View Full Version : Gold Coast issue a knee jerk reaction to inevitable A-League expansion ?

fishmonger
30th October 2007, 11:48
I think so.

The biggest motivator to AFL expansion is A-League expansion.

The AFL have intensified their turf war having missed the boat with both the Titans and the East Coast Aces NRL and ARC licences.

But now it is also facing the threat of a second team in Melbourne to compete against a crowded market of AFL teams, having already seen a new ARC team and NRL team's success.

The media start a frenzy whenever growing A-League crowds or expansion are mentioned.

If A-League ever threatened to have a team in Tassie, watch out Hawks !!

And if Townsville does get an A-League licence, another fast growing area, just watch for the AFL to start talks of a Northern based in Darwin/Cairns team come up.

Thoughts ??

Beckham set to fly to Coast
By Marco Monteverde
May 16, 2007 DAVID Beckham is coming to a beach near you.

The world's most famous footballer, who will earn $172,860 a day when he joins Los Angeles Galaxy from Real Madrid in July, is set to head to the Gold Coast as part of the Major League Soccer franchise's Australian tour later this year.

With negotiations having started to bring the Galaxy to Australia for matches against Sydney FC and Melbourne Victory in November or December, Australia's tourist capital wants a piece of the action.

As part of the Gold Coast's bid for A-League inclusion, Beckham and the Galaxy could take part in a showpiece affair at Carrara Stadium.

The match is set to kick-start the Galaxy's link with the Gold Coast hopefuls, with the relationship tipped to prove crucial in the franchise's bid for an A-League berth.

Who the Galaxy would play remains unknown, but Gold Coast Soccer boss Peter Gray yesterday hinted at the possibility of Queensland Roar being invited to take part in the match.

Further discussions about the match and the relationship between the Galaxy and the Gold Coast will take place next Wednesday at a meeting involving Gray, former Sydney FC chairman Walter Bugno, ex-Roar coach Miron Bleiberg and several of the region's big spenders.

Gray said Galaxy was one of five clubs from around the world that the Coast bid team could forge a relationship with. If Los Angeles becomes the club of choice, the Gold Coast team could also be known as Galaxy.

Bleiberg, expected to have a say in who will coach the Coast side if its application succeeds, said a relationship with the LA outfit would be more for commercial than football aspects.

"There are a lot of similar institutions in LA and the Gold Coast," Bleiberg said.

"For sure it's going to be good for us."

Bleiberg suggested the LA franchise would almost be obliged to take Beckham worldwide.

"The LA Galaxy are paying so much money to David Beckham, not only to play in the American competition, but for him to spread their sponsors around the world," he said.

Beckham, the former England captain, is in the closing weeks of his sometimes stormy stint with Spanish giant Real.

It has been reported that the husband of Victoria "Posh Spice" Beckham will be paid five times more than the rest of the Galaxy squad put together.

Gold Coast ponders A-League licence competition
The chairman of Gold Coast Soccer says it could be competing against four other bidders for two A-League licences.

Peter Gray says the national competition could have two new teams entered in the 2008/2009 season.

He says the Gold Coast and Townsville are both in contention.

"Wollongong have showed interest, they're about the only other one at this moment," he said.

"But you always think someone from west Sydney would try and get involved and possibly another team from Melbourne because they've been so successful."

Second soccer team for Melbourne bid
VICTORIA is set for a new soccer team as powerful business groups manoeuvre for a second A-League licence.

The Herald Sun can reveal at least three consortiums are positioning themselves behind the scenes to take ownership of the new club.

The new franchise would join Melbourne Victory in the thriving national competition from 2010.

Victory and the league's seven other clubs are protected by a deal preventing rival teams from being formed in the same state. It expires after the 2009 season.

Two business groups are from Melbourne, with one believed to involve mobile phone magnate John Ilhan. He refused to comment yesterday.

Another prominent businessman within AFL circles confirmed his involvement but asked not to be named.

"There's a number of groups that are interested," the source said. "It will move quite quickly. Victory has been very successful here and there are a number of groups that are coming out."

It's believed both Melbourne parties want the team to join Victory in playing its home games at the new rectangular stadium, ensuring a match in Melbourne every week.

But a group of Geelong businessmen is believed to have a $3 million bankroll and wants control of Victoria's first regional soccer team.

The three consortiums would not say whether they had discussed team names.

A Football Federation Australia source said board members were having their coats tugged almost every day for another franchise in Victoria because of Victory's outstanding 2 1/2 seasons in the league.

"The rumours are rife but nothing official has been brought to the table," the source said.

It's believed FFA would want to see consortiums produce $1.5 million in assets or cash before taking them seriously.

It costs up to $10 million a year to run an A-League club.

Victory chief executive Geoff Miles said Victoria had room for only one soccer team.

"We believe the one team, one city model FFA has introduced to the A-League has been a great move and the key to the success of the league and the support Victory has received," Mr Miles said. "Our view is that this model has been so successful, you would question whether you would want to move away from it.

"We don't believe there's a strong case for splitting the support in our code into more than one club."

Mr Miles said there were more suitable regions of Australia where new teams could flourish.

FFA chief executive Ben Buckley did not return calls.

catters05
30th October 2007, 11:58
17th license required for Gold Coast, 18th for Tasmania , 19th for West Sydney and then 20th for Territory. AFL DONE. :D

shawthing09
30th October 2007, 12:06
I'd say that Rugby is still far more competition to AFL in areas like queensland and Sydney then the A-League simply because the season's clash effecting attendance and t.v ratings in these areas, Also as trivial as it is if money is tight I dare say it is easier to fork out money two memberships 6 months a part. Aswell as the fact that in melbourne the A-league is very sucessful and is in some fans mind a good past time between the AFL season and hasn't affected AFL attendances etc.

The A-League and AFL can coexist without effecting each other greatly unless the A-League season lengthens and or changes and clashes with the AFL season.

Doctor Jolly
30th October 2007, 12:49
A-league has enough of its own problems to worry about.

Anyway, if the A-league expanded it would be in Western Sydney.... which the AFL arent even talking about. So there goes that theory.

Anyway, ones a summer sport, ones a winter sport. I cant see the AFL being overly concerned.

yioughtta
30th October 2007, 12:54
Good work, fishmonger! Well put together. :thumbsu:

I personally feel that whilst the A-League may be a concern to the AFL on the Gold Coast, it didn't really matter which competition went there. As soon as another sporting competition said they were going to the Gold Coast, Andy D's ears pricked up and he has been hounding the issue ever since.

The problem is that three national sporting teams all popped up at the same time and caught the AFL way off-guard. Now they are definitely on the back foot and are panicking at the thought of missing another boat (just like Canberra). If the A-League does go there it will only compound the problem.

Good post.

roger explosion
30th October 2007, 13:19
there will be a Gold Coast bid for an A-League license next season. you can put your house on it, i've heard it from Peter Gray himself. but i don't think that it will compete with the AFL's plans, because the sports are in different seasons. i think what you'll find is, eventually, the two most popular sports in Australia will be footy and soccer.

stephen_bayne
30th October 2007, 13:27
I think it isn't so much the A-League but the fact that if the rumours are true and the Gold Coast Galaxy has been given the green light for the 2008/09 season that means AFL will be the rotten egg as far as the Gold Coast goes. By the time they smuggle the Roos up there will be two Rugby teams, a soccer team and a basketball team.

Subprime
30th October 2007, 13:46
Is the A-League really a threat?

Apart from the Victory, A-League crowds are generally well under 20,000 a game and in some markets they struggle to pull 10,000. How do they sustain a professional league on that basis? Teams like Perth must be bleeding money all over the place.

Maybe someone's got some facts & figures to correct me on this but I would have thought too much expansion is a bad thing for the A-League. I saw an article last week saying there were a lack of high profile players in Australian soccer. I can't see how adding new teams is going to help that.

adasano
30th October 2007, 13:47
The A-League will be the dominant sport in this country by 2020.

AFL is followed by Southern & Western states; Rugby by Eastern and Northern.

The round code is universally supported.

At the moment, the 2 calenders dont really clash. But there will come a time when the A-League has 12-16 teams and runs longer into the season.

thoughts?

Subprime
30th October 2007, 13:51
adasano - Crowds in Sydney and Perth are dropping like a stone this year. The problem for soccer is the best players will go overseas to make a living and you can't charge a premium for second or third best product.

stmookeyj
30th October 2007, 13:51
Maybe someone's got some facts & figures to correct me on this but I would have thought too much expansion is a bad thing for the A-League. I saw an article last week saying there were a lack of high profile players in Australian soccer. I can't see how adding new teams is going to help that.

I don't think the A-League necessarilly would target the high profile players. What I think it is targeting is the players in the minor European leagues and British (Eng/Sco) lower leagues as well as giving developing talent a place to show their wares without having to go overseas too soon. But again with the season running from September to about February/March it shouldn't be a worry really if the parties co-exist.

Mind you, GC may bid, but so will NQ and probably Wollongong so it's not a given that a team will be on the Coast next season.

I also wouldn't worry about the RU team too much, their crowds were low and interest not great.

stmookeyj
30th October 2007, 13:53
adasano - Crowds in Sydney and Perth are dropping like a stone this year.

Perth's been dropping for a while. They need a winning team and off field stability (still not that stable if the gaffer's under the pump) to be successful. Sydney may be disappointing and they have had a few home games, but once again if they start winning....

adasano
30th October 2007, 13:56
Perth's been dropping for a while. They need a winning team and off field stability (still not that stable if the gaffer's under the pump) to be successful. Sydney may be disappointing and they have had a few home games, but once again if they start winning....

Crowds for Perth Glory back in the NSL days we in the 30k range..

once they get their act together, they will return.

Subprime
30th October 2007, 13:57

So what happens if you bring in expansion teams in small stadium markets and they start winning. The A-League really needs Sydney and Melbourne to play finals every year otherwise the crowds will fall off. The more teams you bring in the less chance of that happening I would have thought, especially if you don't want new teams going broke.

roger explosion
30th October 2007, 14:06
adasano - Crowds in Sydney and Perth are dropping like a stone this year. The problem for soccer is the best players will go overseas to make a living and you can't charge a premium for second or third best product.
sydney's crowd picked up by about 7,000 this week after Kosmina was installed manager; if he can make them successful again then they will get similar crowds to melbourne.

perth has a number of issues that they need to sort out, and i have no doubt the FFA will sort them out in the off-season.

and if you've not seen any games this season... its hard to say that the standard is poor. sure, its no Premier League, but some of the games have been absolute crackers. i don't think there is an issue with the quality of the game, particularly with players like Alosis, Bridges and Elrich in the league, and the probability of more players like Fred coming over and lighting the league up.

The Teflon Dean
30th October 2007, 14:07
It'll expand a lot quicker if they relocate my club.:thumbsu:

GO VICTORY!!!!!

Doctor Jolly
30th October 2007, 14:12
It'll expand a lot quicker if they relocate my club.:thumbsu:

GO VICTORY!!!!!

Ive always found that an odd line. " Dont kill my club because it has 100 years of tradition, because if you do I'll go support one with less than 5 years tradition. "

Anyway, back on topic, could it be argued that the creating the "A-league in summer was a knee jerk reaction to AFL and NRL expansion".

stmookeyj
30th October 2007, 14:18
Anyway, back on topic, could it be argued that the creating the "A-league in summer was a knee jerk reaction to AFL and NRL expansion".

No. Australia needed a fresh approach to a National League in the World Game. Before then for nearly 10 seasons the old NSL was a summer competition. It moved to summer in order to get more exposure knowing that they would be buried amongst the back pages if it competed against the AFL/NRL. Same thing happened with the NBL.

The Teflon Dean
30th October 2007, 14:21
Ive always found that an odd line. " Dont kill my club because it has 100 years of tradition, because if you do I'll go support one with less than 5 years tradition. "

The Gold Coast Kangaroos would be starting from year 1, you twit.

If AFL football turns it's back on me then I will turn my back on it and actively participate in it's downfall. Many other North fans think likewise.

Doctor Jolly
30th October 2007, 14:25

If AFL football turns it's back on me then I will turn my back on it and actively participate in it's downfall. Many other North fans think likewise.

You do whatever makes you feel good. If you like soccer, you like soccer. No big deal.

stephen_bayne
30th October 2007, 14:42
No. Australia needed a fresh approach to a National League in the World Game. Before then for nearly 10 seasons the old NSL was a summer competition. It moved to summer in order to get more exposure knowing that they would be buried amongst the back pages if it competed against the AFL/NRL. Same thing happened with the NBL.

Also most of the world's leagues start in August so it makes sense. From what I understand the A-League is only looking into expansion after this season because the first two seasons have been much more successful than expected. Also the crowd average has just this weekend hit time high of around 14k per game.

RUNVS
30th October 2007, 15:00
People seem to forget that the AFL isnt in direct competition with the A-League as AFL is a winter game while A-League is a Summer game.

VoR
30th October 2007, 15:11
Surely the AFL won't be spooked by the Gay League?

Gayball will always be a side show in this country because the best players will always leave for better money overseas.

The Chad
30th October 2007, 16:57
the gold coast galaxy are pretty much ready to go. bleiberg to coach (very media friendly), attractive destination to lure home O/S based aussies, and a ground sharing agreement with the rectangular stadium built for the rugby.

it's a pretty sweet deal and whether there's an AFL team or not it will be a success, so i would say the AFL will discount it as a head-to-head competitor.

stephen_bayne
30th October 2007, 17:51

Gayball will always be a side show in this country because the best players will always leave for better money overseas.

The AFL showed they were spooked by soccer with thier childish behaviour during the world cup last year.

jaxxon
30th October 2007, 20:04
The ARC will be lucky to survive three years, it poses no threat. The A League will never try to take on the big football codes directly, hence no threat.

Sir_Adrian84
30th October 2007, 21:05
Gold Coast will probably have an a-league team by next season (maybe replacing Perth but unlikely). The A-League will likely place teams where the AFL ISN'T (Tasmania, GC, Eastern Melbourne).

Sir_Adrian84
30th October 2007, 21:17
I think so.

The biggest motivator to AFL expansion is A-League expansion.

The AFL have intensified their turf war having missed the boat with both the Titans and the East Coast Aces NRL and ARC licences.

But now it is also facing the threat of a second team in Melbourne to compete against a crowded market of AFL teams, having already seen a new ARC team and NRL team's success.

The media start a frenzy whenever growing A-League crowds or expansion are mentioned.

If A-League ever threatened to have a team in Tassie, watch out Hawks !!

And if Townsville does get an A-League licence, another fast growing area, just watch for the AFL to start talks of a Northern based in Darwin/Cairns team come up.

Thoughts ??

The AFL has nowhere to grow. The other football codes and other sports will ensure that. Plus any changes to the league will lead to complaining (by those like Eddie McGuire), by any clubs involved and by other clubs who have an interest, by governments etc. The AFL has peaked as far as going as far national as it can go. Personally, I doubt there will be any more expansion for the AFL and they will haave to hope that the TV rights money continues to flood in or some teams will be relocating to the VFL.

These are possible locations for the A-League to expand.
http://www.news.com.au/dailytelegraph/file/spread_jpg.pdf/spread_jpg.pdf

The NRL will eventually go back to Perth, plus bring in teams from Wellington and the Central Coast plus a second Brisbane team.

Hawkk
30th October 2007, 21:20
Has anyone actually gone to a Roar game?

I've got a mate that plays for them and another in the squad, I swear I get more recognition out and round town then them :)

I shudder to think if the A-League split that market in 2...

Hawkk
30th October 2007, 21:21
The NRL will eventually go back to Perth, plus bring in teams from Wellington and the Central Coast plus a second Brisbane team.

I laughed my arse off earlier this year when they suggested an Ipswich team joining the NRL...no seriously I did :)

fishmonger
31st October 2007, 07:19
The AFL has nowhere to grow.

I thought the definition of growing was to expand into new areas.

I'm certain that the sport is capable of doing it just as it has proved to in the past. And this is over 100 years in spite of the best efforts of rugby codes and soccer.

Valleys FC 4Ever
1st November 2007, 04:10
I laughed my arse off earlier this year when they suggested an Ipswich team joining the NRL...no seriously I did :)
Why?
I thought the definition of growing was to expand into new areas.
He has a point imo, what new markets are there for the AFL to tap into? Realistically now, don't say Darwin or NZ. :p

Sir_Adrian84
1st November 2007, 06:20
A-League may beat AFL to the punch
Michael Lynch | November 1, 2007

FOOTBALL Federation Australia has been urged to move swiftly and capture the floating fan base on the Gold Coast before the AFL does by relocating the Kangaroos to the fast-growing region.

Expansion has become a topic of debate given the impression the A-League has made in its first three seasons and a cashed-up Gold Coast consortium fronted by former Sydney FC chairman Walter Bugno and ex-Queensland Roar coach Miron Bleiberg is aiming to become the competition's ninth club, perhaps as soon as next season.

A number of potential investors have already expressed interest in putting money into new ventures in Sydney and Melbourne.

But the A-League clubs in those cities, Melbourne Victory and Sydney FC, have been give a five-year monopoly to consolidate their presence before a new club can be admitted — at the earliest — in the 2010-11 season.

The FFA has commissioned a consultancy group to examine which markets would prove to be the most ripe for development. But the promoters of the Gold Coast bid believe there is a tremendous opportunity to strike now and capitalise on any indecision and conflict over the Roos' potential move.

"We are ready to go in the 2008-09 season and we have the financial backing and the support to get things happening quickly," Bleiberg said.

"We have financial backing of $7.5 million for the first year and the pledge that what ever we lose, that sum will be topped up every year for five years. We have got four or five property developers who are ready to take a stake in the club and there is the opportunity to get a number of other sponsors too."

FFA chief executive Ben Buckley said the Gold Coast is on the federation's radar, adding that while the AFL is "a relevant issue, it's not the only one". "We have to proceed on a timetable that suits us and the game's development, not be too focused on other sports," he said.

Bleiberg would be in charge of the club's football operations, but would not necessarily coach the club.

"If there is the desire for me to coach at first then I would do it but I do not feel as though I have to," he said.

While regarded as the nation's hottest new marketplace, a number of expansion franchises in different sports have come to grief in south-east Queensland in the past.

But Bleiberg and his partners argue that the development of the new rectangular stadium at Robina for the Gold Coast Titans rugby league side — a 27,000 capacity venue to open next year — represented a great chance for soccer.

"In addition to that, we have state-of-the-art training facilities … These are training facilities that any club in the English Premier League would not be ashamed of using," Bleiberg said.

The consultant's report on expansion is likely to form the basis of an A-League review next year, so the prospect of a new side in Queensland would be more likely in season 2009-10.

The AFL wants the Kangaroos to move in time for the 2010 season.

http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/news/aleague-may-beat-afl-to-the-punch/2007/10/31/1193618974553.html

Subprime
1st November 2007, 08:17
Why?

He has a point imo, what new markets are there for the AFL to tap into? Realistically now, don't say Darwin or NZ. :p

Don't know if you missed this but the AFL's plan is to have the elite level of the great Australian game played in Sydney and SEQ every weekend.

That will increase the game's profile in areas that have traditionally preferred various English codes of football to the Australian one.

jimmy_clement#8
1st November 2007, 10:38
With expansion especially, the AFL has blinkers. It sees the information it finds desirable for its own purposes, and then moves on it, even if it means crushing 140 odd years of history. The AFL sees south-east Queensland as a growing demographic, with the Gold Coast down the line becoming a major Australian metropolis (....apparently, somewhere, someone has said it'll be bigger than Adelaide eventually..... has anyone actually seen a hard copy of this?....anyway.....) so naturally, it wants to serve every major Australian city with an AFL club. It wants AFL nationally covered. They've said this on many occasions. Yet, they pry away from Tasmania, in any sort of capacity. And Hawthorn, they just do what the Dogs do in Darwin, but on a larger scale, its hardly a Tasmanian team... (and this is not a queue for a north-south Tasmania civil war debate again.

The Chad
1st November 2007, 10:47
miron's a champ, shame that queensland were a cursed franchise and he got the ass.

i think the afl vs a-league "race" for the gold coast is trumped up. like i said earlier in this thread, galaxy has the structure and backing to be an a-league standard success. whether or not it's a success head-to-head vs the afl is somewhat irrelevant if its already meeting its own targets.

Red_and_white
1st November 2007, 21:27
Totally agree with other sentiments in this thread. The cost of running on AFL club mean that only GC, Western Sydney and a possible 3rd Perth are the only options for AFL expansion IMO based on current trends.

With all this teams moving to the GC in such a short time some are bound to die. The RU team will probably be the first to go.

Mickdog
1st November 2007, 21:55
17th license required for Gold Coast, 18th for Tasmania , 19th for West Sydney and then 20th for Territory. AFL DONE. :D

Would be the best way to go.

As for the A-League expansion i'm sure the AFL wants a peive of the pie and thats why they are going to the Gold Coast. The NRL got in there because the AFL were thinking of moving there. Everyone is fighting for a p;iece of the market. Its that simple.

The AFL want a team on the Gold Coast because the area is growing and allows to games in QLD promoting rivalry = ratings = money

Valleys FC 4Ever
1st November 2007, 22:03
The NRL got in there because the AFL were thinking of moving there.
Honestly, some the things you say...

Mickdog
1st November 2007, 22:04
Honestly, some the things you say...

It is true. They wanted to secure the area. Otherwise a smarter move would have been Wellington or even the Central Coast. The Gold Coast bid was actually the worst of the 3. But the NRL chose them, why? You seem to know :rolleyes:

Valleys FC 4Ever
1st November 2007, 22:16
It is true. They wanted to secure the area. Otherwise a smarter move would have been Wellington or even the Central Coast. The Gold Coast bid was actually the worst of the 3. But the NRL chose them, why? You seem to know :rolleyes:I've been here for barely a couple of days and already I know you're the forum laughingstock. Maybe you should ask yourself why that is.

Brilliant
1st November 2007, 22:44

A-League is played in a different season to AFL. So supporting an A-League does'nt effect the AFL.
Technically North bring the AFL down as it is, so in fact you are actively supporting it's downfall already.

Exactly.
Imagine supporting a feeder league. You get to see 2nd class duds that are'nt up to international standard. Must be awesome

The AFL has nowhere to grow. The other football codes and other sports will ensure that. Plus any changes to the league will lead to complaining (by those like Eddie McGuire), by any clubs involved and by other clubs who have an interest, by governments etc. The AFL has peaked as far as going as far national as it can go. Personally, I doubt there will be any more expansion for the AFL and they will haave to hope that the TV rights money continues to flood in or some teams will be relocating to the VFL.

These are possible locations for the A-League to expand.
http://www.news.com.au/dailytelegraph/file/spread_jpg.pdf/spread_jpg.pdf

Even if the NRL or A-League had 30 teams it still would'nt top AFL attendances.

As for nowhere to go, what crap.
Australia is expanding and like any population is always growing.
Why do people judge the future on today's standards?

Valleys FC 4Ever
1st November 2007, 23:05
Exactly.
Imagine supporting a feeder league. You get to see 2nd class duds that are'nt up to international standard. Must be awesome
You're igoring the positives.

For instance the FFA just announced that they'll be bringing back the big overseas teams to play in the "gay-league's" pre-season and mid-season. Basically we'll have some of the biggest names in world sport, full stop, coming to our shores regularly and playing games against our clubs teams. It kind of evens out the fact it's a 2nd/3rd tier league doesn't it.

Why do people judge the future on today's standards?Well where can you see the AFL expanding to? We've got Brisbane and Sydney up and running but they still cannot stand on their own two feet and they're 2 of the 3 biggest cities in the nation. Knowing that how can we expand to places like the Gold Coast, Canberra, West Sydney, Sunshine Coast, Newcastle, Wollongong, etc... I can see a 3rd WA team and maybe a Tassie team but neither of those will bring in new fans to the game. That's what Sir_Adrian84 was talking about.

Brilliant
1st November 2007, 23:19
You're igoring the positives.

For instance the FFA just announced that they'll be bringing back the big overseas teams to play in the "gay-league's" pre-season and mid-season. Basically we'll have some of the biggest names in world sport, full stop, coming to our shores regularly and playing games against our clubs teams. It kind of evens out the fact it's a 2nd/3rd tier league doesn't it.

Well where can you see the AFL expanding to? We've got Brisbane and Sydney up and running but they still cannot stand on their own two feet and they're 2 of the 3 biggest cities in the nation. Knowing that how can we expand to places like the Gold Coast, Canberra, West Sydney, Sunshine Coast, Newcastle, Wollongong, etc... I can see a 3rd WA team and maybe a Tassie team but neither of those will bring in new fans to the game. That's what Sir_Adrian84 was talking about.

Give Sydney and Brissy another 10 years. Rugby is dying in the arse slowly, but surely. Like the A-league it is becoming a feeder league to.

If you had a team in all of those place you mentioned a good proportion of the entire country would at least watch it on TV. The TV rights would be huge. I dare say huge enough to support the entire league. Bums on seats would be a bonus, as the TV rights divided up evenly would support everyone.

blues4flag
1st November 2007, 23:22

What? All eight of you? :confused: :D

Valleys FC 4Ever
1st November 2007, 23:55
Give Sydney and Brissy another 10 years. Why do you think another decade will make things any different? Serious question. They've been about as successful as it is possible to be, both on-field and off-field.

Rugby is dying in the arse slowly, but surely. Like the A-league it is becoming a feeder league to.Rugby has always seemed like it was going to die off but it never has due to its high end of town element and the international competition.

The NRL and HAL are still growing rapidly. The HAL could have added 4 teams (not probably but possible) by 2010. Not to mention the NRL has similar options with plenty of teams wanting to join. So even if rugby did leave our shores we'd still have 2 other strong football codes to deal with.

If you had a team in all of those place you mentioned a good proportion of the entire country would at least watch it on TV. The TV rights would be huge. I dare say huge enough to support the entire league. Bums on seats would be a bonus, as the TV rights divided up evenly would support everyone.The TV rights would be huge sure, but non of those places are even anywhere near likely to host an AFL team within the next few decades. That's what I don't think you understand.

AFL teams have operating costs twice that of NRL and HAL teams, we can't expand into area's they can. Look at the Mariners or Cowboys, we cannot put teams there to compete with them and that's 400,000 and 800,000 people respectively that we miss out on.

Sir_Adrian84
2nd November 2007, 17:42
A-League is played in a different season to AFL. So supporting an A-League does'nt effect the AFL.
Technically North bring the AFL down as it is, so in fact you are actively supporting it's downfall already.

Exactly.

Even if the NRL or A-League had 30 teams it still would'nt top AFL attendances.

Why do people judge the future on today's standards?

personally I don't think the AFL will expand anywhere anytime soon.

Looking at North at the moment, no team will move out of Melbourne. Plus any additional teams would be vetoed by a group headed by Eddie McGuire. In 20 years time, the GC would be solidly rugby/soccer, Western Sydney even more so rugby/soccer and eventually it will effect TV rights and as a result mean that teams will go out of business and the entire AFL will be stuffed.

A-League's biggest effects will be felt in areas in which A-League clubs have no competition like the Central Coast. Melbourne Victory for all its greatness (by A-League standards) has less members than most AFL clubs. Now it has been around for 3 years, but still considering the AFL in total has around 300,000 Melbourne members compared to 25,000, it isn't much as they have no meaningful competition. However, an A-League team in Tasmania would turn the state solidly to soccer. Teams in Canberra, Townsville, Darwin would see these areas become more soccer-oriented.

Other sports can move into smaller regions, that is where they can expand. They will put teams there now and let them grow over time. The A-League and the NRL may be duds, but if it is the only thing you can watch, then people will watch it and follow it. The AFL should have moved SOuth Melbourne to Canberra and brought in Tasmania in the 80s. These days both teams would be big enough to survive. Sydney and Brisbane would always get a team, so go for the smaller places. Darwin would be a good plaace for an AFL team but it is too small.

Sir_Adrian84
2nd November 2007, 17:42
Why do you think another decade will make things any different? Serious question. They've been about as successful as it is possible to be, both on-field and off-field.

Rugby has always seemed like it was going to die off but it never has due to its high end of town element and the international competition.

The NRL and HAL are still growing rapidly. The HAL could have added 4 teams (not probably but possible) by 2010. Not to mention the NRL has similar options with plenty of teams wanting to join. So even if rugby did leave our shores we'd still have 2 other strong football codes to deal with.

The TV rights would be huge sure, but non of those places are even anywhere near likely to host an AFL team within the next few decades. That's what I don't think you understand.

AFL teams have operating costs twice that of NRL and HAL teams, we can't expand into area's they can. Look at the Mariners or Cowboys, we cannot put teams there to compete with them and that's 400,000 and 800,000 people respectively that we miss out on.

I don't think the TV rights will stay high for long.

Valleys FC 4Ever
2nd November 2007, 18:56
I don't think the TV rights will stay high for long.I read that Kerry Packer artificially inflated the price because he forced 7 into a bidding war that they couldn't afford to lose. It'll be interesting to see what happens if we don't improve our tv ratings before the next one.

Red_and_white
2nd November 2007, 19:09
Rugby has always seemed like it was going to die off but it never has due to its high end of town element and the international competition.

Valleys FC 4Ever, I agree with you point completely but what you have to realise is that as an AFL forum this place is full of southerners who refer to "rugby" as a collective term for both codes of rugby football.

Brilliant, while rugby union is currently going through a bad period, the NRL (rugby league) is still healthy and growing.

Red_and_white
2nd November 2007, 19:12
Would be the best way to go.

As for the A-League expansion i'm sure the AFL wants a peive of the pie and thats why they are going to the Gold Coast. The NRL got in there because the AFL were thinking of moving there. Everyone is fighting for a p;iece of the market. Its that simple.

The AFL want a team on the Gold Coast because the area is growing and allows to games in QLD promoting rivalry = ratings = money
Id say the AFLs decision to go to the Gold Coast was more influenced by the NRL expanding there again than the reverse. The Gold Coast was far and away the best bid submitted and the best choice the NRL could have made.

A Living God
2nd November 2007, 20:40
Why do you think another decade will make things any different? Serious question. They've been about as successful as it is possible to be, both on-field and off-field.

Brisbane peak of 33,000 in 2003/2004 represtents 320% growth since 1995's average of just over 10000
If Brisbane attendence can remain stable at 28,000, where it has been at for the last two years it would represent a 64% increase since 1998.
1998 was a bad year for the Lions using the average from 1997-1999 give a 44% growth over 10 years.

Sydney is a more complex
Their average home Crowd in 1994 was stable at just 10,000 when they had finish 15th (out of 15) 3 years running. In 1995 it increased 60% to 15,000 where Swans finished 12th. 1996 saw an 70% increase in crowd in the year the swan lost the grand Final.

Crowds then peaked at an average of 36,600 in 1997, 360% increase in just 3 years but only 44% higher then their previous peak in 1986 when the Swans played finals for the first. Which is strangley exactly the same amount growth over the same amount of time as brisbane

After 1997 Swans performance went down so did the crowds it bottomed
out at 25,000 in 2000. 30% below the peak 97 but 250% higher than previous low of 92-94 and equal to the peak of 86.

The Crowds have grown even year since and the Swans achieved a new high in 36,900. 48% growth since 2000. This is even more remarkable when you consider the limited capacity of the SCG this year where the average crowd was below 25,200 the lowest, with the exception of 2000, since 1995

In Conclusion the growth in Brisbane and Sydney of the AFL and has been subistanial and sustained. As far as i can tell using all evidence i have avaible the is no reason why these trends will not contiue. In 10 years time I predict the Brisbane will be selling out the gabba every week and Sydney will play most if not all games at Telstra Stadium.

Valleys FC 4Ever
3rd November 2007, 01:43
wrong

gold coast and second melbourne team will be the next 2 in the league.Contracts mean that will will only be one team in Melbourne for the first five years of the A-League. ATM signs seem to be pointing towards a north QLD team (apparently it's the most advanced bid) and a GC team.

DarwinRoo
3rd November 2007, 03:30
Id say the AFLs decision to go to the Gold Coast was more influenced by the NRL expanding there again than the reverse. The Gold Coast was far and away the best bid submitted and the best choice the NRL could have made.

Exactly. To think the NRL put a team on the Gold Coast because the AFL were thinking about it is ludicrous. The AFL has knocked back Southport for years so obviously the AFL werent even contemplating a Gold Coast team.

The NRL took the initiative and included another team in a region that is obviously rugby mad.

Sir_Adrian84
3rd November 2007, 08:37
you could also go the other way and say that Melbourne Victory may become so big that they kill a few of the poorer AFL clubs off.

Hicham
3rd November 2007, 09:19
Why do the paraniod amongst us continue to see the A-League as an issue?

It's played in summer for God's sake.

Many of the people following the A-League through the warmer months are more than likely the same people you'll find at AFL or NRL games during winter.

Vlads need for the Gold Coast has nothing to do with Soccer. It's a mixture of seeing a recently bare market being rapidly soaked up by the Titans and his desire to rationalise the Melbourne market.

One thing that is true in the thread title though is the knee-jerk reaction. The Titans were set up through years and years of ground work and heavy community consultation. That's why they are a raving success. If Vlad had any brains he'd be patient and follow a similar process. With Vlad steering the ship, any venture to the Coast is destined to fail miserably.

Sir_Adrian84
3rd November 2007, 10:55
Why do the paraniod amongst us continue to see the A-League as an issue?

It's played in summer for God's sake.

Many of the people following the A-League through the warmer months are more than likely the same people you'll find at AFL or NRL games during winter.

Vlads need for the Gold Coast has nothing to do with Soccer. It's a mixture of seeing a recently bare market being rapidly soaked up by the Titans and his desire to rationalise the Melbourne market.

One thing that is true in the thread title though is the knee-jerk reaction. The Titans were set up through years and years of ground work and heavy community consultation. That's why they are a raving success. If Vlad had any brains he'd be patient and follow a similar process. With Vlad steering the ship, any venture to the Coast is destined to fail miserably.

The A-League season may be extended into AFL/NRL season eventually. Plus having a pre-season with matches against big clubs may lead to loyalties being conflicted between the AFL/NRL and soccer. MV are playing Asian Champions League matches next March, April and May. This could have an effect on the AFL.

Rookie
3rd November 2007, 23:31
Has anyone actually gone to a Roar game?

I've got a mate that plays for them and another in the squad, I swear I get more recognition out and round town then them :)

I shudder to think if the A-League split that market in 2...

A-League seems to generate more hype in-season than the Brisbane Lions do?

However, an A-League team in Tasmania would turn the state solidly to soccer.

Agree with this. Without seeing any junior figures and just going by my own observations, this is happening in Tasmanian schools everywhere.

wikipediaAFLproject
4th November 2007, 13:05
Im going to have to totally disagree with the idea that Tasmania is turning into a soccer state.
Percentage wise it is the strongest football state in Australia. Which means it would be quite easy for other codes to gain a small amount of people.
All the kids follow AFL there, of course they would have followed the soccer world cup, just like i did when i went to school there. Of course they would idolise the socceroos, but the vast majority would rather their team win the premiership then watch the socceroos.
Tasmania has been rejected as a place for an AFL team for ages, becuase it doesnt yet have a strong enough population. If AFL is only just looking at the area, then for the a-league to be looking at getting a team their before the AFL is honestly laughable.
Oh and in Tasmania, pretty much all young kids play soccer when they are young (this has been case for ages), but as they get older they switch to football, and other sports.

In all honesty i reckon the a-league will get to the goldcoast first, but if the AFL puts a team their as well, and as you have all been saying, that there would be about 5 different sports competing. This will dilute the dollar alot meaning that the soccer team would really struggle to survive as they have nowhere near as much money as the AFL, and not as much as nrl.
As for western sydney, i dont really know much about that, but i doubt the AFL will look at that for at least 5 more years.

If the AFL plays its cards right it will pretty much annilhate soccer and NRL.
If the a-league plays its cards right it will become a force in Australian sport.
If the NRL plays its cards right, it become a force in Australian sport, and annhilate the lions

ArachniX
5th November 2007, 12:41
If the a-league plays its cards right it will become a force in Australian sport.
If the NRL plays its cards right, it become a force in Australian sport, and annhilate the lions

I think that is way too simple a view to take. Unfortunately it will not be down the simply the AFL. It will be down to money and whether the game is profitable. With 4 codes all competing for the one market, the most profitable ones will survive. And the AFL is the most financially draining. Greater salary cap, more players per side, more umpires per game, much larger venues that will have to be shared etc. In Melbourne it is profitable because they can get 80k+ to games twice a weekend if they want and at least 35k for every other game. That is not going to happen up there. If the weak Victorian clubs fold or move they make it so much harder for non AFL markets to raise the money and compete against the other states, specially when the new stronger Victorian sides want to raise or remove the salary cap. The A-League can get its support from other areas including the international matches. It has much smaller needs per side so can compete in just about any market.
As for AFL growth, it is also pretty much finished. There are no more modern venues to play at. Name any other modern venue that is big enough to hold AFL games, that is seated, has lights etc. They will be all cricket fields. This will prevent expansion.

Doctor Jolly
5th November 2007, 15:13
wrong

gold coast and second melbourne team will be the next 2 in the league.

wanna bet ?

Brilliant
6th November 2007, 00:34
There are no more modern venues to play at. Name any other modern venue that is big enough to hold AFL games, that is seated, has lights etc. They will be all cricket fields. This will prevent expansion.

Cricket grounds and Footy grounds are the same thing.
I fail to see how that could halt expansion.

ArachniX
6th November 2007, 08:31
Cricket grounds and Footy grounds are the same thing.
I fail to see how that could halt expansion.
They are the same thing and as I said, tell me where there is a decent modern cricket ground with lights and seating and facilities to support a crowd of more than 20k? There are venues to play, sure. But an AFL side needs quite a few million dollars, to put a side on the field. To get that money back they need decent venues to play, corporate areas and the like. To spread anywhere the AFL will have to develop a new stadium for any new team. The Gold Coast is the same, they have to develop Carrara to bring it up to scratch. Manuka in Canberra is a less than 20k stadium. If they want to put a team there they'd have to fork out money on the venue. Compare Manuka to Bruce Stadium in Canberra and Manuka is like going to watch decent country football.
Imagine this also. A cricket world cup, or 20/20 world cup in Australia that crossed over the AFL season. With the game of cricket growing also having a 20/20 league playing longer seasons is a serious possibility. Where would the Lions play? There is no back up venue in QLD, except Carrara for the Lions to play. Even in Melbourne, Carltons Princes Park is the only other venue for AFL to play other than the G and the dome.
Why do you think the pre-season games get shipped of to the country? because the AFL want to develop the games there? Sure they do, but its also because of the lack of venues in Melbourne, Sydney and Brisbane during cricket season.

Red_and_white
7th November 2007, 15:17

and rugby union will die regardless :rolleyes:

yioughtta
7th November 2007, 15:50
They are the same thing and as I said, tell me where there is a decent modern cricket ground with lights and seating and facilities to support a crowd of more than 20k? There are venues to play, sure. But an AFL side needs quite a few million dollars, to put a side on the field. To get that money back they need decent venues to play, corporate areas and the like. To spread anywhere the AFL will have to develop a new stadium for any new team. The Gold Coast is the same, they have to develop Carrara to bring it up to scratch. Manuka in Canberra is a less than 20k stadium. If they want to put a team there they'd have to fork out money on the venue. Compare Manuka to Bruce Stadium in Canberra and Manuka is like going to watch decent country football.
Imagine this also. A cricket world cup, or 20/20 world cup in Australia that crossed over the AFL season. With the game of cricket growing also having a 20/20 league playing longer seasons is a serious possibility. Where would the Lions play? There is no back up venue in QLD, except Carrara for the Lions to play. Even in Melbourne, Carltons Princes Park is the only other venue for AFL to play other than the G and the dome.
Why do you think the pre-season games get shipped of to the country? because the AFL want to develop the games there? Sure they do, but its also because of the lack of venues in Melbourne, Sydney and Brisbane during cricket season.

Arachnix, you are proving to be a true thinker with a common-sensical brain. I admire your work.

The truth is that the more you look into it, the more you realise that the AFL has outgrown the vessels that support it. It will get harder and harder to introduce new teams over the years as club operating costs continue to climb. I'm not saying teams won't be introduced/relocated, because the AFL at the moment has a 'kill-or-be-killed' attitude and would loathe to give up prime real estate to any other code. But as it stands, the AFL will have to really commit to any relocation/introduction if the new club is to have any chance of survival, so long as the AFL continues with this policy of 'expand into new territories'. It is just too hard now.

Billo
8th November 2007, 01:45
Unfortunately the code with real growth potential is the NRL.

Its Grand Final TV ratings beat the AFL this year just in Australia, without taking into account its audience in New Zealand or in other countries such as the UK, so its TV income should at least equal that of the AFL by the time of the next TV negotiations.

It did that without having teams in Adelaide and Perth, while it also, if it played its cards right, would be able to expand into the major cities of New Zealand, apart from Auckland, where it already has a team.

And its cost base is much lower than the AFL.

Fortunately the people who run Rugby League are complete boofheads who have shown themselves to be consistently unable to take advantage of the opportunities that are presented to them.

If they ever get their act together, which may include one or two rule changes to make the game more watchable, they could become a very big sport.

As for soccer, it's so bloody un-Australian!

fishmonger
8th November 2007, 06:11
Unfortunately the code with real growth potential is the NRL.

Its Grand Final TV ratings beat the AFL this year just in Australia, without taking into account its audience in New Zealand or in other countries such as the UK, so its TV income should at least equal that of the AFL by the time of the next TV negotiations.

It did that without having teams in Adelaide and Perth, while it also, if it played its cards right, would be able to expand into the major cities of New Zealand, apart from Auckland, where it already has a team.

And its cost base is much lower than the AFL.

Fortunately the people who run Rugby League are complete boofheads who have shown themselves to be consistently unable to take advantage of the opportunities that are presented to them.

If they ever get their act together, which may include one or two rule changes to make the game more watchable, they could become a very big sport.

You are seriously deluded if you think that the NRL can expand much further in NZ. The NRL would have just as much trouble expanding in New Zealand as the AFL would expanding in the Gold Coast. There just isn't the support there and there are very few players compared to union. You just have to look at the recent 58-0 drubbing in front of just 16,681 fans in Wellington. If it can't even draw a decent crowd for an international outside of Auckland, what chance does a club have in a 25 round home and away competition.

With many NRL clubs also in trouble, I doubt it can expand without bleeding in the near future. Their best best is to consolidate their followings in Melbourne and Queensland.

Porthos
8th November 2007, 15:16
Its a knee jerk reaction to disappearing Brisbane Lions membership.

Billo
8th November 2007, 20:29
You are seriously deluded if you think that the NRL can expand much further in NZ. The NRL would have just as much trouble expanding in New Zealand as the AFL would expanding in the Gold Coast. There just isn't the support there and there are very few players compared to union. You just have to look at the recent 58-0 drubbing in front of just 16,681 fans in Wellington. If it can't even draw a decent crowd for an international outside of Auckland, what chance does a club have in a 25 round home and away competition.

With many NRL clubs also in trouble, I doubt it can expand without bleeding in the near future. Their best best is to consolidate their followings in Melbourne and Queensland.

The way things stand at the moment, the AFL has far more chance of expanding into the Gold Coast, and will expand there, than the NRL has of expanding in New Zealand. That is undoubted.

What will drive expansion, in the long term however, is TV audiences and TV contracts.

Rugby union's Super 14 faces trouble because its audiences have been disappointing, and New Zealand rugby union is likely to lose many of its best players to England and France, which doesn't bode well for that code, and for its next TV contract, which I think runs from 2010..

In the circumstances that could create opportunities for the NRL in New Zealand, but I agree that the NRL probably isn't sharp enough to take them.

The point I was making was that more expansion is more difficult for the AFL than, in theory, it is for the NRL, but rugby league has traditionally been much more badly run than the AFL.

Mickdog
8th November 2007, 20:38
The way things stand at the moment, the AFL has far more chance of expanding into the Gold Coast, and will expand there, than the NRL has of expanding in New Zealand. That is undoubted.

What will drive expansion, in the long term however, is TV audiences and TV contracts.

Rugby union's Super 14 faces trouble because its audiences have been disappointing, and New Zealand rugby union is likely to lose many of its best players to England and France, which doesn't bode well for that code, and for its next TV contract, which I think runs from 2010..

In the circumstances that could create opportunities for the NRL in New Zealand, but I agree that the NRL probably isn't sharp enough to take them.

The point I was making was that more expansion is more difficult for the AFL than, in theory, it is for the NRL, but rugby league has traditionally been much more badly run than the AFL.

The NRL could easily base a team in Wellington NZ but it would cost them a fair bit of money.

fishmonger
9th November 2007, 07:13

So what is your point ?

Football Park in Adelaide was built as a dedicated footy stadium, as was Kardinia Park in Geelong, Marrara Oval in Darwin, Traeger Park in Alice Springs and Aurora Stadium in Launceston. Where there is a will, there is a way.

They are even building a cricket/footy oval in Florida in the USA FFS. Nothing is impossible.

And has this stopped the NRL from expanding - No.
They put teams in Perth, Adelaide and Melbourne.
Do rectangular stadiums cost less to build ? Probably fractionally, but you'll find that governments will pump the dollars in if a team is successful. Do you know what the Gabba looked like 20 years ago. I do.

The AFL has a huge number of cricket fields which it could invest in to get some great stadiums.

fishmonger
9th November 2007, 07:15
The NRL could easily base a team in Wellington NZ but it would cost them a fair bit of money.

do I see a contradiction here ? :p

easy but hard

Le KooK
9th November 2007, 18:29
You are seriously deluded if you think that the NRL can expand much further in NZ. The NRL would have just as much trouble expanding in New Zealand as the AFL would expanding in the Gold Coast. There just isn't the support there and there are very few players compared to union. You just have to look at the recent 58-0 drubbing in front of just 16,681 fans in Wellington. If it can't even draw a decent crowd for an international outside of Auckland, what chance does a club have in a 25 round home and away competition. Absolute dribble. Imbecilic is not a strong enough descriptive for this rubbish.

ArachniX
9th November 2007, 19:18
So what is your point ?

Football Park in Adelaide was built as a dedicated footy stadium, as was Kardinia Park in Geelong, Marrara Oval in Darwin, Traeger Park in Alice Springs and Aurora Stadium in Launceston. Where there is a will, there is a way.

They are even building a cricket/footy oval in Florida in the USA FFS. Nothing is impossible.

And has this stopped the NRL from expanding - No.
They put teams in Perth, Adelaide and Melbourne.
Do rectangular stadiums cost less to build ? Probably fractionally, but you'll find that governments will pump the dollars in if a team is successful. Do you know what the Gabba looked like 20 years ago. I do.

The AFL has a huge number of cricket fields which it could invest in to get some great stadiums.
If you have to ask what my point is, you obviously didn't bloody read my post. Even though your last statement is exactly what I said. Yes there are a large number of cricket grounds, but as you said, the AFL has to invest. Or the government has to invest. That is a lot of money for a lot of grounds. The AFL even had to invest in Homebush stadium so it could support AFL. The NRL doesn't have this trouble - No. There are already stadiums to play in. They don't need to invest. Perth - Members Equity stadium, Adelaide - Hindmarsh, Melbourne - Olympic Park or could have played Bob Jane Stadium. These "stadiums" are a far sight better than a grand stand around a cricket field. Thats my point mate, even though you made it as well. And sure a cricket field in Florida. The fact they have to make one in the USA and there is a lack of existing fields is also my point. It's not that they can't, it's that they aren't exactly ready made. It costs a hell of a lot of money to invest in facilities.

fishmonger
13th December 2007, 07:26
Looks like I wasn't just barking up the wrong tree afterall ...

this is the end my friend.
the AFL should do to the Gold Coast what they did with Canberra and West Sydney - hop away with its tail between its legs. :rolleyes:

They had a perfect opportunity in 2004, but they blew it because of their Melbourne-centric socialistic tendencies.

For those who don't get it, forget about money, TV or attendances, the A-League is a direct threat to the AFL's approach of growing the sport through the grassroots - the exact strategy that they are spending multi-millions on in both the Gold Coast and Western Sydney and which has been moderately successful.

With pathways to professional soccer careers in Australia and overseas, Gold Coast mums and kids will prefer to send their kids to play soccer than our rough and tumble game. Pure and simple. The AFL will have to spend millions more to get the kids play it in the hope that they will someday want to watch it. These kids will be playing and watching the soccer instead.

This not only threatens the AFL in the Gold Coast but also Townsville, a fast growing city where Aussie Rules has been growing strongly at the grassroots in recent years and has recently seen a small stadium built.

See if the AFL responds to this one with fast-tracking the Gold Coast Sharks licence.

And mark my words - there will be an increase in pre-season AFL games and community camps played in Townsville as early as next year.

Two Queensland teams set to score spots in expanded A-League
Michael Cockerill
December 13, 2007

THE path has been cleared for two new Queensland teams to enter the A-League, possibly as early as next season.

Backers of the cashed-up Gold Coast Galaxy met Football Federation Australia chief executive Ben Buckley in Sydney yesterday, and it is understood that it is no longer a matter of if it will join the league, but when. Another consortium based in Townsville, tentatively called Northern Thunder FC, is due to meet Buckley next week. Both groups would prefer to join the league in 2009, but say they can step into the breach next season if required.

While FFA's A-League review is not due to be completed until April, it is understood FFA is keen to fast-track expansion to take advantage of the AFL's delay in finalising its new team on the Gold Coast but it does not want a nine-team competition, so North Queensland may also be pressed to bring forward its submission. An FFA delegation is expected to travel to both Gold Coast and Townsville next month to run a final rule over both bids.

Other bidders interested in joining the league - notably Wollongong, Geelong, western Sydney and a second Melbourne franchise - may now have to take a back seat while FFA beds down its new-look 10-team competition.

Gold Coast Galaxy is believed to have impressed FFA with a financial model that will use profits from a property development company to fund the club. It is close to finalising colours and has all but secured the soon-to-be completed 25,000-seat stadium at Robina as its home ground.

The Galaxy is also close to completing a sister club deal with Los Angeles Galaxy.

A buoyant Galaxy executive chairman Fred Taplin said last night he had "no doubt" the Gold Coast would be in the A-League before it was in the AFL, but he wasn't sure of the exact timing.

It is understood if FFA had given the green light before last month's transfer window, the club would have been a lot more confident about assembling a competitive squad next season. "If we're asked to come in next season, we will, although it would be a challenge," he said.

McCrann
13th December 2007, 08:07
Can someone who is against the AFL expanding into a new area like the Gold Coast tell me whether it is alright for the A-League to expand into a new area, such as the Gold Coast?

Should the AFL do nothing about it or attempt expansion as well - or is expansion still a dirty word for the AFL (being something the AFL hasn't done in over a decade?)

Tigerdrive
13th December 2007, 10:56
Gold Coast Galaxy... that is a god awful name but then again Victory isn't too flash and we got used to it.

harmesy 37
13th December 2007, 16:47

Agree with this point, but I also believe that Rugby is un-Australian.

Rugby and soccer are imperialistic implants from overseas. If the Australian game was shite I would say go and support diveball or thugby, but the fact is the Australian game is far superior to both of the pommy games, so I will continue supporting the Australian code no matter what.

Grunty
13th December 2007, 17:19
Looks like I wasn't just barking up the wrong tree afterall ...

this is the end my friend.
the AFL should do to the Gold Coast what they did with Canberra and West Sydney - hop away with its tail between its legs. :rolleyes:

They had a perfect opportunity in 2004, but they blew it because of their Melbourne-centric socialistic tendencies.

For those who don't get it, forget about money, TV or attendances, the A-League is a direct threat to the AFL's approach of growing the sport through the grassroots - the exact strategy that they are spending multi-millions on in both the Gold Coast and Western Sydney and which has been moderately successful.

With pathways to professional soccer careers in Australia and overseas, Gold Coast mums and kids will prefer to send their kids to play soccer than our rough and tumble game. Pure and simple. The AFL will have to spend millions more to get the kids play it in the hope that they will someday want to watch it. These kids will be playing and watching the soccer instead.

This not only threatens the AFL in the Gold Coast but also Townsville, a fast growing city where Aussie Rules has been growing strongly at the grassroots in recent years and has recently seen a small stadium built.

See if the AFL responds to this one with fast-tracking the Gold Coast Sharks licence.

And mark my words - there will be an increase in pre-season AFL games and community camps played in Townsville as early as next year.

I think the main difference between AFL expansion and soccer expansion, is that the AFL are willing to throw millions at a town or region to entice them to convert to Aussie Rules, whereas there is a whole list of towns lining up clamouring to get into the A-League, and they are willing to put their OWN money into it.(Wollongong, Geelong, West Sydney, Melbourne etc.)

The same approach goes for junior footy, Auskick kids are loaded down with freebies just or turning up, and becoming a statistic for the AFL to use, whereas soccer juniors are slugged with an annual fee for the privilege of playing soccer.

realfootball
14th December 2007, 08:05

No it's not.

Rob
14th December 2007, 08:13
I think the main difference between AFL expansion and soccer expansion, is that the AFL are willing to throw millions at a town or region to entice them to convert to Aussie Rules, whereas there is a whole list of towns lining up clamouring to get into the A-League, and they are willing to put their OWN money into it.(Wollongong, Geelong, West Sydney, Melbourne etc.)

That's because the A-League allows (in fact demands) private ownership and the AFL doesn't.
Why would Pratt put $100 million into Carlton when he doesn't get anything out of it? Let him buy the club and he probably would.

Not that i'm in favour of private ownership, once you get down that road you may as well be supporting Coke or McDonalds.