View Full Version : Official BF Phantom Draft
Thread for discussing the selections in the BF Phantom Draft. Quigley is doing the Lions' selections.
So far:
1. Carlton - Matthew Kreuzer (Ruck)
2. Richmond - Trent Cotchin (Midfield)
3. West Coast - Rhys Palmer (Midfield)
4. Melbourne - Cale Morton (Utility)
5. Bulldogs - David Gourdis (Tall forward)
The interesting selection so far is Gourdis going at pick 5. What this means is a reshuffling of the accepted order of selections (at least according to BigFooty posters!). It also means Henderson, Ebert and Masten are 3 of the widely selected top 10 picks of whom at least 1 will now be available for Quigley to consider.
Grimreepah
2 Nov 2007, 16:06
As has been stated in other threads, you'd think we would take best available, but it would be a bit of a bonus if a midfielder was the best available.
best midfielder available. We've invested too many draft picks in Kpp recently 'getting by' on lower draft picks for midfielders. Plus Matthews said we'd pick a midfielder so it must be true!
best midfielder available.
I just don't think it can be that simple Vidman. What if the best midfielders are gone by our pick? What if a KPP that we ranked as a top 5 is still available at pick 8? What if the next best midfielder available is only ranked about 15 in our overall estimations? We might end up devaluing a pick to better fit a need.
I thought the comment from the club about Leuenberger last year - the club said things like "he was too good to ignore". So we are not necessarily talking about marginal judgment calls - I think it is more that we won't take a lesser rated midfielder and ignore a higher ranked KPP. If it is a close call between a tall and a small, then I think "need" will certainly drive our decision making.
I also don't think that we haven't focused on KPPs too much. While we've taken 3 rucks and a KP forward with our first pick in recent years, last year we had a focus on midfielders and flankers with 4 of 6 picks being running players, including 3 inside the top 40.
I just don't think it can be that simple Vidman. What if the best midfielders are gone by our pick? What if a KPP that we ranked as a top 5 is still available at pick 8? What if the next best midfielder available is only ranked about 15 in our overall estimations? We might end up devaluing a pick to better fit a need.
I thought the comment from the club about Leuenberger last year - the club said things like "he was too good to ignore". So we are not necessarily talking about marginal judgment calls - I think it is more that we won't take a lesser rated midfielder and ignore a higher ranked KPP. If it is a close call between a tall and a small, then I think "need" will certainly drive our decision making.
I also don't think that we haven't focused on KPPs too much. While we've taken 3 rucks and a KP forward with our first pick in recent years, last year we had a focus on midfielders and flankers with 4 of 6 picks being running players, including 3 inside the top 40.
It's been a long time since we spent a first round draft pick on a midfielder. Look back. Wood, Spaanderman, Leuy, Clarke, Brennan, etc. I think you have to go back as far as Lukey Power to find a mid who was taken in the first round and is still with the team (could be wrong). We've ignored it for too long. We seem to have picked nothing but ruckmen and CHFs when they are our two areas of LEAST need.
I wasnt a fan of picking Leuy last year and said so at the time, I was on the Selwood bandwagon. We had our future ruckman in Wood from the previous year, we had Beau and Charman as well. Now Leuy may well end up being the best ruckman in the comp, but realistically he's going to have to be to justify that pick. Nothing against the bloke but I thought other areas were much much more important.
Same as I thought the previous year when we picked up Mitch. Why where we picking up a projected CHF when we had a 23/24 year old best CHF in the comp? Didn't make sense to me. It's an example of when taking 'best available' can get you into to trouble. Now those guys may well turn out great, lets hope so, but the midfield is IMHO lacking a bit of class. (if we'd snared Murphy it would be different). We've done very well to get some depth with spending very little on our midfield, and I think we are just one or two top notch midfielders away from our next 'tilt'. Hopefully Johnstone will be one of those. You can have all the best KPP you like but if you cant win the contested ball, we're dead. We could end up with the best forward line in the league in a couple of years time, but that isnt any good if we cant get them the ball.
To me in the modern AFL draft picks are our currency. We havent spent enough of our currency on our midfield and sure we could get lucky and snare another Simon Black in the second round, but sooner or later we're going to need to invest some of that currency in the future stars of our midfield. If Johnstone doesnt work out, who will be our big five midfielders in two years time? Who will be our Black, Voss, Lappin, Aker, Power? Who will be our Kerr, Judd, Cousins etc. In the modern game it seems to me you need three or four class midfielders, if you're down to two then it's too easy to tag them. Looking forward a couple of years we'll have Black and Power, but numbers 3 and 4 and 5 in that midfield look to be our weakness. I agree we have lots of depth and hopefull Jed can step up to the mark, as we all expect him to do, but I don't see anyone else we have filling the other two spots of mids who can dominate a game if Jed and Blacky have an off day, with all respect to Riska et al.
Agree with Vidman on this one - we need a gun midfielder - i was spewing we didn't get Joel Selwood last year, although Leuey is an absolute gem.
Correct me if i am wrong but we got Clark and Mills with first 2 picks year before, Wood and Garner first two again, Spaanderman year before, Brennan before that, i think Gram was our last mid size. One of these days we should get an out and out midfielder with the first pick because Black and Power are already 28-29, TJ isn't far behind and Nige only has 1-2 years left in him so IMO we go a mid.
Sorry Vidman - listed all those tall first rounders you mentioned - but agree with you on this one - is that the bub in your avatar wearing a Lions jersey?
Well said Vidman and I agree.
I know many people want midfielders because most of them play straight away and have an impact. Supporters are impatient. And looking at some clubs' drafting over the years - they are too. I mean, why wait 4 years before a ruckman holds down a position in the team, when you can inject a starting centre? This logic has hurt a lot of teams. Although, I, and plenty on here don't think that way.
However, I firmly believe our midfield needs the most help. You can go on all you like about picking the "best available" but the best available for us needs to be a mid this year. No buts about it. I don't agree with the argument that we don't have the luxury of being able to select for need - does any team?
I have doubts on a bloke like Rance. If he is so good why isn't he playing up forward for his team? Very rarely do the stars in junior footy play down back. He could be another Lucy as well.
Grimreepah
2 Nov 2007, 18:51
Thread for discussing the selections in the BF Phantom Draft. Quigley is doing the Lions' selections.
So far:
6. Myers
7. Masten
8. ?????
It looks like things have worked out fairly well for us.
Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert
Sorry Vidman - listed all those tall first rounders you mentioned - but agree with you on this one - is that the bub in your avatar wearing a Lions jersey?
well as you asked... "ella rose vidman" before her first game (last game of the year)
http://webtrixtechnologies.com/external/image-library/6533.jpg
Grimreepah
2 Nov 2007, 18:58
Now now, we should not be influencing Quigley's important decision.
Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert Ebert
Pull the trigger Quigs, you know you want too!
Very cute Vidman - like the jump suit - you have one yourself:thumbsu:
But in all seriousness, i have no idea about who are the top prospects, but Question for Warwick - is Ebert a mid? (don't mean to be niave, but is he related to Brett of Port?) and if so are they similar or is this new one a genuine mid?
Now now, we should not be influencing Quigley's important decision.
Ebert, - no comment
Henderson - KPP, forward. If we take him I'll get my gun.
Rioli - Quigs picked in the trial draft, but ebert was gone by then.
Rance, CHB and a lot of drafters have us taking him, but they obviously didnt watch the last half of the year.
They look like the favourites.
but Question for Warwick - is Ebert a mid? (don't mean to be niave, but is he related to Brett of Port?) and if so are they similar or is this new one a genuine mid?
I would be the last person to ask on all things draft.
But Ebert is a mid and the cousin of Brett.
But in all seriousness, i have no idea about who are the top prospects, but Question for Warwick - is Ebert a mid? (don't mean to be niave, but is he related to Brett of Port?) and if so are they similar or is this new one a genuine mid?
Stolen from draft board...
Brad Ebert (Centre) - 2 April 1990, 187cm 86kg. SA/Port Magpies/Henley
"Weaver: Wouldn't have found the footy at the Champs if they tied a bell on it and let him start 10 minutes before everyone else. That said he was heavily tagged and didn't quit on his team. Good bloodlines, good junior pedigree, and 187cm inside midfielders who can move, kick well and offer leadership are far, far rarer than people might imagine. Might well be the lone member of the SA squad drafted this year.
"
"Recruiter 1: He was definitely a player entering the championships that everyone expected to be a genuine talent. He comes from very good football stock – he is the cousin of Brett and nephew of Russell Ebert – and pleasingly, he played up to his ability today. While he mainly played up forward, he displayed genuine leadership and direction to his team. Brad has a good future.
"
"Recruiter 2: There is no doubt that most people would already be aware of Brad Ebert. Brad is a natural footballer with excellent kicking skills and leadership qualities. He is a player we would expect to figure prominently throughout the championships.
"
"Alan McConnell: He again demonstrated his class and ability to find the ball, both inside and outside, while his disposal was quite exceptional.
"
"Kevin Sheehan: Medium forward/midfielder with good aerial and disposal skills. Ebert also possesses tremendous courage with his attack on the ball. He finished in the top six for disposals in division one, averaging 22 per match. His average of 10 effective kicks per match, ranked him fifth in his division. He has already made his debut at senior level in the SANFL, and showed his potential leadership captaining South Australia as a bottom-aged player.
"
"AFL Insider:
AFL Positions:
Ebert has the skills for several spots on the field and he might do the most damage in the middle. He has plenty of size, for an onballer, and when combined with his good foot-skills he will get a lot of the ball and use it well. He could also be used as a medium-sized forward or at half back.
Perfect Fit For:
Carlton don't have a lot of size in the middle, and if they get a priority pick to use as well as their first rounder then Ebert might be an option.
**********.net prediction:
First round pick by Port Adelaide. But the more wins that the Power get, the harder it might be to draft him. They might need to find something, a player or later pick, to add to their first rounder to move up in the draft to make sure they get him. The Crows could really annoy the Power by taking Ebert, and Brad Ebert has been there before as he trained with the Crows as part of the AIS system. Brad Ebert joining the Power could cause some problems, for the media, as his first name will need to be spelled out in full with him and cousin Brett in the same lineup.
AFL Fantasy Outlook:
He was awarded with a spot on the Under 18 All-Australian team and has already played at senior SANFL level so he should step right into a round 1 AFL team next year. He could have more value, in fantasy games, if he is position eligible as a forward as well as a midfielder. If he is a forward in fantasy leagues he might be the best option among the cheapest players, while if he is only a fantasy midfielder he will be one of four or five to choose from among the first-year players. At either position he will be on quite a few fantasy benches at the beginning of next season.
"
"foj1: Brad is a classic modern midfielder. Able to win his own ball, terrific hands and penetrating kick. Possesses both speed and endurance. Also a dangerous commodity when forward. Didnt have the greatest Nationals but he got a LOT of attention due to a weaker than expected SA line-up. At the end of the day I reckon he is the classiest midfielder left.
"
"ant555: Brad Ebert – 187cm, 86kg- Port Adelaide SANFL. Captain of SA and a bottom age player but he has already played senior SANFL footy for Port. Is a very good sized kid who was tagged well during the Champs but still did well? He is an excellent inside or outside player with good skills and pace and is a good contested mark of the footy. Extremely courageous in his attack on the ball and lead the SA side well.
"
"Mr Cat: Brad Ebert, 187 cm. Definate B+ midfielder. Not overly quick but nice and hard- strong over the footy. Strong leader- S.A captain as a 17 year old is a good effort. WIll look forward to DC fitness results as he doesn't seem to be overly outstanding in any area- however is a bonafide footballer. Clean user of the footy, good in close, hands and vision exceptional. Adelaide loom with Pick ten, don't be surprised if Essendon swoop.
"
"AFL Insider:
Brisbane have already talked about the type of player they want, and they were describing Ebert when they said they needed to find some bigger midfielders.
Ebert is obviously going to be a target of Port Adelaide in the draft, but it is very unlikely that he makes it to their first choice. The Power will have to make a trade to move up in the draft to get Ebert.
The Lions didn't get the expected improvement from players like Sherman and Moody this season, so they could be moved out this offseason and Ebert would step in and take their role of a player who operates in the midfield and also around half forward.
"
Couch Coach is offline Report Post Reply With Quote
TheBrownDog
2 Nov 2007, 19:11
Genuine hard at it midfielder in the Michael Voss/Luke Hodge mould. He is bottom age as well, so the upside is enormous.
Grimreepah
2 Nov 2007, 19:13
If we were picking based on needs Ebert sounds like he would be close to our first choice.
Actually by the sounds of it, if Ebert did fall to us, then it seems like he would be both best player available and position of need. We could all be happy
http://digilander.libero.it/Daisychain/gatti/images/hug_a_cat.jpg
Grimreepah
2 Nov 2007, 19:34
Actually by the sounds of it, if Ebert did fall to us, then it seems like he would be both best player available and position of need. We could all be happy
*fingers crossed*
TheBrownDog
2 Nov 2007, 19:35
http://digilander.libero.it/Daisychain/gatti/images/hug_a_cat.jpg
Cats are so 6 months ago. It's all about raccoons now.
http://www.photopumpkin.com/wp-content/uploads/cute-17.gif
On topic though, my fears of Ebert returning home have subsided, I hope we get him.
TheBrownDog
2 Nov 2007, 19:37
http://www.ais.org.au/austrules/images/06144-02.JPG
Here is a link to his profile on the Australian Institute of Sport Website (http://www.ais.org.au/austrules/ebert.asp)
This is what Quigs said on the bandwagon thread:
My preferences depending on availability:
1. Masten
2. Ebert
3. Rioli
4. Collier
Here is a link to his profile on the Australian Institute of Sport Website (http://www.ais.org.au/austrules/ebert.asp)
James Hird and Chris Judd. Both play the way I want to play.
ok i'm sold!
TheBrownDog
2 Nov 2007, 20:55
ok i'm sold!
His most memorable sporting moment wasn't a deal-breaker? ;)
Cousin Jed
2 Nov 2007, 21:03
Scum :thumbsd:
:D
Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert, Ebert
Not trying to influence anyone. =)
Gilly1972
2 Nov 2007, 21:11
Where is Quigs?!!!
How dare a BF phantom drafter actually have a life :D:p
Nothing happened in 2004, nothing at all. I have no memory of that year.
As my hero HJsimpson says "Take all those feelings and push them deep down inside yourself and never go there again."
The Flying Belgian
2 Nov 2007, 22:01
Ebert it is.
Well done quigs, you get to keep your 'smartest cookie on the planet' award.:thumbsu:
Grimreepah
2 Nov 2007, 22:19
Ebert it is.
Yeah, seems a fairly obvious choice. Although if it was me I would have chosen Henderson just to see Vidman's reaction.:p
http://i.pbase.com/t1/34/632034/4/55480580.LionrowlBWHighPassSharperS.jpghttp://i.pbase.com/t1/34/632034/4/55480580.LionGrowlBWHighPassSharperS.jpghttp://i.pbase.com/t1/34/632034/4/55480580.LionGrowlBWHighPassSharperS.jpghttp://i.pbase.com/t1/34/632034/4/55480580.LionGrowlBWHighPassSharperS.jpghttp://i.pbase.com/t1/34/632034/4/55480580.LionGrowlBWHighPassSharperS.jpg
I think you forgot to type something ;)
He's speechless...
Sherminator.
3 Nov 2007, 00:50
Ebert ftw!
Ebert ftw!
Are you on the wagon? we're about to take off.
Vipertooth
3 Nov 2007, 11:58
Genuine hard at it midfielder in the Michael Voss/Luke Hodge mould. He is bottom age as well, so the upside is enormous.
The downside is him leaving to Port Adelaide, after we have raised him to be a star, and getting nothing for it, lol.
black_hart
3 Nov 2007, 12:04
The downside is him leaving to Port Adelaide, after we have raised him to be a star, and getting nothing for it, lol.
That's a big downside for me and would probably prefer Rioli for that reason. But Port are unlikely ever to be at the bottom of the ladder so we'd at least get a top 10 pick for him in a couple of years if he did decide to go.
Sherminator.
3 Nov 2007, 12:50
Are you on the wagon? we're about to take off.
I've wanted Ebert since August. :thumbsu: Plan is-
If he doesn't get drafted to Brisbane we bundle him up in a big hessian sack and drag him to the club ourselves. :)
6. Essendon - David Myers (Tall defender)
7. Fremantle - Chris Masten (Midfielder)
8. Brisbane - Brad Ebert (Midfielder)
9. St Kilda - Alex Rance (Tall defender)
10. Adelaide - Callan Ward (Midfielder)
11. Sydney - Jack Grimes (Midfielder)
12. Hawthorn - Patrick Veszpremi (Midfielder)
13. West Coast - Cyril Rioli (Midfielder)
14. Melbourne - Lachlan Henderson (Tall forward)
15. Kangaroos - Ben McEvoy (Ruckman)
16. Port Adelaide - Tayte Pears (Tall Defender)
17. Geelong - Scott Selwood (Midfielder)
18. Richmond - Steven Gaertner (Tall defender)
19. Bulldogs - Jarrad Grant (Tall forward)
20. West Coast - Tony Notte (Tall forward)
21. Melbourne - Addam Maric (Small forward)
lion_gooner
5 Nov 2007, 09:32
that looks good
still worried about the go home factor with ebert
why would north pick mc evoy? unless he can play forward or back?
He can play forward apparently. Given he's talked about as top 10, the North selector probably just took best available.
3 picks before Quigley's next one and no-one has selected Tom Collier.
22: Steven Browne
23: Patrick Dangerfield
24: Levi Greenwood
The way is clear for you Quigs. ;)
Brad Ebert at 8 and Tom Collier at 25. Leigh gets his big bodied midfielders. :D Skill, hardness and leadership oozing out of those 2 as well.
Thanks. Here I was gearing up for a surprise pick and one of my top 10 falls into my lap. God it would be good if that happened on the day. I can't see it though.
Dream scenario:
8 Brad Ebert
25 Tom Collier
41 Sam Reid
52 Brendan Whitecross
Rookie Dayne Zorko
Rookie Joseph Daye
;)
1/3 of my dream is complete.
blackpowerlappin
5 Nov 2007, 21:59
Thanks. Here I was gearing up for a surprise pick and one of my top 10 falls into my lap. God it would be good if that happened on the day. I can't see it though.
been watching the phantom draft Quigly. Your work is is excellent.
Watching the way this is panning out I am convinced we need to take a midfielder first up, rather than a key position. If this was to happen on draft day we'd all be celebrating. Can you tell me your thoughts on a Nick Murphy Sth Adelaide, Tom Mcnamara Sth Adelaide and John Williams Morningside if you can
blackpowerlappin
5 Nov 2007, 22:15
These guys are all 188/89cm midfielders/running defeneders that fit the mould of what we are after. I was one that was of the opinion we should aim at the best key position defender but we will be much better served by taking the talented midfielder as there are many even rated players after the first 8 or so picked
been watching the phantom draft Quigly. Your work is is excellent.
Watching the way this is panning out I am convinced we need to take a midfielder first up, rather than a key position. If this was to happen on draft day we'd all be celebrating. Can you tell me your thoughts on a Nick Murphy Sth Adelaide, Tom Mcnamara Sth Adelaide and John Williams Morningside if you can
I can't tell you too much:
McNamara - he is a very hard at it player who reads the play very well. He has played as a tall defender but at 189 he might not be tall enough to play that role at AFL level. He is talked about as being very talented and is someone I expect one of the SA teams to pick up.
Murphy - he has good foot skills and is probably a HBF or wing at AFL level. He has had some injury problems this year but did okay at the Champs in a very disappointing SA team.
Williams - is someone who came from the clouds a bit this year and given that he played in Brisbane some of the other guys might be able to help you out a bit more. He is very athletic and has a lot of potential. His skill set needs some improvement.
blackpowerlappin
5 Nov 2007, 22:32
I can't tell you too much:
McNamara - he is a very hard at it player who reads the play very well. He has played as a tall defender but at 189 he might not be tall enough to play that role at AFL level. He is talked about as being very talented and is someone I expect one of the SA teams to pick up.
Murphy - he has good foot skills and is probably a HBF or wing at AFL level. He has had some injury problems this year but did okay at the Champs in a very disappointing SA team.
Williams - is someone who came from the clouds a bit this year and given that he played in Brisbane some of the other guys might be able to help you out a bit more. He is very athletic and has a lot of potential. His skill set needs some improvement.
Thanks.
If Ebert wasn't available at pick 8, would you have taken Collier?
Like in the practice run I would have gone with Rioli first. I would have taken Collier ahead of Palmer though if both of those were available.
In my mock (coming soon to a website near you) I have us taking Collier at 8.
6. Essendon - David Myers (Tall defender)
7. Fremantle - Chris Masten (Midfielder)
8. Brisbane - Brad Ebert (Midfielder)
9. St Kilda - Alex Rance (Tall defender)
10. Adelaide - Callan Ward (Midfielder)
11. Sydney - Jack Grimes (Midfielder)
12. Hawthorn - Patrick Veszpremi (Midfielder)
13. West Coast - Cyril Rioli (Midfielder)
14. Melbourne - Lachlan Henderson (Tall forward)
15. Kangaroos - Ben McEvoy (Ruckman)
16. Port Adelaide - Tayte Pears (Tall Defender)
17. Geelong - Scott Selwood (Midfielder)
18. Richmond - Steven Gaertner (Tall defender)
19. Bulldogs - Jarrad Grant (Tall forward)
20. West Coast - Tony Notte (Tall forward)
21. Melbourne - Addam Maric (Small forward)
22. West Coast - Steven Browne (Medium defender)
23. Essendon - Patrick Dangerfield (Midfielder)
24. Fremantle - Levi Greenwood (Medium defender)
25. Brisbane - Tom Collier (Tall defender)
26. Sydney - Scott Simpson (Tall forward)
27. Adelaide - Paddy Macginnty (Midfielder)
Like in the practice run I would have gone with Rioli first. I would have taken Collier ahead of Palmer though if both of those were available.
In my mock (coming soon to a website near you) I have us taking Collier at 8.
So, rating the div 2 players, you have Rioli first and Collier second?
My top 12 from Div 2 ranked on who I would like in the Brisbane side:
1. Rioli
2. Collier
3. Bird
4. Whitecross
5. Bellchambers
6. Joseph
7. Reid
8. Oliver
9. Smouha
10. Wonaemirri (spelling?)
11. Zorko
12. Gibson
I actually really like all those guys and quite a few other Qlders and if any of them found their way to the Lions I would be very happy. Picking from Div 2 also negates somewhat the go home factor which is the bane of our recruiting strategy at the moment.
My top 12 from Div 2 ranked on who I would like in the Brisbane side:
1. Rioli
2. Collier
3. Bird
4. Whitecross
5. Bellchambers
whitecross just went at 30. Bit of a surprise and a shame. Maybe in two years he'll get homesick? We can only hope.
TheBrownDog
7 Nov 2007, 12:27
whitecross just went at 30. Bit of a surprise and a shame. Maybe in two years he'll get homesick? We can only hope.
Definitely went earlier than expected.
After his camp results I think he is definately a second rounder now. If we want him I think we have to take him at 25 and there is no guarantee I think that he will be available even then.
I hear that the club rates him very highly - pick 25 is well and truly in the mix. I don't believe we'll use that pick for Reid, regardless of circumstances.
I think young Whitecross has been underrated all along. I first caught him 2 season back and was impressed in that he is not only deceptively quick but accurate off both feet and seems to get out of tight situations really well.
Sherminator.
7 Nov 2007, 18:12
I rate Reid's skils by hand better than Whitecross'. But I rate Whitecross' game better overall, disposal by either foot is very good. Gets a lot of penetration with his kicking, I like that.
If the Lions were to take Whitecross at 25 I wouldn't mind it, unless Browne or McGinnity were available at 25. :)
Anyone got any suggestions for the third round? There is one guy I am hoping is available and a couple of back ups but would be interested in who everyone else likes.
The Flying Belgian
7 Nov 2007, 21:03
Reckon if Reid's still there you'd probably have to take him. Otherwise I'd be looking at a ruckman, if Simpson is still available. Arrowsmith, Joseph or Hockey would be my other suggestions.
Edit: arrowmith is gone already. Zac Millar would also be a smokey, but that's only based on what I've heard on the grapevine.
Sherminator.
7 Nov 2007, 21:10
Anyone got any suggestions for the third round? There is one guy I am hoping is available and a couple of back ups but would be interested in who everyone else likes.
S. Reid
D. Simpson
M. DeBoer
M. Farmer
:)
blackpowerlappin
7 Nov 2007, 21:32
The need for speed. If Clayton Hinkley is there I would think he would be a good choice.
Reckon if Reid's still there you'd probably have to take him. Otherwise I'd be looking at a ruckman, if Simpson is still available. Arrowsmith, Joseph or Hockey would be my other suggestions.
Edit: arrowmith is gone already. Zac Millar would also be a smokey, but that's only based on what I've heard on the grapevine.
Hockey is interesting TFB. I hadn't really considered him much but he does sort of tick a few boxes for us.
The Flying Belgian
8 Nov 2007, 21:20
Hockey is interesting TFB. I hadn't really considered him much but he does sort of tick a few boxes for us.
Similar to Jospeh in that seems a good solid player if not spectucular, and in this draft you probably have to spread your bets to include both the reliable as well as the enigmatic. To be honest though I'm basing most of my assessment on the TAC Cup GF in which he had a good game.
There is one guy who I will take if he doesn't get taken in the next two. If he does it means that all of the guys I was considering for the 3rd round have been taken. If he gets taken I am leaning toward going tall then and shorter for the last two. Tossing up between Simpson who could be a beast and virtually unstoppable in the ruck but not good for anything else, Smouha who has very good athleticism and versatility despite being new to the game and Daye who is raw but has great height, a booming kick and given that he is bottom aged might well turn out to be a very nice KP.
Sherminator.
8 Nov 2007, 22:23
Dawson, or I'll cry. :p
There is one guy who I will take if he doesn't get taken in the next two. If he does it means that all of the guys I was considering for the 3rd round have been taken. If he gets taken I am leaning toward going tall then and shorter for the last two. Tossing up between Simpson who could be a beast and virtually unstoppable in the ruck but not good for anything else, Smouha who has very good athleticism and versatility despite being new to the game and Daye who is raw but has great height, a booming kick and given that he is bottom aged might well turn out to be a very nice KP.
yur up quigs, work you're magic
Aaaron Joseph is a great selection at 41.
If I had been doing the draft I would have picked him at 25. IMO the hidden gem of this year's draft. Great picking Quigs.
Sherminator.
9 Nov 2007, 13:04
If I had been doing the draft I would have picked him at 25. IMO the hidden gem of this year's draft. Great picking Quigs.
Sounds good to me. :) I don't know much about him, but he'll have a good nickname wherever he goes- AJ. :)
Hi irel, where have you been hiding? Missed your contribution around here of late.
Would be very interested to hear your thoughts on this coming draft, as well as players who you think Brisbane would look at.
Quigs, How would you feel about telling us what other players you were considering for each pick? and maybe why you were considering them and why you went the other way? It would give us a bit of an insight. Also be interesting to compare with who we actually draft. Only if you feel comfortable revealing your inner workings!
Thanks Irel I was actually going to take him at 25 but when Collier was available I thought I had to take him. Apart from being a little on the short side I think Joseph fits our needs down to the ground. Good in and under and capable of becoming a top tagger if he is used that way. I would very much like us to get him on the day.
For the second round I was originally thinking of Browne, Joseph and Whitecross. I decided to go with Joseph and hope to get Whitecross in the third round given that others haven't been rating him that highly recently. I think Browne and Whitecross are similar types of players and there would have been a fair bit of duplication if I took both. Browne is one guy that I thought might be getting talked up more than he is. I rate him higher than Ward who is flavour of the week at the moment and again he is a similar type of player to the other two. The difference I guess is that Ward is a Victorian.
When Collier fell I took him still hoping for Whitecross in the third but unfortunately that didn't work out. Joseph still being available was a nice surprise and I had no problem taking him. If he went before then I had to decide whether to go big at 41 and small at the next pick or small and then big. I thought there was more quality in the bigs available at 41 so I probably would have gone with Simpson I think over Smouha and Daye.
Lobbe was another I was seriously looking at as he is now 199 (grown 4cm this year) and could be converted back to a ruck. He was very good as a ruck last year but at 195 he was thought to be too small for the AFL so he has played CHF most of the year with only moderate success. He is very athletic though and given that he is now 199 I think he could be a good development project for us and could capably play the fourth ruck if he didn't make it as a key position. He could certainly make a big target at AFLQ level.
Next pick I think I have to go big and I think I am due to take a Qlder. We will see who is available. For the last pick I am going to take a speckie from Qld just for the hell of it and to get a different name out there. In my mock which I will post over the weekend if I can get it finished (28 pages and counting) I have done much the same thing stacking the fourth round with Qlders given we haven't been getting much attention from others.
Irel do you have anyone else that has grabbed you? You were right on the money with Hawksley last year - anyone else you think we could go with this year?
Another one I think is special. Cruze Garlett and I would definitely take a ruck prospect. David Hill is my pick.
I would have considered Vezpremi with pick 8. Exactly what we need.
There are others but I am at work and may be able to check some details over the weekend and provide some more info. cheers
Hi irel, where have you been hiding? Missed your contribution around here of late.
Would be very interested to hear your thoughts on this coming draft, as well as players who you think Brisbane would look at.
Thanx BC. Too busy at work these days, however I do lurk and ghost frequently. Will see if I can find the time over the weekend to provide my view on some prospects.
Another one I think is special. Cruze Garlett and I would definitely take a ruck prospect. David Hill is my pick.
I would have considered Vezpremi with pick 8. Exactly what we need.
There are others but I am at work and may be able to check some details over the weekend and provide some more info. cheers
Everything I have seen of Gartlett has been good but the only thing I worry about is his height. At 172 you have to be pretty exceptional to make it in the AFL. The WA small forward which I had given some thought to was Jacky. He reminds me a fair bit of Rhan actually. They could form a pretty dynamic combination in that floating half forward role with their hard chase and tackle game. Both are very quick and don't mind the tackling side of the game.
Hill I haven't seen much of but what I have seen I haven't been that impressed with. Apparently he was much better early in the year and I didn't get a chance to see him then. He is bottom aged though so plenty of development left in him and if he was doing anything as a 200 cm bottom aged ruck it is very unusual.
On Veszpremi there hasn't been any talk of him top 10 but it wouldn't surprise me all that much after a few teams got burned writing off Selwood with the injury. Hard at it kid with good skills and AA last year as a bottom aged player - he may be a chance for us.
Are you saying you think Zac Millar would be a good PD pick, or that you've heard rumours that Brisbane may draft him in the real draft?
The Flying Belgian
9 Nov 2007, 20:03
Are you saying you think Zac Millar would be a good PD pick, or that you've heard rumours that Brisbane may draft him in the real draft?
Nah, haven't heard anything. The grapevine relates more to his ability - he's rated highly by only a few seemingly, but I've heard a few people giving him a wrap.
The Flying Belgian
9 Nov 2007, 20:07
On Veszpremi there hasn't been any talk of him top 10 but it wouldn't surprise me all that much after a few teams got burned writing off Selwood with the injury. Hard at it kid with good skills and AA last year as a bottom aged player - he may be a chance for us.
I'd agree with Irel. If Ebert wasn't available at our first pick and Masten had already gone I would have gone for Vezpremi. I like his grunt.
Irel good to see you back my man. Missed your insight.
Grimreepah
10 Nov 2007, 21:59
Quigley, I see you took Smouha at pick 52. I think it's right picking up a project ruckman with a late pick, especially being a local. It was also interesting seeing where he went after he came to prominence at the draft camp. My only query is he sounds fairly similar to Tippett and I was wondering whether that might deter the Lions a bit?
Quigley
10 Nov 2007, 22:07
On Smouha on of the reasons I took him was because I thought he is a bit like Tippett in that they could both split time between the ruck and key position rather than one only hogging all the time in the ruck. I still think we don't really know what we have yet with Tippett given that he missed 9 weeks of the year and when he did play he had to play as a key position more often than not. I would like to see Tippett get more of a chance in the ruck next year but by the same token I think it would be a good idea to have some more depth at the ruck given that neither McDonald nor Charman has been able to keep themselves on the park for 22 games. If they both go down we could be in a bit of trouble and chances are that at least one of them will be out for a few weeks during the year and the Suncoast could use a ruckman. I think we are still in a development phase and it is important that our developing mids playing for the Suncoast have a proper ruck feeding them the ball and also have proper targets up forward which was another area where we lacked a bit for extended periods this year.
BigCat2
10 Nov 2007, 23:40
Gee, looking at these phantom drafts keeps you wondering "if only we had kept pick 14...". But I guess history shows that picks in the teens aren't that much more likely to succeed than later picks. I'm sure Travis will offer us more immediate benefit too.
notting18
11 Nov 2007, 12:27
Gee, looking at these phantom drafts keeps you wondering "if only we had kept pick 14...". But I guess history shows that picks in the teens aren't that much more likely to succeed than later picks. I'm sure Travis will offer us more immediate benefit too.
Whenever i think "if only we had kept pick 14" at the moment, i seem to be finding myself loving the look of Johnstone in the maroon, blue and gold!
Grimreepah
12 Nov 2007, 18:49
On Smouha on of the reasons I took him was because I thought he is a bit like Tippett in that they could both split time between the ruck and key position rather than one only hogging all the time in the ruck.
How does Smouha go as a key position player? At 196cm (I know he might still grow) there is a big question mark about his capability as a ruckman, but maybe if clubs see him as a potential key defender instead he might go a bit higher.
TheBrownDog
14 Nov 2007, 23:12
Just out of interest Quigley, if Brisbane didn't trade pick 14 for Johnstone, who would you have picked at #14 in the Phantom?
The end result of the PD for the Lions is:
#8 - Brad Ebert
#25 Tom Collier
#41 - Aaron Joseph
#52 - Joel Smouha
#57 - Trevor Oliver
An excellent job Quigley. Collier at 25 is a great get, IMO.
Quigley
15 Nov 2007, 17:06
Just out of interest Quigley, if Brisbane didn't trade pick 14 for Johnstone, who would you have picked at #14 in the Phantom?
Henderson and McEvoy would have been the only two that I would have considered. Not completely sold on either but I probably would have gone with Henderson. Good big target up forward for the Suncoast early in his career (which we need for the development of the young mids) and in the future his best position might well be at CHB which could be useful.
Quigley
15 Nov 2007, 17:07
The end result of the PD for the Lions is:
#8 - Brad Ebert
#25 Tom Collier
#41 - Aaron Joseph
#52 - Joel Smouha
#57 - Trevor Oliver
An excellent job Quigley. Collier at 25 is a great get, IMO.
I was pretty happy with how things ended up. If it turned out that way on draft day I would be ecstatic. All fit a need for us and I had rated all of them higher than they went.
Warwick
15 Nov 2007, 18:37
Great stuff Quigs. I will be happy come draft day if:
We take a classy mid at #8.
And we take a ruckman.
I believe we really need both.
If we got what Quigley picked up I would be estactic.
Agreed top job Quigs. Just for fun, if the draft went that way who would you rookie? Just for the sake of completion! Zorko for one?
Thanks to everyone here for sharing their knowledge about the draftees, an area I have no idea about. Gives me something to barrack for! :)