View Full Version : Tommyneu's Phantom Draft 2007.
Tommyneu
25 Oct 2007, 00:48
Round 1
(P.P) Pick 1 > Carlton - Matthew Kreuzer - 199cm 91kgs - Northern Knights (Ruck)
A selection that won't surprise many. Kreuzer is exactly what Carlton are vying for, especially after the coup of Judd during the trade period. They've gotten their gun mid, now all they need is someone to palm the ball to him - this bloke.
Pick 2 > Richmond - Trent Cotchin - 184cm - 81kgs - Northern Knights (Mid)
Definitely in the top 3 ball users in this years crop, if not the best. His neat footskills running through the midfield and forward of centre are outstanding, his ratio of effective kicks to ineffective kicks is quite astonishing and it's this touch of class in the guts that the Tigers are crying out for. Widely regarded as the best genuine midfielder available, Cotchin may start his career as a HFF. His skills on both sides of the body are elite and his pace is excellent. With the potential to cut teams to ribbons Cotchin won't get past Greg Miller and Richmond.
Pick 3 > West Coast - Chris Masten - 179cm 80kgs - East Fremantle (Mid)
Tough as nails Masten is exactly what the Eagles want from Pick 3. A genuine ball magnet in the mould of Bartel, Masten never backs down from a contest and rarely gets beaten 1 on 1. His skills are decent without being excellent and but he makes up for it with pure guts and determination to beat his opponent. Queries over his health (Osteitis Pubis) shouldn't scare the Eagles away from this hard nut in their search for the new Judd.
Pick 4 > Melbourne - Cale Morton - 192cm 75kgs - Claremont (Utility)
The most skilled player by foot in this years draft, Craig Cameron will be stoked to pick up a player whom many regard as the best player in this years pool. With Carlton having seemingly committed to Kreuzer, and Richmond taking Cotchin, the Eagles will surpass Morton in order to grab a midfielder. This leaves the young utility to the Dees. Penetrating and deadly accurate kick, the 2007 Larke medallist possesses wonderful courage, ball winning ability and aerial skills. Averaging just over 25 posessions a game during the 2007 nationals. His height of 191cm is tallish for a midfielder but coming off the half backline and pushing forward of centre, possibly as a wingman, is where he is most likely to start his career.
Pick 5 > Bulldogs - Lachie Henderson - 196cm 90kgs - Geelong Falcons (Key Fwd)
Although Henderson missed a big slice of the 2007 season through injury, prior to that he was widely regarded as a top 5 Pick. He and Gourdis are the best KP forwards on offer in this years crop but the Doggies should go local and grab this bloke. He has sticky hands and a wonderful work ethic. If the Dogs can fix up his goalkicking technique they will have unearthed themselves a real star.
Pick 6 > Essendon - David Myers - 190cm 85kgs - Perth (Utility)
Myers is a utility in every sense of the word. IMO he is the best all round footballer in this year's crop. Myers displays leadership, maturity beyond his years, and elite skills coming off the half back flank, or running through the midfield; where he is more then capable of matching it with the best. Will be a 200+ game player for whoever the lucky club that picks this gem of a footballer up. The Dons will be more then obliging to grab this potential future captain.
Pick 7 > Fremantle - Rhys Palmer - 180cm 76kg - East Fremantle (Mid)
Fremantle desperately need to inject some pacey youth into their midfield. Palmer's nationals were exceptional, and with lack of pace in the midfield the Dockers won't pass up the oppurtunity to grab this excitement machine. They should go local with this pick and Palmer won't disappoint. As was on display in the nationals, Palmer's aerobic capacity is enormous; he can run, run, run. Getting on the end of a fast break and finishing on his solid left foot has become a trademark of this promising midfielder's game.
Pick 8 > Brisbane - Brad Ebert - Brisbane will be ecstatic if the best S.A product on offer gets through to pick 8. Ebert possesses wonderful leadership qualities and is cool in a crisis. He was heavily tagged throughout the champs and rightly so, he is damaging forward of the centre and knows how to find his own ball. Stick him in the sandgropers lineup and he would be getting 30+ possies a game. Real quality. He has been described by many as a likely replacement for Michael Voss, is very verbal on the field and isn't afraid to get stuck into the opposition. Future leadership material.
Pick 9 > StKilda - Ben McEvoy - 199cm 90kgs - Murray Bushrangers (Ruck)
The Saints desperately need a quality ruckman. McEvoy is the perfect fit IMO, a good athlete and a decent tap ruckman. He can also drift forward and take a contested grab, which is a common attribute that all quality modern day ruckmen seem to possess. If he was played as a key forward, he could be rotated with Kozchitzke in the ruck. McEvoy could be used fill the hole that Gehrig has left in the Saints forward line, a combination of Kozi, Roo, and McEvoy seems a matchwinning forward line.
Pick 10 > Adelaide - Patrick Dangerfield - 188cm 80kgs - Geelong Falcons (Mid)
Adelaide will be knocked off course a bit when Ebert is taken at 8, but will be stoked to pick up Dangerfield. A pacey inside runner who has the capacity to win his own ball, Dangerfield is exactly what the Crows are after in their search to revive there ageing midfield of Edwards and Goodwin. His skills are just ok but nothing that should let him slide and which can't be fixed on the training track. From Geelong Falcons, has also been linked to Melbourne at 14, and Sydney at 26.
Pick 11 > Sydney - Cyril Rioli - 178cm - 74kgs - St.Marys (Mid)
Rioli is a bit of a risk to be taken in the top 15 due to his light frame. Striking similarities to Richard Tambling back in 2004 (and not just because they are Aboriginal), his pace, agility, and evasiveness are his main attributes and his goal sense is emmaculate. Sydney are desperately trying to inject some pace into their slow, lumbering midfield of Bolton and Buchanan and Rioli fits the bill. His breaking of the lines and goalkicking from the midfield is something the Swans have only seen in the likes of Goodes and on occassions Schneider, who is now gone.
Pick 12 > Hawthorn - Alex Rance - 194cm 87kgs - Swan Districts (Key Back)
A big, strong, quality backman has been the missing ingredient in Hawthorn's lineup for some time now. Pick 12 provides the oppurtunity to grab the best in this years pool. Rance showed his quality during the nationals where his reading of the play and good skills rebounding out of the defensive 50 really put him in the sights of many recruiting managers. With good height and upper body strength Rance will fit into the brown and gold nicely and may be part of their premiership tilt in the future.
Pick 13 > West Coast - Jack Grimes - 187cm 76kgs - Northern Knights (Mid)
A tough inside midfielder, Grimes captained the Northern Knights in a team which also consisted of Kreuzer and Cotchin; both of whom often stole the spotlight away from Grimes' blue collar efforts. Averaging a tad over 28 possessions a game during the 2007 TAC CUP, West Coast is in desperate need of replenishing their midfield stocks after the loss of both Judd and Cousins over the 2007 off season.
Pick 14 > Melbourne - Patrick Veszpremi - 183cm 83kgs - Northern Knights (Mid)
This nuggety customer will be snapped up in the first round, guarenteed. Veszpremi was injured for a large slice of 2007, but when he played, boy did he turn it on. Put him anywhere on the ground and he attacks a contest at 100 miles an hour. He showed his quality late in the year with an 8 goal effort for the Northern Knights, and was regarded as a likely top 5 selection by many before he got cut down by injuries. However this shouldn't hurt his chances of going early in the draft as he's shown enough at both junior level and U/18 level to suggest he will be a star of the future.
Pick 15 > Kangaroos - Scott Selwood - 184cm 81kgs - Bendigo Pioneers (Mid)
The last of the Selwood family, Scott is a tough medium defender/midfielder. The Roos are very keen to snap him up and why not, he has the bloodlines. Playing for the Bendigo Pioneers in 2007, his skills are reasonable, as is his pace. His overhead marking needs some work though. With the retirement of Archer, expect Selwood to slot nicely into a permanent half back position.
Pick 16 > Port Adelaide - Levi Greenwood 185cm 78kg - Port Adelaide Magpies (Mid)
Pick 17 > Geelong - Tom Collier - 192cm 86kgs - Tasmania (Key Back)
(P.P) Pick 18 > Richmond - Callan Ward - 183cm 71kgs - Western Jets (Mid)
Round 2
Pick 19 > Bulldogs - Tom Bellchambers - 199cm 91kgs - Tasmania (Ruck)
Pick 20 > West Coast - Brendan Whitecross 182cm 79kgs - Queensland (Mid)
Pick 21 > Melbourne - Tayte Pears - 193cm - East Fremantle (Key Back)
Pick 22 > West Coast - Dawson Simpson - 207cm 97kgs - Murray (Ruck)
Pick 23 > Essendon - Patrick McGinnity - 182cm 75kgs - Claremont (Mid)
Pick 24 > Fremantle - Steven Browne -181cm 74kg - West Perth (Mid)
Pick 25 > Brisbane - Steven Gaertner - 196cm 83kg - Dandenong (Key Back)
Pick 26 > Sydney - Addam Maric - 179cm 80kgs - Calder Cannons (Med Fwd)
Pick 27 > Adelaide - Jarrod Grant - 191cm, 77kgs- Dandenong Stingrays (Key Fwd)
Pick 28 > Port Adelaide - Marlon Motlop - 181cm 76kgs - North Adelaide (Sml Fwd)
Pick 29 > Hawthorn - Matthew De Boer - 185cm 81kgs - Claremont (Mid)
Pick 30 > Adelaide - Ashley Arrowsmith - 188cm 82kgs - Calder Cannons (Utility)
Pick 31 > Collingwood - Tony Notte - 194cm 70kgs - Swan Districts (Utility)
Pick 32 > Kangaroos - Andy Otten - 192cm 86kgs - Oakleigh Chargers (Utility)
Pick 33 > Port Adelaide - Chris Kangars - 193cm 84kgs - Geelong Falcons (Utility)
Pick 34 > Geelong - Mitch Farmer - 179cm 79kgs - Calder (Sml Def, Mid)
macca69
25 Oct 2007, 00:56
Great effort mate :thumbsu:
Three points on first look.
I don't think WC have pick 30 anymore, IIRC that's now thew Doggies pick.
Also Craig Bird and Taylor Walker are scholaship players of Sydney and Adelaide respectively and both have committed to taking these two with their last selections of the draft.
And Geelong and Collingwood have also lined up father son selections in Donhoe and Barham with their last selections also.
Other than that good job.
Gilly1972
25 Oct 2007, 00:58
Mitch Farmer @ 50 :eek:
Seriously, good on you for having a dip, it takes some b@lls to put a MD up there for critique.:thumbsu:
Vic Crow
25 Oct 2007, 00:59
Gee, that's a pretty good effort. Just a few technical things that you have missed. The Swans are taking Craig Bird and the Crows Taylor Walker under the NSW Scholarship Scheme. Also Collingwood have Jaxson Barham and Geelong Adam Donohue via F/S with their final pick. Also, you have WC down for Pick 30, should be Adelaide.
Apart from that it looks like a good list. I'd have Farmer a fair bit higher. Matty Wright is in hospital after being hit in the back of the head with a bottle and I reckon this will effect his draft chances.
EDIT: I was just waiting for what Macca and Gilly had to say and then I typed it up really quickly in my own words. :p
Gilly1972
25 Oct 2007, 01:03
Gee, that's a pretty good effort. Just a few technical things that you have missed. The Swans are taking Craig Bird and the Crows Taylor Walker under the NSW Scholarship Scheme. Also Collingwood have Jaxson Barham and Geelong Adam Donohue via F/S with their final pick. Also, you have WC down for Pick 30, should be Adelaide.
Apart from that it looks like a good list. I'd have Farmer a fair bit higher. Matty Wright is in hospital after being hit in the back of the head with a bottle and I reckon this will effect his draft chances.
EDIT: I was just waiting for what Macca and Gilly had to say and then I typed it up really quickly in my own words. :p
What's new? :p;)
NAh seriously, I thought the only gripe you would have is no Totino ;)
Tommyneu
25 Oct 2007, 01:03
Cheers, i'll edit...everyone seems to rate Mitch Farmer so highly? Saw him a few times during the year for Calder and was solid without being amazing.
Vic Crow
25 Oct 2007, 01:05
What's new? :p;)
NAh seriously, I thought the only gripe you would have is no Totino ;)
I bit my tongue. :p
Gilly1972
25 Oct 2007, 01:07
Cheers, i'll edit...everyone seems to rate Mitch Farmer so highly? Saw him a few times during the year for Calder and was solid without being amazing.
He was pretty crook and run down with some sort of mystery virus at the end of the year. Saw him play some games where IMO he just looked a cut above. His game against SA in the slush at MC Labour in the champs was pretty impressive too.
delirious1
25 Oct 2007, 01:19
Chris Mayne, Cruize Garnett? not a shot but i think those two will be drafted.
good effort however
slightlycynical
25 Oct 2007, 01:19
Is Maric on there?
Tommyneu
25 Oct 2007, 01:24
Is Maric on there?
My bad, good pickup...feel free to criticize or have your opinions and I will consider editation everyone. Convince me!
Nice effort :thumbsu:
You've certainly got the WC picks about right. Although, we will probably go with a mid at 13.
Nice work mate.
Dont thik McEvoy will fall that far since he is rated top 5 and imo doggies will take him no doubt.
Tommyneu
25 Oct 2007, 01:33
Nice work mate.
Dont thik McEvoy will fall that far since he is rated top 5 and imo doggies will take him no doubt.
I originally had the same view on McEvoy and was trying to find a place for him in the top 10. I'm over 90% sure the Bulldogs will take Henderson. I started looking where else he could go in the top 10 and only found clubs that had priorities superior to a ruckman. I think of the top 20, McEvoy and Rioli are the most likely to slide.
macca69
25 Oct 2007, 01:35
I originally had the same view on McEvoy and was trying to find a place for him in the top 10. I'm over 90% sure the Bulldogs will take Henderson. I started looking where else he could go in the top 10 and only found clubs that had priorities superior to a ruckman. I think of the top 20, McEvoy and Rioli are the most likely to slide.
What makes you so sure about that?
Tommyneu
25 Oct 2007, 01:41
What makes you so sure about that?
Because he's the best genuine Key Forward available and what have the Bulldogs been searching for for 5 years?
macca69
25 Oct 2007, 01:49
Fair enough, but to say you're over 90% sure without some sort of inside knowledge is a big call.
Tommyneu
25 Oct 2007, 01:54
Fair enough, but to say you're over 90% sure without some sort of inside knowledge is a big call.
You're right it is a big call, and nothing is set in stone. I'm making my judgement based on the priorities of the club...they won't be able to make any in roads into the top 4 without a big target up forward. Why not grab the best? :p
sharks89
25 Oct 2007, 08:47
Brisbane will talk a a local with second pick which will be Reid. if not i dont think he will last past 30.
I'd be very disappointed if the Swans used 11 on Grimes. I know he's quite highly rated but sounds like a blue collar inside mid, something the Swans already have in abundance (and already have Bird arriving to add to this group).
With KPP stocks at both ends of the ground much closer to the end of their careers than the start, I am hoping 11 will be used on a Rance (if he's still around), Pears, Gourdis or Collier.
The Royal Sampler
25 Oct 2007, 09:21
Great reading mate, thanks for putting that up.
On a Collingwood note, I don't think there's any chance we'd use our first pick (#31) on another ruckman after using #14 on Wood from the Lions. Especially with Andy Ottens and Mitch Farmer still on the board. Would be pleased to get Normington with #47 though, no complaints there! :)
Very good effort :thumbsu:
Just a couple of minor things. Bradley although used as a key back is not one. He is a tall forward. He is not a backman. No composure under pressure and poor decison making when he is in that half of the ground. The last couple of years have proven this.
I also think the Bombers will go for a tall 4th round.
Good effort Tommy. From a Brisbane perspective, I would have thought it unlikely that we would take KPPs with our first 2 picks but it is not totally out of the question. What the fans think we need and what the club thinks we need are 2 very different things and we did take onballers/flankers with 4 out of 6 picks last year.
tenderwarrior
25 Oct 2007, 10:13
Pick 17 > Geelong - Tayte Pears - 192cm 90kgs - East Perth (Key Back)
(Pick 34 > Geelong - Ashley Arrowsmith - 188cm 82kgs - Calder Cannons (Utility)
Pick 44 > Geelong - Mitch Farmer - 179cm 79kgs - Calder (Sml Def, Mid)
Pick 50 > Geelong - Brendan Whitecross 182cm 79kgs - Queensland (Mid)
Pick 62 > Geelong - Michael Rockefeller - 177cm 77kg - Werribee (Mid)
Good effort Tommyneu.
Pears is a real possibility, but after that you have them picking up three smalls and a medium sized player. Geelong have delisted/traded eight 'taller' players, so I think will be looking to go tall in this draft. We will also take Donohue our father/son selection at 62.
If you are correct with ALL the other selections, I think Geelong might look to select:
17 - Tony Notte - 194cm 70kgs - Swan Districts (Utility)
34 - Aaron Joseph - 178cm 75kgs - Tasmania (Mid)
44 - James Mulligan - 201cm 96kgs - Southport (Ruck, Key Fwd)
50 - Joel Smouha 196cm 80kg - Mt. Gravatt (Ruck)
Three talls, all to develop. Smouha could become a defender, Notte needs to fill out, but we have time with plenty of Key forward options at the moment. Mulligan could be anything, and Joseph is another tough midfielder to add to the list.
Plenty of X factor and risk there, but Geelong can affort to have a bit of a gamble.
Add Donohue to that list and four rookie selections- maybe another ruck, a running tall defender, and two quick runners, and all systems are go!
sinepari
25 Oct 2007, 10:19
Nice work, but I personally feel that Callan Ward is too low. I reckon he'll go earlier. But I don't think many people rate him as I do.
dominguez
25 Oct 2007, 10:32
You have Fremantle taking 2 small forwards which is unlikely. I reckon we'll draft atleast 3 midfielders.
Pick 7 - Masten/Palmer/Ebert
Pick 24 - McGinnity/Browne/Ward
Pick 40 - Best available mid or ruckman
Pick 56 - Kepler Bradley
Pick 72 - Best available midfielder.
Lynch takes a mark
25 Oct 2007, 11:09
Notte over Jarred Grant ?
you crazy :D
for the most part I love west coasts picks, not sure we would go with another 2 key forwards after getting Brown & Kennedy, would probably go a ruck in one of them but Gourdis looks a very likely type that I highly doubt will be around at 13 (or McEvoy at 14)
Best available at every pick (within reason)
richoatthedisco
25 Oct 2007, 11:38
I'd hope the tiges take ward over selwood. And no tom rockliff?
Australia
25 Oct 2007, 11:50
I think Palmer will be taken by the Demons.
Mclean, Sylvia, Jones and Palmer sounds good.
I think Essendon will take Ebert.
I also think Rance will be snappe up by Sydney.
Selwood to end up with either Geelong or West Coast.
inferno66
25 Oct 2007, 12:02
Good job Tommyneu :thumbsu:
TylerDurden
25 Oct 2007, 12:10
Great work.
But i think it's a bit rich to think the Dees will get both Masten and McEvoy - wishful thinking. From all reports, McEvoy is a top 10 pick...
Excellent job nonetheless...
Power Supremacy
25 Oct 2007, 12:55
Tommy, thanks for having a crack at one of these. I've been hanging out for some Phantom Drafts.
Just one thing, I don't think Port will use any of their picks after 33. We've only made room for three picks in the main draft and three in the Rookie. The only reason we might delist 1 more player would be if the talent available in the PSD was of a decent calibre.
I'd be interested to see how third and fourth round passes would affect your draft order.
juddy_Like
25 Oct 2007, 13:11
Nice effort mate but il be bitterly disapointed if our draft ended up like that.
We have 4 picks in the Top 22 and none of them will play in the middle for at least 4 years.
Cotchin is a forward who will move into the middle.
Gourdis will be battling it out with Kennedy, Brown and Hansen for a game.
Maric will be fighting with McKinley and maybe Lecras for a spot as the small medium forward.
And Notte needs to hit the creatine, protein and all that other muscle shit before he even trains let alone plays.
J-Ro-20
25 Oct 2007, 14:25
fantastic effort!
obviously placings will change but i think the whole draft is pretty accurate..
well done! :thumbsu:
BluesRules
25 Oct 2007, 14:31
[quote=Tommyneu;9315753]Round 1
Pick 2 > Richmond - Cale Morton - 192cm 75kgs - Claremont (Utility)
Another Richmond masterstroke:D
James_37
25 Oct 2007, 14:32
Good effort mate, I think Adelaide though will try to go a bit more local with their picks and they if Bradley's still around with their pick in the 50s they may take a punt on him. Would also like to see us pick up one of Maric, Rioli and Vespreszi, the others high on the list would be Ebert(not likely) and Greenwood, all suit our needs of both a tough midfielder or a quick small forward come midfielder.
bigcalls!!
25 Oct 2007, 14:34
nice try but u have obviously just looked at that other trial footy drafty and filled the blanks, from about 20 onwards the names seem to be placed in nearly identical spots and even the same mistakes were made in the same spots--- example--- Zane murphy, 43, queensland. he wont get drafted, and hes from tasmania, identical to the early trial draft.
baaah all the Phantoms have Tayte Pears going at 17.
Just let him slip to 18 thanks. :)
borderbarry
25 Oct 2007, 14:44
Nice work Tommyneu.
From a St.Kilda point of view, happy with the first two choices, but would we take Renton before Mullgan and Connelly?
I dont know about us taking another mid from Qld. Maybe Smouha. or P:etrenko fro S.A.
Also Saints are apparently going to use all 4 of their picks, so we would use Pick 74 as well.
stefoid
25 Oct 2007, 14:47
Because he's the best genuine Key Forward available and what have the Bulldogs been searching for for 5 years?
yep, the last 3 or 4 drafts have seen big footy pundits assigning the supposedly best key forward option to us and they have always been wrong.
the only way henderson will go to the dogs is if we see him as the 5th best player in the draft. is that how you see him?
greennick
25 Oct 2007, 15:20
I don't think WC will take a key forward with pick 13 - we currently have Kennedy, Lynch, Hansen, Staker, Brown, and other rookies and late draft picks that we are developing.
We just lost 2 pretty reasonable midfielders so I would say we would go mids with our first 2 picks at least.
Pat Vezpremi (sp?) may be a target, particularly if we get Cotchin. According to some on the WC board, McEvoy may even be picked up too, because we could do with an extra ruck, however I disagree with this and think it will be midfielders with 3 of our first 4 picks, especially the first 2.
It won't happen, but if Masten or Palmer slipped, we would be all over them too.
Tommyneu
25 Oct 2007, 15:22
nice try but u have obviously just looked at that other trial footy drafty and filled the blanks, from about 20 onwards the names seem to be placed in nearly identical spots and even the same mistakes were made in the same spots--- example--- Zane murphy, 43, queensland. he wont get drafted, and hes from tasmania, identical to the early trial draft.
Ha, thanks for the suggestion...but my Dad's best mate is the writer of the annual champion data prospectus and has been handed in depth profiles of all the draft hopefuls. If you don't like Zane Murphy, tough, we'll see how I go. After all it is only a Phantom draft. Thanks anyway :thumbsu:
greennick
25 Oct 2007, 15:23
yep, the last 3 or 4 drafts have seen big footy pundits assigning the supposedly best key forward option to us and they have always been wrong.
the only way henderson will go to the dogs is if we see him as the 5th best player in the draft. is that how you see him?
I don't think the Dogs would pick him up, he is a 195cm, 90+kg, key forward with great hands and room for improvement. In other words, exactly what you need, which is why you won't pick him.
Gilly1972
25 Oct 2007, 15:25
I don't think the Dogs would pick him up, he is a 195cm, 90+kg, key forward with great hands and room for improvement. In other words, exactly what you need, which is why you won't pick him.
:D:D
Round 1
(P.P) Pick 1 > Carlton - Matthew Kreuzer - 199cm 91kgs - Northern Knights (Ruck)
Pick 3 > West Coast - Trent Cotchin - 184cm - 81kgs - Northern Knights (Mid)
Pick 4 > Melbourne - Chris Masten - 179cm 80kgs - East Fremantle (Mid)
Pick 6 > Essendon - Brad Ebert - 187cm 86kg - Port Magpies (Mid)
Pick 7 > Fremantle - Rhys Palmer - 180cm 76kgs - East Fremantle (Mid)
Pick 8 > Brisbane - Alex Rance - 194cm 87kgs - Swan Districts (Key Back)
Pick 9 > StKilda - Cyril Rioli - 178cm - 74kgs - *** Marys (Mid)
Pick 10 > Adelaide - David Myers - 190cm 85kgs - Perth (Utility)
Pick 11 > Sydney - Jack Grimes - 187cm 76kgs - Northern Knights (Mid)
Pick 12 > Hawthorn - Tom Collier - 192cm 86kgs - Tasmania (Key Back)
Pick 13 > West Coast - David Gourdis - 193cm 88kgs - Subiaco (Key Fwd)
Pick 14 > Melbourne - Ben McEvoy - 199cm 90kgs - Murray Bushrangers (Ruck)
Pick 15 > Kangaroos - Pat Veszpremi - 183cm 83kgs - Northern Knights (Mid)
Pick 16 > Port Adelaide - Levi Greenwood - 181cm 91kgs - Port Magpies (Mid)
(P.P) Pick 18 > Richmond - Scott Selwood - 184cm 81kgs - Bendigo Pioneers (Mid)
Round 2
Pick 20 > West Coast - Addam Maric - 179cm 80kgs - Calder Cannons (Med Fwd)
Pick 21 > Melbourne - Scott Simpson - 194cm 91kgs - Dandenong (Key Fwd)
Pick 22 > West Coast - Tony Notte - 194cm 70kgs - Swan Districts (Utility)
Pick 24 > Fremantle - Steven Gaertner - 196cm 83kg - Dandenong (Key Back)
Pick 25 > Brisbane - Robbie Tarrant - 196cm 92kgs - Bendigo Pioneers (Key Fwd)
Pick 26 > Sydney - Patrick Dangerfield - 188cm 80kgs - Geelong Falcons (Mid)
Pick 28 > Port Adelaide - Marlon Motlop - 181cm 76kgs - North Adelaide (Sml Fwd)
Pick 29 > Hawthorn - Callan Ward - 183cm 71kgs - Western Jets (Mid)
Pick 30 > Adelaide - Steven Browne -181cm 74kg - West Perth (Mid)
Pick 31 > Collingwood - Dawson Simpson - 207cm 97kgs - Murray (Ruck)
Pick 33 > Port Adelaide - Chris Kangars - 193cm 84kgs - Geelong Falcons (Utility)
Pick 34 > Geelong - Ashley Arrowsmith - 188cm 82kgs - Calder Cannons (Utility)
Round 3
Pick 35 > Bulldogs - Dan McKenna - 194cm - 82kgs - Gippsland Power (Key Back)
Pick 36 > Carlton - Haelan Kay - 186cm 75kgs - Gippsland Power (Utility)
Pick 37 > Kangaroos - Matthew Westhoff - 197cm 83kg- Central District (Key Fwd)
Pick 38 > Adelaide - Matthew De Boer - 185cm 81kgs - Claremont (Mid)
Pick 39 > Essendon - Darcy Daniher (F/S) -192cm 89kgs - Calder Cannons (Key F)
Pick 40 > Fremantle - Trent Dennis-Lane - 182cm - Subiaco (Sml Fwd)
Pick 41 > Brisbane - Sam Reid - 185cm 75kg - Queensland
Pick 42 > StKilda - Andrew Renton - 202cm 94kgs - Eastern Ranges (Ruck)
Pick 43 > Bulldogs - Zane Murphy - 182cm 85kgs - Queensland (Mid)
Pick 45 > Hawthorn - David Zahakaris - Northern Knights - 180cm, 70kgs (Mid)
Pick 46 > Carlton - Ashley Hockey - 181cm 78kg – Murray (Sml Def, Mid)
Pick 47 > Collingwood - Ryan Normington - 186cm 76kgs - Murray Bushrangers (Mid)
Pick 48 > Bulldogs - Aaron Joseph - 178cm 75kgs - Tasmania (Mid)
Pick 49 > Port Adelaide - Lachie Hill - 189cm 83kg - Oakleigh Chargers (Utility)
Round 4
Pick 51 > Richmond - Brad Gilder - 183cm 84kg - Sandringham Dragons (Mid)
Pick 52 > Brisbane - James Mulligan - 201cm 96kgs - Southport (Ruck, Key Fwd)
Pick 53 > Melbourne - Travis Dulic - 192cm 90kg - Calder Cannons (Key Def)
Pick 55 > Essendon - Jay Bowden - 184cm 74kg - Tasmania (Med Fwd, Wing)
Pick 56 > Fremantle - Jarrhan Jacky - 180cm 71kg - Subiaco (Sml Fwd)
Pick 57 > Brisbane - Joseph Daye - 194cm 79kg - Queensland (Utility)
Pick 58 > StKilda - Mitch Enright - 179cm 74kg - Queensland (Mid)
Pick 59 > Adelaide - Matthew Wright - 176cm 76kg - North Adelaide (Sml Fwd, Mid)
Pick 60 > Sydney - Luke Potts - 177cm 68kg - Dandenong (Sml Fwd)
Pick 61 > Hawthorn - Rhyce Prismall - 189cm 86kg – Western Jets (Mid, Wing)
Pick 63 > Collingwood - Brad Jones - 184cm 75kg - Eastern Ranges (Mid)
Pick 64 > Kangaroos - Matthew Davis - 187cm 74kg - Mt. Gravatt (Mid)
Pick 65 > Port Adelaide - Casey Carr - 184cm 79kg - Port Magpies (Sml Fwd, Mid)
Pick 66 > Bulldogs - Sam Fairclough - 179cm 80kg - Woodville-West Torrens (Mid)
Round 5
Pick 67 > Richmond - Daniel Brittain - 178cm 77kg - Southport (Awesome Mid!)
Pick 68 > Carlton - Joel Smouha 196cm 80kg - Mt. Gravatt (Ruck)
Pick 69 (Lovely) > Melbourne - Guy O'Keefe - 184cm 76kg - Geelong Falcons (Mid)
Pick 70 > Bulldogs - Clayton Collard - 182cm 90kg - Sth Fremantle/Fremantle (Mid)
Pick 71 > Essendon - Luke Stanton - 191cm 79kg - Northern Knights (Key Fwd)
Pick 72 > Fremantle - Kepler Bradley - 199cm 100kg - Essendon (Key Back)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
After Pick 72, it's pretty hard to judge so that will have to do for me. Tommyneu
Good effort mate but not happy with
pick 36 Carlton will draft the best KPP available with that selection.
greennick
25 Oct 2007, 15:29
Round 1
Why would Richmond select a 190+cm mid that is still growing, won the beep test and scored very high in the agility test (particularly when you consider his size)? Apparently he has great athleticism, good hands and a good kick to finish it off. Can't see why they would want that? :confused:
Vic Crow
25 Oct 2007, 15:32
I'm kind of surprised that Taylor Walker didn't make the cut at all.
greennick
25 Oct 2007, 15:33
Good effort mate but not happy with
pick 36 Carlton will draft the best KPP available with that selection.
You quoted that whole post for a one line reply about how you were not happy with your pick 36 selection? Nice work genius.
Ryder Is God
25 Oct 2007, 15:50
Round 1
Uh, Cale Morton is a gun.
ThatThis
25 Oct 2007, 15:58
I don't think we will go for a ruck at pick 31, especially.
My thoughts are that with 31 Matthew De Boer or Scott Selwood if he slides.
They have been looking at De Boer all season.
And with our next pick Thomas Rockliff. Malthouse likes the guys who are big performers in GFinals. He was one of the shining lights for them... I wouldnt be suprised if we look at Hockey either.
And late, i wouldnt be suprised Smouha. Although i have a feeling well rookie a ruckman.
But obviously im looking at Collingwood perspective and what we/I would like to see happen.
For someone to put together a whole draft list is a MASSIVE effort. Very very very well done.
For the record, i dont think i have ever seen anybody pick the draft spot for spot, so everyones opinion is just that.
greennick
25 Oct 2007, 16:24
Uh, Cale Morton is a gun.
That's what I said, he was just one of those typical Carlton supporters desperate to stick it into the Tigers, even if his point made little sense.
Nice work, but I personally feel that Callan Ward is too low. I reckon he'll go earlier. But I don't think many people rate him as I do.
I rate him, and I'd be ecstatic if Hawthorn managed to get him with their second rounder (hell, I wouldn't be stunned if he was gone by our first pick). Bottom ager who's a great kick and has really stepped up as he's grown, will go way before then. He's definitely the sort of player the Hawks have chased in the past few years with their focus on kicking skills and height (not that's he's tall, but he's a good size for a mid).
Tommyneu
25 Oct 2007, 16:32
I'm kind of surprised that Taylor Walker didn't make the cut at all.
He's got a scholarship with Adelaide, who will pick him up with their last pick in the draft. If he wasn't on a scholarship i'd have him somewhere between Pick 40 - 50.
Vic Crow
25 Oct 2007, 16:35
He's got a scholarship with Adelaide, who will pick him up with their last pick in the draft. If he wasn't on a scholarship i'd have him somewhere between Pick 40 - 50.
Ah OK. I notice that you've taken Craig Bird out since that was pointed out but Walker never appeared from the start.
Both clubs are still obliged to use a draft pick for them, so that will probably be their last of the ND (whatever that may be).
Tommyneu
25 Oct 2007, 16:39
Ah OK. I notice that you've taken Craig Bird out since that was pointed out but Walker never appeared from the start.
Both clubs are still obliged to use a draft pick for them, so that will probably be their last of the ND (whatever that may be).
Yeah, didn't know Craig Bird was on one. What's the deal with offering scholarships anyway? Can you offer one to any player in the draft pool?
Freddy Bassett
25 Oct 2007, 16:40
Super work Tommyneu.:thumbsu: Takes alot of balls to do that with so many know it alls on here from each club. Be interested to see how close you get mate...
Realistic Tiger
25 Oct 2007, 17:10
As a Richmond fan my issue is you have us taking 4 mids when we really need to look at taking at least 1-2 talls with latter picks.
Tommyneu
25 Oct 2007, 17:22
As a Richmond fan my issue is you have us taking 4 mids when we really need to look at taking at least 1-2 talls with latter picks.
I'm willing to chop and change a bit...any KPP's you suggest for Richmond and at what picks?
micky_11
25 Oct 2007, 17:25
Round 1
Pick 3 > West Coast - Trent Cotchin - 184cm - 81kgs - Northern Knights (Mid)
Pick 4 > Melbourne - Chris Masten - 179cm 80kgs - East Fremantle (Mid)
Pick 6 > Essendon - Brad Ebert - 187cm 86kg - Port Magpies (Mid)
Pick 7 > Fremantle - Rhys Palmer - 180cm 76kgs - East Fremantle (Mid)
Pick 8 > Brisbane - Alex Rance - 194cm 87kgs - Swan Districts (Key Back)
Pick 9 > StKilda - Cyril Rioli - 178cm - 74kgs - *** Marys (Mid)
Pick 10 > Adelaide - David Myers - 190cm 85kgs - Perth (Utility)
Pick 11 > Sydney - Jack Grimes - 187cm 76kgs - Northern Knights (Mid)
Pick 12 > Hawthorn - Tom Collier - 192cm 86kgs - Tasmania (Key Back)
Pick 13 > West Coast - David Gourdis - 193cm 88kgs - Subiaco (Key Fwd)
Pick 14 > Melbourne - Ben McEvoy - 199cm 90kgs - Murray Bushrangers (Ruck)
Pick 15 > Kangaroos - Pat Veszpremi - 183cm 83kgs - Northern Knights (Mid)
Pick 16 > Port Adelaide - Levi Greenwood - 181cm 91kgs - Port Magpies (Mid)
(P.P) Pick 18 > Richmond - Scott Selwood - 184cm 81kgs - Bendigo Pioneers (Mid)
Round 2
Pick 20 > West Coast - Addam Maric - 179cm 80kgs - Calder Cannons (Med Fwd)
Pick 21 > Melbourne - Scott Simpson - 194cm 91kgs - Dandenong (Key Fwd)
Pick 22 > West Coast - Tony Notte - 194cm 70kgs - Swan Districts (Utility)
Pick 24 > Fremantle - Steven Gaertner - 196cm 83kg - Dandenong (Key Back)
Pick 25 > Brisbane - Robbie Tarrant - 196cm 92kgs - Bendigo Pioneers (Key Fwd)
Pick 26 > Sydney - Patrick Dangerfield - 188cm 80kgs - Geelong Falcons (Mid)
Pick 29 > Hawthorn - Callan Ward - 183cm 71kgs - Western Jets (Mid)
Pick 30 > Adelaide - Steven Browne -181cm 74kg - West Perth (Mid)
Pick 31 > Collingwood - Dawson Simpson - 207cm 97kgs - Murray (Ruck)
Round 3
Pick 35 > Bulldogs - Dan McKenna - 194cm - 82kgs - Gippsland Power (Key Back)
Pick 36 > Carlton - Haelan Kay - 186cm 75kgs - Gippsland Power (Utility)
Pick 37 > Kangaroos - Matthew Westhoff - 197cm 83kg- Central District (Key Fwd)
Pick 38 > Adelaide - Matthew De Boer - 185cm 81kgs - Claremont (Mid)
Pick 39 > Essendon - Darcy Daniher (F/S) -192cm 89kgs - Calder Cannons (Key F)
Pick 40 > Fremantle - Trent Dennis-Lane - 182cm - Subiaco (Sml Fwd)
Pick 41 > Brisbane - Sam Reid - 185cm 75kg - Queensland
Pick 42 > StKilda - Andrew Renton - 202cm 94kgs - Eastern Ranges (Ruck)
Pick 43 > Bulldogs - Zane Murphy - 182cm 85kgs - TASMANIA NOT QUEENSLAND (Mid)
Pick 45 > Hawthorn - David Zahakaris - Northern Knights - 180cm, 70kgs (Mid)
Pick 46 > Carlton - Ashley Hockey - 181cm 78kg – Murray (Sml Def, Mid)
Pick 47 > Collingwood - Ryan Normington - 186cm 76kgs - Murray Bushrangers (Mid)
Pick 48 > Bulldogs - Aaron Joseph - 178cm 75kgs - Tasmania (Mid)
Pick 49 > Port Adelaide - Lachie Hill - 189cm 83kg - Oakleigh Chargers (Utility)
Round 4
Pick 51 > Richmond - Brad Gilder - 183cm 84kg - Sandringham Dragons (Mid)
Pick 52 > Brisbane - James Mulligan - 201cm 96kgs - Southport (Ruck, Key Fwd)
Pick 53 > Melbourne - Travis Dulic - 192cm 90kg - Calder Cannons (Key Def)
Pick 55 > Essendon - Jay Bowden - 184cm 74kg - Tasmania (Med Fwd, Wing)
Pick 56 > Fremantle - Jarrhan Jacky - 180cm 71kg - Subiaco (Sml Fwd)
Pick 57 > Brisbane - Joseph Daye - 194cm 79kg - Queensland (Utility)
Pick 58 > StKilda - Mitch Enright - 179cm 74kg - Queensland (Mid)
Pick 59 > Adelaide - Matthew Wright - 176cm 76kg - North Adelaide (Sml Fwd, Mid)
Pick 60 > Sydney - Luke Potts - 177cm 68kg - Dandenong (Sml Fwd)
Pick 61 > Hawthorn - Rhyce Prismall - 189cm 86kg – Western Jets (Mid, Wing)
Pick 63 > Collingwood - Brad Jones - 184cm 75kg - Eastern Ranges (Mid)
Pick 64 > Kangaroos - Matthew Davis - 187cm 74kg - Mt. Gravatt (Mid)
Pick 65 > Port Adelaide - Casey Carr - 184cm 79kg - Port Magpies (Sml Fwd, Mid)
Pick 66 > Bulldogs - Sam Fairclough - 179cm 80kg - Woodville-West Torrens (Mid)
Round 5
Pick 67 > Richmond - Daniel Brittain - 178cm 77kg - Southport (Awesome Mid!)
Pick 68 > Carlton - Joel Smouha 196cm 80kg - Mt. Gravatt (Ruck)
Pick 69 (Lovely) > Melbourne - Guy O'Keefe - 184cm 76kg - Geelong Falcons (Mid)
Pick 70 > Bulldogs - Clayton Collard - 182cm 90kg - Sth Fremantle/Fremantle (Mid)
Pick 72 > Fremantle - Kepler Bradley - 199cm 100kg - Essendon (Key Back)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
After Pick 72, it's pretty hard to judge so that will have to do for me. Tommyneu
Terrific effort mate, i hope Gourdis falls to the Roos first pick :)
Sherminator.
25 Oct 2007, 17:31
^ You didn't need to quote the whole lot, ffs. ^
Realistic Tiger
25 Oct 2007, 17:34
I'm willing to chop and change a bit...any KPP's you suggest for Richmond and at what picks?Let me just say I'm not a draft expert at all, mostly go by reading the views of the experts on here so these opinion can be taken with a grain of salt.
However looking at it, we take Selwood at 18 then you have Bellchambers at 19, Gaertner at 24, although Selwood would be good Bellchambers or Gaertner would fill a need better(ruck/key back), then at 51 we have Gilder another mid and Mulligan(ruck) and Dulic(key back) the next 2 picks.
I just think that considering we traded for 2 midsized players in Morton and McMahon, I would be concerned in we drafted 3-4 mids the ND.
crows 4 08
25 Oct 2007, 17:45
i wouldnt be suprised if the adelaide clubs look local like Mcnamara and Nick Murphy with their later picks. they are quality players with a lot of potential and should be in their probably but thats only my opinion great job tho mate.:thumbsu:
micky_11
25 Oct 2007, 17:47
^ You didn't need to quote the whole lot, ffs. ^
i knew someone would say that, have a sook is it really hurting or annoying you
greennick
25 Oct 2007, 17:54
i knew someone would say that, have a sook is it really hurting or annoying you
I can't speak for him, but for me:
Hurting, no.
Annoyinng, yes.
Why do it? Why not just quote the little bit you want or nothing at all if you are not referring to something specific?
stefoid
25 Oct 2007, 18:02
nevertheless, unless he is judged to be the 5th best player available, we wont take him - which is the point im making.
Tommyneu
25 Oct 2007, 18:05
nevertheless, unless he is judged to be the 5th best player available, we wont take him - which is the point im making.
I honestly believe that he's the best key forward available. With the Bulldogs abbundance of midfielders they would be foolish to take another one, no matter how good a player they were. They can't afford to go another season without a gun key forward to support the ageing Brad Johnson. Just my opinion.
richoatthedisco
25 Oct 2007, 18:05
Let me just say I'm not a draft expert at all, mostly go by reading the views of the experts on here so these opinion can be taken with a grain of salt.
However looking at it, we take Selwood at 18 then you have Bellchambers at 19, Gaertner at 24, although Selwood would be good Bellchambers or Gaertner would fill a need better(ruck/key back), then at 51 we have Gilder another mid and Mulligan(ruck) and Dulic(key back) the next 2 picks.
I just think that considering we traded for 2 midsized players in Morton and McMahon, I would be concerned in we drafted 3-4 mids the ND.
Take a look at this list of our top 10 mids and tell me it doesn't need bolstering...
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=290547&page=6
Should always pick the best available player with every pick. If one of Gourdis, Pears or Rance is available at #18, jump on him, but otherwise get a midfield gun like Ward, and another at 51 like Rockliff. We have big blokes, it's just that the jury's out on whether some of them (Schulz, Hughes) are any good. And young KPPs that aren't rated in the top 5 are hit and miss, so leaving one til our last pick won't hurt. And there are so many young rucks that we can rookie one or take one at #67.
richoatthedisco
25 Oct 2007, 18:06
I honestly believe that he's the best key forward available. With the Bulldogs abbundance of midfielders they would be foolish to take another one, no matter how good a player they were. They can't afford to go another season without a gun key forward to support the ageing Brad Johnson. Just my opinion.
And how many gun key forwards are guns in their first year?
Tommyneu
25 Oct 2007, 18:09
Westhoff :p
True statement that KPP take longer to develop, but Henderson would make an immediate impact I think.
richoatthedisco
25 Oct 2007, 18:15
Westhoff :p
True statement that KPP take longer to develop, but Henderson would make an immediate impact I think.
Ah, I said key forwards, not 199cm flankers. Plus he was 21, not 18.
greennick
25 Oct 2007, 18:17
Isn't that all the more reason why they need one now???
One of my favourites is Mitch. Has great intensity, and reminds me of an old fashioned utility. Can play anywhere, and looks ready to AFL straigh away. Would love to see him in a Carlton jumper, but I just cannot see how he will last to #36.
Nice effort mate but I hope your wrong I want some key position players at the Swans.
micky_11
25 Oct 2007, 18:36
I can't speak for him, but for me:
Hurting, no.
Annoyinng, yes.
Why do it? Why not just quote the little bit you want or nothing at all if you are not referring to something specific?
i was tired from my english tutorial, and the school lap tops mouse's suck and they dont move the curso to where you want it, i had enough difculty clicking on quote
Turbocat
25 Oct 2007, 23:02
Can I ask your thought process for Geelong. Was it simply best available because we really do not need to add 3 extra mids in the Nat Draft.P62 is already been allocated to Father Son Donohue and we have elevated Davenport from the Rookie list. We have delisted/traded a lot of height and I think we will pick 2 to 3 tallish players
That being said your first and second picks seem reasonable and probable although if the right Ruckman is there it wouldn't suprise me if took him and pick up a key back later.
So what about
P17; Tayte Pears - 192cm 90kgs - East Perth (Key Back)
P34; Chris Kangars - 193cm 84kgs - Geelong Falcons (Utility) (with a bit of luck)
P44; Ryan Normington - 186cm 76kgs - Murray Bushrangers (Mid)
P50; James Mulligan - 201cm 96kgs - Southport (Ruck, Key Fwd)
P62,Adam Donohue - 182cm ***kg - Geelong Falcons (Mid)
or if we take a ruck early
P17,Tom Bellchambers - 199cm 91kgs - Tasmania (Ruck)
P34,Dan McKenna - 194cm - 82kgs - Gippsland Power (Key Back)
P44,Lachie Hill - 189cm 83kg - Oakleigh Chargers (Utility)
P50,Guy O'Keefe - 184cm 76kg - Geelong Falcons (Mid)
ErnieSigley
25 Oct 2007, 23:33
No offence but what is 17yo draftee going to do in his first year in the AFL? Even if he plays a few games I doubt he could offer much of the support when need in his first year.
As Stefoid put it I highly doubt Clayton will go the best tall forward if there are better players available at pick 5.
Tommyneu
25 Oct 2007, 23:42
Can I ask your thought process for Geelong. Was it simply best available because we really do not need to add 3 extra mids in the Nat Draft.
My thought process was exactly to take the best available. I saw a lot of Geelong this year, and couldn't find any real areas of concern (surprise surprise). They only potential area of concern was lack of depth in the backline, as was in the spotlight when Egan got injured late in the year. Sure, they won the P/S and their defence was superb, but if another backman went down like Harley or Scarlett they would be in deep trouble. Pears covers that. In the first round I focussed on giving clubs the best available to suit their needs. After that I simply picked the best available. I'm sure your suggestions are justified and are more then likely what Geelong needs, but taking players when they aren't the best available at that point in the draft can come back and bite you in the arse; i.e Top 10 Pick: Tom Williams > Bulldogs.
Tommyneu
25 Oct 2007, 23:43
No offence but what is 17yo draftee going to do in his first year in the AFL? Even if he plays a few games I doubt he could offer much of the support when need in his first year.
As Stefoid put it I highly doubt Clayton will go the best tall forward if there are better players available at pick 5.
Sick of arguing in favour of Henderson at 5. He's the best available at 5 in my opinion, take it or leave it.
jules101
25 Oct 2007, 23:43
We only have 5 spots on the list so I would think 1 for PSD otherwise we would have taken pick 56 for kep
Tommyneu
25 Oct 2007, 23:47
''Pick 69 (Lovely) > Melbourne - Guy O'Keefe - 184cm 76kg - Geelong Falcons (Mid)''
with the quote Lovely, im guessing your pretty happy to be taking him at pick 69. Would love to get him that late but i think he might be gone by then. St Kilda is my tip for O'Keefe. they are lacking the smart Medium Left foot forward. I reckon he might be gone at pick 42. but would love him to slip.
Correct, i'm very hopeful that O'Keefe slides. 'Lovely' was also in reference to the number 69 itself. Yay.
Quigley
26 Oct 2007, 00:10
For Brisbane you have us taking:
Rance
Tarrant
Reid
Mulligan
Daye
There is no way we take 4 key positions in this draft. The key position talent is not that strong and other positions are much better relatively. If anything we will take 4 mids and 1 key position rather than the other way around. It is a common misconception that we have no key position depth and this is something populated only by supporters of other clubs and if you look closely you will see the Brisbane supporters invariably arguing against this misconception. It is possible that Brisbane could go with Rance but I would be surprised and I would be shocked if we went with Tarrant or in fact with anyone who can only really play FF at AFL level. Our depth at FF is as good as anyone in the competition.
Leigh would tear Mulligan a new one if he was coaching him and I can't see him being the type of personality who would mesh well with our coach. It is possible though that we might take a ruck about then though and if you were looking at someone from Qld I would think Hill or maybe Spencer (keep an eye on him he is a big improver) might get a look in. Daye is one guy who I would like to get and at 58 he would be a nice pick up. If we have 5 picks look for us to take only 2 key positions at most.
Tommyneu
26 Oct 2007, 00:16
For Brisbane you have us taking:
Rance
Tarrant
Reid
Mulligan
Daye
There is no way we take 4 key positions in this draft. The key position talent is not that strong and other positions are much better relatively. If anything we will take 4 mids and 1 key position rather than the other way around. It is a common misconception that we have no key position depth and this is something populated only by supporters of other clubs and if you look closely you will see the Brisbane supporters invariably arguing against this misconception. It is possible that Brisbane could go with Rance but I would be surprised and I would be shocked if we went with Tarrant or in fact with anyone who can only really play FF at AFL level. Our depth at FF is as good as anyone in the competition.
Leigh would tear Mulligan a new one if he was coaching him and I can't see him being the type of personality who would mesh well with our coach. It is possible though that we might take a ruck about then though and if you were looking at someone from Qld I would think Hill or maybe Spencer (keep an eye on him he is a big improver) might get a look in. Daye is one guy who I would like to get and at 58 he would be a nice pick up. If we have 5 picks look for us to take only 2 key positions at most.
Ok, that's your opinion..this thread is mine. Your depth at Full Forward is not 'as good as anyone in the league'. Bradshaw is past it, and may not be the same post knee surgery, Brennan is as erratic as any player ever, and is more suited to a HFF or FP. And Big Jonathan plays at CHF.
Porthos
26 Oct 2007, 00:17
If Port go for midgets at #16 AND #28, we're more than a bit ****ed.
Tommyneu
26 Oct 2007, 00:19
Lol, that made me laugh :D
On a more serious note, 181cm is hardly a midget.
Porthos
26 Oct 2007, 00:26
Given regular midfielders are up to 189cm these days, I reckon it might as well be.
Quigley
26 Oct 2007, 00:27
Ok, that's your opinion..this thread is mine. Your depth at Full Forward is not 'as good as anyone in the league'. Bradshaw is past it, and may not be the same post knee surgery, Brennan is as erratic as any player ever, and is more suited to a HFF or FP. And Big Jonathan plays at CHF.
Brown played closer to goal this year and was the All Australian FF. Enough said.
Historically 26 to 30 is the prime for full forwards. Bradshaw is smack bang in the middle of that and came into this year after kicking 60 last year. Admittedly the knee injury is a concern.
Clark is the third guy who I was thinking as the major factor on the depth chart. He has as much talent as any of the young forwards going around and I think he will start to show that next year. He has followed the same development curve as Franklin and Roughhead and I would expect him to fall somewhere in between those two when he settles into his game.
Others who could play spot minutes up at full forward - Leuenberger, Brennan, Tyler and Tippett.
As I said there aren't too many teams that have three top line options at full forward but like you said you are entitled to your opinion.
Tommyneu
26 Oct 2007, 00:34
Brown played closer to goal this year and was the All Australian FF. Enough said.
Historically 26 to 30 is the prime for full forwards. Bradshaw is smack bang in the middle of that and came into this year after kicking 60 last year. Admittedly the knee injury is a concern.
Clark is the third guy who I was thinking as the major factor on the depth chart. He has as much talent as any of the young forwards going around and I think he will start to show that next year. He has followed the same development curve as Franklin and Roughhead and I would expect him to fall somewhere in between those two when he settles into his game.
Others who could play spot minutes up at full forward - Leuenberger, Brennan, Tyler and Tippett.
As I said there aren't too many teams that have three top line options at full forward but like you said you are entitled to your opinion.
You seem to know your Lions :p Clark will be good. Obviously don't know too much about Tippett or Tyler, but I just assumed Tarrant would be a likely replacement for Bradshaw when he retires. Interesting you should think that the ratio of mids to KPP should be 4:1.. With the coup of Johnstone, and Adcock likely to spend more time in the guts one would think that recruiting more mids would be illogical. The Lions defence is also suspect...hence why I've given you guys Rance at 8.
Quigley
26 Oct 2007, 00:50
You seem to know your Lions :p Clark will be good. Obviously don't know too much about Tippett or Tyler, but I just assumed Tarrant would be a likely replacement for Bradshaw when he retires. Interesting you should think that the ratio of mids to KPP should be 4:1.. With the coup of Johnstone, and Adcock likely to spend more time in the guts one would think that recruiting more mids would be illogical. The Lions defence is also suspect...hence why I've given you guys Rance at 8.
From the Brisbane list we have so far lost through retirement or delisting 5 players. All have been mids or small defenders hence in order to maintain the balance on our list most Lions supporters are advocating small or mids. The biggest areas of weakness for us this year was not in defence which actually did pretty well but was our in and unders and taggers. Johnstone is not going to help in and under and Adcock being new to the midfield at AFL level might take his time to come into his own there as well.
It is a possibility that we will take Rance as the Lions always go best available in the first round and if they rate him as such then they will take him regardless of where he plays. I rate others higher. On our depth at key position defence we currently have Merrett at FB and Patfull who was very underrated at the end of the year at CHB even if he is a bit undersized. There is also Roe who is coming along nicely, Mills who will get plenty more games if he improves his kicking a bit, Tyler who the Brisbane supporters love, Clouston who is a rookie who developed very nicely this year and was holding the defence together for the reserves and Garner who did his knee for the second year running in the preseason but is highly thought of by the coaching staff and lastly is the smokey that I like and that is Schmidt who is currently a mid but is expected (family history) to grow at least another inch from his current 189. Now a couple of those guys need to stand up and demand the spot but there is some depth there which is looking promising.
Just for the record when I post my mock draft I am fully expecting to be howled down by the Lions and other supporters telling me I am an idiot.
spice18
26 Oct 2007, 03:31
Nice try, but some selections look way off the mark. I'm certain Port will be sniffing around for KPP first and big-bodied mids second. Also they will most likely use just 3 picks cos of the shallow nature of the draft and the fact Port has plenty of runners on the list atm.
WRT the crows I reckon they will go local in more ways than one with their selections. Just the way I see it unfolding.
tenderwarrior
26 Oct 2007, 10:47
Can I ask your thought process for Geelong. Was it simply best available because we really do not need to add 3 extra mids in the Nat Draft.P62 is already been allocated to Father Son Donohue and we have elevated Davenport from the Rookie list. We have delisted/traded a lot of height and I think we will pick 2 to 3 tallish players
That being said your first and second picks seem reasonable and probable although if the right Ruckman is there it wouldn't suprise me if took him and pick up a key back later.
So what about
P17; Tayte Pears - 192cm 90kgs - East Perth (Key Back)
P34; Chris Kangars - 193cm 84kgs - Geelong Falcons (Utility) (with a bit of luck)
P44; Ryan Normington - 186cm 76kgs - Murray Bushrangers (Mid)
P50; James Mulligan - 201cm 96kgs - Southport (Ruck, Key Fwd)
or if we take a ruck early
P17,Tom Bellchambers - 199cm 91kgs - Tasmania (Ruck)
P34,Dan McKenna - 194cm - 82kgs - Gippsland Power (Key Back)
P44,Lachie Hill - 189cm 83kg - Oakleigh Chargers (Utility)
P50,Guy O'Keefe - 184cm 76kg - Geelong Falcons (Mid)
Turbocat, wondering what you think of this?
17 - Tony Notte - 194cm 70kgs - Swan Districts (Utility)
34 - Aaron Joseph - 178cm 75kgs - Tasmania (Mid)
44 - James Mulligan - 201cm 96kgs - Southport (Ruck, Key Fwd)
50 - Joel Smouha 196cm 80kg - Mt. Gravatt (Ruck)
I assume that Kangars will be gone by selection 34, as will Dangerfield and Selwood who I think will slide.. Lachie Hill looks a good size, can you tell me more about him?
Tommy, you can't say this:
feel free to criticize or have your opinions
and then follow it up with this in response to Quigley.
Ok, that's your opinion..this thread is mine.
Quigley is only saying what 95% of Lions fans would think when they saw how many KPPs you have coming to us.
black_hart
26 Oct 2007, 14:05
Ok, that's your opinion..this thread is mine. Your depth at Full Forward is not 'as good as anyone in the league'.
It's also the opinion of the majority of Lions fans and Leigh Matthews who has stated we need another tough midfielder. As Quigley stated our defense is solid and our forward line is perhaps the best in competition with Brown,Bradshaw and the promising Clark.
The Flying Belgian
26 Oct 2007, 14:11
Just for the record when I post my mock draft I am fully expecting to be howled down by the Lions and other supporters telling me I am an idiot.
Can I start now? :p
Always good to see someone put their wontons' on the line and bravo for doing that Tommyneu. But I'd have to concur with Quigs. In and under is where our depth is poor. We've just delisted Allan and Fixter who are both that style of player. So yeah, I can see that being a bit of a priority for us.
Tommyneu
26 Oct 2007, 17:59
Tommy, you can't say this:
and then follow it up with this in response to Quigley.
Quigley is only saying what 95% of Lions fans would think when they saw how many KPPs you have coming to us.
Lol, pretty much contradicted myself there ey. Well you guys are probably right so i'm not going to argue against your opinion. We are all entitled.
KIERANK
26 Oct 2007, 18:59
Definatly not a ket forward. Can play forward but is best suited to the wing, adn maybe running off half back.
Port_shadow11
28 Oct 2007, 10:40
I can see us getting Greenwood... but we wont get marlon motlop or Casey Carr (that was indicated in the mock draft) as they are small forwards ... As we have Ebert, Daniel Motlop, Grey & Rodan as small forwards
Sherminator.
28 Oct 2007, 12:11
Lol, pretty much contradicted myself there ey. Well you guys are probably right so i'm not going to argue against your opinion. We are all entitled.
:thumbsu: 'Grats on not denying it mate.
I reckon at 8 the Lions would go for-
Ebert
Masten *unlikely
Rioli
Grimes
Collier
Tommyneu
7 Nov 2007, 22:16
Edited with write ups of the top 10 after watching the U/18 carnival again.
TheGeneral
7 Nov 2007, 22:51
Pick 6 > Essendon - Chris Masten - 179cm 80kgs - East Fremantle (Mid)
Tough as nails Masten is exactly what the Bombers from Pick 6. In the mould of Bartel, Masten never backs down from a contest and rarely gets beaten 1 on 1. His skills are decent without being excellent and but he makes up for it with pure guts and determination to beat his opponent. Queries over his health (Osteitis Pubis) shouldn't scare the Dons away from this hard nut.
Pick 7 > Fremantle - Rhys Palmer - 180cm 76kg - East Fremantle (Mid)
Fremantle desperately need to inject some pacey youth into their midfield. Palmer's nationals were exceptional, and with lack of pace in the midfield the Dockers won't pass up the oppurtunity to grab this excitement machine. They should go local with this pick and Palmer won't disappoint, his aerobic capacity is huge and his finishing skills elite.
Pick 55 > Essendon - Chris Mayne
Essendon will have a promising midfield if they secure either Palmer, Masten or Ebert at six and McGinnity to add to the likes of Watson, Stanton, Hislop, Jetta, etc. But there isn't really alot of X factor in that group apart from Jetta and maybe Palmer if they're lucky enough to draft him with pick six. Whatsmore, they're already one of the shortest midfields and arguably slowest when compared to the midfields Geelong, Port, WCE, Collingwood and even Carlton will field next year.
Essendon might decide to draft the best KPP or a ruckman/forward like McEvoy than add another short midfielder.
They've delisted Bradley and they will need to find replacements for the likes of Lucas, Lloyd, Fletcher and Michael are all 30 plus and will. Myers might come into play as Folj1 picked in his phantom draft, but they've already picked a defender in Darcy Daniher under the father-son rule.
Knights said they were ruck short according to a thread on the Essendon board.
Could McEvoy kill two birds with one stone if he can develop into a forward and play in the ruck?
Hille, Laycock and McEvoy would give them three tall rucks and allow them to go for a midfielder with their next pick after they get the second best ruckman in the draft. They might even pull a surprise and pick a player like Henderson with an eye to replacing Lucas up forward or down back. Their pick will be an interesting one and might say how Essendon rate their list of talls and midfielders going forward.
West Coast Premiers 2006
7 Nov 2007, 23:58
This is spot on. If we got Selwood at 20 i would be stoked