thejester
2nd November 2007, 21:48
West Sydney deserve a go too.

One stone, 2 birds, 4 northern clubs.
No, they don't.

woosh_era
2nd November 2007, 22:00
Why not?

Syd v W.Syd. Bris v GC ...and all the permutations therein. Lots of potentailly massive rivalries right there.

Its inevitable. Lets get the Vic pain over in one hit rather than dragging it out over 10 years.

DarwinRoo
2nd November 2007, 22:01

Eagles, Crows, Hawks, Magpies or Swans?

woosh_era
2nd November 2007, 22:08
Well saints fly too. So do excitable Kangaroos.

Although you'd be lucky to see a bully more than 6 inches off the ground so i guess they are ok.

I really dont care who goes, nor is it any of my business, it just makes sense to fix it all in one fell swoop.... but i always liked neat solutions.

pies_this_year
2nd November 2007, 22:17
why not:
Gold Coast Kangaroos

and then two more licences:
Tasmanian Devils and
West Sydney <insert nickname>

If the AFL are so keen to grow the game by throwing around 17th licences willy nilly, then whats wrong with achieving a close to national league (sorry NT) with a team under down under? Everyones a winner! (except the two North fans)

SweetLeftFoot
2nd November 2007, 22:18
Why is there this received wisdom that Western Sydney and the GC need a club?

I don't see them crying out for one.

Southport want a license so they can have footy as half time entertainment at the pokies.

This things should be driven by DEMAND, not SUPPLY.

walhawk
2nd November 2007, 22:18
It would be a clash of Cultures but if I was the AFL I would be pushing for The Melbourne Bulldogs, The Western Sydney Kangaroos and a new team for GC.

bulldogrob
2nd November 2007, 22:20
It would be a clash of Cultures but if I was the AFL I would be pushing for The Melbourne Bulldogs, The Western Sydney Kangaroos and a new team for GC.

Doggies will be a richer club than the hawks in 5-6 years

dipper86
2nd November 2007, 22:27
Doggies will be a richer club than the hawks in 5-6 years

Thats preety funny, Wishing that happens doesn't mean its going to happen, we have more supporters, more assets, more members, more growth, more money, not on a drip feed by the AFL. In every facet Hawthorn is and will continue to be richer than the doggies.

We are also going to have a 2 to 2.8 million dollar profit this year,

woosh_era
2nd November 2007, 23:08

That sounds ideal. Although I would go for the GC Kangaroos (to morph to the sharks over time) and a new West Sydney club.

Gold Coast has less population mass so could probably use the legacy Vic support... although the vic link might actually hinder those with existing AFL allegiances.

The sydney westies should relate better to their own startup club to help mobilise a couple of million supporters... the 'real' sydney club vs the Vic rejects representing the toffs on the coast.

Thats a monster rivalry once it takes off. A proper 'national' scale one where each club will draw from more potential supporters than the entire WA or SA market.

mantis
2nd November 2007, 23:21
Why not?

Syd v W.Syd. Bris v GC ...and all the permutations therein. Lots of potentailly massive rivalries right there.

Its inevitable. Lets get the Vic pain over in one hit rather than dragging it out over 10 years.

I'd prefer to get rid of the manufactured, soulless clubs with no history. :thumbsu:

woosh_era
2nd November 2007, 23:36
I'd prefer to get rid of the manufactured, soulless clubs with no history. :thumbsu:

Only to introduce another couple of manufactured soulless clubs for NSW and Qld?

...or are you one of them vics that advocates shifting VFL basket cases all over the country to share (save) the precious glow of vic footy. Force feed some culture on them heathens eh? :thumbsu:

Forrest Gimp
3rd November 2007, 01:15

All clubs have history- Winning flags is making history, and calling any club soulless, is calling every club soulless, because all clubs these days exist to make money first of all (unfortunetaly), and success on the field is secondary.

DarwinRoo
3rd November 2007, 01:20
All clubs have history- Winning flags is making history, and calling any club soulless, is calling every club soulless, because all clubs these days exist to make money first of all (unfortunetaly), and success on the field is secondary.

Do Fremantle have a history?

Rory
3rd November 2007, 01:23
North Melbourne- Second Star To The right And Straight On till ‘Gold Coast...

yioughtta
3rd November 2007, 01:29
You've gotta love the clowns on here who harp on about 'rivalries' as though they are the only issue important in this debate.

Let me explain something to you- 'rivals' would only play each other twice a year. Not every freikin week. Apart from Rounds 1 and 16 (or whatever it is these days) the teams would be stealing support from one another- not increasing it.

The way some people go on you would think it would be Brisbane vs Gold Coast every second week- and Gold Coast vs Brisbane every other. The only rivalry that's actually important here is the one between Brisbane's membership department and the Gold Coast's membership department. This is where the real battle would be fought and like any war there would be no winners- only losers.

Forrest Gimp
3rd November 2007, 01:30

I guess so, as weak as it is. I suppose history isn't neccisarily created via success, however it sure helps.

Also (and myself being a south Freo supporter), Freo has a rich footballing history without the Docker blight being associated with it...

woosh_era
4th November 2007, 16:15
You've gotta love the clowns on here who harp on about 'rivalries' as though they are the only issue important in this debate.

Let me explain something to you- 'rivals' would only play each other twice a year. Not every freikin week. Apart from Rounds 1 and 16 (or whatever it is these days) the teams would be stealing support from one another- not increasing it.

The way some people go on you would think it would be Brisbane vs Gold Coast every second week- and Gold Coast vs Brisbane every other. The only rivalry that's actually important here is the one between Brisbane's membership department and the Gold Coast's membership department. This is where the real battle would be fought and like any war there would be no winners- only losers.

Local rivalries build interest. Believe it or not we dont all feel humbled and honoured to be coming to the G to play your VFL clubs... interstaters need proper national grade rivalries that we can relate to. Think Carlton v Collingwood, WC v Freo... lets give Sydney and Queensland some of that cross town passion, that 'us against them' buzz... and tap into some of the long standing NSW / QLD rivalry to boot. See what happens.

Its not all about Vic footy you know, there is a whole other country across the border, with real footy fans even. Shocking, i know.

unstable punt
4th November 2007, 16:46

Tassie Hawks is a certainty

flamethrower
4th November 2007, 17:38

Why? Have you ever been to the western suburbs of Sydney?

Areas like Parramatta, Penrith, Blacktown et al treat AFL with such disdain and comtempt that the mere mention of the fact that you are from Melbourne and follow the AFL brings comments questioning your parentage and sexuality. And this from complete strangers!!! :thumbsd:

If this is an example of the reaction to an individual AFL fan, one can only imagine the complete lack of support for an entire relocated Melbourne team. :eek:

blues4flag
4th November 2007, 17:42

Clearly you've never experienced a real rivalry. It extends beyond matches between the two clubs, I assure you.

beyondthevalley ofthedogs
4th November 2007, 18:23
Why is there this received wisdom that Western Sydney and the GC need a club?

I don't see them crying out for one.

Southport want a license so they can have footy as half time entertainment at the pokies.

This things should be driven by DEMAND, not SUPPLY.

Hey, listen, buddy. If it wasn't for received wisdom no one from Snowtown or Northbridge would have anything to say. Repeat what all your mates say - you know it makes sense!

Messenger
4th November 2007, 19:55
Tassie Hawks is a certainty

We have our own facilities, solid membership and money in the bank. Plus the Tasmanian government pay us a horse choking wad of cash as sponsorship.

We don't sell home games to Brisbane and train at the Junction Oval.

Hang on, I can think of a relocation candidate.

Messenger
4th November 2007, 19:57
Force feed some culture on them heathens eh? :thumbsu:

Just living up to the stereotype, aren't you.

ArachniX
5th November 2007, 11:55
why not:
Gold Coast Kangaroos

and then two more licences:
Tasmanian Devils and
West Sydney <insert nickname>

If the AFL are so keen to grow the game by throwing around 17th licences willy nilly, then whats wrong with achieving a close to national league (sorry NT) with a team under down under? Everyones a winner! (except the two North fans)

The only thing good about this is the amount of financial support and extra draft picks these clubs will receive not to mention the access to uncontracted players etc will mean that we would get to see Collingwood lose more Grand Finals against teams that have been propped up by the uneven league.
For any Collingwood supporter that supports this whole idea of the national game then I guess you can accept losing those 2 flags was good for the game? Write those ones off? I wouldn't think so. You guys have more fans than the northern states combined so why should you or any other side for that matter support a competition like that? How is that good for the fans?
This isn't just about North Melbourne. It affects the whole competition, and fans from other clubs.

woosh_era
5th November 2007, 18:05
Just living up to the stereotype, aren't you.

Trying my hardest. Do you have issue with the point itself, or are you just trying out for myth busters?

Mickdog
5th November 2007, 19:10

So your argument would be then to reduce Melbourne to having only 1 team because the clubs are steeling each others members:rolleyes:

Why do so many people think the only people who will watch a new side in NSW and QLD are the ones that are watching the game currently in those states? Is everyone so clueless? Both teams will get their own new supporters

Ripper
5th November 2007, 19:39

Great history actually.

Just a shame that once proud clubs (with an arguably better history than some VFL clubs) were relegated to become feeder clubs while Vic basket cases got a walk up start to an AFL license.

The same thing happened in SA.

The once great Norwood is but a shadow of itself.

Norf should just play in the VFL if they don't want to go to QLD.

SweetLeftFoot
5th November 2007, 21:35
Great history actually.

Just a shame that once proud clubs (with an arguably better history than some VFL clubs) were relegated to become feeder clubs while Vic basket cases got a walk up start to an AFL license.

The same thing happened in SA.

The once great Norwood is but a shadow of itself.

Norf should just play in the VFL if they don't want to go to QLD.

A walk up start?

You mean we were allowed to continue playing in our own competition that you lot clamoured to join?

MAG87
6th November 2007, 12:33
if people thinking here that western sydney would be a success in the near future you're completely tapped. they despise the AFL with a passion it would take minimum 50 years before a substantial change in the region to occur. even if there was a rivalry it wouldnt attract much as others would be busy with the penrith vs paramatta or bulldogs vs parra etc games.

Mickdog
6th November 2007, 12:40
if people thinking here that western sydney would be a success in the near future you're completely tapped. they despise the AFL with a passion it would take minimum 50 years before a substantial change in the region to occur. even if there was a rivalry it wouldnt attract much as others would be busy with the penrith vs paramatta or bulldogs vs parra etc games.

Their is a hatred for Aussie Rules all througout Sydney. What makes West Sydney any different to the rest of Sydney? I do live in Sydney and I can assure you that a team playing out of Telstra stadium would recieve support, the derbies would be 60k+ crowds and although they may not capture the minds of most of the Sydney population they would succeed in raising the TV audience. That is afterall the reason why the AFL want teams 2 teams in Sydney and in QLD

AmericanFootyFan
6th November 2007, 13:25
So, in effect, you'd create a West Sydney club just for the derby? What about the other 10 home matches?

Mickdog
6th November 2007, 13:27
So, in effect, you'd create a West Sydney club just for the derby? What about the other 10 home matches?

I think it is obvious. Increased TV ratings. I said this already.

Of course there are more than just derbies. The Swans attract 50-60k crowds against the tops teams at Telstra. The West Sydney team could do the same

bradrowe#32
6th November 2007, 13:31
Why not?

Let's not kid ourselves here. The WA and SA rivalries work because they genuinely dislike each other.

Manufactured rivalries up north would just be cringe worthy. Let the clubs develop naturally.

woosh_era
6th November 2007, 19:01
Manufactured rivalries up north would just be cringe worthy. Let the clubs develop naturally.

For sure. umm, when exactly? So far we have North Melbourne going to the Gold Coast...

This competiton needs restructuring and we might as well do it properly.
...for a change.