View Full Version : We have to kill North
Doctor Jolly
2 Nov 2007, 10:28
Its the only way the new Gold Coast team can get access to enough players to be competitive in its first few years.
No point feeling sorry for north, they want death, they are CHOOSING death, and they must accept death.
Edit: Ok, "kill" is too strong a word. Relegate is probably better. Dont know how to edit thread title, so if a mod wants to...
Oh would you give it a f**king rest.
The likes of you will never kill the likes of North.
Doctor Jolly
2 Nov 2007, 10:32
You need to accept both sides of the argument, and this board needs as many counter-arguments to the "Must save North" ones.
Dont kill debate.
You need to accept both sides of the argument, and this board needs as many counter-arguments to the "Must save North" ones.
Dont kill debate.
It's not debate, it's just you saying that North has to move over and over and over again. I wouldn't mind so much if you tried to inect a bit of discussion into your posts rather than just regurgitate the same message.
Doctor Jolly
2 Nov 2007, 10:39
It's not debate, it's just you saying that North has to move over and over and over again. I wouldn't mind so much if you tried to inect a bit of discussion into your posts rather than just regurgitate the same message.
Is that any different from the many North fans saying they must stay in Melbourne dispite no plan being put forward on how to do it ?
Ok, this thread is probably overly harsh and dramatic, but in other threads I've put forward many good arguments for relocation.
We have to kill Doctor Jolly. Cretin.
NorthBhoy
2 Nov 2007, 11:18
What's your angle on this, Doctor Jolly? If you say "I'm just a fan of footy" or something equally ridiculous, we'll all know you're lying.
Out with it.
They have chosen death. Let them have it
cschreuder61
2 Nov 2007, 11:25
Don't like the thread title at all.
I have no feelings towards North really more than any other opposition club, but to say 'kill' is a bit much for a side that has been such a part of the competition for so long. That's a massive under-statment.
I remember around the Hawk/Demons (Dawks) merger time how stressful it was, and its a massive deal to members and supporters. Another understatement.
It does look like bad for the Kangaroos, but don't stick the knife in, its a cheap shot.
Doctor Jolly
2 Nov 2007, 11:56
What's your angle on this, Doctor Jolly? If you say "I'm just a fan of footy" or something equally ridiculous, we'll all know you're lying.
Out with it.
As Soon as the VFL/AFL set out to becoming a national competition, over 25 years ago, there was always going to be a rationalisation of victorian clubs in the elite competition as there have been in other states. Anyone supprised by this, needs to examine their intellectual capacity.
IMO, Demetriou and Jackson dropped the ball. They sat back on their assess, proping up unsustainable clubs for the past decade.
I mean seriously, if SEQ can support a 2nd team now, why couldnt it back in 2004 when AFL was on a massive high profile boost ? How can Western Sydney be any less attractive now than Sydney was back in 1983 ?
By dragging this rationalisation process out, they have lost momentum, caused unnecessary in-fighting, and drained the comp of financial revenue. Is mismanagement.
For the vast majority of AFL fans, Sydney is a much better reincarnation of South. Ditto Brisbane for Fitzroy. I mean anyone can drag out an old Roy boy to disgree, but they are in the minority.
The Pro-melbourne North supporters on here cant present an idea of how North could survive in Melbourne, seem to be more interested in their own self-interest as per location, and seem to be holding back the club from forging ahead and opening up the opportunity to be truely independed and control its own destiny.
Are there any North supporters on here who are pro-GC ?
Hit And Rum
2 Nov 2007, 12:43
The Kangaroos will live on...just with Gold Coast in fron of their name...if not they will be spread like dust to the four winds. It's not an attack it is reality. You don't need an angle or an agenda to state the obvious...
NorthBhoy
2 Nov 2007, 12:49
As Soon as the VFL/AFL set out to becoming a national competition, over 25 years ago, there was always going to be a rationalisation of victorian clubs in the elite competition as there have been in other states. Anyone supprised by this, needs to examine their intellectual capacity.
IMO, Demetriou and Jackson dropped the ball. They sat back on their assess, proping up unsustainable clubs for the past decade.
I mean seriously, if SEQ can support a 2nd team now, why couldnt it back in 2004 when AFL was on a massive high profile boost ? How can Western Sydney be any less attractive now than Sydney was back in 1983 ?
By dragging this rationalisation process out, they have lost momentum, caused unnecessary in-fighting, and drained the comp of financial revenue. Is mismanagement.
For the vast majority of AFL fans, Sydney is a much better reincarnation of South. Ditto Brisbane for Fitzroy. I mean anyone can drag out an old Roy boy to disgree, but they are in the minority.
The Pro-melbourne North supporters on here cant present an idea of how North could survive in Melbourne, seem to be more interested in their own self-interest as per location, and seem to be holding back the club from forging ahead and opening up the opportunity to be truely independed and control its own destiny.
Fantastic.
Any chance you can answer the question?
You must be hit at parties.
"You support footy mate?".
"Yes. Thanks for asking. I support the expansion of the AFL as a corporate entitiy, making sure it takes every opportunity developing in what we call expanding markets, killing off those pesky 140yo football clubs. The passion people for those things is foreign to me. I am president of the cheersquad, and we often raise our banner outside of AFL headquarters before a board meeting"
You're a flog.
TheGeneral
2 Nov 2007, 13:30
Let them go out of business if they're that stubborn.
Why should I care if they're dumb enough to think they can survive in Melbourne?
They can broke and out of business for all I care.
Their fans laughed at us when we nearly went broke, and trolled us over accessing the CHB, Wells and receiving priority picks since 2002.
What goes around, comes around.
They only have themselves to blame after they didn't build on the team of the nineties.
I hope the AFL start up a Gold Coast club from scratch like the Lions and make them earn their success through hard work and good recruiting.
No more flags with asterisks next to them. :thumbsd:
The AFL's MO is knee jerk responses to issues like drugs in sport and draft concessions.
They're just making policy on the run due to the creation of the Gold Coast Titans and the threat soccer poses after our success in the World Cup.
Demetriou presiding over the demise of the club he played for after he signed a record TV deal would be sweet.
The Zebra
2 Nov 2007, 13:35
No more flags with asterisks next to them. :thumbsd:
Yep. Carlton's 16 are enough.
Master of Cooks
2 Nov 2007, 14:54
I think you'll find that North Melbourne are already dead.
Its the Kangaroos now.:rolleyes:
A Living God
2 Nov 2007, 15:19
We don't have to kill North.
Melbourne or the Western Bulldogs could die in their place and still achieve the same result..
Father Jack
2 Nov 2007, 15:24
If you wanted a debate you should have taken a more considered approach the thread title. Kanga's fans are touchy at the best of times.
:thumbsu:
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/c/c4/North_Melbourne_Football_Club_Logo.png
MagooTheRoo
2 Nov 2007, 15:28
That's rich coming from a Sydney supporter. How much money did that sink hole take to fill up?
If you wanted a debate you should have taken a more considered approach the thread title. Kanga's fans are touchy at the best of times.
Better people get straight to the point eh mate?
Truetiger
2 Nov 2007, 15:29
If you kill the Kangaroos you kill the game of Australian football. The game wont be the same without them.
SonOfReep
2 Nov 2007, 15:47
If you kill the Kangaroos you kill the game of Australian football. The game wont be the same without them.
We'll take our chances on that thanks.
IIRC, Doctor Jolly mate I seem to recall a thread on the main board not long ago where you placed forth your argument as to why North should move and then NimChief and Yioughhta(?) absolutely smashed you with evidence from articles and everything and after about 5-10 pages you just resorted to flaming North.
You say we should hear both sides of the story and that we present no arguments but in truth North supporters have already debated with you and you were soundly beaten. Grow up you immature troll.
Hit And Rum
2 Nov 2007, 16:43
We are not killing the Kangaroos just moving to them to the Gold Coast. If they decide not to go then we are still not killing them - they are committing suicide.
Father Jack
2 Nov 2007, 16:46
IIRC, Doctor Jolly mate I seem to recall a thread on the main board not long ago where you placed forth your argument as to why North should move and then NimChief and Yioughhta(?) absolutely smashed you with evidence from articles and everything and after about 5-10 pages you just resorted to flaming North.
You say we should hear both sides of the story and that we present no arguments but in truth North supporters have already debated with you and you were soundly beaten. Grow up you immature troll.
:confused:
Thought there was no such thing?
I thiunk I read that thread. Mostly biased articles were used with little to no relevence in the issue. Jolly was just poor at debating the issue. Its that simple.
We shouldn't be talking about the death of North or other rubbish like that. We should be talking about the expansion of the game and the strength we will see in the AFL
giantroo
2 Nov 2007, 16:53
We are not killing the Kangaroos just moving to them to the Gold Coast. If they decide not to go then we are still not killing them - they are committing suicide.
I'd rather us commit suicide after trying to find all avenues to survive and we members have control then be treated like rag dolls on the GC and lose 140 years of history.
A Living God
2 Nov 2007, 17:02
I'd rather us commit suicide after trying to find all avenues to survive and we members have control then be treated like rag dolls on the GC and lose 140 years of history.
You do realise that nothing you do it the present can change the past.
Regardless if they cease to exist or moves to the Gold Coast is the history of the North Melbourne Football Clubb will be exactly the same.
Captain Afterworld
2 Nov 2007, 17:09
If you move the Dodgers to LA you kill the game of baseball... The game wont be the same...
DarwinRoo
2 Nov 2007, 17:23
You do realise that nothing you do it the present can change the past.
Regardless if they cease to exist or moves to the Gold Coast is the history of the North Melbourne Football Clubb will be exactly the same.
Your right nothing can change the great history of the club but whether it be death or relocation after 2009 then the history of the North Melbourne Football club stops.
RooBoy72
2 Nov 2007, 17:58
Pretty sure North Melbourne was in the song when we flogged you this season???
Opposition supporters shouldn't go to North home games in Melbourne, it may be hard not to go but it's for the good of the competition.
RooBoy72
2 Nov 2007, 18:01
That's rich coming from a Sydney supporter. How much money did that sink hole take to fill up?
there's a lot of filling left to do in that hole...
Your right nothing can change the great history of the club but whether it be death or relocation after 2009 then the history of the North Melbourne Football club stops.
How so? They are the same club, just working out of a different area. Why can't you understand that?
Jimmy's Hot Dogs
2 Nov 2007, 21:07
Opposition supporters shouldn't go to North home games in Melbourne, it may be hard not to go but it's for the good of the competition.
http://stats.rleague.com/afl/crowds/2007.html
Bit like home supporters for Port Adelaide ;)
2007 Port Adelaide Home Average - 27870
2007 North Melbourne Home Average - 28077
And that include 3 out of the 5 worst drawing games in 2007 all at Carrara!
2007 Port Adelaide Away Average - 26662
2007 North Melbourne Away Average - 30003
A bit of fun Rory but you will not stop people from going to the footy in Melbourne to make a statement about moving North to the GC. In fact if they move (:eek:) you'll see less games in Melbourne.
Jimmy's Hot Dogs
2 Nov 2007, 21:10
Kill North.
Doctor Jolly........More like Dr. Jack Kevorkian
A Living God
2 Nov 2007, 21:26
A bit of fun Rory but you will not stop people from going to the footy in Melbourne to make a statement about moving North to the GC. In fact if they move (:eek:) you'll see less games in Melbourne.
Try some more relevant stats.
Port Adelaide vs West Coast: 27,879
North Melbourne vs West Coast: 26,113
NM played only one game verus a Non-Vic team in Victoria. More relevant that your statistics but is still pretty meaningless
Yes but how many of those 'home' games were against fellow victorian clubs eh? Would be like Port Adelaide playing 7 home games against Adelaide.
But you know you could throw all the stats in the world at me, the fact is your club is the one thats relocating, not mine :)
The Zebra
2 Nov 2007, 23:35
Some total ****wits have been exposed in this past fortnight, but this comments puts you right up there.
Why the **** did we let this 2nd class Adelaide team in our comp?
Go **** yourself.
The Zebra
2 Nov 2007, 23:45
....and take out Carrara and our home average was 34,656.
7,000 above the the Crows little retarded brother.
GoalSneak38
2 Nov 2007, 23:48
Its the only way the new Gold Coast team can get access to enough players to be competitive in its first few years.
No point feeling sorry for north, they want death, they are CHOOSING death, and they must accept death.
Edit: Ok, "kill" is too strong a word. Relegate is probably better. Dont know how to edit thread title, so if a mod wants to...
They tried to kill the dogs in 89 and they failed. Go north! The only reason your club has survived is the tonnes of coin the vfl/afl has dropped in your pockets
Not wanting to pick a fight but it is largely thanks to the existence of the Swans & Lions that we get such a good TV rights deal.
They are very important in the TV revenue scheme of things.
Plus there is a difference with pushing money into a developing market and propping one of our clubs up in the heartlands of Vic, SA and WA.
It is regrettable the mudslinging coming from both sides of the fence. I'll try to make a concise stament which underlines my position ( & I believe most roos fans position):
All Kangaroos supporters are really North Melbourne Supporters. The Kangaroos name change was a marketing gimmick to attract non-melbourne supporters to our club. It has been one of many innovative ideas our club has had over the years to raise membership/revenue (while good in theory, frankly that one has not worked).
If the Kangaroos relocate to the GC, it will be death for our club. Such a death would be identical to a death by financial collapse in North Melbourne. However there is hope for life if we stay, but no hope if we go.
If that is unclear in any way, let me know & I'll try to elaborate further.
Not wanting to pick a fight but it is largely thanks to the existence of the Swans & Lions that we get such a good TV rights deal.
Just a question (without really knowing the answer). Is the TV deal actually benefitting the clubs that much. It seems to me that the bulk of it is going in the AFL's relocation slush fund, and not to the clubs that made the money.
DarwinRoo
3 Nov 2007, 03:41
Plus there is a difference with pushing money into a developing market and propping one of our clubs up in the heartlands of Vic, SA and WA.
I find it hilarious that people think that QLD generates more TV revenue than Victoria.
A Living God
3 Nov 2007, 08:14
I find it hilarious that people think that QLD generates more TV revenue than Victoria.
State % of football market (% of population)
Victoria - 55% (25%)
Western Australia - 15% ( 10%)
South Australia - 10% (7.5%)
New South Wales/Queensland - 20% (55%)
State $ TV revenue ($ TV revenue per club)
Victoria - 88,000,000 (8,800,000)
Western Australia - 24,000,000 (12,000,000)
South Australia - 16,000,000 (8,000,000)
New South Wales/Queensland - 32,000,000 (16,000,000)
A simplistic why of looking at but it show why the TV revenue of the on Non Victorian Clubs is greater than the TV revenue of the Victorian clubs.
North Melbourne doesn't have 10% share of the Victoria's it would be closer 5% => $4,400,000 in TV revenue.
DarwinRoo
3 Nov 2007, 11:10
State % of football market (% of population)
Victoria - 55% (25%)
Western Australia - 15% ( 10%)
South Australia - 10% (7.5%)
New South Wales/Queensland - 20% (55%)
State $ TV revenue ($ TV revenue per club)
Victoria - 88,000,000 (8,800,000)
Western Australia - 24,000,000 (12,000,000)
South Australia - 16,000,000 (8,000,000)
New South Wales/Queensland - 32,000,000 (16,000,000)
A simplistic why of looking at but it show why the TV revenue of the on Non Victorian Clubs is greater than the TV revenue of the Victorian clubs.
North Melbourne doesn't have 10% share of the Victoria's it would be closer 5% => $4,400,000 in TV revenue.
Do you have an article or source to back up those figures?
We don't have to kill North.
Melbourne or the Western Bulldogs could die in their place and still achieve the same result..
We are safer than many give us credit for - the Western suburbs of Melbourne could very quickly turn into a soccer heartland, and the AFL needs a team there to prevent this from happening.
Just a few years ago North were stronger than us, and despite the actions of Cam Rose (highly regarded), it seems the AFL has offered us more support in recent years than North have had.
Anyone who thinks there should be joy in dancing on the grave of a long standing club is either delusional, sadistic or has no idea about the concept of passion in football.
We have to kill Doctor Jolly. Cretin.
You make a fair point. :thumbsu:
Nobody said it does. But in saying that I doubt the TV rights would be anywhere near what they are now without the interstate teams. You would be lucky to seel the games rights for a million:p
Kapow!!!
7 Nov 2007, 09:54
The likes of him will never kill North. The likes of you however will!
Kapow!!!
7 Nov 2007, 10:06
Anyone who thinks there should be joy in dancing on the grave of a long standing club is either delusional, sadistic or has no idea about the concept of passion in football.
I do...and it's because of said understanding that I'd rather see North make the mistake of stubborness and ignorance and curl up and fold. I remember how they treated the Fitzroy situation in 1996. If I remember correctly they wanted to keep the North Melbourne name, jumper and theme song with Fitzroy only getting a logo on the shorts and the intials NMFLFC added on the back of the playing jumper. It was pretty much a take over attempt. How did the North supporters react? Couldn't care less. Laughed it off. Whilst that merger still lies as a hot issue amongst quite a few Fitzroy faithful, they didn't deserve what North were dishing up. The Bears ended up stepping in and again North treated them like absolute crap and claimed they were the world's worst.
North have had their chances. This is just Karma. Personally I'd like to not be as callous as to stoop to their level and laugh at ones misery but I cannot help but feel the poetry in this is delicious. I have no time for North and am just laughing that most North supporters are choosing to refuse the only sane way to keep their club alive. It's funny and I like seeing them delude themselves like they are - they are choosing to make a blatantly wrong decision and are choosing to suffer the fate that Fitzroy almost did, the same fate they scoffed at just over a decade ago.
I'd rather see a team on the Gold Coast in their own right and in their own colours, theme and club.
Hearts to hearts
7 Nov 2007, 14:14
IIf I remember correctly they wanted to keep the North Melbourne name, jumper and theme song with Fitzroy only getting a logo on the shorts and the intials NMFLFC added on the back of the playing jumper. It was pretty much a take over attempt. How did the North supporters react? Couldn't care less. Laughed it off. Whilst that merger still lies as a hot issue amongst quite a few Fitzroy faithful, they didn't deserve what North were dishing up. The Bears ended up stepping in and again North treated them like absolute crap and claimed they were the world's worst.
You don't.
Roylion?