View Full Version : Lets pay $4

nut
31 Oct 2007, 01:00
The other 15 clubs average around 25,000 members x $4 dollars = 1.5 million that North get from the AFL.

Thats 1 pot of beer or 1 pie once a year. Keep North Melbourne In North Melbourne.

Lets ring our clubs and ask them to add 4 dollars on our memberships so the money can go to north, this not only puts pressure on our clubs to support north but it shows the AFL WE DONT WANT NORTH TO LEAVE MELBOURNE.

If they want a side at the Gold Coast then let them make a side.

zero
31 Oct 2007, 01:16
iv got a better idea, lets send that money to fund a new club on the GC. obviously the roos wont want to play games on the GC, so they can go back to canberra or just come back to melbourne

and the CBF is far too high. cut it back to a more appropriate number (say half a mill a year) and send that money north too.

expand the game, more teams, less handouts

Total_Juddshanks
31 Oct 2007, 01:32
I want one thing and one thing from the Kangaroos- a single shred of evidence explaining why, if bailed out like they've been bailed out repeatedly before, they *won't* be back in this situation again in a year or two.

I've got nothing against them and would love for them to be viable, but the bottom line is they just bloody well aren't- if you know a mate is earning $100 a week and trying to rent a $300 a week house, are you really doing him any favours by covering that rent for one week?

nut
31 Oct 2007, 01:37
If the north supporters are happy to move to the gold coast ( and I'm tipping they are not), then there is no problem...... but if they dont then I would like to support them, purely on the basis that the AFL is trying to force them there.
The Decision SHOULD NOT BE THE AFL's..... It should be the supporters of the North Melbourne Football club who have supportered the club through thick and thin.

They NEED an established club to move or it is doomed.... like the bears where befoe they inherrited the Fitzroy supporters.

SweetLeftFoot
31 Oct 2007, 01:44
The other 15 clubs average around 25,000 members x $4 dollars = 1.5 million that North get from the AFL.

Thats 1 pot of beer or 1 pie once a year. Keep North Melbourne In North Melbourne.

Lets ring our clubs and ask them to add 4 dollars on our memberships so the money can go to north, this not only puts pressure on our clubs to support north but it shows the AFL WE DONT WANT NORTH TO LEAVE MELBOURNE.

Good call Richmond dude.

SweetLeftFoot
31 Oct 2007, 01:45
I want one thing and one thing from the Kangaroos- a single shred of evidence explaining why, if bailed out like they've been bailed out repeatedly before, they *won't* be back in this situation again in a year or two.

We have never been bailed out.

CARLTON got na 8m interest free loan.

Our CBF funding - which other teams also get - is recognition if inequity the draw, you know, rigging it so the WA teams play each other twice and stuff.

I suggest you get yor facts straight before posting on North again.

relapse
31 Oct 2007, 06:42

I am not paying an extra $4 to North. At the end of the day if they reject the AFL's proposal and then die within a decade then all I can say is that they made their bed. If they have decided to remain in Melbourne well then its upto them to make it work, not the AFL and not the other 15 clubs.

ApplecrossWC
31 Oct 2007, 07:43

I like the sentiment but you have to realise that the world and BF especially is full of people who only really care about themselves and love to kick people/a club when they are down.

Hearts to hearts
31 Oct 2007, 08:06

Cheers, mate, but this is clearly not the place for peace and understanding.

Come over to our board and feel the love - and if you have $4 to spare, any help is more than welcome on the pledges thread, which will fund a range of initiatives that will help North stand on its own feet, based in Melbourne. And if you want to lend support to North members getting a say back in our club's decisons, have a look at www.wearenorthmelbourne.com.au an think about joining us in that campaign.

The Old Dark Navy's
31 Oct 2007, 08:10
CARLTON got na 8m interest free loan.
No we didn't. We got a $1.5m interest free loan. Our debt was $8m and largely stemmed from writing down the cost of our white elephant grandstand. We still have much of that debt.

The Old Dark Navy's
31 Oct 2007, 08:12
Thats 1 pot of beer or 1 pie once a year.
On this board you will have trouble getting them to give up beer, however most will be happy to sacrifice one Collingwood supporter per year.

Funkalicous
31 Oct 2007, 08:17
I'd rather the $4. That's like 2 packs of mentos!

robaba
31 Oct 2007, 08:18
iv got a better idea, lets send that money to fund a new club on the GC. obviously the roos wont want to play games on the GC, so they can go back to canberra or just come back to melbourne

and the CBF is far too high. cut it back to a more appropriate number (say half a mill a year) and send that money north too.

expand the game, more teams, less handouts

What you gonna call the new team - 'Unlisted'?

Mitchell Madness
31 Oct 2007, 08:20
$4 or saving a club whose supporters constantly mock my own club for being financially stable? hmm.... I will keep the $4. Only clubs i will ever help out are Western Bulldogs and Collingwood

Yes, that is right, Collingwood. Very few of their supporters will mock my club, and for that reason, i respect them.

phoenix_rise_
31 Oct 2007, 08:21

Good idea Nut. :thumbsu::thumbsu:

I'm with ya. They'll need more propping up on the GC than in Melbourne imo so I'd rather chip in a few bucks to Let 'em stay in my membership.

phoenix_rise_
31 Oct 2007, 08:22
$4 or saving a club whose supporters constantly mock my own club for being financially stable? hmm.... I will keep the $4. Only clubs i will ever help out are Western Bulldogs and Collingwood

Yes, that is right, Collingwood. Very few of their supporters will mock my club, and for that reason, i respect them.

It goes further than your own feelings you wuss.

I cop it from all teams but it doesnt mean I wouldnt help em out if all it was, was $4 and it gave the AFL a big **** off and they stayed in Melbourne.

ShanBoi
31 Oct 2007, 08:31
I love it. we cop all this stick from north supporters for the last few months (hawks fans i mean) for on field stuff. Then drug stuff... And before that tassie stuff. But when they come out hat in hand they get upset when people dont jump to their aid 'for the good of the game'

Get some north supporters to SUPPORT THEIR CLUB

ManWithNoName
31 Oct 2007, 09:45
Just buy a Kangaroos membership like I'm going too.

bender22
31 Oct 2007, 09:59
Or the club could keep the $4. For a club with 25000 members, thats an extra $100,000. I'd rather my team get it.

philhawk
31 Oct 2007, 10:01
Why dont we give North a good draw and see what they can do (2009).

2 games vs Richmond, Carlton, Essendon and Hawthorn - give them the opportunity to draw big crowds and see what they can do with it.

ShanBoi
31 Oct 2007, 10:03
Why dont we give North a good draw and see what they can do (2009).

2 games vs Richmond, Carlton, Essendon and Hawthorn - give them the opportunity to draw big crowds and see what they can do with it.

WHY??

They need to find a less fickle supporter base who will stick with them through good times and bad. If we find ways to prop them up for a season at a time, or keep them alive, is it really solving the problem?

robaba
31 Oct 2007, 10:07

If you observe carefully, this thread was started by a Richmond supporter.
You Hawks can keep your dough. And stop posting negative stuff about us.
Go back to your comfy little board.
We're grateful to the real footy fans out there. We will not forget..

philhawk
31 Oct 2007, 10:08
WHY??

They need to find a less fickle supporter base who will stick with them through good times and bad. If we find ways to prop them up for a season at a time, or keep them alive, is it really solving the problem?

They don't have a fickle supporter base - they just have a comparatively small one in comparison to other clubs.

Given their on-field performances in the past 3-4 years, it's not as if they don't deserve it.

Rather than allowing North fans to possibly 'rue what could have been', I say give them a chance to 'shine' in the Melbourne market - with marquee home games against the clubs I mentioned above.

Then and only then if they still fail to attract sub-standard crowds (despite a potentially great-drawing fixture and a good FTA platform), I think you'll find even North supporters will then aknowledge their plight.

Hearts to hearts
31 Oct 2007, 10:30
They don't have a fickle supporter base - they just have a comparatively small one in comparison to other clubs.

Given their on-field performances in the past 3-4 years, it's not as if they don't deserve it.

Rather than allowing North fans to possibly 'rue what could have been', I say give them a chance to 'shine' in the Melbourne market - with marquee home games against the clubs I mentioned above.

Then and only then if they still fail to attract sub-standard crowds (despite a potentially great-drawing fixture and a good FTA platform), I think you'll find even North supporters will then aknowledge their plight.

Certainly we will. I'm afraid a decent draw, let alone a favourable one, is unlikely - but even if we get a chance to show we will join up and turn up to a club that makes a genuine commitment to being around for us to be part of, we will be 100% more likely to succeed here than we have been for the past few years. Being shipped off by the media with silence from our own board and admin - remove that and watch us. And if - faced with the threat and opportunity we have now - we don't make it fly in the next few years, we can expect to be targeted again, and we won't be surprised.

greennick
31 Oct 2007, 12:13

Once the Kangaroos become a registered charity, then they may get some of my cash. In the meantime, I prefer beer.

ShanBoi
31 Oct 2007, 13:18
Certainly we will. I'm afraid a decent draw, let alone a favourable one, is unlikely - but even if we get a chance to show we will join up and turn up to a club that makes a genuine commitment to being around for us to be part of, we will be 100% more likely to succeed here than we have been for the past few years. Being shipped off by the media with silence from our own board and admin - remove that and watch us. And if - faced with the threat and opportunity we have now - we don't make it fly in the next few years, we can expect to be targeted again, and we won't be surprised.

So pretty much just a chance to go round again...

You have been a financial basket case for years. Now you will get serious because the threat is imminent? When it was just a maybe nobody really cared too much..

Wojee
31 Oct 2007, 13:23
I think suggesting a levy on the memberships of other clubs to help keep the Kangaroos afloat is purely a bandaid solution that will only harm the club in the long term.

The Teflon Dean
31 Oct 2007, 13:31

Thanks mate, and the many others that have offered their support.:thumbsu:

I gave to the "save our skins" collection in the past and I would do it again to save any football club. :thumbsu:

Doctor Jolly
31 Oct 2007, 13:32
I think suggesting a levy on the memberships of other clubs to help keep the Kangaroos afloat is purely a bandaid solution that will only harm the club in the long term.

What are you talking about. There is a levy already. Its called the CBF.

roger explosion
31 Oct 2007, 13:47
if NMFC has to rely on non-supporters to buy memberships to remain in Melbourne, then they're clearly not sustainable.

sure, i'd love for NMFC to stay in Melbourne, but all the signs are pointing to the fact that if they don't move to the Coast, they will eventually die, especially with the AFL probably not wanting to know anything about it.

if they can replicate on the Gold Coast, what South Melbourne has done with Sydney... if i was a NMFC supporter, i would prefer this to eventual death. i don't know, it's hard to say without being in the situation, but that's just what i think.

oh, and btw, the Gold Coast can and will be home to a sustainable, viable and profitable AFL club. it will take time to build but it will work.
well said

Wojee
31 Oct 2007, 13:49
What are you talking about. There is a levy already. Its called the CBF.

A levy on attendance and TV monies is it not? Not club memberships.

incubi
31 Oct 2007, 13:55

But then shouldnt money also be added to save Melbourne and the Bulldogs, who are only slightly better off than the Kangaroos.

Lidge
31 Oct 2007, 14:41
I love it. we cop all this stick from north supporters for the last few months (hawks fans i mean) for on field stuff.

You copped it in the neck from a small group of our supporters because you were bad losers and bleating like little emo girls. Nothing to do with you being a Hawthorn supporter really.

ShanBoi
31 Oct 2007, 14:44
You copped it in the neck from a small group of our supporters because you were bad losers and bleating like little emo girls. Nothing to do with you being a Hawthorn supporter really.

And look at how much bleating is going on right now!!
Jeeze...

Seanason
31 Oct 2007, 14:51
we all know that the ratio of Victorian clubs to Non-Victorian clubs is very skewed at the moment.

For the Kangaroos to survive in the Top league of AFL football in the years to come they need to move.

Moving the Kangaroos away from Melbourne will be better off for the rest of the melbourne teams in regards to people through the gates and having to battle less clubs for the interest of youngsters.

Surely some of the North Melbourne supporters can realise that their club cant rely on $4 from every other club for the next 50 years.

We need to fix the ratio of Victorian to non-victorian clubs, and the only way to do that is to shift existing victorian clubs, demote soem victorian clubs to the VFL or introduce a lot more clubs outside victoria, and that would mean another 3 clubs in SA, another 4 from WA, another 1 or 2 from Sydney and another 2 or 3 from Queensland.

Some people need to face that the only way their club will survive without hand-outs is to move.

Fred
31 Oct 2007, 15:38
Stick to the topic.

The Chad
31 Oct 2007, 15:59
pfft, $4, The Chad has already pledged $100 or-nearest-to the value of a membership for the new gold coast franchise should it's entry into the competition be in the right manner.

ShanBoi
31 Oct 2007, 16:27
At the end of the day you cant force people to pay. $160 already seems pretty dear to many of us. To lump on an extra fee for another club is stupid

Hit And Rum
31 Oct 2007, 16:42
$4 or eternal survival for the Kangaroos...I'll keep my $4!

DeadlyAkkuret
31 Oct 2007, 17:50
pfft, $4, The Chad has already pledged $100 or-nearest-to the value of a membership for the new gold coast franchise should it's entry into the competition be in the right manner.

Stop referring to yourself in third person you tool:rolleyes:

FlyingCrow
31 Oct 2007, 18:04
No way.

North cant compete off the field, bad luck. Relocate or perish.

75 years in the comp and you cant afford to stay in thats your own bad luck and mismanagement. Why should my club membership prop up a club that cant run itself. Successfull on the field but incompetent off it.

chrisjie
31 Oct 2007, 20:23

That's just like giving aid to Africa. They become dependent on the aid and never learn to produce for themselves. I will not give a damn cent to North.

FlyingCrow
31 Oct 2007, 21:04
That's just like giving aid to Africa. They become dependent on the aid and never learn to produce for themselves. I will not give a damn cent to North.
Richmond dont need the aid, yet still cant produce.

Errol Street
31 Oct 2007, 21:12
WHats going on....the Bulldogs, Demons, Swans etc are all getting $$$$ from the AFL incl the Kangas. Its not just North who are struggling. If we move the financial struggles of the above clubs wont mysterioudly disappear. Its a reality in alot of leagues eg English Premier League and Championship league. There will always be rich clubs and poor clubs.

nut
31 Oct 2007, 21:23
But then shouldnt money also be added to save Melbourne and the Bulldogs, who are only slightly better off than the Kangaroos.

Mate you guys dont want North to go Because you might be next in line.

Doctor Jolly
31 Oct 2007, 21:35
WHats going on....the Bulldogs, Demons, Swans etc are all getting $$$$ from the AFL incl the Kangas. Its not just North who are struggling. .

Its stupid and misleading to imply the swans are anywhere near North as far as on the take. Its 1 bloody year while the SCG is getting rebuilt. FFS we contribute 20% of TV rights money, We have to pay for our own stadiums. And we have to spend a sh1t load of development money in NSW.