View Full Version : Inside Football Draft Preview
Pretty sure that it's out today. Usually gives a brief description on about 150 draft hopefuls along with a few top 10's and interviews with some of the likely candidates.
Well worth a look for all who frequent this site.
morphous
24 Oct 2007, 14:50
Pretty sure that it's out today. Usually gives a brief description on about 150 draft hopefuls along with a few top 10's and interviews with some of the likely candidates.
Well worth a look for all who frequent this site.
I just rang their publishers up, it comes out on the 31st.
Its crap.
Coach of Player X: "Yeah he is a goog kid works hard, I think he will get drafted"
That, varied only slightly is it, for every kid
A mock draft has started on another site here is the list so far as they see it
1. Carlton - Matthew Kreuzer
2. Richmond - Cale Morton
3. West Coast - Trent Cotchin
4. Melbourne - Brad Ebert
5. Western Bulldogs - Ben McEvoy
6. Essendon - Rhys Palmer
7. Fremantle - Alex Rance
8. Brisbane - David Myers
9. St Kilda - Lachlan Henderson
10. Adelaide - Chris Masten
11. Sydney - David Gourdis
Its crap.
Coach of Player X: "Yeah he is a goog kid works hard, I think he will get drafted"
The coaches are usually pretty honest and it's a pretty good read. Never buy Inside Footy, except for that one issue.
Lynch takes a mark
24 Oct 2007, 15:27
where can I purchase it ?
Basically any newsagents.
Some places have it where the newspapers are (ie where you buy the UK or interstate papers) as opposed to the magazines.
Its not that insightful but there's little bits and pieces that make it worthwhile if your into the draft.
Stripes666
24 Oct 2007, 15:39
Basically any newsagents.
Some places have it where the newspapers are (ie where you buy the UK or interstate papers) as opposed to the magazines.
Its not that insightful but there's little bits and pieces that make it worthwhile if your into the draft.
I like it as it gives a bit of a review for every player every week
DCFCFAN84
24 Oct 2007, 15:39
According to this draft Masten will be available at 7 I would be surprised and disappointed if Freo didn't take him.
A mock draft has started on another site here is the list so far as they see it
1. Carlton - Matthew Kreuzer
2. Richmond - Cale Morton
3. West Coast - Trent Cotchin
4. Melbourne - Brad Ebert
5. Western Bulldogs - Ben McEvoy
6. Essendon - Rhys Palmer
8. Brisbane - David Myers
9. St Kilda - Lachlan Henderson
10. Adelaide - Chris Masten
11. Sydney - David Gourdis
If we take Rance and Masten is still available, Phil Smart better just fall on his sword...save everyone the effort of actually trying to kill him.
notting18
24 Oct 2007, 16:01
If we take Rance and Masten is still available, Phil Smart better just fall on his sword...save everyone the effort of actually trying to kill him.
Similar thoughts about Brisbane taking Myers instead of Masten!
benrey_demons
24 Oct 2007, 16:10
and Melbourne wont take ebert
it'll be a quick midfielder, palmer or masten hopefully (if cotchin or morton haven't gone already)
and if we are lucky, rioli at pick 14
Similar thoughts about Brisbane taking Myers instead of Masten!
Brissie and Freo shouldnt worry about their club overlooking Masten (or Palmer for that matter), more than likely they wont be available at your picks anyways.
DCFCFAN84
24 Oct 2007, 17:36
Brissie and Freo shouldnt worry about their club overlooking Masten (or Palmer for that matter), more than likely they wont be available at your picks anyways.
Way to rub it in lol. Palmer wont Masten has a chance for Freo not Brisbane.
TheGeneral
24 Oct 2007, 18:06
I found last year's draft preview and they didn't even have Rhys Palmer listed in the second group of players or "roughies".
Did anyone rate Palmer last year?
Even as a smokie?
Bateman
24 Oct 2007, 18:28
How about supplying a link to this site?:thumbsu:
bringbackschwarter5
24 Oct 2007, 18:29
it'll be a quick midfielder, palmer or masten hopefully (if cotchin or morton haven't gone already)
Since when was Masten or Palmer a fast midfielder
sinepari
24 Oct 2007, 18:58
I found last year's draft preview and they didn't even have Rhys Palmer listed in the second group of players or "roughies".
Did anyone rate Palmer last year?
Even as a smokie?
I'm fairly certain he didn't nominate. Could be wrong though.
Ryder Is God
24 Oct 2007, 19:26
Palmer and Masten aren't that fast.
Its crap.
You just have to know the code.
Quigley
24 Oct 2007, 21:47
Some are more honest than others. Some rave about everyone and you have to take with a grain of salt. Fly last year gave a bit more insight into the Qld guys then was common with most of the coaches.
Wouldn't waste my money on that drivel.
Gilly1972
25 Oct 2007, 00:21
Wouldn't waste my money on that drivel.
Spot on :thumbsu:
When we can come on here and read your drivel for free :p:D
juddy_Like
25 Oct 2007, 00:32
Ryder thats Masten pic is from last year isnt it?
Ryder Is God
25 Oct 2007, 02:11
Ryder thats Masten pic is from last year isnt it?
I think so.
It wouldn't worry me if we took Rance ....the kid looks classy.
juddy_Like
25 Oct 2007, 13:15
I think so.
He is wearing number 2 but had 3 on this year.
I wouldnt be surprise if we picked up Masten at 3. Esp if Cotchin is gone.
bigcalls!!
25 Oct 2007, 14:50
[quote=Gilly1972;9315546]Spot on :thumbsu:
then again i wouldnt waste my time on this site but i still do... theres probably more knowledge in the actual coaches and clubs than on this site.http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon7.gif
bigcall?????????
You just have to know the code.
DeVinci?
Ryder Is God
25 Oct 2007, 15:59
He is wearing number 2 but had 3 on this year.
I wouldnt be surprise if we picked up Masten at 3. Esp if Cotchin is gone.
You most likely will.
Blue Dawn
27 Oct 2007, 03:35
Very, very unlikely Masten will fall to #10 - much more likely he'll go top 6.
Spot on :thumbsu:
When we can come on here and read your drivel for free :p:D
As opposed to reading Cotchin this, Cotchin that...........:p
footyman
27 Oct 2007, 20:57
Its worth buying, they tend to cover a few players that are genuine roughies and in some cases the coach/regional manager might declare which clubs are into them.
A lot of it is fluff but its just another useful supporting reference for the draft.
So its the 31st... anything good on it??
The Royal Sampler
31 Oct 2007, 13:37
8-page draft liftout. Andrew Renton not included which is interesting... overall I thought they did a better job last year but worth a look.
Lynch takes a mark
31 Oct 2007, 13:49
only a couple of top 10 phantom drafts
would have liked a top 30 or so, pretty stock standard overall.
only a couple of top 10 phantom drafts
would have liked a top 30 or so, pretty stock standard overall.
Can you write some of the top 10s here mate. Cheers.
Lynch takes a mark
31 Oct 2007, 13:55
Inside football top 10
1. Kruezer
2. Cotchin
3. Morton
4. Palmer
5. Henderson
6. masten
7. Rance
8. Ebert
9. McEvoy
10. Grimes
TAC Cup Expert Brett Anderson
1. Kruezer
2. Morton
3. Cotchin
4. Palmer
5. Henderson
6. Ebert
7. Masten
8. Rance
9 Myers
10. McEvoy
superfreak
31 Oct 2007, 14:06
INSIDE FOOTBALL’S TOP 10
1 Carlton Matthew Kreuzer
Ruckmen don’t come any better than this kid.
2 Richmond Trent Cotchin
The Tigers cannot afford a speculative pick and this kid is a
bulletproof selection.
3 West Coast Cale Morton
Unlikely to take a Victorian with this pick. Morton is
a great athlete for his size.
4 Melbourne Rhys Palmer
The Demons are keen to inject class into their onball division.
5 Bulldogs Lachlan Henderson
Key position player likened to Pavlich. The Dogs need size!
6 Essendon Chris Masten
Has midfield speed and class. The Dons need that big time!
7 Fremantle Alex Rance
The Dockers need to develop a key defender. Rance is a local.
8 Brisbane Brad Ebert
A quality forward/onballer pumped up by Michael Voss.
9 St Kilda Ben McEvoy
The Saints need a quality ‘young’ ruckman.
10 Adelaide Jack Grimes
Mid-sized player who could be groomed for half back.
TAC Cup Expert - Brett Anderson's Top 10
Pick 1 - Carlton - Matthew Kruezer (Northern Knights)
The jewel in the crown of the 2007 draft. The Blues will put the icing on the cake of an outstanding off-season by selecting Kreuzer. A midfield consisting of Kreuzer, Judd, Stevens, Murphy and Gibbs will give opposition coaches nightmares.
Pick 2 - Richmond – Cale Morton (Claremont)
The Tigers showed their hand when they traded for Eagle Mitch Morton. Morton’s brother Cale should also be donning the Yellow and Black in 2008. At 192cm and 80kg, Morton is the prototypical modern day footballer. He can run and jump, he has very good goal sense and can play virtually anywhere on the ground.
Pick 3 - West Coast – Trent Cotchin (Northern Knights)
The Eagles wont worry about the ‘go home factor’ and will take the best available player in Cotchin. He is equally as gifted on either side of his body and will fit beautifully into the Eagles midfield. He could turn out to be the best player in the draft.
Pick 4 - Melbourne – Rhys Palmer (East Fremantle)
The Dees could go one of two ways. They could take Henderson to boost their key position stocks or they could add a quality runner to their young midfield. They will go with the latter. Palmer is a ball magnet and a running machine who looks a ready made player
Pick 5 – W.Bulldogs – Lachlan Henderson (Geelong Falcons)
A real no-brainer of a pick. The Dogs are desperate for a quality key position player and will be overjoyed that Henderson is still there at Pick 5. He can play at either end but is most suited at Centre Half Forward. Some recruiters have likened him to Fremantle’s Matthew Pavlich.
Pick 6 - Essendon – Brad Ebert (Port Magpies)
The Bombers midfield is low on depth and talent so to add a player of Ebert’s quality will be a priority. Having played a fair amount of senior footy already, Ebert should be able to step straight in and take some of the heat of Stanton and Watson.
Pick 7 - Fremantle – Chris Masten (East Fremantle)
The Dockers lacked run in 2007 and with Peter Bell coming to end of his fine career, adding a top quality midfielder such as Masten will be a welcome boost for Mark Harvey’s team. Being a local boy is a bonus as he has already tasted senior WAFL footy and was a standout at the U18 Nationals this year.
Pick 8 - Brisbane – Alex Rance (Swan Districts)
The only area where the Lions are a bit light on is in defence. Rance is probably the best key defender in the draft and has the ability to win plenty of the footy. He enjoyed a great carnival for WA providing plenty of run and rebound out of the back half and is well suited to Brisbane style of play.
Pick 9 – St Kilda – David Myers (Perth)
This pick could go anywhere. Speed, speed, speed is what the Saints need but there isn’t anyone good enough that type of pace to warrant pick 9, so the Saints will take the best available player in key defender David Myers. And the Saints aren’t exactly flush with tall backmen.
Pick 10 - Adelaide – Ben McEvoy (Murray Bushrangers)
The loss of ruckmen Ben Hudson and John Meesen during trade week means the Crows will be on the hunt for a long-term solution in the ruck. McEvoy is better suited as a key forward but he has shown the ability to also play in the ruck. He is very much a Josh Fraser-type with good skills and has a good footy brain who will be a 200+ game player in Adelaide.
whitey_1975
31 Oct 2007, 14:21
Both of these lists are not picks adelaide will take full stop. Best available inside of tall midfielder. We have half back flankers coming out of our arse and Biglands, Maric, Griffen and 3 other 196cm+ talls capable of filling in ruck who will play as a forward or back.(Moran Sellar and Tippet) And by the way Meesen isnt a loss its a blessing in disguise. he is shithouse and will never make it. TIMID.
PS Jezzza- if we get Masten which i doubt i would be absolutely estatic.
Saw Harry Taylor listed at 7 on the front cover. Not sure if he's been mentioned much around the traps.
He had a very good state screening and showed good form in the WAFL. He's 21 though, so probably look at going about pick 30 at the earliest.
I just got mine, not really that good this year if you already know your stuff about the draft. Only glanced at it but doesnt seem to be many extra info that we dont know (like where coaches expect guys to go, or whose interested in them).
Won $12 on the scratchy I got with it, so I'm happy with the overall outcome :D
bootsie16
31 Oct 2007, 15:51
The best description ever of a player by Nth Ballarat Football Manager:
Kyle Cheney - He's as hard as a cat's head.
Sounds exactly the recruiting gurus look for in a potential draftee.
The best description ever of a player by Nth Ballarat Football Manager:
Kyle Cheney - He's as hard as a cat's head.
Sounds exactly the recruiting gurus look for in a potential draftee.
Just a pity he's not a little taller and a little quicker.
Pick 9 – St Kilda – David Myers (Perth)
This pick could go anywhere. Speed, speed, speed is what the Saints need but there isn’t anyone good enough that type of pace to warrant pick 9, so the Saints will take the best available player in key defender David Myers. And the Saints aren’t exactly flush with tall backmen.
Got a bit of a laugh at this one.
Obviously watching games is still not much of a priority for the inside footy staff.
you guys are on the money
it sucks
should at least give you some draft camp results, more detail less fluff
superfreak
31 Oct 2007, 16:21
Obviously watching games is still not much of a priority for the inside footy staff.
why do you say that ant??
as a saints fan myself i reckon thats exactly what we need. joey is our only real quick midfielder and down back goose hasn't really gotten back to his best yet, max is getting on in years and sam fisher is more suited to being a 2rd tall.
High Ryder
31 Oct 2007, 17:34
The magazine sounds very amateurish.
I like IFs coverage and will go and purchase a copy
But as noted they pick a top 10 based on talent and not needs. Adelaide being an example, as noted before NC has stipulated Inside Midfielder is first priority.
But like this board it gives a different view on players
I am one of those who like as much information as possible and IF is another avenue to do that
Lynch takes a mark
31 Oct 2007, 17:55
I like IFs coverage and will go and purchase a copy
But as noted they pick a top 10 based on talent and not needs. Adelaide being an example, as noted before NC has stipulated Inside Midfielder is first priority.
But like this board it gives a different view on players
I am one of those who like as much information as possible and IF is another avenue to do that
At 10 the best inside mids will most likely be gone and nothing worth taking until the 17-20 range.
If the best player available is a key defender (Rance, Collier, Pears ect) then go with him, picking for need is pointless given the amount of time it takes to develop players.
bradrowe#32
31 Oct 2007, 17:56
you guys are on the money
it sucks
should at least give you some draft camp results, more detail less fluff
I agree. We don't really get much except for the basics (height, weight etc) and a generic quote from a coach.
They should put in where they think they'll go in the drought roughly.
eg: Tom Bellchambers, between pick 20-25. Or something like that, just a rough guide.
BTW, the draft camp results are in the lift-out.
sinepari
31 Oct 2007, 18:00
So did I.
Very strange.
why do you say that ant??
as a saints fan myself i reckon thats exactly what we need. joey is our only real quick midfielder and down back goose hasn't really gotten back to his best yet, max is getting on in years and sam fisher is more suited to being a 2rd tall.
Because Myers is not a tall KP backman. He is 190cm but he is a midfielder. He wont be playing KP. Will play half back or midfield and has played midfield for Perth in the WAFL.
It wasnt a shot at the Saints picking Myers but more the description of the player himself and why St.Kilda would take im.
He would be very good for the Saints. He is reasonably quick, has great footskills, is a good mark and would be very handy cruisinng up and down the wing or through the middle kicking the ball to Roo.
Because Myers is not a tall KP backman. He is 190cm but he is a midfielder. He wont be playing KP. Will play half back or midfield and has played midfield for Perth in the WAFL.
It wasnt a shot at the Saints picking Myers but more the description of the player himself and why St.Kilda would take im.
He would be very good for the Saints. He is reasonably quick, has great footskills, is a good mark and would be very handy cruisinng up and down the wing or through the middle kicking the ball to Roo.
He's 192cm now. Could easily end up as a key defender, esp CHB.
Could also end up as a wingman type but I'd rather him play as a tall if it were my side.
superfreak
31 Oct 2007, 18:46
fair enough, a bit of a david mundy type??
im sure they see a fair bit of footy though to collate draft preview. maybe it was one that got through the cracks, but i will back their judgment on where they think he will end up playing (position-wise). hopefully he keeps growing!!
Could also end up as a wingman type but I'd rather him play as a tall if it were my side.
Dont see him as a KP at all. Running half back yes. Midfielder/winger yes.
In the WAFL games i have had a look at him in he just looked like a natural midfielder.
fair enough, a bit of a david mundy type??
im sure they see a fair bit of footy though to collate draft preview. maybe it was one that got through the cracks, but i will back their judgment on where they think he will end up playing (position-wise). hopefully he keeps growing!!
Back their decison at your peril. In the actual preview Perth's football manager say he is " a hard working midfielder who can also play down back "
I can tell you exactly how hard they work at watching games. In their VFL wrap during the year they where regualry using the Bendigo reports i put on Bomber Blitz and most of the time the didn't even change the wording ;)
The Royal Sampler
31 Oct 2007, 20:05
I can tell you exactly how hard they work at watching games. In their VFL wrap during the year they where regualry using the Bendigo reports i put on Bomber Blitz and most of the time the didn't even change the wording ;)
Hopefully they changed the spelling. :D
Does it give ever players height and weight that attended draft camp? If so can somebody please post the height and weight of Tayte Pears and Alex Rance? Thanks in advance
Is tall, but will always be better as a midfielder/running backman. I think will end up being top.3 in the best in this draft. And is very underrated.
Does it give ever players height and weight that attended draft camp? If so can somebody please post the height and weight of Tayte Pears and Alex Rance? Thanks in advance
Rance: 192cm
Pears: 190cm
Is tall, but will always be better as a midfielder/running backman. I think will end up being top.3 in the best in this draft. And is very underrated.
Agree with that.
Lynch takes a mark
31 Oct 2007, 22:12
Rance: 192cm
Pears: 190cm
in the inside footy mag they have them as 194 & 192cm
Agree with that.
I have had him at 3 in my phantom draft for a while now
I just feel his is good enough for top 5 and he is the type of player we like, we have a pick available to take him so why not take the bloke you want.
I would like Masten a lot, but we can get good inside midfielders at 13, 20 & 22 and in our first round picks every year.
in the inside footy mag they have them as 194 & 192cm
Oh sorry, I thought we were talking about the DC ;)
juddy_Like
1 Nov 2007, 01:12
Lynchy which inside midfielders do you think we can take at 13, 20 or 22?
Obviously no-one of Masten's class and keep in mind we need a Ruck.
He's 192cm now. .
Has he grown 1.3cm in the past month?
i KNOW
What I am saying is that they should have the results for each player from state screening or DC.
Don't agree with what they have for Melbourne.
Ideally I want us to get:
4) Masten
14) Grant
21) Selwood
53) Feiber
That would be perfect!!!
Think I might go and get a copy of this, despite what I said earlier in the thread. Might be worth a read, just to get another persons view on things.
Vic Crow
2 Nov 2007, 15:53
Think I might go and get a copy of this, despite what I said earlier in the thread. Might be worth a read, just to get another persons view on things.
Totino gets a little write up. I added it to my scrap book so I thought you'd be interested. :thumbsu::p
philhawk
2 Nov 2007, 20:17
Sounds like another Birchall.
sinepari
2 Nov 2007, 20:49
Sounds like another Birchall.
Better by foot and probably in the air.
Johnson#26
3 Nov 2007, 12:05
Decent wrap up of proceedings once again. They're very good value for a look back in the years to come, for example, it's an interesting read of the 2002 Draft Preview right now.