View Full Version : MacGill or Hogg

goal sneak
2 Nov 2007, 15:02
Who should play in ther first test at the Gabba. Hoggy is in great form and is the better batsman and fielder but surely MacGill deserves first crack at it given his performances over the last decade or so.

CaptainDavey
2 Nov 2007, 18:45
Hogg.

Can bat, offers more enthusiasm in the field than MacGill and isn't a weirdo wanker off the field.

But MacGill IS a good bowler no doubt...

dee-molishon
2 Nov 2007, 22:10
hate macgill and hogg is in better form so u have to go with him.
Macgill is overrated, he wont get near the wickets he used to when bowling in tandem with mcgrath or warne because they would keep one end tight for him. Batesman used to target macgill because they couldnt get runs off warne or macgrath. I reackon 33% of macgill's wickets have come off out field catches caught of full tosses or half trackers, mark my words with out mcgrath or warne he will struggle. Btw Hogg isnt up to test standard either, i like dan cullen better.

RandB
3 Nov 2007, 03:54
Hogg.

Can bat, offers more enthusiasm in the field than MacGill and isn't a weirdo wanker off the field.

I agree.:thumbsu:

saj_21
5 Nov 2007, 12:38
Hogg.

Batting shud have nethin to do with it, its who can take the most wickets. Macgill is that person, has a great test record and is proven at test level.

Dez!
5 Nov 2007, 12:44
Hogg, he's in sublime form and is a hell of a lot more match fit than MacGill and I agree with Captain, Hogg isn't a mammoth tool.

Tiger07
5 Nov 2007, 12:51
Hogg for sure. He is in teriffic form at the moment. He fields and bats much better than macgill, and would be a much more stablizing influence on the side as oppossed to Macgill. Whilst Macgill is a good spinner, he is to self obsessed and never thinks about his team mates.

Dez!
6 Nov 2007, 14:44
Well greeeeeeeeat Brad Hogg has been cut from the 13 man Australian squad as it was trimmed to 12, which means Stuart MacGill is almost certain to play on Thursday unless we go with the 4 man pace attack.

lethalselbow
9 Nov 2007, 09:27
Those that pick a player with good one day form are morons. Stick to watching AFL.

Sure Hogg is good at taking wickets in one day matches, but he's cannon fodder in the real game.

MacGill by a mile!

RandB
9 Nov 2007, 16:51
Those that pick a player with good one day form are morons. Stick to watching AFL.

Sure Hogg is good at taking wickets in one day matches, but he's cannon fodder in the real game.

MacGill by a mile!
So you think accepting Andrew Symonds was a mistake?

lethalselbow
10 Nov 2007, 19:35
So you think accepting Andrew Symonds was a mistake?

Not sure what you mean... Can you elaborate a little?

RandB
10 Nov 2007, 19:40
Andrew Symonds was largely selected for his one day (all round) brilliance and given more than a decent go in the test side before he came really good and now we haven't looked back. I understand where you were coming from in that they are different forms of cricket and require different kinds of players but I thought "Those that pick a player with good one day form are morons." was still a bit of a generalisation, some players can be good at both.

Dez!
10 Nov 2007, 19:46

Well they gave him a spot in the Test team as a reward for his form in the One Dayers, sure it took him a little time to adjust but he's doing fine right now.

Besides bowling in the Test Matches isn't that much different than the ODI's, it's all about endurance. I think it was Terry Jenner that said you need patience to be a good Test Match bowler and then went onto say Hogg does not have enough for the longer form of the game, he may taught Warnie but that is just pure crap. If you have good endurance and just keep trying to get the batsman out then you'll eventually get your man. It's not like Hogg's going to go cry after an over because he couldn't get someone out and then say I don't want to bowl anymore, he's going to keep trying to get him out next over.

**EDIT**

Damn my thinking and slow typing.

lethalselbow
11 Nov 2007, 06:34
Andrew Symonds was largely selected for his one day (all round) brilliance and given more than a decent go in the test side before he came really good and now we haven't looked back. I understand where you were coming from in that they are different forms of cricket and require different kinds of players but I thought "Those that pick a player with good one day form are morons." was still a bit of a generalisation, some players can be good at both.

Fair enough. I should have been slightly more specific.

Let me correct the record... Those that pick a spin bowler for good one day form are morons.

Hogg isn't a match winner. He doesn't turn the ball and has a test average that would be fantastic... if it were a batting average.

Dez!
11 Nov 2007, 09:36
Hogg isn't a match winner. He doesn't turn the ball.

That's news to me.

lethalselbow
11 Nov 2007, 12:00
That's news to me.

Test average of 50.

Wicketless Shield match.

He's a Peter Taylor.

bomberandy
11 Nov 2007, 12:12
Plumped for Hoggy but realistically the Aussies need to try some new blood in the team. MacGill and Hogg are both short term solutions to a long term problem.

lethalselbow
11 Nov 2007, 13:49
Plumped for Hoggy but realistically the Aussies need to try some new blood in the team. MacGill and Hogg are both short term solutions to a long term problem.

MacGill will be there for about 2 years. He'll go to England in 2009.

adamania11
11 Nov 2007, 14:56
Thats if the Tigers don't make the ultimate STUPID draft decision and pick him up in the draft...

DeeMan27
11 Nov 2007, 16:49
Only three other players have reached the 200 wicket mark quicker than Macgill. If not for Shane Warne he would have been a strike bowler for Australia ages ago. Just unlucky I say.

lethalselbow
11 Nov 2007, 17:08
Only three other players have reached the 200 wicket mark quicker than Macgill. If not for Shane Warne he would have been a strike bowler for Australia ages ago. Just unlucky I say.

:thumbsu: Spot on :thumbsu:

dee-molishon
24 Nov 2007, 14:19
hate macgill and hogg is in better form so u have to go with him.
Macgill is overrated, he wont get near the wickets he used to when bowling in tandem with mcgrath or warne because they would keep one end tight for him. Batesman used to target macgill because they couldnt get runs off warne or macgrath. I reackon 33% of macgill's wickets have come off out field catches caught of full tosses or half trackers, mark my words with out mcgrath or warne he will struggle. Btw Hogg isnt up to test standard either, i like dan cullen better.

to the people who think macgill is good like u saj lol TOLD YA SO!!!:p:p
sangakarra really struggled with those different varities of full tosses he bowled didnt he??

lethalselbow
25 Nov 2007, 07:21
to the people who think macgill is good like u saj lol TOLD YA SO!!!:p:p
sangakarra really struggled with those different varities of full tosses he bowled didnt he??

The 4th fastest wicket taker to 200 wickets in the History of cricket is allowed a day off. T'was a shocker though.

RandB
25 Nov 2007, 23:28
The 4th fastest wicket taker to 200 wickets in the History of cricket is allowed a day off. T'was a shocker though.
Sorry mate but I still don't agree with the MacGill call. The guy has been waiting ages for a permanent slot and he finally gets the chance and he lets himself turn into a blimp and throws pies down the pitch. Hogg is in fine form and not many batsmen can pick his wrong'n.

lethalselbow
27 Nov 2007, 07:41
Sorry mate but I still don't agree with the MacGill call. The guy has been waiting ages for a permanent slot and he finally gets the chance and he lets himself turn into a blimp and throws pies down the pitch. Hogg is in fine form and not many batsmen can pick his wrong'n.

Hogg is a one-day specialist. The Indians would carve his test career into oblivion.

Blimpy boy still has a few tricks up his sleeve. :thumbsu:

saj_21
27 Nov 2007, 12:42
[quote=dee-molishon;9541910]to the people who think macgill is good like u saj lol TOLD YA SO!!!:p:p
sangakarra really struggled with those different varities of full tosses he bowled didnt he??[/quote

That was 1 innings in his 42 match career so that instantly makes him a bad player bcos of 1 bad performance. Id like to c how most bowlers wud bowl wen the cant feel the ball in their hands?

dee-molishon
27 Nov 2007, 18:15
[quote=dee-molishon;9541910]to the people who think macgill is good like u saj lol TOLD YA SO!!!:p:p
sangakarra really struggled with those different varities of full tosses he bowled didnt he??[/quote

That was 1 innings in his 42 match career so that instantly makes him a bad player bcos of 1 bad performance. Id like to c how most bowlers wud bowl wen the cant feel the ball in their hands?

when u post the second half of this post in english ill comment.

The first part doesnt mean shite. Like i previously said HE TOOK THOSE WICKETS BECAUSE HE HAD MCGRATH AND WARNE BOWLING AT THE OTHER END KEEPING IT TIGHT. He doesnt have that any more and now we are seeing the real worth of macgill. Guys like Brett Lee who i have critised in the past have stepped up to the plate to show his worth. Macgill is showing what is really all about now, and it aint much.

Hogg is not the answer im defiantley not saying that. I would prefer dan cullen get a shot, have to play a young spinner sometime so he can learn from it, just like we did with warnie.

lethalselbow
28 Nov 2007, 09:07
[quote=saj_21;9557996]

when u post the second half of this post in english ill comment.

The first part doesnt mean shite. Like i previously said HE TOOK THOSE WICKETS BECAUSE HE HAD MCGRATH AND WARNE BOWLING AT THE OTHER END KEEPING IT TIGHT. He doesnt have that any more and now we are seeing the real worth of macgill. Guys like Brett Lee who i have critised in the past have stepped up to the plate to show his worth. Macgill is showing what is really all about now, and it aint much.

Hogg is not the answer im defiantley not saying that. I would prefer dan cullen get a shot, have to play a young spinner sometime so he can learn from it, just like we did with warnie.

You don't know what you're talking about. MacGill was the sole spinner for Australia for one year when Steroid taking Warne was out. He also bowled Australia to victory in the West Indies when Australia had to drop the Drug User for the last match.

How you can bag the 4th fastest wicket taker to 200 is pathetic.

Those two tests versus Sri Lanka were on roads and MacGilla had an injury.
Stick to football.

RandB
28 Nov 2007, 16:01
Hogg is a one-day specialist. The Indians would carve his test career into oblivion.

Blimpy boy still has a few tricks up his sleeve. :thumbsu:
The whole "one day specialist" title is a bit of a '90s cliche. The fact is Hogg has improved his bowling repertoire quite well and the situation is that we need a spinner now, not when Macgill decides to lose a few kilos. I think Hogg at least deserves a second chance given the circumstances... if he sucks again then that's it.

lethalselbow
28 Nov 2007, 17:03
The whole "one day specialist" title is a bit of a '90s cliche. The fact is Hogg has improved his bowling repertoire quite well and the situation is that we need a spinner now, not when Macgill decides to lose a few kilos. I think Hogg at least deserves a second chance given the circumstances... if he sucks again then that's it.

It may be a cliche, but it applies to a lot of cricketers. Look at the aussie one day team over recent years... lots of them.

RandB
28 Nov 2007, 17:46
It may be a cliche, but it applies to a lot of cricketers. Look at the aussie one day team over recent years... lots of them.
Aussie one day players remember that could probably make it into nearly any other test team around the world... well some anyway. I agree that one day form does not necessarily translate to test form but at the moment Hogg is in good form and should not miss out purely because of his test cricket history.

Brett Lee made his come back through the one day side. Like I said if Hoggy ends up as shite as MacGill atm then yeah let him stick to the white ball but deserves a go I reckon. I guess we'll have to agree to disagree on this one.

cheers anyway:thumbsu:

lethalselbow
30 Nov 2007, 06:45
Aussie one day players remember that could probably make it into nearly any other test team around the world... well some anyway. I agree that one day form does not necessarily translate to test form but at the moment Hogg is in good form and should not miss out purely because of his test cricket history.

Brett Lee made his come back through the one day side. Like I said if Hoggy ends up as shite as MacGill atm then yeah let him stick to the white ball but deserves a go I reckon. I guess we'll have to agree to disagree on this one.

cheers anyway:thumbsu:

The Sri Lankan series was a mirage. Australia is in trouble and has a pop gun attack. Lee bowled out of skin against Sri Lanka and is not as good as those figures. Clarke is consistent but isn't McGrath. The 3rd and 4th pacemen, whoever they will be, aren't very good.

It isn't the time to experiment with dinky spinners if a match winner is fit.

DeeMan27
3 Dec 2007, 20:30
The Sri Lankan series was a mirage. Australia is in trouble and has a pop gun attack. Lee bowled out of skin against Sri Lanka and is not as good as those figures. Clarke is consistent but isn't McGrath. The 3rd and 4th pacemen, whoever they will be, aren't very good.

It isn't the time to experiment with dinky spinners if a match winner is fit.

Haahha well at least thats a change from the usual shite ive been hearing in the papers. "Australia Too Good" Naaahhhh:thumbsu:

lethalselbow
3 Dec 2007, 20:45
Series odds versus India

Australia $1.28
India $5.75
Draw $7.50

Won't be betting on the series, but will be backing India each test. They'll be about $4.50 per match.

On spinning pitches and with a fairly decent batting line up, we might just have a decent series on home soil for a change! (Please!!)

Deenamite
8 Dec 2007, 09:43
Series odds versus India

Australia $1.28
India $5.75
Draw $7.50

Won't be betting on the series, but will be backing India each test. They'll be about $4.50 per match.

On spinning pitches and with a fairly decent batting line up, we might just have a decent series on home soil for a change! (Please!!)

Are India really that bad?

lethalselbow
8 Dec 2007, 15:05
Are India really that bad?

Nope. Australia are just over valued. India could easily snag a test.

lethalselbow
26 Dec 2007, 14:33
Now you Hogg fans get a chance to see how your man goes vs India.

Who's older? MacGill or Hogg?

RandB
26 Dec 2007, 15:21
Now you Hogg fans get a chance to see how your man goes vs India.

Who's older? MacGill or Hogg?
I wouldn't say I'm a Hogg fan as such but I definitely am looking forward to seeing him bowl instead of MacGill who has lost variety. Hoggy has a bit of spring in his step and like I posted previously his wrong'ns are doing the job ATM. MacGill is still at KFC chowing on a MacGillaFilla.

Now that we are 5 down for around 250 it could be a pretty good contest.

lethalselbow
6 Jan 2008, 18:03
Thread closed. Hogg is crap.

Who cares whether he can bat and field, he can't take wickets on Australia's biggest turner. The guy is a hack.

Lucky for Australians we had the umpires on the take. :D

RandB
6 Jan 2008, 21:39
Thread closed. Hogg is crap.

Who cares whether he can bat and field, he can't take wickets on Australia's biggest turner. The guy is a hack.

Lucky for Australians we had the umpires on the take. :D
Where were you before today? Stewy wouldn't have gone any better. Admittedly he was not pitching it as well as he had been but if you think his knock in the 1st innings was not important you must be drunk. The only problem Hogg had today was he didn't make them play enough for a team that wasn't playing to win the match. Still enjoyed watching him bowl for the most part of both tests.

I also might add that the way Hogg bowls is not the same as a slower spinner like MacGill. MacGill was mainly used at the SCG "Australia's biggest turner" historically for obvious reasons but Hogg's style is less dependant on that type of wicket. The fact he did not cash in on day 5 at the SCG does not mean he would be useless anywhere else.

lethalselbow
7 Jan 2008, 06:58
Where were you before today? Stewy wouldn't have gone any better. Admittedly he was not pitching it as well as he had been but if you think his knock in the 1st innings was not important you must be drunk. The only problem Hogg had today was he didn't make them play enough for a team that wasn't playing to win the match. Still enjoyed watching him bowl for the most part of both tests.

I also might add that the way Hogg bowls is not the same as a slower spinner like MacGill. MacGill was mainly used at the SCG "Australia's biggest turner" historically for obvious reasons but Hogg's style is less dependant on that type of wicket. The fact he did not cash in on day 5 at the SCG does not mean he would be useless anywhere else.

He's a plodder. A one day specialist.

Australia needs a real spinner. If MacGill gets fit again he'll be straight back in the side.

RandB
7 Jan 2008, 07:02
He's a plodder. A one day specialist.

Australia needs a real spinner. If MacGill gets fit again he'll be straight back in the side.
When do you feel that will be?

lethalselbow
7 Jan 2008, 07:14
When do you feel that will be?

ASAP would be brilliant. Australia needs a spinner.

Either that or a 4th quick and leave the spinning to Symonds and Clarke.

A spinner who can't take wickets on the S.C.G. ain't much chop.

15 wickets at 50.73 are laughable stats.

RandB
7 Jan 2008, 07:21
ASAP would be brilliant. Australia needs a spinner.

Either that or a 4th quick and leave the spinning to Symonds and Clarke.

A spinner who can't take wickets on the S.C.G. ain't much chop.

15 wickets at 50.73 are laughable stats.
Well it will probably be four quicks for Perth. I think you are getting carried away with the whole SCG thing though. Hogg is not the sort of spinner who is going to perform better on the SCG wicket like the slower spinners.

What do you think of all this cheating allegation crap going on atm?

lethalselbow
7 Jan 2008, 07:26
Think India got dudded for the entire test match. Wish Australia won the game fairly and with honour, instead of winning with the umpires help.

Can't believe that Australia dobbed in Harbhajan. Australia have been at that crap for years and are the masters of it.

Bring back Steve Waugh as captain.