View Full Version : Gibbs vs Joel Selwood

Pages : [1] 2 3 4

SM10
3 Nov 2007, 22:30
I know it's probably still a bit early to tell but both have played over 20 games.. Who would you have taken now?

TheGeneral
3 Nov 2007, 22:50
*waits for Collingwood fans to say Marty Clarke is better than both of them*

foxdoog50
3 Nov 2007, 23:12
If you tip Gibbs you have got rock in your head (dont get me wrong his going to be a good player but Joel will be another step in front of him)

SM10
3 Nov 2007, 23:23
If you tip Gibbs you have got rock in your head (dont get me wrong his going to be a good player but Joel will be another step in front of him)
ATM yes, but I reckon Gibbs has alot more improvement left in him, Selwood not as much IMO..

marcmurphy3
3 Nov 2007, 23:23
Joel definately had a better season but i would still take Gibbs (although I'm biased).

Also, to the previous poster (the Geelong supporter) we have no idea who will be better in 5 years time. Don't speak to soon.

Pendleburry is a great example even though he is still young.

ALM_30
3 Nov 2007, 23:47
Joel definately had a better season but i would still take Gibbs (although I'm biased).

Also, to the previous poster (the Geelong supporter) we have no idea who will be better in 5 years time. Don't speak to soon.

Is that a complement toward Pendlebury or what, what are you implying?

marcmurphy3
4 Nov 2007, 01:48
Is that a complement toward Pendlebury or what, what are you implying?

Yep, one of my favourite non-Carlton players.

He's a good example because as a top 5 pick who showed far less then Gibbs this year (in his 1st year), many would have laughed if someone suggested that he would be comparable to Murph.

One year on, he is a gun and at a similar level to our no.1 pick. Still think Murph is better though. :D

Basically, it is foolish to suggest one player will certainly be better based on their 1st year.

foxdoog50
4 Nov 2007, 08:12

You idiot,you cant talk , your a carlton suppoter saying basicly the same thing bout Gibbs and you go for Carlton:confused::confused:
I suppose will just have to see who wins the poll:D

smiddaz123
4 Nov 2007, 08:56
*waits for Collingwood fans to say Marty Clarke is better than both of them*

Nah, only Gibbs.

Selwood>>>Clarke>>>Gibbs.

smiddaz123
4 Nov 2007, 08:59
Yep, one of my favourite non-Carlton players.

He's a good example because as a top 5 pick who showed far less then Gibbs this year (in his 1st year), many would have laughed if someone suggested that he would be comparable to Murph.

One year on, he is a gun and at a similar level to our no.1 pick. Still think Murph is better though. :D

Basically, it is foolish to suggest one player will certainly be better based on their 1st year.

Very good point. Gibbs probably has more room to improve than Selwood.

But I'd still take Selwood.

JKCeagle
4 Nov 2007, 09:32
I know it's probably still a bit early to tell but both have played over 20 games.. Who would you have taken now?

The implication is "in the light of the season that has passed, and what each player did in that season, who would you take"...and of course the answer must be Selwood.

The Royal Sampler
4 Nov 2007, 09:36
Nah, only Gibbs.

That was my first thought too. :thumbsu:

stifler's mom
4 Nov 2007, 13:11
Nah, only Gibbs.

Agreed. :thumbsu:

delirious1
4 Nov 2007, 14:14
I kept telling people selwood would be better then gibbs, but i got told i was an idiot and gibbs was a certainty to win the rising star, i feel vindicated.
Gibbs still is under-aged and all, but he wouldnt be getting games as the 4th midfielder in the geelong side.

Tarkyn_24
4 Nov 2007, 17:14
I would've taken.

Leuy
Gumby
Selwood
Gibbs
Sellar

as my top five.

HBK619
4 Nov 2007, 20:13
I am guessing that Carlton fans will say that Gibbs will be a superstar in the future, even though nothing he has done so far shows that.

But everyone else will say Selwood because he is genuinely better, and will be the best out of that draft apart from Luenburger.

parrot
4 Nov 2007, 23:24
Gibbs is about 7-8 talent classes above Selwood, so this poll is meaningless. I do like the way Selwood goes about it though. Best described as a poor mans Marc Murphy. Selwood has heaps of courage and a positive attitude, but just lacks the class, poise and finishing skills Murph naturally has. :)

Scruba
4 Nov 2007, 23:46
Gibbs easily. A class above

Tarkyn_24
5 Nov 2007, 05:49
Gibbs is about 7-8 talent classes above Selwood, (though he can be) best described as a poor mans Marc Murphy (but he) just lacks the class, poise and finishing skills Murph naturally has. :)
If you seriously think this, you're an absolute joke parrot. Selwood is an absolute gem, and your club has erred by not taking him with your picks obtained through tanking. Stop acting bitter about the fact that there has been much greater talent then your two latest draft picks (Murphy and Gibbs) in Pendlebury, Selwood, Gumbleton and Leueneberger. :)

parrot
5 Nov 2007, 09:02
I.... Selwood is an absolute gem, and your club has erred ...

lol. Hardly. When you actually start watching footy games, go watch some of Selwoods work. Yes, he is an awesome player, but his skills while good, aren't in the elite category. Finds the ball, is a tough nut, but execution lets him down. Players lke Gibbs and Murph are just naturally highly skilled, and do the difficult, easily. Selwood is one of those players that has to work at it, as he just doesn't have the natural gifts the other 2 have. :)

greennick
5 Nov 2007, 09:26
lol. Hardly. When you actually start watching footy games, go watch some of Selwoods work. Yes, he is an awesome player, but his skills while good, aren't in the elite category. Finds the ball, is a tough nut, but execution lets him down. Players lke Gibbs and Murph are just naturally highly skilled, and do the difficult, easily. Selwood is one of those players that has to work at it, as he just doesn't have the natural gifts the other 2 have. :)
Whereas Gibbs is just a pussy seagull that can't keep his feet. :)

Tarkyn_24
5 Nov 2007, 09:31
lol. Hardly. When you actually start watching footy games, go watch some of (the) Selwoods (they) have the natural gifts the other 2 have. :)
I think they'd be quite upset at that. They're skills easily outstrip that of Murphy, while Gibbs has nothing compared to Pendlebury, let alone Selwood.

TheGeneral
5 Nov 2007, 11:55
I think they'd be quite upset at that. They're skills easily outstrip that of Murphy, while Gibbs has nothing compared to Pendlebury, let alone Selwood.
Pendlebury is better than Gibbs and Murphy and Murphy lacks Selwood's skill?

Thanks for the laugh.

Gibbs>>>>>>>>>Pendlebury (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mL7ZMJWgTCc)

Murphy has poor skills and smothered Selwood's brilliant kicking in this video (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FHfELFKLK_8) :D

PS. The word is their, not they're. :o
Whereas Gibbs is just a pussy seagull that can't keep his feet. :)
Those Collingwood boys are great at keeping their feet in a contest under pressure. :rolleyes: :o

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gVAoyVDqDR0

ALM_30
5 Nov 2007, 11:56
Ah Parrot, the man with nothing even resembling intelligent to say, who continues... no scrap that... thrives to make a fool of himself, and seems to enjoy the fact members see him this way.

Let's just say the Blues could have done much better with their last two first... no scrap that... "tank" picks.

ALM_30
5 Nov 2007, 12:06
Pendlebury is better than Gibbs and Murphy and Murphy lacks Selwood's skill?

Thanks for the laugh.

Gibbs>>>>>>>>>Pendlebury (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mL7ZMJWgTCc)

Murphy has poor skills and smothered Selwood's brilliant kicking in this video (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FHfELFKLK_8) :D

PS. The word is their, not they're. :o

Those Collingwood boys are great at keeping their feet in a contest under pressure. :rolleyes: :o

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gVAoyVDqDR0

If you believe Gibbs is better than Pendlebury then that says alot about your view of football, or should I say lack of view. It can't really be taken seriously because it is the word of a prototypical Carlton fan, who refuses to accept at this point in time that anything to do with Collingwood might be much better than anything to do with Carlton.

I'm fairly sure Collingwood's contested footy was what got us as far as we did. The statistics and performance when it mattered in finals back that up. Carlton fans contradict themselves saying Collingwood are just a team of in-and-under tryers nothing more, then when we say we are a good in and under team you call us a bunch of fleet footed pansies. Make a bloody decision, because at this point you just look stupid, and why you continue to turn everything into a Carlton v. Collingwood debate is baffling.

Pendlebury thus far has proven more at the top level than Murphy has, and Selwood is a fair few bars above where Gibbs is at, plain and simple. Who knows what the future holds, but we are looking at now.

PS: We'll be sure to refer to you on all matters of vocab, grammar and spelling. Thanks General.

Rockford
5 Nov 2007, 12:35

c2-HUEJ7Rcw

qQLQEL66U8A

tin can sam
5 Nov 2007, 17:56

Thanks for that parrot.

parrot says the Carlton guys are better?

I didn't see that coming.

parrot
5 Nov 2007, 17:59
Thanks for that parrot.

parrot says the Carlton guys are better?

I didn't see that coming.

Start watching more football games and you'll be better prepared next time. :)

tin can sam
5 Nov 2007, 18:23
Start watching more football games and you'll be better prepared next time. :)

Have you ever rated a non-carlton player ahead of a carlton player?

e.g

Waite vs Mooney
S. O'Hailpien vs Brian Harris
Fevola vs Lloyd
N. Stevens vs S. Black
Grigg vs J. Selwood
A. Carrazzo vs J. Corey
A. Walker vs B. McLean

Highlight who is better in each of these cases.

smiddaz123
5 Nov 2007, 18:38
Lets try a carlton vs collingwood player and see what he says

Eddie Betts vs Alan Didak.

Who is better Parrot?

ALM_30
5 Nov 2007, 18:43
Lets try a carlton vs collingwood player and see what he says

Eddie Betts vs Alan Didak.

Who is better Parrot?

Why even bother, and in particular don't get him started on another Carlton v. Collingwood debate.

To follow a fool means to be a fool.

parrot
5 Nov 2007, 18:58
The whole anti-Carlton Talent-Envy cohort has landed. Huge laughes. :)

smiddaz123
5 Nov 2007, 19:14

What's even funnier is that you refuse to answer everyones question. Try it now :)

greennick
5 Nov 2007, 20:57
Have you ever rated a non-carlton player ahead of a carlton player?

e.g

Waite vs Mooney
Fevola vs Lloyd
N. Stevens vs S. Black
Grigg vs J. Selwood
A. Carrazzo vs J. Corey
A. Walker vs B. McLean

Come on parrot, don't pussy out like Gibbs would, highlight which off those players are better. :thumbsu:

Rockford
5 Nov 2007, 22:04
Come on parrot, don't pussy out like Gibbs would, highlight which off those players are better. :thumbsu:

Is it possible? Parrot and Gibbs have something in common.

bvXYAazPJnA

Well, at least there is no doubt as to who has more of the mental toughness and fortitude required to play the game, Joel wins hands down.

parrot
5 Nov 2007, 22:08

Lloyd has been better over his entire career, but now and in the future Fev by miles. As for the rest of the list - those on the left. Easy. You need to compare the Blues players to better quality, if you want a tight result. But of course the real point is the ever escalating rampant non-Carlton supporter talent envy. Huge laughes. :)

smiddaz123
5 Nov 2007, 22:18
Lloyd has been better over his entire career, but now and in the future Fev by miles. As for the rest of the list - those on the left. Easy. You need to compare the Blues players to better quality, if you want a tight result. But of course the real point is the ever escalating rampant non-Carlton supporter talent envy. Huge laughes. :)
Waite vs Mooney
Fevola vs Lloyd
N. Stevens vs S. Black
Grigg vs J. Selwood
A. Carrazzo vs J. Corey
A. Walker vs B. McLean

Judt do it ok?

KING-JAMES
5 Nov 2007, 22:23
He said those on left so that means all carlton.

greennick
5 Nov 2007, 22:26
No, huge laughs are from you just saying the bolded players are better:

Waite vs Mooney
Fevola vs Lloyd (draw?)
N. Stevens vs S. Black
Grigg vs J. Selwood
A. Carrazzo vs J. Corey
A. Walker vs B. McLean

Further huge laughs are from your interesting spelling of laughs. :thumbsu:

parrot
5 Nov 2007, 22:31

Waite vs Mooney
Fevola vs Lloyd (draw?)
N. Stevens vs S. Black
Grigg vs J. Selwood
A. Carrazzo vs J. Corey
A. Walker vs B. McLean...

:

Not quite right. Lloyd is currently better over his entire career, but Fev is obviously a lot better now and will be in the future. Again, the subtext of these postings is rampant, ever escalating non-Carlton supporter talent envy. It is absolutely hilarious. I'm really enjoying it. :)

smiddaz123
5 Nov 2007, 22:46
Not quite right. Lloyd is currently better over his entire career, but Fev is obviously a lot better now and will be in the future. Again, the subtext of these postings is rampant, ever escalating non-Carlton supporter talent envy. It is absolutely hilarious. I'm really enjoying it. :)

Grigg>Selwood? Is that for real?

greennick
5 Nov 2007, 22:47
I would say people are more amazed at your stupidity than envious of Carlton's talent. :thumbsu:

We know you do enjoy people not liking Carlton, that is why you make such ridiculous statements as Nick Stevens is better than Simon Black. You do it to encourage people to mock you and Carlton. It makes you feel like the Carlton of old is back. However, until Carlton gets some runs on the board, people will spend more time laughing at you than hating you. I am sure you are used to it though. It's been 6 years and counting. :thumbsu:

parrot
5 Nov 2007, 22:56
I view every new bitter opposition supporter bleating (see above) as just another piece of evidence that the Blues are well on the way to reclaiming their traditional, and rightful powerhouse status. The Blues are amassing an awesome list of talent, and opposition supporters aren't happy about it. :)

SM10
5 Nov 2007, 22:57

lol:o

greennick
5 Nov 2007, 23:25
I would say people are more amazed at your stupidity than envious of Carlton's talent. :thumbsu:

We know you do enjoy people not liking Carlton, that is why you make such ridiculous statements as Nick Stevens is better than Simon Black. You do it to encourage people to mock you and Carlton. It makes you feel like the Carlton of old is back. However, until Carlton gets some runs on the board, people will spend more time laughing at you than hating you. I am sure you are used to it though. It's been 6 years and counting. :thumbsu:

I view every new bitter opposition supporter bleating (see above) as just another piece of evidence that the Blues are well on the way to reclaiming their traditional, and rightful powerhouse status. The Blues are amassing an awesome list of talent, and opposition supporters aren't happy about it. :)
Thank you for proving my point, your a funny woman parrot. Funny strange, not ha-ha funny.

smiddaz123
6 Nov 2007, 08:34
Parrot's a chick?

Tarkyn_24
6 Nov 2007, 13:56
Parrot's a chick?
I know. It's hard to tell...

Tarkyn_24
6 Nov 2007, 13:59
The Blues are amassing an awesome list of talent, and supporters aren't happy about it. :)
Of course you aren't happy, Thomas.

You just love tanks.

KING-JAMES
6 Nov 2007, 15:02

Waite vs Mooney
Fevola vs Lloyd (draw?)
N. Stevens vs S. Black
Grigg vs J. Selwood
A. Carrazzo vs J. Corey
A. Walker vs B. McLean

Hang on maybe we are being one eyed and have to look at the real football world like Parrot does.

Waite is a superb athlete who has excellent skills by foot and is an aerial freak. Cam Mooney is a spoon fed, rough around the edges player who can kick goals when being fed by a dominant side. Waite covers him easily :)

Setanta is a pure freak who can run with the best and is the most promising young CHB in the game. His skills are developing at a rapid speed. Brian Harris is a cheap ball getting Dud whose skills are getting worse every week and couldn’t take a mark to save him. Setanta is better now and will continue to be better for years. The raw potential and talent his possesses is mouth watering :)

Matthew Lloyd is proven to only be good when in a good side. This free kick chasing dud gives no 2nd efforts and spits the dummy way too much. Fevola is a freak on the lead that is capable of kicking 100+ goals when in form. He has a perfect attitude towards 2nd efforts and Lloyd needs to learn from this champion player. Fevola is easily the best full forward in the league :)

Simon Black is way past him prime and has lost the ability to set his team mates up without having a star midfield around him. His foot skills are sub par and he never goes forward to kick goals. He barely gets a mark and is aging terribly. Nick Stevens on the other hand is fresh out of injury and is determined to make it back to his awesome best. His kicking skills are elite and he really knows how to get his younger teammates involved. Definitely has Black covered in every aspect of the game :)

Grigg has so much athletic ability and raw talent in his game, he really could end up one of the best in the league. He is the perfect modern day midfielder, tall, skillful and kicks goals. His versatile and would leave Selwood for dead in a one on one contest. Selwood looked ok in a top side but was being carried by what was around him. His kicking is awful and his decision making just as bad. No way was he worth pick 7, yet another stuff up to pass up a Hampson or Grigg. They would be absolutely spewing about this decision

Andrew Carrazzo is the best reader of the play in the game and every one of his disposals in A grade quality. He gives so much run and drive and would be one of the first picked in every side. Joel Corey is a crap sloppy player who could not hit a target if his life depended on it. His 2nd efforts and one per centers are non existent. Wouldn’t get a game at Carlton. Carrazzo>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>Corey

Andrew Walker is pure X factor and raw talent. His ability to run and carry is just amazing. He has the most natural ability in the league and has elite skills by foot. His decision making is just class. Imagine him when he peaks. Pure freak who everyone would love to have. The talent envy of his is just hilarious. Brock Mclean is just a solid contributor with bad skills and no natural ability. Just another one of those players getting the best out of the limited ability they have. Walker creams him. :)

:D

Sherminator.
6 Nov 2007, 16:55
The post above me is pure gold.

LMAO at the part about Stevens being better than Black :P

tin can sam
6 Nov 2007, 17:57

Waite vs Mooney
Fevola vs Lloyd (draw?)
N. Stevens vs S. Black
Grigg vs J. Selwood
A. Carrazzo vs J. Corey
A. Walker vs B. McLean

I love parrot. Easily the best poster on this site. I even picked options that neutral fans saw as very one sided (except in the Fevola/Lloyd case) and he still manages to believe that not just one, but all those blues players are better.

JKCeagle
6 Nov 2007, 19:11

Waite vs Mooney
Fevola vs Lloyd (draw?)
N. Stevens vs S. Black
Grigg vs J. Selwood
A. Carrazzo vs J. Corey
A. Walker vs B. McLean

Awesome! :thumbsu:

SM10
6 Nov 2007, 19:57
Hang on maybe we are being one eyed and have to look at the real football world like Parrot does.

Waite is a superb athlete who has excellent skills by foot and is an aerial freak. Cam Mooney is a spoon fed, rough around the edges player who can kick goals when being fed by a dominant side. Waite covers him easily :)

Setanta is a pure freak who can run with the best and is the most promising young CHB in the game. His skills are developing at a rapid speed. Brian Harris is a cheap ball getting Dud whose skills are getting worse every week and couldn’t take a mark to save him. Setanta is better now and will continue to be better for years. The raw potential and talent his possesses is mouth watering :)

Matthew Lloyd is proven to only be good when in a good side. This free kick chasing dud gives no 2nd efforts and spits the dummy way too much. Fevola is a freak on the lead that is capable of kicking 100+ goals when in form. He has a perfect attitude towards 2nd efforts and Lloyd needs to learn from this champion player. Fevola is easily the best full forward in the league :)

Simon Black is way past him prime and has lost the ability to set his team mates up without having a star midfield around him. His foot skills are sub par and he never goes forward to kick goals. He barely gets a mark and is aging terribly. Nick Stevens on the other hand is fresh out of injury and is determined to make it back to his awesome best. His kicking skills are elite and he really knows how to get his younger teammates involved. Definitely has Black covered in every aspect of the game :)

Grigg has so much athletic ability and raw talent in his game, he really could end up one of the best in the league. He is the perfect modern day midfielder, tall, skillful and kicks goals. His versatile and would leave Selwood for dead in a one on one contest. Selwood looked ok in a top side but was being carried by what was around him. His kicking is awful and his decision making just as bad. No way was he worth pick 7, yet another stuff up to pass up a Hampson or Grigg. They would be absolutely spewing about this decision

Andrew Carrazzo is the best reader of the play in the game and every one of his disposals in A grade quality. He gives so much run and drive and would be one of the first picked in every side. Joel Corey is a crap sloppy player who could not hit a target if his life depended on it. His 2nd efforts and one per centers are non existent. Wouldn’t get a game at Carlton. Carrazzo>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>Corey

Andrew Walker is pure X factor and raw talent. His ability to run and carry is just amazing. He has the most natural ability in the league and has elite skills by foot. His decision making is just class. Imagine him when he peaks. Pure freak who everyone would love to have. The talent envy of his is just hilarious. Brock Mclean is just a solid contributor with bad skills and no natural ability. Just another one of those players getting the best out of the limited ability they have. Walker creams him. :)

:D
Oh, so true... Hahaha, good work mate

foxdoog50
6 Nov 2007, 21:32
Lets just finish this thread. Selwood is in front by a mile.
Poll is finished. And the winner is Joel Selwood..

parrot
6 Nov 2007, 21:52
Lets just finish this thread. Selwood is in front by a mile.
Poll is finished. And the winner is Joel Selwood..

That's like saying Ling is better than Judd. lol. Hey, if it makes you happy, why not. :)

ALM_30
6 Nov 2007, 22:17
That's like saying Ling is better than Judd. lol. Hey, if it makes you happy, why not. :)

I think you are a little more than a Big Footy ADDICT parrot. What are you trying to achieve? Are you lonely, coming on here craving attention with your stupid remarks, I mean you must be because you don't ever want to talk about football. So what's the point? This shit was probably pretty funny when you started out, but now it's just beyond sad, and it's not a case of people getting angry at you, we just see you as pathetic. I think you are what they call a masochist, you take pleasure in humiliating yourself. Why people even bother with you is baffling, because your'e a dud with nothing to say. Get a life. :)

Tarkyn_24
7 Nov 2007, 06:07
Ling is better than Judd. . Agreed

one_twelve112
7 Nov 2007, 08:30
.....and the Collingwood supporter obsession with Parrot continues.

Tarkyn_24
7 Nov 2007, 09:31
.....and the Collingwood supporter obsession with Parrot continues.
Haha. Nice alias parrot.

one_twelve112
7 Nov 2007, 09:38
Haha. Nice alias parrot.
.....Oh Dear

BABYBOMBERS2007
7 Nov 2007, 10:37
Selwood is better now, than gibbs will be in his entire career, which wont be long cause he's crap. Gibbs is a dud. Selwood won the rising star and will be even better. This thread is just like comparing Geelong's season to carlton's season. One is good, one isn't good.

one_twelve112
7 Nov 2007, 10:52
Selwood is better now, than gibbs will be in his entire career, which wont be long cause he's crap. Gibbs is a dud. Selwood won the rising star and will be even better. This thread is just like comparing Geelong's season to carlton's season. One is good, one isn't good.
Or Essendon to teats on a bull? Both are f&^ken useless.......

Rockford
7 Nov 2007, 10:57
.....Oh Dear

Can we get your opinion on the following then:

Waite vs Mooney
S. O'Hailpienvs Brian Harris
Fevola vs Lloyd
N. Stevensvs S. Black
Grigg vs J. Selwood
A. Carrazzo vs J. Corey
A. Walkervs B. McLean

one_twelve112
7 Nov 2007, 11:57
Can we get your opinion on the following then:

Waite vs Mooney
S. O'Hailpienvs Brian Harris
Fevola vs Lloyd
N. Stevensvs S. Black
Grigg vs J. Selwood
A. Carrazzo vs J. Corey
A. Walkervs B. McLean
Sure.

I would take Waite over Mooney due to his versitility (Killed several forwards this year incl. Reiwolt, can also go forward and kick 4 or 5).

O'hAilpin easily over Harris.

You can flip a coin with Fev and Lloydy at the moment. I think Fev is still improving and Lloyd is probably just past his best. That said, Lloyd career>Fevola career so far.

I am a huge fan of Stevo and reckon he is fairly underrated. Black is very highly rated and with reason. Going in to 2008 I can't split them.

Selwood has the runs on the board but Grigg has amazing upside and could be anything.

Carrazzo will need another good year to prove that 2007 wasn't just a one off, Corey is very good, again flip a coin.

I was a little dissappointed with McLean (who I think is a great player) in 2007, he actually seemed to go backwards. Brock in 2006 was better, Walker in 2007 was better, 2008????

TheGeneral
7 Nov 2007, 12:32
Gibbs has more talent, pace and potential than Selwood who is as good as he'll ever be.

Even Matthew Kreuzer is quicker than Selwood over the ground and a better runner than the injury prone Selwood.

Selwood will be lucky to play more than 150 games.

How you can vote for a guy who doesn't have any upside?

Bryce can play everywhere bar the ruck.

Gibbs, easily.
Selwood is better now, than gibbs will be in his entire career, which wont be long cause he's crap. Gibbs is a dud. Selwood won the rising star and will be even better.
Then I guess Essendon are screwed and have no chance of making the top four in 20010 after they picked Gumbleton ahead of Selwood. Gumbleton's first season wasn't as good as Kennedy's first season, yet Gumbleton was taken at two in the so called superdraft. I fear Gumby has Kepler Bradley written all over him after the bang up job you did developing Kepler into an AFL footballer.

Rockford
7 Nov 2007, 12:39
Gibbs has more talent, pace and potential than Selwood who is as good as he'll ever be.

Even Matthew Kreuzer is quicker than Selwood over the ground and a better runner than the injury prone Selwood.

LOL. What are you basing Gibbs' talent and potential on? Not his 2007 season obviously. Selwood in his first season has played 21 games and hasn't missed a single game through injury, how do you figure the guy doesn't have any upside?

makethat2
7 Nov 2007, 13:11

Gibbs, easily.

Then I guess Essendon are screwed and have no chance of making the top four in 20010 after they picked Gumbleton ahead of Selwood. Gumbleton's first season wasn't as good as Kennedy's first season, yet Gumbleton was taken at two in the so called superdraft. I fear Gumby has Kepler Bradley written all over him after the bang up job you did developing Kepler into an AFL footballer.
Going by this logic, we have all seen the best of Marc Murphy then. His First year was good(Not as good as Selwoods) and this year he was crap. Is he going backwards or did he just peak to early like Selwood????

Pettas
7 Nov 2007, 15:34

I'm sure Gibbs would play well in the ruck if he was up against someone like Milne.

Oh.....wait a minute...... :D

smiddaz123
7 Nov 2007, 15:36

So can a lot of players.

Playing in that position well is a different story.

Monkeyboy
7 Nov 2007, 16:01
I think Gibbs may struggle at CHF, but agree he is the young onballer who looks ready to explode to a level above all others in the coming seasons.

Eddie Vedder
7 Nov 2007, 17:22
Totally unbiased view here but Selwood by so far its not even funny

Sherminator.
7 Nov 2007, 21:19
Parrot's act is getting old. Very old.

foxdoog50
7 Nov 2007, 21:47
Parrot you are a wanker...

Jono B
7 Nov 2007, 23:24

Gibbs, easily.

I guess having more disposals goals and marks is worse especially after having a shortened preseason and also suffering a hamstring tear midseason. Also Gumbleton is not a player being turned into something he is not. So I don't see why you bring Keplar into it.

ALM_30
8 Nov 2007, 10:44

Gibbs, easily.

I think you need to remove yourself from parrot's arse...

That's the thing about Carlton fans, that seperates them from everyone else: Even when it's blatantly obvious that they aren't (like in the case of this thread), Carlton fans can never admit when something or someone is better than something or someone from their club.

Gibbs is way better than Selwood.
Fevola is a great team player and the best FF in the AFL.
Our youngsters are 10 times better than anyone else's.
... etc, etc, the laughs just keep coming.

Talk to most Carlton fans, like General and Parrot and they currently have the best of everything... I wonder then why they can't win any games?

parrot
8 Nov 2007, 11:03
..Gibbs is way better than Selwood.
Fevola is a great team player and the best FF in the AFL.......

Well at least you got that right. Why are you so obssessed with our list? lol. Blues supporters are just quietly confident we've made a few little steps in the right direction. Opposition supporters have got themselves whipped up into an angry talent envy frenzy. It's quite funny. :)

Rockford
8 Nov 2007, 11:26
Here are the stats.

Joel has averaged more disposals per game (19.2 to 13.0), more marks per game (5.2 to 4.3), more tackles per game (4.5 to 2.8) as well as more goals and behinds per game. Joel also dominated the voting in the rising star award. The only place Gibbs has it over him is in free kicks against (0.6 to 1) and in hitouts (0.1 to 0). Given Gibbs' clear superiority in hitouts maybe the CFC should play him in the ruck :rolleyes:

You may be right about his leg speed though Parrot, Gibbs needs it to run away from the likes of Milne.

TheGeneral
8 Nov 2007, 12:03
Here are the stats.

Joel has averaged more disposals per game (19.2 to 13.0), more marks per game (5.2 to 4.3), more tackles per game (4.5 to 2.8) as well as more goals and behinds per game. Joel also dominated the voting in the rising star award. The only place Gibbs has it over him is in free kicks against (0.6 to 1) and in hitouts (0.1 to 0). Given Gibbs' clear superiority in hitouts maybe the CFC should play him in the ruck :rolleyes:

You may be right about his leg speed though Parrot, Gibbs needs it to run away from the likes of Milne.
That's a compelling argument you've made there.

I don't know why Selwood averaged more possessions per game than Gibbs when he was playing up the ground for a side that controlled nearly every game they played. Murphy had a better rookie season than Selwood playing for the AFL's wooden spooner, yet he was tagged in his first season and still beat them.

No one worried about Selwood when they had to stop player like Bartel, Corey, Ablett, etc. ;)

Selwood is slower than Kreuzer. :) :o

Lance Burkhardt
8 Nov 2007, 12:03
In relation to the thread and with an unbiased opinion; Selwood without a doubt at the moment. The stats don't lie and he keeps his head over the footy. It'd be a couple of years before i'd think of changing my choice :rolleyes:

smiddaz123
8 Nov 2007, 12:13

I don't know why Selwood averaged more possessions per game than Gibbs when he was playing up the ground for a side that controlled nearly every game they played. Murphy had a better rookie season than Selwood playing for the AFL's wooden spooner, yet he was tagged in his first season and still beat them.

No one worried about Selwood when they had to stop player like Bartel, Corey, Ablett, etc. ;)

Haha I'm yet to see your arguments to why Gibbs is better. Care to share them?

It's obvious to me that Gibbs has potential, but right now, Selwood is far and away the best young midfielder in the AFL.

I think it's a credit to Joel that he was getting game time in arguably the best midfield in the AFL.

Gibbs couldn't get a gig in one of the worst ones.

Selwood is better AT THE MOMENT.

TheGeneral
8 Nov 2007, 12:15
Talk to most Carlton fans, like General and Parrot and they currently have the best of everything... I wonder then why they can't win any games?
Why did you lose to Richmond and Port if your players are so good?

Carlton beat both sides this year.

Carlton wish they had young footballers who can think their way of a traffic jam and stop their opponent scoring a goal.

SWd5RiWM2V4

gVAoyVDqDR0

Collingwood have it all.

ALM_30
8 Nov 2007, 12:18
Why did you lose to Richmond if your players are so good?

Carlton wish they had young footballers who can think their way through traffic like a Dale Thomas and go hard as Pendlebury when you just have to win a contested ball.

Collingwood have it all. :)

Why did we finish 4th dipshit?

Why did Carlton finish 15th, you are a dud General, you have no argument.

Murphy didn't have as good a rookie year as Selwood considering Murphy missed the last 7-8 games with injury, he didn't win the rising star, he didn't win a premiership. You are a fool.

You actually waste your time and go on to youtube to pick out these videos that mean nothing, they are momentary instances of bad form which every player has, how bout we go back and pick out the tape of Gibbs when Farmer tore him a new asshole at Subiaco.

You talk about other teams not going hard at the ball, when your team hits the field intending to lose games. I'm not sure what you are trying to prove but at this point Carlton have nothing over any other team in the AFL, you are a laughing stock of a club, how I can only hope your cheat of a president leads you down into the gutter like Elliot did.

Loser.

Rockford
8 Nov 2007, 12:20

Thanks

I don't know why Selwood averaged more possessions per game than Gibbs when he was playing up the ground for a side that controlled nearly every game they played.

Because he gets more of the ball as he is a better player, he also laid more tackles.

Murphy had a better rookie season than Selwood playing for the AFL's wooden spooner, yet he was tagged in his first season and still beat them.

I don't know what your point is here, is it that Carlton were really crap? Also, I'm curious as to how you justify your statement that Murphy had a better rookie season than Selwood.

Selwood didn't get a dedicated tag, that is true. If you watched any of his games however you would have seen that he is not just a link up player, he crashes packs, gets his own ball and his disposal is uncanny (especially for a player of his age/experience).

Can Kreuzer outrun the ball? Joel's footy smarts and disposal more than make up for any lack of pace. Geelong bucked the recent trend of drafting 'athletes' ahead of skilled footballers and it seems to have paid off.

smiddaz123
8 Nov 2007, 12:23
Why did you lose to Richmond and Port if your players are so good?

Carlton beat both sides this year.

Carlton wish they had young footballers who can think their way of a traffic jam and stop their opponent scoring a goal.

Collingwood have it all.
Why did you lose to Collingwood twice this year if we're so crap?

TheGeneral
8 Nov 2007, 12:28
Haha I'm yet to see your arguments to why Gibbs is better. Care to share them?

It's obvious to me that Gibbs has potential, but right now, Selwood is far and away the best young midfielder in the AFL.

I think it's a credit to Joel that he was getting game time in arguably the best midfield in the AFL.

Gibbs couldn't get a gig in one of the worst ones.

Selwood is better AT THE MOMENT.
Do we rate Boak higher than Gibbs because he played in the Grand Final?

Gibbs not playing in the midfield wouldn't be due to Gibbs being needed in the backline because we lack medium defenders and he can play anywhere. Perhaps Pagan wasn't willing to throw Gibbs in there after Murphy was taken out last year.

Once bitten, twice shy.

Murphy would have held his spot in Geelong's midfield this year.

Rockford
8 Nov 2007, 12:30

You know this poll is Gibbs vs Selwood yeah? Not Murphy? Did you want to change your vote?

smiddaz123
8 Nov 2007, 12:35
Do we rate Boak higher than Gibbs because he played in the Grand Final?

Gibbs not playing in the midfield wouldn't be due to Gibbs being needed in the backline because we lack medium defenders and he can play anywhere. Perhaps Pagan wasn't willing to throw Gibbs in there after Murphy was taken out last year.

Once bitten, twice shy.

Uh whats your point about Murphy? I don't care if he could play in Geelongs midfield. He could play in any midfield, he's a star. But how is that relevant in any way at all?

I rate Boak alongside Gibbs atm, I love the way Boak plays. He's a genuine midfielder.

So please, share your points for why Gibbs is better. This time try not to mention Marc Murphy, as he isn't relevant at all.

ALM_30
8 Nov 2007, 12:38
Uh whats your point about Murphy? I don't care if he could play in Geelongs midfield. He could play in any midfield, he's a star. But how is that relevant in any way at all?

I rate Boak alongside Gibbs atm, I love the way Boak plays. He's a genuine midfielder.

So please, share your points for why Gibbs is better. This time try not to mention Marc Murphy, as he isn't relevant at all.

It's quite clear the argument with Gibbs is slipping significantly so he is trying gallantly to save face and direct the argument primarily onto Marc Murphy.

TheGeneral
8 Nov 2007, 12:40
Why did we finish 4th dipshit?

Why did Carlton finish 15th, you are a dud General, you have no argument.

Murphy didn't have as good a rookie year as Selwood considering Murphy missed the last 7-8 games with injury, he didn't win the rising star, he didn't win a premiership. You are a fool.

You actually waste your time and go on to youtube to pick out these videos that mean nothing, they are momentary instances of bad form which every player has, how bout we go back and pick out the tape of Gibbs when Farmer tore him a new asshole at Subiaco.

Loser.
Maybe you finished fourth because you had a great draw and you hardly travelled. ;)

The Pies also had better coaches, senior players and leaders than Carlton had this year.

Carlton wish they had drafted Goldsack. :rolleyes:

Watch the games where Gibbs cut up Aker and Ebert and was impressive playing as a play maker across half back against the Crows.

mL7ZMJWgTCc

GIBBS.

Murphy was injured in round thirteen.

Why does that mean Marc didn't have a first year like Selwood?

The WCE put their best tagger in Stenglein onto Murphy last yea rand he still couldn't stop Murphy getting the ball.

A fool is the person who said someone isn't a gun because he didn't play in a flag and the actions of Thomas and Pendlebury in those videos are due to bad form.

smiddaz123
8 Nov 2007, 12:42
Maybe you finished fourth because you had a great draw and you hardly travelled. ;)

I think you'll find Collingwood actually had a better away record than home record last season.

By the way, still waiting for you to provide reasons why Gibbs is better than Selwood.

Can you try to leave Murphy out of this post?

Rockford
8 Nov 2007, 12:53

What has that got to do with anything? Murphy did not win the rising star, Murphy did not win a Premiership in his first year. If you want you can start a new poll/thread comparing Joel and Murphy and we'll discuss it there, this thread is about Gibbs vs Selwood. Try to be relevant. If you have nothing to say (because there is nothing to say due to Joel's dominance) then just go away.

ALM_30
8 Nov 2007, 12:58

The Pies also had better coaches and senior players and leaders than Carlton had this year.

Carlton wish they had drafted Goldsack. :rolleyes:

Watch the games where Gibbs cut up Aker and Ebert and was impressive playing as a play maker across half back against the Crows.

mL7ZMJWgTCc

GIBBS.

The WCE put their best tagger in Stenglein onto Murphy last yearand he still couldn't stop getting the ball.

A fool is the person who said someone isn't a gun because he didn't play in a flag and the actions of Thomas and Pendlebury in those videos are due to bad form.

So following the precedent of your twisted and rediculous logic Carlton should be Top 8 at least in 2008 because you travel only two more times than Collingwood does. This will be interesting. ;)

If you think travelling two more times a year makes up the difference between 4th and 15th then you have no clue.

PS: I never said Gibbs wasn't talented I said he wasn't as good as Selwood, anywhere near as good. And if you think that Thomas and Pendlebury aren't 2 of the best young talents in the game you simply can't be taken seriously. Why was it that Pendlebury beat Murphy in the Rising Star again?

You wish you had at least a half decent young key defender like Goldsack. :rolleyes:

Keep fighting the losing battle general. :thumbsu:

smiddaz123
8 Nov 2007, 13:03
Why was it that Pendlebury beat Murphy in the Rising Star again?

I assume you meant Gibbs, not Murphy?

ALM_30
8 Nov 2007, 13:21
I assume you meant Gibbs, not Murphy?

Pendlebury beat Gibbs yes, it was Shaw who flogged Murphy...

Cheshire Cat
8 Nov 2007, 15:26
Selwood - tougher, better leader, better player, more accolades - simply, hands-down better than Gibbs and the results of this poll have reinforced this. Its really silly to compare them right now. :)

parrot
8 Nov 2007, 15:26
Pendlebury beat Gibbs yes, it was Shaw who flogged Murphy...

lol. Footy seasons over, and your list insecurities are still festering away aren't they. Who cares about Collingwood middle-of-the-roaders who no one rates apart from the HUN-Collingwood newsletter. Isn't this a Gibbs V Selwood poll? I did laugh when I saw this (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gVAoyVDqDR0) video though. Thomas looks like a scared mess, and Pendlebury is the most outside outside midfielder in the AFL. No ticka. :)

Cheshire Cat
8 Nov 2007, 15:29
No ticka. :)

Haha. Sums up Carlton's previous five seasons. Smashed and over-ran consistently.

The losing culture is engrained now. Appointing 0% further testament to that, dark days ahead. :thumbsu:

tin can sam
8 Nov 2007, 18:14

He would have, I agree. He would take Shannon Byrnes out of the team, start on the bench and split his time playing up forward and in the guts, he'd probably do it very well too. How is that relevant to this thread?

forrrestGump
8 Nov 2007, 21:32
in 2 years time all will different
selwood will have a proper pre season

but pendles is a class above them all, selwood is a class above gibbs, judd will cover for him for a few years, gibbs had played senior footy in sa before coming into afl, so should have been a class above the rest

if the draft was on now, id take pendles, selwood, murphy field then gibbs

Visions
9 Nov 2007, 13:54

Well, you would expect Selwood to make an error or two when you get 20+ possessions every game rather than Gibbs with his 11 or 12 possessions.

Of course Carlton fans would be saying (praying) that Gibbs has more potential. He would want to after the average year he had.