View Full Version : Let them go for the sake of the game!!!

Rex - Crow
4th November 2007, 09:40
For the game to grow the Kangaroos must move up north. They tried Canberra and failed, Hawks have Tassie wrapped up and Melbourne has to many teams that can't stay financially sound.

Way up the pros and cons with out letting emotions clouding your opinion!!!

Chase the Ace
4th November 2007, 10:04
Good topic, I bet no one thought of starting a thread like this before :thumbsu:

Funkalicous
4th November 2007, 10:09
It's like.... come on. :thumbsu:

beyondthevalley ofthedogs
4th November 2007, 11:32
For the game to grow the Kangaroos must move up north. They tried Canberra and failed, Hawks have Tassie wrapped up and Melbourne has to many teams that can't stay financially sound.

Yes, we should keep our emotions out of it. That way we won't get upset when some patronising illiterate from West of Coonawarra unloads their received wisdom on us.:thumbsu:

FlyingCrow
4th November 2007, 15:15

Victorians are too shortsighted. They want their suburban clubs to stay in the comp and bring the overall standard down. They cant see that propping up ailing clubs will hurt the game in the long run, but they dont care. They want their club to stay in the AFL.

Ironically it was forward thinking Victorians who had a vision in the 70 and 80s that gave us this great league. Now it is Victorians who will ruin it.

Ryz
4th November 2007, 16:08
Man, all those facts you posted about the untapped resource that is the budding metropolis full of Australian Rules thirsty Gold Coasters.....gee what were we thinking!

Rex - Crow
4th November 2007, 16:10
It seems silly for them to stay. They have been struggling for so many years now ( financially ). To add a move up north might free up room for the other Vic based clubs to catch up with the league leaders.

Rex - Crow
4th November 2007, 16:13
Man, all those facts you posted about the untapped resource that is the budding metropolis full of Australian Rules thirsty Gold Coasters.....gee what were we thinking!They said Sydney would fail, they said Brisbaine would fail. The only way to find out is to move up there and give it a crack. Change can be a good thing may never be the same but it may work out better!!!

Rex - Crow
4th November 2007, 16:16
Yes, we should keep our emotions out of it. That way we won't get upset when some patronising illiterate from West of Coonawarra unloads their received wisdom on us.:thumbsu:Now I have seen it all, a Bulldogs fan calling others illiterate. When your club is forced to merge hopefully the 500 members you have don't get to upset.

The Teflon Dean
4th November 2007, 16:37
For the sake of the game?

How is the game going to be any different if we play it in Melbourne or Queensland?

Apart from the totally empty stadium?:rolleyes:

moomba
4th November 2007, 16:53

So way up the pros and cons. All you've talked about is why North would move, why don't you talk about how Gold Coast could possibly succeed. What crowds do you expect they'll get with a population less than a third the size of a team down the road that had 15,000 or so Queensland members last year.

Who pays for the upgrade needed to get the stadium up to the standard of an AFL one, and what happens with the legal agreement that any second Queensland AFL team will have to play at the Gabba?

No emotion, lets hear your thoughts on a few of these issues?

Or have you not actually thought about it too much, but you just want another Vic scalp as payback for what the evil VFL did to your comp all those years ago.

beyondthevalley ofthedogs
4th November 2007, 17:26
Now I have seen it all, a Bulldogs fan calling others illiterate. When your club is forced to merge hopefully the 500 members you have don't get to upset.

God almighty you've done it again. The word is "too" you poor unfortunate. Wayne Weidemann wasn't a one-off was he?

blues4flag
4th November 2007, 17:33
Victorians are too shortsighted. They want their suburban clubs to stay in the comp and bring the overall standard down. They cant see that propping up ailing clubs will hurt the game in the long run, but they dont care. They want their club to stay in the AFL.

Ironically it was forward thinking Victorians who had a vision in the 70 and 80s that gave us this great league. Now it is Victorians who will ruin it.
I agree (although, if it were Carlton in North's position, I'd vehemently disagree :))

Funkalicous
4th November 2007, 17:46
I agree (although, if it were Carlton in North's position, I'd vehemently disagree :))

You know what, if Pratt didn't take over Carlton, I'd be all for relocating to the Gold Coast. - I'd rather be a dominate club with my own city than an underdog in an overcrowded market.

blues4flag
4th November 2007, 18:32
You know what, if Pratt didn't take over Carlton, I'd be all for relocating to the Gold Coast. - I'd rather be a dominate club with my own city than an underdog in an overcrowded market.

Whilst I understand where your coming from - Carlton was in a completely different situation to the Roos. While we both were struggling financially, we still had a support base/membership numbers to ensure that with a bit of direction, we were capable once again of self-sufficiency.

Ryz
4th November 2007, 18:32
I'd rather be a dominate club with my own city than an underdog in an overcrowded market.

Yeah, the past 15 years on field has been a real downer, playing finals winning a few flags along the way - bloody morons. Someone has to tell the club trying to win a premiership isn't the main priority.

Rex - Crow
4th November 2007, 19:04
So way up the pros and cons. All you've talked about is why North would move, why don't you talk about how Gold Coast could possibly succeed. What crowds do you expect they'll get with a population less than a third the size of a team down the road that had 15,000 or so Queensland members last year.

Who pays for the upgrade needed to get the stadium up to the standard of an AFL one, and what happens with the legal agreement that any second Queensland AFL team will have to play at the Gabba?

No emotion, lets hear your thoughts on a few of these issues?

Or have you not actually thought about it too much, but you just want another Vic scalp as payback for what the evil VFL did to your comp all those years ago.Not at all infact I'm quite sincere with this opening comment. I like the Kangaroos and I want to see them twenty years from now.
Do you honestly believe the Kangaroos are in good shape for the future as a Melbourne based club ?

Tell me this why did the Roos look at Canberra as a place to relocate but North Queensland is off the map ?

Rex - Crow
4th November 2007, 19:06
For the sake of the game?

How is the game going to be any different if we play it in Melbourne or Queensland?

Apart from the totally empty stadium?:rolleyes:Please! Are you trying to say that the Roos fill stadiums in Melbourne ?

Funkalicous
4th November 2007, 19:38
Yeah, the past 15 years on field has been a real downer, playing finals winning a few flags along the way - bloody morons. Someone has to tell the club trying to win a premiership isn't the main priority.

Your last premiership was 1999. Carlton were a good side back then too. but when Ian Collins took over, his answer to the financial debt was to cut cost from the football department. Until now, we had no developement coaches, and we sure weren't paying more than the required minimum amount in the salary cap. - THAT IS UNDERDOG STATUS! Kangaroos run their football department the same way the Blues did a year ago.

You can't win premierships operating like that. Just look at the Western Bulldogs.... I doubt I'll see them win a premierhsip before they merge/fold.

moomba
4th November 2007, 21:15
Your last premiership was 1999. Carlton were a good side back then too. but when Ian Collins took over, his answer to the financial debt was to cut cost from the football department. Until now, we had no developement coaches, and we sure weren't paying more than the required minimum amount in the salary cap. - THAT IS UNDERDOG STATUS! Kangaroos run their football department the same way the Blues did a year ago.

Yet we still finished third last season. Shows that money isn't everything for some clubs. Carlton probably do have a bit of a different culture, and thats because they've always been one of the richer clubs. It's probably why they've struggled to cope so much with their changes in circumstances of the past few years.

You can't win premierships operating like that. Just look at the Western Bulldogs.... I doubt I'll see them win a premierhsip before they merge/fold.

The great thing about football is that the winner isn't decided by who has the most money. It can help for sure, but we've never had the money of the powerhouses and we've done pretty well for ourselves regardless.

moomba
4th November 2007, 21:19
Do you honestly believe the Kangaroos are in good shape for the future as a Melbourne based club ?

No, not in great shape off the field at the moment. Like plenty of clubs before us.

Tell me this why did the Roos look at Canberra as a place to relocate but North Queensland is off the map ?

I'm not sure that we ever looked at Canberra as a place to relocate? But my question to you wasn't whether or not the Roos can survive in Melbourne. It's whether or not a team could do better on the Gold Coast without significant and sustained assistance from the AFL (tens of millions a year more than we are currently getting is my estimate).

And do you think that the clubs (who will be the ones paying for the AFLs promises) should be made fully aware of exactly how much this will cost them before the AFL forces through a move?

greennick
5th November 2007, 00:24
No, not in great shape off the field at the moment. Like plenty of clubs before us.

When was the last time the Roos were in great shape?

moomba
5th November 2007, 02:07
When was the last time the Roos were in great shape?

Don't know, I started supporting the club at a time when people were more interested in what happens on the field. I suspect the answer is that we've been battling away for decades. And if we stay in Melbourne, I suspect we'll continue to be a battling club.

In every sport in the world you'll get your haves and your have nots.

"In two aspects North Melbourne stands
second to none. One is the loyalty of its
supporters. The other is the determination to
carry on despite disadvantages. In the face of
adversity, which might well broken the spirit of
other men,we find that from the earliest days
there were always enthusiasts to fight for
North Melbourne.” The Australasian 15 June 1940

ArachniX
5th November 2007, 11:35
They said Sydney would fail, they said Brisbaine would fail. The only way to find out is to move up there and give it a crack. Change can be a good thing may never be the same but it may work out better!!!

They did fail. Both of them and they are still struggling clubs. Without the increased salary cap, the draft picks and preferential treatment these clubs would have been declared dead about 15 years ago. I don't suppose you've ever heard of the East Coast Bears? So much more goes on behind the scenes in this competition and its no longer about the fans. It's so easy to sit as a fan in another state or be someone who doesn't really know much about what's going on. It all seems so simple, too many Victorian Clubs etc etc, but you never tell us why, just simply it's good for the game. It's an AFL agenda and whats good for the AFL isnt necessarily good for the fans. And whats good for the game is the fans.

Rex - Crow
5th November 2007, 16:16
They did fail. Both of them and they are still struggling clubs. Without the increased salary cap, the draft picks and preferential treatment these clubs would have been declared dead about 15 years ago. I don't suppose you've ever heard of the East Coast Bears? So much more goes on behind the scenes in this competition and its no longer about the fans. It's so easy to sit as a fan in another state or be someone who doesn't really know much about what's going on. It all seems so simple, too many Victorian Clubs etc etc, but you never tell us why, just simply it's good for the game. It's an AFL agenda and whats good for the AFL isnt necessarily good for the fans. And whats good for the game is the fans.I agree with everything you are saying here, and I don't fully understand the position of a Kangaroo fan. But the facts are as you put it there areto many clubs in Victoria, AFL is a big bussines that maks big money, the AFL could care less for the fans if they did Collingwood wouldn't get 7 Friday night games every DAMN year.

Lets hope the AFL stops giving hand outs then we would see how bad the shape of Vic teams are really in!!!

Rex - Crow
5th November 2007, 16:22

I'm not sure that we ever looked at Canberra as a place to relocate? But my question to you wasn't whether or not the Roos can survive in Melbourne. It's whether or not a team could do better on the Gold Coast without significant and sustained assistance from the AFL (tens of millions a year more than we are currently getting is my estimate).

And do you think that the clubs (who will be the ones paying for the AFLs promises) should be made fully aware of exactly how much this will cost them before the AFL forces through a move?The Roos did experiment in Canberra and it failed badly.

I have no idea weather or not the Roos could survive up North, I know this as you know it the Roos will not survive as a Melb club.

As far as the AFL pumping big dollars into a club to relocate thats the AFL's bussines not the clubs bussines.

No offence but a lot of Melbourne based supporters are sounding like Eddie more and more every day.

Rex - Crow
5th November 2007, 16:23
Please! Are you trying to say that the Roos fill stadiums in Melbourne ?Doh!!! I get it now.

McCrann
5th November 2007, 16:28

Well - it seems the main priority you have for the club hasn't got anything to do with winning PREMIERSHIPS!

Your main priority for the club is to stick it out in Melbourne!

If that means the club will never win another Premiership - I guess that means you'll be happier than going to the Gold Coast and being succesful huh?

Be consistent and don't muddle your arguments mate. Either Premierships are the priority or staying true to tradition - it can't always be both - just ask Fitzroy or South Melbourne.

randyzany
5th November 2007, 16:30
They did fail.

Mate the roos are failing as it is. It's either move or die there's no future for the roos in Melbourne might as well try their luck somewhere else.

ArachniX
5th November 2007, 16:36
No offence but a lot of Melbourne based supporters are sounding like Eddie more and more every day.

Why not? Would you be happy in a race against a competitor who had been given every advantage to win? Imagine the Olympics if that was the case in an effort to develop their games. The League should be even, it should be fair and if 4 Victorian clubs can't survive then they can't survive, same with clubs up north. It would probably have been better to organise another league for the weaker clubs. Not saying it would work but there may well have been other avenues open.

moomba
5th November 2007, 16:41
The Roos did experiment in Canberra and it failed badly.

We experimented playing games up there, I don't think there was ever an intention to relocate. And I'd question whether it failed badly, we were there to make money and to give a non-AFL region AFL footy. Worked on both accounts, and from my perspective the decision to walk out on Canberra was one of the dumbest we've made as a club for years.

I know if I had my way I'd go back to Canberra, see what they would be prepared to offer for a 20 year, 3 games a year commitment. They'd probably tell us to get stuffed now and fair enough.

I have no idea weather or not the Roos could survive up North, I know this as you know it the Roos will not survive as a Melb club.

Then I can't see how you could support a move unless you are confident it will be a positive.

As far as the AFL pumping big dollars into a club to relocate thats the AFL's bussines not the clubs bussines.

Eh? The AFL is the clubs (or should), if the AFL spends money, thats less money the clubs will end up getting in their distribution. And any profits the AFL makes should be going back to the clubs instead of the AFL's relocation slush fund. It's why I find it slightly confusing when people whine about clubs being held back by the CBT to the likes of North, but they don't seem to care that they will lose out much more if the move does go through.

Supporters of all clubs should be concerned about whether or not the AFL is doing the job they were set up to do. The AFL is nothing without the clubs, I'm sure the clubs would survive just fine without the AFL.

Rex - Crow
5th November 2007, 16:42
Why not? Would you be happy in a race against a competitor who had been given every advantage to win? Imagine the Olympics if that was the case in an effort to develop their games. The League should be even, it should be fair and if 4 Victorian clubs can't survive then they can't survive, same with clubs up north. It would probably have been better to organise another league for the weaker clubs. Not saying it would work but there may well have been other avenues open.If the AFL didn't have rules and sallary caps and so on teams like the Crows, West coast, Freo, Collingwood, Essendon and some others would blow the rest of you away. We need a equal competition not a fair one.

If that ever happens the game as we know ould die very quickly.

Rex - Crow
5th November 2007, 16:55
We experimented playing games up there, I don't think there was ever an intention to relocate. And I'd question whether it failed badly, we were there to make money and to give a non-AFL region AFL footy. Worked on both accounts, and from my perspective the decision to walk out on Canberra was one of the dumbest we've made as a club for years.The Roos crowds in the ACT were gowing backward. Never a good sign in the big picture for a club that needs more members.

I know if I had my way I'd go back to Canberra, see what they would be prepared to offer for a 20 year, 3 games a year commitment. They'd probably tell us to get stuffed now and fair enough.

Then I can't see how you could support a move unless you are confident it will be a positive. [/quote] By doing it over time. Try 4 - 5 games for a few years and one if not two of those games must be against the Lions and create some rivalry. If that shows promise then simply take another small step and try 6 - 7 home games. Like most are saying the Roos need to try something or they might crash out!!!

Eh? The AFL is the clubs (or should), if the AFL spends money, thats less money the clubs will end up getting in their distribution. And any profits the AFL makes should be going back to the clubs instead of the AFL's relocation slush fund. It's why I find it slightly confusing when people whine about clubs being held back by the CBT to the likes of North, but they don't seem to care that they will lose out much more if the move does go through.Ok! My point was this the clubs should be concentraiting on winning flags. As soon as that is not the key point on the agenda then things will go bad.

Supporters of all clubs should be concerned about whether or not the AFL is doing the job they were set up to do. The AFL is nothing without the clubs, I'm sure the clubs would survive just fine without the AFL.[/quote]I am concerened about the draw and why do Collingwood get to have all the big games and 7 friday games a year!!! In Adelaide we get Sunday or Sunday! Some clubs would survive while others would sink real quick if the clubs went alone they would not all survive.

Rex - Crow
5th November 2007, 16:57
Ohhh man it didn't work!!!! Please forget that above post.

moomba
5th November 2007, 17:09
Ohhh man it didn't work!!!! Please forget that above post.

put in [ quote ] before anything I post, [ / quote ] after anything I post. Without the spaces obviously.

Rex - Crow
5th November 2007, 17:21
put in [ quote ] before anything I post, [ / quote ] after anything I post. Without the spaces obviously.Thanks my comments are attached to yours it kinda worked.

What would you do with the Roos then ? If you want to rule out relocating what other options are there ???

ArachniX
5th November 2007, 17:23
If the AFL didn't have rules and sallary caps and so on teams like the Crows, West coast, Freo, Collingwood, Essendon and some others would blow the rest of you away. We need a equal competition not a fair one.

If that ever happens the game as we know ould die very quickly.

How long do you think it's going to take for the fans and also the money makers to realise how powerful they could become without the drain up north? The game would not die with this competition. If the money that went up north stayed where the fans were, the game would be a lot better in the southern states. You could argue that the same amount of money wouldn't be available without the northern states but there is still huge money in the NRL and that has far less overall support across the nation.
This hasn't finished either, everyone seems to think that by removing weak Victorian clubs to create weak QLD and NSW clubs is where it will end. The weak clubs in this state keep the strong clubs Victorian clubs levelled. Without them they would become so much more powerful. Then what? Pump more money into Sydney and Qld to bring them up to level of the new Collingwoods and Essendon that now have access to 1/6 of the population of Victoria, where the most fans are, instead of 1/10th?
And the other thing you need to realise also is that this is also a battle between 4 codes of football. Australian rules has the upper hand but if the A-League continues to rise it will command a lot more importance than it does now. Melbourne Victory will start to rival teams like Essendon & Collingwood in this state and although they play at different times of the year, the sponsors dollar is what will start to count. Then I can guarantee the "investors" in these AFL clubs realise that they need all the money they can get. Not to mention the need to invest money overseas. It's not going to stop. The "ride" these northern clubs get will start to affect the game where it matters and trust me that the money makers won't care about the Gold Coast Kangaroos when their own turf is under threat.

Power King
5th November 2007, 17:26
I don't mind the idea of a relocation, but not to bloody Gold Coast, when QLD are already represented by the lions, and it seems pretty evident that the state couldn't support two afl clubs.

in an ideal world, it'd be the darwin kangaroos or the hobart/tas kangaroos (although this looks like the hawks), just so that each of the states can be represented in this AUSTRALIAN football league

Rex - Crow
5th November 2007, 17:35
How long do you think it's going to take for the fans and also the money makers to realise how powerful they could become without the drain up north? The game would not die with this competition. If the money that went up north stayed where the fans were, the game would be a lot better in the southern states. You could argue that the same amount of money wouldn't be available without the northern states but there is still huge money in the NRL and that has far less overall support across the nation.
This hasn't finished either, everyone seems to think that by removing weak Victorian clubs to create weak QLD and NSW clubs is where it will end. The weak clubs in this state keep the strong clubs Victorian clubs levelled. Without them they would become so much more powerful. Then what? Pump more money into Sydney and Qld to bring them up to level of the new Collingwoods and Essendon that now have access to 1/6 of the population of Victoria, where the most fans are, instead of 1/10th?
And the other thing you need to realise also is that this is also a battle between 4 codes of football. Australian rules has the upper hand but if the A-League continues to rise it will command a lot more importance than it does now. Melbourne Victory will start to rival teams like Essendon & Collingwood in this state and although they play at different times of the year, the sponsors dollar is what will start to count. Then I can guarantee the "investors" in these AFL clubs realise that they need all the money they can get. Not to mention the need to invest money overseas. It's not going to stop. The "ride" these northern clubs get will start to affect the game where it matters and trust me that the money makers won't care about the Gold Coast Kangaroos when their own turf is under threat.Great point. That point is made on Adelaide radio by G Cornes. I have changed my mind you know your stuff dude!!! Hopefully you don't feel the same way about the Crows:mad:

moomba
5th November 2007, 17:35
The Roos crowds in the ACT were gowing backward. Never a good sign in the big picture for a club that needs more members.

Attendances in 2005 were the highest they've been. Dropped a bit in 2006, but our move away from Canberra was pretty much sealed mid season (stupid bit of marketing there).

By doing it over time. Try 4 - 5 games for a few years and one if not two of those games must be against the Lions and create some rivalry. If that shows promise then simply take another small step and try 6 - 7 home games. Like most are saying the Roos need to try something or they might crash out!!!

Our board offered a compromise like this. Wasn't good enough for the AFL. What you have to remember though is that the more you commit to another region, the less your heartland supporters are getting out of the club. Go too far one way and it could end up a self fulfilling prophesy.

Ok! My point was this the clubs should be concentraiting on winning flags. As soon as that is not the key point on the agenda then things will go bad.

Compare performances and we come out pretty well over the past ten years. A premiership, couple of grand finals (although I've blanked one of them from the memory bank) five finals appearances including a third last season.

I am concerened about the draw and why do Collingwood get to have all the big games and 7 friday games a year!!! In Adelaide we get Sunday or Sunday! Some clubs would survive while others would sink real quick if the clubs went alone they would not all survive.

I don't know that the AFL generates all that much revenue. I think there does need to be a league, but anyone can negotiate a TV contract or set a marketing strategy. I don't want to downplay the good things the AFL has done, but it seems sometimes that they see themselves as more important than the clubs. And if it wasn't for the clubs the AFL wouldn't be in much of a position to negotiate TV deals and the like.

And the helping hand that some clubs get (at the expense of others) is a big concern. Cold hard cash isn't the only way to get a handout from the AFL.

Rex - Crow
5th November 2007, 17:36
I don't mind the idea of a relocation, but not to bloody Gold Coast, when QLD are already represented by the lions, and it seems pretty evident that the state couldn't support two afl clubs.

in an ideal world, it'd be the darwin kangaroos or the hobart/tas kangaroos (although this looks like the hawks), just so that each of the states can be represented in this AUSTRALIAN football leagueHey the Power could go to Tassie if they like:D

Rex - Crow
5th November 2007, 17:46
Attendances in 2005 were the highest they've been. Dropped a bit in 2006, but our move away from Canberra was pretty much sealed mid season (stupid bit of marketing there).I know the crows played there a few times with out much success it seemed to be a great winning ground for the Roos.

Our board offered a compromise like this. Wasn't good enough for the AFL. What you have to remember though is that the more you commit to another region, the less your heartland supporters are getting out of the club. Go too far one way and it could end up a self fulfilling prophesy.[/quote]The AFL seems hell bent on the idea hopefully they know what their getting into.

Compare performances and we come out pretty well over the past ten years. A premiership, couple of grand finals (although I've blanked one of them from the memory bank) five finals appearances including a third last season.No doubt about it I use to hate the roos in the Carey days, once he was gone i thought their winning ways would go with him. But they keep hanging in there I respect what they do down there as does the most of the footy world.

I don't know that the AFL generates all that much revenue. I think there does need to be a league, but anyone can negotiate a TV contract or set a marketing strategy. I don't want to downplay the good things the AFL has done, but it seems sometimes that they see themselves as more important than the clubs. And if it wasn't for the clubs the AFL wouldn't be in much of a position to negotiate TV deals and the like.

And the helping hand that some clubs get (at the expense of others) is a big concern. Cold hard cash isn't the only way to get a handout from the AFL.I hear that, teams like the Doggies will play 2 friday nights in the next 5 years.

Hopefully

ArachniX
5th November 2007, 17:54
Great point. That point is made on Adelaide radio by G Cornes. I have changed my mind you know your stuff dude!!! Hopefully you don't feel the same way about the Crows:mad:

Well I hate the crows but I am all for expansion into where the game belongs and is supported. I am all for teams from South Australia, Western Australia and Tasmania, but it shouldn't come at the cost of any other clubs. I also don't like the fact that the SANFL is a shadow of its former self. The Victorian Clubs in the 80's with the need for cash killed that. The SANFL originally planned for a national competition along the lines of a champions league and they did start that with the Escort cup in the 70's but the VFL didn't like not having the control of the game taken away from Victoria so hence did everything they could to expand the game the way they wanted. It hasn't really turned out as expected and now the game really does sit on the edge. This North Melbourne situation is just another step down the wrong path. It doesn't make any sense for "the sake of the game". More money will be injected into a Gold Coast Venture than would be needed to save North Melbourne. It really is also very sad that the history of the South Australian game has been ignored by the AFL. It just goes to show what really matters for the AFL people.
Oh, I do barrack for Glenelg in the SANFL. I remember watching them in the night competition when I was a young fella and I liked them because the name is kinda like Geelong.

DarwinRoo
5th November 2007, 17:57

Have you seen the way your team plays?

Flooding, tanking, drugs, terrible umpiring and shocking television coverage are doing more harm for the game that not having a team on the Gold Coast.

Rex - Crow
5th November 2007, 18:10
Well I hate the crows but I am all for expansion into where the game belongs and is supported. I am all for teams from South Australia, Western Australia and Tasmania, but it shouldn't come at the cost of any other clubs. I also don't like the fact that the SANFL is a shadow of its former self. The Victorian Clubs in the 80's with the need for cash killed that. The SANFL originally planned for a national competition along the lines of a champions league and they did start that with the Escort cup in the 70's but the VFL didn't like not having the control of the game taken away from Victoria so hence did everything they could to expand the game the way they wanted. It hasn't really turned out as expected and now the game really does sit on the edge. This North Melbourne situation is just another step down the wrong path. It doesn't make any sense for "the sake of the game". More money will be injected into a Gold Coast Venture than would be needed to save North Melbourne. It really is also very sad that the history of the South Australian game has been ignored by the AFL. It just goes to show what really matters for the AFL people.
Oh, I do barrack for Glenelg in the SANFL. I remember watching them in the night competition when I was a young fella and I liked them because the name is kinda like Geelong.I completely agree money needs to be spent where the game belongs not any where else.

The SANFL hold their own history with pride we don't need any recignition from the AFL. The only thing I disagree with is the father son rule the crows lose out big time as do most interstate clubs.

Rex - Crow
5th November 2007, 18:13
Have you seen the way your team plays?

Flooding, tanking, drugs, terrible umpiring and shocking television coverage are doing more harm for the game that not having a team on the Gold Coast.I hate flooding, tanking and drugs. I don't hate teams that struggle off field in fact I respect them more than teams like the Pies who get everything they want.