View Full Version : Freo delist 5

Pages : [1] 2

sabre_ac
22 Oct 2007, 20:52
I realise we have a sticky but this is a pretty dramatic development that is sure to create allot of discussion.

Walker, Collard, Mourish, Hadrill and Dunn

Collard and Mourish were on the list for one year, Collard showed promising sign's for the first half ot the season.

Dunn when fit looked good too and I thought did enough in the final game of the season to warrant a spot.

Walker was a no brainer, Hadrill is a bit strange considering how desperate we are for big bodied backmen.

Struggling to see the logic in this one...

Dyslexic Emo
22 Oct 2007, 20:53
now this may just be speculation and well i'm hoping it is, as getting rid of mourish and collard, well they were barely givien a chance now were they, or are we going to do one of those delist, pick up the same player again jobbies?

Cameron_K
22 Oct 2007, 20:57
I thought Dunn would have got another year. Mourish will be picked up on the rookie list I assume if he is there. Collards attitude just wasn't right after he played his one AFL game

gokangas
22 Oct 2007, 20:59
Delistings are always subjective especially when they cut a player who you think is an up and comer.
I liked the look of Collard and would be interested in you guys opinions as to why he has been cut.

inferno66
22 Oct 2007, 21:00
now this may just be speculation and well i'm hoping it is, as getting rid of mourish and collard, well they were barely givien a chance now were they, or are we going to do one of those delist, pick up the same player again jobbies?

I reckon we will try and pick all three of those players back on the rookie list.

NiGHTFuRY
22 Oct 2007, 21:04
Maybe we should have a thread to congratulate & thank Grandson on a long & loyal Fremantle career. He is a life member of our club as well.

Freo Shark
22 Oct 2007, 21:05
Harvs statement to the player group #2

Wont stand players who dont wanna play footy or show the committment.

PinCushion
22 Oct 2007, 21:06
So if you pick up Collard and Mourish again they'll be getting double pay next year, aye?

sabre_ac
22 Oct 2007, 21:07
Maybe we should have a thread to congratulate & thank Grandson on a long & loyal Fremantle career. He is a life member of our club as well.

An excellent suggestion

Roundhouse
22 Oct 2007, 21:11

Who of the players delisted wasn't committed and doesn't want to play footy?

Dyslexic Emo
22 Oct 2007, 21:12
With Hadrill, are we in the process of maybe grooming Campbell for that spot? as i've always thought with the glut of tall players we do have the luxury to be able to do that. walker I guess I could see coming but I always had a soft spot for him but I guess he was getting a bit long int he tooth but still :(.

Mourish and Collard as i've already said were never given a chance which is sad, and dunn well I can't say he was ever one of my favourites but that's definitely not to say that I didn't like him. He was just never special as bruce would say.

Overall. i'm going to have to say that although i'm dissapointed in some of their decisions. I accept that they know best and have faith that the panel has Freo's best interests in mind when they do this.

Reveler
22 Oct 2007, 21:12
Rumble and Coping gorn too..

Dyslexic Emo
22 Oct 2007, 21:13

Mourish

Freo Shark
22 Oct 2007, 21:20

Mourish

Dutchey on Dockerlands delisting thread commented that allegedly both Sowfs and Freo were disappointed with Collards attitude in the second half.

I hadnt heard that bout me buddy Mourish. I thought from his games he just needed time and was better spent on the rookie list.

Plugga
22 Oct 2007, 21:21
Chris Bond hasn't stuffed around has he....superb move....a real wake up call for everyone on the list!

Dunn - never a fan, Dunn Nothing
Walker - past it (see tagging effort on Brent Harvey for all the evidence u need)
Haddrill - injuries got best of him
Collard - Chocalates to black & gold boiled lollies in 4 months. Likely to be relisted as rookie if available then
Mourish - See Collard
Copping - See Dunn
Rumble - See Copping

Kick me if I'm wrong but I think this gives us;

4 picks @ National Draft
1 pick @ PSD
Upgrade 1 of eitehr Smith or Foster (likely Foster)
4 new rookie selections (possible relisting of Mourish & Collard as rookies)

:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

saladin
22 Oct 2007, 21:23
from a rival supporters viewpoint, some of those look staggering. at this time last year, Jetta and Collard were both being talked up as similarly talented players and possible 1st round selections. surely Collard must have strayed in his committment and off-field behaviour? Mourish was always considered a left-field risk, so perhaps it's not too surprising. but to lose two of your three draftees after just 12 months is bewildering. Harves is bringing out the sledgehammer.

NiGHTFuRY
22 Oct 2007, 21:26
from a rival supporters viewpoint, some of those look staggering. at this time last year, Jetta and Collard were both being talked up as similarly talented players and possible 1st round selections. surely Collard must have strayed in his committment and off-field behaviour? Mourish was always considered a left-field risk, so perhaps it's not too surprising. but to lose two of your three draftees after just 12 months is bewildering. Harves is bringing out the sledgehammer.

Saladin, I think it's something long overdue at our club. Maybe now with everyone on notice the team will understand with the CC's regime now gone the time for perform or perish has come.

dominguez
22 Oct 2007, 21:27
So if you pick up Collard and Mourish again they'll be getting double pay next year, aye?

Atleast neither were top nine selections like the bloke your mob recently de-listed.

dominguez
22 Oct 2007, 21:28

Collard and Mourish.

Underdog
22 Oct 2007, 21:29

That's pretty harsh

They are just kids who may have had trouble adapting to what is required. Perhaps more should have been done to help them - particularly as you guys pride yourselves on aboriginal relations

dominguez
22 Oct 2007, 21:30
With Hadrill, are we in the process of maybe grooming Campbell for that spot?

Doesn't have the pace off the mark.

Invigoration
22 Oct 2007, 21:31
Atleast neither were top ten selections like the bloke your mob recently de-listed.

And what about Dunn? :rolleyes:

Modra93
22 Oct 2007, 21:32
how on earth would fremantle be able to get colalrd as a rookie, seriouslt the guy was taken #30 in the superdraft and you think he's a shot to make it to pick 6 or 7 in teh rookie draft ha. no chance, cant see it happening

NiGHTFuRY
22 Oct 2007, 21:32
Lets get Drummy up and running and turn him into the full back that seems to be a good fit fo him.

Freo Shark
22 Oct 2007, 21:34
That's pretty harsh

They are just kids who may have had trouble adapting to what is required. Perhaps more should have been done to help them - particularly as you guys pride yourselves on aboriginal relations

I dare say it is harsh, but then perhaps both are promised rookie posies, if still around. Sometimes people need a kick in the arse...eg Crowley experienced the same thing.

Fills me with abit of intrepidation with Collard and Mourish tho.

Bradesmaen
Lets get Drummy up and running and turn him into the full back that seems to be a good fit fo him.
Agreed. If he can get a bit of bulk, he has great speed, height, hands and feet. He is a perfect CHB if he can get some bulk and I think Harvey sees that in him.

Plugga
how on earth would fremantle be able to get colalrd as a rookie, seriouslt the guy was taken #30 in the superdraft and you think he's a shot to make it to pick 6 or 7 in teh rookie draft ha. no chance, cant see it happening

If u guys can turn around his attitude...good luck:thumbsu:

dominguez
22 Oct 2007, 21:38

Why would the 14 teams based outside of WA want to pick up a guy who couldn't adjust to life as an AFL footballer in his home town?

Kenny_01
22 Oct 2007, 21:39
Good move but personally I would have delisted Browne before Clayton.

Modra93
22 Oct 2007, 21:41
because he has talent and would be definetly worth a shot on teh rookie list at any club if he was a potential first rounder in last years superdraft

KING-JAMES
22 Oct 2007, 21:46
Pretty shocked at this. He must have Major issues to have been cut that way. Definetely not a talent issue. I would take him at essendon providing he got over this problems quick smart, and it could have been the wake up call he needed, but then again he could just be a bad egg.

saladin
22 Oct 2007, 21:47
essendon might take a punt on collard at #55 or thereabouts in the ND. especially if he expresses an interest in playing with jetta/ryder etc. in a weak draft, might be worth the risk.

fryingpan
22 Oct 2007, 21:51
Copping gone you beauty!!

ImperialPurple
22 Oct 2007, 21:55
Feeling very nervous.... :o

HBF
22 Oct 2007, 21:57
I thought Dunn would have got another year. Mourish will be picked up on the rookie list I assume if he is there. Collards attitude just wasn't right after he played his one AFL game

Do you think that this would be the main reason for his delisting? Cannot be a talent issue. Very shocked he has been delisted.

Lach72
22 Oct 2007, 21:57
Well...dramatic is the word...

Webster and Browne stay, hey?
Who woulda thunk it?

Bit surprised Collard is gone, but attitude musta stunk

Plugga
22 Oct 2007, 22:07
Feeling very nervous.... :o

??? about what???

Harvey/Bond et al know what they're doing....relax.

Saying that...Browne/Webster very lucky

Dyslexic Emo
22 Oct 2007, 22:12
Does anyone think that this might be a ploy/distraction and will allow us to pick up the players that WE wanted in the pre season draft ie Keps? and by throwing these names up it will obviously raise the eyebrows of a few teams looing for a cheap, possibly quality pick up (and with their reputaiton ie: Collard/Mourish from last years draft) Other teams might look over some players whom we have our eyes on and as such will let them slide and pick up our delisted players thus leaving the ones we want for us.

Anyone think there may be some validity to that or am i just creating conspiracy theories here?

that_dood
22 Oct 2007, 22:17
From AFL website:

"The club is also seeking permission from the AFL for Collard, Mourish and Dunn to commence pre-season training with Fremantle."

I can see you guys picking up those blokes pre-season.

Budda 230
22 Oct 2007, 22:20
It's ok to get the sledge hammer out, but seriously they have targetted the wrong people.

Lach72
22 Oct 2007, 22:20
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=9293448&postcount=37

Warrior 89
22 Oct 2007, 22:22
I can't understand why we delisted so many players. Elevating Foster and 3 picks in the ND meant we only needed to delist 3 players (Cookie retired frees up 1 spot).
From all reports this is not a deep draft and surely Collard or Dunn are better than any kid we would get with our 4th pick 56.
Haddrill and again Collard and Dunn are better than any of the players that would be left in the PSD especially since we only have Pick 6.
I would of let Walker, Webster and Mourish go and then get Mourish in the rookie draft. There is a slight chance Mourish might get picked up by another club by the time we have our pick but Collard and Dunn probably will.

Roundhouse
22 Oct 2007, 22:23
Well...dramatic is the word...

Webster and Browne stay, hey?
Who woulda thunk it?

Bit surprised Collard is gone, but attitude musta stunk

Then why are they asking for permission to have him train with us?

Same goes for Mourish and Dunn.

The "attitude" justification is a cop out.

These guys seem to have been cut because the club is hoping to get their development done on the rookie list instead of the main list. It might just work out well for us. I hope they are not taking too big a gamble in predicting other teams selections.

I find Haddrill's delisting a bit annoying. We now a big bodied fullback in the draft.

Lach72
22 Oct 2007, 22:24
:mad:Kepler ****ing Bradley :mad:

We obviously need forward depth :confused:

JuddyisGod
22 Oct 2007, 22:26
I would've thought a few of those blokes could've been thrown up in a trade for a pick or two during trade week.

Lach72
Then why are they asking for permission to have him train with us?

Same goes for Mourish and Dunn.

The "attittude" justification is a cop out.

These guys seem to have been cut because the club is hoping to get their development done on the rookie list instead of the main list. It might just work out well for us. I hope they are not taking too big a gamble in predicting other teams selections.

I find Haddrill's delisting a bit annoying. We now a big bodied fullback in the draft.

They better hope it turns out that way, if that's what they're doing...

Thin draft could mean we're grasping at straws when these boys come up for selection

Bradesmaen
The attitude thing isn't a copout. Think about it, we say to them "Get your act together before you play for us" and put them on the Rookie list where they won't get a game till an injury hits.

Nodgey
22 Oct 2007, 22:29
I can't understand why we delisted so many players. Elevating Foster and 3 picks in the ND meant we only needed to delist 3 players (Cookie retired frees up 1 spot).
From all reports this is not a deep draft and surely Collard or Dunn are better than any kid we would get with our 4th pick 56.
Haddrill and again Collard and Dunn are better than any of the players that would be left in the PSD especially since we only have Pick 6.
I would of let Walker, Webster and Mourish go and then get Mourish in the rookie draft. There is a slight chance Mourish might get picked up by another club by the time we have our pick but Collard and Dunn probably will.

It's a well-placed kick up the backside for these young blokes.

We will probably re-draft them later on, but the club is telling them they ARE expendable if their attitude does not change.

They might get picked up by another club before we get the chance. Then good luck to them if that happens. All the best. But if they are not picked up by another club they will be redrafted by us, given a lifeline, and told to work their arses off in the pre-season.

A good move by the club IMHO.

Slacker
22 Oct 2007, 22:31
Well said nodgey.

dont bowl there
22 Oct 2007, 22:42
Pretty upset over the Sir Robert delisting, I cant see how he wasnt worth one more year on the list. If he had a full pre-season he could have been our answer down back. Now we have to look at drafting quick mids and a big bodied backman. Easy.

inferno66
22 Oct 2007, 22:44
Good move but personally I would have delisted Browne before Clayton.

I agree. I would have delisted Webster over Dunn as well.

Maximus76
22 Oct 2007, 23:05
Really sad about haddrill - was he just dead on his feet or the club just didnt want to risk it?

He really could have been a glass/harley like player but injury has ruined his chance.

Wonder if he will have any chance at another club - if hes not totally stuffed wouldnt bet against it.

If the dockers can get collard on their rookie list it will be a big get - hes along way away from regular afl games so rookie list would allow him to develop without a cost.

Cisco Kid
22 Oct 2007, 23:24
The wafl reserves will be better off without these guys ... cmon we want freo to get fair dinkum and on the other hand we want to keep blokes who cant even play regular wafl league...connollys gone no more easy games maybe melbourne can pick connollys rejects up....

Plugga
22 Oct 2007, 23:31
Pretty upset over the Sir Robert delisting, I cant see how he wasnt worth one more year on the list. If he had a full pre-season he could have been our answer down back. Now we have to look at drafting quick mids and a big bodied backman. Easy.

Grover, McPharlin, Thornton...will do me @ Full Back anyday :thumbsu:

Haddrill played a full year @ Perth & was that bad, he didn't even play a full year @ Full Back! Slow off the mark, use by date expired a long time ago.

Was a very solid player in 2002-2004...end of story. Yes it's a shame he got injuries....but people let's move on...these delistings are a +'ve thing. Dunn is a complete waste of space, Collard & Mourish have attitude problems. If we get 1 or 2 of them as rookies, then all good, no loss. Walker was a waste of a senior squad position.

Plugga
22 Oct 2007, 23:31
The wafl reserves will be better off without these guys ... cmon we want freo to get fair dinkum and on the other hand we want to keep blokes who cant even play regular wafl league...connollys gone no more easy games maybe melbourne can pick connollys rejects up....

what he said :thumbsu:

Underdog
22 Oct 2007, 23:37

hahahahahahahahahahaha

back in reality, McPharlin is best as a third tall or CHB which allows MJ more freedom and flexibility. If you cop a few injuries, you could have some trouble

Lach72
22 Oct 2007, 23:39
hahahahahahahahahahaha

back in reality, McPharlin is best as a third tall or CHB which allows MJ more freedom and flexibility. If you cop a few injuries, you could have some trouble

Indeed.

dont bowl there
22 Oct 2007, 23:43

Haddrill played a full year @ Perth & was that bad, he didn't even play a full year @ Full Back! Slow off the mark, use by date expired a long time ago.

Was a very solid player in 2002-2004...end of story. Yes it's a shame he got injuries....but people let's move on...these delistings are a +'ve thing. Dunn is a complete waste of space, Collard & Mourish have attitude problems. If we get 1 or 2 of them as rookies, then all good, no loss. Walker was a waste of a senior squad position.

You use "@" instead of typing "at", that is crazy.

Lach72
22 Oct 2007, 23:46
You use "@" instead of typing "at". That is retarded.

Enjoy your ban

NiGHTFuRY
22 Oct 2007, 23:46
It's ok to get the sledge hammer out, but seriously they have targetted the wrong people.

Do you even really know those players?

NiGHTFuRY
22 Oct 2007, 23:50
To injury riddled... Maybe it would be more beneficial to the team and Drum if we just put him down back and get him going as a defensive KPP.

NiGHTFuRY
22 Oct 2007, 23:52

Damn Straight..... Well Said...:thumbsu:
It's not like we lost our Captain or anything;):p

Cheetah
22 Oct 2007, 23:52
While I'm a little surprised, you gotta handed to Harvey he certainly seems to be working a little differently.

I'm just glad they didn't shoot all the usual suspects like Webster and Browne.

I'm really excited to see how where going to shape up after this pre-season.

dont bowl there
22 Oct 2007, 23:54
Enjoy your ban

Edited, but thanks for the pickup.

wehavethepassion
23 Oct 2007, 00:02
I'm having a slight chuckle to see collard being gievn the heave ho especially after Smart(our recruitment manager) pumped up his tyres when we drafted him.

However, browne the injury riddled midfielder(has always had smart's support) still survives again.

Roundhouse
23 Oct 2007, 00:03

Showing your ignorance a bit there.

He didn't play a full year at full back because they needed him at both ends. He was swung forward at times to kick goals, which he did.

He is a fullback through and through, but he was a still a better forward than anyone else at Perth, and he showed it.

It don't know how you can count that as a mark against him.

Cheetah
23 Oct 2007, 00:04
I'm having a slight chuckle to see collard being gievn the heave ho especially after Smart(our recruitment manager) pumped up his tyres when we drafted him.

However, browne the injury riddled midfielder(has always had smart's support) still survives again.

Maybe it's all about attitude, after all talent will only get you so far, especially in the crunch games.

Warrior 89
23 Oct 2007, 00:11
3 of the players delisted play in positions where we don't have a lot of depth. Haddrill - KP defender, Collard - Small Forward and Dunn - Inside Midfielder (ie someone to take the pressure off Hasleby).
Another preseason for Drum along with us drafting a young defender could give us enough backup for Grover and Mcpharlin.
As for the small forward, inside midfield roles a Harvey favourite Mark Johnson plays both roles and is available. It is all speculation at the moment but I wouldn't be suprised if we took 3 kids at the ND with Johnson and Bradley filling the other spots.

TheLoris
23 Oct 2007, 00:19
3 of the players delisted play in positions where we don't have a lot of depth. Haddrill - KP defender, Collard - Small Forward and Dunn - Inside Midfielder (ie someone to take the pressure off Hasleby).
Another preseason for Drum along with us drafting a young defender could give us enough backup for Grover and Mcpharlin.
As for the small forward, inside midfield roles a Harvey favourite Mark Johnson plays both roles and is available. It is all speculation at the moment but I wouldn't be suprised if we took 3 kids at the ND with Johnson and Bradley filling the other spots.

That's what I was just thinking, can't say I agree with picking up MJ especially as we are lacking youth.

Hopefully we get one of Collard or Moursih back in the Rookie draft and they pull their fingers out.

ImperialPurple
23 Oct 2007, 00:45
Surprised no-one has mentioned Mark Johnson before this. Sounds like he's a monty for the PSD selection.

6 positions available on the senior list.

1. Andrew Foster
2. pick 7 - ??
3. pick 24 - ??
4. pick 40 - ??
5. pick 56 - Kepler Bradley
6. PSD - Mark Johnson

4 rookie positions available:
1. Collard
2. pick 21 - ??
3. Dunn
4. Mourish

Are we sure that Dunn is still contracted for 2008 - or are we just assuming cos we have always thought he was? Maybe his contract is actually finished, and the delisting is not as "left field" as we think.

Just speculating....

Pav for AA
23 Oct 2007, 00:51
Correct me if Im wrong.

But doesnt the CBA stipulate that every player initially drafted through the national draft must have a 2 year contract at the very least.

Collard and Mourish will be retained, they have to be, on the Rookie list.

dont bowl there
23 Oct 2007, 00:52
Correct me if Im wrong.

But doesnt the CBA stipulate that every player initially drafted through the national draft must have a 2 year contract at the very least.

Collard and Mourish will be retained, they have to be, on the Rookie list.

I think you are right, but they can now be picked up by any other team. I think Freo HAVE to get them if they are still available though.

Pav for AA
23 Oct 2007, 00:55
I think you are right, but they can now be picked up by any other team. I think Freo HAVE to get them if they are still available though.

Yep.

Freo have to retain them on the Rookie list and all other clubs cannot pick them.

Players must be contracted for 2 years at their intial designated club.

dont bowl there
23 Oct 2007, 00:56
Yep.

Freo have to retain them on the Rookie list and all other clubs cannot pick them.

Players must be contracted for 2 years at their intial designated club.

Im pretty sure other teams can grab them if they choose.

TheLoris
23 Oct 2007, 00:59
Surprised no-one has mentioned Mark Johnson before this. Sounds like he's a monty for the PSD selection.

6 positions available on the senior list.

1. Andrew Foster
2. pick 7 - ??
3. pick 24 - ??
4. pick 40 - ??
5. pick 56 - Kepler Bradley
6. PSD - Mark Johnson

4 rookie positions available:
1. Collard
2. pick 21 - ??
3. Dunn
4. Mourish

Are we sure that Dunn is still contracted for 2008 - or are we just assuming cos we have always thought he was? Maybe his contract is actually finished, and the delisting is not as "left field" as we think.

Just speculating....

Yep Dunn is contracted for next year according to the FFC site.

Is a risky strategy hoping to get these players back in the rookie draft. I guess the club must be thinking that as its supposedly a thin draft, the rookie draft will be slim pickings. Might work out ok if they don't get snapped up by other clubs.

ImperialPurple
23 Oct 2007, 01:00
Im pretty sure other teams can grab them if they choose.

Yeah I'm pretty sure that any club can take them now, as they will be in the draft pool available to anyone. But Freo will have to pay the second year of their contract out, regardless of where they end up - back at Freo, or at another club, or nowhere if Freo decide to not pick them up as rookies, and noone else does either.

Bradesmaen
23 Oct 2007, 01:00
IP: Adelaide are looking at a 3rd rounder for Kepler Bradley who has stated an interest in perhaps going there.

amos
23 Oct 2007, 01:03
Yep.

Players must be contracted for 2 years at their intial designated club.If that were the case, which I'm sure it isn't, would the AFL be opening themselves up for a lawsuit for loss of earnings. If Dunn, Collard or whoever were told they'd be picked up by club a for 150k a yr, surely, they'd want to go there than be stuck on rookie wages after being on list wages.

ImperialPurple
23 Oct 2007, 01:03
IP: Adelaide are looking at a 3rd rounder for Kepler Bradley who has stated an interest in perhaps going there.

Yeah I saw that - but I also read on the Adelaide board that there has been no official word... and that it might just be speculation / rumour by his manager to get people interested.

Human nature says that I don't want it till someone else says they want it, then I want it really badly. ;)

ImperialPurple
23 Oct 2007, 01:09
Yep Dunn is contracted for next year according to the FFC site.

Is a risky strategy hoping to get these players back in the rookie draft. I guess the club must be thinking that as its supposedly a thin draft, the rookie draft will be slim pickings. Might work out ok if they don't get snapped up by other clubs.

Which does make this all the more intriguing... :confused:

Do you have a link? I just had a look around but couldn't find it anywhere. Cheers. :)

TheLoris
23 Oct 2007, 01:13

Do you have a link? I just had a look around but couldn't find it anywhere. Cheers. :)

http://www.fremantlefc.com.au/tabId/7009/default.aspx?newsId=13880

Kram81
23 Oct 2007, 01:18
I always thought he was contracted for next year.

Ripper
23 Oct 2007, 01:20

http://realfooty.com.au/news/news/dockers-sack-contracted-players/2007/10/22/1192940985130.html

The Dockers will have to pay all three players for next year, however, should they be selected by another club in the national or pre-season drafts the Dockers would only be required to pay the difference between the new club's terms and the original Dockers contract.

It is understood the Dockers hope to redraft at least one of the players on the rookie list having sought permission from the AFL for all three to be allowed to train with them in the pre-season. Payments to rookies are outside the salary cap so any one of them could be rookie listed and still receive their full contract for next year without affecting the salary cap.

Good article , clears up a few things.

ImperialPurple
23 Oct 2007, 01:35
http://www.fremantlefc.com.au/tabId/7009/default.aspx?newsId=13880

That's the one - thanks. :)

West Coast 06
23 Oct 2007, 01:45
Just a question about Collard and Mourish being delisted. I thought that when you drafted players that they had a minimum two year contract to start with. Obviously this is not the case?:confused:

Edit: Sorry didn't read all of the thread, looks like my question has been answered.

Shaymuhz
23 Oct 2007, 01:51
good move if it comes off. reckon we'll look very stupid if another club picks them up tho coz i'm predicting collard at the very least will be a good player.

Moo
23 Oct 2007, 02:01
First of all remember this post regarding rookie elevation .....

in regards to Collard and Mourish its tough but you have to look at whats going to benefit the team more.

My son was down playing at freo oval for his development games on the 6th and whilst the game was being played the Freo boys were doing 3k time trials around the boundary (needless to say I don't think many ended up watching the game) it was run in 3 groups I missed the first but was told collard came last by close to a lap.

Mourish ran the 3rd race, Smith lapped Mourish crossed the line first, had time to catch his breath and then ran with Mourish on his final lap. I know they are only young but you expect a certain level of fitness when you get to an AFL club.

I think it would be best to look at dropping them to the rookie list because you can't see them getting a senior game befor someone else you could pick up. but yes you do run the risk of them being picked up. Its tough and i don't have the answer but food for thought....

Fairly prophetic.

I reckon we will try and pick all three of those players back on the rookie list.

You know what I hope we don't ...the rookie list is becoming an excellent source of finding players for us.

Foster- Smith ......Duffield ...Dodd ....Webster - Gilmore ...Hayden-Sandilands....Grover

Every year we find a player ....give us 4 or 5 picks in this baby and it could be as valuable as our draft picks.

I'd certainly use 1 on Collard if he was there (unlikley)- otherwise - we have made our choice and roll the die on 4 new choices....especially after WA's effort in the Teale Cup - 22 in that squad - give it a go.

With Hadders gone - I wonder how tempted the club is to pull the trigger on Rance (esp if Masten/Palmer have gone).

Looking at it seriously - we know (the rest of the comp may not) but we know we are a finals calibre team.

How can we improve next season -

Foster - full season ...can this kid run?- elite and a great addition to our senior list

Smith - young and pacey ...with JLo out we can basically elevate him at will - do you think this kid is going to put in an effort at pre-season.

Taz will be settled for a season and Solomon's role in the guts towards season end was superb.

Add hopefully a full season from the likes of Schammer, Peake and Jeffery (combined miss of 41 games there).

There is obviously a PSD target and we have relatively early pick at 7.

Message has been sent loud and clear - perform to the desired standard or your gone.

I feel quietly confident that Harvey and Co know what they are doing here...and are sorting out the list now.

Dyslexic Emo
23 Oct 2007, 02:58
^^^

Great post:thumbsu:,

Very inspiring and makes the decision that much easier to deal with, I especially like what you say about the rookie draft. We do uncover a few gems with it, one question though, how does the rookie draft work? how different is it to the national and PSD?

Moo
23 Oct 2007, 03:25
^^^

Great post:thumbsu:,

Very inspiring and makes the decision that much easier to deal with, I especially like what you say about the rookie draft. We do uncover a few gems with it, one question though, how does the rookie draft work? how different is it to the national and PSD?

Basically a draft for players between 18 - 23.

Draft is held immediatley following the national draft and the salary is a little lower than a base contract and from memory only half of it counts towards the salary cap.

You can have 6 rookies (though for each veteran you have it costs you a place). Generally you can not elevate a player unless you have a long term injury - otherwise they can train with the club etc. You can hold them for up to 3 seasons (there is a ratio thing).

The great thing is that you can elevate them at the end of each season to your main list - without having to go to the draft or give anything up for them.

pinkus maximus
23 Oct 2007, 03:27
what a fall from grace for collard

in june last year he was a 75kg wingman/hf kicking bags of goals for south and starring in the u 18 champs

i was staggered that he was there at pick 31

apart from a 4 week period earlier this year he has not looked like it at all. very dissapointing

Moo
23 Oct 2007, 03:46
what a fall from grace for collard

in june last year he was a 75kg wingman/hf kicking bags of goals for south and starring in the u 18 champs

i was staggered that he was there at pick 31

apart from a 4 week period earlier this year he has not looked like it at all. very dissapointing

Yep ...Collard was the biggest shock to me too.

NiGHTFuRY
23 Oct 2007, 04:21
Krakouer wants to return to WA

23 October 2007 Herald Sun
Gareth Trickey

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/files/tigers.jpg DUMPED Richmond forward Andrew Krakouer has signalled his desire to return to his home state of Western Australia next season.

Krakouer is in search of a new club after the Tigers delisted the 24-year-old yesterday.

Richmond also axed youngster Brent Hartigan, former Bulldog Patrick Bowden and rookie Tasman Clingan.

Krakouer's manager Liam Pickering said he would meet with the small forward tomorrow to discuss his pre-season draft prospects.

"He'd like to get back to Western Australia, I think, but that only leaves two clubs," Pickering said.

"He's got something to offer both West Coast and Fremantle, but I would have thought he's got something to offer 14 other clubs as well."

Krakouer played nine games for Richmond this year.

The former South Fremantle forward joined the Tigers in 2000, but battled to cement a spot in the senior side.

He celebrated his 100th game in Round 9 this year, but managed just two appearances in the second half of the season.

Krakouer also learned yesterday he would have to plead to a serious assault charge in Perth.

The 23-year-old, his brother Tyrone Krakouer, 21, and another man will appear in court on February 5 on charges of assault intending to cause bodily harm over an alleged bashing in Fremantle last year.

Pickering said Krakouer was not surprised by the Tigers' decision.

Bowden, who was a revelation in his first year at Punt Rd last year, managed only three senior games in 2007.

Richmond promoted rookie defender Jake King and ruckman Angus Graham to the senior list yesterday.

FREMANTLE yesterday delisted five players, including 10-season, 151-game veteran James Walker.

Others to go were Clayton Collard, Calib Mourish, Robert Haddrill and Ryley Dunn.

Walker, who made his debut in Round 19, 1998, earned life membership of the Dockers when he played his 150th game in Round 12 this year.

Originally from Ballarat, Walker was selection six in the 1996 national draft.

inferno66
23 Oct 2007, 09:57
You know what I hope we don't ...the rookie list is becoming an excellent source of finding players for us.

Foster- Smith ......Duffield ...Dodd ....Webster - Gilmore ...Hayden-Sandilands....Grover

Every year we find a player ....give us 4 or 5 picks in this baby and it could be as valuable as our draft picks.

The problem is if the other teams dont pick up Collard, Mourish or Dunn we are forced to pick them up in the rookie draft.

ImperialPurple
23 Oct 2007, 10:06
No to Krakouer. No good to us from Casuarina... :(

And I just remembered a CC comment from last year regarding Ryley Dunn. I don't think he rates Dunn too highly TBH. Last year when Dunn was finally injury free and had played a few games in a row in the WAFL, CC was asked if he was going to get a game in the seniors. He responded, "Ryley has got his body right, he just has to display that he wants to play AFL before he can get a game."

Attitude issues maybe? Dropped his head after so many injuries? I don't know. I saw a few games he's played for East Freo where he dominated in the middle, then went forward, marked strongly and kicked a couple of goals. I and am disappointed that he has been delisted - but like all decisions that happen in clubs, we can only speculate as to the real reason. These things aren't undertaken lightly.

wehavethepassion
23 Oct 2007, 10:21
THE Worst is speculating that fossie willl stay on as a rookie allowing the dockers 6 picks. I suppose thay can promote him in 2008 with Longmuir being namedo n long term injury list.

I also suppose smith mite stay on as a rookie? and with macca on vets list it would be

senior list 38(includes using our 6 picks) + 1 vet + 5 rookies(includes foster & smith)

Dyslexic Emo
23 Oct 2007, 10:24
THE Worst is speculating that fossie willl stay on as a rookie allowing the dockers 6 picks. I suppose thay can promote him in 2008 with Longmuir being namedo n long term injury list.
Well that confirms it. He's now a certainty to be promoted to the seniors list then

Freo Big Fella
23 Oct 2007, 10:48
**** Krakoeur off. We'd have to find him a safehouse to protect him from all the Martins that are out for his blood.

ImperialPurple
23 Oct 2007, 10:51
You know, just once, it would be nice of our club did things a little more on the conventional side... :o ;)

And I would be disappointed if Foster isn't upgraded after this slash and burn.

dominguez
23 Oct 2007, 11:10

Once they are picked in the draft Smart's role is finished. He doesn't decide who is retained/de-listed.

Lach72
23 Oct 2007, 11:15
Once they are picked in the draft Smart's role is finished. He doesn't have any input on who is retained/de-listed.

I blame Rick Hart...