View Full Version : Clayton Collard Delisted? What's going on?

mjp
23 Oct 2007, 09:10
Hi - Just a general 'Why?' question. One of the more talented junior footballers I have ever seen discarded after just one year on the list - is his attitude really that bad? Was always fairly dilligent when I knew him (3 years ago now)...

Not a criticism - these things happen - more an expression of surprise.

Dyslexic Emo
23 Oct 2007, 09:39
No worries your ok. If you want to know more about as to why he was delisted then read the thread concerning our delistings, I don't knowhow to link so you'll have to look for it though you won't have to look far as it's probably directly under this thread. In short yes we were surprised at the delistings but apparently he's attitude isn't up to scratch and as such got the chop. We have asked for him to train during the pre season to see if he changes his tunes as well with mourish and dunn but i'm not going to cross my fingers as well there are a few teams ahead of us with picks who might just wantt o pick those guys along with hadrill and walker

docker_azza
23 Oct 2007, 09:57
Sources close to both South Fremantle and Fremantle suggest that both clubs were very disappointed with his attitude in the second half of the season.

Jordan...
23 Oct 2007, 11:12
Shocked me. What a tosser for gettin the boot just one year into his Footy career.

GentlemanJeff
23 Oct 2007, 11:16
Shocked me. What a tosser for gettin the boot just one year into his Footy career.

I will tell you what the problem was - Collard was shit.

The only reason he got his debut this season was because it fell during "Indigenous round" - it was a clear example of tokenism by Chris Connoly. Collard did not deserve his debut game, and his performance during the game proved that - he looked lost and scared.

I think Harvey knows that Collard is never going to make it at the top level. He just doesnt have what it takes - simple as that.

I am very impressed by Harvey's decision to delist several players that were realsitically not going to challenge for a seniors birth within the next 5 years. Collard was one of those players. Great move Harvey.

Underdog
23 Oct 2007, 11:28
The only reason he got his debut this season was because it fell during "Indigenous round" - it was a clear example of tokenism by Chris Connoly. Collard did not deserve his debut game, and his performance during the game proved that - he looked lost and scared.

Yet so many got blasted by Freo fans for suggesting this earlier in the year.

It was simply cringe worthy and as a West Coast fan - I know all about cringe worthy moments...

mjp
23 Oct 2007, 11:34
If you want to know more about as to why he was delisted then read the thread concerning our delistings, I don't knowhow to link so you'll have to look for it though you won't have to look far as it's probably directly under this thread.

No worries - I gave that a go but apart from 'attitude problems' there was not much to go on.

I guess everyone is disappointed he spent some time in the SF '2s, but is that really an issue at 19 years of age? Anyway, having had a bit to do with him in the past I am pretty disappointed in this turn of events - I hope he can turn it around and make a success of things.

As for the comment by another poster that he looked lost and scared - I actually thought he looked nervous and tentative - it was his first game for goodness sake. You say he shouldn't have played and his selection was tokenism - but it wasn't his fault that he was selected when not in great form at WAFL level - bit harsh I thought.

Topdock65
23 Oct 2007, 11:36
Big Shock, but Harvey is building his squad...:)

Collard if he is keen, can still try for a role on the rookie list. Thats if he puts the hard yards in over the pres-season.

dominguez
23 Oct 2007, 11:43
I will tell you what the problem was - Collard was shit.

I think Harvey knows that Collard is never going to make it at the top level. He just doesnt have what it takes - simple as that.

Stop sugar coating it and tell us what you really think.

Belnakor
23 Oct 2007, 12:16
Watching Collard in that game could tell he wasn't going to make it. Not hard enough, didn't work hard enough off the ball, and just didn't commit himself. You could say he choked on the big stage - i would say his true colors came out when he wasn't playing in a 2nd rate league.

pistol17
23 Oct 2007, 12:34
Collard was playing ordinary footy for South Freo reserves at one point this year. Good decision by Harvey and Co, sending the message that mediocrity is no longer acceptable and only players who want to put in week in week out will remain at the club.

And another thing on Collard - dont want to say too much but he was down at my clubs after party after we won the local GF and well lets just say he might get along with some of the west coast boys more so than freo.....

theGav56
23 Oct 2007, 12:36
I don't know enough about the individuals concerned, but have big respect for the coaching staff being prepared to make big decisions.

Will be interesting to see whether Melbourne are interested in recruiting any of them, contrasting Connolly's opinions with Harvey's.

Plugga
23 Oct 2007, 13:16
Remember Richmond's Marty McGrath anyone?

Similar circumstances?

Belnakor
23 Oct 2007, 13:33
One Word: SAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAMMMMMMMMMMPPPIIII

TOA.
23 Oct 2007, 14:05
One Word: SAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAMMMMMMMMMMPPPIIII

Dont hold your breath, looks like he's staying with us.

Bradesmaen
23 Oct 2007, 14:07
Dont hold your breath, looks like he's staying with us.

Comiserations ;)

FIGJAM
23 Oct 2007, 14:09
There's a WA based Pies supporter at another site that said he was a space cadet and that he witnessed him literally walk to his position from the bench one day in the WAFL.

That's fairly weird!

I hope he gets picked up and turns everything 180 degrees. I'd have been happy if he was on our radar at Pick 10.

History is against him though.

Big Cox
23 Oct 2007, 16:26
Know a few blokes that play WAFL. When i asked a few people about him when he debuted they reckon hes insanely quiet and a bit of a odd person. No friends down at Fremantle and didnt settle in at ALL really. He will play for Essendon next season

estibador
23 Oct 2007, 17:27
Now that I've had a think about this I'm pretty happy with Harves decision.

Delisting Collard (and Mourish) is a clear signal to any youngsters joining our team that half assed efforts will not be tolerated. That our club wont allow them the luxury of stuffing around enjoying the lifestyle of an AFL star for a year or two before getting serious.

For any culture change to be permanent it has to be ingrained from the beginning. And any new recruits have just been put on notice. If you want to be a professional footballer for Freo then it's not just some job you rock up to going through the motions while you dream about the weekend. It's a way of life that demands total dedication.

twist
23 Oct 2007, 17:39
Every pick in last years superdraft was like gold.Fremantle wasted a few of them.

macca69
23 Oct 2007, 17:54
Know a few blokes that play WAFL. When i asked a few people about him when he debuted they reckon hes insanely quiet and a bit of a odd person. No friends down at Fremantle and didnt settle in at ALL really. He will play for Essendon next season

What makes you say that?

peppy la pew
23 Oct 2007, 17:56
Every pick in last years superdraft was like gold.Fremantle wasted a few of them.

Thanks for the input brains.

inferno66
23 Oct 2007, 17:57
What makes you say that?

Possibly because his good mate Jetta plays for Essendon

Eski3
23 Oct 2007, 21:26
My concern is that this will motivate him to play really really well ..... for another club

dont bowl there
23 Oct 2007, 21:29
My concern is that this will motivate him to play really really well ..... for another club

Meh and all power to him, if he doesnt want to commit to Fremantle it doesnt matter how good he becomes.

Purple Passion
25 Oct 2007, 18:00
Meh and all power to him, if he doesnt want to commit to Fremantle it doesnt matter how good he becomes.
yeah i'm with DBT, in fact it would shit me jus to know someone is on our list and doesn't want to be there
If he wants to go to West coast then don't let the door smack his ass on the way out, tosser
Its typical though of overpaid teenagers to be ungrateful i hope we **** him over on his $$