website every day (& now I've discovered BigFooty i'm obsesed with this!!)
Ok thats enough about me... soz

Optimax
29th October 2007, 19:28
whats your grandpas name?, entire family is collingwood supporters so at least my old man would of heard of him

MagpieGirl_13
29th October 2007, 19:36
whats your grandpas name?, entire family is collingwood supporters so at least my old man would of heard of him

Edward "Ted" Faithfull. Played in 1953

Dazman
29th October 2007, 21:02
Live 5hrs north of Brisbane,

Don't mean to pry but whereabouts do you live (approximately) ?

I got relo's in Mackay and Townsville...

Bloben
29th October 2007, 21:24
This is really interesting to read about people that you kinda know through BigFooty... Especially Jabso... Fascinating!!:D

I'm 27 and work full time as a business analyst. Since March last year I have been doing an MBA part time. It is absolutely killing me as I have no time at all anymore (although when I sit to start homework I tend to procastinate a lot by reading stuff here!!) Come next Saturday morning I will have two months off until Summer semester starts and I cannot wait. It feels like I'm on holiday yet I'm still working 40 hours per week!!!

Thats the boring bits, apart from that I used to play footy in the EFL, played cricket for ages and currently playing a lot of squash trying to get fit. I also play a lot of Golf and have a friend with a boat so planning to get better at wakeboarding this summer up in Eildon.

Apart from being a bit nutty over Collingwood, I have been a member for the last few seasons with Melbourne Victory. It feels great to have something to support in the offseason. Anyone in Melbourne who is missing the footy action I suggest giving the soccer a try at the Dome.

I had never seen this website until about midway through this season, at first I just read other peoples posts but then worked up the courage to join in... since then I have gotten a little bit addicted :rolleyes:

sirlothie
30th October 2007, 03:49
Ok, well... I'm 26 (27 in 2 weeks), I work full-time night shift as a laptop service technician, we fix laptops for private school students, so if you go to Wesley or Whitefriars or Luther or a fair number of other school's and got a laptop I'm one of the people who fix it when you keep breaking it... lol.

I played football a long time for Cranbourne in juniors and seniors, Mentone amateurs, Chelsea Heights in the SFL. I was a good but not great player, strong overhead, nice skills by foot and could read the play well but I average height and speed so I never amounted to much more than a good, honest player but I had fun and have some good memories & mates from it.

My knee is shot now so I play cricket instead, but I am still a mad Collingwood supporter and always have been.

I have a degree in Communication which is a byproduct of a dream to be a football writer back in the day lol still haven't given up completely, will hopefully get into some online stuff. I am like many others it seems here who just had a read and then came back and replied to a couple of threads and all of a sudden your hooked... :p

The Majestic
30th October 2007, 04:42
I am currently studying at TAFE, which is finishing soon, I am looking at becoming a writer, though it may just be for fun rather then profit unless something changes. I am going to be moving to Melbourne, well at the moment it's not a permanent full on move I will still have a lot of my stuff here in Tassie.

I am looking at getting more chances at getting work in Melbourne as the industry I have been looking to get into has more opportunities in Melbourne then in Hobart, before TAFE I completed Collage getting some certificates as well as finishing my HSC I also completed a Cert 3 in Customer Contact/Telecommunications at TAFE this year.

Currently before I leave Tasmania I am doing some volunteer work with St. Vincent de Paul society, keeping myself active while also studying being that my course in flexible learning has made it easier to do other things in the mean time.

scottyD
30th October 2007, 14:06
Year 9 Student.
Injury has ruined my career in footy.
Looking to be a journo or even tv/Filmmaking

Jabso
30th October 2007, 14:42
My Hawthorn supporting aunty told me about this site when I was about 14 :o

MagpieGirl_13
30th October 2007, 16:22
Don't mean to pry but whereabouts do you live (approximately) ?

I got relo's in Mackay and Townsville...

not as far as mackay & townsville. Live in Bundaberg

Optimax
30th October 2007, 16:35
SO near the rum joint lol, that was terrible mate disregard

MagpieGirl_13
30th October 2007, 16:39
SO near the rum joint lol, that was terrible mate disregard

Dont worry, thats what everyone knows Bundy for...

PieLebo87
30th October 2007, 16:55
A 19yo from the south eastern suburbs of Melbourne who enjoys indoor footy with a few of the gents on here in the Pies board. I finished year 12 two years ago and have been doing an Advanced Diploma in Business Marketing for the last two years at TAFE and get the AD in a couple of months. I've applied for uni so I assume I'll be there for a few more years yet.

I work security on a casual basis such as events like Melb Cup, F1, Comm games ect. and keep myself busy with BigFooty and AFL.com.au more-so then anything else.

I was born in Rockhampton, dunno how far that is north of Brisbane but thought I'd add that in since a few people have mentioned that part of QLD.

Optimax
30th October 2007, 17:12
Dont worry, thats what everyone knows Bundy for...

Lol sorry i like bundy and coke.

Bloben
30th October 2007, 17:19
Lol sorry i like bundy and coke.

You should be sorry....

That stuff tastes terrible!

Optimax
30th October 2007, 17:33
You should be sorry....

That stuff tastes terrible!
its not as good as jimmy or johnny and coke or heinken but as a wog with many aussie mates youneed to drink that stuff to be accepted lol.

besides it isnt that bad

WakeUpTaz
30th October 2007, 17:55

and doing a shit job! you mods disgust me, what you going to do with that money, how about buying youselves some dignity you jerks, oh wait you can't! because you are a mod :mad::mad::mad::D

im still doing year 10, goddammit i swore i was going to study this year and i end up not doing any shit and i usually start RTs one day before they are due, i swear i will start working hard next year, still getting A for most things and im not really trying yet, wanna be a doctor or a physiotherapist one day

played football, soccer and bball competitively for a while, but i became a lazy arse and stopped doing that, and got really unfit, 2 years ago i found some skipping ropes in the garage and skipped myself fit :D now i run 2ks everyday after school and i am as fit as i ever have been, now all i need to do is work out how i am going to get some muscles, again im so lazy i don;t think i do enough, now i just play football for my school and bball with friends like once every 2 weeks

thatday
30th October 2007, 18:12
As a few others on here i am also in year 10, i don't do my homework and that is entirely bigfooty and MSNs/Myspaces fault, has nothing to do with me. I have no idea what i wanna be when i get older and at the moment i dont care:D. Been a Collingwood supporter my whole life as has my entire family:thumbsu: although there are 3 essendon supporters. I heard of bigfooty from my friend who is on here somewhere, probably bay 13, Other than that i dont know what else to write. Ahhh now people know how old i am and won't listen (not like they ever did anyway).

Ilch
30th October 2007, 18:27
I dont post much but do come into this site on a regular basis so i may aswell introduce myself. Im 20 and come from the Northern Suburbs. Im a second year Uni student studying Mech Engineering at RMIT. Love my footy as i play and go watch the pies week in week out.

rusdid24
30th October 2007, 18:33
Well I'll join in the fun.

I'm 21, do Sports Management at Uni, it's really not as fun as it sounds. 2 exams in the past 2 days, one tomorrow. Amount of study done lately = negligible.

Hopefully the degree will take me somewhere into a sporting organisation or even a player agent, but who knows where I'll end up.

Lived in London for a year working at a law firm as a paralegal which was easily the best year of my life. Did not much work and travelled and drunk myself stupid regularly. Also got the chance to finally see my beloved Chelsea in action live. Been following them since I watched the 2000 FA Cup Final, and oh yes I am loving Roman's roubles!!!

Go and watch the Pies every week. People were stupid enough to schedule 21st's this year when the Pies were playing that night, football takes precedence.

Went to school in Geelong, which was great, miss those days. Was rubbish at football and happy to admit it. Played cricket since I was 9 and still play. Wrecked my shoulder playing cricket at the start of Year 11 and it's never recovered properly because physio was never a priority but these things happen.

Now I'm just waiting for exams to finish and then on Sunday week I'm off to India for a month, where I will take in the sights and sounds (and a dodgy curry too, most likely) before I spend the last week on the beach in Goa drinking myself into a stupor all day.

AsianWithAFro
30th October 2007, 18:49
ok hmm

I currently attend a catholic school but going to a senior school nest year, I am in year 10, I want to become a teacher.

I've bene following Collingwood since I was like 10. Was a mad swans supporter at first but moved on from that when Dad encouraged me to watch their games. Ever since than I've been hooked and I am today a proud member of The Sydney Collingwood Supporters Club :D

Tarkyn_24
31st October 2007, 14:07
ok hmm

I currently attend a catholic school but going to a senior school nest year, I am in year 10, I want to become a teacher.

I've bene following Collingwood since I was like 10. Was a mad swans supporter at first but moved on from that when Dad encouraged me to watch their games. Ever since than I've been hooked and I am today a proud member of The Sydney Collingwood Supporters Club :D
Was a Swans supporter til I was 7, then switched to the Pies after the Plugs and Kel eras and haven't looked back.

Tarkyn_24
31st October 2007, 14:08
Year 9 Student.
Injury has ruined my career in footy.
Looking to be a journo or even tv/Filmmaking
Don't worry. There wasn't much of one anyway.

Optimax
31st October 2007, 16:20
Don't worry. There wasn't much of one anyway.

hey this thread is about telling us who you are not being a difficult pain in the arse junior

Snag Breac
31st October 2007, 17:16
As a few others on here i am also in year 10, i don't do my homework and that is entirely bigfooty and MSNs/Myspaces fault, has nothing to do with me. I have no idea what i wanna be when i get older and at the moment i dont care:D. Been a Collingwood supporter my whole life as has my entire family:thumbsu: although there are 3 essendon supporters. I heard of bigfooty from my friend who is on here somewhere, probably bay 13, Other than that i dont know what else to write. Ahhh now people know how old i am and won't listen (not like they ever did anyway).

Sometimes it's not that people don't listen, it's just that they don't know how to respond. Life's changed so much in a generation that under 30's seem to have an esoteric knowledge of things such as the web, that us wrinklies are still struggling to understand. And I think people on this thread are here because they are listeners. Shame nobody's doing their homework/study 'though. Me included.:(

scottyD
31st October 2007, 18:43
hey this thread is about telling us who you are not being a difficult pain in the arse junior
Here Here.
I would like to see you to break a femur behind your knee and be in a wheelchair for months and go through the most pain ever.
But no guts no glory

Pie eyed
4th November 2007, 21:55
Hey MagpieGirl, glad to see your flying the Black and White flag up there in Bundaberg...I'm was born in Mackay.....great country.

Pie eyed
4th November 2007, 22:03
I am 45 Married 22 years with two girls, one 16, one 2.5 years all Maggies supporter (of course).
I have run my own construction company since 1991 in ACT and WA and now after reading all the other posts feel decidedly "old". Footy always keeps me feeling young though.
Played footy for 25 years...forced out by crook knees and too much "enjoyment of life" and probably a bit of age.
Main interests beside footy are physics, genetics, fishing and reading good serial murder novels....lol.
My friends would decribe me as a "Collingwood Tragic" during the football season and "an eternal optimist" in the off season.

Marklar_33
5th November 2007, 07:18
23, F/T Storeman (keep me fit at least!). Been with GF 8+ years, currently renovating our cheap as chips house (buy before the boom, lucky!)

But other than that, its all sports for me. Dont play football, due to a distinct lack of any ability with a pigskin, but have made my niche as a swing bowler and recently handy lower order batsman (in my own opinion:D) for my cricket club in Northern Tas. Also play a bevy of indoor sports, plus lawn bowls (reigning corporate challenge 4's champion team, the Yaks)

And thats pretty much me

Tarkyn_24
5th November 2007, 08:34
Shiw me how I've been a pain in the arse here? Or was that aimed at Scotty?

bradrowe#32
5th November 2007, 08:49
Currently doing a double degree: Bach. Communication (Journalism) and Bach. Arts (Literature).

Just moved to Canberra this year after being in Victoria my whole life.

My entire family barracks for Collingwood. I had a great uncle - Elvin Barr - that played in 1930 and 1932 (although he didn't play in any flags). He wore number 2, played 9 games and kicked 3 goals.

sloth6
5th November 2007, 09:40
Born and bred in Melbourne, with black and white blood. 27 years old, living in Essendon and working for the government. Background is in sport (degree in Business and Sports Management)

Still playing footy, played at a very high level. Played with or against quite a few players still running round now. Played in the VAFA for the first time in 07 after spending several successful seasons in the EDFL.

Love the Maggies, go every week that I can, with therussian and usually sitting in the Collingwood stand. or MCC. Always prefer sitting up high and looking down the ground. You can see the play unfold.

MagpieGirl_13
5th November 2007, 15:08
Hey MagpieGirl, glad to see your flying the Black and White flag up there in Bundaberg...I'm was born in Mackay.....great country.

Well someones gotta do it... & I love it!!!

retroparty
5th November 2007, 18:15
Im 15 and I go to School

Jabso
5th November 2007, 20:31
Disclaimer: Moderators do not get paid.

In reality I am 21 years old and effectively a 2nd year Uni student (first year really, but doing 2nd year stuff as I came in through TAFE) @ RMIT Uni doing Accounting.

I go to see Collingwood in Melbourne every week, I've only missed like 2 games in two years.

I live in Bundy.....Bundoora that is but I'm originally from Hobart (Moonah to be exact, go the Glenorchy Magpies!).

I have started playing basketball, if you call the way I play basketball. Still looking for our first win. Still looking for our first single figure loss actually.

Snag Breac
6th November 2007, 10:09
[quote=Jabso;9414570]Disclaimer: Moderators do not get paid.

So you and VV torment us for free?

I live in Bundy.....Bundoora that is but I'm originally from Hobart (Moonah to be exact, go the Glenorchy Magpies!).

quote]

Bundoora is the new South Yarra - only with intellectual content.

Maybe the C'wood VFL team could train or play in Bundoora Park sometimes?

Optimax
6th November 2007, 10:46
[quote=Jabso;9414570]Disclaimer: Moderators do not get paid.

So you and VV torment us for free?

quote]

Bundoora is the new South Yarra - only with intellectual content.

Maybe the C'wood VFL team could train or play in Bundoora Park sometimes?

Intellectuals Bundoora? snag you sure about that mate? the uni students there are a bunch of piss pots i should know i am one lol

jerry springer
6th November 2007, 15:43
I hunt wolverines in alaska for a living

Optimax
6th November 2007, 16:45
I hunt wolverines in alaska for a living

im also a mongoose hunter, basically anywhere those pesky things pop up

jerry springer
6th November 2007, 17:25
im also a mongoose hunter, basically anywhere those pesky things pop up

lol:p

nah back on topic im really a medic in the Navy

Optimax
6th November 2007, 17:28
lol:p

nah back on topic im really a medic in the Navy

shit, really?

Where you based?

jerry springer
6th November 2007, 17:31
shit, really?

Where you based?

Sunny Cairns.Been here 6 months after spending last few years in Perth

Optimax
6th November 2007, 17:34
cool, wanted to join raaf did OSB and all then found out about my knees beinmg ****ed and got knocked back.

how long you been in all up?

Been sent anywhere abroad?

jerry springer
6th November 2007, 17:41
cool wanted to join the raaf but my knees screwed me over.

how long you been in it?

been on any excerises lately?

been in navy 6 years,spent 4 in the army before that.spent the last few weeks at sea,looking for idiot boat fisherman,but generally Medics in the navy dont get flogged at sea at much as other Branches(jobs)

you only need 2 medics on a ship of 150+ so we get heaps of shore time unlike marine engineers and the such.

Have been to places like India,china,japan,south Korea,thailand,east timor,guam been pretty lucky actually

when did you try out for Raaf? the ADF has relaxed a lot of rules in the last 18 months or so,we now let in people with previous historys of asthma,BMI over 30,some even with diabeties..

Optimax
6th November 2007, 18:24
been in navy 6 years,spent 4 in the army before that.spent the last few weeks at sea,looking for idiot boat fisherman,but generally Medics in the navy dont get flogged at sea at much as other Branches(jobs)

you only need 2 medics on a ship of 150+ so we get heaps of shore time unlike marine engineers and the such.

Have been to places like India,china,japan,south Korea,thailand,east timor,guam been pretty lucky actually

when did you try out for Raaf? the ADF has relaxed a lot of rules in the last 18 months or so,we now let in people with previous historys of asthma,BMI over 30,some even with diabeties..

was two years ago, i wanted to electronic eng at adfa nd be an air bourne engineer, they knocked me back cause of the cartilage damage to both knees. Was pissed at time (lost weight put on muscle got fit) but past it once i got into a double eng degree down here

DKS17
6th November 2007, 18:25
Good idea for a thread optimax! its great to get an idea of who people are behind their screen names after reading their posts for so long!

i'm 23 and a collingwood supporter born and bred. living in adelaide i only get to see 1 or 2 games a year live if im lucky but i watch every televised game (to the detriment of my social life some would argue).

i recently started working full time in a credit union call centre but I am going to uni next year to study economics and arts(politics major) with the aim of getting into invetment banking or stockbroking down the track

Snag Breac
7th November 2007, 10:45
[quote=Snag Breac;9417153]

Intellectuals Bundoora? snag you sure about that mate? the uni students there are a bunch of piss pots i should know i am one lol

But clever piss pots, Opti. Bundoora is framed by two of the great seats of learning - La Trobe and RMIT, and the Bundoora Art Gallery will rise to rival Heidi in the fullness of time.

Jabso
9th November 2007, 13:36

I go to RMIT City, so I'm above these plebs and I bring some culture from Glenorchy back to my Bundoorian peeps.

Optimax
9th November 2007, 13:57
I go to RMIT City, so I'm above these plebs and I bring some culture from Glenorchy back to my Bundoorian peeps.

i did eng at rmit city for a year dont flatter yourself, the uni student stupidity is also strong there jabso

luvlicca
7th December 2007, 22:23
Just found this thread so I thought I would get it cranking again!!!

I live in crappy Perth and have for 10 years now!! I am a proud Victorian and I cannot not stand the west coke eagles or the freo shockers!!! The more we beat them by the better I feel!!!

You all know now that I am a chick and I'm 26! I have recently broken up with my finacee of 10 years!! He was really starting to shit me!!!!! So now I am back to learning what it's like being single haha!!! And having a ball doing it!!!!!

I am a Coles supervisor and would love a better job, but I get the weekends off during footy season, so I really cant complain!!!

I love my Pie boys and Licca is a deadset champ!! I'm gonna miss you buddy!!! You always made time for me when you came to Perth and it was the best!!! Now Nicky boy is the one and only - I mean he was always a fave, but now he is at the forefront and I wouldnt want it any other way!!!
I have only been to a handful of live games - it's a little hard when you only get one a year if your lucky - but managed to get 10 games in the last 2 seasons thanks to holidays!!!! WHOOP WHOOP!!!!

I am also a HUGE Melbourne Storm fan and all I can say is BACK TO BACK!!!! Dallas Johnson is the bomb and Cooper Cronk is dead sexy!!!!!

I have a myspace - www.myspace.com/mrspaullicuria so if you wanna add me you can haha!!! Unless I scare you away hehe!! And if anyone has a facebook page I am on there too!!!! But god knows how the hell you give a addy for that one!!!!

If you wanna know anything else, just ask!!!

Peace out!!
xo

Cjkirbs19
8th December 2007, 00:18
Hey there, just found this thread aswell..

Im a 19 year old uni student at Ballarat Uni just got my results after my 2nd year. Doing a bachelor of Commerce, dont really like it but as long as i dont have to work in another Public Accounting Practice ill be fine(its really true, they have no personality).

Play football for North Ballarat City, missed the whole of this season with a Shoulder Reco though.

Play cricket in the Summer (Im a better cricketer than footballer, played rep for both though), and i have missed the last season and a half due to the shoulder. Im a legspin bowler and a middle order batsmen, and spin it further than Warney haha. JK, spin it the same!

Love the pies and my footy club, would do anything to watch the pies win a flag. MIssed playing alot this year, started pre season and cant wait for Round one to actually play!

Go to around 12-14 games a year, mostly with my Girlfriend of 3 years (barracks for St.Kilda but she is turning).

Spend my time with the GF, at home playing FIFA 2008, and with my mates. Havent gone out for a while due to the recovery from the shoulder reco, but usually have a bit of a punt when i do go out and act as a wingman for the boys.

Love Arsenal FC, dominating so far!

My myspace is myspace.com/cjkirbs19 if anyone wants to have a chat.

Go pies!!!!

Snag Breac
22nd December 2007, 18:57
Hey there, just found this thread aswell..

Im a 19 year old uni student at Ballarat Uni just got my results after my 2nd year. Doing a bachelor of Commerce, dont really like it but as long as i dont have to work in another Public Accounting Practice ill be fine(its really true, they have no personality).

Play football for North Ballarat City, missed the whole of this season with a Shoulder Reco though.

Play cricket in the Summer (Im a better cricketer than footballer, played rep for both though), and i have missed the last season and a half due to the shoulder. Im a legspin bowler and a middle order batsmen, and spin it further than Warney haha. JK, spin it the same!

Love the pies and my footy club, would do anything to watch the pies win a flag. MIssed playing alot this year, started pre season and cant wait for Round one to actually play!

Go to around 12-14 games a year, mostly with my Girlfriend of 3 years (barracks for St.Kilda but she is turning).

Spend my time with the GF, at home playing FIFA 2008, and with my mates. Havent gone out for a while due to the recovery from the shoulder reco, but usually have a bit of a punt when i do go out and act as a wingman for the boys.

Love Arsenal FC, dominating so far!

My myspace is myspace.com/cjkirbs19 if anyone wants to have a chat.

Go pies!!!!

Hey Cjkirbs, I won't bore you with the G word if you'll do one thing for me. I have never understood how cricket is scored. Actually, I've never understood anything about cricket, but I can't even tell who's winning when I hear the results. You know; "Australia's 86 for 300" or something like that. Why can't they just say that Oz is beating England by...whatever? Several people have tried to clarify things for me, but never to my satisfaction. So if you want to start an Idiot's Guide to cricket, I'll read it.:)

scottyD
22nd December 2007, 19:00
86 for 300? hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha :inhale: hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha

Runs for wickets or wickets for runs.

MagpieGirl_13
22nd December 2007, 19:42
OMG! 86 for 300, you crack me up Snag!!! ;)
hahaha!!!!!
lol:D:D:D:D jks

nick_savo
22nd December 2007, 19:46
Finished year 10 this year, VCE next year
Lives football weather it be playing it or watching it
Works at safeway on registers, pays well so I aint complaining, have bin working there for about 2 monthes
that me, haha

scottyD
22nd December 2007, 19:50
Finished year 9 starting on the senior site next year lol. No one knows what im on about.
Heading to Ballarat Clarendon College in year 11 & 12
Looking forward to playing footy again after a healthy year off.
Work at Coles. Just started, Still getting the hang.
sorry i had to copy ya savo lol

nick_savo
22nd December 2007, 19:57
Hey Cjkirbs, I won't bore you with the G word if you'll do one thing for me. I have never understood how cricket is scored. Actually, I've never understood anything about cricket, but I can't even tell who's winning when I hear the results. You know; "Australia's 86 for 300" or something like that. Why can't they just say that Oz is beating England by...whatever? Several people have tried to clarify things for me, but never to my satisfaction. So if you want to start an Idiot's Guide to cricket, I'll read it.:)
Ill give it a shot for ya Snag

Each team has 11 players
There has to be 2 people batting at a time
86 for 300 is impossible because the first number is the amount of people that have gone out.
So the first number can only be up to 10
Once 10 people go out that is the end of your batting

The second number is the amount of runs you have made
ask if you dont understad that part

Ok so when you hear for example, Australian made 6 for 345 and England made 9 for 128 then that means 6 of Australias batters went out and the those who batted made a total of 345 runs and the sae for england, so in this case Australia won.

Ok so you might ask but not everyone went out why is it finished?

The answer to that is in a one day match each team has 50 overs (an over is six balls) to make as many runs as they can and once all their overs are finished then they finish batting.

The other type of cricket is test match cricket when it is a 5 day match this is a little more complicated, each team has 2 turns of batting lets say australia wins the toss and batts first, they bat for 1 and a half days and make 4 for 300, they choose when they would like to stop batting because if they bat for too long then it could be a draw becuase the game wont end within the 5 days. or once everyone goes out they nexty team bats, so then england bats and go all out for 250 by the end of the third day, australia are now up by 50 runs and o into bat again lets say they make 1 for 150, their lead is now 200, lets say they choose to declare(stop batting) england now go into bat to try and make the 200 runs needed to win, of couse england wont make the 200 cause they are shit and australia will win like always

one thing to know in cricket is that australia will always win, dont ever bet against them :p

Hope this helped, it is probly going to be all mumbo jumbo to you but I know what im talking about haha

scottyD
22nd December 2007, 19:59
Good explaination Nick!

nick_savo
22nd December 2007, 20:04
who won this match Snag

Australia
First Innings: 4 for 354
Second Innings: 0 for 156

Bangladesh
First Innings: 6 for 400
Second Innings: 2 for 87

?????

No one else answer, lets see if Snag gets it :p

scottyD
22nd December 2007, 20:05
I know!
The answer is ...............

MagpieGirl_13
22nd December 2007, 20:17
It took me a while but I think I got the answer, at least I hope it's right...:o

campbell023
22nd December 2007, 20:29
I am attending college (Year 11 and 12) at Hawker College in Canberra. Just finished year 11. I play footy for the Belconnen Magpies and loving every minute. I have been a pies supporter all my life. I came home in a Collingwood jumper, so that is diehard for you. I am currently working at AMF bowling Centre and it is a sick job. Working with a bunch of mates and get paid pretty well:thumbsu:.

skeetz
22nd December 2007, 23:29
hey nick you said you lived in upwey, do you go to upwey hs and which safeway do you work at?

nick_savo
23rd December 2007, 11:17
hey nick you said you lived in upwey, do you go to upwey hs and which safeway do you work at?
Hey mate yeh I go to upwey hs and work at ftg safeway

Snag Breac
24th December 2007, 11:11
Ill give it a shot for ya Snag

Each team has 11 players
There has to be 2 people batting at a time
86 for 300 is impossible because the first number is the amount of people that have gone out.
So the first number can only be up to 10
Once 10 people go out that is the end of your batting

The second number is the amount of runs you have made
ask if you dont understad that part

Ok so when you hear for example, Australian made 6 for 345 and England made 9 for 128 then that means 6 of Australias batters went out and the those who batted made a total of 345 runs and the sae for england, so in this case Australia won.

Ok so you might ask but not everyone went out why is it finished?

The answer to that is in a one day match each team has 50 overs (an over is six balls) to make as many runs as they can and once all their overs are finished then they finish batting.

The other type of cricket is test match cricket when it is a 5 day match this is a little more complicated, each team has 2 turns of batting lets say australia wins the toss and batts first, they bat for 1 and a half days and make 4 for 300, they choose when they would like to stop batting because if they bat for too long then it could be a draw becuase the game wont end within the 5 days. or once everyone goes out they nexty team bats, so then england bats and go all out for 250 by the end of the third day, australia are now up by 50 runs and o into bat again lets say they make 1 for 150, their lead is now 200, lets say they choose to declare(stop batting) england now go into bat to try and make the 200 runs needed to win, of couse england wont make the 200 cause they are shit and australia will win like always

one thing to know in cricket is that australia will always win, dont ever bet against them :p

Hope this helped, it is probly going to be all mumbo jumbo to you but I know what im talking about haha

I certainly understand the bit in red, Nick, and concur wholeheartedly.:p
Thank you, it's a lot to absorb, but you have clarified the scoring issue. Not sure that I totally understand what a run may or may not be, but don't really need to know. I just need to know that Oz is beating the shite out of England. Bring on Boxing day....

Snag Breac
24th December 2007, 11:13
who won this match Snag

Australia
First Innings: 4 for 354
Second Innings: 0 for 156

Bangladesh
First Innings: 6 for 400
Second Innings: 2 for 87

?????

No one else answer, lets see if Snag gets it :p

Ok, doing my homework. Em.....let's see....eh.......I'm calling it for Australia??????

Snag Breac
24th December 2007, 11:21
Finished year 9 starting on the senior site next year lol. No one knows what im on about.
Heading to Ballarat Clarendon College in year 11 & 12
Looking forward to playing footy again after a healthy year off.
Work at Coles. Just started, Still getting the hang.
sorry i had to copy ya savo lol

Now this is something I do understand. Ballarat & Clarendon is a top school. They really aced the VCE this year, with a median study score of 36 - better than Wesley, Xavier ot Scotch. And 28% of study scores were above 40. You'd better work hard next year; the standard must be very high. So go on.......get off BF and start swotting.:)

Wasn't it great that the MCC was able to fund the boys Christmas trip to Ireland?

nick_savo
24th December 2007, 11:53
Ok, doing my homework. Em.....let's see....eh.......I'm calling it for Australia??????
Yes! you got it :p
Like I said Australia always win, even when the lose :eek:;)

King Woodie
24th December 2007, 12:27
Actually, it would be a draw, Nick Savo. Bangladesh would need to finish their second innings (ie be all out) if they were to loose the match. If we assume that all the other innings were declared.

nick_savo
24th December 2007, 12:30
Actually, it would be a draw, Nick Savo. Bangladesh would need to finish their second innings (ie be all out) if they were to loose the match. If we assume that all the other innings were declared.
I was being sarcastic, in my first post I said Australia never lose and thats why I said she got it when she sad Australia
Hence why I said "even when we lose" in the second post, probly just confused everyone but not myself :p

pies4eva
24th December 2007, 14:25
Ok, well... I'm 26 (27 in 2 weeks), I work full-time night shift as a laptop service technician, we fix laptops for private school students, so if you go to Wesley or Whitefriars or Luther or a fair number of other school's and got a laptop I'm one of the people who fix it when you keep breaking it... lol.

Hey i went to whitefriars, i hated those rubbish laptops, dropped and punched it many times lol.

thatday
24th December 2007, 14:34
Hey i went to whitefriars, i hated those rubbish laptops, dropped and punched it many times lol.

You sure you didn't hit it because of Whitefriars recent record in ACC competition?:D

Wait, is it whitfriars that aren't exactly good? Or have i got schools confused?

Optimax
24th December 2007, 14:37
You sure you didn't hit it because of Whitefriars recent record in ACC competition?:D

how is that ACC going being an old paradian i to made a few breif appearnces there in the football team, my last match was against whitefriars in year 12 when i got suspended by my school after a bit or a wrestle i got into lol good times.

pies4eva
24th December 2007, 14:38

Wait, is it whitfriars that aren't exactly good? Or have i got schools confused?

lol nah its true we are rubbish now. But a couple of years ago we dominated winning the herald sun shield. With Marc Murphy playing as bottom age in the comp.

Optimax
24th December 2007, 14:41
lol nah its true we are rubbish now. But a couple of years ago we dominated winning the herald sun shield. With Marc Murphy playing as bottom age in the comp.

he was the kid my coach asked me to negate christ that was difficult when i caught him he got hit (which started the wrestle) but that didnt happen often lol i was at best in year 12 an averaged skilled HFF HBF

pies4eva
24th December 2007, 14:45
he was the kid my coach asked me to negate christ that was difficult when i caught him he got hit (which started the wrestle) but that didnt happen often lol i was at best in year 12 an averaged skilled HFF HBF

They were a few quality scuffles out there i remember. The best was playing at home because you had all your mates that didnt play who were watching and abusing the shit out of the opposition lol. Im a year younger than Marc, we used to just sit and watch him play in awe.

Optimax
24th December 2007, 14:48
They were a few quality scuffles out there i remember. The best was playing at home because you had all your mates that didnt play who were watching and abusing the shit out of the opposition lol. Im a year younger than Marc, we used to just sit and watch him play in awe.

he absolutely owned us i copuldnt belive how he kept getting up though i cannoned into every stopped play but he just wouldnt stay down, yeah we really didnt like ya at all but hey we all grew up and my 6 game suspension from my school kinda got me to give up lol

swiftdog
24th December 2007, 19:56
I might as well join in:

I'm 18, live in the North-Eastern Suburbs. Just finished yr 12, hoping to get in to human movement at RMIT, become a sport's scientist, get a job at the AIS and then eventually CFC.

I've been a lost little child since schoolies, don't know what to do with myself. I work at Safeway as a grocery assistant, checkout chick and *sigh* trolley collector.

Love footy and cricket, i am thinking of retaking up footy next year. I'm a handy spin bowler in cricket, at least i think so, but a complete spud of a batsmen. I bowl that really slow type of offspin that everyone tries to smack out of the park but they just miss it and it makes me look good.:D:D

Have a merry christmas.:thumbsu:

pies75
28th December 2007, 18:28
Well, here goes, I'm 32 (so compared to everyone else can officially be called "old fart") married for two years and have an eight month old boy who gets brainwashed by his beloved daddy everyday into barracking for the mighty pies, much to the annoyance of his hawthorn supporting mum.:thumbsu:

I grew up in a family of hawthorn fans in the eighties which has bred an unnatural hatred for all things brown & gold, grew up around burwood but have been sucked into the vortex that is the western suburbs of melbourne.

Other than that, i've lived OS for a couple of years, been a tram conductor until Emperor Kennett decided a little green box would do a better job, Worked at crown for three years and am currently wasting my time working for a major retail book chain until I can stump up the dough to afford some more education before it's too late.

That should just about do it..

P.S I would recommend parenthood to anyone by the way(when of course you're ready for it) I'm loving every second of it.(except at 1.30 this morning, funnily enough);)

skeetz
30th December 2007, 03:11
Hey mate yeh I go to upwey hs and work at ftg safeway
hahah nice. my lil bro goes to upwey, yr 8 i think, mebe yr 9 next year (he's 14 so you do the maths :D).
Do you work late shift at safers? I lived on Dorset rd earlier this year, I was always down there at like 2 in the morn getting munchies. Do you know a gal called jasmin at work? She was one of my housemates on dorset. Oh and the lady with red hair!! she was the one always working the graveyard.
small world!

stui magpie
1st January 2008, 14:07
Meh, what the hell.

All about me,

wrong side of 40, 2 teenage kids, worked for one company for 20 years until leaving during 06. After taking a break and doing some home reno's and having a holiday, I've started looking for a job again and doing some casual labouring work 2-3 days a week to get fitter and provide some beer money. (why pay money to go to a gym when you can get paid to carry furniture and 20kg boxes up and down stairs:p)

Starting a grad cert in IR this year to keep the brain ticking over and live not far from Bundoora (but not quite far enough, more culture in a bowl of yoghurt:D)

Did I mention that I'm also petitioning the architects institute of Australia to insert a rule that before any architect is allowed to start designing things for real, they have to work as a removalist for a month first? Maybe then they'll stop designing pokey frigging 3 story townhouses with cramped narrow stairways that look "funky" but are impossible to get furniture in and out of.:mad:

skelly12
2nd January 2008, 18:36

one of my friends moved to bundaberg a few years ago, her dad is the principal of a school their now

skelly12
2nd January 2008, 18:37
hahah nice. my lil bro goes to upwey, yr 8 i think, mebe yr 9 next year (he's 14 so you do the maths :D).
Do you work late shift at safers? I lived on Dorset rd earlier this year, I was always down there at like 2 in the morn getting munchies. Do you know a gal called jasmin at work? She was one of my housemates on dorset. Oh and the lady with red hair!! she was the one always working the graveyard.
small world!

my uncle is the new principal at upwey

skelly12
2nd January 2008, 18:42
im 18, finished school this year and am trying to harbour my slight chances of being accepted to a commerce/law double however stuffed up one exam this year which killed me. Went to a grammar school in the country, prefect, house captain, played junior footy with power U15s and U16s, gave rep footy away after 16s to go to boarding school.

Play senior footy in a good country league, obviously support collingwood and get to as many games as possible.

That is all.

MagpieGirl_13
2nd January 2008, 18:59
one of my friends moved to bundaberg a few years ago, her dad is the principal of a school their now

What school?

skelly12
2nd January 2008, 19:05
dunno what it is called but it would be the private one i'm assuming....martin oates is the principal

hellfire
7th January 2008, 11:05
Third year uni student this year, majoring in economics. Have a job doing finance indirectly (through a third party) for GE Money - they work around my schedule, which is good. Also work some nights at Dan Murphy's (the local beer expert... if you want recommendations, ask me). Play basketball, and I'm hoping to start boxing in competition soon.

nick_savo
12th January 2008, 19:07
my uncle is the new principal at upwey
Tom Dailey? or however you spell it

Tell him to be nice 2 me :p

scottyD
12th January 2008, 19:11
Welcome back Savo!