View Full Version : 2008 lions draw
What would be considered a good draw for us?
I'd like to see a Friday Night game, maybe in a RL origin week when the cowboys and broncs dont play. More Saturday night FTA coverage for interstate fans. Also wish we didn't have to play as many sunday early games, would rather them on sat arv or 2pm sunday, but sunday 2pm would clash with the league for an hour.
Also i hope we don't have to play the eagles at subi again. But if the report is true that we play them in round 1 there than imo that could be the best time to play them. Also would like a couple more games at the 'G. Happy to go to Tassy if we get another game or two at the G. And the Kangaas at carrara for their home game would be good too.
thoughts?
PROUD LION
25 Oct 2007, 18:14
What would be considered a good draw for us?
I'd like to see a Friday Night game, maybe in a RL origin week when the cowboys and broncs dont play. More Saturday night FTA coverage for interstate fans. Also wish we didn't have to play as many sunday early games, would rather them on sat arv or 2pm sunday, but sunday 2pm would clash with the league for an hour.
Also i hope we don't have to play the eagles at subi again. But if the report is true that we play them in round 1 there than imo that could be the best time to play them. Also would like a couple more games at the 'G. Happy to go to Tassy if we get another game or two at the G. And the Kangaas at carrara for their home game would be good too.
thoughts?
We'll have to wait and see obviously, but yes 12 games in Queensland and getting the Subi trip out of the way first up would be not bad at all.
2 games against Richmond, Carlton, Essendon, Melbourne and North would be a bonus too :thumbsu:
lionbear
25 Oct 2007, 18:25
My ideal Draw...
11 Gabba
1 Carrara
7 Victoria
1 Sydney
1 Adelaide
1 Perth
With 1 to 2 games played on a Friday night.
But this will never happen.
Warwick
25 Oct 2007, 19:24
Turning out to be a pretty crap "draw" so far.
The definites are:
* Play Eagles in the opening round at Subi
* Play Kangaroos at Cararra in round 14
* Play Hawthorn twice - including one in Tasmania
* Play Richmond at the Telstra Dome
Likely:
* No Friday night games
* Play our mega-super-dooper arch-rivals Sydney twice again (and probably in rivalry round) :rolleyes:
* Play the Kangas twice
* Play the Eagles twice
* Play Fremantle in Perth
* Play a shit load of TD games (my guesses: St Kilda, Richmond, Carlton, WB)
My other guesses:
* Play Essendon at the Gabba
* Play Port in Adelaide
* Play Melbourne in Melbourne
Turning out to be a pretty crap "draw" so far.
The definites are:
* Play Eagles in the opening round at Subi
* Play Kangaroos at Cararra in round 14
* Play Hawthorn twice - including one in Tasmania
* Play Richmond at the Telstra Dome
Likely:
* No Friday night games
* Play our mega-super-dooper arch-rivals Sydney twice again (and probably in rivalry round) :rolleyes:
* Play the Kangas twice
* Play the Eagles twice
* Play Fremantle in Perth
* Play a shit load of TD games (my guesses: St Kilda, Richmond, Carlton, WB)
My other guesses:
* Play Essendon at the Gabba
* Play Port in Adelaide
I thought that was round 18...?
Anyway, I don't reckon anything is a certainty yet. Last year we were meant to play the pies at the G on a friday night i think and that was basically a deinite, but obviously didnt eventuate. But you are right, if what you says does happen, then it isn't a great year for us.
For some reason I vaguely remeber some talk about Melbourne's home game against us being shifted to canberra...? Does anyone remeber anything regarding this? Or is my imagination playing tricks on me.. :p Sounds ridiculus i know...
http://svc002.wic647dp.server-web.com/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsId=30755
whoops i think this is what i was confused by :D
Cousin Jed
26 Oct 2007, 09:44
Interesting to see what happens with our Melbourne games draw in light of this:
Adelaide put one major call on the AFL and the Canadian computer program it uses to write the draw - the Crows wanted seven of their 11 away games to be in Melbourne. They will get six spread between the MCG and Telstra Dome.
I think the club would be dissapointed if they were getting the same number of Melbourne games or of course potnetially less than the Crows.
lionbear
26 Oct 2007, 11:17
Interesting to see what happens with our Melbourne games draw in light of this:
I think the club would be dissapointed if they were getting the same number of Melbourne games or of course potnetially less than the Crows.
If Adelaide get more games in Melbourne then Brisbane/'Sydney the draw is officially a joke!!!
Cousin Jed
26 Oct 2007, 11:23
Our only game against the Crows is confirmed to be in Brisbane, (A saturday night, RD 13 on FOX - you'll love that lionbear) so 1 trip to Adelaide to play the Power I presume
(Seems the Adelaide Board has the scoop)
lionbear
26 Oct 2007, 11:25
(A saturday night, RD 13 on FOX - you'll love that lionbear)
Yeah I guess it gives me a reason to go to the local and enjoy an ale or two.:D
http://afl.com.au/Portals/0/afl_docs/2008_Schedule_By_Team_Report_FINAL.pdf
Here tis - team by team
Cousin Jed
26 Oct 2007, 11:48
http://afl.com.au/Portals/0/afl_docs/2008_Schedule_By_Team_Report_FINAL.pdf
A FRIDAY NIGHT GAME AGAINST THE PIES AT THE GABBA!
6 in VIC (2MCG,3TD, 1 SS)
1 in TAS
1 in Ade
1 in Syd
1 in WA
Warwick
26 Oct 2007, 11:49
Round 1: West Coast (A - Sub) - Saturday night
Round 2: Collingwood (H) - FRIDAY NIGHT!!
Round 3: Sydney (H) - Saturday night
Round 4: Port Adelaide (A) - Saturday night
Round 5: Hawthorn (H) - Saturday night
Round 6: Melbourne (H) - Sunday early
Round 7: Geelong (A) - Saturday afternoon
Round 8: Carlton (A - TD) - Saturday night
Round 9: St Kilda (H) - Sunday early
Round 10: Kangaroos (H) - Saturday night
Round 11: Fremantle (H) - Sunday early
Round 12: Bulldogs (A - MCG) - Saturday afternoon
Round 13: Adelaide (H) - Staurday night
Round 14: Melbourne (A - MCG) - Sunday early
Round 15: Essendon (A - TD) - Saturday night
Round 16: West Coast (H) - Saturday night
Round 17: Richmond (A - TD) - Saturday night
Round 18: Kangaroos (A - Cararra) - Saturday night
Round 19: Hawthorn (A - Tasmania) - Saturday afternoon
Round 20: Western Bulldogs (H) - Saturday night
Round 21: Carlton (H) - Saturday night
Round 22: Sydney (A) - Saturday night
Good points so far:
1 trip to Subi
1 trip to AAMI
Home match v Collingwood
2 games at the 'G
Criticisms:
No game in Melbourne until round 8
5 games in Melbourne
Cousin Jed
26 Oct 2007, 11:51
Not a fan of this part of the draw though
RD 7-8 Back to back in VIc
RD14-19 1 at the Gabba, 1 at the GC 3 in Vic and 1 in Tassie.
(MCG, TD, Gabba, TD, Carrara, Tassie)
Friday night match f*** yeah!
Warwick
26 Oct 2007, 11:53
How hard is the first month or so!!!
Teams we play twice:
* West Coast
* Kangaroos
* Sydney
* Carlton
* Melbourne
* Hawthorn
* Western Bulldogs
Teams we play once:
* Collingwood :mad:
* Adelaide
* St Kilda
* Richmond
* Port Adelaide
* Geelong
* Fremantle
* Essendon
2 games v
North
Bulldogs
Not so bad.
We've dodged double games against 3 out of the 4 preliminary finalists, with only 1 game against Geelong (albeit down there) being a bonus. Splitting the series against West Coast and Hawthorn will be a real plus.
lionbear
26 Oct 2007, 11:56
6 games on free to air in Victoria of which 4 are in Victoria so I will be able to see 2 games on TV:mad:
T Factor
26 Oct 2007, 11:57
For a Lions supporter in the West I got to...
Roll on 2008 :)
Cousin Jed
26 Oct 2007, 11:58
Yep Breakdown by broadcasters
7: 1
10: 5
Fox: 16
Only 2 of our first 11 games on free to air.
PROUD LION
26 Oct 2007, 11:59
Very fair draw; apart from the hard start it is very even and on the back of it we should be playing finals in 2008 :D
Yep Breakdown by broadcasters
7: 1
10: 5
That is not great in terms of national exposure.
lionbear
26 Oct 2007, 12:02
Not a bad draw, just a shaw the free to air networks don't rate us.
Warwick
26 Oct 2007, 12:03
Gabba matches:
* Collingwood - Friday night
* Sydney - Saturday night
* Hawthorn - Saturday night
* Melbourne - Sunday early
* St Kilda - Sunday early
* Kangaroos - Saturday night
* Fremantle - Sunday early
* Adelaide - Staurday night
* West Coast - Saturday night
* Western Bulldogs - Saturday night
* Carlton - Saturday night
Cousin Jed
26 Oct 2007, 12:03
Too many back to back travel weeks for my liking.
We play Kangaroos on the GC round 1 of the NAB cup for those who care. Head to Telstra Dome rd 2 if we win.
The really tough road trips would appear to be:
Rd 1 v West Coast
Rd 4 v Port
Rd 7 v Geelong
Rd 19 v Hawthorn
In contrast, we also have away games against against the 3 bottom sides in 07 in Carlton, Melbourne and Richmond plus the GC match against the Kangas. Throw in an away match v Essendon and it is not a bad road schedule.
Warwick
26 Oct 2007, 12:06
Frematle and Geelong are playing at night on ANZAC Day as it falls on a Friday next year.
danielcanberra
26 Oct 2007, 12:07
A long bloody wait for the Melbourne matches! This year, it started from round 5.
The Sunday early arvo games at the Gabba are also close together (those are the ones with the 'After the Siren' events.
Frematle and Geelong are playing at night on ANZAC Day as it falls on a Friday next year.
So the traditional game during the day and this one in WA at night?
lionbear
26 Oct 2007, 12:08
Victorian Matches
03/05/08 Geelong SS Sat Day
17/05/08 Carlton TD Sat Night
14/06/08 Bulldogs MCG Sat Day
29/06/08 Melbourne MCG Sun Early
12/07/08 Essendon TD Sat Night
26/07/08 Richmond TD Sat Night
From the AFL website:
Brisbane Lions
The Lions will start and finish their 2008 campaign away from home, with the fixture revealing season bookending trips to West Coast and Sydney.
The Lions’ first game at the Gabba in round two will be a big one, with the Magpies making the trip north for a Friday night encounter.
Seven of the club’s 11 home fixtures take place in the first half of the season, with three in succession, against St Kilda, the Kangaroos and Fremantle, leading up to the halfway point.
The Lions travel to Victoria six times, with two matches at the MCG – against the Bulldogs and Melbourne – three at Telstra Dome, and one trip to Skilled Stadium to take on the reigning premiers for the only time in the regular season.
Trips to Launceston for a clash with the Hawks and Adelaide for an encounter with the Power round out the club’s 10-game interstate schedule.
Victorian Matches
03/05/08 Geelong SS Sat Day
17/05/08 Carlton TD Sat Night
14/06/08 Bulldogs MCG Sat Day
29/06/08 Melbourne MCG Sun Early
12/07/08 Essendon TD Sat Night
26/07/08 Richmond TD Sat Night
The Carlton, Essendon and Richmond matches will draw decent crowds at TD.
lionbear
26 Oct 2007, 12:10
A long bloody wait for the Melbourne matches! This year.
We play 6 games in Vicotria in 11 Weeks then no games Round 1 to 6 and round 18 to 22. Interesting structure of the draw.
Warwick
26 Oct 2007, 12:12
Look at Collingwood's draw:
14 at the MCG
4 at the TD
1 at the Gabba
1 at Sydney
1 at AAMI
1 at Subiaco
What a joke.
We play 6 games in Vicotria in 11 Weeks then no games Round 1 to 6 and round 18 to 22. Interesting structure of the draw.
The team will cop the worst of the weather!
Warwick
26 Oct 2007, 12:13
Not a fan of this part of the draw though
RD 7-8 Back to back in VIc
RD14-19 1 at the Gabba, 1 at the GC 3 in Vic and 1 in Tassie.
(MCG, TD, Gabba, TD, Carrara, Tassie)
There is a break after round 14, so it goes:
MCG
Week off
TD
Gabba
TD
Carrara
Tasmania
Not too bad.
14 at the MCG
4 at the TD
1 at the Gabba
1 at Sydney
1 at AAMI
1 at Subiaco
What a joke.
It is worse than last year's....they actually have to travel in the second half of the year!
lionbear
26 Oct 2007, 12:14
14 at the MCG
4 at the TD
1 at the Gabba
1 at Sydney
1 at AAMI
1 at Subiaco
What a joke.
But Warwick they have to give up so much so interstate teams can have there home finals. Look at what the poor Maggies have to go through each year;).
brenjay
26 Oct 2007, 12:23
only 6 games FTA for Victoria..... :thumbsd:
im a ui student with no $ for pay tv :confused:
danielcanberra
26 Oct 2007, 12:26
only 6 games FTA for Victoria..... :thumbsd:
im a ui student with no $ for pay tv :confused:
It's worth finding out the local pubs/clubs with Foxtel.
Cousin Jed
26 Oct 2007, 12:27
There is a break after round 14, so it goes:
MCG
Week off
TD
Gabba
TD
Carrara
Tasmania
Not too bad.
Ah of course there is a break earlier in the year too, I presume the other back-back is around that week off too.
roostersgal4eva
26 Oct 2007, 12:28
6 in VIC (2MCG,3TD, 1 SS)
1 in TAS
1 in Ade
1 in Syd
1 in WA
Fair draw dont mind that TBH
Our only game against the Crows is confirmed to be in Brisbane, (A saturday night, RD 13 on FOX - you'll love that lionbear) so 1 trip to Adelaide to play the Power I presume
(Seems the Adelaide Board has the scoop)
:( at least its on Sat night so I know Im not working
Grimreepah
26 Oct 2007, 12:31
Round 2: Collingwood (H) - FRIDAY NIGHT!!
How hard is the start of the season for us:eek: If we can win 3 or 4 of our first 7 games that will be a good platform for the rest of the year.
Is there a list somewhere as to which games are listed as FTA? I was getting all hopeful since only five games conflict with Swans games (1, 4, 17, 20, 21), but if the FTA games are in any of those rounds I'll start feeling disappointed again.
Edit: Found it at http://www.afl.com.au/Default.aspx?tabid=208&newsId=52786. Only Round 17 is one of those, so hopefully five FTAs into Sydney.
lionbear
26 Oct 2007, 12:38
All in all I am content with the draw. Not the best draw but we could have had alot worse. we pay 4 top 8 teams twice so I can live with that. We get 6 games in Victoria, would have liked 7 but least our Tasmanian supporters get to enjoy watching us in their backyard.
Give the draw a 6/10. It's a pass but I am not dancing in the streets about it:cool:
Warwick
26 Oct 2007, 12:45
Nowhere near as good as last year's draw but not too bad.
An extremely tough 7 games to start the year, but if we get a good start (3-4 or 4-3) we should be thereabouts at the end of the year. Hard to say now, but our run home looks a lot better than the previous 3 years.
We play Aker twice next year as well (could be 3 if we beat the Kangaroos in the NAB Cup). :thumbsu:
Cousin Jed
26 Oct 2007, 12:45
The Lions play a home game in Brisbane on the same weekend as the Broncos play a home game in Brisbane 6 out of the 11 games.
notting18
26 Oct 2007, 12:48
It could have been worse....it could have been better - the general draw for the Brisbane Lions IMO
lionbear
26 Oct 2007, 12:49
No heritage round mentioned in the draw, wouldn't be surprised if it has been axed as it is not as well received now as it once was.
lion_gooner
26 Oct 2007, 13:02
i am actually quite happy with the draw i will defitnetly be going to the tassie game and of course the melbourne games and maybe a coule of gabba games :D
Dylan12
26 Oct 2007, 13:26
Overall a good draw - get WA over and done with immediately - 6 games in Vic - would prefer 7 - but if it means only going to SA and WA once each - for the sake of the team, I am fine with only 6 games in my home.
Regards to teams playing twice: getting Melbourne, Carlton, Bulldogs and Kangaroos is fortunate - none will be top 8 - West Coast - without Judd and Cousins is a big opportunity to finally reverse the ledger with these guys - and Hawthorn and Sydney - two teams that don't hold any great fears - could have been worse having to play teams like Pies, Cats, Power, Crows, Dockers who will be forces.
We seem to only play Richmond and Essendon only once for the past couple of seasons - always away - but if you were going to play two Vic teams once and in Vic, why not it be 2008's 15th and 16th sides:)
One back to back trip - the one over bye round does not count - ok there are a couple of anomolies - start and end season away and not in Vic an Qld for little stints - but at the end of the day they still play 12 games in Qld and 6 in Vic - so no complaints from my end at all and a guaranteed spot in the 8 for the Lions:thumbsu:
Warwick
26 Oct 2007, 13:29
so no complaints from my end at all and a guaranteed spot in the 8 for the Lions:thumbsu:
You were going alright until you got here.
Ridiculous call.
Dylan12
26 Oct 2007, 13:31
i am actually quite happy with the draw i will defitnetly be going to the tassie game and of course the melbourne games and maybe a coule of gabba games :D
Agreed - i have never made the journey to Tassie before - looks a beautiful spot - may just have to get down there for the weekend - to those in Tassie - are tickets hard to come by or is it best going through a travel agent and buying some sort of package?
Dylan12
26 Oct 2007, 13:35
You were going alright until you got here.
Ridiculous call.
Why be pessimistic - with a squad such as ours, the season is a failure if we don't and will be certainly dropping a few ton at the bookies to put my money where my mouth is - so not that big a statement really.
Warwick
26 Oct 2007, 13:37
Why be pessimistic - with a squad such as ours, the season is a failure if we don't and will be certainly dropping a few ton at the bookies to put my money where my mouth is - so not that big a statement really.
There is a diiference between being optimistic and being silly.
"Guaranteed" finals spot? C'mon.
Warwick
26 Oct 2007, 13:51
Bloody hell Cozi was right. The Broncos play the Cowboys at Suncorp on the same weekend as the Collingwood Friday night game.
No doubt that will be a Friday night game as well. :mad:
**** there goes a huge chunk of our crowd and viewing audience. :thumbsd:
I doubt the AFL will be willing to give us more Friday night matches if we get slaughted by the league. Of all the luck, we clash with the biggest league game in Brisbane on the same night.
Cousin Jed
26 Oct 2007, 14:10
Bloody hell Cozi was right. The Broncos play the Cowboys at Suncorp on the same weekend as the Collingwood Friday night game.
I doubt the AFL will be willing to give us more Friday night matches if we get slaughted by the league. Of all the luck, we clash with the biggest league game in Brisbane on the same night.
Well the NRL draw was out a week ago, so its their own darn fault. Of course you wouldn't expect anything less from the AFL
The Broncos v Cowboys is far and away the match of the round. Only one other game has two finallists playing each other and that involves NZ so is no chance of being the Friday night game.
The crowd won't be an issue but the TV audience will. If it were not opposed to a Broncos game, there is a chance that they might have knocked off Friday Night Rugby League.
It is hard not to think that the AFL or the Lions have stuffed this one up.
Dylan12
26 Oct 2007, 14:57
There is a diiference between being optimistic and being silly.
"Guaranteed" finals spot? C'mon.
Alright, "guaranteed" a bit over the top - if it helps you - i think we will be top 8 - does that suit? -
pretty good i reckon coz we get the Friday night game against the pies at the gabba. Dissapointed to see our thursday night game against the saints go though. Also why are we playing sydney up here at 10 past 6 and not 7?
TheBrownDog
26 Oct 2007, 15:19
That Friday night game vs Collingwood will be a big problem.
Jared always tears the Pies apart, but he also loves to watch his Friday night NRL. :eek:
brenjay
26 Oct 2007, 15:25
Jared always tears the Pies apart, but he also loves to watch his Friday night NRL. :eek:
the gabba will put score updates on the scoreboard :thumbsu:
we dont want brennan's one brilliant game a year ruined!!
TheBrownDog
26 Oct 2007, 15:31
No Essendon game at the Gabba again.
Will we never get a chance to 'welcome' Malcolm back to the GABBA?
Cousin Jed
26 Oct 2007, 15:33
the gabba will put score updates on the scoreboard :thumbsu:
we dont want brennan's one brilliant game a year ruined!!
We're paying him for more than one good game a year ;)
Grimreepah
26 Oct 2007, 15:49
Yeah, the Lions really haven't thought this through at all.
TheBrownDog
26 Oct 2007, 15:49
West Coast really hold no fear for me now.
Our backs against the wall win against them plus the loss of Judd and Cousins have really killed the fear I held of them.
Will be a challenge straight up, but very winnable.
Winning that match could really set up our season.
FattyLumpkin
26 Oct 2007, 16:00
Hitting Melb for a conference on March 28 - only have 1 opportunity to hit the footy - Friday Night!!!! There is no god.:mad:
Dylan12
26 Oct 2007, 16:03
Its strange how you get anomolies like Essendon and Richmond not coming to the Gabba for the second successive year and Freo coming to us whithout us goin there again also (which suits me fine - 2 trips for us to WA each year is too much and i think the AFL recognise that - especially when you have a few Vic teams only travelling 4 times - so, for a change, well done AFL:thumbsu:
Warwick
26 Oct 2007, 16:04
The old man has 1 more year left tops going by last year's performance, so no, we won't get a chance to "farewell" him.
But as a parting retirement present from the Lions, he can have one of these:
http://img522.imageshack.us/img522/7647/woodenspoontd0.png (http://imageshack.us)
Enjoy it big fella. :thumbsu:
TheBrownDog
26 Oct 2007, 16:05
Stoked about the opening NAB cup game at Carrara too.
Anyone else planning on making the trip down for this one? Could make it a bit of a meet-up, and try and get seats together.
Warwick
26 Oct 2007, 16:06
Stoked about the opening NAB cup game at Carrara too.
Anyone else planning on making the trip down for this one? Could make it a bit of a meet-up, and try and get seats together.
I'm up for that.
Me too, I've only missed 2 games at Carrara since the reinstatement of the ground in 2005. Those were Richmond V. Sydney (NAB Challenge 2006) and Kangaroos V. Carlton (round 8 this year). Dad drives us down to Nerang Train Station, parks the car there and gets the free shuttle bus to Carrara. Parking at Carrara is silly takes like 1 hour to get out the car park.
lionbear
26 Oct 2007, 16:23
Wont be up for the Carrara Game but will be trying to go up for a Gabba game in 08 after having a taste in 2007. Have to work out though if there is a time that is viable as well as justify the costs. Hoping I can I must see a Gabba victory sooner rather then later:D
TheBrownDog
26 Oct 2007, 16:24
Wont be up for the Carrara Game but will be trying to go up for a Gabba game in 08 after having a taste in 2007. Have to work out though if there is a time that is viable as well as justify the costs. Hoping I can I must see a Gabba victory sooner rather then later:D
Gotta be Round 2 LB!
lionbear
26 Oct 2007, 16:28
Gotta be Round 2 LB!
Would be nice go up and watch yet another Collingwood flogging. Most fun I had at a game this year was the MCG Collingwood wipping.
Don't worry will be sitting down with a calculator over the next month trying to make the figures work for another Gabba trip in 2008:D
Yeah, gotta find out what weddings, etc, are in the coming year so I can find out what games I can catch other than Round 22. :D
Vipertooth
26 Oct 2007, 17:10
Cant wait for the tassie game!
Collingwood on Friday night is brilliant. I'll be heading to that one with my mad brother in-law who supports the pies.
The first thing that hits me is the Friday night game follows a Saturday night game in Perth. Backing up from Perth with a short break could be interesting. I won't complain too much though.
danielcanberra
26 Oct 2007, 17:29
Yeah, gotta find out what weddings, etc, are in the coming year so I can find out what games I can catch other than Round 22. :D
dlanod, I need to get in touch with you and Quigley to organise the Sydney (and Canberra) members and supporters for the SCG match.
I'll try and organise something through the club.
Hmmm, the traffic that night will be interesting!
Overall only one trip to Perth and one to adelaide. Melbourne supporters get seven games if you include Tassie and Geelong. (Ok thats a stretch)
Overall pretty good draw I would have thought.
lionbear
26 Oct 2007, 18:16
If the NRL and AFL game is played on the same night it will be disastrous for both the AFL and us. We have waited 6 years for a chance to show what we can do with a proper Friday night fixture. If this affects crowd size we are none the wiser as to weather we could argue for 3 or 4 Friday night fixtures in 2009. It sets us back 12 months and it means the AFL is still in the dark as to weather they can introduce us or Sydney into the Friday night Market.
blynd_freddie
26 Oct 2007, 18:16
Overall only one trip to Perth and one to adelaide. Melbourne supporters get seven games if you include Tassie and Geelong. (Ok thats a stretch)
Overall pretty good draw I would have thought.
Yep, stretching it Vidman.. but do agree with later, overall pretty good.. :p
Have pencilled in trying to get up there for pies game and fingers crossed if Browny stays fit the Freo game will be his 150th...
Better start working on the sign now DC... :D
If the NRL and AFL game is played on the same night it will be disastrous for both the AFL and us. We have waited 6 years for a chance to show what we can do with a proper Friday night fixture. If this affects crowd size we are none the wiser as to weather we could argue for 3 or 4 Friday night fixtures in 2009. It sets us back 12 months and it means the AFL is still in the dark as to weather they can introduce us or Sydney into the Friday night Market.
fwiw, in recent memory i can only recall sunday arv games for the cowboys and broncos at the beginning of the year. could be wrong though.
Round 2: Collingwood (H) - Friday night
obviously way to early to tell, but thats how i see our season panning out. Bold games are ones i think we will win.
That will give us 15 wins and 60 points, top 4 position most likely which would be an excellent season for us.
TheBrownDog
26 Oct 2007, 18:30
Round 2: Collingwood (H) - Friday night
obviously way to early to tell, but thats how i see our season panning out. Bold games are ones i think we will win.
That will give us 15 wins and 60 points, top 4 position most likely which would be an excellent season for us.
Reckon we'll beat WCE at Subi and not the Gabba?
yup. i reckon we'll be very good in the first few rounds and catch them off gaurd. Could have gone either way in the other one, just like the sydney games and the hawks too.
TheBrownDog
26 Oct 2007, 18:35
yup. i reckon we'll be very good in the first few rounds and catch them off gaurd. Could have gone either way in the other one, just like the sydney games and the hawks too.
If your predictions came true, 10 wins out of 11 games at home would truly mean that the Gabbatoir is back!
I'm not sure about anyone else but i am just getting the feeling that the gabbatoir might just be on its way back. Without wanting to talk us up or sound arrogant, i think it will be very hard for away teams to beat us at home next year.
Cousin Jed
26 Oct 2007, 19:00
fwiw, in recent memory i can only recall sunday arv games for the cowboys and broncos at the beginning of the year. could be wrong though.
I had thought the same thing, but with 9 showing 2 games on Friday night, one usually featuring Qld teams, you can almost guarantee that it will be Friday night.
BigCat2
26 Oct 2007, 19:38
I'm not sure about anyone else but i am just getting the feeling that the gabbatoir might just be on its way back. Without wanting to talk us up or sound arrogant, i think it will be very hard for away teams to beat us at home next year.
Wow slow down. We only won 6.5 games out of 12 at the Gabba last year. Would take a big improvement to get to 10 out of 11.
My ideal Draw...
11 Gabba
1 Carrara
7 Victoria
1 Sydney
1 Adelaide
1 Perth
With 1 to 2 games played on a Friday night.
But this will never happen.
This wasnt far off LB! Only diff was one of the vic games in tassie, but bloody close
Cousin Jed
27 Oct 2007, 12:08
Good to see this as the headline news today.
http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/story/0,23739,22656019-5003410,00.html
THE AFL has engineered a clash of the codes next season, with a bold Friday-night scheduling decision in Brisbane prompting the Broncos to warn of potential "gridlock".
After many years of not having Friday night AFL at the Gabba, the AFL yesterday scheduled the Lions-Collingwood game for Friday, March 28, the likely night of the NRL's Broncos-Cowboys game in Brisbane.
The NRL announced its draw a week ago and while match allocation for round 3 has not been done, Broncos chief executive Bruno Cullen said he expected the Broncos-Cowboys fixture to be selected by Channel 9 as a Friday night game.
It would create an unprecedented night-time drain on public transport and roads, with more than 80,000 people trying to get to and from football games in Brisbane on the same night.
Lions chief executive Michael Bowers has urged the Broncos to short-circuit the "absolute madness" of having the showpieces pitted against each other.
"The challenge has been thrown down to the NRL to do some sensible scheduling for the Queensland public," Bowers said.
"It really opens up the opportunity for the NRL to schedule that game for a Sunday so that people from around Queensland and Victoria could make it a footy weekend.
"It would be absolute madness if the events clashed because there will be people who want to see both."
Cullen also lamented the possible clash and, while hoping it did not eventuate, said the final decision was out of the club's hands.
"It's disappointing," Cullen said. "I would be very confident we would still go close to a sellout that night but we do share a lot of fans.
"When you have two potential blockbusters on the same night just across the river from each other it does not make much sense. It will be up to Channel 9 and the NRL.
"A clash like that would make it very taxing for the transport system. Up to 90 per cent of our patrons come via public transport. There could be gridlock."
NRL chief executive David Gallop said it was a "difficult" predicament.
"Broncos crowds have been outstanding in recent years and I fully expect that game would be close to a sellout and it will depend on the broadcaster's pick closer to the date," Gallop said.
Better get lobbying channel 9 (It won't work though unfortunately)
TheBrownDog
27 Oct 2007, 12:11
Good to see this as the headline news today.
http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/story/0,23739,22656019-5003410,00.html
Better get lobbying channel 9 (It won't work though unfortunately)
C'mon Eddie, wield some magic. You don't want Collingwood having to compete with Rugby League for TV viewers on a Friday night. Move the League.
Fairley
27 Oct 2007, 12:12
I realise the lion's deserve to be talked up like this because we have got such an exciting list, however I think some people may be getting too worked up, if the lion's finished 8th or 9th next year, i would not be suprised?
TheBrownDog
27 Oct 2007, 12:16
I realise the lion's deserve to be talked up like this because we have got such an exciting list, however I think some people may be getting too worked up, if the lion's finished 8th or 9th next year, i would not be suprised?
Strong words.
Strong.... baffling words.
http://springfield-shopper.de/Information/whoiswho/kent.gif
Warwick
27 Oct 2007, 12:19
I agree.
Teams in our position have dropped down the ladder again after a season like ours. See Hawthorn a couple of years back and the Western Bulldogs this year.
I am still not forgetting our run in the middle of the year - the most pathetic football we have played since 1998, and we were on par with Richmond as the worst team in the league.
We don't know how Bradshaw will return, Johnstone may turn out to be this year's Aker, and if we get off to a bad start with that tough opening draw our confidence could be low.
I'm staggered by the number of people on the main board who have us top 4 next year. While I like the look at our list, our team is so young atm, and they can go either way. I think it's going to be an exciting year.
TheBrownDog
27 Oct 2007, 12:22
I'm staggered by the number of people on the main board who have us top 4 next year. While I like the look at our list, our team is so young atm, and they can go either way. I think it's going to be an exciting year.
Yeah, many have us tipped to go top 2 for chrissakes!
We're gonna get called underachievers no matter what next year.
How long until someone on the main board tries to insinuate that it was Brisbane supporters who were claiming we'd go top 2 next year?
philhawk
28 Oct 2007, 19:36
Can someone explain the logic to me for having the Broncos and Lions on the same night?
Wasn't the Broncos v Cowboys match scheduled a fair bit back (so not a coincidence that it clashes with the AFL?)
Madness!