View Full Version : 5 Games In Melbourne -Ordinary
adey115
26 Oct 2007, 20:08
No matter how you pull it apart or argue that the club doesn't have a say etc...
We're a merged team, with strong supporter connections in Melbourne - and there are only 5 Melbourne games scheduled for the season, and the first one is in round 8.
Ordinary. Ordinary. Ordinary.
"Hawthorn president Jeff Kennett told the Mercury yesterday the Lions, Adelaide, Port Adelaide and the Western Bulldogs would all play at Launceston's Aurora Stadium next season.
But it means the Tasmanian Government has not got its wish for a two Victorian and two non-Victorian team split, as it had this year.
Kennett said he asked the same question with the AFL after seeing the 2008 draw draft.
"As I understand it, and I raised that point with them, why haven't we got two Victorian teams," Kennett asked.
"Sydney and Brisbane are both part of that Victorian group.
"They say that because of their history out of Melbourne, with Sydney the old Swans and Brisbane the old Lions, they are considered in that group of Victorian clubs."
On one hand they 'look after us because of the history out of Melbourne" by apparently scheduling us in Tassie, and then shaft us by scheduling only 5 games here.
There's hardly any monetary way of protesting this. Tear up your membership and it hurts the club.... But a membership is hardly worth buying anyway?!
Had a gutful of the AFL again. Frickin turds.
Dylan12
26 Oct 2007, 20:19
Know your pissed Adey but that Tassie game from what i have been told was taken from our interstate quota - agree that we should have 7 in Vic, but if it means we only go to SA and WA once, from a club point of view i would prefer it - i mean Tassie isn't too far and good chance to go somewhere you may not have been before - like me - i will make the journey - flights to Tassie aren't that expensive, but Adey if it wasn't Tassie, would have been another trip to SA/WA my friend. I reckon having to wait until round 8 is a bit rough, but by the year is out the Vic quota will go up by one or two - Warwick won't like that - but on the AFL thread of ladder predictions - most have us in the 8 - so a bit of luck we will get 7 all up - chin up mate, could have been alot worse.
The Flying Belgian
26 Oct 2007, 21:22
There's hardly any monetary way of protesting this.
Write a letter. Start a petition. March in buck naked and sit in the visitors swivel chair in Adrian Anderson'soffice and pull a "Basic Instinct" until he complies.
All of the above would have a greater impact than ranting on an internet forum. But then again a good rant is cleansing for the soul.... Carry on, sir.
Know your pissed Adey but that Tassie game from what i have been told was taken from our interstate quota - agree that we should have 7 in Vic, but if it means we only go to SA and WA once, from a club point of view i would prefer it - i mean Tassie isn't too far and good chance to go somewhere you may not have been before - like me - i will make the journey - flights to Tassie aren't that expensive, but Adey if it wasn't Tassie, would have been another trip to SA/WA my friend. I reckon having to wait until round 8 is a bit rough, but by the year is out the Vic quota will go up by one or two - Warwick won't like that - but on the AFL thread of ladder predictions - most have us in the 8 - so a bit of luck we will get 7 all up - chin up mate, could have been alot worse.
Not counting the Geelong game? I know its not in Melbourne, but you weaken your argument a little. 6 victorian games plus one in tassie, I think there's been a lot worse for the vic supporters.
Dylan12
26 Oct 2007, 22:28
Not counting the Geelong game? I know its not in Melbourne, but you weaken your argument a little. 6 victorian games plus one in tassie, I think there's been a lot worse for the vic supporters.
Weaken what argument? Where did i not count the Geelong game - said we should have had 7 - implying that we obviously have 6 - where did i complain, i live in Melbourne and know it has been worst - so now i am wondering what your point is - will try to dumb my comments down if that helps
Havent we had years recently where we have had 5 games in victoria? I could be wrong but I thought this was one of the few years where afl didnt break the contract of 6 games? Now it would be great to have 10 games in melbourne, then we could sell more melbourne memberships, but surely 6 games with a game not far away in Tassie as a seventh is better than it has been? a step in the right direction? I was actually referring to the original poster not you, apologies for the confusion and I shall quote more carefully next time.
konstas_87
27 Oct 2007, 00:33
counting a trip to skilled as an opportunity for the old Roy supporters to see the boys play is a bit of a copout...
Ryder Is God
27 Oct 2007, 04:22
Feel very sorry for the Fitzroy supporters, as my father is one.
Bobby Beecroft
27 Oct 2007, 07:42
I'm normally one of the 1st to spark up about disadvantages we face as Melbourne based lions, but I actually think the draw is an improvement.
Certainly not perfect but it is heading in the right direction.
Roylion
27 Oct 2007, 07:53
Havent we had years recently where we have had 5 games in victoria?
No. 2005 is the only year since the merger where the minimum of six games as per the Deed of Arrangement signed in 1996 has not been met.
I could be wrong but I thought this was one of the few years where afl didnt break the contract of 6 games?
I'm afraid you are wrong. If the contract was broken, there would be legal action from the Fitzroy Football Club.
For example the thre articles clearly demonstrate what occured at the end of 2004, when the 2005 draw was announced and there were only 5 Victorian games.
FITZROY DEAL GOES
Damian Barrett, Herald Sun, 1/10/04
"The Fitzroy Football Club will consider legal action after a key plank of its merger with Brisbane was broken in match fixturing for next season.
When the Brisbane Lions were formed in the 1996 merger, it was stipulated the entity would play six matches in Melbourne each season, but only five have been scheduled for 2005.
Fitzroy Football Club chief executive Bill Atherton said last night club chairman Dyson Hore-Lacy would soon convene a meeting to discuss options of recourse.
"It is a very serious issue; we spoke to the AFL about it yesterday and we are not going to go off half-cocked about it," Atherton said. "There is an agreement which is legally enforceable, but I don't want to go into all of that until we have met."
and
Fitzroy Football Club ... major headache
Scott Palmer, Sunday Herald Sun, 14/11/04
"Fitzroy Football Club could cause a major headache to the Brisbane Lions by sending a reminder they are headed towards a breach of the merger agreement of 1996. The document, "a deed of company arrangement", stipulates the club must play as many games in Melbourne as possible with a minimum of six. In the 2005 draw Brisbane has five games here after buying back its "away" game against Melbourne. Fitzroy FC Ltd's board will insist the Lions stick to the original promise. Court action, we're told, is not out of the question."
and in that sole instance was in the end resolved:
ROY BOYS GO AGAIN
Rosanne Michie, Sunday Herald Sun, 21/11/04
"The Brisbane Lions look set to wear the Fitzroy jumper for only the second time in their history, averting a threat of legal action. The plan was hatched at a private meeting at a St. Kilda Rd. hotel this week. Brisbane chairman Graeme Downie and CEO Michael Bowers and Fitzroy directors Bill Atherton and Colin Hobbs met to resolve the breach of the clubs' 1996 merger agreement to play at least six Brisbane games in Melbourne.
They agreed in principle that the Lions would wear the Fitzroy maroon, blue and white Guernsey emblazoned with FFC at a game in Melbourne next season, This would be over and above the Heritage round game, said Fitzroy FC chairman Dyson Hore-Lacy."
However it was also made clear at the time that the next breach would not be resolved to the satisfaction of the Fitzroy Football Club by merely wearing a Fitzroy jumper.
Now it would be great to have 10 games in melbourne, then we could sell more melbourne memberships, but surely 6 games with a game not far away in Tassie as a seventh is better than it has been?
It's still ordinary. 5 games in Melbourne, 1 in Geelong in Round 7 (which is our first Victorian game) and on FTA television 6 times for the season. The push for North to go to the Gold Coast seems to be intensifying and if that occurs that will of course mean that there will be 12 games in SE Qld every season (just like the Melbourne game at the Gabba) and less opportunity for have any more than our minimum requirement. If another Melbourne based club ends up in Western Sydney by 2015 as has been suggested by the AFL, then the opportunity to meet the six game requirement lessens. It's almost a given that at some time in the future the merger agreement will be broken again.
Looks at Sydney's Victorian games
Round 1 vs St Kilda
Round 5 vs Geelong
Round 6 vs Kangaroos
Round 15 vs Hawthorn (MCG)
Round 16 vs Carlton
Round 21 vs Collingwood
More evenly spread out, earlier in the season and 8 times on FTA television.
Even the mooted Heritage Round in Round 19, the 'Tom Wills Round' will be in Tasmania and according to our policy, we'll be wearing Brisbane Bears jumpers in that game. We wore the Fitzroy jumper in Perth last year, and the policy is that we interchange Fitzroy and Bear jumpers if we're drawn to play interstate in a Heritage style round.
I've said it before and I'll say it again. If Brisbane wants to maintain a long term sustiable Victorian supporter base, it has to start thinking of ways of making their Victorian membership more attractive for their supporter base.
Wearing the red Fitzroy jumper for all Melbourne games is not the answer.
Bobby Beecroft
27 Oct 2007, 08:28
Give us more TV games, says Lions boss
October 26, 2007 - 5:15PM
Brisbane chief executive Michael Bowers has cheekily called for more Lions TV games in 2008, claiming the club's Melbourne-based fans had been snubbed in next season's draw.
While pleased with aspects of the 2008 draw, including a round two Friday night blockbuster against Collingwood, Bowers was clearly miffed that the Lions do not play in Melbourne until round eight and only five times overall.
"It's disappointing for the club's Victorian supporters that our request for a Lions game to be played in Melbourne much earlier than round eight was rejected," Bowers said.
"Like we did in '07, we also lobbied for seven Victorian games in 2008 - namely six in Melbourne - for our southern members and supporters, which was again knocked back by the AFL.
"So in return I would ask that the AFL increases its free-to-air national coverage of our young and exciting team in action to compensate our very patient Melbourne followers."
Bowers said the jury was out on having two bye weekends in 2008 - up from one this year.
"It certainly gives players another opportunity to freshen up their energy levels and performances on the field during what is a very tough season," Bowers said.
"But will the fans just be itching over another weekend thinking we should just get on with the footy?"
In another break from tradition, the Lions will not participate in the regular Easter Thursday night match for the first time in five years.
But there are still plenty of positives for the Lions in 2008.
Their round two showdown with Collingwood will be Brisbane's first Friday night home match since round 13, 2001.
And they only have to travel once apiece to Perth and Adelaide - with both trips completed before the middle of April.
Brisbane resume their "Duel" with the Kangaroos at Gold Coast's Carrara Stadium in round 18.
In round 19, the Lions take on Hawthorn at Launceston's Aurora Stadium, marking their first season proper match in Tasmania since the club's merger between Brisbane and Fitzroy.
No. 2005 is the only year since the merger where the minimum of six games as per the Deed of Arrangement signed in 1996 has not been met.
I'm afraid you are wrong. If the contract was broken, there would be legal action from the Fitzroy Football Club.
I stand corrected, thanks. It must be the noise the roy supporters (and good on them) when they get the draw.
Looks at Sydney's Victorian games
Round 1 vs St Kilda
Round 5 vs Geelong
Round 6 vs Kangaroos
Round 15 vs Hawthorn (MCG)
Round 16 vs Carlton
Round 21 vs Collingwood
More evenly spread out, earlier in the season and 8 times on FTA television.
Isn't sydneys basically the same, 6 games one of which at Geelong? Ok the FTA is different but the games basically the same? Plus the opportunity to squeeze in a bonus game in tassie if you feel up for the trip?
Even the mooted Heritage Round in Round 19, the 'Tom Wills Round' will be in Tasmania and according to our policy, we'll be wearing Brisbane Bears jumpers in that game. We wore the Fitzroy jumper in Perth last year, and the policy is that we interchange Fitzroy and Bear jumpers if we're drawn to play interstate in a Heritage style round.
Agreed, that is ridiculous. The heritage round is in Tasmania? Us and Sydney should definitely play in Melbourne on heritage round as away teams. We have the most 'second city' heritage of anyone. Was there a rumour somewhere that they might not have a heritage round this year? or was that a furphy?
I've said it before and I'll say it again. If Brisbane wants to maintain a long term sustiable Victorian supporter base, it has to start thinking of ways of making their Victorian membership more attractive for their supporter base.
Wearing the red Fitzroy jumper for all Melbourne games is not the answer.
Agreed on the jumper issue, a band aid solution at best. I'd be interested to know what the melbourne membership numbers are/have been over the last ten years or so. I thought we were slowly climbing back, but obviously not.
Everyone always says "poor fitzroy supporters" what about "Poor bears supporters"?
TheBrownDog
27 Oct 2007, 12:07
Everyone always says "poor fitzroy supporters" what about "Poor bears supporters"?
The vast majority of Bears supporters (including me) are able to see their team play 11 games a season. 12 if they are willing to go to the Gold Coast.
Warwick
27 Oct 2007, 12:36
Give us more TV games, says Lions boss
October 26, 2007 - 5:15PM
Brisbane chief executive Michael Bowers has cheekily called for more Lions TV games in 2008, claiming the club's Melbourne-based fans had been snubbed in next season's draw.
Why was it cheeky?
I thought it was a reasonable request myself.
The-Spanner
27 Oct 2007, 16:38
Why was it cheeky?
I thought it was a reasonable request myself.
Good question. I'd have thought that there would be a more concerted attempt to at least portray some form of journalistic objectivity.
Lenny29
27 Oct 2007, 18:38
I know the obvious comeback that will be coming my way but at the end of the day we're talking about away games and no club should be able to tell the AFL where and when they want to play those games.
If you get "drawn" for five games in Melbourne and you need six, then give up a "home" game to be played in Melbourne.
I know the obvious comeback that will be coming my way but at the end of the day we're talking about away games and no club should be able to tell the AFL where and when they want to play those games.
If you get "drawn" for five games in Melbourne and you need six, then give up a "home" game to be played in Melbourne.
Obvious comeback coming your way. Does a few games in the away team dressing room at the G make it a tough draw for you blokes?
TheBrownDog
27 Oct 2007, 18:53
Obvious comeback coming your way. Does a few games in the away team dressing room at the G make it a tough draw for you blokes?
They've gotta lug their bags an extra 50 metres. Could cost them a top 4 spot.
Plus the bus driver might get lost when they have to travel to the Dome
for those other 4 Melboune games. Tell you now Browndog this trip to Dubai that these "champions of the level playing field" have will be a draining experience. It just might ruin their chances of winning in any of those 10 games at the G in the first 12 rounds:rolleyes:.
Cousin Jed
27 Oct 2007, 19:10
Yes they can.
lionbear
28 Oct 2007, 09:15
Agreed, that is ridiculous. The heritage round is in Tasmania? Us and Sydney should definitely play in Melbourne on heritage round as away teams. We have the most 'second city' heritage of anyone. Was there a rumour somewhere that they might not have a heritage round this year? or was that a furphy?
Since Heritage round has been introduced you would think this would be tried to be played in Victoria as much as possible for Sydney and Brisbane so the South and Fitzroy people could enjoy their jumper running around again for one week, but since it has been introduced the break up of heritage games in Victoria are...
Brisbane 1
Sydney 0
I can never work that out. It is also interesting that Sydney have never worn their South Melbourne jumper in Victoria, well they did once but it had a Big Team over the century logo on the front of it and looked nothing like the South jumper that was worn for 70 years.
I am disappointed with only 5 Melbourne games and 1 Geelong game as people have to remember not many of our Victorian members get to go as
1. Hard for them to travel to.
2. Skilled does not have enough seats so some of our members miss out.
I hoping to get to all 6 games next year, but it really is upsetting that I will only have 2 games on FTA next year (I will be at the other 4). The league really need to do something about this as our Victorian members need more games on FTA, so we feel involved with the club. Like I said I can visit the Pub a few times but there are supporters who genuinely can't watch the game and they are the big losers in this.
Chasing the Dream
28 Oct 2007, 10:22
Since Heritage round has been introduced you would think this would be tried to be played in Victoria as much as possible for Sydney and Brisbane so the South and Fitzroy people could enjoy their jumper running around again for one week, but since it has been introduced the break up of heritage games in Victoria are...
Brisbane 1
Sydney 0
It may be off topic, so I will be careful just in case DC enters the thread:rolleyes:
Heritage round seems to be something that the AFL has shafted us on nearly every year. We of course played the Pies at the G the first time, which is fine, then two trips to Sydney, one at the GABBA, then over to Perth and now Tassie.
If the Lions are travelling out of SE Qld for only 10 games a year, and 6 of those are to Melboure, that makes it 82% of the games in Queensland or Melbourne, but only 33% of the Heritage Round games have been able to have been scheduled in either of our two membership bases.
That in mind is also poor form from the AFL.
Now for something on the original topic, 5 games in Melbourne, as the thread reads is a little bit of a stretch, I would personally count the Geelong game which makes six. This season from my point of view is not as bad as it has been. Especially when the AFL came out and said that they treated Brisbane and Sydney as Melbourne based teams for the purposes of their Tassie agreement, I could see them shafting us big time. But with only one trip to each of WA, SA & NSW it is not that bad.
A better spread between the games would also have been better.
lionbear
28 Oct 2007, 10:41
Agree with you Chasing the Dream, I guess where we all get frustrated as Victorian supporters there is the potential for the 7th game to be held here.
I am very happy for our Tasmanian Lions supporters to be able to enjoy a Lions game but I think the 7th Victorian match against the Hawks on the G could have been worth alot of money to the Lions. As there are 50/50 supporters who toss up every year to sign up for a Vic membership well that could have just put them on the right side of the ledger, plus it would have been a huge selling point for the Lions board to try and get an extra 2,000 Victorian members.
I am happy with 6 games though and will be at all 6. I am also very supportive of the board and there efforts for us down here, they work hard and I thank them for that.
Let us all dream of 7 Vic games in 09;)
Lehmo87
28 Oct 2007, 10:53
Agree with you Chasing the Dream, I guess where we all get frustrated as Victorian supporters there is the potential for the 7th game to be held here.
I am very happy for our Tasmanian Lions supporters to be able to enjoy a Lions game but I think the 7th Victorian match against the Hawks on the G could have been worth alot of money to the Lions. As there are 50/50 supporters who toss up every year to sign up for a Vic membership well that could have just put them on the right side of the ledger, plus it would have been a huge selling point for the Lions board to try and get an extra 2,000 Victorian members.
I am happy with 6 games though and will be at all 6. I am also very supportive of the board and there efforts for us down here, they work hard and I thank them for that.
I think you've hit the nail on the head with the Melbourne based supporters who are only a 50/50 chance of signing up but it seems that we'll never have 7 games in Melbourne again... does anyone know the last time that happened?? It seems as though it was before the time when Melbourne started playing "home" games in Brissie... and now we have the roos in the Gold Coast and the Hawks in Tassie it seems less and less likely that it'll happen
I'll be going to all 6 Victorian matches and you'll definitly see me in Tassie to watch the Lions take on the Hawks. Also, thinking about going to Qld and Sydney to see a couple of games =D
Chasing the Dream
28 Oct 2007, 11:18
NOw there is a dream worth chasing:thumbsu:
The Flying Belgian
29 Oct 2007, 13:47
If we play 11 games at home, then that obviously means 11 games away. Of our opposition, 60% are based in Melbourne itself (not counting Geelong). Therefore we should be expected to see 6.6 games played in Melbourne. So, in a good year 7 games, in a poor year 6 games. Now, of course that's complicated by the fact that some clubs play home games elsewhere and previously by the fact the Demons played one of their home games at the Gabba.
But seeing as though the AFL were a signatory to the merger agreement and that we still have significant ties to Melbourne you'd think a 6 games to be played in Melbourne isn't too big an ask.
Of course the term "draw" is a furphy anyway. "Arrangement to maximise profits" would be a better descriptor. To me a draw should be a random process. As you so rightly point out, in theory, no club should be so presumptious or arrogant as to try and dictate where they play their away games.
Chasing the Dream
29 Oct 2007, 14:05
If we play 11 games at home, then that obviously means 11 games away. Of our opposition, 60% are based in Melbourne itself (not counting Geelong). Therefore we should be expected to see 6.6 games played in Melbourne. So, in a good year 7 games, in a poor year 6 games. Now, of course that's complicated by the fact that some clubs play home games elsewhere and previously by the fact the Demons played one of their home games at the Gabba.
Too many stats there TFB, I will have to run that through my Supercomputer and see if your numbers stack up:D
Chasing the Dream
29 Oct 2007, 14:18
Too many stats there TFB, I will have to run that through my Supercomputer and see if your numbers stack up:D
OK, my Supercomputer has come back with the following.
62.5% of teams are currenlty playing from Melbourne, but if you take into account the Bullldogs, who sell 2 games interstate, the Hawks who sell 4, the Kanagroos who sell 4 and the Demons who sell one game, then you really only have 9 Melbourne based clubs which brings us back to only 56.25%
56.25% would mean that we should play 6.18 games in Melbourne each year, meaning the AFL should be spot on with their 6 games a year in Victoria.
Now if the unthinkable happens and North were to relocate to SE Qld, then only 52.31% of clubs would be in Melbourne, and that would mean we would play on average 5.75 games in Melbourne each year...............:(:D:D:D
The Flying Belgian
29 Oct 2007, 15:38
Forgot to take into account there any only 15 opposition teams there CtD.
Chasing the Dream
29 Oct 2007, 15:43
Man, the Supercomputer is sacked:D
TheBrownDog
29 Oct 2007, 15:56
Man, the Supercomputer is sacked:D
I am now telling the computer EXACTLY what it can do with a life supply of chocolate!
http://i22.tinypic.com/2k0jzd.jpg
Plus the bus driver might get lost when they have to travel to the Dome
for those other 4 Melboune games. Tell you now Browndog this trip to Dubai that these "champions of the level playing field" have will be a draining experience. It just might ruin their chances of winning in any of those 10 games at the G in the first 12 rounds:rolleyes:.
The thing about which Collingwood should be most concerned is their players' resemblance to goats.
hayden sumner
29 Oct 2007, 19:14
Adelaide have the same draw. We have atleast 5-6 games in Melbourne. Over the past years we have played at the Telstra Dome, atleast 4 of them 5 times, but this season, we play most of our Melbourne games at the MCG, which i think is a good move. Give us a feel of the venue, before we make the Granny next year :p
For the third year in-a-row, Brisbane aren't playing in Melbourne when the memberships are sold. If Brisbane are 3-8 by round 11, are we convinced the Melbourne-based supporters, who weren't able to get to the Geelong game, nor to the one in round 8, will still want to buy a membership? In fact, going by previous years, it may not even be possible, even if one wanted.
There seems to be a total misunderstanding of how memberships are bought in Melbourne. If you can't get to the first game, you buy it at the next one. Not online, not at Bulleen, but at the game, outside the gate. Can't imagine why our membership numbers, especially in Melbourne, have plummeted
adey115
30 Oct 2007, 11:41
For the third year in-a-row, Brisbane aren't playing in Melbourne when the memberships are sold. If Brisbane are 3-8 by round 11, are we convinced the Melbourne-based supporters, who weren't able to get to the Geelong game, nor to the one in round 8, will still want to buy a membership? In fact, going by previous years, it may not even be possible, even if one wanted.
There seems to be a total misunderstanding of how memberships are bought in Melbourne. If you can't get to the first game, you buy it at the next one. Not online, not at Bulleen, but at the game, outside the gate. Can't imagine why our membership numbers, especially in Melbourne, have plummeted
This is a good point. By round 8, would you still purchase a membership?
Our membership is as low as ever, and the fixture certainly doesn't encourage Melb people on board.
And I don't care about averages. We're the only MERGED side in this competition. If they can schedule Collingwood in Victoria 18 times because of the $$, then they should schedule another interstate side in Tassie instead of us.... Hawthorn versus anyone will still sell out in Launceston, so it doesn't have to be us. 35-40k people at the MCG for Hawks Vs. Lions should be all about $$ as well, with the side benefit of the only MERGED side in the competition allowing part of their supporter base to see their team once more in a season.
This is a good point. By round 8, would you still purchase a membership?
Our membership is as low as ever, and the fixture certainly doesn't encourage Melb people on board.
And I don't care about averages. We're the only MERGED side in this competition. If they can schedule Collingwood in Victoria 18 times because of the $$, then they should schedule another interstate side in Tassie instead of us.... Hawthorn versus anyone will still sell out in Launceston, so it doesn't have to be us. 35-40k people at the MCG for Hawks Vs. Lions should be all about $$ as well, with the side benefit of the only MERGED side in the competition allowing part of their supporter base to see their team once more in a season.
I think you have a good point there, adey115
lionbear
30 Oct 2007, 17:21
Add in if the game was at the G it would have been the Heritage game for the year which gives us an extra amount of the old Fitzroy supporters at the ground it would have been a really fun game.