View Full Version : Expansion The benefits of moving to the GC
Doctor Jolly
30 Oct 2007, 14:13
This board seems to be hijacked by stay-in-melbourne-and-die types, lets look at the benefits of North moving to GC.
1. Increased TV exposure. Like all non-vic teams, almost all games will be televised live or semi-live on FTA in your local market. This is a massive publicity boost and negates any injustices that happen in Melbourne.
2. Increased TV means increased sponsors. Mazda would love 22 games televised on FTA.
3. No competition for fans from GC. You dont have to worry about what Collingwood or Eddie are doing. You are in total control of your destiny.
4. Guaranteed financial backing. The AFL has NEVER let a club die, especially in a strategic location, and there have been some real basketcases.
5. The players and coach are demanding decent facilities...which the GC deal included better facilities than you currently have.
6. Able to keep the white and blue kangaroos and all their tradition in the AFL intact. No compromises of shared identity as in a merger scenario.
7. Melbourne roo supporters still get to see the roos. Melbourne based swan and lion fans still form a significant attachment to the club. Its not gone forever.
This board seems to be hijacked by stay-in-melbourne-and-die types, lets look at the benefits of North moving to GC.
1. Increased TV exposure. Like all non-vic teams, almost all games will be televised live or semi-live on FTA in your local market. This is a massive publicity boost and negates any injustices that happen in Melbourne.
2. Increased TV means increased sponsors. Mazda would love 22 games televised on FTA.
3. No competition for fans from GC. You dont have to worry about what Collingwood or Eddie are doing. You are in total control of your destiny.
4. Guaranteed financial backing. The AFL has NEVER let a club die, especially in a strategic location, and there have been some real basketcases.
5. The players and coach are demanding decent facilities...which the GC deal included better facilities than you currently have.
6. Able to keep the white and blue kangaroos and all their tradition in the AFL intact. No compromises of shared identity as in a merger scenario.
7. Melbourne roo supporters still get to see the roos. Melbourne based swan and lion fans still form a significant attachment to the club. Its not gone forever.
What is your obsession with our club. Go get a hobby or something. North supporters dont care what you think your opinion is irrelevant. Go away.
A Living God
30 Oct 2007, 14:34
What is your obsession with our club. Go get a hobby or something. North supporters dont care what you think your opinion is irrelevant. Go away.
Or you could completely ignore his arguements without trying to rebutt them and instead try and insult him by saying he has an obession.
We don`t care about his arguements. Why would I waste time discussing this with a guy called Doctor Jolly. In the end of the day what would that achieve. He is not a North person what he thinks is irrelevant.
Why would someone care so much about another club moving away from their supporters. People like you are like vultures.
Doctor Jolly
30 Oct 2007, 14:43
There are plenty of other thread where you can carry on your bitter delusions.
The expansion and prosperity of the code effects every supporter. I dont care who goes there, so dont take it so personally. North are currently overwelming favourite, so its fair to debate them.
KingyOrTheKing
30 Oct 2007, 14:47
8. The death of the North Melbourne Kangaroos.
Although only Hawthorn supporters would ever see this as a benefit.
NorthBhoy
30 Oct 2007, 14:50
Gee, you've started well.
Absolute bollocks. Every word.
See above.
11,000 people attending our games from this 'footy starved' bulging metropolis in 2007. Hooray.
Fantastic. The AFL-Gold Coast Sharkeroos. I have goosebumps.
But not better than the ones being built at Arden St shorlty.
We can do that here.
7. Melbourne roo supporters still get to see the roos. Melbourne based swan and lion fans still form a significant attachment to the club. Its not gone forever
Good for them. Seriously, I'm glad they have an attachment. But I won't. Which leads me to a possible negative:
Not my footy club. Couldn't give a stuff what they throw at it. You may aswell give Port or Freo the $200 million.
There are plenty of other thread where you can carry on your bitter delusions.
The expansion and prosperity of the code effects every supporter. I dont care who goes there, so dont take it so personally. North are currently overwelming favourite, so its fair to debate them.
You have only been following football for 2 years or something you are only irritating North supporters by continuing to write this rubbish. You clearly do not understand what this club means to people.
Leave North supporters in peace.
I will make it simple you will never convince North supporters the merits of moving because
1.You fail to understand the culture of a Melbourne club.
2. If North move it doesnt matter what happens, how successful we are, all the shit you keep typing. The club is gone simple
So please refrain from being naive and saying I am only discussing the merits of broadining the National game. It is a difficult time for North supporters and all your shit does is make things worse.
Doctor Jolly
30 Oct 2007, 14:53
Gee, you've started well.
Absolute bollocks. Every word.
Every Swans game is shown live (or within an hour) on FTA TV in Sydney.
Ditto Brisbane in brisbane.
Whats bollocks about that ?
stmookeyj
30 Oct 2007, 14:56
Not necessarilly. If they have a timeslot clash with the Lions then what happens? And will it rate???
Ridiculous to suggest to the thousands of Magpie/Blue/Bomber/Lion fans and the many others for the rest of the comp would necessarilly automatically support this club.
It's dropping by the year though given that both are playing less and less in Melbourne
Doctor Jolly
30 Oct 2007, 14:57
You have only been following football for 2 years or something you are only irritating North supporters by continuing to write this rubbish. You clearly do not understand what this club means to people.
Leave North supporters in peace.
1. I'm posting on bigfooty, not some north-only board.
2. The hysterical hyperbole of some North fans needs to compenstated by rational thought.
3. The tradition of the kangaroos is being hijacked by self interested North fans who are prepared for it to be killed if they dont like its new direction.
LancePicioane
30 Oct 2007, 14:58
if you listen to the right people, apparently they will be the 1st sponsor to jump off if we move...hmm
NorthBhoy
30 Oct 2007, 15:00
Every Swans game is shown live (or within an hour) on FTA TV in Sydney.
Ditto Brisbane in brisbane.
Whats bollocks about that ?
I mis-read it. So every game that is played on the GC will be re-played, on FTA, at the GC.
Well, sign me up. That's the clincher.
Peanut.
The Teflon Dean
30 Oct 2007, 15:05
This only benefits prospective Gold Coast businessmen. What have they ever done for football that would warrant killing off a significant 140 year old cultural icon? How does this benefit North Melbourne supporters?
See above.
Garbage. The only people interested in AFL on the Gold Coast are expat Victorians, Western Australians and South Australians that already have AFL allegiances.
Personally, I trust Eddie a lot more than I trust the AFL. He is on record as supporting 10 Victorian teams.
Tell that to the Brisbane Bears.:rolleyes:
Google "Arden Street redevelopment". Next.
What makes you think that the AFL won't merge another AFL team into the floundering Gold Coast Kangaroos, just as they did with the floundewring Brisbane Bears?
It ain't "the roos" any longer. It is gone forever.:thumbsd:
Only ~ 2,000 Melbourne Lions supporters remain after winning triple premierships only 3 years ago.
Doctor Jolly
30 Oct 2007, 15:05
I mis-read it. So every game that is played on the GC will be re-played, on FTA, at the GC.
Well, sign me up. That's the clincher.
...and your Melbourne FTA coverage will be unchanged or even increase (due to no against-the-gate issues).
So prime time coverage in SEQ, same or better coverage in Melbourne.
You may also be interested to know that when citibank signed on a jumper sponsor of the swans a year or two ago it was the richest jumper in the country. Higher than the Wallabies. All backed up on TV exposure.
Yes... it is a clincher.
:D
1. I'm posting on bigfooty, not some north-only board.
2. The hysterical hyperbole of some North fans needs to compenstated by rational thought.
3. The tradition of the kangaroos is being hijacked by self interested North fans who are prepared for it to be killed if they dont like its new direction.
What on earth do you know about the tradition of the "Kangaroo". Its like hearing some Japanese dude tell an Aussie about following the Anzac tradition.
You dont know what your talking abouth. North fans are North Melbourne. You are an idiot.
Doctor Jolly
30 Oct 2007, 15:14
What on earth do you know about the tradition of the "Kangaroo". Its like hearing some Japanese dude tell an Aussie about following the Anzac tradition.
You dont know what your talking abouth. North fans are North Melbourne. You are an idiot.
Any fan who says they would rather there team die than relocate doesnt give a flying f about tradition. Its not rocket science.
To us relocation means the end simple they are the same thing.
You will never get it give up please and leave us in peace.
1jasonoz
30 Oct 2007, 15:17
You have been supporting your club for how long?
What have you done for your club that you believe puts you on some higher moral ground to lecture NMFC members about their love of the club and the tradition it contains?
The Teflon Dean
30 Oct 2007, 15:19
There is far more dignity in dying than in being whored out to Gold Coast business men.
You have no clue as to what you are talking about.:thumbsd:
Doctor Jolly
30 Oct 2007, 15:20
To us relocation means the end simple they are the same thing.
Thats a selfish line to take.
You will never get it give up please and leave us in peace.
This isnt your board to dictate who posts and doesnt post. You are in peace over at the North board, go there if you dont like these threads.
Doctor Jolly
30 Oct 2007, 15:23
There is far more dignity in dying than in being whored out to Gold Coast business men.
If the past greats of the game, The players and officials over the past 100 years, agree with you, then fair enough.
You as current day fans are only custodians of tradition, not owners.
Howard Littlejohn
30 Oct 2007, 15:33
1. In a relatively small market. A growing one, yes, but even then a small one .
2. See point one. Actual viewer numbers would be down, decreasing sponsorship values.
3. No competition, except that people that move there already have a club, are from RL backgrounds (the bulk of the growth is expected to be from Sydney, and most curren), or have no interest in any footy code. Brisbane is in the same market (SE Qld), is far bigger, and only has 16000 members. A city one-third, expect to grow to one-half, of Brisbane's size doesn't bring much to the table.
4. Never let a club die - but deliberately killed a few; South, Fitzroy, Brisbane Bears ("strategic location") and now trying to kill North. There is also speculation, though only that, that the AFL would cease funding by 2014. At that point the losses would still be multi-million dollar ones; possibly $10m+.
5. There's redevelopment going on at Ardent St.
6. What makes you think that as the GC fails financially the AFL wouldn't then try to kill Melbourne or the Bulldogs and force a GC merger? (Fitzroy-Brisbane style)
7. It would be gone forever. In essence its a new club. One that takes on the colours and steals the history for marketing purposes, but its not the North Melbourne Football Club. When was the last time anyone under 30 spoke of South Melbourne? (There was one difference, the VFL was broke at the time of the South crisis.)
Thats a selfish line to take.
This isnt your board to dictate who posts and doesnt post. You are in peace over at the North board, go there if you dont like these threads.
Why do you care anyway. Do you even know all the players names in Sydney yet.
You sound like a wanker i must say.
Father Jack
30 Oct 2007, 15:51
Why do you care anyway. Do you even know all the players names in Sydney yet.
You sound like a wanker i must say.
You have posted several times in this thread without addressing any of the points in the op. Why? It isn't a North Melbourne board, it is a board for discussing the very issue that you are getting upset about. I think if you have such a problem with it that it would be best if you kept away from it.
Nothing wrong with an opinion, especially one which is defensible as well, but that doesn't mean people can't hold a differing one.
rufus_afc
30 Oct 2007, 16:23
Some great posts raised.
It will still be the same club at least it will survive and the records mean something. All those supporters that are only interested in seeing games in Melbourne and dont care if they die (just so they remain in Melbourne) the club rightfully shouldnt bother to listen to that lot.
rufus_afc
30 Oct 2007, 16:26
go back to the North board if you cant handle counter arguments, it was a very valid post.
Not our fault that not everyone wants to sit and watch North die just so they can stay in melbourne like their supporters seem to be wanting.
rufus_afc
30 Oct 2007, 16:30
If the past greats of the game, The players and officials over the past 100 years, agree with you, then fair enough.
You as current day fans are only custodians of tradition, not owners.
Agreed
At the end of the day if your eyes the club will die, it cant survive in melbourne and if you believe that it the club moving to the Gold Coast is North dying then thats your decision, but to everyone else it will still be the club. Just the same as Sydney are South Melbourne.
The Teflon Dean
30 Oct 2007, 16:31
All those supporters that are only interested in seeing games in Melbourne and dont care if they die (just so they remain in Melbourne) the club rightfully shouldnt bother to listen to that lot.
I asure you, they will listen to us waaaaaay more than they will listen to DJ or your good self, mate.;):thumbsu:
A Living God
30 Oct 2007, 16:36
4. Never let a club die - but deliberately killed a few; South, Fitzroy, Brisbane Bears ("strategic location") and now trying to kill North. There is also speculation, though only that, that the AFL would cease funding by 2014. At that point the losses would still be multi-million dollar ones; possibly $10m+.
I would say they hardly killed the bears of with the merger the only thing that they lost was their name. The AFL's losses in supporting Sydney and Brisbane during the 80's and 90's would easily exceed $10 million.
I really doubt that the AFL would cut spending in 2014 and the AFL losses up to that point would probably closer to $30 million
The Teflon Dean
30 Oct 2007, 16:39
I really doubt that the AFL would cut spending in 2014 and the AFL losses up to that point would probably closer to $30 million
All the idiots whining about relocation instead of the one and a half mill we are currently getting annually should read this carefully.:rolleyes:
A Living God
30 Oct 2007, 16:48
All the idiots whining about relocation instead of the one and a half mill we are currently getting annually should read this carefully.:rolleyes:
That one and half mill is going into a blackhole never to be seen again. The money spent on the Gold Coast might actually serve a usefull function
The Teflon Dean
30 Oct 2007, 16:52
That one and half mill is going into a blackhole never to be seen again. The money spent on the Gold Coast might actually serve a usefull function
That "Black Hole" managed to play 3 finals matches this season.:rolleyes:
~200K supporters went along to see that "Black Hole" play finals.:rolleyes:
11,000 people attending our games from this 'footy starved' bulging metropolis in 2007. Hooray.
At a profit vs 34000 break even at the Dome
The Teflon Dean
30 Oct 2007, 16:55
At a profit vs 34000 break even at the Dome
80,000 plus for a home final at the MCG vs 18,000 max at Carrara.:rolleyes:
Do the math sport.;)
Father Jack
30 Oct 2007, 16:57
Do the math sport.;)
Well, you lot keep saying that Arden St will be upgraded, what makes you think GC Stadium won't be?
FOOOOTY
30 Oct 2007, 17:01
Just the same as Sydney are South Melbourne.
:eek: You'll be telling us that New York is Manchester next.
FOOOOTY
30 Oct 2007, 17:03
Do the math sport.;)
Not sure clubs get gate receipts from finals
A Living God
30 Oct 2007, 17:04
That "Black Hole" managed to play 3 finals matches this season.:rolleyes:
~200K supporters went along to see that "Black Hole" play finals.:rolleyes:
Most of the 200k wanted to see the "Black hole" lose.
Do the math sport.;)
Did you make money of lose money from the gate this year, and you know you don't get the gate from a final?
In 2006 I think only Essendon and the Saints made money playing at the Dome
Funkalicous
30 Oct 2007, 17:07
These kind of comments are completely uncalled for. Believe it or not, there's a lot of Australians, particularly outside of Victoria, that want to see this great sport expand and become the dominate code all around the country. Simply put, there are benefits for every club if the Kangaroos decide to move, including the Roos.
- Your team will live.
- Brisbane will recieve a local rivalry.
- Victorian clubs will have access to a greater slice of the market.
- And Victorian clubs will have to fly interstate more, which will please the SA and WA teams in terms of an honest draw.
What you fail to understand is that we're not trying to dance on the Kangaroos' grave. We are in fact supportive of you likely venture from a logical point of view. Maybe you should be...
The Teflon Dean
30 Oct 2007, 17:07
Not sure clubs get gate receipts from finals
Did you make money of lose money from the gate this year, and you know you don't get the gate from a final?
Then we are very happy to contribute to the consolidated revenue of the AFL.:thumbsu:
50% of 200k finals gate receipts >>>>>>>>> 1.5 million CBF.:D:thumbsu:
Then we are very happy to contribute to the consolidated revenue of the AFL.:thumbsu:
Not CBF whoever owns the Dome a Super Fund
A Living God
30 Oct 2007, 17:21
But it wasn't 50% it would of been closer to 33%
The Teflon Dean
30 Oct 2007, 17:24
But it wasn't 50% it would of been closer to 33%
Okay.
33% of the umpteen finals we have contributed to over the last 13 years >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>Every cent the AFL have ever given us.
Close thread.:thumbsu:
The Old Dark Navy's
30 Oct 2007, 17:25
Question: Would they have to be the Gold Coast Kangaroos? Do they have to reflect the region for it to work?
Northern Kangaroos has a ring. Can still be called North and if West Coast can broaden their area of representation, so can the Roos.
Not advocating a move by the way, just from a marketing perspective the name matters.
Besides, Gold Coast teams traditionally bite.
Okay.
33% of the umpteen finals we have contributed to over the last 13 years >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>Every cent the AFL have ever given us.
Close thread.:thumbsu:
What sort of logics that? Where is WC, Collingwood, Essendon, Adelaide Ports, Saints etc handout then
No team rightly or otherwise can rely on the CBF long term as a business model
The Teflon Dean
30 Oct 2007, 17:36
What sort of logics that? Where is WC, Collingwood, Essendon, Adelaide Ports, Saints etc handout then
No team rightly or otherwise can rely on the CBF long term as a business model
Saints?????
We're talking finals mate.
If we were given our whack of revenue from finals we would be a powerhouse compared to your mob.
FACT - We have contributed more to the AFL consolidated revenue than we have ever taken out.
FACT!
Father Jack
30 Oct 2007, 17:41
Saints?????
If we were given our whack of revenue from finals we would be a powerhouse compared to your mob.
FACT - We have contributed more to the AFL consolidated revenue than we have ever taken out.
FACT!
If it wasn't you in the finals it would be someone else, and that someone would likely draw larger crowds. Finals would happen regardless of whether you are their or not.
Saints?????
FACT!
You can twist it anyway you like unless you by being in the finals contribute more than another Melbourne team would of to AFL takings then you make no net difference to the AFL take and therefore are not automatically entitled to the CBF. Otherwise Collingwood and Essendon should have an automatic start in all final series. The saints have been in about finals 50% of the time over the last 10 years
Cheshire Cat
30 Oct 2007, 17:48
Also the worlds, they can go to Wet n Wild on weekends. No doubt that has considerable weight
The Teflon Dean
30 Oct 2007, 17:48
If it wasn't you in the finals it would be someone else, and that someone would likely draw larger crowds. Finals would happen regardless of whether you are their or not.
I'm sorry, but you are blatantly incorrect unless you can discount quantum theory, Thomas Young's Double slit experiments and just about every physicist on the planet.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Double-slit_experiment :thumbsu:
I can assure you, that which has not been observed, has not occurred.;):thumbsu:
Father Jack
30 Oct 2007, 17:51
I'm sorry, but you are blatantly incorrect unless you can discount quantum theory, Thomas Young's Double slit experiments and just about every physicist on the planet.
I can assure you, that which has not been observed, has not occurred.;):thumbsu:
What has that got to do with anything? Are you saying that there has never been an occasion where North never made the finals but they occurred anyway?
The Teflon Dean
30 Oct 2007, 17:54
What has that got to do with anything? Are you saying that there has never been an occasion where North never made the finals but they occurred anyway?
I was scientifically discounting your hypothetical and irrelevant earlier post.
Never mind.:rolleyes:
The Chad
30 Oct 2007, 17:54
again, beligerence and pig-headedness from all the kangaroos football club fans in this thread
to flame the OP from the off, tell him to get lost and say his opinion is not wanted goes against the grain of bigfooty
i think the kangaroos are on the right track with this approach. they need to look IN. only listen to TRUE believers. IGNORE the outsiders. it's kangaroos football club vs the rest and i think that will serve your club's interests well.
doctor jolly, kangaroos don't deserve to move to GC. they deserve to fold and go down in a blaze of whining and complaining about how hard done by they were.
people don't go to hospital to have a cancer transplant. so why transplant a cancer onto the gold coast.
they deserve a fresh, clean, franchise.
Father Jack
30 Oct 2007, 18:44
I was scientifically discounting your hypothetical and irrelevant earlier post.
Never mind.:rolleyes:
Really? And how did you do that, may I ask? All I saw was some waffle referring to scientific process that had nothing to do with the topic at hand. Good for you for patting yourself on the back though.
Now, back to the topic, do you think that the AFL would have had less attendance to the finals this year if the Kangaroos didn't make them?
The Teflon Dean
30 Oct 2007, 18:48
Really? And how did you do that, may I ask?
Forget it. It would take me too long to explain.:thumbsd:
Now, back to the topic, do you think that the AFL would have had less attendance to the finals this year if the Kangaroos didn't make them?
If you're going to hypothesize and make our finals contribution disappear, then at least be considerate enough to wipe away any AFL contributions to the club at the same time.:thumbsu:
Irrelevant.:thumbsd:
Again.:thumbsd:
Father Jack
30 Oct 2007, 18:59
Forget it. It would take me too long to explain.:thumbsd:
If you're going to hypothesize and make our finals contribution disappear, then at least be considerate enough to wipe away any AFL contributions to the club at the same time.:thumbsu:
Irrelevant.:thumbsd:
Again.:thumbsd:
No, the original comment was that the Kangaroos have made the AFL money from finals appearances, more than they have received from AFL handouts. My statement was that this isn't the case because whoever made the finals in the place of the Kangaroos would have brought in a similar amount, if not more, than the Kangaroos have. The only way they wouldn't have if it was a home game against a Vic team where they drew more than, say, AAMI, SUbi or the Gabba could hold.
Now what does that other claptrap have to do with that?
again, beligerence and pig-headedness from all the kangaroos football club fans in this thread
to flame the OP from the off, tell him to get lost and say his opinion is not wanted goes against the grain of bigfooty
i think the kangaroos are on the right track with this approach. they need to look IN. only listen to TRUE believers. IGNORE the outsiders. it's kangaroos football club vs the rest and i think that will serve your club's interests well.
doctor jolly, kangaroos don't deserve to move to GC. they deserve to fold and go down in a blaze of whining and complaining about how hard done by they were.
people don't go to hospital to have a cancer transplant. so why transplant a cancer onto the gold coast.
they deserve a fresh, clean, franchise.
I really think you'd be better off going back to Bay13 and creating horrendously dimwitted troll attempt threads rather than hanging around here where in the main, logical discussion is going on. I've read 5 of your posts in this sub forum and so far all you've contributed is a hot steaming pile of shit that is bordering on trolling.
Do us all a favour, hit the skids. :cool:
Father Jack
30 Oct 2007, 19:13
I really think you'd be better off going back to Bay13 and creating horrendously dimwitted troll attempt threads rather than hanging around here where in the main, logical discussion is going on. I've read 5 of your posts in this sub forum and so far all you've contributed is a hot steaming pile of shit that is bordering on trolling.
I'm tending to agree with that sentiment.
I believe that the Gold Coast would be the best thing for the Kangaroos (and for me :P ) but if they can find a clear, logical and workable plan for staying in Melbourne then good on them. I am also aware that relocation is not a painless operation, especially if you have grown up watching them live.
The Chad
30 Oct 2007, 19:20
who said i was trolling? that's exactly how you and all other kangaroos football club fans of "north melbourne" are treating outside influence in this thread.
Really? I've seen plenty of good discussion here between Roos supporters and supporters of other clubs. Where it falls down is the odd stupid Hawthorn moron (like you) who are contributing nothing and are still pissed that despite what you thought, we finished your season. Your comments on this subject are irrelevant, and being treated as such.
The Chad
30 Oct 2007, 19:30
Really? I've seen plenty of good discussion here between Roos supporters and supporters of other clubs. Where it falls down is the odd stupid Hawthorn moron (like you) who are contributing nothing and are still pissed that despite what you thought, we finished your season. Your comments on this subject are irrelevant, and being treated as such.
my deep hatred of kangaroos football club and kangaroos football club fans of "north melbourne" goes back much much further than this season. that was merely an ironic twist and karma for trolls long before i registered. you're simply using it as an excuse for discrediting outside input on the debate which does not favour the AFL or it's expansion in to the northern states.
Here It Is
30 Oct 2007, 19:51
How many Victorian clubs have NEVER relocated in their history?
Answer - 1. Melbourne.
No other Victorian club still plays on the ground they started on - the only difference with the Swans is our new home ground happened to be in a different city.
Same if North went to Carrara.
It's still the Kangaroos, the club that joined the competition in 1925 and has four premierships.
Swans supporters that went through the move know that as well as anyone.
You won't find a single one that would have rathered the club died than moved.
If North supporters would prefer the club to die, then maybe it should (and even though I don't like them, that doesn't mean I want them to - my father is a Kangaroo supporter and I don't like seeing anyone die in any competition at any level).
my deep hatred of kangaroos football club and kangaroos football club fans of "north melbourne" goes back much much further than this season. that was merely an ironic twist and karma for trolls long before i registered. you're simply using it as an excuse for discrediting outside input on the debate which does not favour the AFL or it's expansion in to the northern states.
I really couldn't give a rats arse about your hatred of North Melbourne. It's welcomed. As I said, you're irrelevant. :cool:
The Chad
30 Oct 2007, 21:28
I really couldn't give a rats arse about your hatred of North Melbourne. It's welcomed. As I said, you're irrelevant. :cool:
the $100 The Chad will spend on buying a membership for the new gold coast IF it comes at the expense of kangaroos football club says otherwise
The Chad is a long-term prospect for the afl. you are not.
relapse
30 Oct 2007, 21:39
Do the math sport.;)
The maths is that off field finance is >>>> than what comes in from memberships. Merchadise sales, gaming revenue etc the figures will support that in the long term they will be financially better off on the Gold Coast.
You can throw whatever crowd figures you want noone cares that they will get 10k more in melbourne when there is no room from growth and the off field potential is low. Its not just about people through the gate, its about the off field potential for the clubs.
As I said before I would take an extensive survey over a North supporter that clearly will rebut anything about the gold coast.
the $100 The Chad will spend on buying a membership for the new gold coast IF it comes at the expense of kangaroos football club says otherwise
The Chad is a long-term prospect for the afl. you are not.
The Chad is a long term prospect for whatever internet connection he has. Thats where your relevance/opinion/whatever ends as far as this club and/or anything to do with it is concerned. Tis why I said maybe you should head back to embarrassing yourself and fellow supporters in Bay13.
hahhahahahahahahahahaha
not been here long, have ya mate
Jimmy's Hot Dogs
30 Oct 2007, 22:03
He might be more a Schrödinger's cat kinda guy.
DeadlyAkkuret
30 Oct 2007, 23:09
He actually made some good points, so try to see past your bitterness and reply in a constructive manner. There's a lot of people trolling the Roos right now, so i would've thought some well thought out ideas would be welcome. Apparently not.
The Teflon Dean
31 Oct 2007, 12:38
The maths is that off field finance is >>>> than what comes in from memberships. Merchadise sales, gaming revenue etc the figures will support that in the long term they will be financially better off on the Gold Coast.
You can throw whatever crowd figures you want noone cares that they will get 10k more in melbourne when there is no room from growth and the off field potential is low. Its not just about people through the gate, its about the off field potential for the clubs.
As I said before I would take an extensive survey over a North supporter that clearly will rebut anything about the gold coast.
Sweet mate.:thumbsu:
We might be more "financially better off" on the GC.
The only relevant matter that North supporters care about is that we are financially viable in Melbourne.:thumbsu:
How many Victorian clubs have NEVER relocated in their history?
Answer - 1. Melbourne.
No other Victorian club still plays on the ground they started on - the only difference with the Swans is our new home ground happened to be in a different city.
Same if North went to Carrara.
It's still the Kangaroos, the club that joined the competition in 1925 and has four premierships.
Swans supporters that went through the move know that as well as anyone.
You won't find a single one that would have rathered the club died than moved.
Are you trying to tell me that you've never met a South Melbourne supporter that no longer has an interest in Aussie Rules.
Surely you are not.
Doctor Jolly
31 Oct 2007, 12:43
Sounds like North would rather stay a pauper continually fighting off attacks, relying on handouts, than stand on their own two feet and become a power club. (Not saying that GC will deliver that, but its your best chance).
They are a bit like Dole Bludgers. Happy to leave a frugle existance as long as they can avoid hard work and hard decisions.
He actually made some good points, so try to see past your bitterness and reply in a constructive manner. There's a lot of people trolling the Roos right now, so i would've thought some well thought out ideas would be welcome. Apparently not.
Lick my nuts.
The Teflon Dean
31 Oct 2007, 12:46
Sounds like North would rather stay a pauper continually fighting off attacks, relying on handouts, than stand on their own two feet and become a power club. (Not saying that GC will deliver that, but its your best chance).
They are a bit like Dole Bludgers. Happy to leave a frugle existance as long as they can avoid hard work and hard decisions.
Showing your true colors now that the move has been shelved?:D
UP YOURS, MAGGOT!:thumbsd:
Knob
Nothing wrong with living a frugal existence, and you won't find a club in the league that has worked harder, or struggled harder to achieve the success they have. And you will find that every North supporter in the world would prefer that we do what needs to be done to stand on our own feet.
SonOfReep
31 Oct 2007, 13:34
Lick my nuts.
Knob
This poster's intelligence is quite staggering. I'd wager a high-school student of some description, which is apt - isn't schoolies generally hed on the Gold Coast? You will be able to see your team at the same time! :thumbsu: :)
You either want to have a discussion on this issue or you want to take the piss. From the looks of this post, you'd be better off moving to Bay 13, and letting serious posters continue this debate.
SonOfReep
31 Oct 2007, 13:57
You either want to have a discussion on this issue or you want to take the piss. From the looks of this post, you'd be better off moving to Bay 13, and letting serious posters continue this debate.
Serious posters like rb214? :rolleyes:
rb14 hasn't made a joke about my football club being torn away from it's heartland. And you can hardly criticise anyone else while you're acting the tw@t.
greennick
31 Oct 2007, 14:26
rb14 hasn't made a joke about my football club being torn away from it's heartland. And you can hardly criticise anyone else while you're acting the tw@t.
Why can't he make a joke? It is just a joke! It was kind of funny, although he neglected that they won't be playing footy during schoolies, so all he would be able to see is preseason training. rb214 has just sat there and called people names. How is that different? You lack a sense of humour.
I have not seen too many serious posters that support North in this thread anyway. All most have done is attack people.
SonOfReep
31 Oct 2007, 14:29
Riddle me this then my friend. What makes you think the Kangaroos would have a right to exist in the competition if they were not financially viable? Are some clubs more equal than others?
The Teflon Dean
31 Oct 2007, 14:35
Riddle me this then my friend. What makes you think the Kangaroos would have a right to exist in the competition if they were not financially viable? Are some clubs more equal than others?
Because the competition isn't about accountancy, it's about football.:thumbsu:
Doofus.:rolleyes:
Moomba my man you know I have got to the point of who cares what these $2 experts think.
Whats the point of indulging them in a actual discussion when there opinion means two thirds of **** all. They talk like the CBF is coming out of their pockets and that their opinion actually matters.
You have this knob Dr Molly right, he sits there judging the merits of our financial plight like he is in some position of authority and he is getting a share of the AFLs profits.
And its easy to get sucked in but when you think about it why do we let ourselves get annoyed at some nobodys going on about North bludging and getting a free ride when these very people would have to be unemployed with the amount of time they spend being obsessed with our club and posting on it 24/7.
They have no say in what happens so who cares. Anyway I will leave it to you Moomba!
SonOfReep
31 Oct 2007, 14:46
Because the competition isn't about accountancy, it's about football.:thumbsu:
Doofus.:rolleyes:
Surely you're taking the piss!!!
This is the sort of attitude that has led to your club teetering on the edge of oblivion. "We have a God-given right to exist in the club no matter what, for we are North Melbourne."
Well, no. The AFL is a professional competition run by businesspeople. It comprises professional players, multi-million dollar sponsorships and contracts worth hundreds of millions of dollars. (You're also the "Kangaroos" not "North Melbourne")
It is not the South Goolagong District Under 7s Amateurs.
No club has a "right" to exist in the AFL, not even if you're 21338 years old and have played in Melbourne since the Jurassic period. You earn the ability to remain in the AFL by being financially sound and not a drain on the other, more successful clubs.
If you want a competition that's about "football" rather than "accountancy" then the AFL is not for you, let alone the VFL, SANFL or WAFL. Maybe go and watch some schoolboy footy instead.
"Riddle me this!" you sound like a ball of fun!
SonOfReep
31 Oct 2007, 14:48
"Riddle me this!" you sound like a ball of fun!
:confused:
Nice to see you extending your posts beyond four letters though.
Surely you're taking the piss!!!
This is the sort of attitude that has led to your club teetering on the edge of oblivion. "We have a God-given right to exist in the club no matter what, for we are North Melbourne."
Well, no. The AFL is a professional competition run by businesspeople. It comprises professional players, multi-million dollar sponsorships and contracts worth hundreds of millions of dollars. (You're also the "Kangaroos" not "North Melbourne")
It is not the South Goolagong District Under 7s Amateurs.
No club has a "right" to exist in the AFL, not even if you're 21338 years old and have played in Melbourne since the Jurassic period. You earn the ability to remain in the AFL by being financially sound and not a drain on the other, more successful clubs.
If you want a competition that's about "football" rather than "accountancy" then the AFL is not for you, let alone the VFL, SANFL or WAFL. Maybe go and watch some schoolboy footy instead.
You are totally hardcore. Wow one bad dude.
SonOfReep
31 Oct 2007, 14:50
You are totally hardcore. Wow one bad dude.
Would you care to rebut my post? Or have you given up trying, like most of your supporters have given up buying memberships and attending games?
Why would I waste time discussing it with you. What could I possibly hope to achieve.
Waste of time.
SonOfReep
31 Oct 2007, 14:57
Why would I waste time discussing it with you. What could I possibly hope to achieve.
Waste of time.
Thanks for coming. :thumbsu: :)
Mickdog
31 Oct 2007, 14:57
We don`t care about his arguements. Why would I waste time discussing this with a guy called Doctor Jolly. In the end of the day what would that achieve. He is not a North person what he thinks is irrelevant.
Why would someone care so much about another club moving away from their supporters. People like you are like vultures.
If you didn't care about what he posted why did you respond? If you don't want to waste time discussing then why were you the first person to reply to his original post? If what he thinks is irrelevent, once again, why do you feel the need to respond?:rolleyes:
The_Eagles
31 Oct 2007, 14:58
when I read the title of this thread I thought of exam questions
If you didn't care about what he posted why did you respond? If you don't want to waste time discussing then why were you the first person to reply to his original post? If what he thinks is irrelevent, once again, why do you feel the need to respond?:rolleyes:
I replied lick my nuts I think. Didn`t exactly enter into a debate there captain.
SonOfReep
31 Oct 2007, 15:05
I replied lick my nuts I think. Didn`t exactly enter into a debate there captain.
Are you still here? I thought you didn't care.
i don`t care for debating shit. I quite enjoy giving you shit Teabag.
Mickdog
31 Oct 2007, 15:07
These kind of comments are completely uncalled for. Believe it or not, there's a lot of Australians, particularly outside of Victoria, that want to see this great sport expand and become the dominate code all around the country. Simply put, there are benefits for every club if the Kangaroos decide to move, including the Roos.
- Your team will live.
- Brisbane will recieve a local rivalry.
- Victorian clubs will have access to a greater slice of the market.
- And Victorian clubs will have to fly interstate more, which will please the SA and WA teams in terms of an honest draw.
What you fail to understand is that we're not trying to dance on the Kangaroos' grave. We are in fact supportive of you likely venture from a logical point of view. Maybe you should be...
A lot of people should read this and stop whinging about the Roos leaviung Melbourne. It is the best thing that has ever happened to the club.
SonOfReep
31 Oct 2007, 15:08
i don`t care for debating shit. I quite enjoy giving you shit Teabag.
:) :thumbsu: Go Roos