Is this being released tomorrow?
Anyone heard of any leaks?
Yeah, out tomorrow.
Only damn info thats leaking is Richmond whining about playing at the dome. :(
Vic Crow
25 Oct 2007, 16:23
Yeah, out tomorrow.
That's a clue. I bet one of them is against us.
AdelUniCrowFan
25 Oct 2007, 16:31
Adelaide plays Richmond at the MCG.
http://realfooty.com.au/news/news/tigers-snarling-over-dome/2007/10/24/1192941152468.html
With the Tigers managing to draw respectable crowds at their traditional home ground despite last year's dreadful performances, the club directors remained dismayed at the decision, particularly given that two of the club's MCG home games have been scheduled against Adelaide and West Coast — games better suited to Telstra Dome.
BlackDouglas
25 Oct 2007, 16:37
Yeah, out tomorrow.
Will this be in the Advertiser tomorrow or Saturday?
Hopefully it will be on AFL.com if it is released to the public tomorrow
Vic Crow
25 Oct 2007, 16:40
Adelaide plays Richmond at the MCG.
http://realfooty.com.au/news/news/tigers-snarling-over-dome/2007/10/24/1192941152468.html
Well, that just makes no sense! Not complaining though, the more games at the G the better.
FlyingCrow
25 Oct 2007, 16:54
Richomd only draw big crowds at the G agaisnt Vic teams where 70% is the apposing teams supporters.
They had 22,000 at the Dome against Port this year. i true indication of their support in Melbourne.
In that crappy backwards game against us in there was 28,000.
Adam BK
25 Oct 2007, 17:21
10.10am tommorow morning according to an email I received from afl.com.au
Find out tomorrow (Friday, October 26) at 10:40am on afl.com.au when the
complete 2008 Toyota AFL Premiership Season fixture is released.
On the thread in the main forum, someone said we play Geelong Friday night at AAMI, July 25, during the second week of the split round.
Adam BK
25 Oct 2007, 17:26
On the thread in the main forum, someone said we play Geelong Friday night at AAMI, July 25, during the second week of the split round.
Also the bulldogs @ telstra dome on sunday afternoon (easter sunday) for round 1, I created a thread on this (the bulldogs game I mean) a few weeks ago as it was mentioned on the news.
I notice in the Age article that it mentions a Victoria v All-Stars game. What a ridiculous concept!! I hope that the AFC don't release any players for this game - why risk our players for a promotional game?
Couldnt agree more. If it was ViC v SA i would be more than happy for the AFC to release as many players as where selected for state pride, but for some ridiculous exibition game that belittles the contribution of the non victorian states, they can get stuffed.
pjcrows
25 Oct 2007, 20:52
I got this info in an email, don't know how reliable it is at all - it's from a bloke who said we were going to get Schneider for Mattner, so take it as you want to :p
We are playing Melbourne, Western Bulldogs, Hawthorn, West Coast, Collingwood, Richmond and Port Adelaide twice.
We have 2 games at the MCG against Melbourne and Richmond.
We play Western Bulldogs in Round 1 at Telstra Dome, and Richmond at AAMI in Round 22.
We have 2 trips to Subiaco - in Round 3 against West Coast and Round 14 against Fremantle.
We play Brisbane at the Gabba and Hawthorn in Launceston, but no trip to Sydney.
Our home games consist of two Friday night games, two Saturday afternoon games, three Saturday night games and two Sunday afternoon games, and one Sunday twilight game. Our Showdown will be a Saturday night.
FlyingCrow
25 Oct 2007, 21:04
I got this info in an email, don't know how reliable it is at all - it's from a bloke who said we were going to get Schneider for Mattner, so take it as you want to :p
We are playing Melbourne, Western Bulldogs, Hawthorn, West Coast, Collingwood, Richmond and Port Adelaide twice.
We have 2 games at the MCG against Melbourne and Richmond.
We play Western Bulldogs in Round 1 at Telstra Dome, and Richmond at AAMI in Round 22.
We have 2 trips to Subiaco - in Round 3 against West Coast and Round 14 against Fremantle.
We play Brisbane at the Gabba and Hawthorn in Launceston, but no trip to Sydney.
Our home games consist of two Friday night games, two Saturday afternoon games, three Saturday night games and two Sunday afternoon games, and one Sunday twilight game. Our Showdown will be a Saturday night.
Theres at least 8 wins.....
fightingdreamer88
25 Oct 2007, 21:35
We have to beat West Coast on at least one occasion in 2008. No Cousins, no Judd, if we can't stand up and get the job done when will we? They knocked us off yet again without these two players in season 07 which was piss poor, need to turn the tables. Get the ideal players on the park and we should be good enough to beat them.
brucetiki
25 Oct 2007, 22:28
I would go one step further and call for a total boycott of this game (ie nobody attend the game nor watch it on TV or listen to it on radio). I'm disgusted at State-of-Origin being reduced to this.
Dogga79
25 Oct 2007, 22:42
I would go one step further and call for a total boycott of this game (ie nobody attend the game nor watch it on TV or listen to it on radio). I'm disgusted at State-of-Origin being reduced to this.
I am with you bruce 100%. I rate this game lower than whale cr*p. Its offensive to all the other non Victorian states and completely misses the point in general.
Southerntakeover
25 Oct 2007, 23:10
I am with you bruce 100%. I rate this game lower than whale cr*p. Its offensive to all the other non Victorian states and completely misses the point in general.
Agree, im insulted by this crap.
Dogga79
25 Oct 2007, 23:28
Agree, im insulted by this crap.
I wonder when they are thinking of scheduling this. If it was mid season and I was coach of a interstate team It wouldn't bother me if I had players reclining the offer to play. Can you imagine what the Vics would say if we made them part of an all star team to play SA.
SA_Stazza
25 Oct 2007, 23:30
So according to that bloke and what others have suggested, we could see something like this:
Rnd 1 vs W/Bulldogs @ T.D
2 vs Collingwood @ AAMI
3 vs W/Coast @ Subi
4 vs Port @ AAMI (home)
5 vs Hawthorn @ Launceston
6 vs Melbourne @ AAMI
7 vs Richmond @ M.C.G
8 vs North @ AAMI
9 vs Essendon @ T.D
10 vs Sydney @ AAMI
11 vs Brisbane @ Gabba
12 (split rnd) vs Geelong @ AAMI
13 vs Carlton @ AAMI
14 vs Fremantle @ Subi
15 vs StKilda @ T.D
16 vs W/Bulldogs @ AAMI
17 vs Collingwood @ T.D
18 vs W/Coast @ AAMI
19 vs Port @ AAMI (away)
20 vs Hawthorn @ AAMI
21 vs Melbourne @ M.C.G
22 vs Richmond @ AAMI
4 of the first 7 away
4 of the last 6 at home/AAMI
4 out of 8 at home in between
4 at Telstra Dome - same as this year
2 at the MCG - same as this year
2 trips to Subi (rd 3 & 14)
1 to Launceston/Gabba
I would think we would play Port in Rnd 3 - as is usually the case.
And I threw in our usual friday night v StKilda at the dome in Rd 15 - same as this year.
I've swapped and changed a few things from my original draw and it's obviously a bit rough around the edges but just thought it would be good to make a mock draw and see what everyone thought.. Wait n see 2moro for the real thing I guess ;)
AdelUniCrowFan
25 Oct 2007, 23:33
Just remember the fact that the teams you play in Round 1-7 aren't who you play in Round 16-22, and it has also been rumoured that for the first time you mightn't play all seperate teams in the first 15 rounds.
Southerntakeover
25 Oct 2007, 23:36
I wonder when they are thinking of scheduling this. If it was mid season and I was coach of a interstate team It wouldn't bother me if I had players reclining the offer to play. Can you imagine what the Vics would say if we made them part of an all star team to play SA.
I for one hope that we make no players available, and all non victorian clubs do likewise.
If State Pride isnt on the line, we have no need to take the risk.
Dogga79
25 Oct 2007, 23:36
So according to that bloke and what others have suggested, we could see something like this:
Rnd 1 vs W/Bulldogs @ T.D
2 vs Collingwood @ AAMI
3 vs W/Coast @ Subi
4 vs Port @ AAMI (home)
5 vs Hawthorn @ Launceston
6 vs Melbourne @ AAMI
7 vs Richmond @ M.C.G
8 vs North @ AAMI
9 vs Essendon @ T.D
10 vs Sydney @ AAMI
11 vs Brisbane @ Gabba
12 (split rnd) vs Geelong @ AAMI
13 vs Carlton @ AAMI
14 vs Fremantle @ Subi
15 vs StKilda @ T.D
16 vs W/Bulldogs @ AAMI
17 vs Collingwood @ T.D
18 vs W/Coast @ AAMI
19 vs Port @ AAMI (away)
20 vs Hawthorn @ AAMI
21 vs Melbourne @ M.C.G
22 vs Richmond @ AAMI
4 of the first 6 away
4 of the last 6 at home/AAMI
4 out of 7 at home in between
4 at Telstra Dome - same as this year
2 at the MCG - same as this year
2 trips to Subi (rd 3 & 14)
1 to Launceston/Gabba
I would think we would play Port in Rnd 3 - as is usually the case.
And I threw in our usual friday night v StKilda at the dome in Rd 15 - same as this year.
I've swapped and changed a few things from my original draw and it's obviously a bit rough around the edges but just thought it would be good to make a mock draw and see what everyone thought.. Wait n see 2moro for the real thing I guess ;)
It doesn't sound to bad. All the hard yakka seems to be at the start of the season. The West Coast Subiaco game followed by the home showdown and Hawthorn Launceston trip all in a row is a bit rough. That will probably define our season. The first few weeks will be crucial.
SA_Stazza
25 Oct 2007, 23:48
It doesn't sound to bad. All the hard yakka seems to be at the start of the season. The West Coast Subiaco game followed by the home showdown and Hawthorn Launceston trip all in a row is a bit rough. That will probably define our season. The first few weeks will be crucial.
Well obviously its just my take on how it might look, but yeah that stretch would be a challenge - 4 of the top 5 teams from this season's end in the space of 4 weeks! :eek:
But then we follow that with 6 of the bottom 8 teams in the 9 weeks proceeding that. Bus as AdelUniCrowFan suggested, we might well be playing to an alternate format this year so who knows
crows4always
25 Oct 2007, 23:54
The game is complete crap not a bit interested in it,a bloody insult.
AdelUniCrowFan
26 Oct 2007, 03:07
http://www.news.com.au/adelaidenow/story/0,22606,22649820-21543,00.html
Adelaide put one major call on the AFL and the Canadian computer program it uses to write the draw - the Crows wanted seven of their 11 away games to be in Melbourne. They will get six spread between the MCG and Telstra Dome.
There will be one significant change to this year's AFL draw to further enhance its on-field fairness. The traditional system of having all 16 clubs play their 15 rivals in the first 15 weeks of the home-and-away season is gone. This format led Adelaide premiership coach Malcolm Blight to repeatedly say the AFL premiership table had no relevance until round 15 when everyone had played everyone once.
Trigg said his draft papers show Adelaide does not play St Kilda until round 21 next year - but plays West Coast twice in eight weeks, in rounds 2 and 9.
The new format of the fixture, not playing everyone at least once in the first 15 rounds, will be a bit different. Sounds like its going to be a good fixture :thumbsu:
FlyingCrow
26 Oct 2007, 09:29
Lookinga t that rough cut, based on form this year, and asuuming we are blooding kids we should ahve at least 8 wins in the bank. four more and we are in the finals.
Official - from the AFL:
1 Sunday, Mar 23 (Sun Early) Western Bulldogs Telstra Dome Away 1:10 pm
2 Saturday, Mar 29 (Sat Aft) West Coast AAMI Stadium Home 2:40 pm
3 Sunday, Apr 06 (Sun Twilight) Port Adelaide AAMI Stadium Home 4:10 pm
4 Sunday, Apr 13 (Sun Early) Hawthorn Aurora Stadium Away 1:10 pm
5 Saturday, Apr 19 (Sat Aft) Fremantle AAMI Stadium Home 2:40 pm
6 Saturday, Apr 26 (Sat Aft) Carlton MCG Away 2:10 pm
7 Saturday, May 03 (Sat Night) Kangaroos AAMI Stadium Home 7:10 pm
8 Sunday, May 18 (Sun Early) Melbourne AAMI Stadium Home 12:40 pm
9 Saturday, May 24 (Sat Night) West Coast Subiaco Away 5:40 pm
10 Friday, May 30 (Thu/Fri Night) Essendon AAMI Stadium Home 7:40 pm
11 Saturday, Jun 07 (Sat Aft) Richmond MCG Away 2:10 pm
12 Saturday, Jun 14 (Sat Night) Hawthorn AAMI Stadium Home 7:10 pm
13 Saturday, Jun 21 (Sat Night) Brisbane Lions Gabba Away 7:10 pm
14 Friday, Jul 04 (Thu/Fri Night) Geelong AAMI Stadium Home 7:40 pm
15 Saturday, Jul 12 (Sat Aft) Collingwood MCG Away 2:10 pm
16 Sunday, Jul 20 (Sun Aft) Port Adelaide AAMI Stadium Away 2:40 pm
17 Saturday, Jul 26 (Sat Night) Sydney SCG Away 7:10 pm
18 Saturday, Aug 02 (Sat Aft) Carlton AAMI Stadium Home 2:40 pm
19 Sunday, Aug 10 (Sun Aft) Richmond AAMI Stadium Home 2:40 pm
20 Saturday, Aug 16 (Sat Aft) Essendon Telstra Dome Away 2:10 pm
21 Sunday, Aug 24 (Sun Aft) St. Kilda Telstra Dome Away 2:10 pm
22 Saturday, Aug 30 (Sat Aft) Western Bulldogs AAMI Stadium Home 3:40 pm
AFL analysis of draw:
Play bottom 8 twice 4; play top 8 twice 3
By venue - AAMI Stadium 12, Gabba 1, Subiaco 1, Aurora 1, SCG 1, Telstra Dome 3, MCG 3
Matches by Timeslot:
Saturday Afternoon 8 (4 home, 4 away)
Sunday Afternoon 3 (1 home, 2 away)
Sunday Early 3 (1 home, 2 away)
Saturday Night 5 (2 home, 3 away)
Sunday Twilight 1 (1 home)
Thursday/Friday night 2 (2 home)
Total 14 day, 8 night games
My comment - all of our Victorian games are day games. That hasn't happened in a long time - since mid 90s I'd guess off the top of my head.
pjcrows
26 Oct 2007, 11:08
Looks like my mail was wrong :p
One last posting from me on this:
TV coverage into Victoria
Rounds 1 - 9 Fox
Round 10 (Essendon, Footy Park, Friday night) Channel 7
Round 11 Fox
Round 12 (Hawthorn, Footy Park, Saturday night) Channel 10
Round 13 Fox
Round 14 (Geelong, Footy Park, Friday night) Channel 7
Round 15 Fox
Round 16 (Port, Footy Park, Sunday afternoon) Channel 7
Round 17 Fox
Round 18 (Carlton, Footy Park, Saturday afternoon) Channel 10
Round 19 (Richmond, Footy Park, Sunday afternoon) Channel 7
Round 20 Fox
Round 21 (St Kilda, Telstra Dome, Sunday afternoon) Channel 7
Round 22 Fox
Vic Crow
26 Oct 2007, 11:20
Rounds 1 - 9 Fox
Round 11 Fox
Round 13 Fox
Round 15 Fox
Round 17 Fox
Round 20 Fox
Round 22 Fox
Get ****ed you ****ing ****s.
pjcrows
26 Oct 2007, 11:23
Rounds 1 - 9 Fox
Round 11 Fox
Round 13 Fox
Round 15 Fox
Round 17 Fox
Round 20 Fox
Round 22 Fox
Looks like a few Victorian Crows fans will be getting Fox next year :o
Rounds 1 - 9 Fox
Round 11 Fox
Round 13 Fox
Round 15 Fox
Round 17 Fox
Round 20 Fox
Round 22 Fox
You must be one sneaky creature marvin.
But rounds 1-9 on Fox.
****ing ripped.
Get ****ed you ****ing ****s.
I thought you liked me. :o
Vic Crow
26 Oct 2007, 11:45
I thought you liked me. :o
Sorry Marv, the bearer of bad news will always cop the brunt. :p
Jars458
26 Oct 2007, 12:17
Four saturday afternoon home games - don't they ever ****ing learn
West Coast twice in first 9 rounds - stupid.
3 games at the MCG is some compensation.
Not a bad draw though:D
maccas_no1
26 Oct 2007, 12:24
Overall that is the best draw we have had in years not much to complain about there:thumbsu:
Three games at the 'G' is impressive also:thumbsu:
kingyubbo
26 Oct 2007, 12:30
With Channel 7's coverage of the AFL being that bad this year, i'm probably just going to stick with listening to the radio. Might have to go to a game or two because of this whole Fox issue. Why are we playing WC twice in 9 weeks?
Four saturday afternoon home games - don't they ever ****ing learn
West Coast twice in first 9 rounds - stupid.
3 games at the MCG is some compensation.
Not a bad draw though:D
With ya there Jars, we need more night home games, too many day games for me :thumbsd:.
Soft draw however, no excuses, Richmond, Essendon, Carlton, Bulldogs twice :thumbsu:.
3 MCG games great :thumbsu:. But at the expense of our other home ground Telstra Dome, only 3 there :thumbsd:.
kimirocks
26 Oct 2007, 12:41
Not happy :(
Sat Afternoon games for ****s sake.
Where are the 5 Sat night games a season we used to have. Best time TBH, Bays at Glenelg in the afters then to AAMI, perfect, but ffs.
crowman_23
26 Oct 2007, 12:44
Guess we'll have to learn to win during the day seen as we couldn't do it at all this season.
Stinger...
26 Oct 2007, 12:46
How moronic are the AFL? When will they get it through their head that Saturday Afternoon at AAMI doesnt work...? :eek:
Its like banging your head against a brick wall with the chiefs that are the AFL! :rolleyes:
No Idea!
The Crows Truth
26 Oct 2007, 12:54
Overall that is the best draw we have had in years not much to complain about there:thumbsu:
Three games at the 'G' is impressive also:thumbsu:
agreed :thumbsu:
theyve given us a good chance of making finals again in 2008 by avoiding playing pies, freo and cats (3 of top 4 chances for flag according to odds) and also swans twice
also we have 4 double up games against dons, bulldogs, tigers and blues - who are rated bottom 6 chances next year
wishiwas
26 Oct 2007, 13:00
TV coverage sucks!!!!:(
Vic Crow
26 Oct 2007, 13:08
agreed :thumbsu:
theyve given us a good chance of making finals again in 2008 by avoiding playing pies, freo and cats (3 of top 4 chances for flag according to odds) and also swans twice
also we have 4 double up games against dons, bulldogs, tigers and blues - who are rated bottom 6 chances next year
No way! Give me Swans twice every season - that's two wins in the bag for us. On the other hand, mighty sick of playing WC twice.
Vic Crow
26 Oct 2007, 13:09
Official - from the AFL:
Homecoming. :mad:
Mr_Smooth
26 Oct 2007, 13:09
3 MCG Games!!!!
i can't believe it!! :eek:
Vic Crow
26 Oct 2007, 13:11
3 MCG Games!!!!
i can't believe it!! :eek:
There'll end up being 4 MCG games (and 14 AAMI Stadium games). :p
Adam BK
26 Oct 2007, 13:12
Whats the most games the Crows have played @ the G in one year, just the H&A season excluding finals, pre-season etc.
Vic Crow
26 Oct 2007, 13:16
Five home and away games at the G in 1995. 1 win, 2 losses, 2 embarassments.
jackster83
26 Oct 2007, 13:36
Hmmm the amount of day games is a worry because (a) we play appalling in daylight, (b) the games will clash with SANFL games and (c) playing at the Dome during the day with the roof open is crap for supporters and players alike:(
West Coast, Fremantle, St Kilda, Essendon and the 2007 version of Geelong are the teams we have a terrible win loss ratio against under Craig and thankfully we only have to play WC and Essendon twice out of those 5 teams.
Campbell's Chunky
26 Oct 2007, 14:05
So many games clash with my own Saturday Afternoon footy (and probably thousands of other peoples too)!
James_37
26 Oct 2007, 14:24
So many games clash with my own Saturday Afternoon footy (and probably thousands of other peoples too)!
Was thinking the same Cambell's, if the AFL had any brains they would limit the number of Saturday arvo games to 1 as this is the time when Amatuer league footy is played and hence many people then have no chance of getting to the game or watching it due to other commitments.
It is also a disgrace that we get 14 of these types of games, if I were the AFC i'd be suitably P***ed off that we don't get more night time matches, as we do have one of the largest supporter bases surely we deserve prime time as much as Essendon and Collingwood, but hey, we do play in the VFL right, so play by their rules.
Apart from this though, don't have any problems.
crowugoodthing
26 Oct 2007, 14:25
IMO I think it's a great draw for us but WTF do we play WC & the Hawks twice by Round 12?
Should finish the year of strongly... just need to be up and running at the start.
Also not enough games on free to air TV, will I get Pay TV or stop barracking for Crows alltogether. I don't want to stop barracking for the Crows. I will try my best to be attending the first 2 home games next year, plus the one in Launceston in Round 4. Our first home game of the year is against West Coast yet again for the third time in four years and we've struggled against them for a very long time. I don't like the idea for a late sunday showdown, all showdowns should be 2:40pm sunday or 7:10pm saturday. Also our game against Collingwood is on Pay TV, absolutley pathetic! - because I like watching us guys beat up the Pies but we probably wont beat them, no Bucks = no win. The good thing that only four of our Sunday games are on Pay TV, I'll be attending two of those. We have a 2:40PM sunday home game against Richmond in which the AFL has no choice but to show it on normal TV. No home game against Collingwood is also a huge bonus, we all know how badly we struggle at home against them.
I think the AFL really hates us. Look at our Telstra Dome games below. No night games at Telstra Dome is really dissapointing so the roof will be open in all three of them. When I contacted the club I was told that we will be keeping those red uniforms next year but having a new normal away uniform. There's no doubt we could wear the dreadful red in those games below and lose each one of them by 3 points or less, or if we're more positive perhaps win them all?. Our poor record at TD in 2007 was the result of those day games or games in red.
In our 7 games from Round 15 to 21, 5 of them are away games including 2 straight day games at Telstra Dome. That makes it a tough run home into the Finals. The Friday Night home game vs Geelong earlier in the season should be a ripper of a game and the Friday Night game against Essendon should be just as good.
We had a dream draw in 2007 and failed to take advantage of it. Next years draw can't get any tougher - we can take advantage of it if we can believe in ourselves. Remember how tough the 2005 draw was, but the team had belief in itself that year making a huge difference.
Hmmm the amount of day games is a worry because (a) we play appalling in daylight, (b) the games will clash with SANFL games and (c) playing at the Dome during the day with the roof open is crap for supporters and players alike:(
West Coast, Fremantle, St Kilda, Essendon and the 2007 version of Geelong are the teams we have a terrible win loss ratio against under Craig and thankfully we only have to play WC and Essendon twice out of those 5 teams.
We will play much better under the sun next season.
How moronic are the AFL? When will they get it through their head that Saturday Afternoon at AAMI doesnt work...? :eek:
Its like banging your head against a brick wall with the chiefs that are the AFL! :rolleyes:
No Idea!
2006 preliminary final. It was a Saturday Afternoon and 50,500 were there at AAMI. The atmosphere was awesome. But it was an awfully bad loss that cost us our 2007 season.
brucetiki
26 Oct 2007, 15:43
This would have to be one of the dumbest draws ever created by the AFL.
- Playing both West Coast and Hawthorn twice in 8 weeks - STUPID
- Not playing Sydney until round 17 - STUPID (especially as this would mean about 16 months between games between these two sides- rd 4 2007-rd 17 2008)
- Not playing St Kilda until round 21 - STUPID (again massive time gaps between games involving these sides, yet we would have played other sides 3 times in this time).
Why can't the AFL go back to the old way, where whoever you play in the first 7 rounds you play in the last 7 rounds. It was much more logical.
Playing Richmond and Carlton twice is the only good thing about this draw.
Crow Chick
26 Oct 2007, 15:47
That's basically 8 of 22 games on Saturday afternoons. They are encouraging us to give up sport and be fat and lazy!!!
Someone with Foxtel needs to record all the games and pop them online so people like Vic Crow can watch replays of all our wins :)
mymansyd
26 Oct 2007, 15:57
Why can't the AFL go back to the old way, where whoever you play in the first 7 rounds you play in the last 7 rounds. It was much more logical.
I'm with you. I find this bloody annoying. But the Crows' draw in terms of who we play... is pretty darn fine.
We play 4 of the bottom 6 teams from 2007 twice (Dons/Dogs/Tigers/Carlton). We should really bank on winning most of those, hopefully all 8. Be nice to finally beat the Bombers in Melbourne!
Stinger...
26 Oct 2007, 17:37
2006 preliminary final. It was a Saturday Afternoon and 50,500 were there at AAMI. The atmosphere was awesome. But it was an awfully bad loss that cost us our 2007 season.
I dont recall there being 50,000 people in attendance...and a Preliminary Final is not a Home and Away fixture. Its much more important hence people will make the effort...Home and Away games people can just 'go next week!'.
Saturday afternoon during the Home and Away season at AAMI DOES NOT WORK and the sooner the AFL realise it the better our attendances will be...
Vic Crow
26 Oct 2007, 17:53
There was 50,000 there at that game, however it's not really relevant because you'll always get way more to a Prelim than any home match at AAMI. A Prelim is really the fans Grand Final as all the sponsors sit lattes in the Andy Demetriou Stand.
Crow Envy
26 Oct 2007, 22:20
We play the WB in the first game of the season and it will be Brad Johnsons 300th. Great.
fightingdreamer88
26 Oct 2007, 22:22
We play the WB in the first game of the season and it will be Brad Johnsons 300th. Great.
Nothing wrong with that, makes it all the more interesting.
Blue Red and Gold
26 Oct 2007, 22:24
Couldnt agree more. If it was ViC v SA i would be more than happy for the AFC to release as many players as where selected for state pride, but for some ridiculous exibition game that belittles the contribution of the non victorian states, they can get stuffed.
100% agree
Blue Red and Gold
26 Oct 2007, 22:26
agree 100% once again
macca23
26 Oct 2007, 22:59
Sorry Fudd, but I don't want either State of Origin or this other bastardized version.
As Triggy said tonight the AFC's objection to it is based on risk management - who wants to see a Crows player doing an ACL no matter what the concept?
SOO in any format is irrelevant now, as we have state v state every week other than in showdowns and derbies. When SOO was popular there was no such thing
Macca19
27 Oct 2007, 00:13
I dont see the point in fixturing teams to play each other twice in 2 months. I really fail to see what it achieves other than being fancy and odd for the sake of it.
RoosterLad
27 Oct 2007, 00:15
The SANFL loves it so why not.
Blue Red and Gold
27 Oct 2007, 11:21
Sorry Fudd, but I don't want either State of Origin or this other bastardized version.
As Triggy said tonight the AFC's objection to it is based on risk management - who wants to see a Crows player doing an ACL no matter what the concept?
SOO in any format is irrelevant now, as we have state v state every week other than in showdowns and derbies. When SOO was popular there was no such thing
Disagree.
I obviously dont want to see a Crows player go down but I would love to see our players given the chance to play for their state and if they do do an injury, well thats life.
SOO is still popular, its just that there hasnt been an opportunity for people to show this. I think if they brought back SOO next year, a proper SA v Vic game it will draw a huge crowd.
It is not state against state every week, it is club against club.
I personally would love to see Pavlich, Waters, Cornes, Thompson etc etc all playing in the same side taking on the Vics. Sure there is a chance they could do an injury but I would be prepared to take the risk.
I love SOO
Official - from the AFL:
Also the Port games are 50/50 with the win the likely outcome
Not a bad draw and lets hope they are switched on in 2008
Markthirtytwo
27 Oct 2007, 14:57
Got to disagree with you there Macca. SOO is our codes highest level and should be promoted with gusto. This hybrid crap will not be a disaster in Vic but will be every where else IMHO.
A Crows player could just as well do an ACL on any given game not just a SoO game. AFL clubs' CEOs and the AFL should be charged with bringing the game into disripute for being so parochial about their players.
We would be the only sport in the world that don't want to promote our game on the highest level. Outrageous.
And as for us playing state footy every week, wern't most Crows supporters cheering on Geelong in the GF because we were all over this "at least the Power are SA" crap?
Adam BK
27 Oct 2007, 15:44
I agree with Markthirtytwo & Blue Red and Gold, disgusted to hear this 'All Stars' garbage but I would love to see some SA Crow boys represent there state with some SA guns from other teams.
James_37
27 Oct 2007, 15:55
I dont recall there being 50,000 people in attendance...and a Preliminary Final is not a Home and Away fixture. Its much more important hence people will make the effort...Home and Away games people can just 'go next week!'.
Saturday afternoon during the Home and Away season at AAMI DOES NOT WORK and the sooner the AFL realise it the better our attendances will be...
Also, the majority of Amateur league footy had finished by then, hence many more people could make the match, I reckon, though, had it been a saturday night or something, it would have had an even higher attendance.
Adam BK
27 Oct 2007, 16:12
Also, the majority of Amateur league footy had finished by then, hence many more people could make the match, I reckon, though, had it been a saturday night or something, it would have had an even higher attendance.
Football Park capacity is 51,515, there were 50,514 people in attendance in that Prelim so only room for 1k more. Theres always people that don't go anyway to a sporting event that they have a ticket for a particular reason.
It was a Saturday Afternoon, imagine how big the crowd would have been if it was on a Friday Night. These games are rare and we might never get that home prelim again. I still remember it was the worst loss I've ever experienced from my point of view. We went in as severe underdogs and tried real hard, thats why it was a bad loss because after the game in my mind I knew this could have been our only chance so I wrote this team off in 2007. It was this game that cost our 2007 season 100% don't talk about injuries because we had just as bad run with injuries in 2006.