View Full Version : Lions 2007 profit confirmed.

TheBrownDog
27 Oct 2007, 03:26
According to Chip Le Grand in The Australian today.

The Lions have been buoyed by their own performance this season, both on and off the field. After forecasting a financial loss, the club is expected to confirm a profit in the next few weeks.

With Melbourne also expected to post a "modest profit", it means all AFL clubs will finish the 2007 trading year in the black.

Ruse
27 Oct 2007, 10:41
Wow i never saw this coming. The club supposed to post a million dollar loss at the start of the season and going from that to a profit is a huge coup. Well done to the management team, although I wonder where the extra cash came from?

danielcanberra
27 Oct 2007, 10:47
Wow i never saw this coming. The club supposed to post a million dollar loss at the start of the season and going from that to a profit is a huge coup. Well done to the management team, although I wonder where the extra cash came from?

Me! I spent much more this year than I did last year.

campbell
27 Oct 2007, 10:52

IMO they would have sold an asset, the easiest way to have a huge influx of cash, especially when we said in July we were looking grim. It can't have been membership revenue as that was bad this season.

Vidman
27 Oct 2007, 11:36

If EVERY team in the league made a profit, that is remarkable. But one could assume that our profit was probably as a result of increased revenue from headquarters. We had the large TV contract this year (not sure might have been last financial year as well though), we also had a sponsor upgrade IIRC. If it's come from improved distribution from the AFL or from sale of assets we could hardly congratulate the board. As always the devil is in the detail.

campbell
27 Oct 2007, 11:55
If EVERY team in the league made a profit, that is remarkable. But one could assume that our profit was probably as a result of increased revenue from headquarters. We had the large TV contract this year (not sure might have been last financial year as well though), we also had a sponsor upgrade IIRC. If it's come from improved distribution from the AFL or from sale of assets we could hardly congratulate the board. As always the devil is in the detail.

Gotta love the detail.....

Especially when mid year this year, we came out and said we were looking grim.

TheBrownDog
27 Oct 2007, 11:55
Lets not put our tinfoil hats on yet people.

campbell
27 Oct 2007, 11:57
Lets not put our tinfoil hats on yet people.

So BD, how do you reckon we turned it around from mid july to now.

Selling an assett is an obvious one, any other ideas.

I am glad we have made a profit, better than acrruing a debt.

Cousin Jed
27 Oct 2007, 12:01
If EVERY team in the league made a profit, that is remarkable. But one could assume that our profit was probably as a result of increased revenue from headquarters. If it's come from improved distribution from the AFL or from sale of assets we could hardly congratulate the board. As always the devil is in the detail.

:rolleyes:. A little negative.

Does the club have that many assets it could have sold? I tried to look at the 2006 financials, but the link doesn't seem to be working.

If it's due to improved distributions, then we wouldn't be alone.

Crowds picked up significantly in the 2nd half of the year too remember.

TheBrownDog
27 Oct 2007, 12:03
So BD, how do you reckon we turned it around from mid july to now.

Selling an assett is an obvious one, any other ideas.

I am glad we have made a profit, better than acrruing a debt.

Like you campbell, I'd only be guessing.

Where is the source from mid-July stating that things were 'grim'.

Maybe we're only paying 92.5 percent of the cap?

Maybe the AFL have been extra generous with the revenue from the TV rights deal? (Including bribings us to support the Kangaroos relocation).

Maybe we sold an asset (what assets do we have that we would have sold? Were they income producing assets?)

Maybe the big turnaround has something to do with us sinking alot of money into the Lions Den Development last year but not this year.

Vodafone spoonsorship.

The club may have invested in mining/resources industries before the boom. Maybe property investments?

Maybe they're cash investments have been buoyed by the strong Australian dollar.

Like I said, we'd only be guessing, and we'll know soon enough.

John
27 Oct 2007, 12:05
I reckon it was all those Coopers Mild Ale's that I have been drinking at the Den. Now if we could get them to stock Best Extra stout we would be laughing all the way to the bank. I reckon me alone would pay for Brennan's new 3 year contract.

TheBrownDog
27 Oct 2007, 12:25
I reckon it was all those Coopers Mild Ale's that I have been drinking at the Den. Now if we could get them to stock Best Extra stout we would be laughing all the way to the bank. I reckon me alone would pay for Brennan's new 3 year contract.

Bernie Gabba Vegas is Ben Cousins' dealer.

This single handedly explains our profit.

campbell
27 Oct 2007, 12:37
http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,22059196%255E19742,00.html

The Lions recorded profits on the 2002, 2003, 2004 and 2005 seasons, but lost nearly $1 million last year on about $30 million turnover.

The club is debt-free, having been able to invest several million dollars in long-term accounts during the boom of 2001-04, and the 2007 results will be cushioned by money raised at a Melbourne function on August 11 to celebrate the reunion of all Fitzroy and Brisbane players.

"But we are on track to make a loss, no doubt," Bowers said.

"We budgeted on a sell-out for all our boxes and suites. We budgeted on membership being a certain level, tickets being a certain level.

"From last year to this year, our membership and gate receipts we were forecasting are probably going to be about $1.5 million down from where they were."

Brisbane's predictions of a loss have dashed the AFL's hopes of having all clubs record a profit this year. Each club is to be given an extra $1.2 million this year because of the TV-rights windfall.

Bowers said the Lions would ask the AFL for a greater annual distribution to help cover some costs the club says are unique to it, including the running of a suburban Brisbane oval, which is used for training and by other local clubs.

A significant part of the Lions' cash problems relates to the back-ending of several big-name player contracts, including Michael Voss, Justin Leppitsch and Chris Scott.

"If we had our time again, a couple of years ago when we were raking in profits, we possibly would have liked to have accrued some of this year's player salaries into previous years," Bowers said.

maybe the AFL coughed up extra, and we made a motza at the auction.

TheBrownDog
27 Oct 2007, 12:43
Looking for the word "Grim" or other similes.

*scratches head*

campbell
27 Oct 2007, 12:47
Looking for the word "Grim" or other similes.

*scratches head*

From last year to this year, our membership and gate receipts we were forecasting are probably going to be about $1.5 million down from where they were."

weevil
27 Oct 2007, 12:53
Reckon our gate takings would have been up a bit from what we expected. From memory we were starting to pull decent numbers towards the end of the year.

campbell
27 Oct 2007, 12:57
Reckon our gate takings would have been up a bit from what we expected. From memory we were starting to pull decent numbers towards the end of the year.

article was 12th july, so we had 6 weeks of games, to pull it around gate wise.

How many is that home games? Does anyone know the figures? I know the Swans and geelong matches were better crowds than earlier in the year.

BigCat2
27 Oct 2007, 13:21
2007 Attendances @ The Gabba

R1 vs Hawthorn 27104
R2 vs St Kilda 28266
R6 vs Fremantle 27175
R7 vs Adelaide 26978
R9 vs Collingwood 32225
R11 vs Bulldogs 29873
R13 vs Port Adelaide 22124
R15 vs Melbourne (away) 22708
R16 vs Carlton 27163
R18 vs Kangaroos 29233
R20 vs Sydney 33077
R22 vs Geelong 34107

There's no secret to the size of Gabba crowds: if you're winning then they come, if you're not then they don't. The Port game with 22124 was easily our worst crowd for the year, and that was at the end of our terrible run. We finished off the year strongly, and that prompted the best 3 crowds of the year in the last 3 rounds, excluding Collingwood (always a big crowd) and Bulldogs (Aker factor).

Vidman
27 Oct 2007, 15:41
:rolleyes:. A little negative.

Maybe, but then I dont get too pessimistic last year when we made a loss either :p
Our financial performance in any one year has very little to do with the profit or loss figure. Just call it 15 years experience of running your own business, the numbers the account arrives at mean very little.

If it's due to improved distributions, then we wouldn't be alone.

err, that was kinda my point? Every team made a profit apparently.

Cousin Jed
27 Oct 2007, 15:53
Maybe, but then I dont get too pessimistic last year when we made a loss either :p
Our financial performance in any one year has very little to do with the profit or loss figure. Just call it 15 years experience of running your own business, the numbers the account arrives at mean very little.

Working for an accounting firm you don't need to explain that one to me. I have 0* concerns about the financial state of the club from what I've read.

*Provided membership numbers pick up to a more sustainable level.

John
27 Oct 2007, 18:39
Add to the fact that the two large buildings across the road contain legions of pokie playing alcoholics who spend thousands upon thousands of dollars a day and sadly for the club that we all love and adore and never would attempt to take cheap shots at this could possibly come to an end as the land is reportedly being turned into cheap housing and all the inebriates who work in those two buildings are possibly being shunted of to other accommodation to be replaced by people who will have HUGE HUGE mortgages and who will have 80 years of their lives taken away due to their HUGE HUGE mortgages and will have no extra cash to spend at the Den on really really good beer like Coopers as they will all have to budget very carefully and not have fun for the rest of their natural lives so therefore will not spend any money on pokies and all the people in those two buildings will be really really unhappy that they are unable to spend their money at the Den except the dental people because they don't use the Den I think as they look after teeth and now the club will in the future be broke and we the Lions that is will not be able to afford to pay Brownie and we will be poor and wooden spooners and we will all be unhappy and hate Bowers and all fight among our selves. I blame Bjelke Perterson.

Vidman
27 Oct 2007, 23:33
Add to the fact that the two large buildings across the road contain legions of pokie playing alcoholics who spend thousands upon thousands of dollars a day and sadly for the club that we all love and adore and never would attempt to take cheap shots at this could possibly come to an end as the land is reportedly being turned into cheap housing and all the inebriates who work in those two buildings are possibly being shunted of to other accommodation to be replaced by people who will have HUGE HUGE mortgages and who will have 80 years of their lives taken away due to their HUGE HUGE mortgages and will have no extra cash to spend at the Den on really really good beer like Coopers as they will all have to budget very carefully and not have fun for the rest of their natural lives so therefore will not spend any money on pokies and all the people in those two buildings will be really really unhappy that they are unable to spend their money at the Den except the dental people because they don't use the Den I think as they look after teeth and now the club will in the future be broke and we the Lions that is will not be able to afford to pay Brownie and we will be poor and wooden spooners and we will all be unhappy and hate Bowers and all fight among our selves. I blame Bjelke Perterson.

Congrats John, longest sentance in the english language. ;)

BigCat2
28 Oct 2007, 01:13
Congrats John, longest sentance in the english language.

In 2005, Halton Borough Council put up a notice to tell the public about its plans to move a path from one place to another. Quite astonishingly, the notice was a 630 word sentence, which picked up one of our Golden Bull awards that year. Here is it in full.

630 words
'A path from a point approximately 330 metres east of the most south westerly corner of 17 Batherton Close, Widnes and approximately 208 metres east-south-east of the most southerly corner of Unit 3 Foundry Industrial Estate, Victoria Street, Widnes, proceeding in a generally east-north-easterly direction for approximately 28 metres to a point approximately 202 metres east-south-east of the most south-easterly corner of Unit 4 Foundry Industrial Estate, Victoria Street, and approximately 347 metres east of the most south-easterly corner of 17 Batherton Close, then proceeding in a generally northerly direction for approximately 21 metres to a point approximately 210 metres east of the most south-easterly corner of Unit 5 Foundry Industrial Estate, Victoria Street, and approximately 202 metres east-south-east of the most north-easterly corner of Unit 4 Foundry Industrial Estate, Victoria Street, then proceeding in a generally east-north-east direction for approximately 64 metres to a point approximately 282 metres east-south-east of the most easterly corner of Unit 2 Foundry Industrial Estate, Victoria Street, Widnes and approximately 259 metres east of the most southerly corner of Unit 4 Foundry Industrial Estate, Victoria Street, then proceeding in a generally east-north-east direction for approximately 350 metres to a point approximately 3 metres west-north-west of the most north westerly corner of the boundary fence of the scrap metal yard on the south side of Cornubia Road, Widnes, and approximately 47 metres west-south-west of the stub end of Cornubia Road be diverted to a 3 metre wide path from a point approximately 183 metres east-south-east of the most easterly corner of Unit 5 Foundry Industrial Estate, Victoria Street and approximately 272 metres east of the most north-easterly corner of 26 Ann Street West, Widnes, then proceeding in a generally north easterly direction for approximately 58 metres to a point approximately 216 metres east-south-east of the most easterly corner of Unit 4 Foundry Industrial Estate, Victoria Street and approximately 221 metres east of the most southerly corner of Unit 5 Foundry Industrial Estate, Victoria Street, then proceeding in a generally easterly direction for approximately 45 metres to a point approximately 265 metres east-south-east of the most north-easterly corner of Unit 3 Foundry Industrial Estate, Victoria Street and approximately 265 metres east of the most southerly corner of Unit 5 Foundry Industrial Estate, Victoria Street, then proceeding in a generally east-south-east direction for approximately 102 metres to a point approximately 366 metres east-south-east of the most easterly corner of Unit 3 Foundry Industrial Estate, Victoria Street and approximately 463 metres east of the most north easterly corner of 22 Ann Street West, Widnes, then proceeding in a generally north-north-easterly direction for approximately 19 metres to a point approximately 368 metres east-south-east of the most easterly corner of Unit 3 Foundry Industrial Estate, Victoria Street and approximately 512 metres east of the most south easterly corner of 17 Batherton Close, Widnes then proceeding in a generally east-south, easterly direction for approximately 16 metres to a point approximately 420 metres east-south-east of the most southerly corner of Unit 2 Foundry Industrial Estate, Victoria Street and approximately 533 metres east of the most south-easterly corner of 17 Batherton Close, then proceeding in a generally east-north-easterly direction for approximately 240 metres to a point approximately 606 metres east of the most northerly corner of Unit 4 Foundry Industrial Estate, Victoria Street and approximately 23 metres south of the most south westerly corner of the boundary fencing of the scrap metal yard on the south side of Cornubia Road, Widnes, then proceeding in a generally northern direction for approximately 44 metres to a point approximately 3 metres west-north-west of the most north westerly corner of the boundary fence of the scrap metal yard on the south side of Cornubia Road and approximately 47 metres west-south-west of the stub end of Cornubia Road.’

http://www.plainenglish.co.uk/longsentences.htm

;)

lionbear
28 Oct 2007, 09:00
I think part of the turnaround is from our little winning run we had after knocking off West Coast. It generated alot of excitement and perhaps a rise in crowds helped our profit situation.

That and the amount I spent at the Lions Merchandise shop when I made my round 22 visit:D

John
28 Oct 2007, 10:16
In 2005, Halton Borough Council put up a notice to tell the public about its plans to move a path from one place to another. Quite astonishingly, the notice was a 630 word sentence, which picked up one of our Golden Bull awards that year. Here is it in full.

630 words
'A path from a point approximately 330 metres east of the most south westerly corner of 17 Batherton Close, Widnes and approximately 208 metres east-south-east of the most southerly corner of Unit 3 Foundry Industrial Estate, Victoria Street, Widnes, proceeding in a generally east-north-easterly direction for approximately 28 metres to a point approximately 202 metres east-south-east of the most south-easterly corner of Unit 4 Foundry Industrial Estate, Victoria Street, and approximately 347 metres east of the most south-easterly corner of 17 Batherton Close, then proceeding in a generally northerly direction for approximately 21 metres to a point approximately 210 metres east of the most south-easterly corner of Unit 5 Foundry Industrial Estate, Victoria Street, and approximately 202 metres east-south-east of the most north-easterly corner of Unit 4 Foundry Industrial Estate, Victoria Street, then proceeding in a generally east-north-east direction for approximately 64 metres to a point approximately 282 metres east-south-east of the most easterly corner of Unit 2 Foundry Industrial Estate, Victoria Street, Widnes and approximately 259 metres east of the most southerly corner of Unit 4 Foundry Industrial Estate, Victoria Street, then proceeding in a generally east-north-east direction for approximately 350 metres to a point approximately 3 metres west-north-west of the most north westerly corner of the boundary fence of the scrap metal yard on the south side of Cornubia Road, Widnes, and approximately 47 metres west-south-west of the stub end of Cornubia Road be diverted to a 3 metre wide path from a point approximately 183 metres east-south-east of the most easterly corner of Unit 5 Foundry Industrial Estate, Victoria Street and approximately 272 metres east of the most north-easterly corner of 26 Ann Street West, Widnes, then proceeding in a generally north easterly direction for approximately 58 metres to a point approximately 216 metres east-south-east of the most easterly corner of Unit 4 Foundry Industrial Estate, Victoria Street and approximately 221 metres east of the most southerly corner of Unit 5 Foundry Industrial Estate, Victoria Street, then proceeding in a generally easterly direction for approximately 45 metres to a point approximately 265 metres east-south-east of the most north-easterly corner of Unit 3 Foundry Industrial Estate, Victoria Street and approximately 265 metres east of the most southerly corner of Unit 5 Foundry Industrial Estate, Victoria Street, then proceeding in a generally east-south-east direction for approximately 102 metres to a point approximately 366 metres east-south-east of the most easterly corner of Unit 3 Foundry Industrial Estate, Victoria Street and approximately 463 metres east of the most north easterly corner of 22 Ann Street West, Widnes, then proceeding in a generally north-north-easterly direction for approximately 19 metres to a point approximately 368 metres east-south-east of the most easterly corner of Unit 3 Foundry Industrial Estate, Victoria Street and approximately 512 metres east of the most south easterly corner of 17 Batherton Close, Widnes then proceeding in a generally east-south, easterly direction for approximately 16 metres to a point approximately 420 metres east-south-east of the most southerly corner of Unit 2 Foundry Industrial Estate, Victoria Street and approximately 533 metres east of the most south-easterly corner of 17 Batherton Close, then proceeding in a generally east-north-easterly direction for approximately 240 metres to a point approximately 606 metres east of the most northerly corner of Unit 4 Foundry Industrial Estate, Victoria Street and approximately 23 metres south of the most south westerly corner of the boundary fencing of the scrap metal yard on the south side of Cornubia Road, Widnes, then proceeding in a generally northern direction for approximately 44 metres to a point approximately 3 metres west-north-west of the most north westerly corner of the boundary fence of the scrap metal yard on the south side of Cornubia Road and approximately 47 metres west-south-west of the stub end of Cornubia Road.’

http://www.plainenglish.co.uk/longsentences.htm

;)

:mad:. Wish I had known about this.

BigCat2
28 Oct 2007, 12:08
:mad:. Wish I had known about this.

Mine was a copy paste job. You actually wrote yours yeah?

danielcanberra
28 Oct 2007, 12:14
The Kings of the Pride dinner was a nice little earner.

Aside from the excellent attendance, a huge amount was being spent on the auctions that night.

John
28 Oct 2007, 12:59
Mine was a copy paste job. You actually wrote yours yeah?

Yeah!

Ceebee
28 Oct 2007, 13:24
Add to the fact that the two large buildings across the road contain legions of pokie playing alcoholics who spend thousands upon thousands of dollars a day and sadly for the club that we all love and adore and never would attempt to take cheap shots at this could possibly come to an end as the land is reportedly being turned into cheap housing and all the inebriates who work in those two buildings are possibly being shunted of to other accommodation to be replaced by people who will have HUGE HUGE mortgages and who will have 80 years of their lives taken away due to their HUGE HUGE mortgages and will have no extra cash to spend at the Den on really really good beer like Coopers as they will all have to budget very carefully and not have fun for the rest of their natural lives so therefore will not spend any money on pokies and all the people in those two buildings will be really really unhappy that they are unable to spend their money at the Den except the dental people because they don't use the Den I think as they look after teeth and now the club will in the future be broke and we the Lions that is will not be able to afford to pay Brownie and we will be poor and wooden spooners and we will all be unhappy and hate Bowers and all fight among our selves. I blame Bjelke Perterson..
I worry about you sometimes John.:confused::confused::confused::confused:

kimp
28 Oct 2007, 15:18
Nowhere does it say how big (or obviously small) the anticipated loss was. He was also playing politics to try to get some more money out of the AFL. All good in my book.

Attendances were up by the end of the year. The team is up and we're looking for an improved perforamnce next year. All is good in the Lion's world.

TheBrownDog
14 Nov 2007, 20:37
Official 2007 profit is $1.133 million.

Lions Roar Back into Black
From Lions.com.au (http://www.lions.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsId=53254)

The Vodafone Brisbane Lions today announced a $1.133 million operating profit for Season 2007 – a $2 million turnaround from the operating loss of Season 2006.

This strong result comes after the team’s late season fortunes on the field were mirrored by the club’s rapid financial improvements off the field.

Club Chairman Tony Kelly said there was no magic bullet behind the profit but a pleasing combination of factors which all added up at the end of the day.

“There’s no secret behind the profit but a mixture of the increased AFL standard club distribution, our pre-season NAB Cup runners-up prize money, a popular new Lions Den social club and hard work by the administration team,” Mr Kelly said.

“By hard work I mean ticketing, corporate facilities, match-day coteries, events and merchandising sales transaction by transaction, round by round, month by month.

“Overall, I think it’s very pleasing to generate a profit when your Club doesn’t make the finals. The profit was based solely on normal Football Department and commercial operations.

“There were no Gabba finals or extraordinary revenue items at all which bodes extremely well for the Club’s financial future.”

The Chairman also noted some other positives to emerge from the 2007 Season.

“We remained committed to providing free City Council bus and QR CityTrain rail services to and from the Gabba on match-days to especially support our family members,” Mr Kelly said.

“We created our two adults and four children family Gabba packages to replace the standard two adults and two kids arrangements for the same price. This meant we delivered a great night out at the Gabba watching the Lions for less than $9 per head per family which was really pleasing for us.”

This positive financial outcome provides a solid springboard for the Lions’ ’28 in 08’ campaign where the Club is aiming to register 28,000 members in Season 2008.

:thumbsu:

TheBrownDog
14 Nov 2007, 20:38
“There’s no secret behind the profit but a mixture of the increased AFL standard club distribution, our pre-season NAB Cup runners-up prize money, a popular new Lions Den social club and hard work by the administration team,” Mr Kelly said.

“By hard work I mean ticketing, corporate facilities, match-day coteries, events and merchandising sales transaction by transaction, round by round, month by month.

Thats a whole lot less sexy than some of the conspiracy theories that had been floated.

I'm almost disappointed.

Cousin Jed
14 Nov 2007, 20:43
“There’s no secret behind the profit but a mixture of bank robbing, stealing from the poor boxes at churches, sales of stolen DVD players and from general hard work" Mr Kelly said.

“By hard work I mean trying to stay out of jail"

Thats a whole lot less sexy than some of the conspiracy theories that had been floated.

I'm almost disappointed.

You and I were reading different things! ;):D

:thumbsu: Good news for the club, now just keep those Kangaroos out of our backyard! ;)

John
14 Nov 2007, 20:58

I'm almost disappointed.

Conspiracy? It is known that they hire child labour from Bangladesh and Laos. They are even involved in the white slave trade out of Turkey. All these unfortunate children are forced to act as chimney sweeps for a glass of water a day while the powers that be wallow in the profits of their labour. The white slave purchases out of Turkey are forced to be models for welcomebacktiger. I am not disappointed at all.

John
14 Nov 2007, 21:01
“There’s no secret behind the profit but a mixture of bank robbing, stealing from the poor boxes at churches, sales of stolen DVD players and from general hard work" Mr Kelly said.

“By hard work I mean trying to stay out of jail"

You and I were reading different things!

You made that up. I would never do that. How do live with yourself.

blynd_freddie
14 Nov 2007, 21:19
Conspiracy? It is known that they hire child labour from Bangladesh and Laos. They are even involved in the white slave trade out of Turkey. All these unfortunate children are forced to act as chimney sweeps for a glass of water a day while the powers that be wallow in the profits of their labour. The white slave purchases out of Turkey are forced to be models for welcomebacktiger. I am not disappointed at all.

And the film to be released by Xmas... to bring in even more conspiracy money... :cool:

http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/51RX1GT54NL._AA240_.jpg

beatnik
15 Nov 2007, 07:29
well i guess i was wrong about the Lions being mismanaged finanacially...i hate being wrong...i blame Bowers ;)

POBT
15 Nov 2007, 08:57
I heard the profit was generated when Bowers sold his soul to Milhouse Van Houten.

notting18
15 Nov 2007, 09:33
I heard the profit was generated when Bowers sold his soul to Milhouse Van Houten.

So the Brisbane Lions are running on 'Fall Out Boy' money? Now that's cool:p

POBT
15 Nov 2007, 09:49
So the Brisbane Lions are running on 'Fall Out Boy' money? Now that's cool:p
Everything's coming up Milhouse!

danielcanberra
15 Nov 2007, 10:07
I don't understand what this supposedly means.

Does the club operate as a profit making business or on a cost recovery basis?

Does the amount in the black really mean a surplus?

Where does the profit go?

What does the profit mean for us, the ordinary members of the club (insofar as we are not 'shareholders')?

Why should we care?

POBT
15 Nov 2007, 10:10

What does the profit mean for us, the ordinary members of the club (insofar as we are not 'shareholders')?

Why should we care?
I think it is basically a surplus, Dan, partly to be saved and partly to be invested in other income generating assets.

TheBrownDog
15 Nov 2007, 13:18

Why should we care?

We are a non-profit organization Dan, so no profits are distributed amongst members, shareholders etc...

Profits can be saved to offset any future losses, or as POBT has already said, can be invested. Either in better facilities/staff for the football or administration departments, or invested in profit generating sources.

charles202
17 Nov 2007, 12:46
Im wrapped to here that we made a profit this year, but thats just the inner accountant coming out in me, ill remove the pocket protector now.

It looks like the club did a good job in divesting the profits we made in the boom years to non-football activities, if they can continue to do this it shoudl really minimise the financial effect of a bad season on the pitch, which can only increase the strength and stability of the club (which seems even more important now should a second team enter our market and try and steal or suporter base and sponsorship marjet).

Hopefully the boad can maintain the balance of ensuring that we have the best possible player facilities to aid the players on the field and continue to make wise financial decisions off the field.

beatnik
18 Nov 2007, 13:30
i hope that Bowers financially mismanages us twice as badly next year ;)

campbell
18 Nov 2007, 19:31
So, do we have an actual breakdown.....

notting18
18 Nov 2007, 20:04
So, do we have an actual breakdown.....

To me that sounds like the type of thing that will be released at the AGM

Cousin Jed
18 Nov 2007, 20:09
To me that sounds like the type of thing that will be released at the AGM

Yep. You'll have to wait until they table the accounts at the AGM.

campbell
18 Nov 2007, 20:21
Yep. You'll have to wait until they table the accounts at the AGM.

ok thanks

beatnik
19 Nov 2007, 19:20
a very interesting article in Mark Oberhardt's column, The Ear, discussing 'Narks Inc' ("the mystery group who bags everyone and everything")

The Ear said:

"Narks Inc." is out in force wondering if there is some creative accountancy involved in the financial turnaround. But the accusation is well off the mark and it is a genuine profit. The Lions should be admired...

I wonder if he is talking about anyone in particular? :rolleyes:

POBT
20 Nov 2007, 09:05
a very interesting article in Mark Oberhardt's column, The Ear, discussing 'Narks Inc' ("the mystery group who bags everyone and everything")

The Ear said:

I wonder if he is talking about anyone in particular? :rolleyes:
I had a laugh when I saw that piece. It is almost word for word!!!