View Full Version : Why not go down to the VFL???
FlyingCrow
3 Nov 2007, 22:32
It is painfully obvious that North Melbourne can not survive finacially in the AFL. Why not dop down to the VFL. At least then the club stays intact??
Time to face the reality that the AFL is the National league. Clubs that represent a small suburb and going broke, are not viable in a national comp. If they are financial then they are viable to stay.
At least this way the North Melbourne name stays, the clubs stays the same just in a lower comp. It happens in Amateur leagues all the time. CLubs go form div 1 to div 2 or div 3.The current AFL players can be disperesed amongst the AFL clubs.
We keep hearing about how important this club is to so many people, this way the club exists. These people can then follow their club.
Or are there too many people with a vested interest in staying at AFL level regardless of keeping the club intact.
Porps_is_HOT_loz
3 Nov 2007, 22:35
It is painfully obvious that North Melbourne can not survive finacially in the AFL. Why not dop down to the VFL. At least then the club stays intact??
Time to face the reality that the AFL is the National league. Clubs that represent a small suburb and going broke, are not viable in a national comp. If they are financial then they are viable to stay.
At least this way the North Melbourne name stays, the clubs stays the same just in a lower comp. It happens in Amateur leagues all the time. CLubs go form div 1 to div 2 or div 3.The current AFL players can be disperesed amongst the AFL clubs.
We keep hearing about how important this club is to so many people, this way the club exists. These people can then follow their club.
Or are there too many people with a vested interest in staying at AFL level regardless of keeping the club intact.
So whats gonna happen?
There is gonna be 15 teams??
That wood mean that each week a team wood have a bye....
VFL is a good suggestion if they go REALLY broke
Dear TROLL,
Get back under your bridge and scare the little Port people like you normally do. I real issue is not something you are used to in your tin pot little city.
Or do what all good trolls do and stick to bay 13....The main boards are for grownups.
Yours sincerely,
The Grownups
Chadwiko
3 Nov 2007, 22:39
To me, it's "painfully obvious", being a born and bred South Australian and yet being a lifelong supporter of North Melbourne, that a lot of Adelaide Crows fans simply do not understand football outside of West Lakes.
The worst of the Crows fans are undoubtedly the most one-eyed and ignorant 'supporters' in the AFL.
They still have a massive chip on their shoulder, and anytime a decision goes against them, suddenly its the "Victorians versus Us" mentality once again. (Bryce Gibbs F/S anyone?)
Consider this; I've lived in Adelaide my entire life, and always barracked for North Melbourne, so I have a somewhat unique perspective. Crows fans such as the dude who started this thread don't care about anything to do with football, unless it in someway directly benefits the AFC.
I wouldn't be at all suprised if this "FlyingCrow" clown was that feral 'Dale' who badmouthed Dean Brogan at Adelaide Airport, then got punched in the face and cried about it on Today Tonight.
Chadwiko
3 Nov 2007, 22:41
A real issue is not something you are used to in your tin pot little city.
Please do not lump all of us Adelaideans in with this ignorant fool. Some of us have brains of our own and can formulate ideas without double checking to see if KG and Cornsey share the same opinion.
;)
Please do not lump all of us Adelaideans in with this ignorant fool. Some of us have brains of our own and can formulate ideas without double checking to see if KG and Cornsey share the same opinion.
;)
Fair enough.
And it is hard to argue with a bloke who has an avatar like that...:thumbsu:
blues4flag
3 Nov 2007, 22:51
The issue has more to do with the expansion of the game, rather than to get rid of the Kangaroos. They just happen to be the most suitable club to move.
To me, it's "painfully obvious", being a born and bred South Australian and yet being a lifelong supporter of North Melbourne, that a lot of Adelaide Crows fans simply do not understand football outside of West Lakes.
The worst of the Crows fans are undoubtedly the most one-eyed and ignorant 'supporters' in the AFL.
They still have a massive chip on their shoulder, and anytime a decision goes against them, suddenly its the "Victorians versus Us" mentality once again. (Bryce Gibbs F/S anyone?)
Consider this; I've lived in Adelaide my entire life, and always barracked for North Melbourne, so I have a somewhat unique perspective. Crows fans such as the dude who started this thread don't care about anything to do with football, unless it in someway directly benefits the AFC.
I wouldn't be at all suprised if this "FlyingCrow" clown was that feral 'Dale' who badmouthed Dean Brogan at Adelaide Airport, then got punched in the face and cried about it on Today Tonight.
I can empathise a little. I lived in Adelaide for two years and being from Melbourne it was a strange 2 years. Unfortunately it was in 1997/1998 so I had to endure 2 Adelaide Premierships.
I couldn't agree with you more. I worked for Mars Confectionery in sales. I shite you not. If Adelaide won, everyone has happy and if they needed stock, sales would be good. If they lost, I swear they would not let me in the front door until the next week. I would get called all kinds of colourful things being from Melbourne.
The funny thing is, we actually don't really think much about Adelaide in Melbourne. Yes we hate the Crows but then we hate all other 15 teams at some point in the season.
You are a stronger guy than me, I could not leave the state of SA quick enough.
FlyingCrow
3 Nov 2007, 23:52
This is not a troll, it was a genuine idea to keep the successfull North Melbourne identity alive.
Why are North supporters scared of going to the Gold Coast? I believe the main reason is the loss of identity. At least at VFL level they will still have a club to belong too. My best mate is a North supporter and this is his main fear. The club he loves will be forgotten. At least at VFL level he can watch his club still suceed, and maybe be a force in VFL.
Are the Gold Coast (Southport) Kangaroos going to have any resemblence to the club that represented North Melbourne? I doubt it. This is why there is such an uporoar over them going. Sometimes clubs and their members need to accept they cant compete in the big league.
Relocating or merging with another club basically changes (destroys) the club. I bet in ten years time the only mention on the NMFC will be a token effort, bit like Brisbane with Fitzroy. Is that how Greats of the game like Blight Archer and Carey deserve to be remembered?
I think there might be a stronger case for the Adelaide Crows to be relegated back down to the SANFL, seeing as how they have under performed on the field in the last few years, notwithstanding they have the largest membership.
This is not meant as sledge on the fine history of the crows AFL past but just trying to put forward another point of view.
Is footy ability important any more? Or is it all about the bank balance.
Maybe we can all spend our Saturday arvos down at the stock exchange, watching the big screens.
caddyhawk
4 Nov 2007, 00:42
I thought the AFL owns the name and brand? They'll have to become a new entity to go down to the VFL , right? If that's the case no north supporter would want that.
FlyingCrow
4 Nov 2007, 01:07
Is footy ability important any more? Or is it all about the bank balance.
Maybe we can all spend our Saturday arvos down at the stock exchange, watching the big screens.
Welcome to Profesional Sport.
On Field Ability is as important as Market Share and the Profits made.
Like it or not that is what the AFL is now. I think a lot of people are still stuck in the mindset of the amateur footballer playing on a Saturday arvo and training two nights a weekend. Thats not the AFL, it is a multi million dollar industry now. Now it is about 18-35 year olds training evry day and earning a minimum 200k. Whilst protecting the image of a business that turns over millions of dollars a year. That is the reality.
You may say I support a franchise and my club has no soul. You may be right, but neither does any of the 16 in the AFL. Supporters have passion and a soul, the clubs themselves dont. All Decisions at AFL level are made with the dollar in mind. Clubs sell games to play at rival locations, they change their name to encompase a broader market, they package memberships with products, they use the club image and name to trade in non football areas, shared Football grounds. All of this is done to maximise profit and all 16 clubs do one of these or another.
I take the AFL for what it is, Entertainment. The best athletes in Australia playing a highly skilled and drilled version of Aussie rules. I go to every Crows game and enjoy the spectacle. It is great to watch, and I am passionate about the Crows.
However I go to the SANFL games to watch real football.
Reading a lot of posts about this issue, I think most supporters want those days back and the concept of the AFL is a little too much to grasp. Maybe the VFL is suited to them.
Yeah the AFL is in the entertainment business, I don't disagree with that. In fact I don't disagree with any of those sentiments you just posted about the professionalism of the sport, etc.
But to suggest that NM being demoted/relegated or whatever term you want to use to the VFL is laughable.
Unless we are talking 1905 or a year close to that, what AFL/VFL (prior to the comp being expanded into the AFL) was ever forced to be demoted to another league???? NONE that's how many.
It's all about how the AFL handles it. Yes the Brisbane/Fitzroy thing was done poorly and I am sure that lots of Fitzroy supporters were turned away from the sport. But NM moving to the GC is not the same, as it is not a merger. What you should be comparing it to is Sydney. That was a team relocated to a different state. They have a very good and passionate supporter base still in Melbourne and I think if you talk to some of those people they would still have very strong emotional ties to the Sydney Swans.
But suggesting they leave the AFL and VFL is "troll worthy" even if you suggest that it is not.
harmesy 37
4 Nov 2007, 06:40
This is not a troll, it was a genuine idea to keep the successfull North Melbourne identity alive.
Why are North supporters scared of going to the Gold Coast? I believe the main reason is the loss of identity. At least at VFL level they will still have a club to belong too. My best mate is a North supporter and this is his main fear. The club he loves will be forgotten. At least at VFL level he can watch his club still suceed, and maybe be a force in VFL.
Are the Gold Coast (Southport) Kangaroos going to have any resemblence to the club that represented North Melbourne? I doubt it. This is why there is such an uporoar over them going. Sometimes clubs and their members need to accept they cant compete in the big league.
Relocating or merging with another club basically changes (destroys) the club. I bet in ten years time the only mention on the NMFC will be a token effort, bit like Brisbane with Fitzroy. Is that how Greats of the game like Blight Archer and Carey deserve to be remembered?
I agree with what you say.
Let's say they the Kangaroos go to the Gold Coast - does this mean they get access to Southport's money? If so, do they wear a Southport guernsey?
Or are they going to stand alone up there without the support of a strong LOCAL club in Southport?
Will the boards of the Kangaroos and Southport clash? I would think so.
North in the VFL, on the other hand, keep their identity and who knows in 20 years time the AFL might need to expand again ala with American Football having 2 conferences etc... and North might be a prime candidate after years of success in the VFL.
The Chad
4 Nov 2007, 09:26
kangarooos football club fans love the brand of AFL more than their club, otherwise kangaroos football club would survive easily in the VFL and after a couple of years of their self-proclaimed passionate fanbase recording record VFL attendances may even make a south-sydney style push to get back into the AFL.
Funkalicous
4 Nov 2007, 10:08
I agree with what you say.
Let's say they the Kangaroos go to the Gold Coast - does this mean they get access to Southport's money? If so, do they wear a Southport guernsey?
Or are they going to stand alone up there without the support of a strong LOCAL club in Southport?
Will the boards of the Kangaroos and Southport clash? I would think so.
I don't think the deal with have anything to do with Southport. In fact they'll be hoping that Kangaroos stay in Melbourne so they can be granted the 17th licence.
Seanason
4 Nov 2007, 22:09
This will be no doubt an option if the Kangaroos decide to stay in Melbourne and no longer recieve AFL funding.
If they really dont want the club to move, it is ther only way for it to happen.
Kangas in the VFL, and if they wipe off their debts then they could be welcomed back into the AFL with open arms. Better than refusing the deal and then having to fold.
Id strike a deal to allow Kangaroos to drop into the VFL peacefully now and then have the option of returning if they can get their act together financially. Then Grant the 16th License to Southport/Gold Coast.