View Full Version : Docker fans help me if you can!

summerthebat
29 Oct 2007, 18:46
So I had an out of control party in my parents house on Saturday night and some tron smashed a bottle of wine of a bathroom sink and took a large chunk of ceramic off of the sink.

Basically my parents get back on Wednesday and I am generally ****ed! Does anyone know of anyone who can repair ceramic, china or porcelain on bathtubs, toilets or sinks!?!?!!

I am rather desperate! I rang a heap of people today but they all are busy for at least a week.

Alcohol, it'll get you every time!

Thanks for taking the time to read!

Dyslexic Emo
29 Oct 2007, 19:07
How bad was the break? As in are there numerous chips of laquer taken off/pieces missing when you put it back together?

Ripper
29 Oct 2007, 19:10
Some serious grovelling going to be required here. :D

summerthebat
29 Oct 2007, 19:49
haha, its HUGE, its like the size of a cd.

The chip is in one big piece and can be glued back together, but if I do that my parents will know something happened. Apparently I need to get it 're-enamled'

Dyslexic Emo
29 Oct 2007, 20:41
That's good, yeah you will have to get it re-enameled as you say. Which is surprisingly similar to nail polish. You might be able to find some enamel gloss at a hardware store like bunnings in the bathroom department if not then really your best bet will be to use nail polish (which can be removed very easily with acetone). of course hopefully you can get someone in time and this will all become moot. Good luck though with your olds.

On a side note I remember I had a freind where a coffee table was broken and to get out of it he pretended to break an arm (plastered his arm himself) and said he slipped while (doing something that his parents liked), All he had to do was keep it on for 4 weeks and he was off scott free.

I also hear down south is nice this tiem of the year

Freo Big Fella
29 Oct 2007, 20:54
Had a similar thing happen to be with a brick wall (don't ask:p). I just came out with a mea culpa to my olds, tracked the bloke down who broke it and shook him down for the money.

No point doing a crap job yourself and having your folks catch you out later.

summerthebat
29 Oct 2007, 21:00
Had a similar thing happen to be with a brick wall (don't ask:p). I just came out with a mea culpa to my olds, tracked the bloke down who broke it and shook him down for the money.

No point doing a crap job yourself and having your folks catch you out later.

Good point, I am just going to have to take it on the chin.

The person who did it, who we KNOW did it, is refusing to admit it. Looks like a lose a friend, a sink and my parents trust all in the one incident!

summerthebat
29 Oct 2007, 21:02
That's good, yeah you will have to get it re-enameled as you say. Which is surprisingly similar to nail polish. You might be able to find some enamel gloss at a hardware store like bunnings in the bathroom department if not then really your best bet will be to use nail polish (which can be removed very easily with acetone). of course hopefully you can get someone in time and this will all become moot. Good luck though with your olds.

On a side note I remember I had a freind where a coffee table was broken and to get out of it he pretended to break an arm (plastered his arm himself) and said he slipped while (doing something that his parents liked), All he had to do was keep it on for 4 weeks and he was off scott free.

I also hear down south is nice this tiem of the year

Hilarious!

Haha, thanks for the advice man. I spoke to a tiler who suggested just super gluing it and filling in the gaps with putty. I might just leave it and get it professionally done and take it on the chin from my parents!

NiGHTFuRY
30 Oct 2007, 04:10
Trademan are hard to get at the moment. Tough break summer. Don't stress too much. We've all gone through this situation before.

How bad will your parents freak???
Have you got revenge planned on this tron as you put itMaybe we can help you with some payback techniques. If your going to go down for this, at least make it worth it. :D:p;)

dominguez
30 Oct 2007, 14:29
If I went away for a week and my kids didn't have a party I'd be disappointed.

Stronzo
30 Oct 2007, 14:34
Once had a few friends over, had a few too many sips of vodka and was laying on my bed when I heard a CRASH sound out in the living area, followed by some voices saying "oh F@#$".
I quickly rose from my intoxicated slumber and went out to find that the television had been headplanted onto the tiles.
I then took the rap for my mate breaking the tele, which was a whole lot of my family giving me shit for the next few years..

janiek
30 Oct 2007, 14:38
If I went away for a week and my kids didn't have a party I'd be disappointed.

exactly my thoughts - if i was your mum i'd be more impressed if you said this happened , i've tried to organise repairs but no-one can come till next week, i'm really sorry

as i say to my little primary school tacker - if you tell me what the problem is we can work out a solution - don't hide the problem from me

can't see my attitute as a parent changing much once he's old enought to wreck the house :eek:

so only you know which is your "softer" parent to confess to :)

summerthebat
30 Oct 2007, 21:28
Thanks for the advice guys, I hit it head on in the end and owned up to everything including ****ing up the jarrah table with a game of centurians. They were pretty cool about it in the end, didn't grill me too hard and understood that this shit happens.

Though some scoundrel spilled beer on my dockers renewal membership form,

dominguez
31 Oct 2007, 17:27
At the risk of sounding old school, what's Centurions?

summerthebat
31 Oct 2007, 19:59
At the risk of sounding old school, what's Centurions?

A shot of beer, every minute for 100 minutes.

dominguez
31 Oct 2007, 20:16
A shot of beer, every minute for 100 minutes.

Now I'm with ya. For some reason I was picturing some sort of nerdy army game with little figurines. Getting drunk and playing with toy soldiers sounded really lame. :p

Good to see that you're drinking responsibly. :cool:

NiGHTFuRY
31 Oct 2007, 22:29
you guys called it centurians.... my friends and I called it 100 shot challenge. Different name... same results... I made it to 103. My friend Matt made on 105. It messy :p;)

Dyslexic Emo
1 Nov 2007, 12:09
you guys called it centurians.... my friends and I called it 100 shot challenge. Different name... same results... I made it to 103. My friend Matt made on 105. It messy :p;)

Now I don't know weather to be proud or ashamed with this but I've done a couple of double centurians. It's really not that hard. I decided that I was going to try a centurian of wine but decided it wasn't the best move.

Belnakor
1 Nov 2007, 15:17
the main thing with the beers is just keeping it down - works out to be about 10-12 beers depending on how accurate you are. Wine would be a different matter - i reckon you'd end up pretty rat shit, it would be like having 20 beers in 100 minutes.

Ripper
1 Nov 2007, 15:33
Thanks for the advice guys, I hit it head on in the end and owned up to everything including ****ing up the jarrah table with a game of centurians. They were pretty cool about it in the end, didn't grill me too hard and understood that this shit happens.

Though some scoundrel spilled beer on my dockers renewal membership form,

Yep parents are generally ok. I have nearly rung my Mum up a few times to apologise 20+ years on for something I did back then that my children had just done to me.
:o

When the back tyres on my V8 one tonner kept getting rubbed off , instead of getting mad I told the offender that I would get even and hoped that he would have Boys.

I said that I would go and visit , get them to borrow the old man's car and Grandad would teach them how to do proper burnouts. ;)

Dyslexic Emo
1 Nov 2007, 22:43
the main thing with the beers is just keeping it down - works out to be about 10-12 beers depending on how accurate you are. Wine would be a different matter - i reckon you'd end up pretty rat shit, it would be like having 20 beers in 100 minutes.

yeah the wine isn't high on the list of things to do before I die (may even be the last if i ever did it) But 100 shots of beer is equivelent to 8 cans of beer or 3 litres. Assuming a shot of beer is 30ml but like you said it all depends on the accuracy of the pourer. So a double is only 16 beers in 200 minutes (or maybe its 200 in 100 minutes if your really mad but i don't know) so all up it's still only 16 beers.

I heard a story (true or not I odn't know) about a guy who treid to do it with vodka and you guessed it....R.I.P

dominguez
1 Nov 2007, 22:58
I guess it depends on what you do before and/or after your hundred shots. If you're doing 30ml shots it's only 3 litres which would be about 5 and a half pints which isn't a lot. But if you start your hundred shots at 7pm and keep drinking at a reasonable pace after you finish you'd be really messy by midnight.

Wine would be crazy. I don't know how many standard drinks there are in 3 litres of wine, but it would be a lot.

dominguez
1 Nov 2007, 23:11
yeah the wine isn't high on the list of things to do before I die (may even be the last if i ever did it) But 100 shots of beer is equivelent to 8 cans of beer or 3 litres. Assuming a shot of beer is 30ml but like you said it all depends on the accuracy of the pourer. So a double is only 16 beers in 200 minutes (or maybe its 200 in 100 minutes if your really mad but i don't know) so all up it's still only 16 beers.

Sixteen beers in 3 and a bit hours is a pretty big effort though. You must have been all over the road driving home!

summerthebat
1 Nov 2007, 23:13
A friend of mine nailed half a bottle of vodka through a ****ing beer funnel.

NIGHT OVER

Dyslexic Emo
1 Nov 2007, 23:16
I guess it depends on what you do before and/or after your hundred shots. If you're doing 30ml shots it's only 3 litres which would be about 5 and a half pints which isn't a lot. But if you start your hundred shots at 7pm and keep drinking at a reasonable pace after you finish you'd be really messy by midnight.

Wine would be crazy. I don't know how many standard drinks there are in 3 litres of wine, but it would be a lot.

Well 3 litres of wine equals exactly 4 bottles of wine (3000ml/750ml a bottle) so assuming a wine has a percentage of alcohol or anywhere from 9.5%-12%(white wine) to 11.5%-14.5% (red wine) we can rougly say that a bottle of wine has anywhere from 7-8 standard drinks a bottle. So for sake of the matter lets split the difference and say 7.5 standard drinks per bottle. Which equals a missive 30 standard drinks in the space of 100 minutes. And let's remember that a bottle of spirits contains approximately 20-22 standard drinks in an entire bottle. Yeah you'd end up on the porcelin throne for sure.

dockers_bengals
1 Nov 2007, 23:42
If you can buy a new one it is easy to put in especially if the taps are not going through the sink.

Just read wednesday return,sorry.
how did you go?

summerthebat
2 Nov 2007, 01:28
If you can buy a new one it is easy to put in especially if the taps are not going through the sink.

Just read wednesday return,sorry.
how did you go?

Ended up just using superglue then used Selley's on the cracks. Turned out OK in the end, not perfect, but saved a fair bit of money I imagine!