View Full Version : If Cousins was to have interviews at St. Kilda...

Inside Goss
26 Oct 2007, 14:24
Robert Harvey should sit in through the whole interview process, he should have significant say in Cousins' worth as a person and player around the club, and Cousins should spend at least 1 hour talking to Harvey one on one and be taught a leson on how to be a role model, be disciplined and get the most out of himself, Harvey should also set strict guidelines for Cousins to adhere to. If Harvey likes what he hears, then, and only then should St. Kilda consider picking him up...

dan warna
26 Oct 2007, 14:30
Robert Harvey should sit in through the whole interview process, he should have significant say in Cousins' worth as a person and player around the club, and Cousins should spend at least 1 hour talking to Harvey one on one and be taught a leson on how to be a role model, be disciplined and get the most out of himself, Harvey should also set strict guidelines for Cousins to adhere to. If Harvey likes what he hears, then, and only then should St. Kilda consider picking him up...

yep and cousins has been SOOOO good at stick to guidelines before!

what makes you think legend like harvey can turn cousins when WCE legends, woosha, his own dad, and his former long term GF couldn't do anything about it.

what makes you even think he would respect harvey?

johnnyhoward
26 Oct 2007, 15:42
Put him on a base wage (how much would that be these days anyway?) Wouldn't mind if we got him, but imagine having him and Gardiner at the same club, it would be suicide.

SS_Fury
26 Oct 2007, 15:44
putting all these conditions on cousins is funny...you dont think thats been tried before?
I do recall harvey and cuz having an altercation a year or two ago after a game too - and its rare to see harvey riled up

Jesbo
26 Oct 2007, 17:09
Decent idea that if it did happen harvey should have a lot of say but Harvs i way to modest he would not want that pressure of a success or failure of Cousins returning to AFL. He would decline the offer from the saints this is the difference between Harvey and Hird and Buckley.

St DAC
26 Oct 2007, 19:53
putting all these conditions on cousins is funny...you dont think thats been tried before?
I do recall harvey and cuz having an altercation a year or two ago after a game too - and its rare to see harvey riled up

Actually that was Kerr, not Cousins. Kerr had whacked Harves in the belly, and Harves had let him know what a pissant he is.

ChrisL#12
26 Oct 2007, 20:14
Don't you think the coaching staff can do the job themselves? Harvey doesn't run the show, just because he's a gun and he's played for 21 years doesn't mean he gets the final say on who comes to the club. He's still a player in a squad of 44 other players, just because of his status, it doesn't make him king of the club.

Inside Goss
26 Oct 2007, 23:50
What i was trying to say with exaggeration if he is good enough for Harvey, he is good enough for me...

Gilbo19
28 Oct 2007, 17:14
What i was trying to say with exaggeration if he is good enough for Harvey, he is good enough for me...
The only player I have ever seen refuse to shake Harvey's hand, he would have to do quite a bit more to be accepted at St.Kilda...
Even if he did come and dominate for us I would still hate him while he did it...

cuttingedge
28 Oct 2007, 17:28
Put him on a base wage (how much would that be these days anyway?) Wouldn't mind if we got him, but imagine having him and Gardiner at the same club, it would be suicide.

As a long suffering stkilda supporter whose watched the afl rape stkilda of players,Lockett,Everitt,Hall etc I wouldnt care who we had as long as we could land a flag, the facts are there would be 2 or 3 players taking social drugs at stkilda, cousins has never been busted for taking them and he has over 20 drug tests, he obviously didnt have a problem when he torched and put us out of the finals.
I think clubs are way to precious,if you can pick Gardiner you can pick cousins
A perfect citizen is not always a good player, if he is available I would lobby the club to pick him, he is a freak and as close to Judd in the AFL as a gamebreaker, nothing to lose by taking. We went backwards this year and with the clarkes,gwilt,macqualter still on our list we need some quality midfielders. Does anyone know what happened to Armitage

Inside Goss
28 Oct 2007, 19:24
The only player I have ever seen refuse to shake Harvey's hand, he would have to do quite a bit more to be accepted at St.Kilda...
Even if he did come and dominate for us I would still hate him while he did it...

Thats why I said it would need HArvey's approval just to be considered. If Harvey said, no, he is a pr*ck of a bloke then so be it, move along, but if Harvey was satisfied with how Cousins presented himself then why not consider him?

Modra93
28 Oct 2007, 19:37
As a long suffering stkilda supporter whose watched the afl rape stkilda of players,Lockett,Everitt,Hall etc I wouldnt care who we had as long as we could land a flag, the facts are there would be 2 or 3 players taking social drugs at stkilda, cousins has never been busted for taking them and he has over 20 drug tests, he obviously didnt have a problem when he torched and put us out of the finals.
I think clubs are way to precious,if you can pick Gardiner you can pick cousins
A perfect citizen is not always a good player, if he is available I would lobby the club to pick him, he is a freak and as close to Judd in the AFL as a gamebreaker, nothing to lose by taking. We went backwards this year and with the clarkes,gwilt,macqualter still on our list we need some quality midfielders. Does anyone know what happened to Armitage

Nah i got no idea what happened to armitage.. I mean he had a terrible year. I expected huge things and he didnt deliver. He was lucky to stay on the list ahead of Watts I reckon. I mean seriously, if they dont perform to Joel Selwoods level whats the point of playing kids. Who else is joining the DELIST ARMITAGE BANDWAGON

does anyone know why fools like cuttingedge that obviously have no football knowledge at all come on these forums for? I mean seriously, asking what happened to a 19 year old kid in his first year of AFL/VFL football.. idiot

cuttingedge
29 Oct 2007, 12:01
Nah i got no idea what happened to armitage.. I mean he had a terrible year. I expected huge things and he didnt deliver. He was lucky to stay on the list ahead of Watts I reckon. I mean seriously, if they dont perform to Joel Selwoods level whats the point of playing kids. Who else is joining the DELIST ARMITAGE BANDWAGON

does anyone know why fools like cuttingedge that obviously have no football knowledge at all come on these forums for? I mean seriously, asking what happened to a 19 year old kid in his first year of AFL/VFL football.. idiot

Idiot, mate you took my comment and did a Mike Sheahan, I rarely get time to see stkilda or springvale as I am heavily involved at local level footy Armitage was drafted and quoted to be a ready made mid fielder at pick 8 or 9,he hardly played and didnt get much VFL recognition, is he injured or unlucky, Im hoping he fires so we dont waste a pick like we have on McAulter.Never mentioned delisting or trading , I just assumed that the people on hear who go every week would know something, forgive for assuming this

Buckster
29 Oct 2007, 12:20
Actually that was Kerr, not Cousins. Kerr had whacked Harves in the belly, and Harves had let him know what a pissant he is.

na mate - there was an incident with cousins aswell. they were trash talking each other and wouldnt shake hands - it was a night game.
you might be right with Kerr aswell - but cousins and harvey did have a run in!

Cousins hasnt played his last AFL game!

Modra93
29 Oct 2007, 14:35
Idiot, mate you took my comment and did a Mike Sheahan, I rarely get time to see stkilda or springvale as I am heavily involved at local level footy Armitage was drafted and quoted to be a ready made mid fielder at pick 8 or 9,he hardly played and didnt get much VFL recognition, is he injured or unlucky, Im hoping he fires so we dont waste a pick like we have on McAulter.Never mentioned delisting or trading , I just assumed that the people on hear who go every week would know something, forgive for assuming this

He was never mentioned in delisting or trading because:

1. Unless your Freo you don't EVER delist first year players taken in the national draft that have potential

2. He is seen as a long term stkilda player, he is 19 for christ sake.

Just because he has been quoted as a ready made player doesn't mean he is ready. AFL football is a lot faster and stronger than the QAFL. Everyone like to get a little bit ahead of themselves about their draft crop each year and tell themselves there more developed than they actually are.

You have got to have a little bit of knowledge about List Management before you start talkin about trading and delisting, you cant just delist 5 blokes because you reckon they havent performed because unless you can get 5 better players it's not improving your list. When it comes to young players you MUST realise that they take a while to develop and that if they have shown promise they will not be given away.

Squizzy1970
29 Oct 2007, 15:34

Bit harsh "Godra". The club did plump them up to the media when they were drafted, and then embarrased him and Howard by playing them too early. Armitage has a little bit of Luke Hodge about him, so hopefully he can add that ingredient (extra yard of pace) that Hodge managed to over time.

MacMum
30 Oct 2007, 19:57
Love your idea, and know what you are getting at.....unfortunately for you guys, Harvs is such a gentleman, he would likely hold out his hand and say welcome to our club!!.......No, you guys dont need this scumbag.......and putting him with Gardiner again?..OMG perish the thought!!.....I also think that he should never play AFL again...Trouble with a capital T.. cheers Saints