View Full Version : Origin of your Big Footy name
mojon95
28th October 2007, 00:22
Just for fun, mine come from spanish, where "mojon" (pronounced Mo-h-on), which means talent, and 95 comes from 1995 (the year that lucas and lloyd were drafted):thumbsu:
Sam the RAMA fan
31st October 2007, 20:48
Gee..mine isnt hard! :P
Thought Rama was a gun when I'd first seen him play back in 99 :thumbsu:
Lovett Lover 13
31st October 2007, 21:56
im just a self confesed lovett lover i guess
Ryder Is God
9th November 2007, 00:01
Paddy Ryder is my God.
Pawtucket Patriot
9th November 2007, 08:50
"Pawtucket Patriot" is the brand of beer from Family Guy that Peter is obsessed with. It is sort of like Duff beer in the Simpsons.
Merv Neagle
9th November 2007, 20:20
Mine is from one of my all time favourite Essendon players.
Hope his son turns out as good.
SM10
9th November 2007, 20:26
Paddy Ryder is my God.
And mine
Giggidy Giggidy
13th November 2007, 08:37
"Pawtucket Patriot" is the brand of beer from Family Guy that Peter is obsessed with. It is sort of like Duff beer in the Simpsons.
Mine is also Family Guy based, quoting my favourite character Quagmire (also my current avatar)
Spikey
13th November 2007, 09:17
Mark McVeigh
Pawtucket Patriot
13th November 2007, 09:57
Mine is also Family Guy based, quoting my favourite character Quagmire (also my current avatar)
Nice :thumbsu:
Dais
13th November 2007, 13:59
mine is my actual name
carnthedons07premiers
13th November 2007, 14:50
Geez i obviously dont know because i was stupid enough to make this name.
Stargazer
14th November 2007, 10:52
I started out as Stargazer27 in honour of my beloved Simon Madden, and later this was changed to Stargazer5 in honour of Hirdy.
I'm a movie buff - hence the star gazin' title, and as a reference to watching the STARS of Essendon, which I've been doing for more than half a century.
Also, I wanted name I wouldn't have to keep changing and one that didn't give away my gender !
Stargazer
14th November 2007, 10:55
I started out as Stargazer27 in honour of my beloved Simon Madden, and later this was changed to Stargazer5 in honour of Hirdy.
I'm a movie buff - hence the star gazin' title, and as a reference to watching the STARS of Essendon, which I've been doing for more than half a century.
Also, I wanted a name I wouldn't have to keep changing and one that didn't give away my gender !
On bomberblitz, I'm often called Starry, which I don't mind, but Stargazer is a nom de plume which fits me best.
Ben the Gooner
14th November 2007, 15:27
My name is Ben, I am a Gooner, and the is the definite article joining the two words:thumbsu:
B-Bomber
15th November 2007, 00:59
Uh... I like the bombers?
B is my first initial.
Gus2Gumby
15th November 2007, 21:05
Wanted something bomber related but still kinda different/unique
I'm a big Phoenix Suns fan and most my user names and emails involve 'Nash_2_Stoudemire'
Had to be able to last for a while...
Big fan of Monfries and Gumbleton is a future superstar...
Ta-da!
Nobby8
15th November 2007, 22:20
Your name is one I've always wondered where you got it from...now i know:thumbsu:
The Dustbin
16th November 2007, 12:09
The Dustbin.
After our champion full back Dustin Fletcher. Is underrated, deserves a little bit of the spotlight, even if it is on BigFooty!
loopy_cam
16th November 2007, 21:23
Mine comes from playing cricket. I was a lets say "average" bowler and one day we were getting killed. The skipper called the whole team together to see if they wanted to give my right arm loop-de-doops a go. I got a couple of wickets and loopy stuck. and my name is Cameron.
bomberlegend2007
19th November 2007, 19:31
I go for Essendon = bomber
Im a Legend :p = legend
And the Year i joined BigFooty = 2007
sausageroll
21st November 2007, 12:44
goal
Azzballz Deluxe
21st November 2007, 13:22
Cruel parents
Philzsay
21st November 2007, 15:00
My name is Phil. Last name starts with Z. And on the day I had to invent my name I thought I may as well make it 'My Say' on things...
Although these days I always think of my name as one one word not two.
retroparty
21st November 2007, 20:03
Pretty simple. My life is a retro party.
Jet Girl
22nd November 2007, 15:25
Don't know really :confused:
drew_j
22nd November 2007, 16:01
My name: Drew Jackson. Boring I know but with the 6 billion logins we all seem to have now days I like to keep them all the same. And Drew_j doesn't seem to come up that much.
sausageroll
23rd November 2007, 08:36
My name: Drew Jackson. Boring I know but with the 6 billion logins we all seem to have now days I like to keep them all the same. And Drew_j doesn't seem to come up that much.
Jacko???
OMG. I didn't make the connection.
How have you been mate?
DapperDon
23rd November 2007, 10:22
My nickname is DapperDan as my name is Dan and i'm quite dapper;), all i did was change an A to an O.
pretty clever hey:thumbsu:
The_Young_Gun
23rd November 2007, 15:15
Mine's simple, i'm young and i'm a gun......
drew_j
23rd November 2007, 15:20
Jacko???
OMG. I didn't make the connection.
How have you been mate?
Good,
Who's this?
Grey Smith Bar
24th November 2007, 15:06
Cos it's the best place to watch the footy!
S.C[BANKS]
25th November 2007, 19:22
No where for my name, just thought of it in the registration page. :)
Tambu
27th November 2007, 23:07
Tambu is a drum/music genre... and also the name of an album by Toto, one of my favourite bands. Nothing to do with Essendon ha
danzan22
27th November 2007, 23:16
Names dan, ryhmes with zan, already was a danzan so added 2 random numbers, creative i know.
Big Blow Hard
29th November 2007, 13:43
Big Blow Hard! Obviously cos I am full of hot air. re: Shit.
d-mac3276
29th November 2007, 16:32
Mine coz i'm a homie
Azzballz Deluxe
29th November 2007, 20:29
Mine coz i'm a homie
A homie of whom? :p
Mighty Reds
30th November 2007, 12:04
I am a big Liverpool fan, I also thought Mighty Bombers was probably taken.
OldMav
1st December 2007, 15:56
I am not old and my name is not Mav :thumbsu:
d-mac3276
1st December 2007, 20:30
A homie of whom? :p
I'm a brother, u dig!
Big Blow Hard
2nd December 2007, 14:29
Whos Brother? lol
:)
I don't dig, can I borrow your shovel pls?
jetta2davey
2nd December 2007, 17:05
i couldn't come to a decision as to who i'd dedicate my name after so naturally jetta2davey was born
ManWithNoName
15th December 2007, 23:13
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/image.php?u=16716&dateline=1187265625&type=profile
Bombs Away
17th December 2007, 13:15
Just thought mine had a nice ring to it, wanted something with the bombers
Hislop200
17th December 2007, 18:15
Hislop is going to be a star and play over 200 games for the mighty Red and Black.
Sounds a bit like a car race too, welcome to The Hislop 200.
Bombs Away
18th December 2007, 14:01
Mine coz i'm a homie
I thought yours would have been your name and dob, was waiting to see. I personally know a d mac who is an essendon supporter born around feb 76 aswell (great bloke and pretty good sportsman, just drinks too much bourbon while listening to pearl jam:D:D)
King_Of_Ling
21st December 2007, 11:33
My name has come from a nickname I have been given for my love of going down on women.
KING = The best in the land
OF = self explanatory
LING = The art of oral pleasure on a women
My mini avatar also shows my love for lingus. Save a tree..... Eat a beaver!
un_eggs
21st December 2007, 18:54
I haven'i got glaucoma but some people do...
Bombermania
21st December 2007, 19:15
My old bigfooty name was BMWOFOZ:
BMW are my initials, OFOZ means I live in Australia
My new name Bombermania:
I have a badge from 1984 which is Black with in red BOMBERMANIA written across it
go_the_bombers
21st December 2007, 19:40
I shouldnt have to tell the origins of my bigfooty name!
You all should be smart enough to know already :p :D
iluvessendon
22nd December 2007, 07:58
I love Essendon. :thumbsu:
Raskolnikov
23rd December 2007, 20:39
The main character in my favourite book Crime and Punishment. I wrote my thesis on it and I am like the character in a lot of ways.
The Dustbin
4th January 2008, 10:21
The main character in my favourite book Crime and Punishment. I wrote my thesis on it and I am like the character in a lot of ways.
Is that good or bad?
something witty
9th January 2008, 12:13
i was after something witty, my imagination was lacking that day i guess
cokebomber
9th January 2008, 18:15
my name is simple: i work for coke and i follow the bombers cheers:thumbsu:
Raskolnikov
10th January 2008, 12:42
Is that good or bad?
A bit of both. Very melancholic and prone to apathy but on the other hand very altruistic.
Sir Bomber
15th January 2008, 10:52
After reading about King Arthur and the way that he built his team, I could see a similarity with Knights setting up his leadership team in a quest for the holly grail.:)
Thrust
29th January 2008, 14:35
I'm a nymphomaniac, I do it to everything
SirJimi05
30th January 2008, 12:57
I would like to see James Hird knighted!
Am i asking too much?
I named by dog Jimi but i think more can be done........:D:thumbsu:
Hirdy_5
30th January 2008, 15:42
Pritty Self Expanatory :)
EVERLAST
2nd February 2008, 18:11
Just love the brand. This is my first post, so hope it works.
Have a special deal going for Bombers supporters, exclusively for Bombers supporters.
Have come across a very limited supply of Essendon 2007 Premier Caps brand new with tags. If I knew how to attach a picture to this post, I would.
For $20 including postage, feel free to PM me. If you require a picture, leave your email address.
This isnt a hoax or anything of the like. I have 3 on hand now, can probably get my hands on a further 10, depending on demand.
If they dont sell, they'll no doubt head back to an AFL shop to sell for at least $25, depending on how much their mark up is.
As I said, dont miss out if you think you might be keen.
Incidently, if anyone can PM me instructions on how to attach a picture to help you make your decision, Ill glady post one up.
Pawtucket Patriot
2nd February 2008, 19:12
Just love the brand. This is my first post, so hope it works.
Have a special deal going for Bombers supporters, exclusively for Bombers supporters.
Have come across a very limited supply of Essendon 2007 Premier Caps brand new with tags. If I knew how to attach a picture to this post, I would.
For $20 including postage, feel free to PM me. If you require a picture, leave your email address.
This isnt a hoax or anything of the like. I have 3 on hand now, can probably get my hands on a further 10, depending on demand.
If they dont sell, they'll no doubt head back to an AFL shop to sell for at least $25, depending on how much their mark up is.
As I said, dont miss out if you think you might be keen.
Incidently, if anyone can PM me instructions on how to attach a picture to help you make your decision, Ill glady post one up.
I do not think that you are suppose to flog stuff on big footy. Although I guess if it is a one off then it is alright.
EVERLAST
2nd February 2008, 19:23
I do not think that you are suppose to flog stuff on big footy. Although I guess if it is a one off then it is alright.
Ok cool, thanks for the heads up. Wasn't sure how to let my fellow supporters know about this one off deal. Not sure how much interest I would've received. The offer is still open, but I won't be spamming constantly about it or anything like that.
Just found the Market Place to pitch this special deal, but have to qualify or meet a minimum to be able to begin my own thread. :P
bomba4eva
2nd February 2008, 21:26
I will be a Bomber for ever;)
Charliebrow 16
5th February 2008, 14:02
I got my BF Name from a band called Fightstar, Fightstar's lead singer is called Charlie and he has big bushy eyebrows.
Bit weird but he's an excellent singer so check them out.
Many a poster has previously called me Charliebrown. That gets a bit annoying after a while.
GoDons
5th February 2008, 22:54
'Godons' was an affectionate, slang term used for English soldiers by Joan of Arc.
Cleary it was a mistake to make the 'D' capital.
drew_j
6th February 2008, 19:59
A bit of both. Very melancholic and prone to apathy but on the other hand very altruistic.
I think he was talking about your possible plans of killing old women with an axe.
Stargazer
8th February 2008, 16:30
My name has come from a nickname I have been given for my love of going down on women.
KING = The best in the land
OF = self explanatory
LING = The art of oral pleasure on a women
My mini avatar also shows my love for lingus. Save a tree..... Eat a beaver!
I'm a nymphomaniac, I do it to everything
Met any nice chair legs recently ? ;)
Tarkyn_24
11th February 2008, 02:16
Tarkyn Lockyer would be my favoruite player.
24 his number, also my old basketball number.
Lifetime ban
14th February 2008, 18:27
Back in my younger days, I was a bit of a terror and decided that the roof of the Hird Stand was a great place to watch the footy from. Unfortunately, the Essendon officials at the time didn't and kicked me out of the ground with the warning to never come back. Obviously, I have paid very little attention to that directive over the years, and they wouldn't have known me from a bar of soap a week later anyway, hence the moniker of Lifetime Ban. A member of a very select group I should think who have been banned from going back to the home ground of the team they support.
The Great Barry Besanko
17th February 2008, 20:50
can anyone guess origin of my name??
Don Gibson
18th February 2008, 19:04
can anyone guess origin of my name??
Probably your name? Nice if it is.
Don rhyms with my surname and i just love alliterations.
The Great Barry Besanko
18th February 2008, 20:29
Probably your name? Nice if it is.
Nah, wouldn't be crazy enough to put my real name on a public forum.
Barry Besanko played 2 or 3 games for the Bombers in late 70's when I was a kid.
Had an athletics background and showed in his few appearances in 1sts and 2nds that he could run like a bloody gazelle. The only problem was he couldn't kick, mark or handball to save his life.
Tried his best so can't knock him for that.
Don Gibson
21st February 2008, 19:35
Nah, wouldn't be crazy enough to put my real name on a public forum.
Barry Besanko played 2 or 3 games for the Bombers in late 70's when I was a kid.
Had an athletics background and showed in his few appearances in 1sts and 2nds that he could run like a bloody gazelle. The only problem was he couldn't kick, mark or handball to save his life.
Tried his best so can't knock him for that.
I looked him up and he seems like a bit of a dasher.
unfotunately i put my real name in the IMDB forums about 5 years ago. Cant change it now cos kinda known in certian parts there so Im stuck with it. wish i'd choosen something cooler there.
Doug Tassell
5th March 2008, 20:37
As a tribute to the Late Doug Tassell former Bomber player in the seventies.
Tony Delaney
7th March 2008, 21:31
A mate did the signing for me as I am not really much of a computer person. He told me about big footy a year before I joined and I just tuned out as it sounded like some sort of complex site to get into.
I said why TD as he had red hair and people will know it's me (as I have auburn hair) as I post on the wrfl and it gets a bit heated. He said "your lucky you were nearly Todd Ridley" lol
Bombers42
20th March 2008, 21:32
Mine bares the no.42 N. L-Murray what a champ!
lamaros
21st March 2008, 16:43
I think he was talking about your possible plans of killing old women with an axe.
Maybe he found God in an overly dramatic fashion.
Mine is an old nickname.
BomberAce7
21st March 2008, 16:55
Mine is a combination. Bomber cos odviously im an Essendon supporter & Ace is from my idol Ace Frehley. The number 7 is Leroy Jetta.
bomberz08
3rd April 2008, 13:08
Mine is from one of my all time favourite Essendon players.
Hope his son turns out as good.
so do i
well mines real hard 2 figure out....bombers 4 premiers 08:)
Johnnyprinias
4th April 2008, 09:29
My name is John.
And Prinias is the name of my dads village in Crete.
FBDonkey
30th April 2008, 11:06
From poker. i am the biggest donkey there is. Full Blown
whomb
30th April 2008, 19:13
mine is my nickname. it originates from my name, Thomas. Thomas-Tom-Whomb (pronounced 'womm')