View Full Version : Massive News About Clement!
KLAVO_Snr
22 Oct 2007, 17:22
I have just learnt from Carlton that they are very keen on getting james clement to the club in the pre-season draft. James Clement just needs to name a price and he's there!
i guess we'll just have to wait and see if he nominates for the pre-season draft.
THIS IS TRUE...NO BULLSHIT!
YOU HEARD IT HERE FIRST ON bigfooty.com !
I have just learnt from Carlton that they are very keen on getting james clement to the club in the pre-season draft. James Clement just needs to name a price and he's there!
i guess we'll just have to wait and see if he nominates for the pre-season draft.
I'll go with BULLSHIT
What a ridiculous post.
This has been gone over so many times before. He retired to pursue other interests in life. He is not playing footy anymore. If he was still interested in playing he would not have left Collingwood.
KLAVO_Snr
22 Oct 2007, 17:25
I'll go with BULLSHIT
obviously u cant read ********!
dp3[WLD]
22 Oct 2007, 17:26
so what your saying is that
carlton are interested
your not saying that he will go there for sure
KLAVO_Snr
22 Oct 2007, 17:26
stop ya sobbing pies supporters your making me sick!
KLAVO_Snr
22 Oct 2007, 17:27
that is exactly what i am saying! they are interested!! all he has to do is name he's price... 2yr deal
thatday
22 Oct 2007, 17:30
I would imagin he will not go to the draft, if he wanted to continue playing footy why would he give up playing at Collingwod and almost definately the capataincy? Carlton may be looking at him, but i doubt he will play again. If he were to go some shit will hit the fan.
vinnie_vegas69
22 Oct 2007, 17:30
all he has to do is name he's price... 2yr deal
And? Collingwood were interested too - We would have given him a 2 year deal at whatever price he name, and would have made him captain to boot.
Just because Carlton are pursuing him doesn't mean that he has any interest whatsoever.
More importantly, he hasn't even officially been delisted - If he wanted to play on, we could still re-sign him.
Porps_is_HOT_loz
22 Oct 2007, 17:35
No way Clemet is goin 2 Carton, arch rivals of his old team and he looked happy at pies and the time is come hes retired soo i dont think he will be playing footy again
obviously not true
james clement comes across as a loyal and respectful man.
if he did this it would be like dumping a load of cr@p on the 115 years of history collingwood has worked to hard to create. he wouldnt do this, if he did i would never like him again and boo him until i cant boo any more.
but it wont happen!
marcmurphy3
22 Oct 2007, 17:37
The look on Eddie's face would be priceless if this eventuated. I would pay Clement 500k a year just for that.
Realistically though, it won't happen.
DonFletch
22 Oct 2007, 17:45
obviously not true
if he did this it would be like dumping a load of cr@p on the 115 years of history collingwood has worked to hard to create. he wouldnt do this, if he did i would never like him again and boo him until i cant boo any more.
but it wont happen!
so whats the difference, carlton have been dumping crap on you forever and a day...harmes, sheldon, jezza, hopkins, barrassi.....remember those classic GF moments???
Atomboy
22 Oct 2007, 17:48
The look on Eddie's face would be priceless if this eventuated. I would pay Clement 500k a year just for that.
Realistically though, it won't happen.
I highly doubt Clement has the flawed morals and values that would be needed to join the Blues.
pinkus maximus
22 Oct 2007, 17:52
aren't you the one who said we would be trading brett peake for kepler bradley :D
Can a MOD plese move this to Bay13 where it belongs
TheHeatleyStand
22 Oct 2007, 17:54
I highly doubt Clement has the flawed morals and values that would be needed to join the Blues.
Rice and Perovic did alright leaving StKilda and coming to the Blues.. Greg Wells.. Greg Williams... its a premiership club..... :)
Has anyone left their club and gone to stKilda and won a flag there???
A few more pearlers from this poster
Chris Judd will be meeting with the Essendon FC on Wednesday/Thursday, and will be announced as new or equal front runner with Carlton. A very reliable source says Kepler Bradley & Leroy Jetta aren't happy at the club and are ready to go back home to perth! Bradley was pick 6 draft pick in 2003, while Jetta is homesick and had a falling out with the club mid-year when playing in the reserves for bendigo and was caught drinking past curfew with Richard Cole while playing in tasmaina. Expect Essendon to be heavily involved in trade week!
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=373220
also i would like to report that essendon are chasing j.mcveigh from sydney for dyson and pick/player!
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=9086148#post9086148
brett peake for kepler bradley and pick...it's gonna happen!
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=9085982#post9085982
dp3[WLD]
22 Oct 2007, 18:04
Pwned
morphous
22 Oct 2007, 18:18
What a ridiculous post.
This has been gone over so many times before. He retired to pursue other interests in life. He is not playing footy anymore. If he was still interested in playing he would not have left Collingwood.
So did Mal Michael
vinnie_vegas69
22 Oct 2007, 18:28
Except that Mal Michael was interested in leaving Brisbane, and had told them that the main reason he wanted to leave was that he didn't have the time to commit to training.
Essendon told him he didn't have to train as much if he didn't want to, so he went.
James Clement would have no reason to want to play for any other team.
Streaker
22 Oct 2007, 18:37
What reason did Clement give for wanting to retire?
personal reasons
pies4eva
22 Oct 2007, 19:18
LOL good stuff Merv :thumbsu:
we are still rebuilding, we need the kids to have experience so why the hell are we taking him?
vinnie_vegas69
22 Oct 2007, 19:36
we are still rebuilding, we need the kids to have experience so why the hell are we taking him?
You're not - There is no grounding in reality to this.
If he was even in the slightest available, you would take him in an instant though, no doubt about it.
gazza35
22 Oct 2007, 20:08
it has been mentioned on another thread if her plays at all next year it will
be up the bush for Seymour
WoGiTaLiA
22 Oct 2007, 20:10
Hey, he did play for Collingwood, so his self respect can't be all that high and neither can his morals and values.
Crow-mo
22 Oct 2007, 20:13
PANTS ON FIRE :rolleyes:
beatnik
22 Oct 2007, 20:13
So did Mal Michael
Except that Mal Michael was interested in leaving Brisbane, and had told them that the main reason he wanted to leave was that he didn't have the time to commit to training.
Essendon told him he didn't have to train as much if he didn't want to, so he went.
i think you're drawing a distinction where there is none VV
wasn't Mal's inability to commit to training because he retired "to pursue other interests in life"?
westbrom
22 Oct 2007, 20:15
I do not want him, in fact I am not the slightest bit interested in us drafting 2 year players, but there would be a little smirk on my face as Collingwood fans turned on a former son and Eddie was spitting chips ah maybe I do want him after all.
Johnson#26
22 Oct 2007, 20:19
He won't. It is that simple. Anyone at the Copeland knows what I'm talking about.
didak04
22 Oct 2007, 20:21
so whats the difference, carlton have been dumping crap on you forever and a day...harmes, sheldon, jezza, hopkins, barrassi.....remember those classic GF moments???
i'm sorry, i wasn't born when any of that happened, got anything more recent?
vinnie_vegas69
22 Oct 2007, 22:34
i think you're drawing a distinction where there is none VV
wasn't Mal's inability to commit to training because he retired "to pursue other interests in life"?
No, Mal Michael specifically said that he wanted to keep playing footy, but wanted a scaled-back training regimen, which Brisbane didn't want to offer, so he said that he'd retire.
When Essendon came to him and offered him a way of playing football that he could still do everything he wanted to do, he decided to go to them.
James Clement has stated that he is no longer interested in playing football, and wants to do other things with his life. He has a Bachelor of Science, as well as an MBA and a graduate diploma in financial planning. He is eminently educated, and I'm sure is interested in finally putting that education to good use.
DynamoUltra
22 Oct 2007, 22:46
I reckon Hawthorn would be interested too, and Richmond and St. Kilda and Melbourne and Western Bulldogs and Essendon and Fremantle and Adelaide and, well, you get my point.
Wonder Years
23 Oct 2007, 00:44
obviously not true
but it wont happen!
you're right, Clement would never do that to a club he is probably one of few players with the highest respect and integrity he never even bagged Freo for letting him go!
goneloco62
23 Oct 2007, 08:18
Oh I feel a Mal Micheal situation coming on
Gopies 2002
23 Oct 2007, 10:36
Oh I feel a Mal Micheal situation coming on
Clearly you do not know the man.
I will back up a previous poster - if you were at the Copeland you would know.
It certainly doesn't come as a suprise that they have asked the question though.
daics cousin
23 Oct 2007, 10:43
Jimmy clement has been hired by the pies in a part time administrative capacity from next year,he will also pursue his own business interests and spend time with his family,that's why he left afl football.No way he's go to another club the guy has retired.
These west coast people haven't got over the judd and cousens departures.
goodie23
23 Oct 2007, 11:39
And in other news, Michael Tuck has decided to come out of retirement and play for Richmond with his son
AlecDuncan
23 Oct 2007, 12:45
I'll go with BULLSHIT
Seconded.
They make it so you have to be a BF member for longer than three months before you can start a thread. It would sort out knobs like the OP around draft time.
The Donners
23 Oct 2007, 12:57
Yeah right, Carlton couldn't afford him! BULLSHIT!
Grimreepah
23 Oct 2007, 13:05
No, Mal Michael specifically said that he wanted to keep playing footy
Mal said a lot of things. He also said watching the grand final that year reignited his passion to play again.
When Essendon came to him and offered him a way of playing football that he could still do everything he wanted to do, he decided to go to them.
It seems to me that Mal changed his mind about setting up the Mal Michael Foundation and decided to continue playing footy instead.
I can't see Clement doing anything like that though.
Agree. Seems like an honest, decent bloke.
bluecamel
23 Oct 2007, 13:30
It seems to me that Mal changed his mind about setting up the Mal Michael Foundation and decided to continue playing footy instead.
Of course Clement would not do that, his name is not Mal Michael to start with.
Anthony_
23 Oct 2007, 14:40
Every player is going to Carlton in the PSD.
Hahn (Just re-signed but they babbled on for a while about him)
Clement
Brennan
Cousins :p
Bradley
Anyone else?
The Donners
23 Oct 2007, 14:42
Clement
Brennan
Anyone else?
Kepler Bradley is available!
Jeremias
23 Oct 2007, 15:24
It's bullshit.
James Clement's RETIRED
I don't believe the rumour, but that's just hilarious.
Some people must live under a rock or something :D
irukandji
23 Oct 2007, 15:44
Clement
Brennan
Bradley
Anyone else?
Yes, Ben Rutten and Andrew Embley.
Borgsta
23 Oct 2007, 15:57
Why are people so upset about this?
I'm sure every team would give a "name your price" offer for Clement in the psd.
That DOESN'T mean that he WILL go there, just means that the TEAM is interested.
Anthony_
23 Oct 2007, 16:56
I'm sure every team would give a "name your price" offer for Clement in the psd.
That DOESN'T mean that he WILL go there, just means that the TEAM is interested.
Who is upset...apart from C.JUDD, Carlton will field an entire team of players recruited via the PSD! ;)
TheGeneral
23 Oct 2007, 19:20
Clement
Brennan
Bradley
Anyone else?
Who knows what will happen?
We drafted Nick Stevens with pick two after one club committed to drafting Rawlings at one. :cool:
But that is not what the OP said, is it?
Borgsta
23 Oct 2007, 20:18
But that is not what the OP said, is it?
I know you are smarter than that Murray but we'll have to revisit the 1st post again.
Seems pretty clear cut to me. Carlton should be asking the question to Jimmy.
morphous
23 Oct 2007, 20:41
it has been mentioned on another thread if her plays at all next year it will
be up the bush for Seymour
Makes sense, most Seymour players commute from Melbourne.
Clearly you do not know the man.
I will back up a previous poster - if you were at the Copeland you would know.
It certainly doesn't come as a suprise that they have asked the question though.
Can anyone elaborate on this comment. Did he give a pretty inspiring goodbye speech, or something similar?
windows
23 Oct 2007, 22:18
Can anyone elaborate on this comment. Did he give a pretty inspiring goodbye speech, or something similar?
According to what I have heard he was pretty emotional. I think the implication is sound - why get emotional if you are happy to leave?
Anthony_
24 Oct 2007, 00:18
We drafted Nick Stevens with pick two after one club committed to drafting Rawlings at one. :cool:
Haha yeah Rohde was a trading mastermind lol :thumbsu:
Not us ...we traded the dud years ago ;)
doh its me
24 Oct 2007, 05:23
I dont think Carlton would even want him despite what a lot of ppl here seem to think.
Carlton will not challenge for a flag for at least 3 years
Carlton need to get games into their young defenders to prepare for the next flag challenge.
They may get a surprise big fish in the PSD, but it wont be Clement.
The Donners
24 Oct 2007, 10:18
Cos Rawlings was cheap! Stevens had a huge $$$$ tag, I just can't believe Carlton can fit Stevens, Fevola and Judd all under the one salary cap! All of which would be on or around $1m per season!
Borgsta
24 Oct 2007, 10:39
Cos Rawlings was cheap! Stevens had a huge $$$$ tag, I just can't believe Carlton can fit Stevens, Fevola and Judd all under the one salary cap! All of which would be on or around $1m per season!
Showing a real lack of knowledge here. Rawlings was no where near cheap.
The Donners
24 Oct 2007, 10:58
Showing a real lack of knowledge here. Rawlings was no where near cheap.
Comparatively speaking. I realise Rawlings had a reasonably high $$$ tag because of a little bit of form at the Hawks but by no means was he in the same bracket as Nick Stevens!
bluecamel
24 Oct 2007, 11:35
:D:D:D
Fev and Stevens would be nowhere near $1M per year. :thumbsu:
The Donners
24 Oct 2007, 11:37
:D:D:D
Fev and Stevens would be nowhere near $1M per year. :thumbsu:
Stevens - $750k+
Fevola - $500k+
Judd - $1.2m
Roughly $800,000 each (average).
bluecamel
24 Oct 2007, 11:45
So, according to your first claim that all three would be on or around $1m, and assuming your estimations are correct, you've already found $600K to throw at someone like Clement--if the club chose to do so.
We don't have many issues with our TPP at the moment. But, if all goes to plan, we might have a few problems in years to come, as the system is designed to do.
Baroclinic instability
24 Oct 2007, 12:16
Stevens - $750k+
Fevola - $500k+
Judd - $1.2m
Roughly $800,000 each (average).
HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA
Thanks for that, I needed a good laugh
More like
Stevens $400K-$500K
Fevola $350K + $100K marketing which isn't included in the cap
Judd probably around $800K + marketing component
Don't forget Whitnall was cut who was probably on $350K-$450K
The Donners
24 Oct 2007, 13:09
So, according to your first claim that all three would be on or around $1m, and assuming your estimations are correct, you've already found $600K to throw at someone like Clement--if the club chose to do so.
We don't have many issues with our TPP at the moment. But, if all goes to plan, we might have a few problems in years to come, as the system is designed to do.
You have no players on the veterans list. Judd takes up 20-25% of your TPP, Fev/Stevens make up another 20-25%... leaving you with 50-60% to spread amongst 35 other players, with average pay of about $80k-100k (that's base payment plus a little bit extra for match payments)... you've reached your TPP!
The Donners
24 Oct 2007, 13:11
HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA
Thanks for that, I needed a good laugh
More like
Stevens $400K-$500K
Fevola $350K + $100K marketing which isn't included in the cap
Judd probably around $800K + marketing component
Don't forget Whitnall was cut who was probably on $350K-$450K
Yeah, and Kouta was only on $250k... wanker!
Gopies 2002
24 Oct 2007, 13:48
Brennan was apparantly offered over $300k to move south. Are we to believe Fev signed for "only" $350k ? Much more likely to be $450K + marketing.
Baroclinic instability
24 Oct 2007, 13:58
I have no doubt the figures I posted are very close to the mark, you can disregard them all you want but truth is our cap is not bursting at the seams....not my fault the truth hurts
smithos
24 Oct 2007, 13:59
Brennan was apparantly offered over $300k to move south. Are we to believe Fev signed for "only" $350k ? Much more likely to be $450K + marketing.
There's contract worth and then there's what it takes to get a bloke to move.
Baroclinic instability
24 Oct 2007, 14:00
There's contract worth and then there's what it takes to get a bloke to move.
Seems Richmond are scaring everyone off
The Donners
24 Oct 2007, 14:25
I have no doubt the figures I posted are very close to the mark, you can disregard them all you want but truth is our cap is not bursting at the seams....not my fault the truth hurts
Correct me I'm wrong but each team MUST play with a minimum of 95% of their TPP each season. You've lost Kouta who was on the veteran's list and you've lost Whitnall... you've gained Judd who would cost the same as those two combined (considering Kouta was a vet) and you've also got Hadley... now if you guys would have money for any more descent players then something very dodgey is going on!
I know you are smarter than that Murray but we'll have to revisit the 1st post again.
Seems pretty clear cut to me. Carlton should be asking the question to Jimmy.
"James Clement just needs to name a price and he's there"
Now just read that bit again.................and again.
This clod is saying that Carlton have spoken to Clement and are waiting on Clement to get back to them with a price and that Carlton will meet that price and that Clement will then agree to play for Carlton.
Get it now?
So I'll say it again
BULLSHIT
Doormat Flying
24 Oct 2007, 16:02
Correct me I'm wrong !
It's 92.5% in the latest CBA.
d-mac3276
24 Oct 2007, 20:58
What a load of crap why the hell would he go from a team who ain't that far off winning a premiership and go to a club who by the time they win another one he will b long retired. Makes no sense
The Donners
24 Oct 2007, 21:03
It's 92.5% in the latest CBA.
Thanks for your research.