View Full Version : So what will the new Gold Coast team look like?
Mickdog
31 Oct 2007, 20:32
Colours? Mascott? Players? Can't wait for it, i'm pretty excited. Change is great and new teams bring variety. Hopefully the Kangas don't go up there, they can die for all I care. Its their own fault.
So what will the new team be like and how long wil it take for them to win a flag?
FugaziRoo
31 Oct 2007, 20:36
Not going to die like south melbourne. Go support your fake team you soft piece of sh*t
DarwinRoo
31 Oct 2007, 20:38
Colours? Mascott? Players? Can't wait for it, i'm pretty excited. Change is great and new teams bring variety. Hopefully the Kangas don't go up there, they can die for all I care. Its their own fault.
So what will the new team be like and how long wil it take for them to win a flag?
The feeling is mutual.
awesome wells
31 Oct 2007, 20:47
70 years for a premiership... what a bunch of fcukin losers:thumbsd:
the sharks, black fins of some kind and nick reiwoldt
FugaziRoo
31 Oct 2007, 20:51
70 years for a premiership... what a bunch of fcukin losers:thumbsd:
But there is NO south melbourne left in them now anyway. They are just a pre-fabricated team that the VFL/AFL built for success. They are like the Australian Idol winner of the AFL.
DeesManiac
31 Oct 2007, 21:14
its gotta be a vertical gold and white striped jumper. Would look nice on some of them shinboners
Mickdog
31 Oct 2007, 21:23
LOL, North supporters are very poor losers.
The new Gold Coast team imo should be called the Sharks, be grey or silver. Should be a great team, glad its not a usded up old AFL teram that will die a slow death
well, they wont have the big advantage of a ready made victorian membership base, but it will probably be better for them in the long run on the coast if they are a new side
Doctor Jolly
31 Oct 2007, 21:27
Unfortunetly I think a lot of footy fans will feel that way if the Roos dont take this offer. Its a bloody good one compared to what south, lions or bears ever got.
The way their supporters are carrying on like the world owes them something is not helping either.
But has been asked in other threads with no response, there is no thread of evidence that North is viable in Melbourne. None that Ive seen in all these threads.
Doctor Jolly
31 Oct 2007, 21:29
well, they wont have the big advantage of a ready made victorian membership base, but it will probably be better for them in the long run on the coast if they are a new side
Getting players will be the hardest part. The AFL will be dead keen to wind up the kangaroos the year before GC plays its first game, so there will be a full squad of players looking for a club.
Brilliant
31 Oct 2007, 21:37
Their jumper
http://content.answers.com/main/content/wp/en/thumb/d/dc/300px-SouthportJumper.png
Their logo
http://content.answers.com/main/content/wp/en/a/ac/Sharks.gif
Unfortunetly I think a lot of footy fans will feel that way if the Roos dont take this offer. Its a bloody good one compared to what south, lions or bears ever got.
The way their supporters are carrying on like the world owes them something is not helping either.
But has been asked in other threads with no response, there is no thread of evidence that North is viable in Melbourne. None that Ive seen in all these threads.
There is no offer, just a "go to Qld or else".
FOOOOTY
31 Oct 2007, 21:48
hahahahahahaha Collingwood would love that jumper :)
Getting players will be the hardest part. The AFL will be dead keen to wind up the kangaroos the year before GC plays its first game, so there will be a full squad of players looking for a club.
they will be in the same boat as port and freo, building their squad for the first couple of years from uncontracted players, concession draft and QLD zone picks
its tough to build a squad fairly within in the restricted player movement system that is in place.
Monkey23
31 Oct 2007, 21:52
They will become the SOUTHPORT KANGAROOS
There is no way that the Kangas will lose their identity (Kangaroos) if they move.
Doctor Jolly
31 Oct 2007, 21:56
they will be in the same boat as port and freo, building their squad for the first couple of years from uncontracted players, concession draft and QLD zone picks
its tough to build a squad fairly within in the restricted player movement system that is in place.
I dont think the AFl would be that patient. Between the bears, port and freo it took a good 5 to 7 years for the playing group to be able to truely challange. Couple that with having to get players into QLD, we may not see a competitive GC side until 2018.
Far better to transport a ready made squad of players by shutting down a loss making vic side at the same time. Same way the storm was made from the carcus of the western reds
The Chad
31 Oct 2007, 22:01
fresh franchise? gold coast sharks or gold coast rays (stingrays)
play in a real 21st century style guernsey. remember the silver richmond guernsey? get some silver action happening. silver body, yellow and light purple trimming as additional colours.
kangaroos relocate? gold coast kangaroos.
only question is which sponsors elect to stay on and make the move north. different guernseys for different kangaroos sponsors this season. probably a branding nightmare and some sort of dogs breakfast because it would be the old kangaroos administration moving north with the team. who knows what they could end up with. only guarantee would be that they insist on playing in the blue and white stripes against collingwood, because petty, minor, pathetic issues seem to be the priority of the kangaroos, not the big picture.
The Chad
31 Oct 2007, 22:02
Not going to die like south melbourne. Go support your fake team you soft piece of sh*t
disgraceful effort. no need to flame somebody who is in line with the interests of the sport and the AFL.
I dont think the AFl would be that patient. Between the bears, port and freo it took a good 5 to 7 years for the playing group to be able to truely challange. Couple that with having to get players into QLD, we may not see a competitive GC side until 2018.
Far better to transport a ready made squad of players by shutting down a loss making vic side at the same time. Same way the storm was made from the carcus of the western reds
from a playing group point of view, yes, that would be much better
but if there is not the political will to move or kill a team, then the only way is to do it from scratch
SweetLeftFoot
31 Oct 2007, 22:14
Who cares what you think Dickmog?
another fine and sensible response
SweetLeftFoot
31 Oct 2007, 22:17
Wow, we've got the four key pro Gold Coasters on BF all on the smae thread.
The_Chud
zeroclues
Dickmog
DogJollier
If you guys are so pro-GC football, why don't you all move up there?
Preferably to somewhere without Internet access.
FootyJunkie
31 Oct 2007, 22:18
Would probably be Silver, Black and Gold...and not yellow "Gold", but actual dirty Gold.
SweetLeftFoot
31 Oct 2007, 22:18
another fine and sensible response
You managed to find ANY EVIDENCE to back up your ratings claims?
Thought not.
The Chad
31 Oct 2007, 22:27
Wow, we've got the four key pro Gold Coasters on BF all on the smae thread.
The_Chud
zeroclues
Dickmog
DogJollier
If you guys are so pro-GC football, why don't you all move up there?
Preferably to somewhere without Internet access.
why should The Chad move up there when The Chad has already said The Chad will buy a membership if kangaroos football club folds and the gold coast franchise replaces them?
jimmy_clement#8
31 Oct 2007, 22:46
hahahahahahaha Collingwood would love that jumper :)
I wouldn't care one bit. In fact, if its a 17th licence which no doubt Southport will fork out the 30 mil for, then I'm all for Southport coming in as close to the QAFL Southport club as possible. I mean, I can see where we cut a stink with Port for the prison bars, but if we get shady over a black V on white, well... although with Ed, he'll say no because of the colours straight away, irrespective of the design itself.
SweetLeftFoot
31 Oct 2007, 22:46
why should The Chad move up there when The Chad has already said The Chad will buy a membership if kangaroos football club folds and the gold coast franchise replaces them?
The_Chud should move as far away from civilised society as possible.
The Chad
31 Oct 2007, 22:58
The_Chud should move as far away from civilised society as possible.
The Chad agrees, accept no imitations - beware of The_Chud!
Yep, couldn't provide any information for your crap claims about the ratings and now descending into abuse.
mate everything i said was simple, fairly obvious and was common sense, now i know your ****ing pissing yourself at the prospect that your brokeass club is on the verge of extinction and you want to deny these basic truths and common sense
get used to these things:
the roos have **** all supporters
the roos dont rate on TV
and whats more, your making enemys out of friends, because i dont think the roos should move, but for your sake ill laugh at your dumb asses when you shipped off the coast to try to find more than 10 people who actually care about your club
and hey, you still havent answered my question...
why dont the roos get blockbusters? why are they always the dregs games on foxtel?
if the roos are such a valuable TV product, why arent they ever on?
of course youll just scurry away and avoid the question a pussy
SweetLeftFoot
31 Oct 2007, 23:06
mate everything i said was simple, fairly obvious and was common sense
If it is such simple common sense, then surely you could link to something backing it up?
SweetLeftFoot
31 Oct 2007, 23:09
and hey, you still havent answered my question...
why dont the roos get blockbusters? why are they always the dregs games on foxtel?
if the roos are such a valuable TV product, why arent they ever on?
of course youll just scurry away and avoid the question a pussy
I did on the other thread.
Shit 2006 and perception we would be shit this year. Also, low supporter base.
But in 90s when we played great footy, Friday nighst were highest rasting, hence big clubs vied for it.
When we play great footy again this year, it will change again.
blues4flag
31 Oct 2007, 23:11
Yep, couldn't provide any information for your crap claims about the ratings and now descending into abuse.
A personification of everything that the GC push is about.
Bullying based on no information.
Well done zeroclues.
By the way, why would I want the support of someone living in London who doesn't list a team?
Oh, woe is us, we have not your mighty forces behind us.
Carrying on like this ain't gonna win you or the Roos any support. And why come up with reasons why the Kangaroos will be self sufficient if they stay in Melbourne? If the Roos brilliant 90s wasn't enough to have a decent membership base/following only half a decade on, what could save this stagnant franchise? :confused:
I did on the other thread.
Shit 2006 and perception we would be shit this year. Also, low supporter base.
But in 90s when we played great footy, Friday nighst were highest rasting, hence big clubs vied for it.
When we play great footy again this year, it will change again.
interesting way of looking at it "low supporter base", id put it more like "noone gives a **** about the roos"
if you guys could actually get people to games, or people watching on TV, then you wouldnt be in the shit.
because your game dont rate, your in trouble.
boncer34
31 Oct 2007, 23:17
there is no thread of evidence that North is viable in Melbourne. None that Ive seen in all these threads.
Thats it Roo's fans. No evidence on an internet forum where more shit is talked then during question time. Time to pack it up and head North.:rolleyes:
SweetLeftFoot
31 Oct 2007, 23:20
Thats it Roo's fans. No evidence on an internet forum where more shit is talked then during question time. Time to pack it up and head North.:rolleyes:
Exactly.
And we are meant to suck up to types like zeroclues and dickmog who have always been anti-North.
Must say I am impressed by the reaction of you Bomber fans during all this. Good stuff.
fishmonger
1 Nov 2007, 11:05
Their jumper
http://content.answers.com/main/content/wp/en/thumb/d/dc/300px-SouthportJumper.png
Their logo
I like - very much - very slick :cool:
Though the AFL will probably force them to choose some new colour like teal, green or purple to appease Collingwood ....
The Gold Coast Surfers could be a good new licence. They could have a mascot similar to Johnny Docker and a surfboard with a shark fin instead of the anchor.
http://i9.tinypic.com/4ubqyz5.jpg
mulhollanddrive
1 Nov 2007, 19:00
Can we have Jesse Smith?
Their jumper
Their logo
Thats not bad. Should have more silver and blue in it though
More so the Hunter Mariners
PumpyChowdown
1 Nov 2007, 20:12
It may look something like this:
http://www.leethacker.com/imagehut/images/5156gckang.jpg
Riewoldt - Captain
Voss - Coach
BRING IT ON!!!!!
DeesManiac
1 Nov 2007, 20:20
It may look something like this:
http://www.leethacker.com/imagehut/images/5156gckang.jpg
Riewoldt - Captain
Voss - Coach
BRING IT ON!!!!!
EWW. they would take over from Hawthorn as the worst geurnsey in the afl.
Exactly.
And we are meant to suck up to types like zeroclues and dickmog who have always been anti-North.
Must say I am impressed by the reaction of you Bomber fans during all this. Good stuff.
I am not anti North. I'm pro Gold Coast. If you guys don't move then I hope another team does or they create a new franchise. Either way I really don't care about North, more about expansion
SweetLeftFoot
1 Nov 2007, 20:57
I am not anti North. I'm pro Gold Coast. If you guys don't move then I hope another team does or they create a new franchise. Either way I really don't care about North, more about expansion
Remind when you saw your first senior AFL game?
No offence son, I think its nice when people take an interest in our game, but the interests of existing fans come first.
4for brisbane
1 Nov 2007, 21:21
No offence son, I think its nice when people take an interest in our game, but the interests of existing fans come first.
he's not death ridding north, he's saying afl has a true national future, the gc is part of that, the reality is that north are in the gun at the moment [like south melbourne, fitzroy, melbourne and the dogs have been in the past]
i don't want to see any team screwed, but north needs revenue streams very fast otherwise the afl with pull the trigger [timing is everything re expansion-mergers and north haven't picked a great time in our code's history to look vunerable].
Son? How old are you champ?
Interests of existing fans come first. Why is that? The AFL is already getting their money. They want people like me more than people like you. They want new fans, its that simple.
But hey lets debate our interset in the game rathewr than the subject at hand
Deep North
2 Nov 2007, 00:44
Whatever the new team is called it must have white boots and a gold sash and gold neck trim in the uniform. The shoes and neck trim symbolise the sleazy eighties development past and the sash those lovely meter maids. In fact if they have gold, shiny hot pants, no sox and paint the sash onto a bare chest I really think we've got somewhere. Those away games in Tassie could be a bit nippy though.
I favour the Gold Coast Bounders. It combines the kenetic movement of the kangaroo and the trad Gold Coast trophy wife. The Gold Coast Pyramids could be another one, name themselves after their financial structure. Away games in geelong could be a bit dicey.
Kangas fans, good luck on the fight. No one outside of Collingwood, Essendon, Carlton and Geelong fans should be feeling comfortable or smug. Tassie, Canberra and West Sydney will be lining for the next mob to fall into dept. I'm sending my best vibes to Arden St and so should everyone else. Apart from that, all we can do is wave.
SweetLeftFoot
2 Nov 2007, 01:05
Whatever the new team is called it must have white boots and a gold sash and gold neck trim in the uniform. The shoes and neck trim symbolise the sleazy eighties development past and the sash those lovely meter maids. In fact if they have gold, shiny hot pants, no sox and paint the sash onto a bare chest I really think we've got somewhere. Those away games in Tassie could be a bit nippy though.
I favour the Gold Coast Bounders. It combines the kenetic movement of the kangaroo and the trad Gold Coast trophy wife. The Gold Coast Pyramids could be another one, name themselves after their financial structure. Away games in geelong could be a bit dicey.
Kangas fans, good luck on the fight. No one outside of Collingwood, Essendon, Carlton and Geelong fans should be feeling comfortable or smug. Tassie, Canberra and West Sydney will be lining for the next mob to fall into dept. I'm sending my best vibes to Arden St and so should everyone else. Apart from that, all we can do is wave.
Cheers mate.
You could also sne a hundred bucks of vibes or so too in the form of a membership!
Sunshine Coast HappyFish! Go! :D
blues_bogan
6 Nov 2007, 18:18
http://img219.imageshack.us/img219/1746/goldcoastrooswf4.jpg
giantroo
6 Nov 2007, 18:35
Carrying on like this ain't gonna win you or the Roos any support. And why come up with reasons why the Kangaroos will be self sufficient if they stay in Melbourne? If the Roos brilliant 90s wasn't enough to have a decent membership base/following only half a decade on, what could save this stagnant franchise? :confused:
So you expect the 2 year old who saw the roos play in the 90's to have money now to become members? Come on mate, you're smarter than that? Tell your brother to get one too since he is a so called roo supporter.
CatmanForever
6 Nov 2007, 18:42
sorry if this has been said, but they did say on Sunrise this morning that if NM move to the GC some gold trim would be added to the current NM jumper.
giantroo
6 Nov 2007, 18:43
sorry if this has been said, but they did say on Sunrise this morning that if NM move to the GC some gold trim would be added to the current NM jumper.
Yeh on the outside near the shoulders. Can't even believe they are talking abotu jumpers now.
1jasonoz
6 Nov 2007, 18:46
disgraceful effort. no need to flame somebody who is in line with the interests of the sport and the AFL.
Back in 1996 it was perceived to be in the best interests of the sport and AFL if your club merged with Melbourne- whats changed why did they and their supporters fight if it was in the best interest of the AFL and the sport?
giantroo
6 Nov 2007, 19:18
Back in 1996 it was perceived to be in the best interests of the sport and AFL if your club merged with Melbourne- whats changed why did they and their supporters fight if it was in the best interest of the AFL and the sport?
I'd like to see the poor country get out of this one.
shinboner magic
6 Nov 2007, 20:10
The 17th team is a hoax you morons.
It needs 75% of teams to agree thats 4 if your maths is lacking like your english and history of our great game.
So you would think ,north,bulldogs,demons would be against it and then you would only need 2 other teams to veto the idea.
You must be andy d lapdogs.
ChrisFooty
6 Nov 2007, 21:50
The 17th team is a hoax you morons.
It needs 75% of teams to agree thats 4 if your maths is lacking like your english and history of our great game.
So you would think ,north,bulldogs,demons would be against it and then you would only need 2 other teams to veto the idea.
You must be andy d lapdogs.
If no 17th team, then the Kangas are going to the Gold Coast. End of story. Andrew seems hell bent of putting some club up there, very determined to get his way.
SweetLeftFoot
7 Nov 2007, 00:07
If no 17th team, then the Kangas are going to the Gold Coast. End of story. Andrew seems hell bent of putting some club up there, very determined to get his way.
Andrew is biting off more than he can chew.
And that's saying something ! (the arrogant, overpaid, overfed, fat prick).