View Full Version : Why make North Melbourne move?

ChrisFooty
29th October 2007, 21:54
What happens if the major shareholders say get stuffed, we are not moving. If they decide against moving to the Gold Coast, will the AFL actually stop giving them financial assistance?

How can they not give any financial handouts to the Kangaroos, yet other clubs could still potentially recieve them. This will seem very odd.

The AFL are going to end up paying the Gold Coast/kangaroos venture a lot more than what it's currently paying North Melbourne. The Gold Coast is just not ready for an AFL team. A lot of people on this board say the Gold Coast is an AFL area, but it's not, never was.

jacko57
29th October 2007, 22:06
Correct.

A GC venture might...............repeat, might.......work in the longterm. In the short-term (10-20 years), it wouldbe a massive drain on the AFL's finances.

yioughtta
29th October 2007, 22:10
Uh-huh uh-huh uh-huh.

Gold Coast = Bad News

Whether it is us or someone else, it is bad news.

MAG87
29th October 2007, 22:43
if vlad is serious about building a team on the gc he should follow the footsteps of the WA Reds who are trying to make a re entry to league. he should spend money building junior leagues and improving the name throughout the SE QLD region then after a few year try a team there in the Queensland League or even the ACT or VFL league and see how they go. to chuck a victorian team that is in financial strain over there would be suicide for both parties. the AFL would have to fork out millions of dollars just to keep the team alive as well as to fund for a new stadium (carrara's a joke.)

it seems to me vlad is trying to get back at north melbourne. was he delisted by them when he played for them? have north melbourne done anything to vlad or the afl recently?

ChrisFooty
29th October 2007, 22:49
I notice Cararra is now called Gold Coast Staduim. Will they do any renovations before the start of the 2008 season?

huntos
29th October 2007, 22:57
If i was a north melbourne member i would be picketting at AFL house, North should be entitled to TV rights money every year, them playing is the reason why people watch the footy in the first place.

The AFL should be doing everything within its power to reduce costs for the football club, even letting play out of princess park not trying to destroy years of histroy because it suits them best for the future of the league.

Tas
29th October 2007, 23:32
This has as much, if not more, ramification for the second tier Melbourne clubs who currently enjoy getting 30k+ home games against us as a Melbourne side.

We currently get an unfair number of live and excliusive pay-tv games, if we are forced to move, that burden is not going to an interstate side, no interstate side has live and exclusive games, that will pass to the second tier victorian teams who will get even less TV time, and it will get worse.

With fewer Victorian games the AFL/TV channels will be forced to sell more games off to pay-tv, the second tier clubs will then go through a cycle like we have recently where you are restricted significantly from FTA games. It is hard to generate new supporters when nobody ever sees you play.

Book in another substandard interstate home game in the future, wont hurt the top 4 but the 2nd tier will now face probably another home game they wont be making much if any money out of.

Worst case scenario for us is the AFL will bribe & threaten us with a truckload of money, facilities and on-field assistance to move to the elephant graveyard of sporting organisations. It has much bigger ramifications for the second tier clubs that remain.

relapse
29th October 2007, 23:58
What happens if the major shareholders say get stuffed, we are not moving. If they decide against moving to the Gold Coast, will the AFL actually stop giving them financial assistance?

How can they not give any financial handouts to the Kangaroos, yet other clubs could still potentially recieve them. This will seem very odd.

The AFL are going to end up paying the Gold Coast/kangaroos venture a lot more than what it's currently paying North Melbourne. The Gold Coast is just not ready for an AFL team. A lot of people on this board say the Gold Coast is an AFL area, but it's not, never was.

There are a set criteria for being eligible to receive the CBF. If they say that North Melbourne are not complying with the eligibility criteria they will have a justifiable reason to withdraw it. Lets not forget that the AFL is a organisation worth billions of dollars, all the legal ramifications would have been addressed already by the AFL.

diablo14
30th October 2007, 00:07
This has as much, if not more, ramification for the second tier Melbourne clubs who currently enjoy getting 30k+ home games against us as a Melbourne side.

We currently get an unfair number of live and excliusive pay-tv games, if we are forced to move, that burden is not going to an interstate side, no interstate side has live and exclusive games, that will pass to the second tier victorian teams who will get even less TV time, and it will get worse.

With fewer Victorian games the AFL/TV channels will be forced to sell more games off to pay-tv, the second tier clubs will then go through a cycle like we have recently where you are restricted significantly from FTA games. It is hard to generate new supporters when nobody ever sees you play.

Book in another substandard interstate home game in the future, wont hurt the top 4 but the 2nd tier will now face probably another home game they wont be making much if any money out of.

Worst case scenario for us is the AFL will bribe & threaten us with a truckload of money, facilities and on-field assistance to move to the elephant graveyard of sporting organisations. It has much bigger ramifications for the second tier clubs that remain.

You make it sound like it's an unintentional thing on the AFL's part. They've got your boys in the gun now, and once they're finished with you, they'll start looking for the next one.

Boozeroo
30th October 2007, 00:08
This is a warning to all St Kilda/ Melbourne/ W. Bulldogs/ Hawthorn supporters.

If North Melbourne go to the Gold Coast, there will be serious pressure via the TV scheduling for you to host yet more pay-TV games.

If you don't think it will, have a look at Hawthorn's 2008 Tasmania games TV coverage.

Will the money paid by the Tas government be worth the second rate coverage???

The AFL is at market saturation and executives are sacrificing our teams to pay their salaries.

yeah-nah
30th October 2007, 00:21
This is a warning to all St Kilda/ Melbourne/ W. Bulldogs/ Hawthorn supporters.

If North Melbourne go to the Gold Coast, there will be serious pressure via the TV scheduling for you to host yet more pay-TV games.

If you don't think it will, have a look at Hawthorn's 2008 Tasmania games TV coverage.

Will the money paid by the Tas government be worth the second rate coverage???

The AFL is at market saturation and executives are sacrificing our teams to pay their salaries.

If I was one of those teams TV coverge would be the last thing Id be worried about. AFL agenda is 1st the GC, 2nd another team in SYdney. Thats the worry for these clubs.

Funkalicous
30th October 2007, 00:34
I notice Cararra is now called Gold Coast Staduim. Will they do any renovations before the start of the 2008 season?

I'm happy for you to ask questions, but don't confuse Victorians about the state of the Gold Coast. You frankly have no idea. I'd rather hear LittleDuck's opinion of AFL in Queensland. - He's a biast Thugby supporter/ AFL basher, but at least he lives in the region and has some idea of what he's talking about.

But to answer your question: There's been renovations to the coaching and change rooms, new turf, and the addition of temporary stands. There's also been massive road developement outside the stadium. I don't know when the major redevelopments are occurring, but I know personally that the blueprints and funding are in place and ready to go.

Boozeroo
30th October 2007, 00:38
If I was one of those teams TV coverage would be the last thing Id be worried about. AFL agenda is 1st the GC, 2nd another team in Sydney. Thats the worry for these clubs.

It's the first thing that major club sponsors look at.

First the AFL take the coverage, then the sponsors, and then your identity.

Black Thunder
30th October 2007, 00:52
I reckon the Gold Coast will only work if they are given a new team to support. not a relocated team.

It's unfortunate but in this day and age the kangaroos, and to a lesser extent the bulldogs, are really struggling. I wish they weren't but put simply, unless there is some big growth in the Victorian population there just isn't enough support for 10 teams, of which 9 are in Melbourne.

Has anyone ever thrown up the idea of moving the team to the country, perhaps just outside of Melbourne... I don't know what towns would be the ones to look at but that might be more viable....

Paddywackers
30th October 2007, 00:58
If i was a Kangaroos supporter (they are not known as North Melbourne anymore) I would be lobbying for a move to the Gold Coast. They WILL die in Melbourne if they stay here that is if they're not taken over by another club. (Fitzroy anyone)

Anyone that thinks the North Melbourne Football club would be 'dead' if they moved to the Gold Coast, (and it seems really only desperate Kangaroo's supporters that are suggesting this) than really the North Melbourne Football Club died in 1999!

They WILL eventually move the the Gold Coast. The AFL will support them. What happens from there is a guess. One thing we do know, if they stay in Melbourne, (which won't happen) they WILL die if not for a take over!

The longer the Kangaroos hold of for a permanant move, the more of a risk they will be taking. Rugby may have gotten in first by 2010, and it will be death to the Kangaroo's.

They won't have my sympathy!

NimChief
30th October 2007, 01:04
If i was a Kangaroos supporter (they are not known as North Melbourne anymore) I would be lobbying for a move to the Gold Coast. They WILL die in Melbourne if they stay here that is if they're not taken over by another club. (Fitzroy anyone)

Anyone that thinks the North Melbourne Football club would be 'dead' if they moved to the Gold Coast, (and it seems really only desperate Kangaroo's supporters that are suggesting this) than really the North Melbourne Football Club died in 1999!

They WILL eventually move the the Gold Coast. The AFL will support them. What happens from there is a guess. One thing we do know, if they stay in Melbourne, (which won't happen) they WILL die if not for a take over!

The longer the Kangaroos hold of for a permanant move, the more of a risk they will be taking. Rugby may have gotten in first by 2010, and it will be death to the Kangaroo's.

lol, hello there prole.

Looks like you could go another glass of victory gin.

giantroo
30th October 2007, 01:11

Of course we wont. Look where you are living.:rolleyes:

Paddywackers
30th October 2007, 01:12
lol, hello there prole.

Looks like you could go another glass of victory gin.

What is a prole, I ohnestly don't want to piss Kangaroo's supporters off, but the reality is they are not viable in Melbourne and the option of a relocation is just so much better than merger, that's not even considering watching your club die!

giantroo
30th October 2007, 01:14
What is a prole, I ohnestly don't want to piss Kangaroo's supporters off, but the reality is they are not viable in Melbourne and the option of a relocation is just so much better than merger, that's not even considering watching your club die!

Unless you have facts that you have gone to find, please piss off.

Azzballz Deluxe
30th October 2007, 01:19
Goodbye kangas
Its been nice
Hope you find your.........paradiiiiiise :)

TheBrownDog
30th October 2007, 01:43
Goodbye kangas
Its been nice
Hope you find your.........paradiiiiiise :)

Is it that hard to detach yourself from your Essendon roots and put yourselves in their shoes for 10 seconds?

diablo14
30th October 2007, 02:20
It's pretty simple really. Having 'battling' clubs isn't good for the image.

TheBrownDog
30th October 2007, 02:24

Everyone likes an underdog.

diablo14
30th October 2007, 02:40
Everyone likes an underdog.

There is a big difference between an underdog and a battler. It's just that battlers spend more of their time being the underdog.

The problem is that sentiment is only a short term fix in this game. It's fine if you've got things behind it to back you up. When you don't, you go the way of Fitzroy and South Melbourne. North will wait to see what sort of support will be raised from their supporter base before any concrete decision is announced on this situation.

SweetLeftFoot
30th October 2007, 02:48

Its not viable to you and your man crush Demetriou.

It is viable to us.

SweetLeftFoot
30th October 2007, 02:49

It also isn't good for the image to have teams that have only ever won a single premiership, so Footscray and St Kilda should be on the block.

diablo14
30th October 2007, 02:53
It also isn't good for the image to have teams that have only ever won a single premiership, so Footscray and St Kilda should be on the block.

Don't you worry about that! If they haven't added a flag or two in the next decade, they will be in a fair spot of bother.

Lidge
30th October 2007, 03:01

The Pies have only won the solitary flag in the past 50 years. Flying on field aren't they?;)

SweetLeftFoot
30th October 2007, 03:02
The Pies have only won the solitary flag in the past 50 years. Flying on field aren't they?;)

This is very true.

Great work today/tonight mate.

diablo14
30th October 2007, 03:06

When you have fans like Collingwoods, it's easy to sell them on decades of mediocrity ;)

SweetLeftFoot
30th October 2007, 03:08
When you have fans like Collingwoods, it's easy to sell them on decades of mediocrity ;)

Unlike Geelong fans who happily sat through 44 years without a flag??

I know what you mean though with Collingwood fans but.

diablo14
30th October 2007, 03:12
Unlike Geelong fans who happily sat through 44 years without a flag??

I know what you mean though with Collingwood fans but.

I assure you I wasn't happy :mad:

SweetLeftFoot
30th October 2007, 03:13
I assure you I wasn't happy :mad:

Fair enough

Ice-Wolf
30th October 2007, 10:03

The difference between St Kilda and Kangaroos, is that St. Kilda arent in financial strife atm, have a larger supporter base who stick by the club through the hard times.

Currently we don't sell games interstate.

SonOfReep
30th October 2007, 10:35
It's pretty simple. If you have a sick sheep, you put it out of its misery lest it infect the entire flock. Vlad is just looking out for the rest of us sheep.

flamethrower
30th October 2007, 10:59

Why? The Chicago Cubs haven't won a World Series in 100 years and I don't see MLB actively trying to relocate/merge/kill off them.

The Bulldogs are in their strongest position both financially and membership wise in their 100 year plus history. The club is at the stage where it is actively pursuing not selling home games interstate. It is hardly a "basketcase" and and lightyears away from being "on the block' and a candidate for relocation.

NeXus_Helen
30th October 2007, 11:13
Why? The Chicago Cubs haven't won a World Series in 100 years and I don't see MLB actively trying to relocate/merge/kill off them.

The Bulldogs are in their strongest position both financially and membership wise in their 100 year plus history. The club is at the stage where it is actively pursuing not selling home games interstate. It is hardly a "basketcase" and and lightyears away from being "on the block' and a candidate for relocation.
Hey flamethrower...are you for real? How could you possibly believe that "The Bulldogs are in their strongest position both financially and membership wise in their 100 year plus history".

That is such a lie it is laughable.:D Your club keeps making losses every year and that is despite receiving $1.2 million per year via the CBF and selling 2 home games to other states and receiving $6,000,000. Imagine what state the Bulldogs would be in without the above. They would have folded by now. And not to mention you had record membership this year yet still made a loss. Wake up man!!!!!!!:eek::eek:

incubi
30th October 2007, 11:38
Hey flamethrower...are you for real? How could you possibly believe that "The Bulldogs are in their strongest position both financially and membership wise in their 100 year plus history".

That is such a lie it is laughable.:D Your club keeps making losses every year and that is despite receiving $1.2 million per year via the CBF and selling 2 home games to other states and receiving $6,000,000. Imagine what state the Bulldogs would be in without the above. They would have folded by now. And not to mention you had record membership this year yet still made a loss. Wake up man!!!!!!!:eek::eek:

Actually the dogs will be announcing a profit this year, and the CBF is for a reason:
Free to air coverage 2008
Collingwood 19
Geelong 18
St Kilda 16
Essendon 15
Carlton 14
Hawthorn 12
Richmond 11
Kangaroos 10
Melbourne 10
W Bulldogs 10

Also when the redevolement of Whitten Oval is done its will be bringing in close to $1m a year to the club instead of costing th club in maintenance and such.
Oh and how quickly you can forgot, not so long ago St Kilda was in a lot of trouble

NeXus_Helen
30th October 2007, 11:49
Actually the dogs will be announcing a profit this year, and the CBF is for a reason:
Free to air coverage 2008
Collingwood 19
Geelong 18
St Kilda 16
Essendon 15
Carlton 14
Hawthorn 12
Richmond 11
Kangaroos 10
Melbourne 10
W Bulldogs 10

Also when the redevolement of Whitten Oval is done its will be bringing in close to $1m a year to the club instead of costing th club in maintenance and such.
Oh and how quickly you can forgot, not so long ago St Kilda was in a lot of trouble
I haven't forgotten, but the Saints got themselves out of trouble. I don't think the Bulldogs, Kangas and Demons can do that. They don't have enough supporters.

incubi
30th October 2007, 11:58
I haven't forgotten, but the Saints got themselves out of trouble. I don't think the Bulldogs, Kangas and Demons can do that. They don't have enough supporters.

Our membership is on the way up, we've also found ways off getting money elsewhere (new facilities) and our debt is gradually coming down.

NeXus_Helen
30th October 2007, 13:03
Our membership is on the way up, we've also found ways off getting money elsewhere (new facilities) and our debt is gradually coming down.
What happens when the AFL turn off the CBF?

yioughtta
30th October 2007, 13:15
What happens when the AFL turn off the CBF?

What happens is they then schedule the fixture so that every team gets fair exposure on free-to-air and in particular Friday nights, Saturday nights and blockbusters.

Then the sponsorship for the currently mis-treated clubs increases staggeringly, memberships rise, supporter base grows and they are back up where they belong.

Simple.

Howard Littlejohn
30th October 2007, 13:49
If I was one of those teams TV coverge would be the last thing Id be worried about. AFL agenda is 1st the GC, 2nd another team in SYdney. Thats the worry for these clubs.

Yes, but part of the way to do that is to limit exposure for lower revenue clubs by cutting TV coverage. Free to air coverage means exposure, it means marketing power, it therefore means sponsorship dollars.

Make no mistake, Collingwood and Essendon make far more money out of the TV bonuses than we get through the CBF and its replacement. Its not a "handout", its inadequate compensation for the marketing free kicks given to clubs that don't need it over those such as us, Melbourne, Bulldogs, Hawthorn (who won't get another deal out of Tassie like their current one; especially without FTA coverage) and Geelong.

RooBoy72
30th October 2007, 16:51

Are the Saints "out of trouble'?
Last I saw, they were struggling for sponsors, a home base, a harmonious board, commercial acumen in their business and resources to grow a revenue base.
"I can't believe it's not" Butterss seems to have done a great job of wiping debt and eliminating some of the more questionable 'business' practices of St Kilda of old, but there is a long long way to go before they are out of trouble....

robaba
30th October 2007, 19:35
It's pretty simple. If you have a sick sheep, you put it out of its misery lest it infect the entire flock. Vlad is just looking out for the rest of us sheep.

Back into your unlisted little hole - heathen

NeXus_Helen
31st October 2007, 08:35
Are the Saints "out of trouble'?
Last I saw, they were struggling for sponsors, a home base, a harmonious board, commercial acumen in their business and resources to grow a revenue base.
"I can't believe it's not" Butterss seems to have done a great job of wiping debt and eliminating some of the more questionable 'business' practices of St Kilda of old, but there is a long long way to go before they are out of trouble....
Currently.....the Saints are DEBT FREE and have had over 30,000 members for 4 years in a row!!!

I would say that is out of trouble.