View Full Version : Expansion 17th Team

cfc4life
29 Oct 2007, 21:09
With the AFL giving the Kangas till December to decide their future I think that if they stay in Melb the Southport Sharks will be made into the 17th team. I play in the junior Gold Coast league and they dominate every single competition and if they are the new team I and many other kids will be lining up to play for them. Thoughts?

retroparty
29 Oct 2007, 21:12
Nah starting from sratch in a non AFL area wouldn't work too well. Just look what happened to the Bridbane Bears. But that was 20 years ago so if the AFL started another club from sratch it would do a bit better.

Rob
29 Oct 2007, 21:18
It's probably the most likely scenario if the Roos turn the offer down.
It can work, although i'd expect pretty generous draft and recruiting concessions, like multiple priority picks and first dibs on any Queenslander for a couple of years.

Lidge
29 Oct 2007, 21:20
With the AFL giving the Kangas till December to decide their future I think that if they stay in Melb the Southport Sharks will be made into the 17th team. I play in the junior Gold Coast league and they dominate every single competition and if they are the new team I and many other kids will be lining up to play for them. Thoughts?

Thoughts? You answerred your own question. You're a kid. No offence, but this one's a discussion for the grown ups.

The day they start handing out AFL licenses to a regional team with successful junior side in a piss ant comp that couldn't win a game in the D Grade Ammos I'll fair dinkum neck myself.

cfc4life
29 Oct 2007, 21:21
It's probably the most likely scenario if the Roos turn the offer down.
It can work, although i'd expect pretty generous draft and recruiting concessions, like multiple priority picks and first dibs on any Queenslander for a couple of years.
Thats exactly what Brissie, Sydney, Freo, Adelaide, Eagles and Port got when they started

cfc4life
29 Oct 2007, 21:24
Thoughts? You answerred your own question. You're a kid. No offence, but this one's a discussion for the grown ups.

The day they start handing out AFL licenses to a regional team with successful junior side in a piss ant comp that couldn't win a game in the D Grade Ammos I'll fair dinkum neck myself.

By juniors i meant Under 18's and Southport has 4 out of the past 5 Queensland comps and i mean the 1st division.

Angry Dragon
29 Oct 2007, 21:27
Not another one.

Although the Roos would do well to have Southport as their feeder side.

BIGBEZ
29 Oct 2007, 21:27

You should bump this thread after thier AGM on Wednesday night kid! Dont get too far ahead of yourself!:thumbsu:

dom_105
29 Oct 2007, 21:29
Southport desperatly want an AFL license
The AFL desperatly want a team on the Gold Coast
North Melbourne desperatly want to remain in Melbourne

There must be something I'm missing...

cfc4life
29 Oct 2007, 21:32

Finnaly someone agrees with me.

TheBrownDog
29 Oct 2007, 21:37
Southport will need a new jumper design if they join the competition.

Can't see Collingwood approving of the White and Black design.

dom_105
29 Oct 2007, 21:42
Southport will need a new jumper design if they join the competition.

Can't see Collingwood approving of the White and Black design.

Navy blue instead of Black?

Either way, the AFL now owns the designs, not Collingwood.

Inside Goss
29 Oct 2007, 21:58
My only concern about Southport attaining a 17th licence is the difficulty of converting supporters that always played againts you, Southport have done everything they possibly can to give themselves best chance of joining, but A new club to the area has potential to attract supporters from all 'local' clubs in the area. That might be a concern of the AFL.

But, goodluck to Southport, it's always been a goal of theirs (JUST DON'T TAKE MY St. NICK BACK...)

Osmodiar
29 Oct 2007, 22:23
I'd rather 18 teams than 17. If we're gonna add more teams add 2 - you've got an instant rivalry right there, and the draw wont get stuffed around with teams having byes.

It'd be better to not even add any teams though, and just keep 16

liz
29 Oct 2007, 22:30
Thats exactly what Brissie, Sydney, Freo, Adelaide, Eagles and Port got when they started

The draft wasn't around when the Swans got started.

Spadge
29 Oct 2007, 22:33
far out 16 teams is way too many as it is
17 teams would be ridiculous plus odd teams = a bye... not gonna happen

greatwhiteshark
29 Oct 2007, 22:45
We need to get rid of sides not add them.

Chasing the Dream
29 Oct 2007, 22:50
But, goodluck to Southport, it's always been a goal of theirs (JUST DON'T TAKE MY St. NICK BACK...)

That is why people on the Gold Coast can not stand Southport.

Nick played all his junior footy at Broadbeach, when he returns to the Coast during the bye each year, he will be found with his mates at a Boradbeach game.

Southport poach all of the good players on the Gold Coast and claim them as their own.

Other recent examples are Daniel Merrett and this year in the draft pool is James Mulligan, then there will be Jesse Habberfield in the draft next year, all of whom were Surfers juniors who have played a little footy with Southport as it is deemed to give them a better chance to be drafted, which may be true, but it should be known that they are not the breeding ground they would let you believe, there are plenty of clubs on the Gold Coast doing a fine job:thumbsu:

FootyJunkie
29 Oct 2007, 22:51
We need to get rid of sides not add them.

kill kill kill

FlyingCrow
29 Oct 2007, 22:57
Gold Coast team seems the most logical choice for a team. And Kangaroos a good fit to go up there. The sooner the AFL make it happen the better. If teh saem admin go with them they will do all right. They are the most successfull Vic AFL era club. And do it on the smallest budget and worst amenities. With Southports cash and Kangaroos knowhow the Roos will be a club on par with any in the AFL, another non vic club to take flags out of Vic. I am all for it.

ChrisFooty
29 Oct 2007, 23:03
No, the competition will stay at 16 teams.

Southport will never get an AFL license. The Kangaroos are the logical choice (The AFL think that) I think it's clear the AFL do not really like Southport, as they are not being considered (They really do want it)

DarwinRoo
29 Oct 2007, 23:08
Gold Coast team seems the most logical choice for a team. And Kangaroos a good fit to go up there. The sooner the AFL make it happen the better. If teh saem admin go with them they will do all right. They are the most successfull Vic AFL era club. And do it on the smallest budget and worst amenities. With Southports cash and Kangaroos knowhow the Roos will be a club on par with any in the AFL, another non vic club to take flags out of Vic. I am all for it.

So why not keep us in Victoria or do you interstate supporters want to lay claim to the 1996 and 1999 flags?

kookadog
29 Oct 2007, 23:32
If Southport are willing to cough up the 30 mil for a licence the AFL should take it.

ashley12
30 Oct 2007, 01:58
I'd rather 18 teams than 17. If we're gonna add more teams add 2 - you've got an instant rivalry right there, and the draw wont get stuffed around with teams having byes.

It'd be better to not even add any teams though, and just keep 16

I doubt that would make an instant rivalry. For example I doubt the Western Force have had a rivalry with the Cheetahs of South Africa, who were formed in 2006 as well. Same as Birmingham, Derby and Sunderland, who were all admitted into the English Premier League this season after earning promotion.

The only major rivalry that will be played up is geographical rivalry or rivalrys due to a history of close, tight encounters (West Coast vs Sydney, Manchester United vs Liverpool).

Al Scorcho
30 Oct 2007, 02:08
far out 16 teams is way too many as it is
17 teams would be ridiculous plus odd teams = a bye... not gonna happen

tell me about it, why did we ever let those arrogant jumper stealing yobbos in?!?! shoulda left it at 15 right :p

Blue History
30 Oct 2007, 03:01
The only logical and fair option (hypothetically if the AFL let another team in, which they won't) is that they should come from;

http://www.tas.gov.au/tasmaniaonline/about/tasmap-600.gif

Big footy state that is still overlooked and treated poorly!!!

National competition should have a team from Tazzie!!!

mwalker
30 Oct 2007, 03:05

Hey Lidge that is pretty harsh. He admits he is a young kid and maybe the prospect of playing in a side that might have an afl affiliation would be pretty exciting to up and coming footballers. No need to berate everyone that isn't going out to buy NM memberships....

I didn't see anything in his post that said he hoped you guys relocate...can't sustain yourself in melbourne...etc.

The Majestic
30 Oct 2007, 05:16
The only logical and fair option (hypothetically if the AFL let another team in, which they won't) is that they should come from;

There will never be a Tasmanian team, the AFL has said as much AFL Tasmania's Scott Wade has been lobbying the AFL for a team at Bellerive Oval, Andy D came to see Bellerive and ruled it out, and with Hawthorn at York Park there is no place for a Tasmanian team.

Plus I doubt that Tasmania can sustain a team, sure we love our footy here in Tassie, but the problem is there is a war between South and North Tasmania that will tear the team apart. The South will want the team there, as would the North, and since the North has the only AFL recognised ground it would seem they'd win out.

Tasmania had it's chance of getting near to an AFL team with the Glenorchy Stadium idea that was proposed to be completed by either 1998 or 1999, it was rejected as was an AFL license. So unless Hawthorn agrees that Launceston is their new full time home and the ground gets more seating there would be no Tasmanian team.

Blue History
30 Oct 2007, 05:22
There will never be a Tasmanian team, the AFL has said as much AFL Tasmania's Scott Wade has been lobbying the AFL for a team at Bellerive Oval, Andy D came to see Bellerive and ruled it out, and with Hawthorn at York Park there is no place for a Tasmanian team.

Plus I doubt that Tasmania can sustain a team, sure we love our footy here in Tassie, but the problem is there is a war between South and North Tasmania that will tear the team apart. The South will want the team there, as would the North, and since the North has the only AFL recognised ground it would seem they'd win out.

Tasmania had it's chance of getting near to an AFL team with the Glenorchy Stadium idea that was proposed to be completed by either 1998 or 1999, it was rejected as was an AFL license. So unless Hawthorn agrees that Launceston is their new full time home and the ground gets more seating there would be no Tasmanian team.

Understand all that....i think its just a shame!!!

I'm a Victorian who would love to see a team in tassie...and not a relocated one!!!

Can only hope one day someone/ppl see sense!!

The Majestic
30 Oct 2007, 05:33
Understand all that....i think its just a shame!!!

I'm a Victorian who would love to see a team in tassie...and not a relocated one!!!

Can only hope one day someone/ppl see sense!!

I would hope Tasmania can finally unite and put aside the battles between the South and North and get a team and sustain it well. First thing to do is to fix Tasmanian football, the crowds have been dropping to local football for years and have become a very big problem, especially in the South.

And if you look at the the past players that have played football, and even some of the current ones there is still a decent amount of talent running around in Tasmania.

I hope someone steps in and saves Tasmanian football, a loss of football in Tasmania would be a tragedy.

Truetiger
30 Oct 2007, 08:52

http://www.tas.gov.au/tasmaniaonline/about/tasmap-600.gif

Agree if any other side is coming in next it has to be Tazzie. ITs not a Australian game without them

Father Jack
30 Oct 2007, 09:07
Agree if any other side is coming in next it has to be Tazzie. ITs not a Australian game without them

Tassie isn't united enough for a team, and even if it was it would still struggle. They've gone and based the Devils down in Hobart when common sense would be to base them in the city where AFL is played, but that would be too much for the arrogant pricks down south. If they can't have the pie all to themselves then they will make sure that the north doesn't have it either. Their beer is terrible too, btw.

catters05
30 Oct 2007, 12:07
Nah starting from sratch in a non AFL area wouldn't work too well. Just look what happened to the Bridbane Bears. But that was 20 years ago so if the AFL started another club from sratch it would do a bit better.

FFS the Bears didn't start well because of the people running them. Should never of played at Carrara.

If you build the team correctly you will be fine.

The Majestic
30 Oct 2007, 15:18
Tassie isn't united enough for a team, and even if it was it would still struggle. They've gone and based the Devils down in Hobart when common sense would be to base them in the city where AFL is played, but that would be too much for the arrogant pricks down south. If they can't have the pie all to themselves then they will make sure that the north doesn't have it either. Their beer is terrible too, btw.

I can't disagree there, though there's a lot of egos South and North, it just seems the North can operate a league better. I've never tried either beer, so I couldn't really say.;)

Father Jack
30 Oct 2007, 15:33
I can't disagree there, though there's a lot of egos South and North, it just seems the North can operate a league better. I've never tried either beer, so I couldn't really say.;)

The old territorial instincts kicked in about halfway through the rant, and there was no stopping, I'm afraid.

Howard Littlejohn
30 Oct 2007, 15:59

Finally, something I can agree with you on.
Tassie needs to be looked at as two distinct - and impoverished - markets. "Hobartscum" and "The North" . And the north is itself split four ways; 50% Launceston and the north-east; Devonport (in continual war with Burnie); Burnie (in continual war with Devonport) and the rest of the orthwest. At under 2.5%* of the national population, the dispersed population in one key measure (the only state where over half the people reside more than 100km from the capital city).
If one was to look at finances alone Tassie is unsustainable now, and more unsustainable in the future. Tassie might get a look in at a 24 team comp, but would be no certainty until aboutn 30 teams. (In terms of it being "deserved" for historic reasons - then definitely, Tassie should have been brought in before the Bears; but unfortunately the AFL doesn't look at things that way.)

* Less than 500k population of 21m; and in terms of a percentage of the national figure, both population and economy decreasing. Absolute numbers creeping up, but at far less than national averages.

pies_this_year
30 Oct 2007, 16:46

The devils were based in hobart because that is where the crowds are you fool!

The only reason you guys get afl in the first place is because ranger lennon wants your votes, aaah, the benifits of a marginal seat.

If you really wanted a team based in tassie, it could happen (with the right approach). We have money (just through away 15 big ones, to a club that imo has no intentions of relocating, which could of been used more wisely in other sectors) and passion.

hypothetically, if you had two teams down here (one in launnie, one in hobart) you would see a rilvary like no others! f*ck it would be entertaining!!

and for the record..
Cascade>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>boag>>>all other beers

Father Jack
30 Oct 2007, 16:58
The devils were based in hobart because that is where the crowds are you fool!

The only reason you guys get afl in the first place is because ranger lennon wants your votes, aaah, the benifits of a marginal seat.

If you really wanted a team based in tassie, it could happen (with the right approach). We have money (just through away 15 big ones, to a club that imo has no intentions of relocating, which could of been used more wisely in other sectors) and passion.

hypothetically, if you had two teams down here (one in launnie, one in hobart) you would see a rilvary like no others! f*ck it would be entertaining!!

and for the record..
Cascade>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>boag>>>all other beers

I reckon there should be a NE, a NW and an S team in the VFL (or SEAFL). That would be cool.

The Teflon Dean
30 Oct 2007, 17:04
Bring in Tassie, The Gold Coast and Western Sydney then we play each other once in an 18 round season.

Rotate venues every second year.:thumbsu:

FOOOOTY
30 Oct 2007, 17:18
but we would have 19 teams!

The Teflon Dean
30 Oct 2007, 17:22
but we would have 19 teams!

Well they can't play each other in the 19th round (Bye).:rolleyes:

zero
30 Oct 2007, 23:43
i think its the way to go.

give southport the license, nick reiwoldt and a bunch of concessions, then cut back the CBF to half a million a year tops.

north want to stay, so let them stay

in hindsight it would have been better to do it 3 or 4 years ago, but there you go

Blue_Blood
31 Oct 2007, 00:07
I don't think byes are an issue for the AFL, every team would get two a year, and we would have footy on every weekend - absolutely nothing different to 2008 draw, where all teams have two byes, however, next year there is a weekend without footy, which we wouldn't have to worry about with a 17th team.

Eventually, the Roos would have a honorable death or merger. Merger with another melbourne club (e.g. Melbourne) and the a new license to Southport or a Gold Coast team is the best long term prospect the AFL have at the moment.

danny rooboy
31 Oct 2007, 00:39

If Tassie were to have a team couldn't they play half their home games in Hobart and half in the north? Or some such arrangement?

Father Jack
31 Oct 2007, 08:06
If Tassie were to have a team couldn't they play half their home games in Hobart and half in the north? Or some such arrangement?

There's no point in splitting resources when you have a perfectly good stadium in the most central location, ie Launceston. Hobart missed the boat when they couldn't decide which ground down there they should concentrate on.

FlyingCrow
31 Oct 2007, 13:54
Any team going down there will double their membership....guranteed

:D:D

Seanason
31 Oct 2007, 15:57

i say 2 vs 1, the kangaroos lose and move to Gold Coast:D