View Full Version : 2007 BigFooty Phantom Draft - November 2nd Kick Off.

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

LukeHodge15
25 Oct 2007, 20:49
Lets keep this thread for the Phantom Draft.

2007 BigFooty Phantom Draft - November 2nd

ROUND #1

Pick 01 - Carlton -------- HBF --------- Matthew Kreuzer - Ruckman - Northern Knights

Pick 02 - Richmond ------ TOA--------- Trent Cotchin - Midfielder - Northern Knights

Pick 03 - WestCoast ----- Megladon --- Rhys Palmer - Midfielder - East Fremantle

Pick 04 - Melbourne ----- Gilly1972 ---- Cale Morton - Utility - Claremont

Pick 05 - Bulldogs ------- Mjp --------- Dave Gourdis - KP Forward - Subiaco

Pick 06 - Essendon ------ Foj1 -------- David Myers - Utility - Perth

Pick 07 - Fremantle ------ Sinepri ------ Chris Masten - Midfielder - East Fremantle

Pick 08 - Brisbane ------- Quigley ------ Brad Ebert - Midfielder - Port Magpies

Pick 09 - Saint Kilda ----- VicCrow ----- Alex Rance - KP Backman - Swan Districts

Pick 10 - Adelaide ------- Thunderstruck-

Pick 11 - Swans --------- Grub29

Pick 12 - Hawthorn ------ LukeHodge15

Pick 13 - West Coast ---- Megladon

Pick 14 - Melbourne ----- Gilly1972

Pick 15 - Kangaroos ----- Pykie

Pick 16 - Port Adelaide -- Snoop

Pick 17 - Geelong ------- Diablo14

LukeHodge15
25 Oct 2007, 20:49
This is a very rough outline.
I know there is gunna be mistakes here, but they will be all corrected by kick off on November 2nd

Carlton -------- HBF

Pick 01 - Matthew Kreuzer - Northern Knights
Pick 36 -
Pick 46 -
Pick 68 -

Richmond ------ TOA

Pick 02 - Trent Cotchin - Northern Knights
Pick 18 -
Pick 51 -
Pick 67 -

Melbourne ----- Gilly1972

Pick 04 -
Pick 14 -
Pick 21 -
Pick 53 -
Pick 69 - ???

Bulldogs ------- Mjp

Pick 05 -
Pick 19 -
Pick 35 -
Pick 48 -
Pick 66 - ???

Essendon ------ Foj1

Pick 06 -
Pick 23 -
Pick 39 - Darcy Daniher - F/S - KP Forward/Back/3rd Tall.
Pick 55 -
Pick 71 - ???

Fremantle ------ Sinepri

Pick 07 -
Pick 24 -
Pick 40 -
Pick 56 - ???

Brisbane ------- Quigley

Pick 08 -
Pick 25 -
Pick 41 -
Pick 52 -
Pick 57 - ???

Saint Kilda ----- VicCrow

Pick 09 -
Pick 42 -
Pick 58 -

Adelaide ------- Thunderstruck

Pick 10 -
Pick 27 -
Pick 30 -
Pick 38 -
Pick 59 - ???
Last Pick - Taylor Walker

Swans --------- Grub29

Pick 11 -
Pick 26 -
Pick 60 -
Last Pick - Craig Bird

Hawthorn ------ LukeHodge15

Pick 12 -
Pick 29 -
Pick 45 -
Pick 61 - ???

West Coast ---- Megladon

Pick 03 -
Pick 13 -
Pick 20 -
Pick 22 -

Collingwood ---- VinnieVegas

Pick 31 -
Pick 47 -
Pick 63 -
Last Pick - Jaxson Barham

Kangaroos ----- Pykie

Pick 15 -
Pick 32 -
Pick 64 -

Port Adelaide -- Snoop

Pick 16 -
Pick 28 -
Pick 33 -
Pick 49 -
Pick 65 - ???

Geelong ------- Diablo14

Pick 17 -
Pick 33 -
Pick 49 -
Last Pick - Adam Donohoe

LukeHodge15
25 Oct 2007, 20:50

Carlton - Matthew Kreuzer - Northern Knights
DOB - 13th May, 1989. 199cm & 91kg.

Carlton get their man. Ruckman like Kreuzer don't come around all that often, and he is just too good to pass up. Having selected Hampson last year, and now having selected Kreuzer, and with backup from the O'hailpin boys, our ruck stocks suddenly look very promising.

Selecting Kreuzer also gives up flexibility with our big men, with Hampson and Kreuzer able to compete very well up forward as well, and the big plus is having Setanta, who can play FB, CHB, Ruck and FF.

There has been a bit written about Kreuzers tap work, but from where I was sitting, his tap work is fine. However, and as well all know, it is his work around the ground, his willingness to work and to get to every contest, and the ability below his knees is what has had us all salivating during the year.

I honestly believe that his debut season in 2008 will mirror that of Leuenberger this year. Come in during the second half of the year, and play mainlu as a forward, working out of the FP.

LukeHodge15
25 Oct 2007, 20:50
More Profiles and WriteUps

LukeHodge15
25 Oct 2007, 20:52
More Rumblings from Everybody

LukeHodge15
25 Oct 2007, 20:53
Knowing Gillys Ramblings, i better leave another page :p

LukeHodge15
25 Oct 2007, 20:55
Weaver, any chance of Stickying this thread for us........ Cheers Mate. :thumbsu:

sinepari
25 Oct 2007, 22:08
You're not a salesman are you hodgey :D

HBF
25 Oct 2007, 22:38
Fantastic.
Looking forward to it.

Vic Crow
25 Oct 2007, 22:48
****ing Saints trading out their second round pick. They need to delist more players...

Gilly1972
26 Oct 2007, 00:27
Knowing Gillys Ramblings, i better leave another page :p

It'll be short and sweet this year ;)

LukeHodge15
26 Oct 2007, 01:10
It'll be short and sweet this year ;)

Only ShitStirring, Will try to keep my waffling to a minimum this year. :p

HFC082
26 Oct 2007, 08:49
Fantastic.
Looking forward to it.

Don't **** it up now :thumbsu:

micky_11
26 Oct 2007, 14:46
Roos also have pick 37

Phaze Away
26 Oct 2007, 17:19
Roos also have pick 37
Also - Port Adelaide and Geelong don't both have #33 and 49

sinepari
26 Oct 2007, 19:19
Don't worry we know the real order, he just posted that quickly.

HBF
26 Oct 2007, 23:15
Don't **** it up now :thumbsu:

I'll be fine, but thanks for the concern. :D

macca69
27 Oct 2007, 15:02
How many picks is each club expected to take in the ND?

At this stage I have it that

Adelaide - 6 (including Taylor Walker)
Brisbane - 5
Carlton - 3
Collingwood - 3 (including Barham)
Essendon - 5 (including Daniher)
Fremantle - 5
Geelong - 5 (including Donohoe)
Hawthorn - 5
Kangaroos - 4
Melbourne - 5
Port Adelaide - 3
Richmond - 3
St Kilda - 4
Sydney - 3 (including Bird)
West Coast - 4
Western Bulldogs - 7

Does anyone think they're club will have more/less picks?

The Royal Sampler
27 Oct 2007, 17:16
I'd expect Collingwood to use 4 picks, or 3 not including Barham.

Snoop Dog
28 Oct 2007, 15:54
Pretty sure Port will have at least 4.

boms
28 Oct 2007, 16:22
Essendon will most likely use - 6, 23, 39 (Darcy Dainher), 55 and 71

Quigley
28 Oct 2007, 16:37
Brisbane have 3 at the moment. I would expect them probably have 4 ie the pick that we got from Carlton for Hadley.

HBF
28 Oct 2007, 17:57
Carlton will have 3. Although, that will depend on whether we have a selection in the PSD.

bombersno1
28 Oct 2007, 18:38
Essendon will most likely use - 6, 23, 39 (Darcy Dainher), 55 and 71

Doubt we'll use 71. Useless in a shallow draft, rather use a extra PSD selection!:thumbsu:

Thunderstruck
29 Oct 2007, 17:03
Hi all looking forward to this one.

But just another reminder that I move out of my current Melb home on Nov 5th and have no idea if the hotel I'll be at has internet access or not, or whether my powerful lappy can suck someones wireless like it did last time hehe. Will do my best to keep in touch with it all, if means pm'ing players in order to someone then so be it.

Will end up in Darwin on Nov 11th at end of it all after goin back to Adel for 3 nights from 8-11th.

sinepari
29 Oct 2007, 18:18
Doubt we'll use 71. Useless in a shallow draft, rather use a extra PSD selection!:thumbsu:

And take who in the PSD?

PSD selections are overrated.

Merv
29 Oct 2007, 18:47
And take who in the PSD?

PSD selections are overrated.

Dodoro said today we will only be using up to 55.

They must have someone they want in the PSD, not sure who though.

sinepari
29 Oct 2007, 18:50
I expect 1, but he said EXTRA PSD selection, hence I was under the impression he was referring to a 2nd selection.

HBF
29 Oct 2007, 21:13

But just another reminder that I move out of my current Melb home on Nov 5th and have no idea if the hotel I'll be at has internet access or not, or whether my powerful lappy can suck someones wireless like it did last time hehe. Will do my best to keep in touch with it all, if means pm'ing players in order to someone then so be it.

Will end up in Darwin on Nov 11th at end of it all after goin back to Adel for 3 nights from 8-11th.

Most decent hotels have internet access in their rooms, so you should be ok.

foj1
30 Oct 2007, 10:46

Might be worth PMing or pairing up with someone.

Tails1
30 Oct 2007, 11:25
Dodoro said today we will only be using up to 55.

They must have someone they want in the PSD, not sure who though.

Jason Cloke????

Bloods boy from the Bush
30 Oct 2007, 11:40
Jason Cloke????
Why not just use pcik 71 in National Draft on him and not using the Pre-Season Draft at all.

bombersno1
30 Oct 2007, 16:47
Jason Cloke????

Shoot me now!:thumbsd:

Vic Crow
1 Nov 2007, 11:58
The suspense is killing me!

Gilly1972
1 Nov 2007, 12:12
The suspense is killing me!

You can relax, Totino should get through to #9 ;):p

Vic Crow
1 Nov 2007, 12:32
Well, at least I know Gilly won't take him at #4. HBF at #1 is still a threat though.

vinnie_vegas69
1 Nov 2007, 13:17
Well, at least I know Gilly won't take him at #4. HBF at #1 is still a threat though.
This just in - Adrian Totino declared ineligible for the Phantom Draft after it's been revealed that Vic Crow and HBF have been sending him lavish gifts!

Those perfumes and Elton John mixtapes have come back to haunt you now!

LukeHodge15
1 Nov 2007, 17:07
May the fun begin very shortly. :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Expect a slow day over the long weekend with Derby Day and Melbourne Cup, but after that it should really fire up on Wednesday.

HBF
1 Nov 2007, 17:13
May the fun begin very shortly. :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Expect a slow day over the long weekend with Derby Day and Melbourne Cup, but after that it should really fire up on Wednesday.

I'm going to kick it off tonight Hodgey, as I will be out of action tomorrow morning. Have decided on my player, but will let you guys ponder on that just a little longer. :thumbsu:

HBF
1 Nov 2007, 17:15
This just in - Adrian Totino declared ineligible for the Phantom Draft after it's been revealed that Vic Crow and HBF have been sending him lavish gifts!

Those perfumes and Elton John mixtapes have come back to haunt you now!

Thank goodness the authentic Barry Manilow nose hairs that Vic Crow and myself sent him never made it into the media. Phew! :)

Gilly1972
1 Nov 2007, 17:18
I'm going to kick it off tonight Hodgey, as I will be out of action tomorrow morning. Have decided on my player, but will let you guys ponder on that just a little longer. :thumbsu:

Given that, should Hodgey should you create a new thread now so that it is ready for HBF to post in, and easy for you to keep updated as the thread owner

vinnie_vegas69
1 Nov 2007, 17:38
Given that, should Hodgey should you create a new thread now so that it is ready for HBF to post in, and easy for you to keep updated as the thread owner
I was thinking that it would probably just be better if every pick was made in a new thread, just so that it would be easier to comment on individual picks.

Sure, it would clutter up the board a little, but we could probably solve that by stickying all of the pick threads, right?

:p

TOA.
1 Nov 2007, 18:26
Will be very interested in seeing who HBF picks.

I can sense a cat sneaking out of the bag, so to speak.

sinepari
1 Nov 2007, 18:27
Me too. Just hope people don't get too clever.

Merv
1 Nov 2007, 20:20

tic tic tic tic.....

HBF
1 Nov 2007, 20:59
#1 (PP) Carlton - Matthew Kreuzer - Northern Knights
DOB - 13th May, 1989. 199cm & 91kg.

Carlton get their man. Ruckman like Kreuzer don't come around all that often, and he is just too good to pass up. Having selected Hampson last year, and now having selected Kreuzer, and with backup from the O'hailpin boys, our ruck stocks suddenly look very promising.

Selecting Kreuzer also gives up flexibility with our big men, with Hampson and Kreuzer able to compete very well up forward as well, and the big plus is having Setanta, who can play FB, CHB, Ruck and FF.

There has been a bit written about Kreuzers tap work, but from where I was sitting, his tap work is fine. However, and as well all know, it is his work around the ground, his willingness to work and to get to every contest, and the ability below his knees is what has had us all salivating during the year.

I honestly believe that his debut season in 2008 will mirror that of Leuenberger this year. Come in during the second half of the year, and play mainlu as a forward, working out of the FP.

Merv
1 Nov 2007, 21:03
And HBF pulls off the first surprise of the draft and with selection one to boot :p

Will fit in nicely in the blues list

HBF
1 Nov 2007, 21:13
And HBF pulls off the first surprise of the draft and with selection one to boot :p

Will fit in nicely in the blues list

Yeah. I bet no-one saw that coming. :D

boms
1 Nov 2007, 21:13
Wow shocking pick up there HBF :P

TOA.
1 Nov 2007, 21:39
Pick 2 - Richmond - Trent Cotchin

Tigers are stoked to snare who we rate as the best player in the draft. Cotchin is a very bottom-age, classy, balanced and smart HFF/onballer. He always has time on the ball, nearly always picks the right option and will hit the target with the kick. His pace is very good although not express. Trent is strong overhead aswell as through the hips. Sound too good to be true? Perhaps. There is a slight doubt on whether he will be an AFL midfielder in the long term, some might argue he will only be a HFF. Whether that concern is real or not, I believe Cotchin is too good to overlook.

Will add more later.

LukeHodge15
1 Nov 2007, 21:54

< Write up to come >
Come on slack arse :p

Lets hear ur spiel :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

TOA.
1 Nov 2007, 22:00
But I'm tired :p

Ok, I'll do it now.

Gilly1972
1 Nov 2007, 22:03
geez, you could do Cotch off the top of your head couldn't you?? Think of a box, he ticks it :p

LukeHodge15
1 Nov 2007, 22:05
geez, you could do Cotch off the top of your head couldn't you?? Think of a box, he ticks it :p

LOL.

1. Cotchin
2. Daylight
3. Rest of the Crop of 2007

Gilly1972
1 Nov 2007, 22:09
LOL.

1. Cotchin
2. Daylight
3. Rest of the Crop of 2007

Are you mocking me Hodgey? :p

Do you want me to do a results thread like last year so we can see the results without having to wade through all the cr@p and sledging? ;)

LukeHodge15
1 Nov 2007, 22:11
Are you mocking me Hodgey? :p

Do you want me to do a results thread like last year so we can see the results without having to wade through all the cr@p and sledging? ;)

Nah Mate, Thats where it sits for me. Whoever passes on Cotchin will rue the day.

P.S. And that Daylight is a hell of a player as well. :p

sinepari
1 Nov 2007, 22:43
Should we have seperate threads?

sinepari
1 Nov 2007, 23:08
Let's hope Megladon notices he's up first thing in the morning.

I'll obviously be at work tomorrow but I'm sure I can circumvent the IT access restrictions and post my selection if need be :D

boms
1 Nov 2007, 23:36
The 2 Northern Knights boys go 1 and 2

megladon
2 Nov 2007, 02:29
PICK 3 WEST COAST RHYS PALMER (EAST FREMANTLE)
DOB 13.2.89 180cm 76kg Midfield
Couldn't have been more impressive at 18s champs, played well at league level all year and took another step up after the 18s carnival, not yet a leader but has a fearless attitude and a natural bravado that lifts team mates.
MOST READY of all the midfielders to play AFL, runs all day, knows how to find space, excellent disposal and in a side that has good in and under players but has lost it's 2 breakaway players will fill that gap, can leave himself open and may get sorted early but should mature into a hard working high effective possession player. May be breaking the rules of best player available but certainly influenced by the loss of Judd and Cousins.

DreamBrother
2 Nov 2007, 03:18
ohh mixing things up a bit there megladon, would've expected Masten.
Still, happy with palmer and a very accurate write-up :thumbsu:

Bloods boy from the Bush
2 Nov 2007, 09:40
Gilly arent you being a bit hasty refering to the Kangaroos as Gold Coast in the results thread. They're not there yet.

Gilly1972
2 Nov 2007, 10:15
Gilly arent you being a bit hasty refering to the Kangaroos as Gold Coast in the results thread. They're not there yet.

Just having a bit of fun mate :p

samthemanlonergan
2 Nov 2007, 10:17
Just having a bit of fun mate :p

Where are they posting their reasoning for each pick?

Gilly1972
2 Nov 2007, 10:26
Think Craig Cameron will be licking his chops if Nov 24 goes like this:

Pick #4 - Cale Morton (Claremont) - 192cms, 79kg.

Cale is a tall outside utility with plenty of class and elite disposal. He had an outstanding 2007 U18 carnival capped off by winning the Larke medal and gaining AA selection. He is a utility in the old-fashioned sense of the word in that he doesn’t seem to really be ideally suited to any one position on the field but could be effective in a variety of roles. Have often read him described as being outside which is a fair comment, however as we know a football side requires a mix of inside ball-winners and outside finishers. Foot skills are good off the left and elite off the right.

Athletically, he is quick for his height, moves like a gazelle, and has elite endurance, and is very good overhead.....capable of drifting forward and kicking goals.

Merv
2 Nov 2007, 10:26
Nice pick megladon and your right he would be an excellent choice for W/C, as he would be for most teams.

Hoping we pick him up in the real thing

megladon
2 Nov 2007, 10:40
ohh mixing things up a bit there megladon, would've expected Masten.
Still, happy with palmer and a very accurate write-up :thumbsu:

Don't disagree, just a few question marks on Maston's disposal and ability to get clear, no doubt he will get plenty of the ball at AFL level, was dead set toss of the coin

LukeHodge15
2 Nov 2007, 10:43
Love the Palmer selection Megladon, Have Palmer 15 Spots higher in my Rankings than Masten. But it seems im on my own on here in saying Masten has some flaws in his game that could see him slide this year.

sydney eagle
2 Nov 2007, 10:46
Fremantle fans seem to be very hot for Palmer. I think they'd be a bit miffed if the eagles snaffle him early in the draft.

LukeHodge15
2 Nov 2007, 10:58
Can we get someone to sticky Gillys thread for the results of the Phantom.

Cheers Mods :p:thumbsu:

Will.B.Worth.Da.Waite
2 Nov 2007, 12:28
Can Morton be described as a Chad Cornes type of player?

Gilly1972
2 Nov 2007, 12:56
Can Morton be described as a Chad Cornes type of player?

I think Cornes has a bit more natural aggression to his game and is more able to hold down a KP. Morton I think more of a taller, more naturally talented Birchall type.

Will.B.Worth.Da.Waite
2 Nov 2007, 13:03
^ cheers

mjp
2 Nov 2007, 13:49
Pick 5 Western Bulldogs select:

David Gourdis
193cm 88kg
Subiaco Footy Club

Mobile key position forward#1 in this draft for the 'Dogs. Lead-up forward who has a very strong work ethic and (as draft camp results showed) elite speed off the mark. Good below his knees and an excellent kick, his biggest strength is his seemingly inate ability to know 'when' to lead and 'where' to lead too.

A few other contenders at this spot, but lead up forwards are becoming critical to run and carry midfields (sound familiar), and with Gourdis in the side a target will be there for the asking.

*Might* be capable of playing senior footy in 2008, however expect to spend the majority of the year learning at Williamstown.

LukeHodge15
2 Nov 2007, 13:57
Pick 06 - Essendon ------ Foj1

Pick 07 - Fremantle ------ Sinepri

Pick 08 - Brisbane ------- Quigley

Pick 09 - Saint Kilda ----- VicCrow

Pick 10 - Adelaide ------- Thunderstruck

Pick 11 - Swans --------- Grub29

Pick 12 - Hawthorn ------ LukeHodge15

Pick 13 - West Coast ---- Megladon

Pick 14 - Melbourne ----- Gilly1972

Pick 15 - Kangaroos ----- Pykie

Pick 16 - Port Adelaide -- Snoop

Pick 17 - Geelong ------- Diablo14

scooter600x
2 Nov 2007, 14:15

David Gourdis
193cm 88kg
Subiaco Footy Club

Mobile key position forward#1 in this draft for the 'Dogs. Lead-up forward who has a very strong work ethic and (as draft camp results showed) elite speed off the mark. Good below his knees and an excellent kick, his biggest strength is his seemingly inate ability to know 'when' to lead and 'where' to lead too.

A few other contenders at this spot, but lead up forwards are becoming critical to run and carry midfields (sound familiar), and with Gourdis in the side a target will be there for the asking.

*Might* be capable of playing senior footy in 2008, however expect to spend the majority of the year learning at Williamstown.

Very happy with the selection and it will make the phantom draft more interesting as well.

megladon
2 Nov 2007, 14:18

David Gourdis
193cm 88kg
Subiaco Footy Club

Thought he would slide to late round 2, is very much a contested possession player who has relied on athletic ability and very good ball skills thus far, if he steps up his work rate. finds more space and adds 10 uncontested possies to his game could develop into anything.
Still a bit high for mine.

mjp
2 Nov 2007, 14:32
Thought he would slide to late round 2, is very much a contested possession player who has relied on athletic ability and very good ball skills thus far, if he steps up his work rate. finds more space and adds 10 uncontested possies to his game could develop into anything.
Still a bit high for mine.

Yeah. Fair enough I guess.

I have a few talls on very similar footing at the moment, and went with foot-skills and running ability over someone like Henderson who I guess is a more traditional type key forward and McEvoy who is taller but also offers a ruck option. Grant was the other one I really considered here (I got him in the trial) but it is tendency to choose when he goes that worries me - talented boy though.

HBF
2 Nov 2007, 14:43

David Gourdis
193cm 88kg
Subiaco Footy Club

Wow. The first real surprise of the PD. Not that the 'doggies went tall, but the tall that you selected mjp. I respect your decision as I know what you are talking about, however, I thought there might have been a couple more talls that you might have gone with.

HBF
2 Nov 2007, 14:45
I think Cornes has a bit more natural aggression to his game and is more able to hold down a KP. Morton I think more of a taller, more naturally talented Birchall type.

Fantastic assesment of Morton there Gilly.
I've been saying since the champs that Morton could turn into a Cornes type, minus the aggression of course, however, I think you have been able to describe him perfectly.

TOA.
2 Nov 2007, 14:59
Fantastic assesment of Morton there Gilly.
I've been saying since the champs that Morton could turn into a Cornes type, minus the aggression of course, however, I think you have been able to describe him perfectly.

The Birchall comparision doesnt sit entirely well with me. I dont think it does Morton justice in terms of his ability to play anywhere. Morton could play wing, HFF, forward pocket aswell as that third defender type. Morton has an awesome engine, he would be completely wasted playing off half back IMO. He would riot on a big ground like Subi where he is given a free reign to play wing and given a licence to push forward and back.

And while I know its a big call, but if anyone was going to become Goodes like, then this kid would have to be a chance. Obviously a very long way to go and needs to harden up afew aspects of his game but if he develops alot, I think he's a chance.

I'm also not entirely ruling out him playing as a push up forward type on the bigger ground ala Hansen or Tarrant. He doesnt have contested marking ability but neither do those 2. It would take advantage of his height, pace and endurance at least. Not to mention you'd love him kicking to your forwards leading from the goalsquare.

Gilly1972
2 Nov 2007, 15:06
Player comparisons are fraught with danger....if you want to be nitpicky enough you can break down any of them. It was more in a visual, athletic sense than anything.....it doesn't do Morton's versatility justice, agreed.

Pykie
2 Nov 2007, 16:09
The Birchall comparision doesnt sit entirely well with me. I dont think it does Morton justice in terms of his ability to play anywhere. Morton could play wing, HFF, forward pocket aswell as that third defender type. Morton has an awesome engine, he would be completely wasted playing off half back IMO. He would riot on a big ground like Subi where he is given a free reign to play wing and given a licence to push forward and back.

And while I know its a big call, but if anyone was going to become Goodes like, then this kid would have to be a chance. Obviously a very long way to go and needs to harden up afew aspects of his game but if he develops alot, I think he's a chance.

I'm also not entirely ruling out him playing as a push up forward type on the bigger ground ala Hansen or Tarrant. He doesnt have contested marking ability but neither do those 2. It would take advantage of his height, pace and endurance at least. Not to mention you'd love him kicking to your forwards leading from the goalsquare.

Jesse Smith type.

sinepari
2 Nov 2007, 16:12
lads I'll be home within 2 hours so if my pick comes up, I'll defiitely be taking it within a few hours.

Nice progress so far.

badius
2 Nov 2007, 16:33
lads I'll be home within 2 hours so if my pick comes up, I'll defiitely be taking it within a few hours.

Nice progress so far.

Seems your Friday night's sorted then.

Sezzac1
2 Nov 2007, 16:41

Tigers are stoked to snare who we rate as the best player in the draft.

Hey haven't you stolen the standard line from the Bombers spokesperson on Draft Day even when they have pick #10 ;)

Gilly1972
2 Nov 2007, 16:45

Hey haven't you stolen the standard line from the Bombers spokesperson on Draft Day even when they have pick #10 ;)

I think on this occasion he can be excused as he is on the money :D

TOA.
2 Nov 2007, 16:47

Couldnt resist throwing in that classic draft day cliche :p

TOA.
2 Nov 2007, 16:49
Player comparisons are fraught with danger....if you want to be nitpicky enough you can break down any of them. It was more in a visual, athletic sense than anything.....it doesn't do Morton's versatility justice, agreed.

I wasnt having a go at you Gilly. That vent has been held up inside me for afew weeks. Had to say it, and it just so happened to come out in response to your post.

sinepari
2 Nov 2007, 16:49
Seems your Friday night's sorted then.

Yes it is, thanks for caring. Fortunately it has nothing to do with BF.

I'm in Perth.

foj1
2 Nov 2007, 18:13
Pick 6 Essendon David Myers 190cm 85kg Perth

My rationale is simple- best player available and this bloke is a ripper. Carries the ball, runs the line, quick enough, superb reader of the play but most importantly an A1 kick. We could use him running off half back or my preference is having striding up and down the wing. We need to draft as many players as possible who could be A graders as all of ours are over 30 and this bloke should develop into a terrific footballer. The only other player I considered with this pick was Brad Ebert.

Merv
2 Nov 2007, 18:20
Nice pick foj.

Would certainly be a good fit for us and you're right, some guys that can kick the ball are a requirement.

sinepari has lost his love child :D

Schmick
2 Nov 2007, 18:22

My rationale is simple- best player available and this bloke is a ripper. Carries the ball, runs the line, quick enough, superb reader of the play but most importantly an A1 kick. We could use him running off half back or my preference is having striding up and down the wing. We need to draft as many players as possible who could be A graders as all of ours are over 30 and this bloke should develop into a terrific footballer. The only other player I considered with this pick was Brad Ebert.
Nice choice :thumbsu:. I was expecting you to pick him up here, terrific player. Hopefully we get him in the real thing.

sinepari
2 Nov 2007, 18:30
Pick 7: Fremantle Dockers - Chris MASTEN, East Fremantle

I've been a big fan of Chris for some years now and I'm very happy to be able to select him with selection 7. Captained W.A to the Under 18's title & has terrific leadership potential. Masten is a true ball winning rover who believes he can out-run any opponent due to his athletic background. Fantastic awareness and composure compensate for a slight weakness in disposal - which most certainly isn't as paramount as often led to believe on BF.

Freo need a gut running, clearance king. Masten provides that and will bring an awesome work ethic to the club. IMO probably the best player available at this stage of the draft.

TOA.
2 Nov 2007, 18:39
Pick 7: Fremantle Dockers - Chris MASTEN, East Fremantle

I've been a big fan of Chris for some years now and I'm very happy to be able to select him with selection 7. Captained W.A to the Under 18's title & has terrific leadership potential. Masten is a true ball winning rover who believes he can out-run any opponent due to his athletic background. Fantastic awareness and composure compensate for a slight weakness in disposal - which most certainly isn't as paramount as often led to believe on BF.

Freo need a gut running, clearance king. Masten provides that and will bring an awesome work ethic to the club. IMO probably the best player available at this stage of the draft.

Freo would be stoked with that. Phil Smart will be doing cartwheels across the floor in front of Vlad.

sinepari
2 Nov 2007, 18:40
Freo would be stoked with that. Phil Smart will be doing cartwheels across the floor in front of Vlad.

The thing is... I probably would've taken Myers. That would have pissed some Freo fans off:D

pinkus maximus
2 Nov 2007, 18:43
i will cream my pants if we get masten

hopefully the real thing pans out this way

Hislop200
2 Nov 2007, 19:04

Fair enough but Ebert I think would offer the same and more.

megladon
2 Nov 2007, 19:07

Great pick foj had Myers selected and written up at 3 but had to add to a depleted midfield. Apart from his footy skills is a top young man and everything a club would hope for

DreamBrother
2 Nov 2007, 19:24
Nice to see 5 west aussies in the top 7.
hopefully Rance will go at 8.