View Full Version : Sampi.....

Wolfmother
31 Oct 2007, 11:58
I think we have a crack at him...

He is fat, lazy uncommitted this is all a given but so is his talent (a bit like pickett now I think about it)

He is only 23, why not use position 38 on our list and hope he turns it around rather than try for a 18yr old with pick 80 (put them on the rookie list) At least we know he can play AFL

He is moving away from W.A (and friend and family)
Will play for min. coin
and we seem to have a good group of Indigenous players who will make him settle in.

If he doesn't fire I don't think you have lost anything for placing a player on our list for one year at min money.

dutchy12
31 Oct 2007, 12:10
Yeah fair point. He certainly does have talent. If we were going to take a punt on a "risk" player with issues I rather it be Clayton Collard.

goal sneak
31 Oct 2007, 12:16
I do not find this thread mildy ammusing. It is a joke, isn't it?

master bate
31 Oct 2007, 12:22
Rather Fergus Watts or that Pfieffer guy, who is training with Richmond I think. Sampi hasn't even shown that much talent, and I think to play as a forward pocket these days you need to have defensive pressure and Sampi doesn't have that. Plus the committment issues, plus on field issues.

Wolfmother
31 Oct 2007, 12:30
Why not???

How often do you see a player picked in round four and five on the draft... do two years on the list then get delisted???

I would rather have a player on the list you can play AFL but we need to whip into shape than have a kid you may never have the talent but we tried.

It's the AFLs obsession with youth and selling to the members we are rebuilding and recruited such and such with young talent.

Wooey is a good example, why wouldn't an AFL club have him on their list when he would have played for min wage. He can play AFL... He might not be in there long term future but he would have been a great back up player if something went wrong. Instead clubs try an unknown 18 who does two years on the list and disappears

Spots 37 and 38 on the list should be used for players like (and other lifelines for AFL talented player) this rather than an obession with rebuilding for five years time and using an 18year... Use the rookie list for them.

Rant over

Flowerpower
31 Oct 2007, 12:34
Why not???

How often do you see a player picked in round four and five on the draft... do two years on the list then get delisted???

I would rather have a player on the list you can play AFL but we need to whip into shape than have a kid you may never have the talent but we tried.

It's the AFLs obsession with youth and selling to the members we are rebuilding and recruited such and such with young talent.

Wooey is a good example, why wouldn't an AFL club have him on their list when he would have played for min wage. He can play AFL... He might not be in there long term future but he would have been a great back up player if something went wrong. Instead clubs try an unknown 18 who does two years on the list and disappears

Spots 37 and 38 on the list should be used for players like (and other lifelines for AFL talented player) this rather than an obession with rebuilding for five years time and using an 18year... Use the rookie list for them.

Rant over

Sampi = Donald Cockatoo-collins.

NO.

saj_21
31 Oct 2007, 14:35
Why not???

Rant over

Please do not ever mention woey and sampi in the same breath, they are miles apart for starters woey worked so hard to earn a spot on an AFL list it has nothin to do wit money more the the desire and disclipine to play AFL which sampi quite clearly does not any desire to play afl but rather sit on his ass and get fat.

It wud b a waste of a pick, id rather an unknown yungster who wud work and train hard for his spot on the list.

The Dr
31 Oct 2007, 18:01
IMO, worth the risk, honestly, we would't lose much if we picked him up late and on a min wage. People quesitoned us when we picked up Pickett and (despite last season) it worked out pretty well for us. As someone else said, we have a few indigenous boys at the club which might make the transition easier.
I reckon we will be challenging again in a couple of years and by then Sampi will still be only 25 and could be a very good player.

Lynch takes a mark
31 Oct 2007, 20:08
confirmed that he is going to be training with Melbourne over the pre season to see what is fitness/eithic is like

Dez!
31 Oct 2007, 20:52
confirmed that he is going to be training with Melbourne over the pre season to see what is fitness/eithic is like

Link please, I'm intrigued.

I wouldn't mind taking a risk on Sampi, it would be good for us to take a few risks and see where they can get us.

Lynch takes a mark
31 Oct 2007, 21:07

I wouldn't mind taking a risk on Sampi, it would be good for us to take a few risks and see where they can get us.
Sorry, no link

was on 10 news here in Perth

master bate
31 Oct 2007, 21:12
I can't believe we are going to waste our time with this fat lazy idiot. Just going to have a stap in the dark here, it isn't going to work. Please don't offer him a contract.

Bartram_Class
31 Oct 2007, 21:38
All Bailey said was that we weren't ruling anyone out, expect Cousins it seems.

CAC isn't stupid enough to take a fat and lazy, if talented, goal sneak.

Blue Dimension
31 Oct 2007, 23:05

It was just on sports tonight fella.

dutchy12
31 Oct 2007, 23:06
Just

dutchy12
31 Oct 2007, 23:07
Just watched the news and yep it did say he was going to do a pre season with us :eek:

FOOOOTY
31 Oct 2007, 23:34
If he can get fit and have some desire he could be a top player, i think after a full pre-season they will have an idea on his commitment. If they take him i would expect an immediate impact in 08.

w00dy
1 Nov 2007, 00:42
it did say the melbourne demons, and not a pre-season in melbourne? if it were decided today i would've thought Bailey would've been more positive when he was mentioned at the press conference...

TheBrownDog
1 Nov 2007, 02:50
Recruiting Sampi would kind of defeat the purpose of trading Johnstone because of his attitude problems wouldn't it?

master bate
1 Nov 2007, 08:09
Recruiting Sampi would kind of defeat the purpose of trading Johnstone because of his attitude problems wouldn't it?
Yes, if you ignore the fact that we got pick 14 for Johnstone, but could recruit sampi for nothing. Everything is alright at the right price!

dutchy12
1 Nov 2007, 09:46
Yep in the paper today definitly trining with us.

He;s living with Davey in the mean time.

I don't know bout this one as one West Coast supporter said he failed to make the sacrifices for success after watching
-when he played in a losign GF
- wtached his team mates play in a wining GF

river man
1 Nov 2007, 13:56
We are not going to have pick three in any draft again for a while....no point using it on the 130th best kid when you can roll the dice on a proven player.

He would be good addition if he pulls his finger out, and wouldn't be a costly result if he doesn't....definately worth the risk.

Fergus watts will player amateur football next year....where he belongs.

Wolfmother
1 Nov 2007, 14:10
I'm just glad we're taking a risk....it can't hurt for him to do a pre season and we can select him with pick 70 in the ND because he is not pulling a price on his head...

For min wage it doesn't matter if he gets delisted after one year without playing a game, although it would be disappointing, I believe the risk is worth the possible reward.

dutchy12
1 Nov 2007, 15:42
you'd have to think he's 100% committed to playing AFL if he's moving over from his home WA to Vic to give it a shot?

Jonesy2
1 Nov 2007, 19:55
I'd have him for sure, no doubt he can play and his only 23. If we got him we be giving away nothing. Worth a punt and no risk in my opinion.

From all the delistings so far i'd say his the best pick in PSD?

StingaArmstrong
1 Nov 2007, 20:51
The guy has talent, and surely having to work for a spot on a list, will ensure an attitude adjustment. Picking him up will take the pressure of Davey as well, either freeing him up to a wing, or letting them both roam free on the forward. Also having Davey and Wheels there to assist/mentor will be great as well.

jackolegend
2 Nov 2007, 12:38
If he does show a bit in the pre-season, then he may be snatched from underneath us by Richmond or Carlton in the pre-season draft.

Flashhh
2 Nov 2007, 23:30
Rather Fergus Watts or that Pfieffer guy, who is training with Richmond I think.
FERGUS!!! thats right mate, Watts > Sampi

dutchy12
3 Nov 2007, 00:03
FERGUS!!! thats right mate, Watts > Sampi

Watts has done nothing in 4 years in the system at least we know Sampi can play

Deenamite
4 Nov 2007, 19:47
Watts has done nothing in 4 years in the system at least we know Sampi can play

But Watts would bring commitment and he plays the position we need.

Bentick's My Man.
5 Nov 2007, 11:05
Watts cannot play the position Melbourne needs though,

no point having a committed player who can't play at the level.

Sampi will be good at the dees if he pulls his head in, a handy replacement for Byron Pickett.

saj_21
5 Nov 2007, 12:23
Watts cannot play the position Melbourne needs though,

no point having a committed player who can't play at the level.

Sampi will be good at the dees if he pulls his head in, a handy replacement for Byron Pickett.

Why cos their both aboriginals, they play nothing a like.

deeman12
5 Nov 2007, 16:31
I reckon we go Ryley Dunn with our PSD pick. He was pick ten in the 2003 draft and melbourne were seriously thinking about picking him up with our pick 5 but we went for Mclean instead. I would also like us to get clayton Collard who was pick 30 in last years strong draft.

eliasd82
5 Nov 2007, 16:41
r Dunn has worse attitude towards footy than Sampi... thats why freo dropped him...

Clayton Collard i like very much, i was thinking that we try and score them in the national draft if they apply.

Sampi is worth a punt, not much risk cause we are giving up nothing and he will agree to playing at minimum wage of around 55,000-60,000. Give him a shot

Jonesy2
7 Nov 2007, 18:13
If we want Sampi we will have to take him in the national draft. There is no doubt richmond and Carlton would both take him before us. Not only for the fact that he can play and has no price on his head but who else looks any decent in the PSD?

Surely 3 weeks training is enough to sum up his attitude and physical condition. Get in first dees!

master bate
7 Nov 2007, 18:48
If we want Sampi we will have to take him in the national draft. There is no doubt richmond and Carlton would both take him before us. Not only for the fact that he can play and has no price on his head but who else looks any decent in the PSD?

Surely 3 weeks training is enough to sum up his attitude and physical condition. Get in first dees!
I think if he's training and committed with us, we could wait to the PSD, clubs don't usually snatch players like that. Pfeiffer is/was training with Richmond, no idea about Carlton.

melbournemartin
7 Nov 2007, 21:53
Richards to Richmond definitely with #1 in the PSD?

Freo Dr
7 Nov 2007, 22:50
r Dunn has worse attitude towards footy than Sampi... thats why freo dropped him...

Clayton Collard i like very much, i was thinking that we try and score them in the national draft if they apply.

Sampi is worth a punt, not much risk cause we are giving up nothing and he will agree to playing at minimum wage of around 55,000-60,000. Give him a shot

Think you have the attitude problems of Dunn and Collard mixed up. Dunn worked hard but suffered a lot of injuries. Collard thought getting drafted was a ticket to a long running party.

Sampi can play but liked the Hungry Jack's VIP card too much and got homesick. Different setting and Davey might help straighten him out, you rely too much on Davey at the moment and Sampi would free Davey up to play permanently in the midfield or at least half forward.

melbournemartin
8 Nov 2007, 08:00
I think that we still want Davey around the forward line though. We have better midfielders than him but not many better forwards.

DemonErrol1964 - dees
8 Nov 2007, 15:20
Sampi looked like as big as tank in todays Herald Sun. Memories of Byron all over. I say if he isen't disaplined now to play AFL it aint never gonna happen.

Lets save a pick.

DeeMan27
8 Nov 2007, 15:33
But who could forget the mark he took against us? Wouldn't mind that red and blue colours...

Russel Sprout
8 Nov 2007, 15:52
my initial reaction was that we should take a punt on him but after readin this im not too sure.

source : http://footyheads.com.au/index.php/2007/11/08/sampi-deja-vu/

MELBOURNE may be wary of recruiting former Eagles star Ashley Sampi following yesterdays training session at Trinity Grammar School.

Sampi, who has been training with the Demons since leaving West Coast, struggled through yesterdays session then left the track early with apparent knee soreness.

The mercurial forward struggled for game time last year and was publicly criticised for his lack of fitness.

It seemed like a case of deja-vu for Melbourne who were themselves the subject of negative publicity for the lack of match conditioning and fitness of Byron Pickett who only managed two seasons with the club before retiring.

Although this is a very different circumstance, with Sampi only 23 years of age, the Demons would surely be considering their options following yesterdays session.

eliasd82
8 Nov 2007, 16:20
I reckon if he trains well even after this mishap and he sheds a few kgs... we should give him a run.
I'd like to play him up forward and then have the luxury of playing Davey more up the ground which is where he is fantastic at breaking the lines using his leg speed and creative play...

ausde13
13 Nov 2007, 12:51
Sampi = Donald Cockatoo-collins.

NO.

Sampi 2008 preseason looks like he has just eaten Donald Cockatoo-Collins.

Saw Whelan, Davey and Samp's on Cup Tuesday. He is well out of footy fitness to say the least. here are his stat's. 9 disposals a game, Ave 1 goal a game (which has declined each season).

YearGamesDisposalsAve DispGoalsAve GoalsTacklesAve2002433820.5030.7520032120810311.48542.572004 222059321.45622.822005191769201.05522.74200612958121.00352.9 2Career787179971.242062.64

demonfan9
13 Nov 2007, 21:14
Sampi 2008 preseason looks like he has just eaten Donald Cockatoo-Collins.

Gold!