View Full Version : Channel 7 News story (Tuesday 23rd of October)

BlackDouglas
23 Oct 2007, 21:31
Channel 7 News (Tuesday 23rd of October)

The opening story on the channel 7 news services tonight had a very interested story regarding the 2 Adelaide clubs supporter bases (I think it was about them) getting ripped off by some con men.

I only caught the last few moment of the story so I do not know the entire story but the gist I got was both clubs were embroiled in a con with the match day raffle. Can anyone give any more details about the story that actually happened?

RoosterLad
23 Oct 2007, 21:32
It wouldn't surprise me if the guy who runs the Eagles raffle is behind it!

Get yer Eagles raffle here!

rufus_afc
23 Oct 2007, 22:01
It wouldn't surprise me if the guy who runs the Eagles raffle is behind it!

Get yer Eagles raffle here!

Hahahaha that guy is Ozzie he is a moron.

I recon he says "In the Eagles raffle `ere"

brucetiki
23 Oct 2007, 22:03

The opening story on the channel 7 news services tonight had a very interested story regarding the 2 Adelaide clubs supporter bases (I think it was about them) getting ripped off by some con men.

I only caught the last few moment of the story so I do not know the entire story but the gist I got was both clubs were embroiled in a con with the match day raffle. Can anyone give any more details about the story that actually happened?

I didn't catch the story but something like this wouldn't surprise me. The match-day raffle is operated by those fly-by night marketing companies that form one day and fold the next - the ones with the 'make big bucks quick, immediate start, students welcome' ads in the paper. Most of those companies are shonks (I know I've worked for a couple of them - one selling Crows raffle tickets for one of their other raffles).

RoosterLad
23 Oct 2007, 22:04
Hahahaha Ozzie that guy is a moron.

I recon "he says In the Eagles raffle `ere"

I reckon he does too, I wasn't sure whether I should keep the 'h' or leave it!

He also sells Match Day programs outside Hindmarsh before United games, but he claims it's his twin brother! Love how he wears uggys on a hot day too.

BlackDouglas
23 Oct 2007, 22:19
I didn't catch the story but something like this wouldn't surprise me. The match-day raffle is operated by those fly-by night marketing companies that form one day and fold the next - the ones with the 'make big bucks quick, immediate start, students welcome' ads in the paper. Most of those companies are shonks (I know I've worked for a couple of them - one selling Crows raffle tickets for one of their other raffles).

Yeah I know the ones you’re talking about and like everyone else I get hit me up to buy a ticket. Usually I just walk pass as I know they are a load of shit but some time I stop and ask then how much goes back to the club?

If they say anything more than 10% I look at them and just laugh and walk off. It’s only like a very small administration fee (3 – 5%) gets paid back to the club for branding rights.

It comes under the banner of ‘Sports Marketing and Promotions’ but it bingo selling.

Southerntakeover
23 Oct 2007, 22:20
A friend of mines brother was ripped off when he worked for the raffle sellers... this doesnt suprise me one little bit.

HBF
23 Oct 2007, 22:22
Have never stopped to buy a ticket at any ground, and never will.

PsyCrow23
23 Oct 2007, 22:32
so what was it actually about?

BlackDouglas
23 Oct 2007, 22:34
A friend of mines brother was ripped off when he worked for the raffle sellers... this doesnt suprise me one little bit.

What, they didn’t pay him? Cheap SOB’s

As a kid I used to sell the ‘AFL Record’ but (well 15 years ago) they were distributed through the Advertiser office in Adelaide and pay roll was done there as well.

BlackDouglas
23 Oct 2007, 22:35
so what was it actually about?

Don’t know – that what I am trying to fine out? :confused:

Southerntakeover
23 Oct 2007, 22:39
What, they didn’t pay him? Cheap SOB’s

As a kid I used to sell the ‘AFL Record’ but (well 15 years ago) they were distributed through the Advertiser office in Adelaide and pay roll was done there as well.

Pretty much...

hey shorty
23 Oct 2007, 22:42

I used to work for the company in question. I heard it on the radio and my ears pricked up. I knew something was a bit fishy when I was there and I didnt stay very long. Theres massive employee turnover in this particular company, its quite scary really. But rest assured, I didnt rip anyone off, I never did match day raffles !!! Southern I know how that guys brother feels, I got massively ripped off with them.

- PC -
23 Oct 2007, 22:55
The gist of it was that the same people were claiming prizes. ie whenever you bought a ticket you were never going to win

Will make it hard next year when a genuine raffle is set up, I can see many charities losing out

BlackDouglas
23 Oct 2007, 22:59
The gist of it was that the same people were claiming prizes. ie whenever you bought a ticket you were never going to win

Will make it hard next year when a genuine raffle is set up, I can see many charities losing out

So it was the group that sell raffle tickets to give away a car or a boat (or something like that) in the shopping centres, not the match day ones?

Brett_Burton_#24
23 Oct 2007, 23:01
yeah apparently the got found out when the clubs both us & Port found out that the same ticket kept on winning they said on the news what idiots

- PC -
23 Oct 2007, 23:01
So it was the group that sell raffle tickets to give away a car or a boat (or something like that) in the shopping centres, not the match day ones?

Match Day

BlackDouglas
23 Oct 2007, 23:04
Match Day

I buy 2 match day raffle tickets every week – no ****ing wonder I never win.

Not happy Jan. :mad:

King Elvis
23 Oct 2007, 23:25
I reckon he does too, I wasn't sure whether I should keep the 'h' or leave it!

He also sells Match Day programs outside Hindmarsh before United games, but he claims it's his twin brother! Love how he wears uggys on a hot day too.

Lets be honest, the man is a national treasure.

Crow-mo
23 Oct 2007, 23:30
this is what counts as news in the off season? a raffle?

hey shorty
24 Oct 2007, 00:28
Match Day

The same company actually runs both things. There are different levels for instance if you sell X amount of tickets at a supermarket you get to go to game days and sell tickets there. And Crow-mo, it only counts as news because theyve ripped 20-30K off people, although Im led to believe its actually more than that.

maccas_no1
24 Oct 2007, 06:13
Port Power ripped off their supporters when they were asking $10 entry to 'meet and great' the greatest GF losers in VFL/AFL history.

Macca19
24 Oct 2007, 09:05
Good to see your getting your facts right again maccas!

jmorg1
24 Oct 2007, 09:48
Port Power ripped off their supporters when they were asking $10 entry to 'meet and great' the greatest GF losers in VFL/AFL history.

WHAT?! Are you serious?! :eek:

Kane McGoodwin
24 Oct 2007, 10:22

I find the match day raffle sellers intrusive as they constantly pester you whilst having a chat to mates during the breaks. For this reason, I have never bought a ticket.

maccas_no1
24 Oct 2007, 10:27
WHAT?! Are you serious?! :eek:

Yeah for their family day on the Sunday after the GF, Wayville Showgrounds was free entry on the Sunday after the 97 and 98 GF's.

jackster83
24 Oct 2007, 10:33
It's simple: just don't buy the stupid raffle tickets then. The McGuiness McDermott foundation should be given exclusive rights to sell raffle tickets at Crows home games because then at least it's a worthy cause.

Kane McGoodwin
24 Oct 2007, 10:34
Yeah for their family day on the Sunday after the GF, Wayville Showgrounds was free entry on the Sunday after the 97 and 98 GF's.
That's their perogative.

Would be good if you could stay on topic.

johnnypanther
24 Oct 2007, 11:47

thats not a rip off - they got to see history in the making :D

treeman
24 Oct 2007, 12:01
I sold the raffle tickets once.
Would never do it again.
I think i sold 20 or something got 50 cents each...plus the prizes were crap for anybody who won them.
By memory a crows signed guernsy $500 cash and something else maybe $1000 cash....not really that great when you are paying $2.50 a ticket...

When i started they said it is pretty easy to sell over 100....ahah yeah right!
I felt bad because they were an absolute rip off!

The only good thing about them is that you stop selling at half time and you can watch the last half of the game.
Problem is that game was a port game. Plus you have to stand as you don't have a seat...not a lot of good....

-Ben

FlyingCrow
24 Oct 2007, 12:14
I would actually support a charity like McDermott/McGuiness being at the Footy each week. Scrap these leeches and let the MC/MC charity take it over. I am sure the AFC would rather the goodwill of that occuring than the leeches. It would be a win for everyone. I mean why do the Crows need to have "fundraising", even if in reality they get less than 5%. It would be better for them to forgo the 5% and give MC/MC exclusive rights to fundraiding. I can gurantee they would get at least a fiver a week from me.

Port games too.

Chris McDermott if your reading, what are your thought LOL. I am sure he does, some of the sports stuff on the radio he come up with reads like this site.

NikkiNoo
24 Oct 2007, 12:28
I can't see the AFC bringing in McGuiness McDermott Foundation as the AFC has a charitable arm - the Crows Foundation.

I would presume that charitable organisations use these sorts of companies all the time as they do not have the knowledge or time to sort through all the legal requirements, hiring of people etc. So I can see something like this happening again.

Seanason
24 Oct 2007, 12:56
i saw this,

the tickets were rigged.

The crows receptionist picked it up when the same people came in each week to collect the money. - people never had a chance to win.

As for the eagles raffle guy, he is a champ. i havent seen him at united games though - but he deserves a spot on the SA heritage list.

FlyingCrow
24 Oct 2007, 13:02
A little off topic...but

The "Feed Adelaide Hungry Guys"...Where the hell does that money go??
They are usually of Sub Continent Descent, and I spot them at most events around Adelaide now, Even at the footy wlaking around the car parks. These guys annoy me as I cant see that they are affiliated with any real charity, is the money raising feeding them???

relapse
24 Oct 2007, 13:57

They should have charged them $11.90 :D

afc9798
24 Oct 2007, 15:41
I sold the raffle tickets once.
Would never do it again.
I think i sold 20 or something got 50 cents each...plus the prizes were crap for anybody who won them.
By memory a crows signed guernsy $500 cash and something else maybe $1000 cash....not really that great when you are paying $2.50 a ticket...

When i started they said it is pretty easy to sell over 100....ahah yeah right!
I felt bad because they were an absolute rip off!

The only good thing about them is that you stop selling at half time and you can watch the last half of the game.
Problem is that game was a port game. Plus you have to stand as you don't have a seat...not a lot of good....

-Ben

Sure there would have been plenty of empty seats.;)

Fergus
24 Oct 2007, 19:04
i saw this,

the tickets were rigged.

The crows receptionist picked it up when the same people came in each week to collect the money. - people never had a chance to win.
I won 2nd prize in the match day raffle this year. 2 tickets to the Club Champion dinner. Looks like i was never going to win the money though.