View Full Version : Ten Victorian clubs is not feasible...

bluecamel
1st November 2007, 09:26
People often comment that the non-Vic clubs get a better run in terms of home town support resulting in strong membership numbers, mind the clubs doing the best off field are from traditional footy states.

Ask most footy fans if they reckon 10 Victorian-based clubs is a long term proposition and I'd suggest the majority that would say "no".

I reckon the Roos need to bite the bullet now and take the incentives the AFL are likely to offer them. Demetriou was just on SEN saying that the AFL already funds up to 70% of the Kangaroos revenue. 70%!!!

A couple of selfish points if I may, over the last few years when Carlton's finances have been at, or even past breaking point, no-one else in the broader AFL community seemed to give a shit. There has been plenty of dancing on our grave and zero sympathy shown for our financial plight. I can accept and even understand some of the reasons for that. I'm not necessarily having a sook about that, just making the point. However, in 3 of the last 5 years we have recorded our three highest membership results. Our fans have played a small role in showing they care about the financial well-being of the club.

This news of the Roos having financial woes is not new. It has not snuck up on the average "Shinboner" and yet their membership numbers are continually poor. How much longer can this go on?

I'm sorry, but I reckon the Roos need to move and move now. The alternative option of staying in Melbourne will not work. This one last chance stuff from Roos fans is too late I reckon.

The AFL will go on with or without them. Just as the AFL would have continued to go on with or without Carlton.

airpoe
1st November 2007, 09:29
Lets not forget 50% of the population is in NSW/QLD

Maybe in 30 years later it should be

3 teams in WA
2 in SA
2 in QLD
2 in NSW

7 in VIC

Doctor Jolly
1st November 2007, 10:07
Lets not forget 50% of the population is in NSW/QLD

Maybe in 30 years later it should be

3 teams in WA
2 in SA
2 in QLD
2 in NSW

7 in VIC

North have missed the boat in Sydney and Brisbane, but GC is a very good long term prospect. Based on your ratio of clubs below, GC will be one of the ONLY exclusive area's around. If you come in as the 2nd Sydney team, you'll be on the backfoot behind the swans for decades. With the GC you can make it your own.

Funkalicous
1st November 2007, 11:15
North have missed the boat in Sydney and Brisbane, but GC is a very good long term prospect. Based on your ratio of clubs below, GC will be one of the ONLY exclusive area's around. If you come in as the 2nd Sydney team, you'll be on the backfoot behind the swans for decades. With the GC you can make it your own.

True. Gold Coast people have sperated themselves from Brisbanites long ago. They/ we have a new community mentality now. So far both the Blaze and Titans have won the support of the Gold Coast, so the evidence is there for an AFL club to succeed.

MickZu
1st November 2007, 13:24
Yeah it's like ten macca stores in one suburb. :D

Eventually someone has got to move to the new estate!!

Seanason
1st November 2007, 13:32
Not that 10 Victorian clubs is not feasible, the current Ratio of Victorian Clubs to other states is not feasible.

Should there be an overall expansion of the AFL in all non-victorian states, it would mean less of an advantage towards non-victorian clubs. Would mean less crowds at games, and a thinner pool of quality and quite Probably a 2 tiered competition.

Because the mass expansion of the league is a ludacris idea, with terrible repercussions such as the death of State League football, leaves only the option for an exodus of some victorian clubs, either interstate or if they dont want to move, into the lower levels of football.

blues4flag
1st November 2007, 14:24
Yep. The only thing that's keeping the poorer clubs alive is AFL support. Quite frankly, the Roos have become a leech and will continue to be as long as they remain in Melbourne - they're not self sufficient and in the current Victorian market, that doesn't look like changing anytime soon.

Bazzar
1st November 2007, 16:29
Hawthorn will be based in Tasmania in 4 or 5 years, playing 4 (away) Melbourne games each year, easing the AFL concerns regarding to many AFL clubs in Victoria.