View Full Version : Expansion Move Kangaroos to Gold Coast and Bulldogs to Sydney

Pages : [1] 2

Memories
26 Oct 2007, 17:54
You really need at least 2 teams in each state to kick off inter state rivalry which in turn influences the support. North Melbourne and Bulldogs are the worst supported clubs in Melbourne so make the best candidates to be moved. It's the only reason, so please don't take offense Roos and Dogs supporters. Either move them, or shut them down and start 2 new teams, same result.

It's a bit unfair the way the league is at the moment with most Melbourne clubs barely traveling each year yet all the interstate clubs travel every second week. Plus we all want rugby to die, so moving into their areas and killing it off should be a priority.

Aker39
26 Oct 2007, 17:55
You really need at least 2 teams in each state to kick off inter state rivalry which in turn influences the support. North Melbourne and Bulldogs are the worst supported clubs in Melbourne so make the best candidates to be moved. It's the only reason, so please don't take offense Roos and Dogs supporters. Either move them, or shut them down and start 2 new teams, same result.

It's a bit unfair the way the league is at the moment with most Melbourne clubs barely traveling each year yet all the interstate clubs travel every second week. Plus we all want rugby to die, so moving into their areas and killing it off should be a priority.

Fcuk off

Aristotel
26 Oct 2007, 18:00
Plus we all want rugby to die, so moving into their areas and killing it off should be a priority.

heh,heh..

Sometimes it's o.k.

Memories
26 Oct 2007, 18:03
heh,heh..

Sometimes it's o.k.

Not when it's competing with AFL, it's annoying. It should be made into a summer sport just like cricket so it doesn't interfere with AFL.

kookadog
26 Oct 2007, 18:03
Fcuk off

What he said, but with the u in front of the c.

Aristotel
26 Oct 2007, 18:06
Not when it's competing with AFL, it's annoying. It should be made into a summer sport just like cricket so it doesn't interfere with AFL.

A-League Soccer....

Butane
26 Oct 2007, 18:07
Fcuk off

What he said.

Aristotel
26 Oct 2007, 18:07
Why in the world would that make any difference? Who is going to support a team that was established in 2008.

South Australians?

Memories
26 Oct 2007, 18:08
You Roos and Dogs supporters can swear all you want, problem is there isn't enough of you swearing is there? Time to deal with reality and help out AFL, take one for the team, the team being AFL.

Memories
26 Oct 2007, 18:10
Why in the world would that make any difference? Who is going to support a team that was established in 2008.

Why wouldn't they? The same could be said for the Dockers in 1995, "who will support a club established in 1995".

RUNVS
26 Oct 2007, 18:23

I dont have a probelm with that. Rodney Eade has already coached Sydney so why not Western Sydney :thumbsu:

Tas
26 Oct 2007, 18:27
Can we also move morons to Bay 13? ;)

RUNVS
26 Oct 2007, 18:29
Can we also move morons to Bay 13? ;)

Why. It is perfectly possible that the Kanagroo's will move the the Gold Coast and the Bulldogs to Western Sydney.

retroparty
26 Oct 2007, 18:33
You can't just say to 2 clubs that they have to have their bags packed by tommorow and move their club elsewhere. The Roos have been pressured for a while but the dogs will be in melbourne for at least another 15 years, if not more.

TheBrownDog
26 Oct 2007, 18:33
Moving the Kangaroos to the Gold Coast isn't going to make Brisbane people automatically hate them.

If anything, we'll feel sorry for their supporters for having to see their club relocate. And resentful that our market has been butchered.

My hatred will be reserved for the AFL.

greennick
26 Oct 2007, 18:36
Why. It is perfectly possible that the Kanagroo's will move the the Gold Coast and the Bulldogs to Western Sydney.
More than possible, the AFL is gunning for it

bellzy
26 Oct 2007, 18:36
Firstly, Melbourne's fan base is generally lower than the Doggies'.
Senond, why would the two teams in the league with the lowest membership be a good thing? Kangaroos had a higher membership total than Brisbane this year...put two and two together.

wotdude25
26 Oct 2007, 19:05
Dogs are generally safe. We were close to the membership figures of carlton and geelong this year and further ahead than sydney, brisbane, kangaroos and melbourne. We are actually better off than you think, this thread is very insulting to all involved with the FOOTSCRAY footbal club and the NORTH MELBOUNE football club.

Running Dog
26 Oct 2007, 19:07
Why wouldn't they? The same could be said for the Dockers in 1995, "who will support a club established in 1995".

Are you asking us to assess the calibre of the average Fremantle supporter?! Happy to oblige, if that's what you really want.

I wouldn't feel so smug if I were you. Do you not remember why Fremantle was granted a licence? Everyone knows it was to dilute the influence of the Eagles, nothing more.

Go forth and multiply. No, on second thoughts...

ARDENSTREETforever
26 Oct 2007, 19:39
We should relocate Fremantle.
Off the planet.
Worst Club in the AFL.
Ever.
'Spastic Club'.

AndyD
26 Oct 2007, 19:47
My god what an original thread. You have such ground breaking and never before heard ideas.

ARDENSTREETforever
26 Oct 2007, 20:30
What purpose do the Fremantle Football Club provide to the AFL and its supporters, apart from being a laughing stock??

yioughtta
26 Oct 2007, 20:54
You really need at least 2 teams in each state to kick off inter state rivalry which in turn influences the support.

"Hey man, wanna go to the Broncos-Rabbitohs game tonight?"

"Nah man, there's a new AFL team in town. I'm gonna start following that instead"

"But you've followed the Broncos your whole life. You've always loved rugby. You've always hated AFL the same way they hate NRL"

"Yeah but now theres a rivalry with Brisbane Lions so I want to support the AFL now instead and throw away all my passion for the game I was brought up on"

"Gee now you mention it I feel like I have been converted just like that, too. Who cares that I don't know the rules and think running away from tacklers is ghay. I'm gonna start following AFL too. After all, that's what Andrew Demetriou says will happen and he seems to know alot about things. After all, he said that Sydney would never win a flag back in 2005 and if I know anything about AFL, he was right"

"Exactly man. So lets go to the game between Lions and... whoever it is we suddenly support. Where is the game?"

"Um... the Gabba I think..."

"No I think its at that park-like place. You know... Carrarararara. But I think we have to take umbrellas- that place don't got no shelters"

"Don't worry man- nobody else will be there. We'll sit under the big screen"

"It don't got none of them either"

"Oh..."

BIGBEZ
26 Oct 2007, 21:00
"Hey man, wanna go to the Broncos-Rabbitohs game tonight?"

"Nah man, there's a new AFL team in town. I'm gonna start following that instead"

"But you've followed the Broncos your whole life. You've always loved rugby. You've always hated AFL the same way they hate NRL"

"Yeah but now theres a rivalry with Brisbane Lions so I want to support the AFL now instead and throw away all my passion for the game I was brought up on"

"Gee now you mention it I feel like I have been converted just like that, too. Who cares that I don't know the rules and think running away from tacklers is ghay. I'm gonna start following AFL too. After all, that's what Andrew Demetriou says will happen and he seems to know alot about things. After all, he said that Sydney would never win a flag back in 2005 and if I know anything about AFL, he was right"

"Exactly man. So lets go to the game between Lions and... whoever it is we suddenly support. Where is the game?"

"Um... the Gabba I think..."

"No I think its at that park-like place. You know... Carrarararara. But I think we have to take umbrellas- that place don't got no shelters"

"Don't worry man- nobody else will be there. We'll sit under the big screen"

"It don't got none of them either"

"Oh..."

They sound like stoners!:D

doggies_5
26 Oct 2007, 21:07
Plus we all want Fremantle Football Club to die, so moving into their areas and killing it off should be a priority.

I think more people woul want this

Lidge
26 Oct 2007, 21:10
Fcuk off

The 2 words my club will be telling the AFL in 2 week's time.

ARDENSTREETforever
26 Oct 2007, 21:13

Yes, i hope your right Lidge, but I fear that the AFL might just respond with: "No more funding if you stay in Melbourne"
:(

BIGBEZ
26 Oct 2007, 21:15

Lucky Aylett's gone, hed vote for you to move, wouldnt surprise me if hes behind the push for your club to move now aswell!

yioughtta
26 Oct 2007, 21:42

You'd have to be a stoner to suddenly stop following the sport and team youve always loved, just because there's a new 'rivalry'.

You'd also have to be a stoner to believe this would ever happen.

OP, I'm lookin in your direction...

BIGBEZ
26 Oct 2007, 21:54
You'd have to be a stoner to suddenly stop following the sport and team youve always loved, just because there's a new 'rivalry'.

You'd also have to be a stoner to believe this would ever happen.

OP, I'm lookin in your direction...

I hope for North supporters sake's, your right! Trust me when I say relocating is heart breaking!

Jimmy's Hot Dogs
26 Oct 2007, 22:07
Phew. I get a chance to post in this thread because I missed the other 2,452.

Keep North at Arden Street.

play2win
26 Oct 2007, 22:20
Fcuk off
what he said but replace the 'off' with 'yeah'

gigantor77
26 Oct 2007, 23:21

Yes this is wonderful advice...please lead the way.
Fremantle are the worst supported AFL team in Perth.
So move Fremantle to Darwin....the Darwin Dockers has a nice ring to it.
This will be a great next step to a truly National competition and should stop rugby league from gaining a foothold.

Tas
27 Oct 2007, 00:06
Yeah, we should move and be a half-arsed football club like Freo.

jack lives here
27 Oct 2007, 00:35
[quote=gigantor77;9335316]
So move Fremantle to Darwin....the Darwin Dockers has a nice ring to it.

They may make the finals within 10 years in the nt afl

Cancel the Dockers and West Coasts AFL licences we already have their money.

Relocate Collingwood and Carlton to West Aus instant rivalry

Southport buy the 15th licence and bring back the bye that will make one week tigers fans will feel good on monday.

Next.

Jean Claude Vas Deferens
27 Oct 2007, 00:48

Good one tool... you'd obviously take great solace from seeing the hearts ripped out of the supporters of two grand Melbourne clubs. I cannot understand why fcukheads like you think the way you do. As for the thread starter... go to your local video library. Rent the South Park movie. Skip forward to the bit where Cartman suggests a lewd act to Mr. Mackie through a megaphone. And then do that to me. You obnoxious prick.

Lidge
27 Oct 2007, 01:39
Lucky Aylett's gone, hed vote for you to move, wouldnt surprise me if hes behind the push for your club to move now aswell!

He doesn't own a share and doesn't have a seat on the board. He has zero influence on our future - although his finger prints are all over the current mess.

FWIW - fun times ahead and it's more than a fair chance that the AFL are 5 days away from having a massive shit fight on their hands and having everything blow up in their face.:D

We've been here since 1869 and will be here for many more years to come.

All I can say is don't believe every (or anything) you read in the papers - both Sheehan & Wilson are simply printing AFL prepared propaganda - spoon fed to them daily.

I suggest everyone tunes in Wednesday night after our AGM.

Memories
27 Oct 2007, 03:02
It's funny when Freo has pretty much the dogs and roos member numbers combined and you cry like kids. Go support some other melbourne team which are all the same and say goodbye to your old team. It's partly your fault that the teams are doing so poor membership wise, if you had any friends and family you could have signed them up.

DarwinRoo
27 Oct 2007, 03:10
It's funny when Freo has pretty much the dogs and roos member numbers combined and you cry like kids. Go support some other melbourne team which are all the same and say goodbye to your old team. It's partly your fault that the teams are doing so poor membership wise, if you had any friends and family you could have signed them up.

You know whats funny. In 2007 North Melbourne almost played in as many finals matches as Freo has in their entire history.

FootyJunkie
27 Oct 2007, 03:14

Or Fremantle mascots

RUNVS
27 Oct 2007, 03:15
You know whats funny. In 2007 North Melbourne almost played in as many finals matches as Freo has in their entire history.

On field success is important but off field success is just as important. Fremantle may not be the most successful team on the field but they are reasonably successful in terms of yearly profits.

Memories
27 Oct 2007, 03:17

Yet you're still moving to the GC and your members/crowds are piss poor. How much proof do you need?

DarwinRoo
27 Oct 2007, 03:20
Yet you're still moving to the GC and your members/crowds are piss poor. How much proof do you need?

How about concrete proof.

Enjoy the bare Trophy cabinet. Fremantle are a waste of space.

jack lives here
27 Oct 2007, 03:21
On field success is important but off field success is just as important. Fremantle may not be the most successful team on the field but they are reasonably successful in terms of yearly profits.

no extra player payments for finals games saving a fortune, havent had to buy a trophy cabinet another money saver, very frugal.

NMFC ALWAYS
27 Oct 2007, 03:28

:penjoy Tasmania

Aussie Joe
27 Oct 2007, 04:06
Footscray supporters take it like men.

If the AFL wants you to move, then you are GONE. All they need to do is cut of your yearly charity payment and you are done for.

play2win
27 Oct 2007, 11:10
:penjoy Tasmania
no worries, i do:thumbsu:
even though i live in melb and luv my footy, i don't mind progress and outcomes that i can see are best for the club/team/competition.

Mofra
27 Oct 2007, 11:22
Footscray supporters take it like men.

If the AFL wants you to move, then you are GONE. All they need to do is cut of your yearly charity payment and you are done for.
Actually, we are $2.1m short of the $3.8m compensation (as per the Ernst & Young report) we deserve for our draw & stadium arrangements.

Given the cheating history of your club & the off field "disrepute" Carlton has brought into the game (now a chargeable offence), I think a fresh start would be best for all concerned.

Western Sydney Blues has a ring to it, but you will still be the same side (keeping the same club charter just like South Melbourne) - the Carlton logo would fit nicely on the top of you sock :cool:

Hobdog
27 Oct 2007, 13:32
Do you really think that millions would be spent on the Whitten Oval redevelopment if we were going to be moved or shut down?? I've got an idea, lets shut down Fremantle. They have a crap song, crap uniform and are just plain crap.

Thank You :thumbsu:

yioughtta
27 Oct 2007, 13:33
This message goes out to all the sheeple who would rather listen to biased media 'commentators' than do their own research.

No-one will benefit from a relocation of any club to the Gold Coast.

I've been telling you all to do your own research for a long time now, but since you won't, I'll do it for you. Here's one particular site you might wanna take a look at.

www.goldcoasttruth.org (http://www.goldcoasttruth.org/)

Hawkk
27 Oct 2007, 13:57
This message goes out to all the sheeple who would rather listen to biased media 'commentators' than do their own research.

No-one will benefit from a relocation of any club to the Gold Coast.

I've been telling you all to do your own research for a long time now, but since you won't, I'll do it for you. Here's one particular site you might wanna take a look at.

www.goldcoasttruth.org (http://www.goldcoasttruth.org/)

Its going to happen, whether or not its of benefit to the Kangaroos and game is another thing entirely.

The problem with the current AFL is that they are so pig headed that they will never admit that they were wrong. To date the Gold Coast 'experiment' has been a flop - crowds a poor and membership for both the Lions and Kangaroos is poor, but they will only drive the AFL further to prove the doubters wrong.

I really hope North stay in Melbourne, BUT it will only work in the long term if they can find a long term revenue source outside football. The AFL can't make the Kangaroos do anything - cite the South Sydney/NRL case, but they do have the $$$ clout to control the clubs destiny...they disguise this as the 'CBF'

Find a long term revenue source and the AFL can't bully you into moving anywhere....here is hoping you do.

NimChief
27 Oct 2007, 14:06
enjoy Tasmania
:p
http://www.theaustralian.news.com.au...012432,00.html

More alarming, it has a shrinking supporter base of just 176,000 people, the smallest in the competition.

http://hawthornfc.com.au/Season2007/...x?newsId=47947

We are a club that has in the vicinity of 350,000 supporters and we currently have only around 10 percent of them as members. We need to close that gap.”
Make of that what you will

You ****ing idiot Hawkk.

do your own research, instead of goin by whats said in the papers.

Roy Morgan has never estimated our supporter base to be under 176k. Just pure ****ing tripe ...there's no basis for any such claim:thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd:

Hawkk
27 Oct 2007, 14:12
You ****ing idiot Hawkk.

do your own research, instead of goin by whats said in the papers.

Roy Morgan has never estimated our supporter base to be under 176k. Just pure ****ing tripe ...there's no basis for any such claim:thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd:

I know that, I'm just stirring the pot ;)

In all seriousness, I don't think any genuine supporter would want any club to relocate or merge. Jokes aside I really hope the Kangaroo supports galavanise and save their club, a 2nd QLD team won't be benefitial to the long term survival of the code in QLD...instead of looking to 'trigger happy' another relocation/merger into SEQ, the AFL should be looking to entrench the Lions in SEQ.

35,000 Lions members > 20,000 Lion members + 20,000 Kangaroos members...

Papa G
27 Oct 2007, 15:26
Doggies are safe. Fcuk Melbourne off.

flamethrower
27 Oct 2007, 16:45

Since when did your pack of losers have nearly 60,000 members???

Even the real football club from Perth don't have that many.

yioughtta
28 Oct 2007, 18:20
On field success is important but off field success is just as important.

MMMHMMMM.

That's why at the end of every season they award the traditional 'Premiership Flag' to the Grand Final Winner, but also a just-as-important 'Highest Profit Margin' Flag to whichever club makes the most money for the previous financial year.

Just looking back at all of the previous HPM Flag winners brings back so many memories...

walhawk
30 Oct 2007, 12:51
There is already a team in Western Sydney called the Bulldogs.
They are one of the biggest NRL clubs.

Kangaroos are a better fit for Sydney.
New team for Gold Coast.

Melbourrne & Bulldogs to merge.
Clash of demographics but similar jumpers.
Melbourne Bulldogs - train at Footscray. Wear similar jumper to Bulldogs with a darker blue and red socks.

catters05
30 Oct 2007, 12:59

Dogs just need a flag.

Anthony_
30 Oct 2007, 13:14

Actually the Dogs have better support then Demons Purple boy....try again.

incubi
30 Oct 2007, 13:36

Membership figures would suggest you are quite wrong.
And if you move as to Western Sydney cos they dont have a team, western melbourne wont have a team anymore....

Butane
30 Oct 2007, 13:47
And if you move as to Western Sydney cos they dont have a team, western melbourne wont have a team anymore....

Thats my favourite part.

Lets take the Western Suburbs team of the AFL heartland and move them to the Western Suburbs of a city that doesn't know anything about AFL.

Thats sure to increase membership:thumbsd::D

(Also soccer would rampage through the West so quickly the AFL wouldn't even have time to blink and they would have lost close to 250'000 potential supporters to a rival code)

BC013
30 Oct 2007, 13:52
Membership figures would suggest you are quite wrong.

Exactly.

Why not pick on those much closer bunched teams on the east of Melbourne? Hey, Collingwood, Richmond, St. Kilda, Carlton and Hawthorn are virtually neighbouring suburbs.

Surely no-one would notice if one of them went and that teams supporter can just start barracking for one of the other teams:D

Morons:confused:

yioughtta
30 Oct 2007, 14:00
Thats my favourite part.

Lets take the Western Suburbs team of the AFL heartland and move them to the Western Suburbs of a city that doesn't know anything about AFL.

Thats sure to increase membership:thumbsd::D

(Also soccer would rampage through the West so quickly the AFL wouldn't even have time to blink and they would have lost close to 250'000 potential supporters to a rival code)

I like your logic.

The problem is that oftentimes Demetriou Inc. doesn't seem to have any...

incubi
30 Oct 2007, 14:04
Exactly.

Why not pick on those much closer bunched teams on the east of Melbourne? Hey, Collingwood, Richmond, St. Kilda, Carlton and Hawthorn are virtually neighbouring suburbs.

Surely no-one would notice if one of them went and that teams supporter can just start barracking for one of the other teams:D

Morons:confused:

Or the Demons, low membership and really dont represent any specific area.

whelan=legend
30 Oct 2007, 16:37
Or the Demons, low membership and really dont represent any specific area.
28000 members in our worst year since 99. And at least we wont change our name (unlike some other team) to represent an area. The AFL will never move us because we have too much history to the AFL. Oldest club, founding member, 12 premierships. Where as bulldogs... well 1 premiership, came in in the 30's. No big loss.

The Teflon Dean
30 Oct 2007, 16:41
The AFL will never move us because we have too much history to the AFL. Oldest club, founding member, 12 premierships.

Hilarious.:D

I've got news for you mate, the AFL don't care squat about any of that stuff.:thumbsd:

It's all corporate demographics mate.:thumbsu:

FOOOOTY
30 Oct 2007, 16:44
Not to mention 20k+ MCC Melbourne supporters

incubi
30 Oct 2007, 16:46
28000 members in our worst year since 99. And at least we wont change our name (unlike some other team) to represent an area. The AFL will never move us because we have too much history to the AFL. Oldest club, founding member, 12 premierships. Where as bulldogs... well 1 premiership, came in in the 30's. No big loss.

Lol in the 20's actually, tut tut.
Lol, i think the AFL has shown before they dont care much about club history, look what happened to Fitzroy.

whelan=legend
30 Oct 2007, 16:46
Hilarious.:D

I've got news for you mate, the AFL don't care squat about any of that stuff.:thumbsd:

It's all corporate demographics mate.:thumbsu:Pretty sure they do, AFL want North to go because the club is run shithouse. Seriously what type of club gives their members no say at all?

Even Melbourne has a members advisory panel, where we can vote on stuff like the new logo etc.

Blame it on the shareholders

whelan=legend
30 Oct 2007, 16:47
Lol, i think the AFL has shown before they dont care much about club history, look what happened to Fitzroy.
Fitzroy were in deeper shit then North are atm.

The Teflon Dean
30 Oct 2007, 16:49
Pretty sure they do, AFL want North to go because the club is run shithouse. Seriously what type of club gives their members no say at all?

Even Melbourne has a members advisory panel, where we can vote on stuff like the new logo etc.

Blame it on the shareholders

Good luck mate, but I suggest you start to sleep with the light on.:thumbsu:

Just as a precaution.;)

The Teflon Dean
30 Oct 2007, 16:51

:D

Strangely, I don't remember the AFL protesting about "tradition" when the Dees were set to merge with Hawthorn a few years back.

Shameful AFL, Shameful.:thumbsd::D

incubi
30 Oct 2007, 16:52
Fitzroy were in deeper shit then North are atm.

I was talking about that if north do go who will be under pressure then if anyone, Realisticly the AFL will have too much to worry about with North if they head North then forcing another team to Sydney.

FOOOOTY
30 Oct 2007, 16:54
Good luck mate, but I suggest you start to sleep with the light on.:thumbsu:

Just as a precaution.;)

nah, ill see my ski's and never get to sleep :cool:

incubi
30 Oct 2007, 17:07

Strangely, I don't remember the AFL protesting about "tradition" when the Dees were set to merge with Hawthorn a few years back.

Shameful AFL, Shameful.:thumbsd::D

yes you also have a history of voting for mergers, thats right.

The Teflon Dean
30 Oct 2007, 17:10
yes you also have a history of voting for mergers, thats right.

Careful there, son.

Footscray are on record as stating North as a "logical choice" for a merger.;)

incubi
30 Oct 2007, 17:13
Careful there, son.

Footscray are on record as stating North as a "logical choice" for a merger.;)

Quite different to the members actually voting for it :rolleyes:

The Teflon Dean
30 Oct 2007, 17:20

When did the North members do that?

Please explain.

Woof
30 Oct 2007, 18:11
When did the North members do that?

Please explain.

I believe he refers to the Demons voting in favour of the merger in 1996 only for Hawthorn to vote against the merger after Don Scott rallied the masses with his jumper tearing theatrics.
Why can't everyone just worry about their own clubs? Heaven knows most of us have enough of our own problems without mentioning others'.
I know it might seem funny to some people, particularly to people from newer clubs, to speak of mergers/relocations, but do some reading about the meaning of the Footscray Football Club to it's area and to it's people and all of a sudden you'll see our football club, in fact all football clubs, in a very different light in terms of its value to the community.

World Peace.

whelan=legend
30 Oct 2007, 18:44
Wow 52% what a landslide! 52% isnt even sufficient these days

MightyHawks
30 Oct 2007, 19:43

If Kevin Rudd or John Howard gets 52% of the vote in November then i'd say that it is sufficient to reveal the intentions of the voting public.

What do you reckon?

incubi
30 Oct 2007, 20:11

Still a majority of your fans wanted to merge in a free democratic election.

Dont see Bulldogs fans rolling over like that, complete opposite actually ,we did the near impossible in 1989.

whelan=legend
30 Oct 2007, 20:11
If Kevin Rudd or John Howard gets 52% of the vote in November then i'd say that it is sufficient to reveal the intentions of the voting public.

What do you reckon?
Yes but your kidding yourself if you dont know about how the pro-merger board members where getting all the extra votes from non members, therefore rigging the system.

A fair vote it was not.

whelan=legend
30 Oct 2007, 20:12
Still a majority of your fans wanted to merge in a free democratic election.

Dont see Bulldogs fans rolling over like that, complete opposite actually ,we did the near impossible in 1989.
Yep we just rolled over, didnt hear a yap out of any of the dees fans at all.

SweetLeftFoot
30 Oct 2007, 20:14
Yep we just rolled over, didnt hear a yap out of any of the dees fans at all.

Look son, you were in preps when that happened.

You don't kbnow jack about much, and certainly are not qualified to comment on issues like North's future.

incubi
30 Oct 2007, 20:15
Yes but your kidding yourself if you dont know about how the pro-merger board members where getting all the extra votes from non members, therefore rigging the system.

A fair vote it was not.

yes, a board which would have to have been voted in by the members.

MightyHawks
30 Oct 2007, 20:24

A fair vote it was not.

I know about the Guests furniture dodgy ones, but that didn't make the difference. Was about 100 votes.

whelan=legend
30 Oct 2007, 20:34
Look son, you were in preps when that happened.

You don't kbnow jack about much, and certainly are not qualified to comment on issues like North's future.
Get off your highhorse, i know more about the melbourne - hawthorn merger then you do. Enjoy GC:thumbsu::)

mark73
30 Oct 2007, 21:12
Enjoy GC:thumbsu::)

And the concessions, money and flags that go with it?

43 years isn't it? :o

whelan=legend
30 Oct 2007, 21:15
43 years isn't it? :o
Yep and i will be sitting at the MCG, rain or shine, watching my team MELBOURNE play. Watching MELBOURNE play where they have for 150 years:thumbsu:

weagles
31 Oct 2007, 19:07
You really need at least 2 teams in each state to kick off inter state rivalry

nah...

RUNVS
31 Oct 2007, 19:10
nah...

I dont know. I found the West Coast/Fremantle game back in round 18 extremely entertaining and that was partly due to the fact that it was a WA derby. From what i could tell the atmosphere was terrific.

SCRAY72
31 Oct 2007, 20:21

You could relocate,merge,kill off 2 or 3 Vic clubs and there will always be one constant.
Fremantle will always be shyte.

SCRAY72
31 Oct 2007, 20:37
Yep and i will be sitting at the MCG, rain or shine, watching my team MELBOURNE play. Watching MELBOURNE play where they have for 150 years:thumbsu:

Call it pure economics,market forces,the law of the jungle but if and when the Dogs and North relocate then that will leave MELBOURNE as the poorest,least supported team in VICTORIA with the smallest membership base.

If I were you I wouldn't be such a cold hearted smart arse. With no AFL money and with the whole of Australia covered your only option will be a merger and going on past history your club will be voting YES.

D**khead:thumbsu:

boydsno1
31 Oct 2007, 20:50

get ur facts right we have more members then melbourne.

boydsno1
31 Oct 2007, 20:57

how is 28,000 members poor? and whats the point of moving to sydney who have even less members then we do. **** carlton were in a worse state monhey wise then we were and were only saved by a shifty rich dude. who is to say the bulldogs won't get a guy with money to the club at sometime. plus the dogs i beleive made a profit or expect to this yr. we will be around for a long time.

BIGBEZ
31 Oct 2007, 21:01
how is 28,000 members poor? and whats the point of moving to sydney who have even less members then we do. **** carlton were in a worse state monhey wise then we were and were only saved by a shifty rich dude. who is to say the bulldogs won't get a guy with money to the club at sometime. plus the dogs i beleive made a profit or expect to this yr. we will be around for a long time.

The AFL just pledged a shit load of money to develop the Whitten oval, your not going anywhere soon!:thumbsu:

whelan=legend
31 Oct 2007, 21:02
Call it pure economics,market forces,the law of the jungle but if and when the Dogs and North relocate then that will leave MELBOURNE as the poorest,least supported team in VICTORIA with the smallest membership base.

If I were you I wouldn't be such a cold hearted smart arse. With no AFL money and with the whole of Australia covered your only option will be a merger and going on past history your club will be voting YES.

D**khead:thumbsu:
Theres always going to be a poorest team in victoria, who cares if its us? And since we are making profits in such shit years, with only 6 teams left in vic i think we will remain where we are.

And going on past history our club will be voting 52% in favour of a merger, which these days is a NO.

********:thumbsu:

melbournemartin
31 Oct 2007, 21:02

And how about Fremantle to New Zealand? Think about how you'd react to your club relocating because suggesting it with such ease and disregard.

boydsno1
31 Oct 2007, 21:19
and good to see the afl and australian goverment putting all that money into the redevelopment only for it to become deserted in a few yrs right?