View Full Version : Official campaign to strike A. Demetriou from North Melbourne history
SweetLeftFoot
31 Oct 2007, 20:05
I propose that this man's name be struck from all records indicating he ever represented our club.
He has lost that right, and cannot stand alongside true North Melbourne people like Glenn Archer, Les Foote, Noel Teasdale, Pat Kelly, Anthony Stevens, Keith Greig anmd so many more.
My thoughts would be much, much more sinister!
Jeremias
31 Oct 2007, 20:12
I reckon you should be focussing on a campain to save your own bloody club, even before you think about doing anything to Demetriou.
bonzaburgers
31 Oct 2007, 20:12
yeah his pretty loyal isn't he...sack him!!!
keep north in north don't move a club with great heritage!!!
I propose that this man's name be struck from all records indicating he ever represented our club.
He has lost that right, and cannot stand alongside true North Melbourne people like Glenn Archer, Les Foote, Noel Teasdale, Pat Kelly, Anthony Stevens, Keith Greig anmd so many more.
Shimma ?
No official campaign needed really, I forget he actually played for us to be honest, I don't think of him as a NMFC footballer and that is not just because I think he is a snake in the grass...
If you had ever seen him play you would strike him out of your memory, was a shithouse footballer. I had the misfortune to sit through many a game in my youth watching him torture us as supporters on the field, he is just continuing the tradition off the field.
SweetLeftFoot
31 Oct 2007, 20:21
Shimma ?
What of Schimma?
SweetLeftFoot
31 Oct 2007, 20:24
No official campaign needed really, I forget he actually played for us to be honest, I don't think of him as a NMFC footballer and that is not just because I think he is a snake in the grass...
If you had ever seen him play you would strike him out of your memory, was a shithouse footballer. I had the misfortune to sit through many a game in my youth watching him torture us as supporters on the field, he is just continuing the tradition off the field.
I did see him play, was average at best.
Eagle87
31 Oct 2007, 20:28
Is this like when Hitler rewrote German history to either remove Jews from it or to "de-Jew" them for easier Nazi consumption?
Seriously, you Norf fans need to get a grip.
In this instance the only ones thinking clearly are those who grasp the financial fundamantals of AFL football. Demetriou, for all his failings, grasps this. North can't survive without AFL help. The AFL has said the help is ending.
Just accept that its move or die.
Chris who
31 Oct 2007, 20:29
aylett?
forrrestGump
31 Oct 2007, 20:32
it's not his fault
he has been told by the board, its their requirement
further north has had a great team on the field, but never had support off the field given their success, they give their supporters heaps of enjoyment and are competitive as
why is it dimsims fault if the members arent there
and as for you shareholders, one of them is managing another club, this club has been successful on the field despite the support it has had off the field
the goldcoast would not be my preferred option, would prefer to be out of sydney if i was a kanga and felt like we had to go
not trolling or supporting dimsim, but something has to give as too many clubs losing money
Is this like when Hitler rewrote German history to either remove Jews from it or to "de-Jew" them for easier Nazi consumption?
Whilst this post does use a rather extreme example, i do agree with the sentiment. You don't re-write history to appease your own feelings or views. You report it as it happened.
There are many parts of history that you may not agree with, but it doesn't mean it did not happen.
Get a grip guys. This OP is ridiculous and extremely petty.
delirious1
31 Oct 2007, 20:40
We share your pain:(
blues4flag
31 Oct 2007, 20:41
Boo freaking hoo. What is this, Japan?
Father Jack
31 Oct 2007, 20:42
Boo Demitriroo for thinking of the long-term survival and prosperity of his former club and the long-term prosperity of the organisation he currently runs.
Boo!
Boo Demitriroo for thinking of the long-term survival and prosperity of his former club and the long-term prosperity of the organisation he currently runs.
Boo!
Lets disband all teams and only keep the 'big' clubs A-League style eh?
After all, thats whats the AFL defines as success, positive balance sheets NOT premierships.
DarwinRoo
31 Oct 2007, 21:01
Boo!
Thats funny because AD never played for a club called Gold Coast.
Ever thought that the debt could be wiped in an instant?
North have the benefactor. He still holds 75% of the shares! Step up to the plate Bob Ansett and then grow the profits from his handover.
SweetLeftFoot
31 Oct 2007, 21:10
In this instance the only ones thinking clearly are those who grasp the financial fundamantals of AFL football. Demetriou, for all his failings, grasps this. North can't survive without AFL help. The AFL has said the help is ending.
Just accept that its move or die.
I was thinking more Soviet history.
BTW - I suppose you'd like to see competition where it doesn't matter what a club does - you know, gangsters, drugs etc - as long as they turn a buck?
Your attitude embodies everything that is wrong with not just footy, or Australia, but the world.
La Vache
31 Oct 2007, 21:15
There is some footage on youtube of Demetriou being laid out by Leigh Matthews. And I mean he gets seriously clattered. I think it is of Dermie's first goal. I couldn't find it but if someone does a shortened clip would make a great avatar for a disgruntled North supporter.
SweetLeftFoot
31 Oct 2007, 21:20
There is some footage on youtube of Demetriou being laid out by Leigh Matthews. And I mean he gets seriously clattered. I think it is of Dermie's first goal. I couldn't find it but if someone does a shortened clip would make a great avatar for a disgruntled North supporter.
Then he went to your mob after that.
footyfreak
31 Oct 2007, 21:38
whilst you've got the liquid paper out....why don't you erase that quickie in the dunny, oh and erase the barrage of goals the crows kicked after half time in 98 too
Ah, thats better!!!!
Remember, it's not a lie if you believe it!!!!:thumbsu:
yioughtta
31 Oct 2007, 22:58
I'm still struggling to believe that this bloke actually played for us. And yet when I check the history books there he is. Shudder.
SweetLeftFoot
31 Oct 2007, 23:15
whilst you've got the liquid paper out....why don't you erase that quickie in the dunny, oh and erase the barrage of goals the crows kicked after half time in 98 too
Ah, thats better!!!!
Remember, it's not a lie if you believe it!!!!:thumbsu:
I'd erase Twiggy Dunnes fluke mark and torp too.
thatswhatimtalkinabout
31 Oct 2007, 23:54
Perhaps rather than shooting the messenger or the general as this case might be, perhaps the people who actually make the decisions ie: the commission deserve some vitriol here as well?
Boo freaking hoo. What is this, Japan?
Didn't you blokes pull John Elliott's name off a grand stand? Just following your fine example.
whilst you've got the liquid paper out....why don't you erase that quickie in the dunny
Are you projecting again?
NimChief
1 Nov 2007, 00:26
Ever thought that the debt could be wiped in an instant?
North have the benefactor. He still holds 75% of the shares! Step up to the plate Bob Ansett and then grow the profits from his handover.
eh?
Ansett's hold is much closer to 30% then 75%.
I think you'll find many shareholders contribute lots of money, but it is being pissed up the wall by this an amateur and inept admin that has led this club for too long:thumbsd:
I'm still struggling to believe that this bloke actually played for us. And yet when I check the history books there he is. Shudder.
He looked very different. Not many people ever played at 120kg.
Makes me ashamed to be a Cypriot.
Pathetic little man!Dont blame the messenger Norths problems are their own doing.
I think you'll find many shareholders contribute lots of money, but it is being pissed up the wall by this an amateur and inept admin that has led this club for too long:thumbsd:
This is where the anger should be. Not at Demetriou, but at the people that run the club. What progress has there been at North over the years? How Have North found themselves in this situation?
Many North fans are simply using Demetriou as a scapegoat. The blame for where the club finds itself should be laid on the club administrators themselves.
ANYTHING any Carlton fan has to say on any football related issue is redundant. They're simply seething the arse fell out of their plans to take us over due to their smarmy ineptitude at all things business. Damn lucky for them they found a sugar daddy.....
Carlton=Hypocrites
Carlton=Tankers
Carlton=AFL botty boy
CARLTON=CHEATS!!!!!!!!!
Anything (advice or 'assistance') Carlton (supporters or admin) offers NORTH MELBOURNE should be spat back in their smarmy faces.
Father Jack
1 Nov 2007, 12:28
ANYTHING any Carlton fan has to say on any football related issue is redundant. They're simply seething the arse fell out of their plans to take us over due to their smarmy ineptitude at all things business. Damn lucky for them they found a sugar daddy.....
Carlton=Hypocrites
Carlton=Tankers
Carlton=AFL botty boy
CARLTON=CHEATS!!!!!!!!!
Anything (advice or 'assistance') Carlton (supporters or admin) offers NORTH MELBOURNE should be spat back in their smarmy faces.
Carlton=Not going anywhere. That says a lot about the power of a fanbase overcoming dismal management. Sadly, North don't have that safety net.
4for brisbane
1 Nov 2007, 21:35
its fair to say that he should probably avoid team reunions and pretty much any other north function any time this century :D
I reckon you should be focussing on a campain to save your own bloody club, even before you think about doing anything to Demetriou.
Yes I agree. However it seems fans from the Roos are not interrested in saving their club. They simply want to whinge about it