View Full Version : Which player inspired you to support a team?
brenjay
24 Oct 2007, 21:27
My first time starting a thread, but was interested to know whether there was any one player that made you follow or stop following a team?
I know me and some other mates started following the lions because of Vossy! a number have quit supporting after his departure
roostersgal4eva
24 Oct 2007, 21:31
I started going for the lions because of Alastair - then it progressed to being a bone fide lions fan
The Flying Belgian
24 Oct 2007, 21:34
My first time starting a thread, but was interested to know whether there was any one player that made you follow or stop following a team?
I know me and some other mates started following the lions because of Vossy! a number have quit supporting after his departure
Brace yourself for the inevitable "if they follow a player and not a team then tehy're not real supporters" comments.
And for me, no. I support the team first and foremost. I'm predicting most in here will be the same.
roostersgal4eva
24 Oct 2007, 21:36
it doenst matter how you start - its if you stayed or not that really counts
everyone has a starting point, a reason why.......mine or yours are no more important or better than anyone elses
I moved to Brisbane, got ticked off with Super League, somebody gave me a freebie, went to a few games - thats how it started. Kinda like Heroin really - first one is free, pay the rest of your life.
Like Vidman for me it was 'Location, Location, Location!' ABlett actually was the player I liked when I was young and it was him if anyone that got me interested in the game but I lived in Brissie so...
Can't really speak for those that got behind the mighty Lions a bit later but Lynch was a pretty big signing IIRC and Vossy (winning the Brownlow so early in his career and all) must have captured a few hearts. No doubts Aker got some of the younger kiddies following the Lions more recently.
danielcanberra
24 Oct 2007, 21:49
Welcome aboard brenjay.
Vossy is a legend. Keep up the great support!
Kochie 16
24 Oct 2007, 23:13
No single player inspired me to follow brisbane, I'm a queenslander & I like Aussie Rules so naturally I would follow my local team.
Sherminator.
24 Oct 2007, 23:16
No player, in 1998, when I was 5-6 I went for the most unpopular team in my school to be different from the rest of the Kangaroos and Collingwood supporters. :)
i went for the lions because my neighbour used to drive leppa to school and he told me to go for the lions =] best decision of my life
Dylan12
24 Oct 2007, 23:27
Well I was born a Lion - have a photo with me in the Roys jumper before if I knew whether I was coming or going.
But, the first player that I idolised and wanted to be was none other than the Tank, Mickey Conlan - a couple of Brissie Lions might not remember him, you may remember the great footage of him kicking the winning goal to beat Essendon in the 85 elimination final. And he was No 12, beginning a long line of some of my favourites, Doc Wheildon (may be over some people's head) and Aka - he would have inspired a fe to become Lions no doubt.
Quigley
24 Oct 2007, 23:31
It depends how old you are when you first start supporting a team and if it is your local team or not. Growing up in NQ before the Broncos I started supporting Parramatta because of Mick Cronin and stopped supporting them because of Brian Smith.
On the Lions I only really started supporting the Lions when they moved to Brisbane and got involved with following the young guys, particularly Vossy, coming through.
TheBrownDog
24 Oct 2007, 23:34
Brereton and Ablett were the players that grabbed my attention as a little kid.
danielcanberra
24 Oct 2007, 23:39
Brereton and Ablett were the players that grabbed my attention as a little kid.
Did I tell you about the time I ran into Dermie at Adelaide airport last year? He was so chuffed I called him a legend. A really pleasant bloke. He didn't even mind me wearing a Lions jumper.
dmac_55
25 Oct 2007, 00:43
I didnt really follow a team, and decided i needed to choose one...
This was near the end of the last bears season, and i think they made the 8 just IIRC...
After the merger i jumped on board the new Lions, but went through as we all did some rough times...
It irritates me when people just assume you barrack for the lions cos of the 3 peat.. I have been a Brisbane Lion right from day one! :o
LuckyLuke
25 Oct 2007, 09:02
No player, in 1998, when I was 5-6 I went for the most unpopular team in my school to be different from the rest of the Kangaroos and Collingwood supporters. :)
LOL, same here. Except it was 93 and the school was mainly filled with Pie, Blues and Hawks supproters. After my first game though, Roos was my fav because of the chant he would get every touch of the ball.
roostersgal4eva
25 Oct 2007, 09:33
I didnt really follow a team, and decided i needed to choose one...
This was near the end of the last bears season, and i think they made the 8 just IIRC...
After the merger i jumped on board the new Lions, but went through as we all did some rough times...
It irritates me when people just assume you barrack for the lions cos of the 3 peat.. I have been a Brisbane Lion right from day one! :o
I either get that or an automatic assumption Im from Queensland!
Some people just dont know anything about sport!
ReluctantLion
25 Oct 2007, 12:09
Wasn't a player for me.
As a young kid I decided to follow Fitzroy because they were the Lions and from my brilliant analysis had to be a better/tougher team than those than with lesser animals like the hawks, magpies, cats etc. :D :D
lionbear
25 Oct 2007, 12:45
As an 8 year old in the 80's It was the Wiz Warwick Capper that first got me watching VFL. Then Gary Ablett really got me watching in 89.
But from 88 onwards it has always been the Bears/Lions!!!!
As an 8 year old in the 80's It was the Wiz Warwick Capper that first got me watching VFL. Then Gary Ablett really got me watching in 89.
But from 88 onwards it has always been the Bears/Lions!!!!
born and bred a norwood (sanfl) supporter but started following fitzroy as, on an assocation footy to melb we had tickets to an essendon v fitzroy final at waverly (1981 I reckon). Most other thought they'd barrack for essendon, i decided fitzroy to be contrary and bernie quinlan sealed the deal by dobbing a few very long goals. fitzroy were underdogs but got up making the coach ride back to the inner west an enjoyable one.
BigCat2
25 Oct 2007, 16:54
After I moved to Brisbane (14 years ago), my neighbour who was a Bears member took me to the Gabba for a game. Been following ever since.
PROUD LION
25 Oct 2007, 17:05
Warwick Capper playing for the good old Bears :o
I was an 7 year old Melbournian barracking for an Interstate club in a family full of Carlton/Essendon supporters who bagged me throughout my childhood as the Bears barely won more than 6 games a season :(
Who had the last laugh ;):D:):thumbsu:
Fitzroy - Alex RUSCUKLIC, 1966-74, 108 games :thumbsu:
Bears/Lions - no player in particular, just proximity and the need to see a real footy game (instead of that Cross-country wrestling). :D
morphous
25 Oct 2007, 17:15
I started as a Carlton supporter because of Stephan Kernahan being from Glenelg and myself being a Glenelg supporter and when in Adelaide was based around Glenelg (lived in Whyalla about 5 hours north west). I then met the Glenelg team back in 1990 (Cornes, Mcdermott, McGuiness, Liptak) and a few of the boys went on to become Crows the next year. They were all really nice blokes so it was a natural progression as I only followed Carlton for one player.
Fairley
25 Oct 2007, 17:32
No player for me, was born in Brisbane and lived in Queensland my whole life so far, thats a good enough reason for me. Probably started barracking for them in 1996-1997 when i was just 5 or 6... Dad was a big influence of course.
_charlie_
25 Oct 2007, 17:53
I started going to the AFL at about 8 years old. The first game I remember was at the Gabba, Bears vs Adelaide and I think we lost by about 100+ points. Still I was quite young and enjoyed the atmosphere and excitement of just being there and have never looked back - although now I understand and follow the game, not just what is going on in the stands!
Whilst there was no one player that inspired me to follow the game, I remember Roger Merrett (sp.?) taking a mark that game and he was the first player that I ever remembered the name and number of!
The Donners
25 Oct 2007, 17:56
Warwick Capper playing for the good old Bears :o
I was an 7 year old Melbournian barracking for an Interstate club in a family full of Carlton/Essendon supporters who bagged me throughout my childhood as the Bears barely won more than 6 games a season :(
Who had the last laugh ;):D:):thumbsu:
109% salary cap, 3 flags and still can't give away memberships! :D
TheBrownDog
25 Oct 2007, 18:05
18 games in Melbourne a year and still couldn't crack more than one flag in the 1998-2001 era with one of the most dominant sides of the modern era.
Shameful.
The Donners
25 Oct 2007, 20:09
18 games in Melbourne a year and still couldn't crack more than one flag in the 1998-2001 era with one of the most dominant sides of the modern era.
Shameful.
Hardly shameful, premierships aren't given away... well to Victorian clubs anyway!
Brisbane winning 3 flags must've felt pretty hollow considering you had an advantage over every team in the competition!
Now win JUST 1 without the enhancements and then come back and talk to me!
TheBrownDog
25 Oct 2007, 20:20
Brisbane winning 3 flags must've felt pretty hollow considering you had an advantage over every team in the competition!
Yeah, the way our players went hard at the ball and played as a team was a distinct advantage, certainly doesn't make the feeling hollow.
The Donners
25 Oct 2007, 20:31
Yeah, the way our players went hard at the ball and played as a team was a distinct advantage, certainly doesn't make the feeling hollow.
That team was the best team EVER. No denying it mate.
Vipertooth
25 Oct 2007, 21:04
LYNCHY, cannot beat mr Lynch, the best :D:thumbsu:
I love this line of thinking... if that's what it takes to win premierships, Sydney should win every year. Not to mention Carlton winning more than it did during its rort years.
Dr Pea P.I
25 Oct 2007, 21:24
No player, no autonomous decision, neither geography nor appeal; it was Fitzroy or my father's belt.
The way it should be:)
Did really like Matty Rendell though as it was the number 9 that my jumper was blessed with as a small tacker.
The Donners
25 Oct 2007, 21:24
I love this line of thinking... if that's what it takes to win premierships, Sydney should win every year. Not to mention Carlton winning more than it did during its rort years.
At least Carlton had the descency to do it under the table! :D
The Donners
25 Oct 2007, 21:26
No player, no autonomous decision, neither geography nor appeal; it was Fitzroy or my father's belt.
The way it should be:)
Did really like Matty Rendell though as it was the number 9 that my jumper was blessed with as a small tacker.
It was Essendon or wash my mouth out with soap... the belt went into retirement just before my time! :D
TheBrownDog
25 Oct 2007, 21:39
Carlton paid their players more than we did in 2002.
You sure you want to bringing up the salary cap?
Remember 2003?
Dylan12
26 Oct 2007, 00:02
Is it just me, but the last few days all i have noticed is Essendon supporters insistently posting comments in our club forums just bringing up and posting absolutely rubbish - especially this thread - seriously i am NOT interested in your thoughts - still dirty about Brennan are we? - obviously with recruiting a dud coach and not being able to effect any trades you have nothing better to do than post crap - GO AWAY - not interested in anything you Duds have to say:mad:
Yeah... http://www.abc.net.au/news/stories/2003/10/13/965918.htm
roostersgal4eva
26 Oct 2007, 10:36
AMEN to that! :D
http://smileys.smileycentral.com/cat/4/4_1_201.gif (http://www.smileycentral.com/?partner=ZSzeb001_ZNfox000)
I was alrealdy a fan (for Fitzroy, and then for the Bears) but Lynchy would have won my vote either way (hence my profile quote).:thumbsu::thumbsu:
blackers
26 Oct 2007, 16:49
I was already a Fitzroy supporter but when Superboot (Bernie Quinlan) got his hundredth goal (for a second year) at the first game my Dad took me to (round 22, 1984) that sealed the deal - sadly he turned out to be rubbish coach (Bernie Quinlan I mean, not my Dad) but he'll always be a legendary full forward.
Also I remember being stunned at the size of Tank (Mick Conlan) and Paul Roos. My memory may have exaggerated but to an 8 year old they looked impossibly big. Their chests looked almost as wide from front to back as from side to side and their biceps were the same size as the footy.
Dylan12
26 Oct 2007, 16:55
I was already a Fitzroy supporter but when Superboot (Bernie Quinlan) got his hundredth goal (for a second year) at the first game my Dad took me to (round 22, 1984) that sealed the deal - sadly he turned out to be rubbish coach (Bernie Quinlan I mean, not my Dad) but he'll always be a legendary full forward.
Also I remember being stunned at the size of Tank (Mick Conlan) and Paul Roos. My memory may have exaggerated but to an 8 year old they looked impossibly big. Their chests looked almost as wide from front to back as from side to side and their biceps were the same size as the footy.
When i was about 6 or so, a glossy footy mag came out around 86-87 - Footy Weekly, lasted a year or two - but they had a poster of Mickey Conlan in pre-season which i reckon i had on my wall for years and he is bigger than body builders - you think Ben Cousins is ripped - well the Tank Conlan was ripped but had huge muscles and then there was Dougie Barwick (another muscle freak) - i was hooked - Blackers did you go to the 86 finals series when these guys tore it up? Awesome memories!
Vipertooth
26 Oct 2007, 17:11
AMEN to that! :D
http://smileys.smileycentral.com/cat/4/4_1_201.gif (http://www.smileycentral.com/?partner=ZSzeb001_ZNfox000)
a god among afl stars :D:thumbsu:
TheBrownDog
26 Oct 2007, 17:12
a god among afl stars :D:thumbsu:
Definitely, the way he was able to overcome a significant handicap* too was inspirational.
*Being Tasmanian.
maroon and blue
26 Oct 2007, 19:38
Fitzroy - Alex RUSCUKLIC, 1966-74, 108 games :thumbsu:
Bears/Lions - no player in particular, just proximity and the need to see a real footy game (instead of that Cross-country wrestling). :D
Alex Ruscuklic, one of my favorite players. A brilliant high mark. All at sea when the ball hit the ground, but it was worth it to see him taking those skyscrapers.:thumbsu:
brenjay
26 Oct 2007, 19:50
alistair lynch at the 2004 gf confirmed my loyalty to the lions !
didn't wanna be in wakelin's shoes :eek:
I got suckered into supporting the Bears when i was really young by the "Koala" mascot. I futher cemented my Bears support by getting a photo with (after he signed my bears mascot) Warrick Capper.
I know not really something to brag about but when I was young he was the tits.
Not on the lions Reggie Bush got me supporting the New Orleans Saints. He's a future MVP!
Vipertooth
26 Oct 2007, 21:59
Definitely, the way he was able to overcome a significant handicap* too was inspirational.
*Being Tasmanian.
Harsh lol.
Overcoming CF was inspirational to me and i am sure many others, especially because he was our number 1 goal kicker for many years!!!
Plus the advantage of my AFL hero being Tasmanian, made it even better :D
GO LYNCH :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:
GO LIONS :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:
morphous
26 Oct 2007, 22:38
*Being Tasmanian.
Good comeback my fellow x-men.
*Being Tasmanian.
That's ridiculous, everyone know's that two heads are better than one!:p
roostersgal4eva
26 Oct 2007, 22:43
Harsh lol.
Overcoming CF was inspirational to me and i am sure many others, especially because he was our number 1 goal kicker for many years!!!
Plus the advantage of my AFL hero being Tasmanian, made it even better :D
GO LYNCH:thumbsu:
GO LIONS:thumbsu:
sorry vipes but I LOL'd :D
His fighting spirit is what I will remember the most - I soooooo miss seeing him play :(
I remember that tribunal saga he went through in '97 - handled that wtih so much class and dignaty
roostersgal4eva
26 Oct 2007, 22:44
That's ridiculous, everyone know's that two heads are better than one!:p
LMAO :D
Dont worry Viper - she's all apples :p
Lace Out
26 Oct 2007, 23:54
Harvey Merrigan - Fitzroy
maditaliano
27 Oct 2007, 00:22
Hey. Just saw this topic and thought it would be interesting. As a young fella Hawthorns Shane Crawford and Collingwoods Nathan Buckley really stood out to me, in that order too. Hawks first, Magpies second. But after a few years, Hawks have dropped to probably my third favourite team, and Magpies are now my least favourite, however, I still like them - I like all teams. In the end, home state and pride got through to me and I am now a passionate West Coast Eagles supporter. :) Btw, good idea for a topic.
brenjay
27 Oct 2007, 00:28
I am now a passionate West Coast Eagles supporter. :) Btw, good idea for a topic.
i admired west coast because of their superb midfield with Kerr, Cousins, Judd
Reminded me of Brisbane's glory days. I can imagine a number of people have become West Coast followers due to their midfield brilliance! :thumbsu:
maditaliano
27 Oct 2007, 00:34
i admired west coast because of their superb midfield with Kerr, Cousins, Judd
Reminded me of Brisbane's glory days. I can imagine a number of people have become West Coast followers due to their midfield brilliance! :thumbsu:
Ooh yeah. Brisbane's glory days. Michael Voss, Jason Akermanis, Simon Black and Allistair Lynch. Three brownlow medalists and a quality full forward. No wonder you guys won three premierships. Deserved it too.
Cara_Cougar #16
27 Oct 2007, 11:20
well about 9 years ago when i was about four i was looking at some old toys and i found a geelong cat logo and thought cats are not scary lions and tigers are heaps better so i asked my pop if there any lions or tigers in the afl and he told me: " yes there are the Brisbane Lions and the Rich......" I had already run off and decide i would barrack for the lions. Thank God i didn't listen to the last part of his sentance or i might've been around tiger land! :D:thumbsu:
BigCat2
27 Oct 2007, 14:13
well about 9 years ago when i was about four i was looking at some old toys and i found a geelong cat logo and thought cats are not scary lions and tigers are heaps better so i asked my pop if there any lions or tigers in the afl and he told me: " yes there are the Brisbane Lions and the Rich......" I had already run off and decide i would barrack for the lions. Thank God i didn't listen to the last part of his sentance or i might've been around tiger land! :D:thumbsu:
As Fate would have it. It was a good thing he got the order right. :thumbsu:
Alex Ruscuklic, one of my favorite players. A brilliant high mark. All at sea when the ball hit the ground, but it was worth it to see him taking those skyscrapers.:thumbsu:
.... all that, and rather cute to boot (no pun intended.... really).:D
Footnote: At the time, I was a "newbie" to (then) VFL Footy, having found a love for Aussie Rules in Darwin. I saw Alex on "In Melbourne Tonight" I think, and liked him on the spot. From then on I was a Fitzroy fan, even when I moved back to Brisbane.
Chasing the Dream
29 Oct 2007, 11:38
But, the first player that I idolised and wanted to be was none other than the Tank, Mickey Conlan - a couple of Brissie Lions might not remember him, you may remember the great footage of him kicking the winning goal to beat Essendon in the 85 elimination final. And he was No 12, beginning a long line of some of my favourites, Doc Wheildon (may be over some people's head) and Aka - he would have inspired a fe to become Lions no doubt.
Conlan was awesome, that great goal in 1985:D
For me, at the same time as Conlan was running around, it was also the likes of Serafini, Quinlan and one of the greatest little men to ever play the game, Garry Wilson who had me excited about heading off to the footy each weekend.
The Junction Oval was the place to be, getting there early enough to get a seat on the wooden plank that encompassed the fence. Comfort was not an optional extra then. Footy Record in one hand as I sat upon my footy so I could actually see over the fence, eagerly awaiting the start of the game. Was it just me, or did the senior players actually look about 3 feet taller than the reserves player?
The final siren was always an event. How quickly could you run out onto the ground to try and get a bit of scribble from a player who had just bleed Fitzroy blood for the past 120 minutes, amazingly, it was always a little easier after a win, but Fitzroy being Fitzroy, the players always gave a little time to us kids either way.
Arrrh, the memories.
blackers
1 Nov 2007, 13:36
Blackers did you go to the 86 finals series when these guys tore it up? Awesome memories!
I went to the Preliminary Final in 86 - unfortunately the one we got beaten in after two great wins. Going to the finals was just magical for a 10 year old. I remember being amazed that the tickets were these oversized things with a picture of the MCG on them. My dad got them off our butcher who was an Essendon supporter who was gutted about what we did to them two weeks prior. That was Conlan too!
Yep was at them all (even round 22 at Vic Park where we had to beat the Swans who were killing everyone and think relied on someone else beating someone just to make the 5) including the Prelim - scorching hot day against the Hawks - remember it was practically over at quarter time - disappointing after Essendon game - Leon Harris to Conlan; goal - embraced by Quinlan after the game - the relief on his face after being beaten all day to the game against the Swans at the MCG - think we won by 4 points - another cliffhanger and then the Hawks game - i am sure the experts said if we had of beaten the Hawks we would have been clear flag favourites against the Blues - Oh well, but 2001-2003 certainly made up for it after complete grief between 1987-1996 until we merged.
By any chance do you remember Michael Reeves (ruckman against Bombers) who wore those gridion pants with all those pads in it because Simon Madden when contested ruck would knee opponents and he countered that with those pants - classic look:thumbsu: