View Full Version : Gardiner
Fehring
28 Oct 2007, 20:31
Sunday Age said his body is good to go and - more interestingly - he is well-respected at the Saints. I'm amazed that he didn't generate any bad publicity in 07.
Does anyone have inside word on his behaviour at the Saints and how he is regarded by players and officials? Would be an absolute dream if he came good for us next year.
Gilbo19
28 Oct 2007, 21:02
From the few times I've met him since he's come to St.Kilda I can understand why, he seems like a top bloke. Would never have guess he was mixed up in all the shit he was back in Perth, maybe he has just matured a bit...
Gaz_Brownlow
28 Oct 2007, 21:22
From the few times I've met him since he's come to St.Kilda I can understand why, he seems like a top bloke. Would never have guess he was mixed up in all the shit he was back in Perth, maybe he has just matured a bit...
St kilda just may well pull off a massive dark horse next year. King and Gardnier in the ruck could potentially be very dangerous. King was an absolute tour de force when injury free and experience and leadership should not be underrated. People forget just how good Gardiner was also, and well its yet to be determined if he can get back to any decent level, but he still has to be better then Cain Ackland, Brooks and Knobel put together.
It is a gamble worth taking for St Kilda, especially given the nature of the trades (where they basically got gifted both players!!). If, and its a big IF, St Kilda can keep its big men on the park (Kositzke included) then i suspect they will be pretty handy next year.
Powerstufff
28 Oct 2007, 21:37
Gardiner has surprised me by apparently staying out of trouble and it just may be that the move to Victoria has worked. If so (and he gets fit) I agree there is every chance the Saints have got a bargain.
St kilda just may well pull off a massive dark horse next year......Mixed phrases have led to a disturbing mental picture. :(
delirious1
28 Oct 2007, 21:39
he seems like a top bloke.
I saw him once punch a bloke in the face after gardiner cut in line at a taxi rank, and the guy told him to **** off.
He seems to have matured a lot from what ive heard ,good for him, he was a great ruckman, would like to see him go back to even near his best in 08
Inside Goss
28 Oct 2007, 22:37
Gardiner has surprised me by apparently staying out of trouble and it just may be that the move to Victoria has worked. If so (and he gets fit) I agree there is every chance the Saints have got a bargain.
Mixed phrases have led to a disturbing mental picture. :(
:D:D:DTook a while for the penny to drop but geez it made me laugh...
sainter35
28 Oct 2007, 22:41
any updates on Gardiners foot troubles??
Gilbo19
28 Oct 2007, 22:56
any updates on Gardiners foot troubles??
Because I didn't bother to read the first post of the thread:o
Sunday Age said his body is good to go
sainter
28 Oct 2007, 23:03
Full credit to Gardi for the way he's managed to knuckle down and keep out of the spotlight. I'm sure it couldn't have been easy for him having barely played any footy.
The indications are that his feet are right so lets hope he can get a full pre-season behind him.
Gardiner is a Gun and if his body is right, you will have a great ruckman next year. He is still one of my favourite players and people forget just how dominant he was before he injured his knee.
A fit Gardiner & King will be an awesome short term ruck combo but will be tested with their work around the ground. Watch how good your midifled will look next year with some quality tap work coming their way in 08. Will be great to watch!
Kildonan
29 Oct 2007, 10:27
We're hoping that the M Gardiner / S King combo will give us a two to three year window for us to recruit / develop a longer term rucking solution.
In the meantime we could be very pleased with the quality of the guys we have managed to have represent us in the ruck competitions.
Look2Me4Guidance
29 Oct 2007, 12:14
Sunday Age said his body is good to go and - more interestingly - he is well-respected at the Saints. I'm amazed that he didn't generate any bad publicity in 07.
Does anyone have inside word on his behaviour at the Saints and how he is regarded by players and officials? Would be an absolute dream if he came good for us next year.
Fehring, when he first come across last year I know for a dead set certainty he was out having a couple of beers with Lenny Hayes and a few other Saints boys. Nothing more than bringing him into the group and making him feel welcome. If Lenny Hayes is happy to spend time with him then he's got the respect of the group for mine.
ultimate hater
29 Oct 2007, 15:20
Fehring, when he first come across last year I know for a dead set certainty he was out having a couple of beers with Lenny Hayes and a few other Saints boys. Nothing more than bringing him into the group and making him feel welcome. If Lenny Hayes is happy to spend time with him then he's got the respect of the group for mine.
Lucky we got him away from cousins and chick!! I'm guessing he'd be very very thankful to both the eagles and saints for getting him out of there!! It's almost a certainty that he would be the in same position the other two are in if he stayed over there.. good on him for cleaning up his act and getting his sh1t together.. hopefully it transponds to form on the footy field soon..
Squizzy1970
29 Oct 2007, 15:26
I still believe his ruck time will be limited if he has had stress fractures in both feet. Hopefully King will get through the pre-season and be the main man with support from Gardiner and Kosi. Rix is there of course, but most Big Footy writers can't seem to stand him (I think he's been good). Hopefully Blakey will continue his renaissance as a lead up forward and occasional tagger. At 189cm we cannot keep asking him to compete in the ruck into his late 20's (some fans still seem to want him there).
Bourky23
29 Oct 2007, 15:27
i'm starting to get a little bit more excited about what next year holds... but we haven't won anything yet guys!
Oh When the Saints
29 Oct 2007, 15:36
Great news re: his body. Hopefully with a full pre-season, he will be raring to go for the NAB Cup and can get some matches in before the season proper.
He has slotted in nicely at Moorabbin from what I hear, and gets along well with the coaches and players.
Don't get too excited though ... he's still no angel off-field ... despite improving since he has come to Melbourne.
Crawfomination
29 Oct 2007, 15:48
Don't worry about M Gardiner next year sainters the player which you picked up for nothing tha will have a big 08 & will be the answer to a forward line missing Hammil and the G train will be big bad bustling Charlie Gardiner.
Mark my words i think this boy will step up and take the bull by the horns next year. He will be good for a 40-50 goal return playing as the 3rd tall.
What are other sainters thoughts on your new recruit?
Squizzy1970
29 Oct 2007, 15:56
Don't worry about M Gardiner next year sainters the player which you picked up for nothing tha will have a big 08 & will be the answer to a forward line missing Hammil and the G train will be big bad bustling Charlie Gardiner.
Mark my words i think this boy will step up and take the bull by the horns next year. He will be good for a 40-50 goal return playing as the 3rd tall.
Works hard, but don't think he's clever enough at this level for 40 goals. Blake has been playing forward and Allen will get his chance this year. If Kosi/Gardi are also playing forward at times, Charlie will be waiting for injury to get his chance.
Look2Me4Guidance
29 Oct 2007, 15:58
A 40-50 goal season from a dude who couldn't get a senior game for the majority last year is drawing a pretty long bow dude......he'd have to worry about getting a start in the best 22 firstly!
Big Turls
29 Oct 2007, 16:07
Great to hear Gardi is fit & staying out of trouble, can be a very damaging ruck man.
dan warna
29 Oct 2007, 16:12
hi bourky
IMO if you can't get excited before the season starts there's no point in loving footy :D
who knows we might be on the way up, or falling into the chasm, but its better to be in the gutter looking up at the stars than, er...nexus:D:thumbsu:
Persevering Saint
29 Oct 2007, 17:01
Yes, I'm hoping our Gardiner is planting now, in preparation for a rich harvest in Spring 2008...
It's time to be a Saint in 2008!
brilliant_bally
29 Oct 2007, 18:31
now there was a miss hap during the year. he was ready to play round 12 but in round 10 at vfl level the medicos gave him the wrong authotics stuffed his foor for 6 weeks then he could have come back 18 but he wouldn't have gotten an afl game until round 22 because i don't think he had enough game time so they wanted to get him ready for this year hense the lack of bad press but he will be prime by next year and ball should be ready to go simular time to judd so i am hoping we get him going and goddard will prob be back in the first 5-6 games boys i am EXCITED lol go the mighty sainters
Fehring
29 Oct 2007, 21:09
Great news re: his body. Hopefully with a full pre-season, he will be raring to go for the NAB Cup and can get some matches in before the season proper.
He has slotted in nicely at Moorabbin from what I hear, and gets along well with the coaches and players.
Don't get too excited though ... he's still no angel off-field ... despite improving since he has come to Melbourne.
Can you elaborate?
Kildonan
29 Oct 2007, 21:40
Can you elaborate?
I'd rather he not.
PM each other (if you must know)
...but he still has to be better then Cain Ackland, Brooks and Knobel put together.
That can't be too difficult anyway :D
Jackfrost
6 Nov 2007, 23:12
My advice would be to not get your hopes up as Gard's body seems to be made of glass. He has dashed my spirits too many times
hawk-boy
6 Nov 2007, 23:25
gardiber when fully fit is one of the best ruckman in the afl, just wished he kept his head in at the eagles ruck combo of gardner and cox would have been orsume but not to b,
if he can keep fit he will b a star for you guys,
all aus ruckman a few yrs back and missed 6 weeks i think
Noel Gallagher
7 Nov 2007, 15:14
There is no doubting both Gardiner and Kings talent, but the simple fact is that both have been injury prone for several years and well and truly past their prime. I would love to see both fit and firing for most of the season but unfortuntately I can't see it happening. Injuries have robbed both of ever re-gaining their true form on a consistent basis.
Thank you, oracle. And who are you? Their orthopedic surgeon?
Persevering Saint
8 Nov 2007, 03:57
Ridiculous. We're going to have one of the top fitness and conditioning departments next year. The problems with Gardiner were primarily caused by terrible management of his foot condition by the Water Closets. The Saints have stopped him from playing so that he could have the full condition dealt with, once and for all, instead of employing stop-gap after stop-gap. The two of them will play well for at least this year, and I expect that the club is planning on developing other ruck possibilities for 2010 onwards (ie, Van Rheanan).
Above all, the great factor about King and Gardiner being at the Saints is that it shows Lyon gives two hoots about the ruck contest - a far cry from Thomas. Gardiner is the biggest single example of what was wrong with Thomas' coaching style, because he represents an example of quality rucking and the necessity for decent fitness management.
Noel Gallagher
8 Nov 2007, 07:17
Ridiculous???? I would have thought that you would have learnt from the the whole Aron Hamill saga..trust me we learnt eventually from Nick Holland John Barker, big guys can't sit out long periods of time, come back and and expect to paly regular consistent footya sthey did when they were younger and sound. Even Luke Ball is in danger of never regaining his true form due to chronic injuries.
Two past their prime players arn't gonna get you back to where you were two years ago...
now there was a miss hap during the year. he was ready to play round 12 but in round 10 at vfl level the medicos gave him the wrong authotics stuffed his foor for 6 weeks
was that really true?
that the vfl medicos stuffed his foot?
KingRich
8 Nov 2007, 12:11
Ridiculous???? I would have thought that you would have learnt from the the whole Aron Hamill saga..trust me we learnt eventually from Nick Holland John Barker, big guys can't sit out long periods of time, come back and and expect to paly regular consistent footya sthey did when they were younger and sound. Even Luke Ball is in danger of never regaining his true form due to chronic injuries.
Two past their prime players arn't gonna get you back to where you were two years ago...
I disagree Noel. Saints aren't that far off still. What has hurt the Saints, apart from injuries, is their lack of depth to cover the injuries and King and Gardiner provide that extra quality depth in a crucial position... as does the recruitment of Dempster. AND if one or both can get fit or firing then the Saints will have an elite ruckman on their hands. The selection of both at the price they paid is a no-brainer IMO. I like both players and hope they go well.
BrianSpeaking
8 Nov 2007, 19:01
Full credit to Gardi for the way he's managed to knuckle down and keep out of the spotlight. I'm sure it couldn't have been easy for him having barely played any footy.
The indications are that his feet are right so lets hope he can get a full pre-season behind him.
Hey all fellow Saints supporters, the big fella M Gardiner has asked me to pass onto you that his nickname is 'The Big Show', not Gardi, he hates that, so please use in future. He also reads and enjoys the Saints forum so keep it up!http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon7.gif:thumbsu:
Oh dear :o
I think he is worth persevering
Hey all fellow Saints supporters, the big fella M Gardiner has asked me to pass onto you that his nickname is 'The Big Show', not Gardi, he hates that, so please use in future. He also reads and enjoys the Saints forum so keep it up!http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon7.gif:thumbsu:
Tell him that there is a St Kilda tradition that you're not allowed to use your real nickname until you've had 35 hit outs, 20 possessions and kicked 4 goals. Which, of course, will be round 1 next year.
scottwade
10 Nov 2007, 00:27
http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/news/cousins-crashes-in-california/2007/11/09/1194329513608.html
According to a Nine news report in Perth last night, Cousins did not travel directly to the US after leaving Perth on October 25, but spent two nights in Sydney, staying with childhood friend and organised crime figure Fabian Quaid at his beachside apartment, and socialising with former Eagles teammate, Michael Gardner (sic).
King was still able to play around 40 AFL games in the last 3 years compared to M.Gardiner's 18 and at 28 both could give you 5 more years (optimistically). Geelong overworked King in the period from 2000-2004 and he suffered in 05 & 06 largely because of it. This will be his first preseason in 3 years where he has not had surgery and his body has had a break. If he gets through this preseason unscathed you have got yourself a very very good ruckmen for nothing more than a spot on your list.
M.Gardiner is less reliable but still worth the punt I think.
Regarding Charlie Gardiner. He would have been playing AFL footy for any team other than Geelong. His form was fantastic in the VFL but Geelong has fantastic depth. He is a decent lead up forward and can run through the middle. I reckon he will play 15+ games for the saints in 2008 purely because you don't seem to have the same depth.
For those complain about picking up too many mature players you need to put it in perspective. 4 retirements and 5 senior list players delisted, you can't turn over 9 players in a year and expect to have a decent season the following year any other way. Fact of the matter is Lyon has dropped about 30 years off the saints list.
I think the saints list looks a lot better in 08 and I with King in the ruck it will do wonders for Kosi. I think I will put money on them for the flag.
Oh When the Saints
10 Nov 2007, 18:34
Thanks for an honest contribution from a Cats fan :thumbsu:
Don't know about putting money on us for the flag - I'd be backing your mob sooner than ours to tell the truth.
One thing I will say is that Geelong's depth, whilst solid, was only made out to be as strong because of the incredible run with injuries that the Cats had.
I mean, if you've got 20 out of your best 22 on the park each week, your depth is going to look good, as there will be 4-5 AFL-capable guys who are running around in the magoos.
If, on the other hand, 4-5 of your starting 22 are out, then every team, including the Cats come back to the field.
Whilst Geelong does have a strong group of 2nd/3rd tier players, the first team would still struggle if more than one or two were required each week.
IMO.
panthers
10 Nov 2007, 18:37
King was still able to play around 40 AFL games in the last 3 years compared to M.Gardiner's 18 and at 28 both could give you 5 more years (optimistically). Geelong overworked King in the period from 2000-2004 and he suffered in 05 & 06 largely because of it. This will be his first preseason in 3 years where he has not had surgery and his body has had a break. If he gets through this preseason unscathed you have got yourself a very very good ruckmen for nothing more than a spot on your list.
M.Gardiner is less reliable but still worth the punt I think.
Regarding Charlie Gardiner. He would have been playing AFL footy for any team other than Geelong. His form was fantastic in the VFL but Geelong has fantastic depth. He is a decent lead up forward and can run through the middle. I reckon he will play 15+ games for the saints in 2008 purely because you don't seem to have the same depth.
For those complain about picking up too many mature players you need to put it in perspective. 4 retirements and 5 senior list players delisted, you can't turn over 9 players in a year and expect to have a decent season the following year any other way. Fact of the matter is Lyon has dropped about 30 years off the saints list.
I think the saints list looks a lot better in 08 and I with King in the ruck it will do wonders for Kosi. I think I will put money on them for the flag.
Good Post DAN:thumbsu:
Thanks for an honest contribution from a Cats fan :thumbsu:
Don't know about putting money on us for the flag - I'd be backing your mob sooner than ours to tell the truth.
One thing I will say is that Geelong's depth, whilst solid, was only made out to be as strong because of the incredible run with injuries that the Cats had.
I mean, if you've got 20 out of your best 22 on the park each week, your depth is going to look good, as there will be 4-5 AFL-capable guys who are running around in the magoos.
If, on the other hand, 4-5 of your starting 22 are out, then every team, including the Cats come back to the field.
Whilst Geelong does have a strong group of 2nd/3rd tier players, the first team would still struggle if more than one or two were required each week.
IMO.
I still think Cats are the team to beat but they will be paying $3 or something ridiculous. Saints are a much more attractive bet.
Geelong 07 had amazing depth. However yeah, there is no substitute for losing your top teir players though. No doubt injuries can make or break a teams performance and the cats had a very good run. Still the point was I truly believe Charlie is better than a lot of people running around in the AFL.
There really was only one guy on the list that I didn't think was capable of making it AFL (Spenser). I think every other player will be picked up by another AFL team (including the rookies).
thecarpetsnake
10 Nov 2007, 23:01
I hate to be the speaker for the negative, but it's a lot easier to keep your head out of the papers when nobody's interested in you.
Gardiner's been able to go about his business in Melbourne with relatively no scrutiny whatsoever- will be interesting to see how he handles things if (when) he starts to play some ok footy and all of a sudden he's getting big time media attention again.
honestly can't see him being more than a occasional fill in ruckman, the knee recos and the other constant injuries have taken the leap right out of him IMO. If I'm proven wrong, so be it, good luck to him.
Oh When the Saints
11 Nov 2007, 09:47
honestly can't see him being more than a occasional fill in ruckman, the knee recos and the other constant injuries have taken the leap right out of him IMO. If I'm proven wrong, so be it, good luck to him.
To be honest, if Gardiner can play as #2 ruck in a Seaby-type role for 15 games next year, I will be wrapped.
I expect King to be our #1 for most of the year, and if Gardiner can make a solid contribution as #2, then that would exceed my expectations.
Joffaboy
11 Nov 2007, 10:09
I have PM'ed a contact re Gardiner (someone who has real inside knowledge, not just opinion).
I will post what this person tells me re his fitness if they say OK.
Please be aware that I respect the individuals privacy so if I get the reply not to say, I will respect that.
cheers
Thank you, oracle. And who are you? Their orthopedic surgeon?
No, hes just a realist who has been watching them play for the past 3 years. Stop hiding from the fact they are past it and at best the will be mererly serviceable.
Joffaboy
11 Nov 2007, 12:18
Heard from a credible source that the op went Ok and his feet are fine.
However there may be some other issues not related to fitness.
Whatever we get from Gardiner this coming season will be a bonus - if we get anything.
sainter
11 Nov 2007, 12:24
No, hes just a realist who has been watching them play for the past 3 years. Stop hiding from the fact they are past it and at best the will be mererly serviceable.
What are you talking about?
Fehring quite rightfully pointed out that Noel Gallagher doesn't know the current injury status of Gardiner so he's probably not in the position to make the judgement that he won't contribute to our team this season.
As for how effective Gardiner and King will be, we've been crying out for a ruckman for a long time. A serviceable ruckman would be a huge improvement to our team. I'm sure the likes of Harvey, Hayes, Dal Santo, Ball, Montagna and the rest of our midfield division will relish the opportunity to play with a serviceable ruckman.
Personally I'm not expecting either of them to be available all season but I'm more than hopeful that at least one of them will be fit and healthy every game.
They've clearly got nothing on that star-studded trio of Hudson, Minson and Street though. :)
Inside Goss
11 Nov 2007, 21:11
now there was a miss hap during the year. he was ready to play round 12 but in round 10 at vfl level the medicos gave him the wrong authotics stuffed his foor for 6 weeks then he could have come back 18 but he wouldn't have gotten an afl game until round 22 because i don't think he had enough game time so they wanted to get him ready for this year hense the lack of bad press but he will be prime by next year and ball should be ready to go simular time to judd so i am hoping we get him going and goddard will prob be back in the first 5-6 games boys i am EXCITED lol go the mighty sainters
Where to you get this ill informed jargon from mate?
Heard from a credible source that the op went Ok and his feet are fine.
However there may be some other issues not related to fitness.
Whatever we get from Gardiner this coming season will be a bonus - if we get anything.
would you know if the coachng staff are aware of the issues?
Joffaboy
12 Nov 2007, 19:39
would you know if the coachng staff are aware of the issues?
Dont know. Sorry