View Full Version : Being a Collingwood supporter...
MagpieGirl_13
31 Oct 2007, 20:36
I was just wandering, is it just me or do other Collingwood supporters cop S**t for supporting the pies???
None of my friends are Collingwood supporters, 2 of my friends (twins) & their parents are Richmond & Melbourne supporters. They are always telling me how much Collingwood "suck!"
Most other friends, if they are AFL fans, support the Lions. As a result I don't think I will ever live down the '02 & '03 grandfinals & when they smashed us at the MCG this year...
Now, though, I can bring up our win at the Gabba...
*Like, people ask you "Oh, which team do you support?" I answer "Collingwood". Then they say "They suck!!!" or something (unless they are Pies supporters)...
It anoys the s**t out of me!!!!:mad:
Is it just me or does it happen to others??? Why???
sirlothie
31 Oct 2007, 20:44
I was just wandering, is it just me or do other Collingwood supporters cop S**t for supporting the pies???
None of my friends are Collingwood supporters, 2 of my friends (twins) & their parents are Richmond & Melbourne supporters. They are always telling me how much Collingwood "suck!"
Most other friends, if they are AFL fans, support the Lions. As a result I don't think I will ever live down the '02 & '03 grandfinals & when they smashed us at the MCG this year...
Now, though, I can bring up our win at the Gabba...
*Like, people ask you "Oh, which team do you support?" I answer "Collingwood". Then they say "They suck!!!" or something (unless they are Pies supporters)...
It anoys the s**t out of me!!!!:mad:
Is it just me or does it happen to others??? Why???
Jealously... they wish their club was as rich and powerful as us and play the big games like we do... that and history, going back more than a century ago Collingwood has always been the biggest and strongest and most powerful and supported club, so other clubs and their supporters feel inferior to the mighty Pies...
Flag-wise has been a bit lean for quite a while but we are well on the way to rectifying that too... :):thumbsu:
Basically you either love Collingwood or you hate Collingwood, there is no in between.
MagpieGirl_13
31 Oct 2007, 21:10
Jealously... they wish their club was as rich and powerful as us and play the big games like we do... that and history, going back more than a century ago Collingwood has always been the biggest and strongest and most powerful and supported club, so other clubs and their supporters feel inferior to the mighty Pies...
Flag-wise has been a bit lean for quite a while but we are well on the way to rectifying that too... :):thumbsu:
Basically you either love Collingwood or you hate Collingwood, there is no in between.
So true...
When collingwood beat Richmond or Melbourne (my friends teams) I came to school, understandably happy, & all they could say was "Oh, Collingwood Suck!!!" But on the other hand when they beat Collingwood I just wanted to hide in a corner on Monday morning...
*Jealousy's a curse*
Optimax
31 Oct 2007, 21:31
Always mate, they will never stop baging us cause deep down they know they dont have the balls (or guts for females) to be one of us.
I had a conversation with a soccer following mate about supporting football and he says he only respects collingwood supporters as they seem to be the only supporters with passion.
Collingwood supporters are the only real supporters left, our supporter base is like a family we always stick up for each and never back down. we are what supporters should be.
never be ashamed to be a collinwgood supporter be one and be proud about.
Collingwood supporters= Collingwood family FTW
MagpieGirl_13
31 Oct 2007, 21:39
never be ashamed to be a collinwgood supporter be one and be proud about.
I winter, last day of skool before holidays, My friend dared me to wear my C'wood beanie & scarf to school (she was wearing her Tigers stuff) casue not many people would be there. I did, I got a couple of strange looks, a few Boos & only 1 "Yeah! Legend!!!!". I also have Collingwood stuff plastered all over my school H'work Diary, people look in it & think i'm nuts. but meh...
I've decided if they don't like it they can stick it!!!
Optimax
31 Oct 2007, 21:42
I winter, last day of skool before holidays, My friend dared me to wear my C'wood beanie & scarf to school (she was wearing her Tigers stuff) casue not many people would be there. I did, I got a couple of strange looks, a few Boos & only 1 "Yeah! Legend!!!!". I also have Collingwood stuff plastered all over my school H'work Diary, people look in it & think i'm nuts. but meh...
I've decided if they don't like it they can stick it!!!
Thats the way to be mate, if you cant be passionate you shouldnt support at all.
Geeze i feel a sense of pride in our younger supporters at the moment.
Well done mate
MagpieGirl_13
31 Oct 2007, 21:54
Thats the way to be mate, if you cant be passionate you shouldnt support at all.
Geeze i feel a sense of pride in our younger supporters at the moment.
Well done mate
Hehehe... thanks
I can tell I'm going to be Collingwood for life! Knowing me, I would probably move to Melbourne when i'm older just so I can become a member & go to as many games as possible... Not that my parents agree 100% with me but oh, well...
Tarkyn_24
2 Nov 2007, 09:41
ROFL at all the WC supporters who copped it from me after that final.
It's how it's meant to be. There's always one team, so successful, rich and powerful that jealousy and spite follow their supporters
Snag Breac
2 Nov 2007, 09:58
Some of my friends were horrified when I started following C'wood. They thought I'd gone ferral. I'd never been to a sports event of any sort in my life - except school sports days - until my mate took me along to a game. I hadn't a clue about what was going on, but I loved the MCG and I kept going back until I got interested in what was happening on the field.
So many people have said how wild the C'wood fans are, but that's not been my experience at all. I find them very well behaved, apart from the old drunken yob who keeps yelling at our forwards that he could do a better job. But I expect that's universal.
I think is just jealousy. C'wood just seems to generate such excitement with everything it does.:)
rusdid24
2 Nov 2007, 17:42
We are a big club, we are a rich club, we are (relatively) successful on the field, we have one of the largest supporter bases, we play the big games. Our club has SOUL.
Those paying you out will generally have none of those things.
The majority of the people giving you stick will also have absolutely no idea why they hate Collingwood (I assume they're all 15, 16, 17 year olds) and you should ask them why they do next time you cop it. You'll get an answer like 'because they suck', or 'I just do', or 'everyone does.'
And finally, they are jealous that they will never know what it's like to see your team run onto the MCG in front of 90,000+ people.
Tarkyn_24
2 Nov 2007, 17:59
Used to go to the footy a fair bit with Eagles supporting mates, but I managed to earn the ire of the crowd a few times by wearing Collingwood gear to clashes between teams like Carlton and WCE. :thumbsu:
Though, when it's not Essendon or Carlton the Eagles are playing, I'll slink into the Eagles jumper that Daniel Kerr's parents tried to convert me with.
MagpieGirl_13
2 Nov 2007, 22:27
The majority of the people giving you stick will also have absolutely no idea why they hate Collingwood (I assume they're all 15, 16, 17 year olds) and you should ask them why they do next time you cop it. You'll get an answer like 'because they suck', or 'I just do', or 'everyone does.'
I have a feeling it has something to do with what their parents tell them. I've asked them before why they hate Collingwood, it's mostly "because they suck!" but they've also told me "because the players are w*****s" or something more insulting or discusting...
rusdid24
3 Nov 2007, 01:33
I have a feeling it has something to do with what their parents tell them. I've asked them before why they hate Collingwood, it's mostly "because they suck!" but they've also told me "because the players are w*****s" or something more insulting or discusting...
Because the players are wankers. How intelligent. Most of these people probably go for Brisbane who were the biggest thugs in the league for years during the early and middle part of this decade.
Ignore them, point to the scoreboard, ask them if they made the finals, and be happy in the knowledge we have a team of young superstars!! :D
MagpieGirl_13
3 Nov 2007, 12:31
Because the players are wankers. How intelligent. Most of these people probably go for Brisbane who were the biggest thugs in the league for years during the early and middle part of this decade.
Ignore them, point to the scoreboard, ask them if they made the finals, and be happy in the knowledge we have a team of young superstars!! :D
Well actually the one that say that is a Richmond supporter. She kept saying this year "...well someone needs to hold up the ladder...". lame...
My sister is a Lions supporter, she has never really been that bad but thats only because we've started to curve her into a pies supporter (probably only because Brisbane weren't in the finals).
I wouldn't have it any other way, i personally love debating and arguing my point. Good thing the people i normally argue with are either Richmond or Carlton supporters. I think it's great and shows that most people have no idea what the hell they are talking about. Everyday during the season we would have an argument about how feral we are and how none of us have teeth, this was coming from a Richmond supporter:rolleyes:. After the season we would gang up on the Carlton supporter though, just because it's so much more fun to bag those dipshits.:thumbsu:
CarnthePies
3 Nov 2007, 14:56
"All Collingwood supporters are bogans"
I get told that quite a bit
MagpieGirl_13
3 Nov 2007, 15:01
I wouldn't have it any other way, i personally love debating and arguing my point. Good thing the people i normally argue with are either Richmond or Carlton supporters. I think it's great and shows that most people have no idea what the hell they are talking about. Everyday during the season we would have an argument about how feral we are and how none of us have teeth, this was coming from a Richmond supporter:rolleyes:. After the season we would gang up on the Carlton supporter though, just because it's so much more fun to bag those dipshits.:thumbsu:
I'd love to argue about football with my friends but I always end up losing:mad:. They always come up with the lamest comebacks but they always work cause I can never think of any:thumbsd:
i'm sure they are better than the one i used to always get "atleast we got teeth" was his reply to anything i said.
yeah i get that and doll bludgers, and feral, uneducated long list
I love it, it's always fun to yell and argue with someone that is truely uneducated. When i say uneducated i mean on football matters.:thumbsu:
yeah i know what you meant lol but it does shit me sometimes
I get that, it shits me when they say there point then don't let you reply, especially when there entire argument is "atleast we got teeth".:rolleyes:
MagpieGirl_13
3 Nov 2007, 15:22
That's really weird because i've never heard anyone say "atleast we got teeth" :confused:
what's it supposed to mean???
That's really weird because i've never heard anyone say "atleast we got teeth" :confused:
well the collingwood stereotype is that we are inbred un-educated dol bludging feral that have no teeth. Its not necessarly true but it hasnt stopped people
He thinks Richmond supporters are less feral and are then more likely to have teeth. :thumbsd:
MagpieGirl_13
3 Nov 2007, 15:33
Ahhh... right...
I wont tell my friends that one, otherwise I wont hear the end of it!!!
When my friend see pics of Pies player she always says someting about them having... dicks on thier foreheads..., something lame & immature like that...
Tarkyn_24
3 Nov 2007, 20:42
"All Collingwood supporters are bogans"
I get told that quite a bit
I was told I was a bogan yesterday... :(
Wearing my Pies guernsey, shorts and my basketball singlet, which, coincidentally, is number 4, after Dids.
Johnson#26
9 Nov 2007, 18:04
'Cos it's the law of the footballing land. Such is life, as they say.
Wouldn't have it any other way, because they get as good as they give.
This year has been one, sweet year.
I get that, it shits me when they say there point then don't let you reply, especially when there entire argument is "atleast we got teeth".:rolleyes:
Happened again yesterday, As i said i love it though.