View Full Version : What is the dumbest thing you've said to a Brisbane Lions (incl Roys or Bears) player?

danielcanberra
29 Oct 2007, 16:12
What is the dumbest thing that you've said to one of our players (past or present)?

Something that may have embarrassed the player, and later when you had thought about it, yourself.

I called Daniel Merrett 'Spaz' in front of Black and Sherman. :eek:

TheBrownDog
29 Oct 2007, 16:15
I told Bushy at the B&F this year that he didn't deserve the Most Professional Award as he never even bothers to shave.

Not sure if he realised I was joking or not.

Warwick
29 Oct 2007, 16:29
"Oi Brad!"

It was Chris.

Chasing the Dream
29 Oct 2007, 17:29
During celebrations at the Bears Social Club on the night Vossey won his Brownlow, I may have asked Craig Starcevich where he would be playing in 1997. Rough quote "Hey Starca, where will you be playing next year, surely they wont give you another run here?":o

I distinctly remember Trent Bartlett fall off his chair when I said it and Andrew Bews decide it was my shout to get me away from him as soon as he could.

When I returned with the beers it seemed all was forgotton.:cool:

That was one hell of a huge night.:thumbsu:

MacMum
29 Oct 2007, 18:59
In 1997 the Saints were in the GF....my work wanted us to wear the colours of the finalists...so, as my hubby is a Saint, I wore his Saints hat to work...only to look up this particular day, and who is standing in front of me? None other than Justin Leppitsch!!....I blubbered on about being a long time Bears supporter (in Melb) really!! (remember I'm wearing a Saints hat)....He was like "yeah right" ....I'm sure he didn't believe me, but he did tell me he once barracked for the Saints...He was really nice....but I felt a fool just the same..

lionbear
29 Oct 2007, 19:44
Outside of a Lions Player...

My brother ran into Che Cockatoo Collins at a Adelaide night club and said you played a good game tonight.

Che's response....

"Thanks. I didn't play".

No stories of my own as I seem to get nervous in front of my heroes and hardly say a word.

The-Spanner
29 Oct 2007, 21:01
At training in February, the ball rolled my way and Moods ran to get it. I kicked it to him, fully expecting my crappy skills to send it off in the other direction. I had a very witty line all ready, but then the ball went straight to him and I was left stammering about how amazing it was that I kicked the ball so well over the two-to-three metres it took to reach him.

Bjay
30 Oct 2007, 12:32
I called Josh Drummond "Joel" - He was nice enough to answer me anyway (and I realised my mistake and apologised) - way too many J's in this team!!

Vipertooth
30 Oct 2007, 12:40
"Hey Lynch, im from tasmania too"

First thing i said to him when i met him for the first time lol.

Sherminator.
30 Oct 2007, 15:44
I called Josh Drummond "Joel" - He was nice enough to answer me anyway (and I realised my mistake and apologised) - way too many J's in this team!!
I agreed BJay, too many J's indeed. :p

danielcanberra
16 Dec 2007, 08:55
Which player picks up the most chicks

Oh Fairley, if you ask that in February at the Townsville community camp, you'll have to confess here.:eek:

Best to avoid an awkward situation, and a lecture from a player about respect for women etc.

And Browny would probably smack you in the head.

Helix
16 Dec 2007, 20:18

First thing i said to him when i met him for the first time lol.

Yes, we have a winner. :)

kimp
18 Dec 2007, 12:53
In 2001 (about midway) I said to Lynchy that I htought the team was playing well and expected them to come home with the goods.... next year as this year was too soon.

Oiiiiiiiiiiii:eek:

Londoner
21 Dec 2007, 00:06
Ohhhh, so many to choose from.. but I think my personal winner is:

(to Champs): "I've loved you since I was 7."

Strangely, I don't actually regret it. But it's still the dumbest thing I've said.

Tas
21 Dec 2007, 00:23
I asked Bernie Quinlan before a game how life was treating him after retirement and he just chuckled at me.

He later went out and kicked a bag of goals that day. Hey, I was young and he looked old. :p

Warwick
21 Dec 2007, 17:03

Never a good opener in any situation.

dannitori
21 Dec 2007, 17:50
Good Thread! Well, this one isnt me, but my dad about Johnathon Brown on his first game "You are a hack", he would give anything to take that comment back, he loves him now!

Tim the Toolman
7 Jan 2008, 10:02
"Oi Brad!"

It was Chris.

Who's never done that? :o

I actually went "are you Brad or Chris?"

Hopefully I'm not the only person who has ever done this, I doubt it?

Tim the Toolman
7 Jan 2008, 10:10
To Laurie Serafini when I was 7 "that theme song's terrible!" after he started singing the Roys' theme song for me.

To Matty Dundas after a great Roys' win against Collingwood c1993 whilst drinking at the Fitzroy Social Club "you're my favourite player...dribble...!"

To Nigel Lappin after a training night in Melbourne c2004 "Brownlow!" He just gave me that rolled-eye smile and kept on walking.

After getting introduced to Leigh Matthews by Tim Livingstone at 2006 Player Sponsor Function "...aah well.....what about the weather Leigh?" What do you say to a Legend?!?!

To Michael Voss whilst getting a one on one photo with him c2001 Melbourne Family Day "aaah.....love your watch Vossy!" Ditto

To Martin Pike post reserves game against Collingwood c1995 "Why did you have a swing at me?"

To Martin Pike at Fitzroy Social Club c1996, Turf Bar 2007, Victorian Golf Day 2007, post Grand Final 2001-03 "I loooooooove you maaaaaaaaate!"

Where do I stop? This is one of your best posts DantheCanMan!

Hilly72
25 Feb 2008, 22:13
After reading this thread I decided not to say anything on Saturday night when Vossy and Craig McCrae ended up leaning on the same portion of bar as I at Crown Casino, they were in a group with the Rawlings boys and David King and although prompted multiple times by my wife to say G'day I chose to stick with my scotch and coke...

On the other end of the scale, years ago I bought Gary Ablett a shot of Sambuca at around 4 in the morning at Lyric nightclub in Geelong while all the players were supposed to be on a curfew... No conversation, just said "you want another one"

Rawhead
1 Mar 2008, 12:44
Saw Brownie and his misses at Bulimba ferry terminal.

I prefer to leave the blokes in peace, but my girlfriend at the time thought I was just shy so went up to him and said hello, quickly followed up with 'You're not as tall as I thought".

*polite laughter, me dragging girlfriend away*

acuguy
2 Mar 2008, 08:13
Walked out of a takeaway shop the other day, eating a dirty big samosa and Chris Johnson is in his car in a laneway i needed to cross, i thought he was pulling out, but he must of been just waiting there, i stopped and he says "Your right mate" and waved me across. With a mouth full of steaming hot samosa i mumble "thanks mate". Nothing like looking like a pig infront of your premiership heroes! ha

lions_den
3 Mar 2008, 00:04
I see Lions players all the time at my local server (which has maccas etc). Especially Mal Michael (when he was playing for us) and Jamie Charman:thumbsu: