View Full Version : North Melb Alternative
Heropsychodreamer
2 Nov 2007, 12:59
Hey, sorry if this has been posted before... In Re. to Kangas.... instead of relocating, would it be worth North considering going down the road of merger, in an effort to stay in Melbourne??
I will throw up Melbourne and Dogs as options (not to p!ss off their fans, just more so through convenience of getting a point across). If they merge with Melbourne, they can be called the Melbourne Kangaroos, maybe mix the team colours a bit. Or with Dogs, and be North-West Roos (or Dogs or something else!). The biggest problem for teams like Melbourne is they may lose some identity (demons, or dogs name).
But as a positive for them, they get increased membership, increased money = better facilities, more top class players to choose from = more success.
I'm not trying to talk down teams... Hawthorn are potentially in the same place north is now in say 5-10 yrs when AFL decide they want a Tassie team. I honestly think, id rather merge with a fellow melbourne team, split our identity hopefully even, then go to a different state (as great as the tassie experience ahs been so far!). Id rather an interstate team struggling and having my team dominating in Vic (being a Vic)
What do people think???
MalceskiFan
2 Nov 2007, 13:05
Any supporter that would consider a merger preferable to a relocation is an idiot. You may as well let your club die and support a real team with history.
Norwest Kangadogs?
Financially it probably makes more sense, so the AFL would probably push it, if they didn't get the relocation over the line.
But emotionally the fans would never let it happen.
memberforever
2 Nov 2007, 13:10
Hey, sorry if this has been posted before... In Re. to Kangas.... instead of relocating, would it be worth North considering going down the road of merger, in an effort to stay in Melbourne??
I will throw up Melbourne and Dogs as options (not to p!ss off their fans, just more so through convenience of getting a point across). If they merge with Melbourne, they can be called the Melbourne Kangaroos, maybe mix the team colours a bit. Or with Dogs, and be North-West Roos (or Dogs or something else!). The biggest problem for teams like Melbourne is they may lose some identity (demons, or dogs name).
But as a positive for them, they get increased membership, increased money = better facilities, more top class players to choose from = more success.
I'm not trying to talk down teams... Hawthorn are potentially in the same place north is now in say 5-10 yrs when AFL decide they want a Tassie team. I honestly think, id rather merge with a fellow melbourne team, split our identity hopefully even, then go to a different state (as great as the tassie experience ahs been so far!). Id rather an interstate team struggling and having my team dominating in Vic (being a Vic)
What do people think???
How about Hawthorn roos, that will do
They would be called the Western Kangaroos - and they would ditch the midget suburb of North Melbourne, which is really only good for the Sunday Markets and move to Western burbs. North would be like Fitzroy....a hostile take over called a merger. The scray's would just add a few flags to their history and bloke called Wayne Carey to their team of the century and call it 50/50.
merger = not the answer. More souless for 2 clubs to fold then start fresh in a different state. Everyone loses either way.
blues4flag
2 Nov 2007, 13:14
Relocation >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> merger
Heropsychodreamer
2 Nov 2007, 13:18
As i said, i didnt mean to throw teams up, more so as examples... but if it was Hawks and Kangas... and Hawthorn were being forced to move, i'd rather seem them stay.
Like in the Kangas situation, they will be called Southport, and it will be on the other side of the Country. So without trying to insult Bulldogs supporters, i will use Hawthorn, would you prefer to merge with the Hawks (pure hypothetical, hawk supporters), then move to the GC. And we are saying 50/50 identity split, which i know is kinda impossible
Aristotel
2 Nov 2007, 13:24
Mergers destroy 2 clubs.
Except in the case of the Brisbane Lions, because the Brisbane Bears where relatively new and no one cared about them anyway.
The Lions are still 'the Lions', have pretty much the same colours....they even play in the old Fitzroy jumpers occassionally.
I reckon the tradition of the Fitzroy Footy Club was well preserved in that merger.
Merging two original Melbourne clubs would just be a mess.....
It wouldn't be a 50/50 split.
Nether the less after the Gold Coast, West Sydney is the next region on the radar...what route the AFL takes trying to establish a foothold in there will be very interesting.
SurreyBlue
2 Nov 2007, 13:27
It's either the Melbourne Kangaroos or GoldCoast Kangaroos, take your pick shinboners!!!!!
Bulldogs are next cab, I hear Western Sydney has a stadium ready to go!!!!!
Oh well ....
It's either the Melbourne Kangaroos or GoldCoast Kangaroos, take your pick shinboners!!!!!
Oh well ....
http://www.bulldogs.com.au/
Ideally, the Bulldogs would go to Sydney but its not a possiblity.
I really can't see a relocation to West Sydney, the only way going forward will be a merger creating a new 16th license.
Mergers destroy 2 clubs.
Except in the case of the Brisbane Lions, because the Brisbane Bears where relatively new and no one cared about them anyway.
The Lions are still 'the Lions', have pretty much the same colours....they even play in the old Fitzroy jumpers occassionally.
I reckon the tradition of the Fitzroy Footy Club was well preserved in that merger.
Merging two original Melbourne clubs would just be a mess.....
You are spot on Aristotel - people try to insult us ex-Fitzroy supporters by calling it a takeover - call it whatever - but at least Fitzroy has identity, colours, the name Lions etc, all our history preserved etc - so whatever you want to call it - couldn't care - but after the last 5 years of Fitzroy - winning no games etc - it was the best deal and regarding the players - well finding 8 players out of the last Fitzroy squad was easy - we were so crap that most players who didn't get picked up, didn't even get picked up by VFL/WAFL/SANFL clubs - so that says something. The Kangas offered to merge with us and offered nothing compared to Brisbane.
If a merger was to work - which i think is unlikely - it has to be 50/50 but it is not on the AFL's agenda - Possibly could have worked if at the moment we were talking about another club in the Kangas position at the same time - then you may have found it was acceptable, but most other 9 Vic clubs are pretty much financially sound or at least will be in the next 2 years.
BarklySt
2 Nov 2007, 13:46
Oh well ....
Not a totally defunct and outdated one like MC Hammer Labour / Optus / Princess / whatever...Park I hope?
What a joke.
Mitchell Madness
2 Nov 2007, 15:58
What do people think???
Mate, Hawks have too many assets and too big of a supporter base for the AFL to force them out. If the Tassie thing is what the AFL want, it will be out of Western Bullies, Kangas and Melbourne.
Adelaide Hawk
2 Nov 2007, 16:24
How about Hawthorn roos, that will do
If the Hawks didn't need to merge in 1996, they certainly don't now. Merger may suit the Bulldogs though.
Heropsychodreamer
2 Nov 2007, 17:45
Mate, Hawks have too many assets and too big of a supporter base for the AFL to force them out. If the Tassie thing is what the AFL want, it will be out of Western Bullies, Kangas and Melbourne.
Um yeh, i was trying to show a similar hypothetical situation, with my own team as to not be bias... so pls dont take offence!
mcgarnacle
2 Nov 2007, 18:06
http://www.bulldogs.com.au/
Ideally, the Bulldogs would go to Sydney but its not a possiblity.
I really can't see a relocation to West Sydney, the only way going forward will be a merger creating a new 16th license.
finally someone with half a grasp on the bulldogs and western sydney.
the bullies can still relocate to the shitlands of western sydney, but they'd lose their bulldog identity. they couldnt use the moniker up here while a team in the NRL go by the same name.
Agree about not having 2 Bulldogs team in Western Sydney.
If you think that getting a team on the GolD Coast is messy, waiting 5 years until they try to add a 2nd team into Sydney.
Just a thought . .. .
If Kangas merge or move up north . . . why not jump off the AFL band wagon and join the Melbourne Storm. Half the Melbourne Storm players represented the "Australian Kangaroos" against New Zealand and won 58-0. The Rugby World cup is on this year and the Kangaroos must be favourites.
memberforever
5 Nov 2007, 21:30
If the Hawks didn't need to merge in 1996, they certainly don't now. Merger may suit the Bulldogs though.
Well we didn't need to in 1989 so we don't need to now either, so Hawk supporters please don't suggest it. Worry about your own club.