View Full Version : Plea to all Football Fans - Buy a North Melbourne Membership

Pages : [1] 2

TheBuzz
1 Nov 2007, 23:02
1300 36 32 31

This is a plea to every football fan, from every team, in every state.

I'm just another footy fan, like you. However, unlike you, us Kangaroos Members are in the fight of our lives. Literally a fight for survival. 140 years of history facing extinction.

There have been heartwarming stories in the past of "Footy Fans" digging deep & buying a membership when other clubs have faced serious trouble, Footscray is a good example.

There are examples this week of North Melbourne members buying additional memberships, which have been donated back to the club or will simply lie dormant. I have done the same.

I have SO often heard the cliches about how much spirit we play with, can never be underestimated, Never Say Die attitude, best value for money team in the competition, etc, etc, blah blah. People love to say that stuff. If you really enjoy what you see, we need you to back it up.

PLEASE HELP US SURVIVE - CALL 1300 36 32 31 & BUY A MEMBERSHIP. PLEASE!

You can Buy a $50 junior membership, or more if you like. This club means alot to many people, it would be a tragedy to see it die.

Thank you.

Ron
1 Nov 2007, 23:06
Would buying a membership for one year help though?

Wouldn't North need 3-4 years of higher memberships to help them.

I'd buy a membership for this year if i knew that it would help keep the Roos in Melbourne permanently, but thats a guarantee no one can give.

jackson_rules
1 Nov 2007, 23:08
fight alone roos, at least 1 team needs to leave melbourne and you guys are the weakest link

catfan29
1 Nov 2007, 23:14
Ill do it. just coz im a good bloke

blues4flag
1 Nov 2007, 23:16
fight alone roos, at least 1 team needs to leave melbourne and you guys are the weakest link

As much as I feel for the Roos, that's the crux of the issue right there.

Devoid
1 Nov 2007, 23:16

I'm not going to be quite this harsh but I don't think I'll be rushing out to buy a North membership.. If the AFL immediately cut off all funding then I might buy one for a season or 2 but that would be it.

At some point if they are going to survive they have to do it on their own two feet.

thewest
1 Nov 2007, 23:18
i'll do it cause no team should have to move, whats 50 bucks...

TheBuzz
1 Nov 2007, 23:20
Ron, every little bit helps. Its now or never time I'm afraid.

Jackson_Rules, I'd like to know why one team has to leave, but I don't want this thread to be overcome with negativity. So please save it for another thread.

Its merely a plea to those who appreciate our team for what it is, are sympathetic, & do not like seeing us bullied by the AFL.

yeah-nah
1 Nov 2007, 23:23
Wouldnt even miss you. Youre pathetic. Been in trouble for years supporters done nothing and now youre almost gone you beg. Weak.

BLue_Bloys
1 Nov 2007, 23:24
I admire North don't get me wrong, but token gestures from opposition supporters would only prolong the inevitable temporarily.

Good luck, maybe if I wasn't a student I'd buy one.

thewest
1 Nov 2007, 23:29
Wouldnt even miss you. Youre pathetic. Been in trouble for years supporters done nothing and now youre almost gone you beg. Weak.

your the reason your supporters get a bad name......(that and all the cars they steal)

TheBuzz
1 Nov 2007, 23:36
Catfan29, thewest - thankyou. I am seriously grateful.

This may have come across quite desperate, but such measures are called for in desperate times.

I have been a NM member for 14 years, since my teens, have been to every grand final we've been in since I was born, been to hundreds of games. Have been through alot, from being spat on at AAMI stadium, to the ecstacy of winning on that last Saturday in September. My club is staring death down both barrels. I've gotta try something, however lame it may seem to some.

Nubby
1 Nov 2007, 23:44
As much, as i would like to see the your mob stay in Melbourne, There is no way in hell i would give any money to another team.

However i did give the Melbourne 45% of my Donation to cancer research and treatment once.

If they came out with some kind of foundation to help people with no home or food ect and a % of it went to your club for advertisement i think you would attract more people to put a bit of cash to your club, rather than asking supporters from another club to buy a membership.

Be Honest here, how many supporters from the other 15 clubs really give a rats ass if your team goes to the gold coast? it does not affect them in anyway except when they play you away it might not be @ the Dome or the G.

Dylan12
1 Nov 2007, 23:45
Mate been there done that with Fitzroy - will say it again, it does not work, however I don't want you guys in Qld and until SOMEONE finally outlines some form of long term viability option I would rather donate a few bucks to the bums in town.

My point is - for days you North people are asking for favours etc but no-one has outlined a sustainable long term plan, so I will make a deal with you Buzz - post some detailed viability plan and I will kick in a family membership for an underpriveleged North family - sounds fair.

Mr Relax
2 Nov 2007, 00:03
Tigers are the only ones getting my money

TheBuzz
2 Nov 2007, 00:10
Thanks Mantis, again I'm seriously grateful.

Mate been there done that with Fitzroy - will say it again, it does not work, however I don't want you guys in Qld and until SOMEONE finally outlines some form of long term viability option I would rather donate a few bucks to the bums in town.

My point is - for days you North people are asking for favours etc but no-one has outlined a sustainable long term plan, so I will make a deal with you Buzz - post some detailed viability plan and I will kick in a family membership for an underpriveleged North family - sounds fair.

Dylan12 - I appreciate your offer, fortunately people much smarter than me are on the case. It does not help when the AFL move the goal posts on us, earlier this year Demetriou came out & categorically stated that ther was no alterior motive for the Kangas beyond the current agreement they lured us away from Canberra with. Now its effectively "Relocate or Die", Which is really Die or Die in imho.

But I'll have a crack for another membership:
- Reinstate "North Melbourne" as the team name.
- Lets bring all home games back to the Dome, develop (get back to) a week-in, week-out following/Culture.
- Get club Stalwarts Glenn Archer & Denis Pagan on the Board, have them drive our membership campaign, no-one can stir the heart of a north fan like the #11.
- Reconnect with the local community & youth. Promote the game with junior match tickets for the local community, target new immigrants who are reasonably prevalent in Melbourne's inner north/west. Hopefully generating paying members down the track.
- Lobby for equality within the AFL draw, let us play the "big teams" as much as the other "big teams" do, generating additional match day revenue.
- Have the board come out unified, vocal & resolute about our future. Rally the troops.
- Target Sponsorship from Industry, linking in with the immigrant/working class strategy on the development of local community support. Working class sponsorship for a working class team.

How am I going? Its all strategy & I dont have numbers to back it up on the fly, but its a viable direction.

yeah-nah
2 Nov 2007, 00:44
Don't be an arrogant loser, every club has had their troubles including yours. Don't forget your club asked the AFL for help in the 90's and was going to get screwed.

If Collingwood of the 90's had the exposure and supporter base of North you would have folded long ago, show some respect you moron.

Resoect for what? A team that had unprecedented success in the 70s and 90s but was too dumb to capitalise? A bunch of supporters who let their club get controlled by a minority of shareholders and shut them out so they have no say? Havent heard boo from Norf supporters for years. Now theyre about to go under or move they beg for help when the horse has bolted. How can I respect that. Its pathetic. They have always had a chip on their shoulder and nothing has changed.

yeah-nah
2 Nov 2007, 00:46
- Lets bring all home games back to the Dome, develop (get back to) a week-in, week-out following/Culture.
- Get club Stalwarts Glenn Archer & Denis Pagan on the Board, have them drive our membership campaign, no-one can stir the heart of a north fan like the #11.
- Reconnect with the local community & youth. Promote the game with junior match tickets for the local community, target new immigrants who are reasonably prevalent in Melbourne's inner north/west. Hopefully generating paying members down the track.
- Lobby for equality within the AFL draw, let us play the "big teams" as much as the other "big teams" do, generating additional match day revenue.
- Have the board come out unified, vocal & resolute about our future. Rally the troops.
- Target Sponsorship from Industry, linking in with the immigrant/working class strategy on the development of local community support. Working class sponsorship for a working class team.

How am I going? Its all strategy & I dont have numbers to back it up on the fly, but its a viable direction.

And why werent you doing this 5 years ago instead of after the horse has bolted? Its like when you get dumped cos youre an ass to your girlfriend and you promise to change. Its too late!

Dylan12
2 Nov 2007, 01:49
Thanks Mantis, again I'm seriously grateful.

Dylan12 - I appreciate your offer, fortunately people much smarter than me are on the case. It does not help when the AFL move the goal posts on us, earlier this year Demetriou came out & categorically stated that ther was no alterior motive for the Kangas beyond the current agreement they lured us away from Canberra with. Now its effectively "Relocate or Die", Which is really Die or Die in imho.

Its getting there but yeah-nah's analogyabout the girlfriend is spot on - As i said Buzz I want you guys to stay well clear of GC and it is the top end of town and sponsorship that will ensure survival not extra members for one-two years.

But Buzz last week some Kanga posters were talking about non-Kanga AFL supporters buying or setting up a fund that people could buy memberships and then donate them back to underpriveleged Kanga family's, because as noble as it is everyone saying they will buy memberships, if the support on game day is not present, the passion etc gets lost.

I would prefer giving out memberships to these people or new ethnic groups who if converted will create a new generation of Kanga supporters who hopefully purchase merchandise etc etc and then the dollars potentially could roll in, but let everyone know where and when this donate a membership deal will occur.

ChunkyDuckling
2 Nov 2007, 02:42
Whenever I floated this a while back I had North fans down my throat saying we've done it before we'll always be ok and then they would proceed to get stuck into the Tassie Hawks and their piss/poo jumpers..

Sorry, North have always been my second team until I joined bigfooty. If money was not an option for me personally, I would still look at it but I agree with the posters who say that its a short term fix, opposition supporters are not gonna do it for a prolonged period, I think they should look at moving, if the AFL get a 17th team, they are dead men walking.

Just my two cents worth... good luck

Crow-mo
2 Nov 2007, 03:06
Why?

GoOsH
2 Nov 2007, 03:07
supporters from other clubs buying a membership this year won't help, next year you'll be back at the same point again, and still heavily in debt.
You need a plan to generate revenue forever, and you do that by either recruiting more actual roos fans who buy memberships every year, or by generating revenue from non footballing businesses and investments.

TheBuzz
2 Nov 2007, 07:34
i'm well aware we need a long term solution, & one off memberships will not provide long term revenue.

I'm also aware of other campaigns to help the club amongst other BF NM people. I understand it is the 11th hour, but this ultimatum has only just been placed on us by the AFL. We had been PROMISED 2 more years to assess the GC project, until this weeks backflip.

If we can drive membership up for this year alone, at the least it will be easier to fund & implement long term survival strategies from $0 debt than the $-4.25m we are facing at the moment.

All support is helpful, so please don't try & convince others it is not.

I wish I was not so desperate, but this situation is what it is.

clobba
2 Nov 2007, 07:49
I'm sorry for you guys and also dont see a team up there being particularly viable, but Vlads got a bee in his bonnet so the AFL is going to get themselves a team there regardless.

Buying a membership from you guys is a pointless short term solution anyway and I would probably be more likely to buy a fellow saint one to avoid this happening to us....that is if I could afford to in the first place :o

garethb83
2 Nov 2007, 07:58
Its all well and good to sit from your lofty position being a Hawthorn supporter or a Bombers supporter or any other Melbourne club and say, good luck, get stuffed, one has to go etc, but what if it was you?

Whether this is a good idea, who knows? But if you haven't got anything good to contribute, bugger off you clowns. Ever heard of the saying don't kick a man while he's down? Maybe you should take note and stop acting like a two year old pee-brain.

Talk to Fitzroy supporters, talk to South Melbourne supporters. Sure its happened before, it may happen again... doesn't mean its right. When the Swans won in 2005, it was supposedly all good, two clubs working together etc etc, yet there are still many South supporters who can't bring themselves to call them the Sydney Swans, the pain is that raw. Sure you say, they should have done something etc etc but hindsight is a beautiful thing, and you don't have to be rich to have the ultimate passion in our game.

Not every supporter has the money to go out and buy season tickets, with the way interest rates, fuel, groceries etc in this country at the moment, not everyone has an extra $300 or whatever to get a season ticket. Some people are lucky to be able to get to 2 or 3 games a year due to financial constraints, but cheer in their loungeroom every frickin weekend for their team. Does it make them any less of a supporter of a footy club?

I don't know whats required to resolve this and keep North right where they belong, but something has to be done, perhaps a rally or something to begin with, get the media attention, stick it in Mr Demetriou's pipe and make him smoke it, the turncoat.

Unfortunately not all clubs have a billionaire as a supporter who will turn around and bankroll the club's future, otherwise North would be sweet!

garethb83
2 Nov 2007, 08:00
And TheBuzz, without getting all fuzzy and warm and a bit gay, your passion is inspiring, but instead of just doing it on this board, get your message out there. If you're really as desperate as your portray you are, get out there and make something happen....

Easier said than done but as you said, desperate times call for desperate measures! Good luck my friend!

thesting
2 Nov 2007, 08:56
I amdire your passion and enthusiasm, but I just don't see that other team's fans buying memberships for your club will help. We can all jump in and buy memberships for a couple of years and help the Roos get by, then the AFL will put another club on the Gold Coast, those buying extra memberships will stop, and the Roos will go broke and die. I see that as a far worse scenario than moving.

The instruction to buy a membership should be directed at all Kangaroos supporters who can afford a membership but don't buy one, and especially to those who have not renewed previous memberships. Only if those people jump on board, and stay on board, do the Roos have a chance at surviving this. Come on people, if you can, get behind your club!!

If you cannot secure the required number of memberships, sponsors etc, then, as tough at it is to accept for all of the passionate Kangaroos fans, I think that taking the Gold Coast option is the best thing you can do. The AFL are adamant on this, and as much as is sucks, if you can't keep it going in Melbourne you may as well take their offer, money, and any other benefits they will offer to ensure the survival of your club in one form or another.

Captain Afterworld
2 Nov 2007, 09:22
I'd rather buy one of Pink's "albums" than blow my money on a North Melbourne membership.

hoggy34
2 Nov 2007, 10:17
Buy me a Richmond membership and I would use the spare cash to buy a North membership...

Australia
2 Nov 2007, 11:43
I very well may buy one.
On the proviso that a Kangaroos supporter finally stops this charade and says.

"Buy a membership for the Kangaroos"

Why would I buy a North Melbourne membership.
They no longer exist. I will buy one for the beloved Kangaroos.
But the North Melbourne Kangaroos are dead.

If you want my money, for once!!! A Kangaroos supporter will recognise what their team is actually called.

Master of Cooks
2 Nov 2007, 12:59
I'm so sick of all this get behind us, help us out bull$hit.:mad:

If your club, any club, doesn't have enough supporters to grantee a future the club has to do something about it. What have the Kangarros done? Nothing. Yeah so what the AFL have screwed you and you don't have any blockbuster games, or big friday night games etc. Ever think that there might be a reason for this? The AFL aren't going to sacrifice their TV ratings and game attendances just so the Kangaroos can try and stay alive. This year was the most successful year since the Kanagroos last premiership IIRC, and still your supporters refused to jump on board as members. The Kangaroos just don't have enough supporters to convert to members. The Kanagroos board realised that they didn't have enough supporters, and they showed this by changing the clubs name from North Melbourne to just the Kanagroos in order to attract a different range of the population. But that hasn't worked either.

The Kagaroos board suggested playing 8 home and away games up at the Gold Coast per year as a compromise to the AFL's suggestions. Whats the bloody point of that?:confused: Would you support a team just becuase they play in your town. Just ask the Tasmanian people. I'm sure they don't all support Hawthorn. But i bet if they made a Tasmanian team most of the Tasmanians would support them.

The Kanagroos are in deep $hit, and opposition supporters buying memberships for them is not going to save the club. It may keep them alive a little longer, but people euthanize for a reason.:( The Kangaroos need to attract a new range of supporters and obviously there are not enough people in Victoria/Melbourne that are willing to jump on board the Kangaroos, and that means only one thing. They have to move. To the Gold Coast? Not necessarily, but the AFL believe that that is the best option for them. The AFL are not kicking the Kangaroos out of Melbourne, they are simply suggesting that they should move because if they don't the AFL believe we wont have the Kangaroos in the near future.

"Give us more time to get members on board" I keep hearing. Isn't 140 years enough time to build a large supporter base. Face the facts, the Kangaroos do not have enough members in Melbourne for them to survive, and if they are stubborn enough to not move the AFL will not be creating a new 17th team, they'll be building a new 16th AFL team.

Chase the Ace
2 Nov 2007, 15:28
No thanks

If North Melbourne people can't buy a membership and save their own club, why should other supporters bother.
Charity begins at home

Father Jack
2 Nov 2007, 15:32
I'll have every intention of buying the one that gets me into the four games at Carrara next year. Will that help?

pies_this_year
2 Nov 2007, 21:43
I'm so sick of all this get behind us, help us out bull$hit.:mad:

If your club, any club, doesn't have enough supporters to grantee a future the club has to do something about it. What have the Kangarros done? Nothing. Yeah so what the AFL have screwed you and you don't have any blockbuster games, or big friday night games etc. Ever think that there might be a reason for this? The AFL aren't going to sacrifice their TV ratings and game attendances just so the Kangaroos can try and stay alive. This year was the most successful year since the Kanagroos last premiership IIRC, and still your supporters refused to jump on board as members. The Kangaroos just don't have enough supporters to convert to members. The Kanagroos board realised that they didn't have enough supporters, and they showed this by changing the clubs name from North Melbourne to just the Kanagroos in order to attract a different range of the population. But that hasn't worked either.

The Kagaroos board suggested playing 8 home and away games up at the Gold Coast per year as a compromise to the AFL's suggestions. Whats the bloody point of that?:confused: Would you support a team just becuase they play in your town. Just ask the Tasmanian people. I'm sure they don't all support Hawthorn. But i bet if they made a Tasmanian team most of the Tasmanians would support them.

The Kanagroos are in deep $hit, and opposition supporters buying memberships for them is not going to save the club. It may keep them alive a little longer, but people euthanize for a reason.:( The Kangaroos need to attract a new range of supporters and obviously there are not enough people in Victoria/Melbourne that are willing to jump on board the Kangaroos, and that means only one thing. They have to move. To the Gold Coast? Not necessarily, but the AFL believe that that is the best option for them. The AFL are not kicking the Kangaroos out of Melbourne, they are simply suggesting that they should move because if they don't the AFL believe we wont have the Kangaroos in the near future.

"Give us more time to get members on board" I keep hearing. Isn't 140 years enough time to build a large supporter base. Face the facts, the Kangaroos do not have enough members in Melbourne for them to survive, and if they are stubborn enough to not move the AFL will not be creating a new 17th team, they'll be building a new 16th AFL team.

Different situations. People in Tassie will not convert to the hawks if they were permanently down here (well, i certainly won't) because we all have our own teams that we have supported passionately our whole lives. GC are different, a lot of people will vaugely follow a team or not at all, and will have no issues in changing to the roos.

Back to the topic, if i had a spare $50-100 (big "if" being a uni student and all!) it would be going to the starving millions in africa, not to help a couple thousand supporters see their team play in melbourne every second week, (as apposed to every 3rd week when relocated).

Seriously roo fans-I have lived in Tasmania every year and support my club passionatly whilst only being able to see 1-2 games a year when i fly up to melbourne. It's not the bloody end of the world if you relocate, you're still the same club with a sh*tload of extra cash and supporters. You guys are great on the field with no money, imagine if you could actually afford to up grade your facilities, pay the full salary cap, and have endless specialist coaches!! Wouldn't you rather see premierships (GF still played in Melbourne mind you) or watch your club die a long and horrible death?

Have a feel for us in Tassie before you ask for my money, watching a so called "truly national game" but having no team based within 600km of my home (and a stretch of water in between).

Begging is not a good look btw, it you need to beg, then its time to go.

CatmanForever
2 Nov 2007, 22:14
No thanks

If North Melbourne people can't buy a membership and save their own club, why should other supporters bother.
Charity begins at home

agreed. Where is the Roos supporters pride in their club when they wont even buy memberships or go to home matches that give NM revenue. NM have been trying to motivate their own supporters for the last 10 years and not much has changed. My money is heading to Kardinia Park.

Deledio2Tambling
2 Nov 2007, 22:15
Would you do the same if Richmond were in this position? I think not.

- PC -
2 Nov 2007, 22:25
I'm just another footy fan, like you]

BS your a club employee

:rolleyes:

BTW how many on BF have a North membership? How many go to the games?

Look in the mirror and see the real reason North are being forced North

moomba
2 Nov 2007, 22:48
Would you do the same if Richmond were in this position? I think not.

Too young to remember "Save our Skins"?

mantis
2 Nov 2007, 23:01

I'm guessing so, same as some of the Saints supporters saying the same thing, These kids don't realise that other Vic clubs supporters helped them be alive today. :mad:

Deledio2Tambling
2 Nov 2007, 23:02

Only just, yes. 19 atm so missed it.

moomba
2 Nov 2007, 23:03
Only just, yes. 19 atm so missed it.

Fair enough. I recommend you research a bit of your clubs history, you will find the answer to your question above.

ManWithNoName
2 Nov 2007, 23:03
"The Roo Crew" is a $65 non-matchday membership. I'm tossing up between getting that or a $95 8 game membership. Depends on how much I earn in the next couple of weeks.

Reg Hickey
2 Nov 2007, 23:52
Jackson_Rules, I'd like to know why one team has to leave

Its simple really. The AFL is a national competition, yet more than 60% of its teams are in Victoria. Australia is not really big enough (and AFL not followed heavily enough Australia-wide) to support more than about 16 teams, and if you only have 16 teams then Victoria is certainly not big enough to support 10 of them. The Roos with their lack of $$$ and members are proving this every year - there's not enough to go around.

It sh!ts me up the wall that Victorian supporters whinge constantly about no Victorian team being in the GF from 2003 until this year, and then when something like this comes up, the same people whinge about a Victorian club having to move or fold. ITS THE SAME ISSUE - VICTORIAN CLUBS ARE LESS COMPETITIVE BECAUSE THE DOLLARS ARE SPREAD TOO THINLY. As much as a lot of us might want it to be, football is no longer the amateur suburban pastime that it was 50 years ago. That is no longer a viable model. The AFL had to, and did, become a full-on professional sport, and some of you clowns need to get your heads around that fact.

The fact is that in the long term at least one and probably two Victorian clubs MUST go. I have nothing against the Kangaroos in particular, but its obvious that they are the weakest club and therefore the most likely candidate.

TheBuzz
3 Nov 2007, 00:06
Australia - Yes we are called the Kangaroos, no question about that. However FYI, we still trade as NMFC & are for the moment still based in North Melbourne. I hope my "admission" has you making a contribution. if so, thanks.

Manwithnoname, Unexplained - Thank you, every little bit helps!

I must say I'm somewhat disappointed with some of the venom coming my way. I can't see the harm in me or my footy team trying EVERYTHING I/it can to stay in Melbourne. I've yet to hear a convincing argument why we need to go, or that the league cannot sustain more teams.

There are plenty of other threads bagging us out for wanting to survive. I don't believe it is too late.

TheBuzz
3 Nov 2007, 00:22
Its simple really. The AFL is a national competition, yet more than 60% of its teams are in Victoria. Australia is not really big enough (and AFL not followed heavily enough Australia-wide) to support more than about 16 teams, and if you only have 16 teams then Victoria is certainly not big enough to support 10 of them. The Roos with their lack of $$$ and members are proving this every year - there's not enough to go around.

It sh!ts me up the wall that Victorian supporters whinge constantly about no Victorian team being in the GF from 2003 until this year, and then when something like this comes up, the same people whinge about a Victorian club having to move or fold. ITS THE SAME ISSUE - VICTORIAN CLUBS ARE LESS COMPETITIVE BECAUSE THE DOLLARS ARE SPREAD TOO THINLY. As much as a lot of us might want it to be, football is no longer the amateur suburban pastime that it was 50 years ago. That is no longer a viable model. The AFL had to, and did, become a full-on professional sport, and some of you clowns need to get your heads around that fact.

The fact is that in the long term at least one and probably two Victorian clubs MUST go. I have nothing against the Kangaroos in particular, but its obvious that they are the weakest club and therefore the most likely candidate.

You cannot seriously think that we are holding the competition back in terms of performance. check average ladder positions over the last 5, 10, 15 years, anytime since the league became truly "professional"

Our sport is the best paying team sport in the nation. Other team sports all over the world have leagues with more teams than ours, & play longer seasons. The AFL are not struggling for cash, they are spending $100m to promote the game in Western Sydney & SE Qld. Whether NM live or die will make no difference to the effectiveness of that spending.

Will we financially collapse? its a real possibility. But the argument that we need less teams in melbourne to ensure league viability is nonsense.

I'm trying really hard to stay civil, considering the passion involved. This rant is not just directed at you Reg.

cairo tiger
3 Nov 2007, 01:07
why should we ? you ****ed up yur club you fix it

Rory
3 Nov 2007, 01:09
Can I borrow a feeling, can you lend me your glove of love.

moomba
3 Nov 2007, 01:43
why should we ? you ****ed up yur club you fix it

Another one that doesn't remember "Save our Skins"?

- PC -
3 Nov 2007, 06:09
Will we financially collapse? its a real possibility. But the argument that we need less teams in melbourne to ensure league viability is nonsense.

This one sentence demonstrates everything wrong with your argument.

Melbourne ( the city) has proven it cannot sustain xxx amount of teams, North the club have proven it cannot sustain itself in a city where the sponsorship dollar is limited,

This is not about the leagues viability...its about North Melbournes. This is the Carlton argument all over again

''hey we dont care if our board is incompetent or that we cheat because ultimately the AFL need us and will continue to syphon money ''

Arrogant at best pathetically weak minded at worst. Get off your arses and start becoming better businessmen. I wanted more AFL control over Carlton because of their poor handling of their finances, I want North to accept the same, and in this instance the help has a price attached

( for those Carlton supporters who will bring up how financially secure they are now please go back 14 months)

moomba
3 Nov 2007, 06:36
Arrogant at best pathetically weak minded at worst. Get off your arses and start becoming better businessmen. I wanted more AFL control over Carlton because of their poor handling of their finances, I want North to accept the same, and in this instance the help has a price attached

I don't think there is a North Melbourne supporter that doesn't recognise that we have to improve things drastically. On the Roos board you'll see many examples of this, and many suggestions of things that need to be done better.

One of those is an improvement in the performance of our board and administration. For years now they have virtually ignored the Melbourne market, and have allowed the club to drift along (the AFL are complicit in this) without ever giving a commitment that they aren't eyeing a move. This has cost us members, a couple of simple statements from the board (and a name change back to North Melbourne) will improve our performance.

We will be allowed to sell naming rights to the redeveloped Arden St, and while you wouldn't expect to get the money that Collingwood gets from Lexus you are still looking at ways that we can improve our financial performance.

If we are not beholden to the AFL as we have been, I would expect our board to press for a fairer go with the scheduling, things like that can and do affect financials.

So theres just a couple of things that we all recognise need to change. But don't insult everyones intelligence by suggesting that we all just want to sit on our arses and do nothing about our situation.

huggy_b
3 Nov 2007, 08:30
You cant stem blood flow with bandages.

One of those is an improvement in the performance of our board and administration. For years now they have virtually ignored the Melbourne market, and have allowed the club to drift along (the AFL are complicit in this) without ever giving a commitment that they aren't eyeing a move. This has cost us members, a couple of simple statements from the board (and a name change back to North Melbourne) will improve our performance.

Name change and a No we aren't moving and everything is hunky dory? Please stop deluding yourself.

So theres just a couple of things that we all recognise need to change. But don't insult everyones intelligence by suggesting that we all just want to sit on our arses and do nothing about our situation.

Well unfortunately it has taken a cattle prod to get the few passionate members left to start some action. IMO too little too late.

As asked for previously - where is the outlined plan for the long term sustainability of the club - its a business without any business plan or model. Its not a sports club, those days are gone.

moomba
3 Nov 2007, 08:43
Name change and a No we aren't moving and everything is hunky dory? Please stop deluding yourself.

When did I suggest that was the case? Argue the point if you like but don't misrepresent my views to try and prove your point please.

Well unfortunately it has taken a cattle prod to get the few passionate members left to start some action. IMO too little too late.

It's very easy for you to say that North supporters have been doing nothing until now. That would be because you don't actually know what North supporters have been doing for their club over the past few years. Since I've been on BF we have been in this position, I know I personally have bought multiple memberships, put in money to sponsor players, bought premium memberships when I could barely afford a standard one etc etc. And I'm far from the most generous, and thats just on BF.

As asked for previously - where is the outlined plan for the long term sustainability of the club - its a business without any business plan or model. Its not a sports club, those days are gone.

Why are you asking me? One of the things that I would get from the club is more information about what is going on. But just because you haven't personally been shown a business plan it doesn't mean that there isn't one in place.

And it might surprise you, but I'm not necessarily opposed to a relocation. If the board can show me all the relevant information, and convince me that going to the Gold Coast is better than staying in Melbourne I'll be disappointed, but would probably accept it. But no-one is prepared to show us this information, if it is such a clear cut one, what are they afraid of?

chook2734
3 Nov 2007, 09:31
It's very easy for you to say that North supporters have been doing nothing until now. That would be because you don't actually know what North supporters have been doing for their club over the past few years. Since I've been on BF we have been in this position, I know I personally have bought multiple memberships, put in money to sponsor players, bought premium memberships when I could barely afford a standard one etc etc. And I'm far from the most generous, and thats just on BF.

Isn't that the point though? The supporters that the Kangaroos do have have been supporting them for the past few years. The problem is, there is not enough. Another 2 years in Melbourne is not going to increase your members or supporters to an extent that is going to make the club financially viable.

moomba
3 Nov 2007, 10:03
Isn't that the point though? The supporters that the Kangaroos do have have been supporting them for the past few years. The problem is, there is not enough. Another 2 years in Melbourne is not going to increase your members or supporters to an extent that is going to make the club financially viable.

The Melbourne supporters have been ignored for years now. A few small moves will increase membership numbers. Remember too that membership is quite cyclical, and our membership figure to an extent reflects a pretty apalling year and I would expect it to rise significantly.

But in the long run, I still remember people talking about clubs being unable to survive unless they could get 8,000 members. North had Operation Kangaroo and we got our 8,000 members. Then the bar was risen again and that's probably the way it will always be. I'll have to look at the numbers but memberships probably across the board in Melbourne have risen by huge percentages over the past couple of decades. Whats to say that North can't continue to build their membership base, and then do the things that they need in other areas to become more profitable.

And it still annoys be a bit, but in this thread, profit and loss, and TV revenue, and markets have become more important than kicks and marks and handballs and premierships.

What a shame that is, we've become the product of our TV generation. I wonder if people can look at a game of football any more and appreciate it for what it is.

- PC -
3 Nov 2007, 10:11
The Melbourne supporters have been ignored for years now. A few small moves will increase membership numbers. Remember too that membership is quite cyclical, and our membership figure to an extent reflects a pretty apalling year and I would expect it to rise significantly.

A few small moves? Why oh why the NM marketing dept dont employ you

As to your comment...you won 2 flags in the late 90s and have struggled , Freo and Port have overtaken you and 1 of those hasnt won a flag

Chase the Ace
3 Nov 2007, 10:20
BS your a club employee

:rolleyes:

BTW how many on BF have a North membership? How many go to the games?

Look in the mirror and see the real reason North are being forced North

That ^ is exactly the issue.

If NM people don't want their club to survive why would anyone else

moomba
3 Nov 2007, 10:33
A few small moves? Why oh why the NM marketing dept dont employ you

I'm trying to work out your angle here. Either you want to hear a few small ideas that one supporter has or you just want to trivialise everything I say and make a joke of it.

Once again (for those that don't want to listen), I understand that for us to survive significant changes and improvements have to be made. But I have pointed out a few small changes that can be made that will make differences. Big changes have to be made as well, no doubt.

As to your comment...you won 2 flags in the late 90s and have struggled , Freo and Port have overtaken you and 1 of those hasnt won a flag

I'm not really sure what you are trying to prove here. Are you trying to say that North have been successful on the field (in case you've forgot thats where football is played) in the past two decades, or there are other clubs who will have more members than us.

I said that I would expect our memberships to increase significantly this season due to our performances. Do you disagree?

huggy_b
3 Nov 2007, 10:55
When did I suggest that was the case? Argue the point if you like but don't misrepresent my views to try and prove your point please.

You are kidding yourself if that will make any scrap of difference.

I said that I would expect our memberships to increase significantly this season due to our performances. Do you disagree?

While I applaude you for doing your bit to keep the Roos afloat by buying multiple memberships, you are in the minority in the grand scheme of things. You dont have enough members and no amount of on-feild success is turning this around. So no, this season fantastic effort will not = a bucket load more supporters that your club needs.

I admire your passion for the club mooba, but the reality is that you have run out of straw to plug the holes in a sinking ship.

moomba
3 Nov 2007, 11:00
You are kidding yourself if that will make any scrap of difference.

Of course it will make a difference.

While I applaude you for doing your bit to keep the Roos afloat by buying multiple memberships, you are in the minority in the grand scheme of things. You dont have enough members and no amount of on-feild success is turning this around. So no, this season fantastic effort will not = a bucket load more supporters that your club needs.

I don't want your applause, thats certainly not why I have made the decisions I made. The NMFC has given back to me more than I will ever give it.

I admire your passion for the club mooba, but the reality is that you have run out of straw to plug the holes in a sinking ship.

Not your decision to make.

But tell me one thing, when the Saints were in the shit would you have been so pleased to see them moved 1400 miles up the road. If you don't remember that was when supporters of other clubs put money in tins, and if they couldn't afford to do that at least they offered their best wishes and support.

I'm guessing not.

huggy_b
3 Nov 2007, 11:15
But tell me one thing, when the Saints were in the shit would you have been so pleased to see them moved 1400 miles up the road. If you don't remember that was when supporters of other clubs put money in tins, and if they couldn't afford to do that at least they offered their best wishes and support.

I'm guessing not.

Please, I get the worst value for money in my Saints membership, but I still cough up every year. And for my godchild despite his parents being Dorkers supporters. If it meant The Saints were viable and operational, then yes I think the move would be in our best interests.

Point of difference is with St Kilda and The Roos is that we put together a plan and turned it around - The Roos have been fart assing around for the last 10 - 15 years with no results and still no percievable plan other than "get more members" which has been a cracker of an idea thats been going gangbusters so far.

Ideally I would like to see The Roos stay in Melbourne, but the reality is that its not viable. There comes a point where you have to look at things objectively with your head and not your heart.

DarwinRoo
3 Nov 2007, 11:33
Please, I get the worst value for money in my Saints membership, but I still cough up every year. And for my godchild despite his parents being Dorkers supporters. If it meant The Saints were viable and operational, then yes I think the move would be in our best interests.

Point of difference is with St Kilda and The Roos is that we put together a plan and turned it around - The Roos have been fart assing around for the last 10 - 15 years with no results and still no percievable plan other than "get more members" which has been a cracker of an idea thats been going gangbusters so far.

Ideally I would like to see The Roos stay in Melbourne, but the reality is that its not viable. There comes a point where you have to look at things objectively with your head and not your heart.

Well we could cutback on football department spending and not give ourselves a chance at on-field success like the Saints but we dont mind winning a Premiership every now and again down at Arden St.

CatmanForever
3 Nov 2007, 11:44

I do. Your memberships didn't increase significantly when you last won the flag. What makes you think that being smashed in 2 finals in 07 is going to achieve what a flag couldn't?:confused:

DarwinRoo
3 Nov 2007, 11:49
I do. Your memberships didn't increase significantly when you last won the flag. What makes you think that being smashed in 2 finals in 07 is going to achieve what a flag couldn't?:confused:

We might have been smashed in 2 finals but we played a great style of footy. We have a good, young list. There is plenty to be excited about next year for North Melbourne.

Why didnt you start supporting North when we won flags and Geelong were shit? Im at a loss as to why so many people kept barracking for their shitty under-performing teams when they could have jumped on our bandwagon.

moomba
3 Nov 2007, 11:52

You don't actually get the worst value for your membership, but I'll let that one slide. The point that I'm trying to make is if you actually realise that your club actually once relied on opposition supporters to survive.

Personally, I don't think we have put together a serious membership campaign since Operation Kangaroo, that may have been before your time though.

How can you look at things with your head until you have been given information. You may accept what comes out of the mouth of Demetriou and his puppet at the Age, but that isn't facts. As I've said before, if I have been given the facts and that has convinced me that a move is the best thing, then I'll support it (although I won't necessarily continue as a supporter of the new club). But someone seems to be a bit afraid of giving us the facts, I wonder why that is.

I wonder why the AFL isn't explaining why a region with a population 30% of the size of Brisbane will achieve more than 30% of the Lions Qld membership (currently 15k or so). Ask why Gillon McLachlan is going on radio talking about the Gold Coast population being 1m by 2010 .... or 2015, when all Government forecasts have their most optimistic projection of the population as still being less than 900,000 in 2026. Ask yourself why so many people on BF, and half of the media all of a sudden believe that the AFL provides 70% of our revenue, 2 days after Demetriou gave the most misleading statement in football this year. Do you think he might have had some sort of idea this would happen? And with a membership campaign happening in a few days, how much do you really think the AFL has been encouraging North supporters to pay up and buy a membership (because surely thats what everyone in footy wants)?

You are being lied to, and you are accepting their lies.

moomba
3 Nov 2007, 12:00

What was our membership in 1999?

chook2734
3 Nov 2007, 12:17
Personally, I don't think we have put together a serious membership campaign since Operation Kangaroo, that may have been before your time though.

Wow, well what have your club been doing then? Surely the writing has been on the wall for a long time now? They can't have been that naive to think the AFL would keep them afloat for ever.

DarthTed
3 Nov 2007, 12:18
What was our membership in 1999?

1999 - 22,080
2000 - 22,156

- PC -
3 Nov 2007, 12:31
I'm trying to work out your angle here. Either you want to hear a few small ideas that one supporter has or you just want to trivialise everything I say and make a joke of it. Just amused you think it will only take '' a few small moves''

Yes possibly and my rebuttal to that was you won 2 flags in the larte 90s and still struggle/d for members. That tells me success often doesnt equate to membership increase ie Fremantle

moomba
3 Nov 2007, 12:37
Wow, well what have your club been doing then? Surely the writing has been on the wall for a long time now? They can't have been that naive to think the AFL would keep them afloat for ever.

You'll find that most supporters have been critical for some years of the way the club has focussed on the interstate markets at the expense of the Melbourne market. The name change is only one part of that.

The AFL is complicit in that as well.

moomba
3 Nov 2007, 12:39
1999 - 22,080
2000 - 22,156

Progress then, and progress the year after and the year after. Last year was the first drop for a long while IIRC (and it was a big drop), that will be corrected this season.

moomba
3 Nov 2007, 12:44
Just amused you think it will only take '' a few small moves''

How many times do I have to tell you that I don't think it will only take a few small moves. You are severely testing my resolve not to get banned today, but I'll direct you to sentences from the post you quoted, unfortunately you accidently forgot to include this bit (I wonder why that is?).

Once again (for those that don't want to listen), I understand that for us to survive significant changes and improvements have to be made. But I have pointed out a few small changes that can be made that will make differences. Big changes have to be made as well, no doubt.

Why are you still trying to misrepresent my words?

Yes possibly and my rebuttal to that was you won 2 flags in the larte 90s and still struggle/d for members. That tells me success often doesnt equate to membership increase ie Fremantle

The aim of winning a flag, isn't to get the most members. It's to win the f**king flag. It's quite amusing that you quote the fact the North have won more premierships than two other clubs as some sort of reason why we are less worthy of being in the league.

You either think of sport as a popularity contest, or an accouting contest. You probably don't even care what happens on the field.

But for the record, footy is played on grass, not an excel spreadsheet.

- PC -
3 Nov 2007, 12:51
How many times do I have to tell you that I don't think it will only take a few small moves. You are severely testing my resolve not to get banned today, but I'll direct you to sentences or two from my response to you that you have mysteriously forgotten to quote.

Why are you still trying to misrepresent my words? How can it be misrepresentation? This is what I quoted

Still misrepresented what you said?

The aim of winning a flag, isn't to get the most members. It's to win the f**king flag. It's quite amusing that you quote the fact the North have won more premierships than two other clubs as some sort of reason why we are less worthy of being in the league.

You either think of sport as a popularity contest, or an accouting contest. You probably don't even care what happens on the field.But you equate success ie winning the fking flag to membership increases... I am pointing out that winning the fking flag doesnt necessarily mean more members.

And your last line is childish and laughable. Cant attack my argument so pretend to be more knowledgable about football. I dont know if you are or arent, all I am responding to is your comments

But for the record, footy is played on grass, not an excel spreadsheet.

And there is grass in Qld

DarthTed
3 Nov 2007, 12:54
Progress then, and progress the year after and the year after. Last year was the first drop for a long while IIRC (and it was a big drop), that will be corrected this season.

The figures that I found (and they are from a North Melbourne fansite - http://www.searchingkangaroo.com/forum/upload/index.php?showtopic=957) show the following:

1999 - 22,080
2000 - 22,156
2001 - 22,940
2002 - 20,831
2003 - 21,403
2004 - 23,420
2005 - 24,145

Doesn't have figures for 2006 or 2007.

moomba
3 Nov 2007, 12:59
How can it be misrepresentation? This is what I quoted

You said that I think that everything will be resolved with small decisions. I have never said that, in fact I have said the opposite.

Still misrepresented what you said?

Yes, I'm not bothered with anything I've written that you quote. And a few small moves will improve supporter numbers. Improving supporter numbers is only a small part of what it will take to sort out the club.

But you equate success ie winning the fking flag to membership increases... I am pointing out that winning the fking flag doesnt necessarily mean more members.

Explain the drop in membership between 2006 and 2007, most Roos would say the season before last was the most depressing on field in a couple of decades. The BF board the season before lat was full of people saying that they wouldn't renew or knew people that wouldn't renew because of the type of football we were playing. I expect a lot of them to come back on board after last season which was a fantastic one for the club.

And your last line is childish and laughable. Cant attack my argument so pretend to be more knowledgable about football. I dont know if you are or arent, all I am responding to is your comments

Your only argument is a blatant lie about my views.

And there is grass in Qld

But not that many people that give a toss about playing footy on it.

moomba
3 Nov 2007, 13:05
The figures that I found (and they are from a North Melbourne fansite - http://www.searchingkangaroo.com/forum/upload/index.php?showtopic=957) show the following:

1999 - 22,080
2000 - 22,156
2001 - 22,940
2002 - 20,831
2003 - 21,403
2004 - 23,420
2005 - 24,145

Doesn't have figures for 2006 or 2007.

Thank you for that. Going purely from memory the membership in 2006 was a record, about 25,000. There was a big drop this season and a lot of that was attributed to how we played the season before.

I'm a bit surprised by that actually, I thought we had been making slow (painfully) progress for some time without dips. Apparently not, but I still say that 25k is the base that we should be looking to grow from. And if our board come out, tell Fonzy Demetriou to f**k off, issue proper rallying call to the Melbourne supporters and change the name back to North Melbourne I'd be disappointed if we don't reach 30k.

I'm actually so confident that if they do all 3 of the above and we don't reach 30k, I will pledge to never post on BF again.

Sadly I'm not so confident that our board will do all three.

DarthTed
3 Nov 2007, 13:10
Thank you for that. Going purely from memory the membership in 2006 was a record, about 25,000. There was a big drop this season and a lot of that was attributed to how we played the season before.

I'm a bit surprised by that actually, I thought we had been making slow (painfully) progress for some time without dips. Apparently not, but I still say that 25k is the base that we should be looking to grow from. And if our board come out, tell Fonzy Demetriou to f**k off, issue proper rallying call to the Melbourne supporters and change the name back to North Melbourne I'd be disappointed if we don't reach 30k.

I'm actually so confident that if they do all 3 of the above and we don't reach 30k, I will pledge to never post on BF again.

Sadly I'm not so confident that our board will do all three.

You'd have to think that if they can't get to 30,000 members next year then the chances of surviving in Melbourne are almost none.

moomba
3 Nov 2007, 13:14
You'd have to think that if they can't get to 30,000 members next year then the chances of surviving in Melbourne are almost none.

To be perfectly honest, I think memberships are the least of our problems. Fonzy wants us out and I'm not sure what it will take from stopping him getting his way.

I will say that the daily briefings him and Gillon McLachlan are giving to the press are hardly helping a membership campaign that has kicked off and will be doing so in earnest next week.

A cycnical type would suggest that they don't actually want us to have good membership numbers. Makes a move that much harder for the poor dears.

Putting that rant aside, it seems a bit of a case of "so long as I'm doing better than my neighbour".

I posted before when 8,000 members was the key figure, it will go up and go up and I'm sure if we get 30k the AFL will come out saying that we need 35k to survive.

DarthTed
3 Nov 2007, 13:35
To be perfectly honest, I think memberships are the least of our problems. Fonzy wants us out and I'm not sure what it will take from stopping him getting his way.

I will say that the daily briefings him and Gillon McLachlan are giving to the press are hardly helping a membership campaign that has kicked off and will be doing so in earnest next week.

A cycnical type would suggest that they don't actually want us to have good membership numbers. Makes a move that much harder for the poor dears.

Putting that rant aside, it seems a bit of a case of "so long as I'm doing better than my neighbour".

I posted before when 8,000 members was the key figure, it will go up and go up and I'm sure if we get 30k the AFL will come out saying that we need 35k to survive.

Agree with most of what you said there, no doubt the AFL could help with the membership drive if they really wanted to but for their own reasons they aren't going to do that. IMO though, member numbers are the jumping off point and if you can get that up to 30,000 then there could be flow on effects from that with sponsorship etc.

Captain Afterworld
3 Nov 2007, 14:11
Can I borrow a feeling, can you lend me your glove of love.

http://www.rob-clarkson.com/duff-brewery/kirkvanhouten/03.jpg

Mitchell Madness
3 Nov 2007, 15:08
if every Kangaroos supporter bought a Membership, and attended matches, this would not be a problem.

Chase the Ace
3 Nov 2007, 15:28
if every Kangaroos supporter bought a Membership, and attended matches, this would not be a problem.

Yes, it really is that simple :thumbsu:
How come NM supporters can't see it

Mitchell Madness
3 Nov 2007, 15:37
Yes, it really is that simple :thumbsu:
How come NM supporters can't see it

Perhaps they dont realise that to runa successful club, support in the form of membership is needed

DarwinRoo
3 Nov 2007, 17:04

Because its pretty much impossible for any club to have all of its supporters as members and attending matches.

Do Collingwood have 750000+ members?

Mitchell Madness
3 Nov 2007, 17:07
Because its pretty much impossible for any club to have all of its supporters as members and attending matches.

ok perhaps i did over exagerate a little, but overall, only a very small % of your supporters attend matches or buy memberships.The only club with an excuse for poor membership is the bulldogs who have a very small supporter base.

Anti Gold Coast
3 Nov 2007, 17:18
ok perhaps i did over exagerate a little, but overall, only a very small % of your supporters attend matches or buy memberships.The only club with an excuse for poor membership is the bulldogs who have a very small supporter base.

Do you enjoy speaking out of your arse, or does it just come naturally to you? Do you not realise that we have one of the highest members:supporters ratio in the AFL?

cats2rise
3 Nov 2007, 17:19
I'll pass.

DarwinRoo
3 Nov 2007, 17:20

I think you will find that North has been either top or close to the top in terms of member to supporter ratio in the league.

Essendon in 2006 only had 7000 more members than North Melbourne even with a supporter base that is at least double and probably closer to triple Norths.

If North's membership is 25k from a base of 250k then surely Essendons should be 50k and possibly 75k.

pies_this_year
3 Nov 2007, 19:22
I think you will find that North has been either top or close to the top in terms of member to supporter ratio in the league.

Essendon in 2006 only had 7000 more members than North Melbourne even with a supporter base that is at least double and probably closer to triple Norths.

If North's membership is 25k from a base of 250k then surely Essendons should be 50k and possibly 75k.

then how the hell do you expect to stay in melbourne then? You can't afford to stay! The AFL is given you are once in a lifetime chance to move too by far the fastest growing location in Australia, throwing sh*tloads of money, even draft concessions!

Would you rather struggle in melbourne, or watch your team win premierships??

DarwinRoo
3 Nov 2007, 19:48
then how the hell do you expect to stay in melbourne then? You can't afford to stay! The AFL is given you are once in a lifetime chance to move too by far the fastest growing location in Australia, throwing sh*tloads of money, even draft concessions!

The Gold Coast wont be my team and I have seen us struggle in Melbourne but i have also seen Premierships. How many Pie premierships have you seen?

We can afford to stay. Maybe if the AFL stopped propping up the Pies and the Bombers and created an even fixture and gave all clubs equal games on FTA, teams like North, Melbourne and The Bulldogs would be able to thrive.

moomba
3 Nov 2007, 20:26

I'd rather struggle in Melbourne easily. And don't forget that we finished 3rd last season, and have won two premierships since Collingwoods last one.

robaba
4 Nov 2007, 00:16
I'd rather watch ballroom dancing than footy without my Kangaroos.

Chase the Ace
4 Nov 2007, 08:32

And there in lies the reality of why NM will go under.

Where is it written, that all members must or even want to turn up to every match?
Where is it written a member buys a membership for the sole reason of going to the game.

With thinking like yours I hope you do go under.

YOU and those think like you ARE the problem

The Chad
4 Nov 2007, 09:16
kangaroos football club's greed and ignorance knows no bounds.

If ANY hawthorn supporter was to buy a kangaroos football club membership it would be akin to changing teams.

why would any fan want to keep alive a club that has openly ridiculed every other club in the league and unjustifiedly mocked the fans of other clubs on these boards. The Chad would like nothing more than to see these fans get their just desserts and be lost to the brand of AFL forever.

if kangaroos football club fans love their club and not the brand of AFL they'll accept that there is no more future there and follow the team in the VFL in future. if the so-called loyalty they trump on about does exist then it should be a VFL powerhosue, and may even make a south sydney style push for re-admission into the AFL if it can prove a point in a lower division.

and if any dogs, dees, saints, bombers or blues fan buys a kangaroos football club membership then you're supporting an institution that openly hates and ridicules your team. WHY WOULD YOU DO IT?

Anti Gold Coast
4 Nov 2007, 09:22
kangaroos football club's greed and ignorance knows no bounds.

If ANY hawthorn supporter was to buy a kangaroos football club membership it would be akin to changing teams.

why would any fan want to keep alive a club that has openly ridiculed every other club in the league and unjustifiedly mocked the fans of other clubs on these boards. The Chad would like nothing more than to see these fans get their just desserts and be lost to the brand of AFL forever.

if kangaroos football club fans love their club and not the brand of AFL they'll accept that there is no more future there and follow the team in the VFL in future. if the so-called loyalty they trump on about does exist then it should be a VFL powerhosue, and may even make a south sydney style push for re-admission into the AFL if it can prove a point in a lower division.

and if any dogs, dees, saints, bombers or blues fan buys a kangaroos football club membership then you're supporting an institution that openly hates and ridicules your team. WHY WOULD YOU DO IT?

Why would you refer to yourself in the third person?

The Chad
4 Nov 2007, 09:23
Why would you refer to yourself in the third person?
The Chad does it to show that kangaroos football club fans are more interested in arguing minor issues on bigfooty such as why The Chad refers to himself in third person rather than talk about the football related elements of The Chad's posts.

The Chad has just aced you with his football content.

Anti Gold Coast
4 Nov 2007, 09:26
The Chad does it to show that kangaroos football club fans are more interested in arguing minor issues on bigfooty such as why The Chad refers to himself in third person rather than talk about the football related elements of The Chad's posts.

The Chad has just aced you with his football content.

I just thought I'd bring up something meaningless, because it would be too futile to argue with somebody who can't even structure sentences, let along raise arguments with any merit.

The Chad
4 Nov 2007, 09:29
I just thought I'd bring up something meaningless, because it would be too futile to argue with somebody who can't even structure sentences, let along raise arguments with any merit.
The Chad has won, you've failed to assess why any sane and rational fan of teams that kangaroos football club openly mocks and hates on these boards and at the grounds on gameday would buy a membership.

Anti Gold Coast
4 Nov 2007, 09:32
The Chad has won, you've failed to assess why any sane and rational fan of teams that kangaroos football club openly mocks and hates on these boards and at the grounds on gameday would buy a membership.

I've never seen the Kangaroos FC mock any supporter from another team.

Grunty
4 Nov 2007, 10:44
i'll do it cause no team should have to move, whats 50 bucks...

Ditto.

Fraz
4 Nov 2007, 11:18
I really do feel for Kangaroos fans but I'm not going to prop up another side. You need to make it on your own. Besides, this only helps in the short-term. Do you want to have to go through this every couple of years, or even worse every year, asking opposition supporters to buy memberships to save your side?

Also, if the Kangroos get a whole lot of opposition supporters buying memberships to save your team then you (Roos supporters) waver any rights to bag another clubs supporters/team as they're helping to keep your club a float.