View Full Version : State your bandwagon for pick 8
Warwick
27 Oct 2007, 14:30
Got pretty heated in here this time last year with an almost gang-like war between the Thorp, Leuenberger, Selwood, and Armitage camps.
Well, who are you behind this year to get picked up at 8?
Going by what I have read, I want Ebert.
Here's hoping he slips through.
BigCat2
27 Oct 2007, 14:32
Ebert, although if Masten slips, I won't complain. ;)
Sherminator.
27 Oct 2007, 14:52
Ebert, those who beg to differ...
YOU'LL BE MOLOTOVED!
Grimreepah
27 Oct 2007, 15:18
Yep, I'm hoping for Ebert. Grimes is my smokey.
blackpowerlappin
27 Oct 2007, 16:09
Got pretty heated in here this time last year with an almost gang-like war between the Thorp, Leuenberger, Selwood, and Armitage camps.
Hi boys, I think we should line up a key defender, and hope Rance is available- if not I would also like Ebert.
TheBrownDog
27 Oct 2007, 16:23
Ebert, Masten, Myers
carmi99
27 Oct 2007, 16:25
Hindsite is a wonderful thing but i reckon you guys mite have been spot on with Leuenberger. He looks the goods. Mind you im pretty happy with Gumbleton to date so it should be interesting to see how picks 2 and 3 develop over the next few years.
You mite be a chance for Ebert at pick 8 but i have heard that Essendon are pretty keen on him with pick 6. Should be interesting though....:thumbsu:
carmi99
27 Oct 2007, 16:26
Ebert, Masten, Myers
Masten at pick 8 is wishful thinking....
TheBrownDog
27 Oct 2007, 16:29
Masten at pick 8 is wishful thinking....
No shit.
Mitch Clark at 9 was wishful thinking in 2005 as well...
Go back to your board muppet.
Add another Brisbane obsessed Essendon supporter to the list.
No shit.
Haha, go Andy!
Ebert or Selwood would be good.
TheBrownDog
27 Oct 2007, 17:39
Haha, go Andy!
Ebert or Selwood would be good.
Selwood would not be worth pick 8. I'd be an angry Browndog if we used that pick on him.
notting18
27 Oct 2007, 17:59
Ebert is definitely the player i would like to see coming our way.....
TheBrownDog
27 Oct 2007, 18:00
The Western Bulldogs going for a KPP is our best chance of one of the gun mids sliding our way.
carmi99
27 Oct 2007, 19:51
No shit.
Im not obsessed with any team. I like to go into all boards and get the opinions and thoughts of other football lovers. I am not sure why you are so defensive and abusive but it seems kind of childish if you ask me.
BigCat2
27 Oct 2007, 20:02
Im not obsessed with any team. I like to go into all boards and get the opinions and thoughts of other football lovers. I am not sure why you are so defensive and abusive but it seems kind of childish if you ask me.
I think it's because there's been a lot of silly Essendon posters lately who have appeared and posted rubbish on our board.
FWIW, I think the initial post you made was reasonable. I think it's highly unlikely Masten will fall, and even if he did Freo would be a good chance to pick him up at #7.
No shit.
Add another Brisbane obsessed Essendon supporter to the list.Err...this seems a pretty OTT to me, lets play nice children.
TheBrownDog
27 Oct 2007, 20:44
Err...this seems a pretty OTT to me, lets play nice children.
Yes dad. :rolleyes:
The Flying Belgian
27 Oct 2007, 20:52
Err...this seems a pretty OTT to me, lets play nice children.
http://bashish.sourceforge.net/C64.png
TheBrownDog
27 Oct 2007, 20:56
http://bashish.sourceforge.net/C64.png
Man our Commodore 64 was rooted by the end.
You had to hold the tape lid town with just the right amount of force, not too much, not too little.
I mastered holding the lid down with my left hand while doing my homework with the right hand.
Those 15 minute load times were a killer.
lion_gooner
27 Oct 2007, 21:23
anyone that is a midfielder not a tall forward
Man our Commodore 64 was rooted by the end.
You had to hold the tape lid town with just the right amount of force, not too much, not too little.
I mastered holding the lid down with my left hand while doing my homework with the right hand.
Those 15 minute load times were a killer.Stuff homewrok.
http://c64s.com/game/471/boulder_dash_i/
http://c64s.com/game/550/commando/
Kochie 16
27 Oct 2007, 21:53
I have no ****ing idea who we should go after in the draft, so i'll go with everyone else and say Ebert.
P.S. Is he a midfielder?
TheBrownDog
27 Oct 2007, 21:59
I have no ****ing idea who we should go after in the draft, so i'll go with everyone else and say Ebert.
P.S. Is he a midfielder?
Yep. Hard at it extractor type.
carmi99
27 Oct 2007, 22:15
I think it's because there's been a lot of silly Essendon posters lately who have appeared and posted rubbish on our board.
FWIW, I think the initial post you made was reasonable. I think it's highly unlikely Masten will fall, and even if he did Freo would be a good chance to pick him up at #7.
Its the same all over. It doesnt matter which board you go onto you will always find those supporters who go to other boards to post rubbish and cause trouble. Not everyone is like that though so everyone should be treated on there merits or comments. Anyway, thanks for the feedback :thumbsu:
I was thinking West Coast may go for Masten but i think your spot on that Freo will go for him if still avialable.
carmi99
27 Oct 2007, 22:19
P.S. Is he a midfielder?
Similiar to his brother in terms of hardness but more of an out and out MF player. Should be a gun player only problem would be him wanting to head to Adelaide after the compulsory 2 year contract period.
Kochie 16
27 Oct 2007, 22:22
Yep. Hard at it extractor type.
He's starting to sound good!:thumbsu:
TheBrownDog
27 Oct 2007, 22:24
He's starting to sound good!:thumbsu:
I think I secretly hope someone takes him before we get a chance. I don't normally stress too much about the go-home factor but this kid has Port Adelaide royalty in his blood.
Kochie 16
27 Oct 2007, 22:26
I think I secretly hope someone takes him before we get a chance. I don't normally stress too much about the go-home factor but this kid has Port Adelaide royalty in his blood.
Abit of a Nathan Buckley eh?
lion_gooner
27 Oct 2007, 22:42
Similiar to his brother in terms of hardness but more of an out and out MF player. Should be a gun player only problem would be him wanting to head to Adelaide after the compulsory 2 year contract period.why were collard and mourish delisted then :confused::confused:
TheBrownDog
27 Oct 2007, 22:43
Abit of a Nathan Buckley eh?
It would be like Jonathan Brown's son being drafted to Port.
It would be like Jonathan Brown's son being drafted to Port.Or Graham Cornes's boys playing for port?
Grimreepah
27 Oct 2007, 23:11
why were collard and mourish delisted then :confused::confused:
The club's commitment in a new draftee's contract is to pay that player for two years. They can delist a player early (just like they can sack a coach early) but they still have to honour their monetary commitment.
TheBrownDog
27 Oct 2007, 23:12
Or Graham Cornes's boys playing for port?
Yeah, that worked out alright for Port.
I'm just a little wary of Ebert's committment. I have faith that our recruiting staff will make the right choice though.
carmi99
27 Oct 2007, 23:17
why were collard and mourish delisted then :confused::confused:
All first time draftees are signed onto a 2 year contract at a set wage. Clubs can still delist a player after one year but would have to pay the contract out. Players cannot leave after one year to join another club. Basically, you not see a repeat of a Buckley type thing but it is still a worry to draft someone like Ebert as he may be keen to head home after 2 years.
PROUD LION
28 Oct 2007, 00:42
The Bulldogs to take a KP (Henderson)...then Masten/Palmer to be there @ 8.......
DON'T WANT EBERT :thumbsd:
black_hart
28 Oct 2007, 01:18
The only reason I don't want Ebert is because his heart won't be in it..another Headland waiting to happen.
So Rioli,Masten or perhaps Rance..Palmer will be swept up by Freo.
Sherminator.
28 Oct 2007, 11:55
Similiar to his brother in terms of hardness but more of an out and out MF player. Should be a gun player only problem would be him wanting to head to Adelaide after the compulsory 2 year contract period.
Not brothers. Cousins.
Warwick
28 Oct 2007, 12:00
I don't think the Bulldogs will influence who we pick. They are certain to take a KPP according to Eade and co. Although things can change, I reckon the Bulldogs are pretty locked on to picking the best tall player available at 5.
Who we end up with will most probably depend who Melbourne and Essendon select. Both need class midfielders (especially Essendon).
So it could end up like:
Kreuzer, Cotchin, Morton - between Carlton, Richmond, and West Coast.
Next best midfielder - Melbourne.
Best tall player - Bulldogs.
Next best midfielder - Essendon (have drafted very tall lately so should pick up a mid).
Best West Australian?? - Dockers
Quigley
28 Oct 2007, 14:11
My preferences depending on availability:
1. Masten
2. Ebert
3. Rioli
4. Collier
TheBrownDog
28 Oct 2007, 14:26
My preferences depending on availability:
1. Masten
2. Ebert
3. Rioli
4. Collier
What do you think of Myers Quigley?
Seems to fit the tall, running midfielder spec that Leigh was after.
Not brothers. Cousins.
We're not drafting Cousins!
notting18
28 Oct 2007, 14:55
I'm pretty sure he was refering to the relationship between Brad and Brett....and we do have a history of drafting cousins and getting the better of the two (Nige >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>Matthew)
Grimreepah
28 Oct 2007, 15:23
I'm pretty sure he was refering to the relationship between Brad and Brett....and we do have a history of drafting cousins and getting the better of the two (Nige >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>Matthew)
I think xplo was joking. Although I wouldn't mind drafting Cousins, if just to see xplo's reaction:eek: :p
Quigley
28 Oct 2007, 16:16
What do you think of Myers Quigley?
Seems to fit the tall, running midfielder spec that Leigh was after.
I agree BD and I would probably have him next on the list. The only thing that I would say is I think he is a little overhyped at the moment and everyone is just assuming that he will go high. I am not saying that he won't but he is not as assured of a top 10 spot as a lot of people are assuming. Everyone has talked Rioli and Collier down but I would have them in the same basket as Myers come draft day.
Sherminator.
28 Oct 2007, 16:18
:p Tee-hee.
Purely on descriptions, I am a Collier fan.
Thought I would expand on my previous post.
Again, based purely on what has been written about potential draftees this year, and in Collier's case, last year, I think young Tom is a perfect fit for us. So far, he is pretty much pencilled by the reviews as a CHB or 3rd tall. Tall defenders is either an area of real depth for us (Merrett, Patfull, Roe, Drummond, Tyler, Clouston with Bradshaw and Brennan as possibilities) or it is an area where we are heavy on quantity but light on quality. I think arguments could be made either way - at least at the moment or until Patfull and Roe are definitively AFL standard 2nd talls).
Between pick 10 and 30 seems to be where the highly rated young key defenders get drafted. I think someone like Darren Glass went at pick 11. In line with this, many of the remarkably similar phantom drafts have Collier going between pick 9 and 12. Pick 8 is on the margins of that band. Based on that, he may well be in our sights, at least as a possibility.
I probably considered him to be one of those players who wasn't worth pick 8 and was never going to slip as far as our second round pick. I am now of the opinion that he is well worth having a crack at with our first rounder.
The thing I like most about him is his 3km effort. He finished 4th at the draft camp, behind the remarkable effort of Smouha and the recognised quality runners in Palmer and Morton. That puts him in the "elite" category of distance runners. He's apparently done some time in the midfield already and was highly rated in terms of contested possessions at the champs. That is the deal maker for me - at 190cm+, he would seem capable of playing a role in the middle or on a wing. That puts him (potentially) in some rarified company - Chad Cornes being the prototype, I guess.
Other factors that I think the club would like are:
- Is already performing quite well in the VFL: mentioned in the best for Tassie on several occasions
- Captained his state u/18 side
- Made All Australian
- Is a Tassie boy so unlikely to "go home"
OK, it might be a risk, particularly if his midfield form has not been exposed and I understand that there are a few questions on his decision making. But in this draft, unless one of those really good in and under mids slide to our pick which may not happen, then I'd love to see us take Collier and see if we can develop him into the type of player that we need.
At worst, he becomes a jack of all trades, master of none type. We've got a few of those but will be losing one (Notting) in the next few years. As a long kicking, athletic/endurance player, we could hardly do worse than look at Collier as our long term replacement for Poss.
Sherminator.
30 Oct 2007, 15:34
Was Collier draftable last year? I am guessing he wasn't, but I recall people saying he should have been drafted?
Vic Crow
30 Oct 2007, 15:54
Was Collier draftable last year? I am guessing he wasn't, but I recall people saying he should have been drafted?
Yes, he was.
Sherminator.
30 Oct 2007, 16:01
Yes, he was.
Surprised he wasn't drafted!
It was a strong year and I don't think too many clubs took speculative bottom aged picks.
Bombers1234
30 Oct 2007, 16:44
Whats the difference between Eberts going home factor to SA and Mastens going home factor to WA?
Masten is a deidcated Eagles man, he even worked part-time at the Eagles store and has tons of mates here. I have spoken to him personally a few times and he's dead keen on staying in Perth.
I hope for his sake he'll get picked up at no.3. But if he does get drafted to Brissy, he'll at least have Mitch Clark over there. Clark and Masten played all their junior footy at Rossmoyne F.C so they should get along i guess.
Sherminator.
30 Oct 2007, 17:10
Whats the difference between Eberts going home factor to SA and Mastens going home factor to WA?
Masten is a deidcated Eagles man, he even worked part-time at the Eagles store and has tons of mates here. I have spoken to him personally a few times and he's dead keen on staying in Perth.
I hope for his sake he'll get picked up at no.3. But if he does get drafted to Brissy, he'll at least have Mitch Clark over there. Clark and Masten played all their junior footy at Rossmoyne F.C so they should get along i guess.
Same goes for Armitage, dedicated Lions fan and worked part-time at the Lions store. Personally I don't think either would suffer 'go home factor'.
dmac_55
30 Oct 2007, 18:13
Living in SA you truly appreciate the loyalty the Ebert family has to Port Adelaide. Brett is currently excelling for the Power, with his father Russel doing a lot of off field work for the club.
I can see in a few years time, if Brisbane drafted Ebert and he was struggling to get a game after a few years the go-home factor would be huge.
On field though he sounds a very likeable proposition...
Quigley
30 Oct 2007, 20:23
Thought I would expand on my previous post.
Again, based purely on what has been written about potential draftees this year, and in Collier's case, last year, I think young Tom is a perfect fit for us. So far, he is pretty much pencilled by the reviews as a CHB or 3rd tall. Tall defenders is either an area of real depth for us (Merrett, Patfull, Roe, Drummond, Tyler, Clouston with Bradshaw and Brennan as possibilities) or it is an area where we are heavy on quantity but light on quality. I think arguments could be made either way - at least at the moment or until Patfull and Roe are definitively AFL standard 2nd talls).
Between pick 10 and 30 seems to be where the highly rated young key defenders get drafted. I think someone like Darren Glass went at pick 11. In line with this, many of the remarkably similar phantom drafts have Collier going between pick 9 and 12. Pick 8 is on the margins of that band. Based on that, he may well be in our sights, at least as a possibility.
I probably considered him to be one of those players who wasn't worth pick 8 and was never going to slip as far as our second round pick. I am now of the opinion that he is well worth having a crack at with our first rounder.
The thing I like most about him is his 3km effort. He finished 4th at the draft camp, behind the remarkable effort of Smouha and the recognised quality runners in Palmer and Morton. That puts him in the "elite" category of distance runners. He's apparently done some time in the midfield already and was highly rated in terms of contested possessions at the champs. That is the deal maker for me - at 190cm+, he would seem capable of playing a role in the middle or on a wing. That puts him (potentially) in some rarified company - Chad Cornes being the prototype, I guess.
Other factors that I think the club would like are:
- Is already performing quite well in the VFL: mentioned in the best for Tassie on several occasions
- Captained his state u/18 side
- Made All Australian
- Is a Tassie boy so unlikely to "go home"
OK, it might be a risk, particularly if his midfield form has not been exposed and I understand that there are a few questions on his decision making. But in this draft, unless one of those really good in and under mids slide to our pick which may not happen, then I'd love to see us take Collier and see if we can develop him into the type of player that we need.
At worst, he becomes a jack of all trades, master of none type. We've got a few of those but will be losing one (Notting) in the next few years. As a long kicking, athletic/endurance player, we could hardly do worse than look at Collier as our long term replacement for Poss.
I really like Collier as well POBT and actually have us taking him in my mock. He is more than capable as a tight defender and at 192 he has the height if not the weight at the moment to play CHB. What stands out to me is his running through the middle. He is like the second coming of Leppa or CJ in this respect and that is something we could use at the moment. If we ended up with Collier I would be very happy.
sinepari
30 Oct 2007, 20:40
Interesting Quigley.
I rate Collier and thought he was a certain to be taken last year. However I have him sliding this year. Quite a way actually.
What would you think of Callan Ward at 8?
Quigley
30 Oct 2007, 21:05
Interesting Quigley.
I rate Collier and thought he was a certain to be taken last year. However I have him sliding this year. Quite a way actually.
What would you think of Callan Ward at 8?
With Collier it is a little bit of out of sight out of mind I think but I think whoever picks him up will do very well for themselves. I don't think he will get taken at 8 (more likely mid teens).
At 8 we would be way overpaying for Ward I believe. He is a bit of the flavour of the month and everyone has suddenly discovered him. You have nearly talked me into Myers but you have a way to go with Ward.
TheBrownDog
30 Oct 2007, 21:29
Just out of interest Quigs, if we had pick 1, would you take Kruezer or Cotchin?
Quigley
30 Oct 2007, 21:38
Just out of interest Quigs, if we had pick 1, would you take Kruezer or Cotchin?
For Brisbane you would have to take Cotchin although he hardly covered himself in glory at the Champs. Kreuzer though was outplayed by Naitanui and even on a best case scenario he is likely to be average in hitouts.
Sherminator.
30 Oct 2007, 22:27
I'd take Cotchin, Kruezer is pretty darn overrated. He won't be a gun tap ruckman, pretty soft and won't be likely to grab more than 15 touches a match (consistently) at senior level.
Don't rate Kruezer at all. :thumbsd:
Quigley
30 Oct 2007, 22:47
People have talked about Kruezer being similar to Fraser and I think that is a very good comparison. Good but not elite ruckman who is better than most around the ground. A rucks primary job though is to win the ruck contests and Berger is the much better prospect in this regard.
Grimreepah
2 Nov 2007, 19:05
Yep, I'm hoping for Ebert. Grimes is my smokey.
I'm also starting to like the sound of Myers. Might change that to Ebert, if not Myers.:thumbsu:
TheBrownDog
2 Nov 2007, 19:14
I'm also starting to like the sound of Myers. Might change that to Ebert, if not Myers.:thumbsu:
Yeah I've been on the Myers bandwagon for a while.
Could be a Martin Pike clone. :thumbsu:
Vic Crow
2 Nov 2007, 19:40
I'd take Cotchin, Kruezer is pretty darn overrated. He won't be a gun tap ruckman, pretty soft and won't be likely to grab more than 15 touches a match (consistently) at senior level.
Don't rate Kruezer at all. :thumbsd:
WTF?! :confused::eek:
I thought that would be one of the last things you could say about Kreuzer.
TheBrownDog
2 Nov 2007, 19:42
WTF?! :confused::eek:
I thought that would be one of the last things you could say about Kreuzer.
Do you really want Patrick Veszpremi at pick 10?
Isn't that paying over the odds a bit?
I'm in favour of drafting a Myers or Collier if they can provide a big body in the midfield to help with clearances. Similar to what Browny did in parts of 2005, where his size and strength were put to good use.
We're not going to play Browny there any more obviously, but I still like the idea of a big bodied midfielder that racks up clearances on a regular basis. Will help us clear the ball away and bring in our runners.
PROUD LION
3 Nov 2007, 12:56
Do we take a Rance or Collier if the reputed FAB 5 (Cotchin, Morton, Palmer, Ebert + Masten) are gone by pick 8?
Along with Kruezer and Henderson in the TOP 7, there will have to be a surprise high pick for us to get one of the midfielders I mentioned above.....
Who could jump up to a top 7 pick, who could slide, who could we take at 8 if not a genuine midfielder?
I STILL WANT PALMER THOUGH :o
Sherminator.
3 Nov 2007, 14:05
Do we take a Rance or Collier if the reputed FAB 5 (Cotchin, Morton, Palmer, Ebert + Masten) are gone by pick 8?
Along with Kruezer and Henderson in the TOP 7, there will have to be a surprise high pick for us to get one of the midfielders I mentioned above.....
Who could jump up to a top 7 pick, who could slide, who could we take at 8 if not a genuine midfielder?
I STILL WANT PALMER THOUGH :o
Collier before Rance, IMO. More strings to his bow. That said Myers would also be ahead of Rance for the Lions.
PROUD LION
3 Nov 2007, 19:41
Collier before Rance, IMO. More strings to his bow. That said Myers would also be ahead of Rance for the Lions.
Must admit after a few whispers in recent days, I do have my big toe on the bottom step of the Myers bandwagon :o
At 190cm, is he more likely to end up a 3rd tall or a genuine midfielder?....the only gun midfielder that comes to mind at that height or above is Goodes.....O and that Judd guy at 189cm goes quite well on his day too :p
Apparently Myers is now 192cm.
are you guys trying to sneak a KPP in by saying he's actually a midfielder?
PROUD LION
3 Nov 2007, 21:48
are you guys trying to sneak a KPP in by saying he's actually a midfielder?
He's been classified as a midfileder in all print media, one that's capable of being turned into a quality CHB in the future :thumbsu:
notting18
3 Nov 2007, 21:49
He's been classified as a midfileder in all print media, one that's capable of being turned into a quality CHB in the future :thumbsu:
:eek:*Richard Hadley Flashback*
TheBrownDog
3 Nov 2007, 21:50
Bit like Chris Schmidt. But 3 cm taller.
:eek:*Richard Hadley Flashback*
From what I'm reading on the Draft board, Myers has dash, good skills, good marking, is athletic and a natural runner. Not sure Hadley is like that at all? :confused:
And TBD, I thought Chris Schmidt was already 189cm when we drafted him, and I heard he grew a bit during the year as well?
Sherminator.
4 Nov 2007, 13:46
From what I'm reading on the Draft board, Myers has dash, good skills, good marking, is athletic and a natural runner. Not sure Hadley is like that at all? :confused:
And TBD, I thought Chris Schmidt was already 189cm when we drafted him, and I heard he grew a bit during the year as well?
Indeed, I was told he is about 191 now. Still a midfielder, IMO.
PROUD LION
4 Nov 2007, 14:56
Indeed, I was told he is about 191 now. Still a midfielder, IMO.
From his fame and foot skills, he may turn out to be a left footed Lappin off a wing/half back :D
Shit we have some talent on our books now, hope they all stay healthy and at the club for a long time :thumbsu:
Vic Crow
5 Nov 2007, 08:36
Do you really want Patrick Veszpremi at pick 10?
Isn't that paying over the odds a bit?
There are other I would prefer obviously, but I don't expect them to fall to us. Of the guys that I expect to be there I defnitely want Veszpremi at the Crows. He's the perfect fit for us and "best available" doesn't apply at that point in the draft as far as I'm concerned because I don't see a great difference between the players that are likely to go between 10-20.
PROUD LION
5 Nov 2007, 13:20
Addam Maric for PICK 25 :thumbsu:
Sherminator.
5 Nov 2007, 13:23
Addam Maric for PICK 25 :thumbsu:
Browne or Reid for 25.
PROUD LION
5 Nov 2007, 13:48
Browne or Reid for 25.
Heard that Reid has poor foot skills :thumbsd:
Maric is "apparently" a Nathan Brown clone :D.....and he's Croatian too :thumbsu:
BUDDYHODGEBIRCH-
5 Nov 2007, 14:35
Hi boys, I think we should line up a key defender, and hope Rance is available- if not I would also like Ebert.
RANCE is going to HAWTHORN buddy!!!!!!!
Can I borrow your crystall ball for a day? Wouldn't mind knowing next week's Lotto numbers...
Btw, in the Phantom Draft Addam Maric has gone to Melbourne @21.
It'd be good if we can pick up Collier at 25, but I think that's a going to be a bit optimistic come Draft day.
I wouldn't mind McGinnity at 25, as our only tagger at the moment is Troy Selwood.
Sherminator.
5 Nov 2007, 15:08
Can I borrow your crystall ball for a day? Wouldn't mind knowing next week's Lotto numbers...
Btw, in the Phantom Draft Addam Maric has gone to Melbourne @21.
It'd be good if we can pick up Collier at 25, but I think that's a going to be a bit optimistic come Draft day.
I wouldn't mind McGinnity at 25, as our only tagger at the moment is Troy Selwood.
Indeed, I am a big fan of McGinnity's. Totally ripped Cotchin a new one. :)
Sherminator.
5 Nov 2007, 15:16
Heard that Reid has poor foot skills :thumbsd:
Many players go into the draft with queries over foot skills. You seriously think it isn't easy to correct kicking at AFL level, he'd be having a lot of work done on his kicking.
Besides, he is an inside midfielder. His handling of the ball in close is the best in the draft, IMO. He has Black like handball skills, runs all day (recorded a 15.4 beep at the start of the year) and his kicking is overly bad, hit and miss is a better way to explain it.
Whereas, Maric is 178cm and will most likely spend his first 3 seasons as a small forward (which we have well covered, IMO) before, he might make the shift to a midfield role.
In those order at 25 for me- McGinnity (gun tagger), Browne (great kicking flanker), Reid (best hands in the draft), Maric (skill crumber), Dangerfield (tall midfielder). :)
TheBrownDog
5 Nov 2007, 15:19
Yeah, I want Reid at 25.
Makes a hell of alot of sense.
Dream scenario:
8 Brad Ebert
25 Tom Collier
41 Sam Reid
52 Brendan Whitecross
Rookie Dayne Zorko
Rookie Joseph Daye
;)
TheBrownDog
5 Nov 2007, 15:25
Dream scenario:
8 Brad Ebert
25 Tom Collier
41 Sam Reid
52 Brendan Whitecross
Rookie Dayne Zorko
Rookie Joseph Daye
;)
If we're dreaming, why not have Cotchin and Masten available at 41 and 52? ;)
Because that's more than dreaming - it would require the other 15 clubs to not turn up on draft day. :D
Grimreepah
5 Nov 2007, 16:11
Can I borrow your crystall ball for a day?
I am expecting one or two Ted38s to come along and tell us exactly how the draft will pan out.:rolleyes:
May not be as fanciful as it seems. Still no Collier in the phantom draft with 21 picks taken so based on that, getting him at pick 25 is not that far fetched. Reid at 41 is a possibility and it would seem that Whitecross could go anywhere from 30 onwards.
The only thing about BigCat's "dream" is that I think we'd like to take a ruck with one of the later picks. I don't think we've ever gone into a season with only 3 rucks on the senior list and I doubt whether the club still has ruck aspirations for Clark or Merrett. It would be hard to overlook someone like Whitecross if he's available at pick 52 but we may have to look at a project ruckman at some point.
I agree that a ruckman may well be on the cards, but if there's a good prospect at 52, I don't think we should overlook him just for the sake of picking a ruckman.
Look at our ruck division:
McDonald 28yo
Charman 25yo
Leuenberger 19yo
Tippett (rookie) 18yo
Now if we draft a ruckman, that'll just add another 18yo kid to the above list. Is that really necessary? And if he does turn out alright, will we be faced with another Wood/Leuenberger dilemma?
West Coast operate with only 2 ruckmen (Cox, Seaby) on their list. Now they're pretty lucky in that they've both been relatively injury free. Knowing our injury record and questios on Beau I wouldn't think 2 would be anywhere near enough for Brisbane, but 3 might be ok for the time being.
Right now Beau is the ideal back up ruckman if he can stay fit. Charman and Leuenberger potentially have ruck spots sawn up for the next 5 years. We have Joel Tippett who is raw but has the athletic tools and height to succeed. I don't think it's absolutely essential for us to pick up a ruckman in this draft.
Don't get me wrong, I think rucks are awfully important and if there's a good once available we should pick him up, like we did with Leuenberger last year. However, I still believe in best available as far as drafting is concerned, for the time being anyway.
Sherminator.
5 Nov 2007, 18:46
I've discussed the view of drafting a ruckman at 52 or 57.
The best two that come to mind (for me) are Dawson Simpson (207cm) and Will Sullivan (201cm). Both would be long term project ruckmen, their full development would probaly coincide with the retiring/delisting of McDonald, too. That'd be in 2-3 seasons time.
I would be surprised if Simpson was available Sullivan might be a chance.
I am thinking that having a couple of rucks on the rookie list might not be such a bad thing. Spencer is one guy I would hope we take a close look at.
It would be like Jonathan Brown's son being drafted to Port.
Murphy to Carlton? Ok, not the same thing... :)
Sherminator.
7 Nov 2007, 21:13
I would be surprised if Simpson was available Sullivan might be a chance.
I am thinking that having a couple of rucks on the rookie list might not be such a bad thing. Spencer is one guy I would hope we take a close look at.
More about Spencer? Height/weight? Skills?
PROUD LION
7 Nov 2007, 21:28
Sherm, thought I'd let you know that I am now on the Myers bandwagon :D
Sherminator.
7 Nov 2007, 23:03
Sherm, thought I'd let you know that I am now on the Myers bandwagon :D
:cool: Better than the Palmer wagon. :)
I agree that a ruckman may well be on the cards, but if there's a good prospect at 52, I don't think we should overlook him just for the sake of picking a ruckman.
Look at our ruck division:
McDonald 28yo
Charman 25yo
Leuenberger 19yo
Tippett (rookie) 18yo
Now if we draft a ruckman, that'll just add another 18yo kid to the above list. Is that really necessary? And if he does turn out alright, will we be faced with another Wood/Leuenberger dilemma?
West Coast operate with only 2 ruckmen (Cox, Seaby) on their list. Now they're pretty lucky in that they've both been relatively injury free. Knowing our injury record and questios on Beau I wouldn't think 2 would be anywhere near enough for Brisbane, but 3 might be ok for the time being.
Right now Beau is the ideal back up ruckman if he can stay fit. Charman and Leuenberger potentially have ruck spots sawn up for the next 5 years. We have Joel Tippett who is raw but has the athletic tools and height to succeed. I don't think it's absolutely essential for us to pick up a ruckman in this draft.
Don't get me wrong, I think rucks are awfully important and if there's a good once available we should pick him up, like we did with Leuenberger last year. However, I still believe in best available as far as drafting is concerned, for the time being anyway.
It really just comes down to how highly they rated Tippett's season. I think the formula of 3 specialist ruckmen on the list and one athletic rookie is perfect. Both Clark and Merrett give you some sort of alternative at a pinch.
Tippett missed a bit of footy in the middle of last year. I've never seen him play, but got the impression he was very, very raw and never seriously a elevation prospect last year -- which was fine because we had a ruck surplus and few ruck injuries -- a perfect time to spend a year developing an athletic freak.
With Cam Wood gone, we would need to feel comfortable with the prospect of elevating Joel Tippett in the event of losing a Charman/McDonald/Berger for the season.
If be interested to hear from the guys that saw Joel play (TFB, browndog, etc), whether they think the club would be relaxed with the idea of elevating him next year if circumstances demanded?
The Flying Belgian
8 Nov 2007, 09:56
If be interested to hear from the guys that saw Joel play (TFB, browndog, etc), whether they think the club would be relaxed with the idea of elevating him next year if circumstances demanded?
Wouldn't think so, based on what I saw. Always seems shorter than what he is and the skills aren't there consistently yet.
I'd think the club would see Clark as a viable back-up ruck, providing he's fit of course. Worse case scenario would see guys like Brennan or Mills used in that role.
My opinion is we should draft another ruckman whether that be rookie listing (my preferred option) or in the draft.