View Full Version : 3 Freo Players
The 3 players sacked any worth picking up? Serious stuff up by Freo Ammo's
dan warna
23 Oct 2007, 12:27
not good enough for freo should be a warning enough.
IMO the only player we picked up that will be playing with st kilda in 3 seasons time will be schneider.
dempster may be if he can turn around his otherwise ordinary form.
not good enough for freo should be a warning enough.
IMO the only player we picked up that will be playing with st kilda in 3 seasons time will be schneider.
Neither will our 4th and 5th round pick in the normal draft, according to most. One of these guys was pick 10 a year or two ago.
dan warna
23 Oct 2007, 13:08
Neither will our 4th and 5th round pick in the normal draft, according to most. One of these guys was pick 10 a year or two ago.
sure
sampi was a top pick, molan was a top pick heaps of top picks go by the way side.
raph and x clarke who I reckon are going to be guns if they can get fit, were both top 10 picks, at their current rate would be worth round 2 picks at best.
daniel kerr was a round 2 pick, would be top 5 now, even given the talent in that draft, bartel would be close as well.
heck even barry brooks was a round 1 pick traded in for another round 1 pick, played what 14 games? caydn beeetham, luke livingstone.
IMO we have a core of players who can win a premiership and getting the support crew to them is the trick.
not sure guys like hadrill and co are up to it.
atm pretty much schneider is the only player we trade for that I reckon will play more than 100 games for the saints so far.
sure
sampi was a top pick, molan was a top pick heaps of top picks go by the way side.
raph and x clarke who I reckon are going to be guns if they can get fit, were both top 10 picks, at their current rate would be worth round 2 picks at best.
Yeah but on the balance of probabilities
dan warna
23 Oct 2007, 14:54
Yeah but on the balance of probabilities
sure, which is why we picked up a few recycled players.
but you have to wonder why NO one offered anything for them during the trade period and they got delisted by Freo.
maybe worth a look at a 60k + performance based contract with our round 4 pick or somethign for hadrill but past that not really interested.
if they are fit, healthy, no underlying injuries, and ok in the head (ie seriously motivated about playing footy for st kilda and not just looking for a retirement year)
sure, which is why we picked up a few recycled players.
but you have to wonder why NO one offered anything for them during the trade period and they got delisted by Freo.
They could have tried to trade like Essendon with Kepler
The analogy with the Clarkes is a good one, if they are fit, if 1 improves decision making etc they will be great players. But in this draft the 5th round pick may be just no good. Most of these guys have had 1 year in the system. Are they a better risk than pick 80
brilliant_bally
23 Oct 2007, 18:11
kerr was pick 4 we traded pick 4 same year we got goddard to get g-train get it right
dan warna
23 Oct 2007, 18:35
kerr was pick 4 we traded pick 4 same year we got goddard to get g-train get it right
kerr?
daniel kerr was picked up at pick 18, the first round 2 draft.
we traded pick 4 for aaron hamill.
kerr was missed by so many its not funny.
if the draft was today, he'd go pick 2.
Round Pick Player Recruited from Club
Priority 1 Nick Riewoldt Southport Sharks St Kilda
1 2 Justin Koschitzke Murray Bushrangers St Kilda
1 3 Alan Didak Port Adelaide Magpies Collingwood
1 4 Luke Livingston Bendigo Pioneers Carlton
1 5 Andrew McDougall Perth Football Club West Coast
1 6 Dylan Smith Sandringham Dragons Kangaroos
1 7 Laurence Angwin Dandenong Stingrays Adelaide
1 8 Daniel Motlop North Adelaide Roosters Kangaroos
1 9 Kayne Pettifer Murray Bushrangers Richmond
1 10 Jordan McMahon Glenelg Western Bulldogs
1 11 Trent Sporn North Adelaide Roosters Carlton
1 12 Shaun Burgoyne Port Adelaide Magpies Port Adelaide
1 13 Ashley McGrath South Fremantle Football Club Brisbane Lions
1 14 Daniel Harris Bendigo Bombers Kangaroos
1 15 Simon Wiggins Tasmania Devils Football Club Carlton
1 16 Scott Thompson Port Adelaide Magpies Melbourne
1 17 James Davies Xavier College Essendon
2 18 Daniel Kerr East Fremantle Football Club West Coast Eagles
dan warna
23 Oct 2007, 18:39
They could have tried to trade like Essendon with Kepler
The analogy with the Clarkes is a good one, if they are fit, if 1 improves decision making etc they will be great players. But in this draft the 5th round pick may be just no good. Most of these guys have had 1 year in the system. Are they a better risk than pick 80
IMO one year stars are very rare guns.
you only have to look at monty who was still listed by some fans as happy to get a round 2 pick for him at age 22, age 23, he's a gun midfielder. throw in jared brennan, andy thompson stewart loewe, nathan burke as ones that come to mind as gun players.
the sad fact is nathan burke in 1991 and 92 wasn't part of our super 7 when we tried to get firstly greg williams and then barry mitchell. a few years later burke was our co-captain.
Dal santo to some degree is still an emerging player.
Kildonan
23 Oct 2007, 23:56
Exceptional players do exist, but they are usually pretty easy to detect hence they usually go very early in the draft.
The Freo delistings are interesting. Haddrill and Walker were cut after being given more than a fair go. I doubt if either will find a new home in the AFL.
Fremantle only took 3 players in last year's draft after major trade conjugations were performed in order to get Chris Tarrant to the club.
FREMANTLE
New Players
Traded:
D.Soloman + Draft Pick #52 (Traded Draft Picks #42, #47)
C.Tarrant (Traded for Draft Pick #8 and P.Medhurst)
Draftees:
31 Clayton Collard Sth Fremantle 04/12/1988 182.4 85.8
52 Brock O'Brien Peel 30/05/1988 180.5 74.9
77 Calib Mourish Towns 08/07/1988 189.5 84.7
Rookies Elevated:
P.Duffield
Players Gone:
G.Polak + Draft Picks #13, #60 (Traded for Draft Picks #8, #42)
P.Medhurst + Draft Pick #8 (Traded for C.Tarrant)
M.Warren (Delisted)
D.Haines (Delisted)
B.Copping (Delisted)
J.Schofield (Retired)
Rookies Delisted:
J.Krieger
J.Juniper
T.Stribling
So essentially Freo's recruiting last year brought only Tarrant, Soloman and Brock O'Brien to the club! What a wasted year. They lost players like Polak and Medhurst to fund that exchange.
Makes the Saints recruiting this year look especially good already.
Ryley Dunn (selection #10 2003 draft) has played 4 AFL matches after a severely injury-hampered first season. Freo seem to have given up on him as he surely cannot benefit from rookie listing after so many preseasons.
Mourish still needs a lot more development and I don't think Freo are risking anything by delisting him. Assuming no other club takes him, Freo will probably rookie list him. Delisting him and then picking him up as a rookie keeps space for other players more ready for AFL footy on the senior list.
Collard spent the last half of the year barely able to even play for the South Fremantle reserves in the WAFL. His only AFL game was very poor and he has a very long way to go to get up to standard. I believe that he has off field issues as well. I also strongly suspect that Collard will suffer from homesickness if he were to be lured away from WA and as such is an unacceptable risk.
Haddrill might be a reasonable pickup as ready to play key defender. I prefer to think that the Saints will overlook him and have faith in the defenders that we have used as fill ins in the recent past.
huggy_b
24 Oct 2007, 00:25
Mourish is the only one worth a punt IMO - the other 5 are not what we need or want.
I would consider picking Caleb Mourish as late as possible, but forget the rest. Mourish is young (19), tall (193cm) and rangey with pace but the big question mark is he suffers from OP - so is he worth the punt?
Kildonan
24 Oct 2007, 00:38
Mourish last year ran a 9.7 beep test at WA draft testing and recorded a poor 20m sprint time. Speculation was that he was tanking to reduce his desirability. It now appears as if he was just so unfit that these figures are pretty much representative.
Freo are cutting their losses. They realise that he wont be ready to play next season and maybe not even the season after that. They will probably rookie list him to continue the investment they already have in him, but they are unwilling to sacrifice a spot on the main list for him.
If they feel that way, then we are probably better off leaving him to them (think Barry Brooks) to develop.
Mourish last year ran a 9.7 beep test at WA draft testing and recorded a poor 20m sprint time. Speculation was that he was tanking to reduce his desirability. It now appears as if he was just so unfit that these figures are pretty much representative.
9.7 jeebus, I can get in the low 10's and I'm not very fit and double his age
So essentially Freo's recruiting last year brought only Tarrant, Soloman and Brock O'Brien to the club! What a wasted year. They lost players like Polak and Medhurst to fund that exchange.
Add Foster (3 games , polled F & B vote in two) who will be promoted) & Chris Smith (will play senior footy in 2008) to that list.
Brock is a gem.