View Full Version : D2 D2 Ammos 2008

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27

koby01
23 Oct 2007, 23:25
What sides are a chance to go all the way based on last year?

Recruiting news?

Will it be an even competition like it was last year?

The Tiger's Nuts
24 Oct 2007, 00:44
You know, it was only earlier tonight that I thought it was time to start a new thread for next season.

Pretty even comp I'd say, two will prove better than the others, two will fall by the wayside, six will still be there in 2009. That's my prediction so far.

Go Warriors!

Gongy
25 Oct 2007, 10:54
You know, it was only earlier tonight that I thought it was time to start a new thread for next season.

Pretty even comp I'd say, two will prove better than the others, two will fall by the wayside, six will still be there in 2009. That's my prediction so far.

Go Warriors!
Judging by your second paragraph, I would say that your education wasn't wasted!!

game on
25 Oct 2007, 11:17
Will be interested to see how the new Salesian/St Mary's team goes.

Anyone know if many players from either side has left because of the merger? How many of the St Marys boys would be a walk up start in the Salesian line up?

Griff19
25 Oct 2007, 13:56
Will be interested to see how the new Salesian/St Mary's team goes.

Anyone know if many players from either side has left because of the merger? How many of the St Marys boys would be a walk up start in the Salesian line up?

Salesian will hardly lose any because of the merger. Pretty much 100% of the players where all for it. As far as St Mary's goes, pretty sure that most of their core playing group where behind it. Apparently very young side. Everyone is very excited about the year ahead, but too early to put predictions out there but you could say its a move in the right direction.

koby01
29 Oct 2007, 17:33
Good move from St Mary's and Salesian, they should form a resonable side! Surely they could find a new ground now, ferndale park is the pits!

Played against Bentleigh last year and they seem to have had the youngest list in the comp. When we platyed them they ahd 16 guys under the age of 22 playing.

Should make for an interesting year, bring it on....

Go Eira!

leftfootkick
30 Oct 2007, 09:20
Can't really say much as yet due to the fact haven't really heard anything on the grape vine but am definately looking forward to hearing of new recruits and potential players to watch out for in '08!

Many clubs getting an early start to pre-season?

centrehalfbench2
28 Nov 2007, 06:45
Westbourne starting preseason tonight I believe, and I've been told they've had a few player losses from last year.

Griff19
28 Nov 2007, 08:49
St Mary / Salesian started on Monday. About 40 guys there, good mixture from both previous clubs. Everyone was pumped and raring to go already, hopefully some exciting times ahead for the new club.

leftfootkick
28 Nov 2007, 10:57
St Mary / Salesian started on Monday. About 40 guys there, good mixture from both previous clubs. Everyone was pumped and raring to go already, hopefully some exciting times ahead for the new club.

Any new recruits or early potential for oppositions to keep an eye on?

Griff19
28 Nov 2007, 11:58
Any new recruits or early potential for oppositions to keep an eye on?

Some really good young kids from St Mary's look like they will make the grade quite easliy. A few new faces who also look the goods. Still plenty of numbers to come in the next few weeks, so we will know a bit more then.

SHIGHT BLOKE
30 Nov 2007, 11:41
Werribee will be back on the track Monday evening.

Griff19
7 Dec 2007, 11:24
May be a stupid question but i have just had a look at the draw and we at St Mary's / Salesian have Ivanhoe away round 1. Am i wrong in saying that Ivanhoe finished 3rd in D3 last year????? Why have they come up???

oldtimer
7 Dec 2007, 11:36
May be a stupid question but i have just had a look at the draw and we at St Mary's / Salesian have Ivanhoe away round 1. Am i wrong in saying that Ivanhoe finished 3rd in D3 last year????? Why have they come up???

You are wrong, they finished 2nd.

Griff19
7 Dec 2007, 11:53
You are wrong, they finished 2nd.

Yes i am......

I was thinking Hawthorn finished 2nd...

forget i ever said anything.

GE Saint
7 Dec 2007, 12:02
What are your thoughts on the draw, I don't know why the VAFA think it is good to play two and home then 2 away. They seem to have done this twice in the season. What is wrong with just alternating between home and away

Griff19
7 Dec 2007, 12:47
What are your thoughts on the draw, I don't know why the VAFA think it is good to play two and home then 2 away. They seem to have done this twice in the season. What is wrong with just alternating between home and away

Yeah i thought that was a bit strange. St Mary's / Salesian has 2 home 2 away pretty much through out the whole season not just twice. I suppose its great to play 2 weeks in a row at your home, but then there is the flip side!!

TheMalachiCrunch
7 Dec 2007, 13:06
Yeah i thought that was a bit strange. St Mary's / Salesian has 2 home 2 away pretty much through out the whole season not just twice. I suppose its great to play 2 weeks in a row at your home, but then there is the flip side!!

I would be rapt to have 2 games in a row away the only downside is you have to play 2 in a row that sh1thole at ferndale Park. You guys should request to play 18 games away.

Griff19
7 Dec 2007, 13:42
I would be rapt to have 2 games in a row away the only downside is you have to play 2 in a row that sh1thole at ferndale Park. You guys should request to play 18 games away.

Comedian....

Ferndale Park is looking fantastic at the moment, nice and green, good surface!! More than you could say for alot of clubs out there...

McAdam41
7 Dec 2007, 21:59
Whichever way you look @ the draw, you still have to play everyone twice so must admit I am not overly fussed

Over The Post
11 Dec 2007, 15:24
They're talking up Westbourne vs Werribee in the Rivalry Round - more like a local derby, didn't realise there was any rivalry.

tiger_tuff
12 Dec 2007, 06:46
So who is coaching who in D2? Re-appointed or new & if new from where?

Werribee -
Banyule -
Therry Penola -
Old Paradians -
St Marys Salesian -
Glen Eira -
Bentleigh -
Old Westbourne -
Emmaus St Leos -
Ivanhoe -

knackers_2
12 Dec 2007, 08:44
They're talking up Westbourne vs Werribee in the Rivalry Round - more like a local derby, didn't realise there was any rivalry.

I was under the impression there was a big rivalry. Lots of talk of poaching players from each other - I don't think it has happened a lot though.

OW haven't enjoyed the successes that Werribee have had of late, and it's almost a feeling of 'the tables have turned' for some of the OW crew. Or so I hear.

Over The Post
12 Dec 2007, 15:29
Oh, I don't know, the vibe is still good at Arctic Park. There may be one or two faces missing next year, a few new ones arrive, same as any club. Fab Gatti has been reappointed senior coach, no surprises there. Nick Smith coaches my son at his footy clinic, he's moving to Wagga to teach and has picked up a gig as player/coach for the Wagga side for considerable coin. (Or it might have been the other way round, your opinion may vary.) All the best to him, hope he does well up there, and no doubt someone will fill his spot at Westbourne more than adequately.

punta
12 Dec 2007, 19:48
Comedian....

Ferndale Park is looking fantastic at the moment, nice and green, good surface!! More than you could say for alot of clubs out there...

Come on mate, Ferndale Park might look OK but it is still a sh*t footy ground. Greyhounds have more room in their boxes than a side has in those changerooms then you have to share the showers with the opposition! As for that hill .........

Mudflap
13 Dec 2007, 10:02
Come on mate, Ferndale Park might look OK but it is still a sh*t footy ground. Greyhounds have more room in their boxes than a side has in those changerooms then you have to share the showers with the opposition! As for that hill .........

Apart from St Mary's S**t ground, lets be honest and admit the place is basically full of s**t people. The fact they have managed to weazle there way into D2 is a slur on the ammos reputation.

harper
13 Dec 2007, 10:14
Apart from St Mary's S**t ground, lets be honest and admit the place is basically full of s**t people. The fact they have managed to weazle there way into D2 is a slur on the ammos reputation.

Should the Salesian St Marys club start in D4 as most NEW clubs to the Ammos do, maybe the merged club should have split the difference and gone to D3 saving Williamstown the heartbreak of demotion by less than 1% or is it right for them to start in D2? What do you reckon?

D3 for mine!

Ruck Machine
13 Dec 2007, 10:24
I agree, D3 would've been the best option.

game on
13 Dec 2007, 10:47
Should the Salesian St Marys club start in D4 as most NEW clubs to the Ammos do, maybe the merged club should have split the difference and gone to D3 saving Williamstown the heartbreak of demotion by less than 1% or is it right for them to start in D2? What do you reckon?

D3 for mine!

You open yourself to alot of what ifs Harps.

I think that the current rules should apply with mergers. If you applied your case to the Parkdale - St Pat's merger a few years back then St Pats would have to go from a competitive C grade side to what D2 or D3? And you can not leave it in the hands of the VAFA to make the call, you would have too much room for bias and the like. The current system is simple, works well and is ok by me.

dizwah
13 Dec 2007, 11:15
Mudflap and Punta. :thumbsd:
Firstly what team do you both play for??? Cause I am tipping you play for a struggling clubs. You both sound very jelous and threatned by the merge.
Why should we play in D3 or D4 when Salesian was middle of the table last year in D2 without home gronud facilitys. Ok yes St Marys was in D4 last year, so for example if St Marys had of folded their club at the end of last year and Salesian recruited all there players would we then need to play in D4??? I dont think so!

Secondly the St Marys boys are fantastic bunch of guys and both clubs have hit it off better than could of been imagined!

Really Mudflap, Punta come back to us with a worthwhile argument cause this one just dont stack up, it is just two blokes having a sook. Wipes your eyes boys!

what an animal
13 Dec 2007, 13:52
Firstly what team do you both play for??? Cause I am tipping you play for a struggling clubs. You both sound very jelous and threatned by the merge.
Why should we play in D3 or D4 when Salesian was middle of the table last year in D2 without home gronud facilitys. Ok yes St Marys was in D4 last year, so for example if St Marys had of folded their club at the end of last year and Salesian recruited all there players would we then need to play in
Secondly the St Marys boys are fantastic bunch of guys and both clubs D4??? I dont think so!have hit it off better than could of been imagined!

Really Mudflap, Punta come back to us with a worthwhile argument cause this one just dont stack up, it is just two blokes having a sook. Wipes your eyes boys!

Agree!

There has been plenty of mergers through the VAFA in recent years and those clubs didnt start in D4?

Salesian/StMarys will be a very competitive side. Yep the ground is small but not many grounds have green grass like they do.

Mudflap
13 Dec 2007, 15:36
Why should we play in D3 or D4 when Salesian was middle of the table last year in D2 without home gronud facilitys. Ok yes St Marys was in D4 last year, so for example if St Marys had of folded their club at the end of last year and Salesian recruited all there players would we then need to play in D4??? I dont think so!

Secondly the St Marys boys are fantastic bunch of guys and both clubs have hit it off better than could of been imagined!

You know what your right Dizwah I don't have a real valid argument.

But that still doesn't change my mind to the fact that I think St.Mary's are still a bunch of s**t blokes.

Griff19
13 Dec 2007, 15:47

Spot on Dizwah!!
There is absolutley no reason why we should not be in D2, Salesian fought extremly hard to stay up in the division and just because we have merged to survive doesnt mean we should go down a grade or two!!!

I take punta's point on the change rooms, but we do have the $600k grant for the construction of new clubrooms due to be completed in 2009!
Nothing wrong with a small ground either, good for older blokes like me sitting at full forward!!

As for the St Mary's people being sh*t people. Thats obvioulsy a comment for an outsider who either got smashed by them in the past or copped one on the field, either way still holding a grudge!! I mean seriously, how would you know unless you have been a part of the club, stupid comment...... great blokes down there and very well run.

tiger_tuff
13 Dec 2007, 20:14
Spot on Dizwah!!
There is absolutley no reason why we should not be in D2, Salesian fought extremly hard to stay up in the division and just because we have merged to survive doesnt mean we should go down a grade or two!!!

I take punta's point on the change rooms, but we do have the $600k grant for the construction of new clubrooms due to be completed in 2009!
Nothing wrong with a small ground either, good for older blokes like me sitting at full forward!!

As for the St Mary's people being sh*t people. Thats obvioulsy a comment for an outsider who either got smashed by them in the past or copped one on the field, either way still holding a grudge!! I mean seriously, how would you know unless you have been a part of the club, stupid comment...... great blokes down there and very well run.
maybe a well run club now as the merger but couldn't have too well run previously if a merger was necessary?

Griff19
14 Dec 2007, 09:09
maybe a well run club now as the merger but couldn't have too well run previously if a merger was necessary?

How wrong you are tiger!!!

The merger was never "necessary" for St Mary's, they had 2 sides playing finals football last year with plenty of numbers. They saw the merger with Salesian as one, an chance to have a good link with a school and two, an opportunity to move up to D2 with a good club, which in turn would attract better players as a result.

So maybe you shouldnt be making off the cuff remarks when you really have no idea.

Giggidy Giggidy
14 Dec 2007, 09:19
How wrong you are tiger!!!

The merger was never "necessary" for St Mary's, they had 2 sides playing finals football last year with plenty of numbers. They saw the merger with Salesian as one, an chance to have a good link with a school and two, an opportunity to move up to D2 with a good club, which in turn would attract better players as a result.

So maybe you shouldnt be making off the cuff remarks when you really have no idea.

So what was the reasoning behind the merger?

Was it moreso St Mary's taking over Salesians?

Griff19
14 Dec 2007, 10:31
So what was the reasoning behind the merger?

Was it moreso St Mary's taking over Salesians?

Pretty sure the reason for the merger on St Mary's behalf was explained pretty clearly in my previous post!! From Salesian's side, we didnt have a home ground to play out of! Simple. Both clubs saw it as a great opportunity to secure the future of both clubs. It is by no means a "take over" by any stretch of the imagination, it is a 100% merger with both clubs commitee and players coming together.

harper
14 Dec 2007, 17:46
Pretty sure the reason for the merger on St Mary's behalf was explained pretty clearly in my previous post!! From Salesian's side, we didnt have a home ground to play out of! Simple. Both clubs saw it as a great opportunity to secure the future of both clubs. It is by no means a "take over" by any stretch of the imagination, it is a 100% merger with both clubs commitee and players coming together.

Hey Griff, have you sorted out the colours and design of the jumper yet, nickname?, song?
Please don't tell me you'll put some stupid cartoon on the front

Griff19
17 Dec 2007, 08:53
Hey Griff, have you sorted out the colours and design of the jumper yet, nickname?, song?
Please don't tell me you'll put some stupid cartoon on the front

The jumper design is pretty much done, it will be a combo of both jumpers. Nickname im pretty sure will be the griffin's (same as the old Salesian one). Song, no idea but hopefully not ours!!!!! No stupid cartoon harpes, not that i will have to wear the jumper this year anyway!!!!

oc37
17 Dec 2007, 10:02
Werribee -
Banyule -
Therry Penola -
Old Paradians -
St Marys Salesian - Steven Maus
Glen Eira -
Bentleigh -
Old Westbourne -
Emmaus St Leos -
Ivanhoe -

oc37
17 Dec 2007, 10:05

D3 for mine!

Sorry Harps- think you normally make a lot of sense but this does not- why should a club who merges drop grades? First of all it would be very harsh on the teams they end up playing, secondly, why should a team that has been a long term member of the VAFA drop grades just because they choose to keep their club alive, consolidate, or just simply strengthen their position??

exhaddy
17 Dec 2007, 12:43
therry penola have been ringing a mate of mine that plays for another ammo`s club to get him down...offered him a gig in the 1`s as he plays in the 2`s at his club and is leading goalkicker would dominate d2 he is considering it. would be great for therry if they get him

harper
17 Dec 2007, 15:01
Sorry Harps- think you normally make a lot of sense but this does not- why should a club who merges drop grades? First of all it would be very harsh on the teams they end up playing, secondly, why should a team that has been a long term member of the VAFA drop grades just because they choose to keep their club alive, consolidate, or just simply strengthen their position??

No need to apologise oc37 my opinion was put out there to encourage some debate and I'm glad some posters have responded. To be honest I thought I was actually sitting on the fence a little by just splitting the diff between Salesian D2 and St Marys D4 and it was probably what I've read on the D4 thread that formed my opinion more than what has been written here in D2.
I think we probably need to have a clear definition of whether the merged clubs are in fact a NEW club or the same clubs who are equal parts Club A and Club B.
If the club is deemed to be a NEW club then off to D4 and win your way up as Bentleigh, SMD, South Mornigton, yudda, yudda, yudda have to. Regardless of what you think of the "blokes" at St Mary's it's a pretty sweet ride and if I were involved in a D3 club I'd be spitting chips about seeing them skip a grade but at the same time I understand that It would be a huge kick in the guts to Salesian to have to drop 2 grades after surviving such a testing year.
Still D3 for mine!
I don't know much about the history of mergers in the VAFA so if I'm way off the mark as far as precidents go then I'm ready to cop the BF posters wrath and for the record Good Luck to 'em.

Scribe
17 Dec 2007, 15:50
Harps - stick to D1 son - that's where your head is at now. :D

Crawfomination
17 Dec 2007, 15:54
Werribee -
Banyule -
Therry Penola -
Old Paradians -
St Marys Salesian - Steven Maus
Glen Eira -
Bentleigh -
Old Westbourne -
Emmaus St Leos -
Ivanhoe -

Is this your attempt at end of year ladder predictions for the upcoming season?? Decent effort, but I hope its not and is just your attempt at the list of teams competing in the D2 08 season!! Anyway this is how the ladder will look more or less coming into rnd 15-16 of the 08 season. Enjoy!

Top 4 will be (in no particular order) - Old Paradians
- Emmaus St leos
- Werribee *
- Glen Eira*

Teams battling for 5th position - Old Westbourne*
- Therry Penola *
- Banyule

Cellar Dwellars (relegation zone) - St Mary's Salesian
- Bentleigh
- Ivanhoe

Teams with an astrix * next to them means these will be the most likely teams that could go either way in the top 4 or battle for 5th.

oc37
18 Dec 2007, 08:31
Is this your attempt at end of year ladder predictions for the upcoming season?? Decent effort, but I hope its not and is just your attempt at the list of teams competing in the D2 08 season!! Anyway this is how the ladder will look more or less coming into rnd 15-16 of the 08 season. Enjoy!

Top 4 will be (in no particular order) - Old Paradians
- Emmaus St leos
- Werribee *
- Glen Eira*

Teams battling for 5th position - Old Westbourne*
- Therry Penola *
- Banyule

Cellar Dwellars (relegation zone) - St Mary's Salesian
- Bentleigh
- Ivanhoe

Teams with an astrix * next to them means these will be the most likely teams that could go either way in the top 4 or battle for 5th.

It wasnt a ladder prediction Shane's-man was in reply to someone who asked who the coaches were. As far as ladder predictiosn, i dont know much about D2, but would think that you have the new combine far too low- combine two groups of very talented youngsters with a few veterans, and you have a pretty handy team. If you throw in the fact salesian had Singh return at mid season along with half the Parkmore side(followed by significant form surge), you almost have a three team merger. With a very good coach on board, this could be an exciting year for the Gryhpon/Saint/Pirates

crazybear
18 Dec 2007, 09:11
It wasnt a ladder prediction Shane's-man was in reply to someone who asked who the coaches were. As far as ladder predictiosn, i dont know much about D2, but would think that you have the new combine far too low- combine two groups of very talented youngsters with a few veterans, and you have a pretty handy team. If you throw in the fact salesian had Singh return at mid season along with half the Parkmore side(followed by significant form surge), you almost have a three team merger. With a very good coach on board, this could be an exciting year for the Gryhpon/Saint/Pirates

Ivanhoe won't be down the bottom. Can anyone confirm from Ivanhoe that Tom Healy has returned to the club after 4 years at Trinity.
Westbourne will be a very good side and would expext them to finish top 2.

Griff19
18 Dec 2007, 12:05

No one from pakmore will be at the club this year. Only 3 of them played seniors anyway (and only for 1 or 2 games)

McAdam41
18 Dec 2007, 20:57
I think you are overrating the quality of any Parkmore players given they went in to recess from SFL Div 3 having been pummelled by margins as much as 40 goals. Too early to talking the merger up as a success as it is only the honeymoon period. Wait for 1 party to feel that they aren't getting the right number of players selected each week etc & then we will see how harmonious everyone is.

For what its worth having come from a SFL divvy 1 club that was forced to join in D4, I reckon any merged sides should come in @ the grade of the lowest team in the merger.

rightfoot_sloth
19 Dec 2007, 07:58
Ivanhoe won't be down the bottom. Can anyone confirm from Ivanhoe that Tom Healy has returned to the club after 4 years at Trinity.
Westbourne will be a very good side and would expext them to finish top 2.

I think your mail is wrong crazybear on Healy. Sorry to disappoint mate !

punta
23 Dec 2007, 14:15

Sorry to upset you Diz - the Flap and I may have touched a raw nerve out at the majestic Ferndale Park. Are you sure everything is sweet in the "Commune"?

I cant comment for the Flap but my club (I am retired) is hardly struggling. I just happen to think that FP is a sh*thole and that the St Marys blokes are a very ordinary bunch. And no Diz, its not because they beat me as a player - I recall some great wins at the Hole (FP will now be referred to as the Hole). Also I dont care what grade you play in. D2 in 2008 only means D3 in 2009 and D4 in 2010 if the merger lasts that long.

knackers22
30 Dec 2007, 17:55
Sorry to upset you Diz - the Flap and I may have touched a raw nerve out at the majestic Ferndale Park. Are you sure everything is sweet in the "Commune"?

I cant comment for the Flap but my club (I am retired) is hardly struggling. I just happen to think that FP is a sh*thole and that the St Marys blokes are a very ordinary bunch. And no Diz, its not because they beat me as a player - I recall some great wins at the Hole (FP will now be referred to as the Hole). Also I dont care what grade you play in. D2 in 2008 only means D3 in 2009 and D4 in 2010 if the merger lasts that long.

Oh Punta are u still annoyed with the bump diesel got in the finals are few years ago?

Rooster1979
1 Jan 2008, 21:57
St Mary's boys are definitely very average.

Never have I seen or even ever heard of a team taking their own beer to away matches. What's the deal with that? I hope it doesn't continue in the new entity

As for a merged side, they must go in at the higher clubs side. No mergers would ever occur otherwise except between clubs in the same grade. Also, adding even just 1 senior player to Salesian's list will add to their strength, so if anything, the new entity will be more competitive this year. It would get too messy too deciding who does and does not get relegated and if a merger occurs with a club outside the VAFA, what happens then. All clubs haven earned their current grade by the position they finished the previous year so, Salesian have earned the right to field a side in D2. The sides others have mentioned were new to the VAFA and must enter in the bottom grade, again, who gets relegated to allow a new club in at C Section? I'm sure the side finishing 8th or 2nd one season would be heartbroken to find they were being relegated or not promoted to allow a non VAFA team entry. This would happen in every grade below the entry.

Finally, after relegation this year will there be a mascot clash next year in D3 with the Monash Gryphons for St. Mary's Salesian? Will they be forced to sing an alternate song should they win against the boys from East Caulfield? I can see the collective genius at VAFA headquarters will be taking this issue very seriously so I'm sure there's no need to panic.

GaryBaldi
7 Jan 2008, 21:21
Just wanting to know how Banyules ground is holding up. They may have a new contender in Old Paradians of worst ground in the comp. Very little grass cover with a lot of dirt patches and very hard.

How are the other teams grounds looking?

TheMalachiCrunch
8 Jan 2008, 13:30
Just wanting to know how Banyules ground is holding up. They may have a new contender in Old Paradians of worst ground in the comp. Very little grass cover with a lot of dirt patches and very hard.

How are the other teams grounds looking?

Pretty hard when councils don't give a sh!t about the grounds and refuse to water them.

GaryBaldi
8 Jan 2008, 20:40
Pretty hard when councils don't give a sh!t about the grounds and refuse to water them.

No problem down Werribee way at the moment. Not sure how Westbourne are fairing but soldiers is nice and lush, but it will die off again during the season.

dizwah
9 Jan 2008, 07:41
Werribee nice and lush!!! That is a first was in a shocking state last year was like concrete:thumbsd:!!! What is with the rubber in the goal squares????

SHIGHT BLOKE
9 Jan 2008, 08:44
Werribee nice and lush!!! That is a first was in a shocking state last year was like concrete:thumbsd:!!! What is with the rubber in the goal squares????

Soldier's has turf designed for the cricket and dies off during the winter. So, it's lush at the moment, but wont be when footy is at the business end of the season.

It wont matter this year anyway as Werribee home games will be held at Chirnside Park (Werribee VFL's home ground) while the clubrooms will be demolised and rebuilt.

what an animal
9 Jan 2008, 15:10
Soldier's has turf designed for the cricket and dies off during the winter. So, it's lush at the moment, but wont be when footy is at the business end of the season.

It wont matter this year anyway as Werribee home games will be held at Chirnside Park (Werribee VFL's home ground) while the clubrooms will be demolised and rebuilt.

Gee that goes alright having that ground for games!
what they doing for training?

harper
9 Jan 2008, 20:32

Glad to see the proceeds of Javo's dim sim purchases going to good use, well done Tigers!

SHIGHT BLOKE
10 Jan 2008, 08:14
Gee that goes alright having that ground for games!
what they doing for training?

Unsure - I suspect that training would still be at Solidiers Reserve.

Magoos
11 Jan 2008, 13:51
[quote=SHIGHT BLOKE;9829620
It wont matter this year anyway as Werribee home games will be held at Chirnside Park (Werribee VFL's home ground) while the clubrooms will be demolised and rebuilt.[/quote]

Having that ground will def mean Werribee will win the comp. I tip them not to lose a game.
OR
They will just choke again like they always do.

Rooster1979
11 Jan 2008, 14:42
Having that ground will def mean Werribee will win the comp. I tip them not to lose a game.
OR

How does having a nice oval ensure victory? Surely having a hole of a home ground like St. Mary's is a bigger advantage......

Magoos Man
11 Jan 2008, 16:14
I think your mail is wrong crazybear on Healy. Sorry to disappoint mate !

He may well be referring to another Healy boy - Eilan. Dex is back in town after living in London for a couple of years. Different style of player to Tommy, but very good, hard and tough. Dex will be an asset to the Hoes this year, and a headache for opposition midfields.

GaryBaldi
13 Jan 2008, 21:05
OR

How can you say we will choke like we always do? Reserves win the flag and the seniors finished third behind the clear best two teams last season and looking to do better. Not many people have left and a few handy players have returned.

knackers_2
14 Jan 2008, 08:11
Not many people have left and a few handy players have returned.

If I had twenty cents for every time I heard that in a VAFA summer... I'd have several dollars to my name.

Magoos
14 Jan 2008, 09:03
How does having a nice oval ensure victory? Surely having a hole of a home ground like St. Mary's is a bigger advantage......

Its called taking the piss mate!!!!

How can you say we will choke like we always do? Reserves win the flag and the seniors finished third behind the clear best two teams last season and looking to do better. Not many people have left and a few handy players have returned.

Winning the 2's gets yopu promoted doesnt it. All good winning that but your jelly spined 1's players thats where you go wrong. I would say at best you were the 4th best side last year and thats being generous.

SHIGHT BLOKE
14 Jan 2008, 09:04
OR

Well done lightning.

You may as well say, "They could win the premiership, on the other hand they may not."

ItsAllAboutMe
15 Jan 2008, 19:31
I hear that Glen Eira are in dishoray after the loss of there reserves coach Matty Bling/ Buddah Embling, how do you think they will cope.

McAdam41
15 Jan 2008, 22:04
I hear that Glen Eira are in dishoray after the loss of there reserves coach Matty Bling/ Buddah Embling, how do you think they will cope.
How does the loss of a reserves coach leave them in disarray? What else has happened? The way they finished 2007 they need to improve there list a bit to be a finals contender, so give us more to go on...

game on
16 Jan 2008, 08:28

Not sure where you gather your info from ItsAllAboutMe. True it took some time to appoint a new 2's coach but this is now settled.

Bling was a great asset to the club and will be sorely missed but it is a very long stretch to say that the club 'can not run/is in dishoray' without him!

GE Saint
16 Jan 2008, 09:02

Maybe next time before you make up lies you should learn how to spell.

Blings assistant from 2007 has been appointed and will do an excellent job.

The club hopes Bling does well in his new role as Assistant Coach at Old Trinity.

When are the other D2 clubs starting preseason?

McAdam41
16 Jan 2008, 10:10
Maybe next time before you make up lies you should learn how to spell.

Blings assistant from 2007 has been appointed and will do an excellent job.

The club hopes Bling does well in his new role as Assistant Coach at Old Trinity.

Have Glen Eira started? Do the numbers on the track lend any credibility to the 'dishoray' theory?

GE Saint
16 Jan 2008, 11:16
Have Glen Eira started? Do the numbers on the track lend any credibility to the 'dishoray' theory?

We start next week, numbers should be good.

How are Bentleigh's numbers looking and how is the new coach going.

SHIGHT BLOKE
16 Jan 2008, 11:57

Werribee started preseason this week.

McAdam41
16 Jan 2008, 13:09
We start next week, numbers should be good.

How are Bentleigh's numbers looking and how is the new coach going.
The numbers @ Bentleigh training have been pretty solid & the new coaching staff are finding their way. Realistically it is pretty easy to coach @ this time of the year so we will no what any of the teams or new coaches are like until the real stuff starts

Dishlicker
17 Jan 2008, 09:26
Sources close to me have informed that Collingwood general manager Greg Walsh was so impressed with blings inspiring orations that he is being considered for an assistants role at the pies!....

Old trinity would be stuffed then. :)

bong pocket
19 Jan 2008, 13:40
I used to play against the st marys boys and they were always pretty decent when we played them, they had a couple that would keep you honest on the ground but they always came in for a beer and the coach at the time micheal learmonth was a die hard footy man who you couldn't help like if you liked your footy, just proud passionate blokes who fought hard to keep their club alive.
Don't worry they have a couple that will surprise the lads in d2.
What about banyule i heard the coach has gone to Tempelstowe and taken several with him?
did he leave banyule or was he pushed ?
Then lately i hear he has chucked that in to take up a role with the nfl ?

game on
21 Jan 2008, 13:13
Has everyone in D2 arrange pracy games? Anyone playing another D2 club?

Yagabomb
21 Jan 2008, 16:49
Im baaaaaaaack. Hitting the track for the 1st time this year 2nite and cant wait to bring abit of pace and polish to the group :)

SHIGHT BLOKE
21 Jan 2008, 21:35
Im baaaaaaaack. Hitting the track for the 1st time this year 2nite and cant wait to bring abit of pace and polish to the group :)

Who are you kidding? Sounds to me that you've been sniffing that polish. :thumbsu:

damo03
22 Jan 2008, 04:16
Who are you kidding? Sounds to me that you've been sniffing that polish. :thumbsu:I't is good polish in Werribee apparently don't get jealous....

One Man Band
22 Jan 2008, 09:01
So how did it go yaga?? You still alive? Or did the famous ankle or hammy play up and you had to leave the track early as usual? Bracksy, how did he go?? Yaga heard a rumour that you'll be in the leadership group for the Club 18 side - confirm or deny??

Phantom Strobler
22 Jan 2008, 14:12

Methinks you are in dishoray. Do you speak the way you spell?

ItsAllAboutMe
22 Jan 2008, 21:56
Methinks you are in dishoray. Do you speak the way you spell?

Faaaark surely you are kidding yourself picking on spelling, No doubt you are such a wank.er that you spell check every post to ensure you keep your 100% record of no spelling mistakes, and then mother gives you a nice hummmm on your balls for being such a good speller and you thank god that you studdied so hard at look say cover write check...

damo03
23 Jan 2008, 09:44
So how did it go yaga?? You still alive? Or did the famous ankle or hammy play up and you had to leave the track early as usual? Bracksy, how did he go?? Yaga heard a rumour that you'll be in the leadership group for the Club 18 side - confirm or deny??

Yaga was on fire at training skills were polished but the only time I saw him running was when someone got kfc...

Phantom Strobler
23 Jan 2008, 11:54
Faaaark surely you are kidding yourself picking on spelling, No doubt you are such a wank.er that you spell check every post to ensure you keep your 100% record of no spelling mistakes, and then mother gives you a nice hummmm on your balls for being such a good speller and you thank god that you studdied so hard at look say cover write check...

There is a job available for you at an Indian call centre. You seem to have the right attributes.

Yagabomb
23 Jan 2008, 13:18
Yaga was on fire at training skills were polished but the only time I saw him running was when someone got kfc...

Yeah thats bout right mate:). Hey one man, How's your skin going? Have you gotten any blacker? Now that javos going to tie the knot this year we need someone at the club to replace him and as your struggling to fit into your jeans these days i think your the perfect candidate :thumbsu:

One Man Band
23 Jan 2008, 15:37
Yeah thats bout right mate:). Hey one man, How's your skin going? Have you gotten any blacker? Now that javos going to tie the knot this year we need someone at the club to replace him and as your struggling to fit into your jeans these days i think your the perfect candidate :thumbsu:
Ha Ha! I can tell you I'm fitter now than what I was grand final day last year! The new training program is working well, for when I step out for the Warriors! Even if I hadn't trained, I'd still have you covered on the track Yaga!

knackers_2
29 Jan 2008, 14:38
look say cover write check...

The rest of what you had to say was pretty much bollocks... but that bit is gold

guttertrash
4 Feb 2008, 08:54
D2 thread very quiet. Any news. Recruits, departures, ground availability?

leftfootkick
4 Feb 2008, 10:49
mate dont think you'll find to much talk on here until the actualy season starts!!

atm i think everyone is in the same boat with doing Pre-Season training and trying to get a decent list together for the upcoming season!

buddy-love
6 Feb 2008, 10:44
Can't help but notice a few people on this have tipped Old Paradians to finish in the top 4. From what Ive heard, they are struggling for numbers and quality players. Can anyone prove this to be true?

leftfootkick
6 Feb 2008, 13:47
Played them in u19s a couple of years back and they used to be a big, quick monster side... my thoughts would have been all those blokes would have come up into their seniors and lifted them from D1 to possibly C or even higher... not relegate them?!?

buddy-love
6 Feb 2008, 20:41
Will the comp actually start on april 12th as it says in the draw or will it be a couple of weeks later weather pending?

Over The Post
6 Feb 2008, 23:09
Let me check.

http://static.twoday.net/bmworacleracing/images/crystal_ball2_bmwPreview.jpg

Nope, FIIK. Ask me again in early April.

new2west
8 Feb 2008, 08:15
just moved over to the western suburbs. looking to get back into football but dont have the time to commit fully, seems as though old westbourne and werribee are in this d2 would like to know where would be my best bet to play club 18"s ?? dont know the area or people so dont know what to expect, enlighten me please

Over The Post
8 Feb 2008, 09:46
Westbourne clubbies are a great bunch, come on down to preseason on Tuesday or Thursday and meet some of the blokes. Like most Club18 sides there's a mix of abilities, there seems to be a spot for everyone. Details of when and where are on the club website, http://oldwestbourneafc.com.au/

T.W.Sher
10 Feb 2008, 12:29
buddy You can never right of the parade boys!! alot of commited hungry people down there they will bounce back!! boundy may be back??

phantom13
11 Feb 2008, 10:38
Went for a run last night past Glen Eira's Ground, staying off it has done you blokes very well, it's in great shape, if the season starts as scheduled glen eira might well have the best ground in the comp.