View Full Version : Thoughts on the Swans' draw...?

thesting
26 Oct 2007, 11:57
http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/0,21985,%2020642285-5011420,00.html

We play both grand finalists twice, our West Australian trip is against the Eagles again (we always seem to play them there and Freo at home).

On the plus side, we have two Canberra "away" games, and we don't have to play Adelaide at AAMI (maybe we will just pop up and beat them for once...:D).

J-swan
26 Oct 2007, 12:13
Four games at the Dome, chalk those as loses.....

CharlieG
26 Oct 2007, 12:52
Only one game at the MCG is very annoying.

It's a tough draw - we play each of Geelong, Port Adelaide, West Coast and Collingwood twice. Even the non-finalist teams that we play aren't going to be easybeats - St Kilda, Brisbane and Bulldogs.

We don't have a nice travelling schedule either. Of our nine games outside Sydney and Canberra, we go to SUbiaco to play West Coast, Football Park to play Port, Kardinia Park to play Geelong, the MCG to play Hawthorn, the Gabba to play Brisbane and Docklands to play North, Collingwood and St Kilda. Only Carlton at Docklands is a game that I'd be confident of winning ahead of the season.

About the only positive is that we'll do very well financially playing West COast, Essendon, Collingwood and Geelong at Stadium Australia. All in all, not a good draw for us.

Tuco
26 Oct 2007, 13:28
Geelong, Collingwood, WC and Essendon all at Telstra Stadium - which is an extra home and away game at that ground - looks pretty good to me. Looks like we'll have a few blockbusters this year in Sydney. :thumbsu:

RUNVS
26 Oct 2007, 15:30
Why does the AFL hate us. Playing West Coast Collingwood and Geelong twice isnt going to be easy. At least we have a good record against Port but its still a very hard draw.

rancidpants13
26 Oct 2007, 16:13
Why does the AFL hate us. Playing West Coast Collingwood and Geelong twice isnt going to be easy. At least we have a good record against Port but its still a very hard draw.

who cares what our draw is? we play who we play, if 'were going to be good enough to contend we'll be good enough to win the games we should win....i know that sounds almost childlike in terms of a simple argument, but it does not matter what happens, come finals time, if we're up there, there'll be someone whingeing about us ... it's become a tradition, especially among the vic club fans, but then, there'll ALWAYS be vic fans complaining about us and the other non-vic clubs

chalbilto
26 Oct 2007, 17:53
who cares what our draw is? we play who we play, if 'were going to be good enough to contend we'll be good enough to win the games we should win....i know that sounds almost childlike in terms of a simple argument, but it does not matter what happens, come finals time, if we're up there, there'll be someone whingeing about us ... it's become a tradition, especially among the vic club fans, but then, there'll ALWAYS be vic fans complaining about us and the other non-vic clubs

Spot on:thumbsu:

natlovestheswans
26 Oct 2007, 18:02
I got the games i wanted, so i'm very happy.

ssfc0203
26 Oct 2007, 18:04
I don't know if I was the only one, but I love our draw.
It allows us to play all the teams we need to play to get fired up early on, and makes us play awesome teams twice.
Don't know about anyone else, but i'm looking forward to a season of good, hard footy.
Only downside with the amazing blockbuster games is they're at Telstra (nice on the outside, concrete tomb on the inside) would've loved to play Geelong at the SCG, create that 2005 atmosphere again.

But I'm not missing the Geelong game for ANYTHING!
Barteeeeeeeeeelll :D

natlovestheswans
26 Oct 2007, 18:09
I'm so excited about our afternoon game at Telstra Stadium, it'll be fun!

ssfc0203
26 Oct 2007, 18:31
I'm so excited about our afternoon game at Telstra Stadium, it'll be fun!

The concrete shell?
I hate the place, but the blockbuster appeal is attractive & its only 10 mins drivee away so i should be a bit happier.
Takes me about an hour to get to the SCG, but i absolutely love those games :)

natlovestheswans
26 Oct 2007, 18:34
The concrete shell?
I hate the place, but the blockbuster appeal is attractive & its only 10 mins drivee away so i should be a bit happier.
Takes me about an hour to get to the SCG, but i absolutely love those games :)

I used to hate Telstra but i'm actually starting to like it a little more these days. The SCG will always be my favourite place to watch the footy though.

lotto
26 Oct 2007, 18:44
I think the first half a dozen games could really make or break our season, some tough games first up for us... especially considering that we are generally pretty slow starters

ssfc0203
26 Oct 2007, 19:10
especially considering that we are generally pretty slow starters

I've been a bit suss about that too, but im hoping the elevated standard of the first half of the season will help us to get a little fired up.

snappy
26 Oct 2007, 20:58
7 games @ the SCG
4 @ Telstra
2 @ Manuka
not that bad really..
& im with Rancid on this one, we play who we play, if were good enough it dont matter..

GCB85
26 Oct 2007, 22:09
Would like to hear from other Melbourne based Swans fans but i'm pretty filthy about the draw we have for down here. Will still buy a membership but we play Geelong down there again ( fully ticketed) Collingwood at the dome (will probably be fully ticketed), if Carlton actually perform that could be fully ticketed as might the first round against StKilda. Essentially a worst case scenario but we could be paying for a membership where we will have to pay more to guarantee seats in four out of 6 games.

GCB85
26 Oct 2007, 22:42
Upon closer inspection i have also discovered that we will treated to only 8 games free to air, four of which are games in melbourne. Yes thats correct....four free to air games. How generous.

RUNVS
26 Oct 2007, 22:43
Upon closer inspection i have also discovered that we will treated to only 8 games free to air, four of which are games in melbourne. Yes thats correct....four free to air games. How generous.

Yes i feel sorry for the Melbourne Swans fans are that isnt a very high number.

GCB85
26 Oct 2007, 22:48
i know they can't please everyone, but boy it seems we got a rough end of the tv deal this year. Considering that it was the getting footy into nsw focus that pushed the price of the tv right deal up you'd think they would be a bit more kind. Lookslike it's heading to the pub most weekends next year.....this is going to cost a fortune!!!!!

is2SWaNz
27 Oct 2007, 11:18
Overall, its good but its a bit sad that we only get to play at the MCG once cos I was planning to go down there a few times if they played on Saturday afternoons... well there goes my plan.

But, having said that, looking at the last few rounds of the season we are generally playing at home. More games at Telstra is quite good and I could hardly wait until the Essendon game on Sunday Arvo. The last time we played at TS in the arvo was against the Lions, beat them by like 80+ points. :thumbsu:

Mick Oxlong
27 Oct 2007, 20:22
Us bloods must be the hookers of the AFL broadcasters...'cos we've been funked over yet again!:mad:

chalbilto
27 Oct 2007, 20:50
With regards to the actual draw I hope that we don't have many channel 10 broadcasts as I personally cant stand the anti-swans, pro Victorian commentary especially of Tim Lane & Stephen Quartermain. Unfortunately we don't have the best, Dennis Commetti, commentating us as we don't have any Friday night games.:(

is2SWaNz
27 Oct 2007, 21:50
With regards to the actual draw I hope that we don't have many channel 10 broadcasts as I personally cant stand the anti-swans, pro Victorian commentary especially of Tim Lane & Stephen Quartermain. Unfortunately we don't have the best, Dennis Commetti, commentating us as we don't have any Friday night games.:(

I quite like those two, including Anthony Hudson. As long as Robert Walls doesn't commentate I'll be fine.

GCB85
29 Oct 2007, 21:07

Quarters is one of the very few that is quite happy to ride the bloods bandwagon so i have no worries with him. Lane and Walls are both tools.

thesting
30 Oct 2007, 09:28

The new TV deal screwed us here. When 9 had the Sunday games, we used to always play the 1:10 game on Sunday so 9 could use it to lead into the League telecast in Sydney. Now, we still play a few of those games, but they are Fox games. IMO, the current TV deal stinks big time for Swans fans in Melbourne, at least Sydney fans will get them all free to air.

I don't have the draw in front of me so I am going from memory, but I think we also have some 2:10 Sunday games this year, which means we will get a go on Channel 7, it will be interesting to see how they cover our games.

Bottom line, TV coverage stinks for Melbouirne based Swans fans who do not have Fox. I have just signed up for Foxtel, and I must admit that they fact that the Swans are stuck with so many games on Fox played a big part in that decision...

thesting
30 Oct 2007, 09:31

I quite like those two, including Anthony Hudson. As long as Robert Walls doesn't commentate I'll be fine.

I like Anthony Hudson and Stephen Quartermain, but Tim Lane and Robert Walls are starting to drive me nuts, their personal opinions are so clear through their commentary. I remember hearing Anthony Huson (Geelong fan if anyone does not know) calling "the" Geelong semi in 2005, and I thought he did a great job considering he must have been personally devastated at seeing the team he follows get eliminated in such a way.

MalceskiFan
30 Oct 2007, 12:51
i know they can't please everyone, but boy it seems we got a rough end of the tv deal this year. Considering that it was the getting footy into nsw focus that pushed the price of the tv right deal up you'd think they would be a bit more kind. Lookslike it's heading to the pub most weekends next year.....this is going to cost a fortune!!!!!

:D 2-3 afternoons at the pub each month is going to cost a lot more than pay tv does.

The main thing that pisses me off every year is that the AFL allows two opposition teams to play their home games outside of Victoria thus robbing us of an extra couple of games.