View Full Version : Would you want Carey playing for us?

LIONS2001
19 Jun 2002, 23:21
I know I wouldn't.

Would you be upset at the club if they recruited him?

SpecialBruce
19 Jun 2002, 23:27
He would be handy, but no we don't need him. We wouldn't have anyone to give the Kangaroos. Unless this deal was struck.

Headland and a draft pick to Freo. Pavlich to Kangaroos, Carey to Brisbane.

Carey will be at Hawthorn next year. It is bound to happen.

LIONS2001
19 Jun 2002, 23:32
I don't think Carey could play for a Vic team. At least interstate he won't be in the hype of Victorian supporters across Melbourne.

He would be ridiculed in public constantly. In Sydney, Brisbane or WA (Adelaide is a little footy crazy!) he could live a little more quietly.

BrisGirl
20 Jun 2002, 10:38
Prediction: Pagan and Carey at Sydney next year.

joshhem
20 Jun 2002, 11:00
Originally posted by SpecialBruce

Headland to Freo.

NOOOOOOOOOOOOO

Headland for captain of lions!

BrainOfMorbius
20 Jun 2002, 11:09
Originally posted by LIONS2001
I don't think Carey could play for a Vic team. At least interstate he won't be in the hype of Victorian supporters across Melbourne.

He would be ridiculed in public constantly. In Sydney, Brisbane or WA (Adelaide is a little footy crazy!) he could live a little more quietly. I dunno about that, Carey's provided a lot of copy for page 1 or 3 for The Courier-Mail for months. More than you would expect for a non-AFL state.

LionsRock!
20 Jun 2002, 11:15
I know I wouldn't.

Would you be upset at the club if they recruited him?

Yes I would be very upset with the club if we picked him up. He has shown he is not worthy of being a team player - regardless of on field skills you wouldn't want him around the club. Loyalty has to be number one to be part of a team.

BrisGirl
20 Jun 2002, 11:17
This question was put to a player at a function and the answer was 'No', he will not play for Brisbane.

I can not see how someone who betrayed the trust of a fellow team mate, could and would be accepted amongst the fold of any team environment.

Sydney would have him, because he is from NSW and Sydney need a media driven, high profile player to draw attention to the game in Sydney.

Seeing the Lockett return failed so miserably, Carey fits the bill perfectly.

blackers
20 Jun 2002, 11:32
I wouldn't object to him from an ethical perspective - if we judged all our players on past deeds we would not have recruited Pikey. I just think he wouldn't offer value for money even if we could fit him under the cap. If I supported a club without a decent CHF I would consider him though - he must have a couple of decent playing years left and the way clubs are falling over themselves to get away from him means he might be a bargain despite his manager's comments.

blackers
20 Jun 2002, 11:36
Originally posted by BrisGirl

I can not see how someone who betrayed the trust of a fellow team mate, could and would be accepted amongst the fold of any team environment.

I don't know if that's true, a lot of guys around the league would have enormous respect for his playing ability and that may help him.

Sydney would have him, because he is from NSW and Sydney need a media driven, high profile player to draw attention to the game in Sydney.

Seeing the Lockett return failed so miserably, Carey fits the bill perfectly.

I think you're right about him being a prime candidate for Sydney - they need big names there and they have a history of cherry picking players like Plugger and Roos. I don't know whether the comparison with Plugger is entirely justified though - Carey's much younger than Plugger and has a few seasons left in him.

kimp
20 Jun 2002, 13:17
I think the Liions are a tight knit group and having some one who could do that to his vice captain (and supposed best friend) just doesn't fit in to that mould. Though I'm sure Brown would be over the moon.

MSB ROYS
20 Jun 2002, 13:23
Yes, if we don't lose any players!

Defender
20 Jun 2002, 14:45
If lions let Headland go they have rocks in their heads!

Shaz
20 Jun 2002, 15:45
The Lions wouldn't be able to fit him in the salary cap. There is already talk about who might have to be let go at the end of the season. Carey hasn't has been injury prone over the last few seasons, so at his age and the nature of his injuries, he wouldn't be worth it to the Lions. Would he be worth it to any other club other than the Kangaroos? Locket was a marketing ploy/stunt that has not come off as well as it could have.

OldLion
20 Jun 2002, 19:05
Remember that Collingwood passed on Locket in 1994 (?)because they thought he was a team liability - that was a good idea !

Carey has been the standout player in the '90's and should not be dismissed lightly if he is available. I say go for it. We'll snag another premiership for sure. Remember Mr. Pike and all the twaddle from Lions fans about - he is unworthy of us. I reckon Leigh would salivate at the challange.

Stuff the high moral ground - if we knock him back, we're nuts.

SpecialBruce
20 Jun 2002, 21:12
Originally posted by OldLion
if we knock him back, we're nuts.

If we get him, then we can say goodbye to some players.

Hypothetically Carey is on our list.

That would be: Lynch, Carey, Brown, Bradshaw, Bradshaw. Too much. If Carey is to come to Brisbane, Lynch needs to retire or we trade Daniel Bradshaw and leave Darren as he is developing.
Thats the only way we are going to accomodate Carey.
If Lynch stays on and we want Carey, we get rid of Daniel Bradshaw. If Lynch retires, we keep Daniel Bradshaw. The cap is too tight to get Carey and the Kangaroos would want a decent playert, maybe Leppitsch. It isn't going to happen and I hope it doesn't happen.

Lynch retires right, we keep Daniel Bradshaw and trade Leppitsch to the Kangaroos. Morrison or McLaren can play CHB. It won't happen as Leppitsch won't go which means we would need to trade another player.

Lynch stays on, we trade Daniel Bradshaw to the Kangaroos for Carey.

Those are the possible ways it will happen. But it wont happen.

keatings_gal
20 Jun 2002, 21:16
great to see you want to keep morro....

ONYA MATE!!!!!

but i dont want carey anyway

LionsRock!
21 Jun 2002, 11:16
Originally posted by OldLion
Stuff the high moral ground - if we knock him back, we're nuts.

Nothing to do with moral ground and everything to do with being a team player. People screw around, nothing new there, people get caught, nothing new there. But to be a part of a team and prepared to put your body on your line for your team mates then, loyalty, trust and respect must come to the fore. If Carey had been caught screwing around with some chick from a pub etc then not a problem, his private life, his business, no reflection on him as a player. But to do this to your best mate, team mate and vice captain to boot, unforgivable.

LIONS2001
21 Jun 2002, 15:00
An old guy like Carey is not worth trading Bradshaw for. Bradshaw just needs a little more time to develop.

Carey is injury prone, he is old and not got much steam left in the engine and above all every single player will be watching him like a hawk if there are any team functions with partners present!!

Carey does not seem to have the attributes impotant in a team sport such as AFL. His loyalty has fallen by the wayside, friendships obviously do not mean much to him and I think his commitment levels are far from what a premiership side requires.

There is no player in our squad that I would want to lose in order to accomodate Carey, no matter how cheap Carey is going. I would much rather a 5 game player commited to his teammates and developing himself than a premiership captain in Carey. I have no respect for him any more, and my respect for the clubs administration will lower if they were to take him on board.

The Lions need to concentrate on keeping a good side long-term and developing their own players. Carey will only be around for 2 seasons if he plays again.

NathanD
21 Jun 2002, 17:46
Well put LIONS2001.

Slax
22 Jun 2002, 01:12
No, No, NO.

why pick up a guy who has only one or two season left in him

Stocka
22 Jun 2002, 13:01
Carey is injury prone, he is old and not got much steam left in the engine

The first two I would agree with, but I would think twice before saying that he wouldn't have much steam left in the tank. He'd have to be one of the most fierce competitors that I've ever seen out on a football field, and despite physical set-backs, I reckon he'd still be champing at the bit, once out on the ground.

With that said, I would probably prefer to develop our younger talent, and persist with the likes of "The Guvna", the two Bradshaws, Morrison, McLaren, and company, rather than branch out on a limb for Carey.

Stocka
22 Jun 2002, 13:03
Carey does not seem to have the attributes impotant in a team sport such as AFL. His loyalty has fallen by the wayside, friendships obviously do not mean much to him and I think his commitment levels are far from what a premiership side requires.

I wouldn't go as far as to say that.

Stocka
22 Jun 2002, 13:07
Originally posted by Defender
If lions let Headland go they have rocks in their heads!

That's the best thing you've ever said, Defender.

A big day for you, no doubt! ;) Now you have my approval to join in discussions with the rest of us! :p ;) :D

Stocka
22 Jun 2002, 13:09
Originally posted by Shaz
Locket was a marketing ploy/stunt that has not come off as well as it could have.

I don't know about that one, Shaz.

Apparently Sydney have recently struck up a sponsorship deal with a fitness product company who produces exercise bikes.

lioness
22 Jun 2002, 18:28
Hmmmmmm honestly, I'm just not sure on this one. I can see the pros for the situation, such as his skill and stuff, but we DO have to think of team morale and stuff as well. It's a tough one.

I just don't think it'll happen, honestly. And if it did, I'd only like it if we got him cheaply and lost no players. If that can't happen then I'd be happy seeing him at another club thanks.