View Full Version : Rating the facilities in the EDFL
bigpapagman
13 Feb 2008, 07:38
just keep walking. it is WAAAAAAY cheaper.
dont get a dirty old commodore.
trust me.
longworrytheonlywaytogo
13 Feb 2008, 18:17
what have u got
longworrytheonlywaytogo
14 Feb 2008, 04:14
na i need a car cause walking sucks
bigpapagman
14 Feb 2008, 07:32
purchase a bicycle.
cheap, clean & gets you fit.
dont buy a commodore.
all they do is cost you money.
longworrytheonlywaytogo
14 Feb 2008, 18:13
i have a bicycle but i live in drouin and if u leave it out the front of a shop it usally ends up in a mystery backyard
bigpapagman
15 Feb 2008, 07:27
the "aborginals/tyson hoult steal everyones shit" board.
longworrytheonlywaytogo
15 Feb 2008, 19:48
u mean the gilberts/bryce monahan shit board
bigpapagman
19 Feb 2008, 07:36
are you off your head most of the time?
longworrytheonlywaytogo
20 Feb 2008, 17:17
what can i say i like grog
bigpapagman
20 Feb 2008, 21:59
bet you dont like it as much as me.
thats for sure.
longworrytheonlywaytogo
21 Feb 2008, 04:10
i dont know about that i really do enjoy grog
bigpapagman
21 Feb 2008, 07:01
im not the BigFooty Alcoholic for nothing.
bigpapagman
21 Feb 2008, 07:01
and another thing.
goal sneak, i think you should get off your arse & finish this.
longworrytheonlywaytogo
21 Feb 2008, 18:02
agreed was a good thread
bigpapagman
22 Feb 2008, 07:29
it had official rating s and shit.
i really enjoyed it.
catanilegends
25 Feb 2008, 19:03
i dont get why the canteen is so bad the facilities in the kitchen are awesome and the food isnt that bad, as for the homebrand water if your that fussy ya should bring your own "special" drinking water! i think the position of the rooms isnt very good at all! the sun is shithouse most days! they should of changed the rooms to the other side of the ground when they burnt down!
lucifer1
25 Feb 2008, 20:09
They wanted to move the rooms but insurance company wouldnt let them.
They were told they had to use the same concrete slab to save the insurance company money otherwise they had to come up with the money for the new slab themselves. Not many clubs have 20 grand sitting round, so they couldnt do it, and the rooms stayed where they were.
bigpapagman
26 Feb 2008, 07:15
thats a little unfortunate.......the sun is real bad, buln in the same...... the later in the day it gets, the harder it is to see.
which was possibly a good thing last season.
bigpapagman
27 Feb 2008, 07:26
yes. yes it was. especially early.
goal sneak
3 Mar 2008, 16:45
Okay it has been a while but we are back with part 6 of this great Australian series. This week focuses on Kooweerup.
Change Rooms - There are a few interesting features in regards to the Kooweerup changerooms. The first is the idea of sharing a shower block with your opposition. This is straight out of the 60's where both teams and the umpies showered together, drank beer in the shower together and did who knows what else together in the shower. However in this day and age i think that both teams should have seperate shower blocks. It can be a bit embarassing for someone with a small anatomy to share a shower with the opposition, especially when the opposition contains Troy Datson and all his glory. Back to the change rooms, they are respectable size, maybe a fraction small. Only really room for a small handball drill. The rub down benches seem to be in the road as well. Oh and what is up with having the visitors doors painted in the home colours? 2.5/5
Social Rooms - After the local derby (pronounced dar-bee) between Lang Lang and Kooweerup there is always a large crowd that assembles back at the Social rooms. There is plenty of seating for those who wan't to sit down, however a lot of people stand in the middle of the room and you need to push through to get a beer. 3.5/5
Playing Surface - How do i judge this? Fantastic in 2005 and 2006 when they hosted the Grand Finals, but much like their senior team went down the shitter in 2007 where it did not have enough grass coverage. Is currently being re-sown. Has a sandy base which allows for good drainage. 3.5/5
Canteen - Excellent canteen. Offers all the essentials such as hot dogs, pies, chips, dim sims ect. (I am sure papa and longwarryway2go will be able to inform me more on the quality of fried dim sims there). What really makes it stand out from the other grounds is the extra food outlets it had during its grand finals. Burgers with coleslaw, onion and the lot, mmm. But best of all hot jam donuts. Negative that the canteen is so far away from the bar and by the time you walk to get something to eat you are no longer hungry. 4.5/5
Spectator Comfort and General Atmoshere - Anyone who attended the grand finals would note that the ground has great atmoshere (anyone remember the punch-up at 3 qtr time between Nyora Catani in 2005?). Parking is solid with good viewing from all around the ground however the rooms are located in the perfect position for viewing. Wind is a **** there though as there is minimal tree protection. Netball is a long way away and i for one am not willing to walk that far for a perve.Scoreboard is shithouse and needs to be upgraded vista. Also is not in a good position relative to the rooms. 3.5/5
Overall Rating - 17.5/25
NB: Ratings are subject to change depending on others comments.
Next in the series will be Lang Lang
RATINGS TO DATE (Out of 25)
1. Cora Lynn 21
2. Bunyip - 18.5
3. Kooweerup - 17.5
4. Catani - 15.5
5. Buln Buln - 14
6. Ellinbank - 11.5
longworrytheonlywaytogo
3 Mar 2008, 20:24
i dont anyone will beat cora lynns rating great ground
bigpapagman
4 Mar 2008, 07:51
Okay it has been a while but we are back with part 6 of this great Australian series. This week focuses on Kooweerup.
Change Rooms - There are a few interesting features in regards to the Kooweerup changerooms. The first is the idea of sharing a shower block with your opposition. This is straight out of the 60's where both teams and the umpies showered together, drank beer in the shower together and did who knows what else together in the shower. However in this day and age i think that both teams should have seperate shower blocks. It can be a bit embarassing for someone with a small anatomy to share a shower with the opposition, especially when the opposition contains Troy Datson and all his glory. Back to the change rooms, they are respectable size, maybe a fraction small. Only really room for a small handball drill. The rub down benches seem to be in the road as well. Oh and what is up with having the visitors doors painted in the home colours? 2.5/5
Social Rooms - After the local derby (pronounced dar-bee) between Lang Lang and Kooweerup there is always a large crowd that assembles back at the Social rooms. There is plenty of seating for those who wan't to sit down, however a lot of people stand in the middle of the room and you need to push through to get a beer. 3.5/5
Playing Surface - How do i judge this? Fantastic in 2005 and 2006 when they hosted the Grand Finals, but much like their senior team went down the shitter in 2007 where it did not have enough grass coverage. Is currently being re-sown. Has a sandy base which allows for good drainage. 3.5/5
Canteen - Excellent canteen. Offers all the essentials such as hot dogs, pies, chips, dim sims ect. (I am sure papa and longwarryway2go will be able to inform me more on the quality of fried dim sims there). What really makes it stand out from the other grounds is the extra food outlets it had during its grand finals. Burgers with coleslaw, onion and the lot, mmm. But best of all hot jam donuts. Negative that the canteen is so far away from the bar and by the time you walk to get something to eat you are no longer hungry. 4.5/5
Spectator Comfort and General Atmoshere - Anyone who attended the grand finals would note that the ground has great atmoshere (anyone remember the punch-up at 3 qtr time between Nyora Catani in 2005?). Parking is solid with good viewing from all around the ground however the rooms are located in the perfect position for viewing. Wind is a **** there though as there is minimal tree protection. Netball is a long way away and i for one am not willing to walk that far for a perve.Scoreboard is shithouse and needs to be upgraded vista. Also is not in a good position relative to the rooms. 3.5/5
Overall Rating - 17.5/25
Next in the series will be Lang Lang
1. Cora Lynn 21
2. Bunyip - 18.5
3. Kooweerup - 17.5
4. Catani - 15.5
5. Buln Buln - 14
6. Ellinbank - 11.5
i think thats a fair going over.
i have only played there once & i was a bit seedy.
salad roll was all i ate. i also thought there was something wrong with the goalposts but i can remember what.
i cant comment never played there!!!
thank god.
saint leo
5 Mar 2008, 20:20
Thats cos ya play for darnum, they play plenty of finals at KWR.
Good ground, too windy though.
bigpapagman
6 Mar 2008, 07:21
yeah its just close enough to the bay to cop southerlys.
goal sneak
7 Mar 2008, 14:19
This installment of RTF will focus on a venue very close to my heart. The Lang Lang Showgrounds and Recreation Centre.
Change Rooms - The Lang Lang Changrooms are not the biggest going around, especially the visitors rooms which have enough room to get changed (just). There is not enough room for any kind of drills to be done in there. The showers in the past had been pathetic with not much more than a dribble coming out of the taps but that problem seems to have been rectified. Probably the best part about the Lang Lang change rooms would be the seperate Gym Room in the home rooms, which would probably be as big as the away rooms. However this is no good to the 13 teams who have to get changed in a toilet cubical. 1.5/5
Social Rooms - These social rooms have been granted a $60,000 redevelopment. Even that may not be enough to get these up to standard. These rooms are absolutely appaling. Where do you start? I guess with the bar which is situated right where you walk into the social rooms. This means that everyone is jammed into a small section around the bar while no one can get passed and sit down at the back of the rooms. Toilets are outside. It must be absolutely terrifying for a female to have to walk down a dark alley at night in order to have to get to the toilets. I often find myself resorting to pissing off the balcony after a few beers as i cannot be bothered taking the walk to the toilets. 1/5
Playing Surface - Go to the Lang Lang ground now and no joke you will probably find the best surface in the EDFL. With the cancellation of the January Horse show due to EI the surface is in emaculate condition. The use of bore water means that the ground is not to hard and has a lush grass covering. However come Easter the ground will be absolutely rooted due to cowboys riding their bulls around on the ground. Seriously who gives a shit about these wankers? Surely they can move their stupid penis measuring contest somewhere else. The ground after easter is a law suit waiting to happen with divots everywhere. It is only a matter of time before smeone badly injures their ankle. The groung can also get very muddy when there has been heavy rain and you may find yourself having to take a set shot from 50m despite marking 20m out. 1/5
Canteen - The canteen is quite poor. They do the essentials quite well but there is not a great range to choose from and they often find themselves running out before the day is over. 1.5/5
Spectator Comfort and General Atmoshere - I may be bias but i think that the spectator comfort at Lang Lang would be second to none. Most people stand/sit infront of the change rooms which is located right on the wing and infront of the interchange area. This provides for a great atmosphere especially when the locals decide to get a bit rowdy. On the other wing there is the Old Grandstand which is a great spot to watch the footy from if you wan't to enjoy the spectacal in peace. There is seating around pretty much all the ground and plenty of rooms behind the goals for young kids to have a kick. The indoor netball courts mean that the whistle is not projected onto the footy fielf, however it also makes it hard to watch the netball if you want to. 4.5/5
Overall Rating - 9.5/25
Next in the series will be Longwarry
1. Cora Lynn 21
2. Bunyip - 18.5
3. Kooweerup - 17.5
4. Catani - 15.5
5. Buln Buln - 14
6. Ellinbank - 11.5
7. Lang Lang - 9.5
bigpapagman
7 Mar 2008, 14:43
hmmmm.....
no mention of the boundary line.
and i think you are being a little biased with the Atmosphere.
bit of a dump of a place really.
goal sneak
7 Mar 2008, 14:47
What do you mean about the boundary line?
bigpapagman
7 Mar 2008, 14:58
THE FACT THAT IT IS 150METRES FROM THE OUTSIDE OF THE GROUND.
or havent you noticed?
goal sneak
7 Mar 2008, 15:01
It is probably in 10 metres from the fence. That is a good thing. Nothing worse than playing at grounds like Darnum and Warragul where you end up crashing into the fence, or don't have enough room to take a shot from the boundary.
bigpapagman
7 Mar 2008, 15:03
but yours is too far away. to the point where you dont know where you are going, how far you can lead, where to kick to.
the game we played there in 07, the lines were poorly marked & there would have been 10-12 on the full a quarter.
goal sneak
7 Mar 2008, 15:06
Says more about the quality of your playing list that the dimensions of the ground.
bigpapagman
7 Mar 2008, 15:10
no, they were from both teams.
not to mention, i dont recall it happening any other week.
also, it says a bit about your list if you only beat us by 29 points.
goal sneak
7 Mar 2008, 15:11
I played 2's that day.
bigpapagman
7 Mar 2008, 15:15
no shit.
why was that?
surely they couldnt have been @ full strength?
i mean, we were pretty close to it.
goal sneak
7 Mar 2008, 15:19
Had a pretty poor pre-season and didn't get much ground time in round 1 so coach thought he would give me a run in the magoos. Safe to say i was a cut above it after 15 touches and 3 goals in the opening quarter.
bigpapagman
7 Mar 2008, 15:20
how many did you end up with?
goal sneak
7 Mar 2008, 15:22
15 touches and 3 goals. LOL
bigpapagman
7 Mar 2008, 15:23
dragged or just couldnt get near it?
i noticed you still got best on.
goal sneak
7 Mar 2008, 15:25
Nah i got a few more kicks. No more goals but. Warragul were pretty poor. Was playing CHF and the ball kept sailing over my head straight to Full Forward.
bigpapagman
7 Mar 2008, 15:30
lol.
is Adam Dwyer your brother?
goal sneak
7 Mar 2008, 15:44
No. 2nd cousin or something. Very talented footballer though. For some reason doesn't seem to get much of a go. maybe because of his laconic style cheeses off the coaches. No way he should ever play 2's. You might remember Toby Dwyer who won 2 West Gippy u/15 league best and fairests, always used to overshadow Kurt Batt is juniors. Adam is his brother.
bigpapagman
7 Mar 2008, 15:45
no i dont.
what happened to toby?
goal sneak
7 Mar 2008, 15:49
Took up surfing.
bigpapagman
7 Mar 2008, 15:53
did drugs come with the surfing?
i hate surfing.
Pluggeroo
7 Mar 2008, 20:09
It is probably in 10 metres from the fence. That is a good thing. Nothing worse than playing at grounds like Darnum and Warragul where you end up crashing into the fence, or don't have enough room to take a shot from the boundary.
Been rectified. The goal posts have been relocated to even the ground up and the surface has been deepened at the eastern end to allow for the adjustment. Fencelines have been relocated and all.
Hope you enjoy when you come to play us.
Oh, thats right. We play you away again this year.
What is that? 5 years in a row?
bigpapagman
7 Mar 2008, 20:51
i liked the goals where they were.
always found 'em okay :D
with hauls of 5? when we were on the bottom and 2 i'll pay the 2 they were good but really the 5 is like 1.
bigpapagman
11 Mar 2008, 07:57
nah, i think i got 3 against you blokes at your ground last year.
goal sneak
20 May 2008, 12:11
After stopping for the writers strike RTF is back with Longwarry.
Change Rooms - These may very well be the best change rooms in the EDFL (other than Dusties). They are a good size, and although an odd shape there is planty of room to warm up and do handballing drills inside. I've also got to use the home rooms on a couple of occasions and what a great idea carpet is. The showers are very good. There is 4 which is good as most clubs only have 3. Means that you get that little bit extra time in the shower. 4.5/5
Social Rooms - Reminds me a bit of a back alley nightclub how the entrance is hidden. They are fairly big and every time i have been in there there seens to be a good number of people back there. There are plenty of seats and tables to sit down at which is always good. 3.5/5
Playing Surface - I am a big fan of the Longwarry playing surface. Have never come across it being below standard. Also a good sized ground. Only bad thing is that when you kick goals up one end the ball seems to sail into a paddock and it takes forever to get it back. 4/5
Canteen - The canteen is solid, not spectacular. 3.5/5
Spectator Comfort and General Atmoshere - The atmoshere playing at Longwarry is oarsome! The bogan locals really get into it, and i reckon it would have to be the loudest crowd in the league. Sure they give you some shit but i have never found it to be overly personal. Spectator comforrt is not the best however. There is not a lot of seating and the scoreboard in situated in an awkward position. I am also going to have to take of a point because all the girls there seem to be rangas. 4/5
Overall Rating - 19.5/25
Next in the series will be Nar Nar Goon
1. Cora Lynn 21
2. Longarry 19.5
3. Bunyip - 18.5
4. Kooweerup - 17.5
5. Catani - 15.5
6. Buln Buln - 14
7. Ellinbank - 11.5
8. Lang Lang - 9.5
bigpapagman
20 May 2008, 12:24
After stopping for the writers strike RTF is back with Longwarry.
Change Rooms - These may very well be the best change rooms in the EDFL (other than Dusties). They are a good size, and although an odd shape there is planty of room to warm up and do handballing drills inside. I've also got to use the home rooms on a couple of occasions and what a great idea carpet is. The showers are very good. There is 4 which is good as most clubs only have 3. Means that you get that little bit extra time in the shower. 4.5/5
Social Rooms - Reminds me a bit of a back alley nightclub how the entrance is hidden. They are fairly big and every time i have been in there there seens to be a good number of people back there. There are plenty of seats and tables to sit down at which is always good. 3.5/5
Playing Surface - I am a big fan of the Longwarry playing surface. Have never come across it being below standard. Also a good sized ground. Only bad thing is that when you kick goals up one end the ball seems to sail into a paddock and it takes forever to get it back. 4/5
Canteen - The canteen is solid, not spectacular. 3.5/5
Spectator Comfort and General Atmoshere - The atmoshere playing at Longwarry is oarsome! The bogan locals really get into it, and i reckon it would have to be the loudest crowd in the league. Sure they give you some shit but i have never found it to be overly personal. Spectator comforrt is not the best however. There is not a lot of seating and the scoreboard in situated in an awkward position. I am also going to have to take of a point because all the girls there seem to be rangas. 3.5/5
Overall Rating - 19.5/25
Next in the series will be Nar Nar Goon
1. Cora Lynn 21
2. Longarry 19.5
3. Bunyip - 18.5
4. Kooweerup - 17.5
5. Catani - 15.5
6. Buln Buln - 14
7. Ellinbank - 11.5
8. Lang Lang - 9.5
no seating.
bigpapagman