View Full Version : What question(s) would you ask if you were interviewing a Lions player?
The Flying Belgian
26 Oct 2007, 22:04
As the title says, if you were doing a interview with a Lions player (no one in particular) what would you ask?
Or what sort of questions would you like to see asked of players, seperate of the stuff you see by News Ltd. journos or the Lions media people?
BigCat2
27 Oct 2007, 14:11
For ruckmen: how do you avoid hitting your head on door frames and ceiling fans, and how do you find beds long enough to sleep on?
I'm actually genuinely interested.
danielcanberra
28 Oct 2007, 20:08
I like reading articles like this one
My grand final: Rischitelli
4:17 PM Mon 19 March, 2007
By Simon White
Exclusive to AFL BigPond Network
News
Up-and-coming Brisbane Lions midfielder Michael Rischitelli talks us through Saturday’s NAB Cup grand final.
Saturday morning: Breakfast is served in our hotel between 7.30am and 10am, which caters for the blokes who like to get up early and those who like to sleep in a little bit. We're taught to do what our body wants with regards to meals; I like to have a good breakfast. I go down to eat about 9am and have some scrambled eggs on toast.
After breakfast, myself, Browny [Jonathan Brown], Shermo [Justin Sherman] and Cheynee Stiller have a bit of a kick around with a little footy I won from an arcade machine, then it's off to the movies with Dan Merrett and Matthew Moody. Movies generally help me relax on gameday, but today I wish I was doing anything but watching Hot Fuzz. I can't get into it at all and by the half-way point, I'm more-or-less wanting to walk out. I end up staying, but leave pretty disappointed all the same.
When we play in Melbourne, I try and catch up with family and friends when possible, but it's not always easy. Sometimes I'll go home and see Mum and Dad on the Friday night for a meal. Other times, on the day of the game, I might catch up quickly with mates at the hotel. Generally, I don't see Mum, Dad and my brother on gameday until after the match, which is what happened this weekend.
Saturday afternoon: By the time afternoon comes around, you pretty much go into preparation mode. I have lunch around 12.30ish and make sure I keep my fluids up. I'm a bit of a fan of hot food for lunch on gamedays, either pasta or toasted sandwiches. Today, it's the toasted sandwiches. I spend the afternoon trying to relax. Obviously, we're playing in a final tonight, so there are probably a few more nerves involved - but I just try and stick to the things I'd do before any other game. After lunch, I spend a bit of time in my room flicking through whatever is on TV. About 3.30pm, we have our pre-game snack. On the way to the game I listen to my iPod - not really any type of music in particular, more a mix of anything and everything.
Pre-game: We arrive at Telstra Dome and put our bags in our lockers, then grab footies and head out on the ground to get a feel for things. We probably spend 10 minutes or so out there taking it all in – the crowd is going to be a bit bigger tonight than in previous games – and having a bit of a run around. After that, it's back into the rooms for our meeting. Tonight, [coach] Leigh [Matthews]'s talked about doing the things we've been doing for the past three weeks - the things that have got us to the grand final. So much of the game is about quickness at the moment and Leigh stresses the fact that we need to get the ball moving quickly, catch Carlton on the rebound and get our legs working hard.
The last 40 minutes before the game involve getting strapped, weighing-in and having massages. I don't really have any pre-game superstitions - some blokes try and wear the same lucky jocks or socks. Shermo likes to get his legs and arms oiled up. But part of my routine is to get always get a massage before a game, which I find loosens me up before we run out. As I said before, I'm pretty keen to stick with what I'd usually do, so the massage is a goer.
The game: Shermo kicks the first goal of the game - a great start - but Carlton make better use of their early chances and go into quarter-time in front. Leigh uses the quarter-time break to tell us to stick at it and take our opportunities when they arrive.
By half-way through the second quarter, we start to do that. Browny's offering a big target up forward and we get on a bit of a roll and go into half-time with a handy little break. You never want to rely too much on one player, but having Browny in the side makes huge difference. Apart from the fact you back him to mark the ball more often than not, he provides confidence for everyone around him. I'm sure we'll all learn how to better use him in the weeks to come. He's such a focal point that it's always tempting to kick it in his direction. But, at the same time, it's normally better to kick to another player in a one-on-one situation than to Browny with three blokes on him.
Leigh's pretty happy with the way things are going during the half-time break, although he says he'd like to see us back ourselves a bit more. Unfortunately Carlton get the better of us in the third quarter - we concede a couple of silly little free kicks and they convert those chances, including a couple of nine-pointers.
By three-quarter time, we've got the job in front of us, but Leigh tells us to stick at it and that we're not out of it. He's right, too, and when we close to within three goals in the last quarter, it looks like we might have a sniff. But Carlton steady and kick goals when they have to, which probably ends up being the story of the night.
Post game: Leigh is disappointed - we all would have liked to have won the NAB Cup - but not discouraged. I reckon everyone is more or less looking at the game in the same way and thinking that if we'd taken our chances, the result could have been different. But we've had a good four weeks in the pre-season, shown positive signs and the challenge now is to be ready for round one, which is obviously the biggest thing.
We go back to the hotel rather than heading out after the match. I go to my room and watch a bit of the replay of the game on the telly. As you might imagine, it's pretty hard to sleep after night games and I'm normally up until 2 or 3am. Eventually, I wander downstairs to see if any of the other boys are in the lobby, but it looks like everyone is having an early one. I head back to my room and watch a bit more TV before finally falling asleep.
http://lions.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsId=39761
danielcanberra
28 Oct 2007, 20:19
Most admired sportsperson:
My partner on Dancing with the Stars would be:
Dream destination on a holiday:
Funniest team mate and why:
Most annoying team mate and why:
The last time I laughed until I cried was:
The best advice I've ever had was:
If only I could:
Three people I would invite to a dinner party would be:
Worst habit:
One day I plan to:
If I was a Superhero, my name and powers would be:
If I wasn't a footballer, I would be:
If I was singing Karaoke, I would sing:
Favourite invention:
Last book I read was:
I'd ask them if there is a prevalent drug culture within the club and if that said person has ever participated in or witnessed any drug-taking within the playing group.
Then again if it's supposed to be a light-hearted question, I'd prolly ask them their fave breed of cat or dog.
Last book I read was:
This would sort them out. :p
For ruckmen: how do you avoid hitting your head on door frames and ceiling fans, and how do you find beds long enough to sleep on?
I'm actually genuinely interested.
I can answer that. You get king-sized beds without any boards or rails across the bottom, and you hunch over a lot. :P
psychobrown
29 Oct 2007, 21:46
"The next time the Bulldogs are at the Gabba, will you line up across the whole team or just Jason Akermanis again?"
TheBrownDog
29 Oct 2007, 22:05
"The next time the Bulldogs are at the Gabba, will you line up across the whole team or just Jason Akermanis again?"
I'd ask Psychobrown if the next time the Bulldogs areat the Gabba, will he watch the match this time?
danielcanberra
15 Dec 2007, 12:21
In addition to my list of questions, I would also ask who they thought had the worse fashion sense in the team...
Hilly72
15 Dec 2007, 15:47
Browny... Which dog will win the 6th at Wannon Park tonight?
Fairley
15 Dec 2007, 16:29
Which player picks up the most chicks
LIONOFZION
15 Dec 2007, 19:16
Just a specific question for Jared Brennan - Are those just fashion dreads or have you taken a Nazarite vow?
TheBrownDog
15 Dec 2007, 19:49
Just a specific question for Jared Brennan - Are those just fashion dreads or have you taken a Nazarite vow?
Dreds are gone.
He has a sensible short back and sides cut now.
LIONOFZION
15 Dec 2007, 20:35
Dreds are gone.
He has a sensible short back and sides cut now.
Thanks for the update Browndog - must have been part of the new upgraded contract stipulations :D
The Flying Belgian
15 Dec 2007, 20:56
Interesting how this thread revived itself. Might have some interesting news....
Lady Lawrence
17 Dec 2007, 13:57
Here's one of my questions, I would like to see questions that get to the real "person" rather than football related questions.
If you could go back in time to one moment in history what would it be.
If I think of more I'll pop 'em on here
Lady Lawrence
17 Dec 2007, 13:59
You've just discovered that the world will cease to exist in 48 hours. How and why don't matter because nothing that you or anyone else does will stop or sway fate. If everything would be gone in 48 hours and you had two days left, what would you do?
Lady Lawrence
17 Dec 2007, 14:00
last one
If you could remove or erase any major event in history (not just personal, but global), which would it be, why would you choose that, and how do you think things would be different today?
BigCat2
17 Dec 2007, 14:30
And the meaning of life? ;)
blynd_freddie
17 Dec 2007, 20:28
And the meaning of life? ;)
"the meaning of life, the universe, and everything" - Or who is going to wear # 42 :p
TheBrownDog
17 Dec 2007, 21:06
What is your post-training/post-match feed of choice?
Fairley
17 Dec 2007, 21:09
who would you least want to fight in the squad?
danielcanberra
17 Dec 2007, 22:05
What is your post-training/post-match feed of choice?
Choice?
TheBrownDog
17 Dec 2007, 22:29
"How conscious of the crowd are you in games? Does the home crowd make a difference in terms of lifting you and/or the team?"
Fairley
17 Dec 2007, 23:24
who is the best player you have ever played on?
Warwick
18 Dec 2007, 00:02
"How conscious of the crowd are you in games? Does the home crowd make a difference in terms of lifting you and/or the team?"
Have you ever been put off by this crazed fan?
http://img116.imageshack.us/img116/5493/browndogrl8.png
Bradshaw and Brown are both open in the forward 50 - who do you kick it to?