View Full Version : Sift your way through this lot (aka SANFL players training with Port Adelaide)
Port currently have the following 14 SANFL players training with them:
Daniel Havelberg (Central Districts), 19, key forward
Alan Obst (Central Districts), 20, utility
LachlanButton (Glenelg), 19, ruckman
Aaron Day (Glenelg), 18, key defender
Jesse Aish (Norwood), 21, half forward/wing
Tom Carroll (South Adelaide), 18, half-back/back pocket
Ryan Darling (Sturt),21, wingman/half-back
Matthew Jaensch (Sturt), 18, rover/half-forward
Daniel Caire (West Adelaide), 19, mid-fielder
Scott Luders (West Adelaide), 19, key forward
Steve Wenman (West Adelaide), 19, utility
Sam Fairclough (Woodville-West Torrens), 18, mid-fielder
Luke Jarrad (Woodville-West Torrens), 24, wingman
Nick Salter (Woodville-West Torrens), 20, key forward/defender
Which of these players in your opinion are likely to be drafted or rookie-listed by any club this year?
Is there a hidden gun amonst them?
Who are the ones that you wouldn't consider in a mad fit?
For the benefit of supporters of other teams, your comments on players playing for your club would be appreciated.
Happy sifting!! :)
James_37
6 Nov 2007, 21:31
I think Obst showed a fair bit and may get a second chance, wouldn't mind seeing us rookieing or picking up late ND Aish, Salter and maybe Havelberg, there arn't many talented 17-18 year old SA boys, so wouldn't hurt to get a few of these slightly older blokes.
Can someone explain to me why Port is allowed to have a rookie camp before the National Draft? Particularly when one of the rookies (Jaensch) was only an U18 this year and is in his first year of eligibility? Seems like draft tampering to me.
In previous years I'm quite certain you could only hold these camps before the rookie/PS drafts to prevent tampering?
I would rookie:
Havelberg
And take Salter with 38 or 59.
James_37
6 Nov 2007, 21:47
Can someone explain to me why Port is allowed to have a rookie camp before the National Draft? Particularly when one of the rookies (Jaensch) was only an U18 this year and is in his first year of eligibility? Seems like draft tampering to me.
In previous years I'm quite certain you could only hold these camps before the rookie/PS drafts to prevent tampering?
None of them went to Draft camp or State screening, this must mean that they can go out and train with AFL clubs, Port arn't the only ones anyway, Pfeiffer's training at richmond, Bradley at Freo.
BunjiMac
6 Nov 2007, 22:41
I'd only take salter
I didnt think Port could afford the tanktops.
Perhaps The Overlord (Allan Scott) funded the exersize. Only one way to know. Do all the players have Allan Scott tattoo's on their forheads?
Seriously, its good. Port fund it and we watch and poach anything worth while, as we have first pick in every instance.
I would rookie:
Havelberg
And take Salter with 38 or 59.
Yep I agree re Havelberg. Has promise, and with the training he could do at the Crows he could become something.
Unsure about his future AFL potential (too short/slow for KPP, not agile enough for flank) but I think he will definately go to one of our clubs. Probably 3rd round onwards
Would be funny if you pick him up again. I think his delisting was justified last year. Has improved a lot this year though his kicking is still all over the shop. Probably rookie pick if anywhere.
Big lad. 198cm, 98kg. Played solidly well down at the Bay for most of the year in the league side. Has a good future. 3rd round onwards
Dont know too much about him. Was BOG against the Pies earlier in the year in the wet. Can play up forward as well. 190cm/95kg. Might end up a 3rd tall in defence. Rookie pick.
50/50 about him still. Has glimpses of brilliance but its few and far between. Quick, decent skills. Lanky and lacks intensity as well. Rookie pick or your last pick.
A taller running machine with decent skills. Slowed down as the year progressed but was his first year at SANFL level. 4th round onwards
Skillful but small runner. Rookie pick
One of Wests best players all year. A decent goal sneak as well. Query about his size (175/73) for AFL level.
Son-of. Kicked 52 goals in 16 U19 games which included 7x 4+ goals (2 bags of 7). 4 Ressies games for 2 goals.
Only played 5 games this year for U19s. May have been injured? Played 17 games last year for 13 goals
Got skill but too small for mine.
Pacey, tall wing with a nice foot and decent courage. Would have been in the top 15 or so players in the SANFL this year. Maybe late pick. Might have been on a rookie list before maybe?
Definate draftee in my view. Can look a bit laconic on the field but has definate skill and huge potential. Just gotta get his mind on the job and make sure he wants to succeed at AFL level.
Terrific summary there Macca, as there are quite a few of them that I know very little about. :thumbsu:
Of the ones I know, like you I'd be surprised if Salter doesn't get drafted. He's a very talented lad.
From your comments, the rest all look more likely to be rookie list picks if anything..
Throughandthrough
7 Nov 2007, 09:57
IMHO the two WWT players are the stand outs.
Day has the potential to become a Rutten type player (but is a long way from there now).
I think Obst showed a fair bit and may get a second chance, wouldn't mind seeing us rookieing or picking up late ND Aish, Salter and maybe Havelberg, there arn't many talented 17-18 year old SA boys, so wouldn't hurt to get a few of these slightly older blokes.
Alan Obst was highly rated by some at draft time, was always going to need a few years to develop, what happened?
Obst & Salter are my obvious choices.
outside roughys are Havelberg and Aish
One of Wests best players all year. A decent goal sneak as well. Query about his size (175/73) for AFL level.
Replacement for BODE ??
Button and Salter look to be the pick of the bunch from what I've seen.
Drummond
7 Nov 2007, 14:08
Obst is still no good.
Of course Gets!, because the AFC is never wrong........
Anyway, Aish is 50/50.
Positives:
+ Shows the occasional glimpse of brilliant; has a touch of class.
+ Has gone head-to-head and beaten some AFL listed defenders.
+ Good leap up forward with a good work rate and has good skills.
Negatives:
- Injury prone. Hasn’t strung many games together.
- Wouldn’t call him soft but he lacks hardness and needs to attack the contest with more intensity
- Is already 21 and hasn’t dominated the SANFL. How many mature aged players get drafted without dominating their local league?
Obst has great speed, aggression, mobility and good hands. Lacks awareness and his kicking is awkward, but there’s a lot to like. Really wish he were still on our list.
Havelberg is a huge lad but I don’t think he’s quick or mobile enough to make it as a key forward in the AFL. Has good hands and good foot skills but he’s up against it IMO.
Button is a quality young ruckman and will be drafted, hopefully by Adelaide.
Caire and Fairclough won’t be selected in the main draft but are rookie candidates. I still suggest Caolan Buckley offers more but his stock has declined rapidly.
Salter’s all class. Exceptional footy smarts, can kick bags, excellent when the ball hits the deck, good foot skills. Just worried about his dedication to training.
Pass on Jarrad. Good SANFL played but not enough hurt factors and he lacks accountability.
James_37
7 Nov 2007, 15:39
Alan Obst was highly rated by some at draft time, was always going to need a few years to develop, what happened?
Had problems with his skills I think, had a very uninspiring year in 06 and the 06 super-draft came along and we wanted an extra pick, it was either him or Jericho and Jericho got the nod.
Went back to Central districts this year and improved his form immensly, cemented his spot in the Centrals League side and became a premiership backman for them.
James_37
7 Nov 2007, 15:51
Havelberg is a huge lad but I don’t think he’s quick or mobile enough to make it as a key forward in the AFL. Has good hands and good foot skills but he’s up against it IMO.
Button is a quality young ruckman and will be drafted, hopefully by Adelaide.
Salter’s all class. Exceptional footy smarts, can kick bags, excellent when the ball hits the deck, good foot skills. Just worried about his dedication to training.
Thanks for the run down on a few of these blokes mate.
Havelberg I think should be a rookie pick, can obviously play a bit and might be good to have a look at whilst training with an AFL side.
I havn't seen him play at all, I notice Button is only 198cm and as a ruckman that is very much bordering on too short, would this be a problem or does he make up for his "lack of height" by having a great verticle leap or working well around the ground? If he this isn't a problem i would have not problem picking him up as ruckman are very much hit and miss when 18 years old, where Button has had time to develop and now you know what you are going to get more so than before.
On Salter by the sounds he would be a great pick up either PSD or with our last pick in the ND, dedication to training may be a worry, but in an AFL atmosphere this may change.
Had problems with his skills I think, had a very uninspiring year in 06 and the 06 super-draft came along and we wanted an extra pick, it was either him or Jericho and Jericho got the nod.
Went back to Central districts this year and improved his form immensly, cemented his spot in the Centrals League side and became a premiership backman for them.
Played CHF/FF swapping with havelburg, mcintyre started onh him and got a bath, hart went to him and quietened him a bit kicked 3.1 and heaps of pack marks, know the guy and says he really wants another shot...
Wayne's-World
7 Nov 2007, 19:24
Tom Carroll (South Adelaide), 18, half-back/back pocket
The guy that has impressed me the most is McNamara from Glenelg ....although he's a clone of Douglas and the thought keeps coming into my head as to whether there's room for two of that smaller stature player.
Excuse me in advance :p ...is it mardling from Port? .......smaller than the average jockey but hell this kid is ALL CLASS.
He's going to right up against it but if any small player can make it he can .......gee he reminds me of a young bucky Cunningham :thumbsu:
Salter can make it and would be my pick of the bunch above ........has a bit of stature, can take a grab and hunt the ball on the deck.
But above all he's footy smart and not that slow .....could definately make it.
Obst .....bad skills was a major issue previously .......yes he can take a grab at SANFL level but IMO skills particularly kicking is against him.
Would have eyed a defensive role but in recruiting Moran and with Bock & Stevens back there as well it's hard to see where his recruitment fills a need.
Is Obst a replacement for Bassett ....no ....so end of story.
Saw Button in the 2006 U18 championships .....was slow and lumbering .......don't think anything has changed.
I like Sam Fairclough ......he's a tough nut who I think can make the grade ......but again how many really small blokes can we have and historically we've stayed away from those types ......would still prefer McNamara over Fairclough, Caire (who I also like and has something to work on) and the Sturt guy.
Ryan Darling started really well and my ears pricked because your always looking for the magic mushroom .......after a few games my opinion is ......bit of a dime a dozen pony with not too many tricks or specialities
Aish has some of Michaels trademark moves which starts you wondering ......best comparison I can think of is Johnson from Geelong who till he got really fit tended to drift in and out.
Happy to sit on the fence with Jesse .......he's certainly got some moves but how much upside is a query that only AFC can answer.
The other player not discussed in phantom drafts is Petrenko .......who IMO is the pick of the small brigade and would be a good late pick battle with McNamara
James_37
7 Nov 2007, 21:59
Played CHF/FF swapping with havelburg, mcintyre started onh him and got a bath, hart went to him and quietened him a bit kicked 3.1 and heaps of pack marks, know the guy and says he really wants another shot...
Thanks for the correction, was recruited as a defender i think so just assumed that was where he was playing, didn't really see him as a forward.
suburban_superstar
7 Nov 2007, 22:31
Tom Carroll lol wtf.
Drummond
8 Nov 2007, 00:16
The guy that has impressed me the most is McNamara from Glenelg ....although he's a clone of Douglas and the thought keeps coming into my head as to whether there's room for two of that smaller stature player.
There are no McNamara's for Glenelg. The only one who's a draft prospect is South Adelaide's Tom McNamara who is a 189cm defender.
Obst .....bad skills was a major issue previously .......yes he can take a grab at SANFL level but IMO skills particularly kicking is against him.
Would have eyed a defensive role but in recruiting Moran and with Bock & Stevens back there as well it's hard to see where his recruitment fills a need.
Is Obst a replacement for Bassett ....no ....so end of story.
You do realise Obst is a key forward? Played in defence quite a bit as a junior but his best football over the past 2 years has been up forward.
BTW, Gill's kicking is worse and we drafted him...
fightingdreamer88
8 Nov 2007, 05:02
When I think of Aish I can't help thinking of Westhoff's rise to Port. I don't recall hearing much about Westhoff tearing the SANFL apart but he had the brain and the skill set and has blossomed (grand final ignore'd) for the Power.
I just think Aish has those similar attributes, that might see him become a good AFL player. Wouldn't be much more than a rookie position I'd offer though.
Wayne's-World
8 Nov 2007, 06:37
There are no McNamara's for Glenelg. The only one who's a draft prospect is South Adelaide's Tom McNamara who is a 189cm defender.
You do realise Obst is a key forward? Played in defence quite a bit as a junior but his best football over the past 2 years has been up forward.
BTW, Gill's kicking is worse and we drafted him...
Then who's the rover #38 ......it's something like the name Mcnamara?
And Obst a forward ......yeah in your dreams ;) ........makes Gill look like Jarman with his kicking
Watched Obst again last night ....no way this guy will get a chnace again with us
#38 for Glenelg is Tom Holmes. Was talked up a bit last year but hasnt really been spoken about this year.
Mardling is only 16 so hes another year from being draftable.
Wayne's-World
8 Nov 2007, 17:52
#38 for Glenelg is Tom Holmes. Was talked up a bit last year but hasnt really been spoken about this year.
Mardling is only 16 so hes another year from being draftable.
Holmes ....McNamara ......pretty close, you can understand how I got mixed up :confused::p
Anyway ....I Like the lad :thumbsu:
Holmes ....McNamara ......pretty close, you can understand how I got mixed up :confused::p
Anyway ....I Like the lad :thumbsu:
:D:D
Hell, anybody would get those 2 names mixed up WW as they're so close!! :p
Of the ones I know in that list training with Port, Salter is the one that looks like he could be a ready made AFL player after a hard pre-season.
I'm pretty sure he'll get drafted - whereabouts in the draft do you think he'll go??
I wouldnt be half surprised if Port picked him up at 15 if all the other big na me forwads have been picked up. Long shot though.
Most likely either of our 2nd round picks.
Markthirtytwo
9 Nov 2007, 07:33
I wouldnt be half surprised if Port picked him up at 15 if all the other big na me forwads have been picked up. Long shot though.
Most likely either of our 2nd round picks.
You have a plethora of forwards now, why would you want another one? :confused:
What plethora of good forwards would that be?
Gold Coast Crow
10 Nov 2007, 11:44
When I think of Aish I can't help thinking of Westhoff's rise to Port. I don't recall hearing much about Westhoff tearing the SANFL apart but he had the brain and the skill set and has blossomed (grand final ignore'd) for the Power.
I just think Aish has those similar attributes, that might see him become a good AFL player. Wouldn't be much more than a rookie position I'd offer though.
I think you'll find he was one of Centrals best players in the year before he got drafted. One of the bright lights in a poor season by Centrals standard losing to the Eagles in the GF. When watching him, we all knew he had the potential to make a name for himself. He is a long way from an AFL regular but well on the way.
Harvelberg didn't play the whole season in the forward line. His first couple of games this year were off half back flank.
As for Obst, he has improved a lot and has his confidence. He is about 200cm and very mobile. If we took a punt on Gill and I for one am not a fan of his, we should give Obst another chance.
James_37
10 Nov 2007, 13:11
I think you'll find he was one of Centrals best players in the year before he got drafted. One of the bright lights in a poor season by Centrals standard losing to the Eagles in the GF. When watching him, we all knew he had the potential to make a name for himself. He is a long way from an AFL regular but well on the way.
Harvelberg didn't play the whole season in the forward line. His first couple of games this year were off half back flank.
As for Obst, he has improved a lot and has his confidence. He is about 200cm and very mobile. If we took a punt on Gill and I for one am not a fan of his, we should give Obst another chance.
Obst is not 200cm, he is about 192cm unless he has grown 8cm in the past year.
WheresGroomgone
10 Nov 2007, 16:43
Tom Carroll lol wtf.
Well he was the world champion of surfing a few times, but at over 40 he may be passed his prime!!!
Asgardian
14 Nov 2007, 17:48
A new list of players with permission to train at AFL clubs has been released, 3 names caught my eye, Mark Johnson at the Roos, Guy Richards at the Tigers & Todd Grima at Port
http://afl.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsId=53228
THE AFL wishes to advise the following unlisted players have been given permission to train with the following AFL clubs, as at today Wednesday November 14. Recent new additions are underlined.
Adelaide - nil
Brisbane Lions - Patrick Garner (Brisbane Lions); William Hamill (Brisbane Lions rookie); Pearce Hanley (Ballanghaderreen, Ireland)
Carlton - Michael Shields (County Cork, Ireland)
Collingwood - Ryan Colbert (Old Xaverians); Kevin Dyas (County Armagh, Ireland); Michael Griffiths (East Fremantle); Daniel Nichols (Collingwood rookie); James Wall (St Kilda rookie)
Essendon - Jarrod Atkinson (Bendigo Bombers); Tim Plumber (Bendigo Bombers)
Fremantle - Kepler Bradley (Essendon); Blake Broadhurst (Subiaco); Clayton Collard (Fremantle); Brad Dalziell (East Fremantle); Ryley Dunn (Fremantle); Kyal Horsley (Subiaco); Calib Mourish (Fremantle)
Geelong - nil
Hawthorn - James Allen (Box Hill Hawks); Luke Barker (Box Hills Hawks); Nathan Batsanis (Port Adelaide rookie); Brett Collins (Hawthorn rookie); Sam Gibson (Hawthorn rookie); Adam Iacobucci (Northern Bullants); Tom Langford (Port Melbourne); Lukas Markovic (Box Hill Hawks); Ben Sharp (West Coast Eagles rookie); Callum Urch (Kangaroos)
Kangaroos - Jarrod Bannister (Northern Bullants); Mark Johnson (Essendon); Brodie Moles (Tasmania Devils); David Trotter (Kangaroos); John Walker (Murray Bushrangers); James Wilsen (St George)
Melbourne - Daniel Hughes (Melbourne rookie); Alister Neville (Coburg); Ashley Sampi (West Coast); Jonathan Simpkin (Sydney); Peter Summers (Sandringham); Shane Valenti (Sandringham)
Port Adelaide - Jesse Aish (Norwood); Lachlan Button (Glenelg); Tom Carroll (South Adelaide); Ryan Darling (Sturt); Aaron Day (Glenelg); Sam Fairclough (Woodville West Torrens); Nathan Grima (Central Districts); Todd Grima (Geelong rookie); Daniel Havelberg (Central Districts); Matthew Jaensch (Sturt); Luke Jarrad (Woodville West Torrens); Scott Luders (West Adelaide); James Moss (Central Districts); Alan Obst (Central Districts); Steve Wenman (West Adelaide)
Richmond - Joe Gazzo (Coburg); Andrew Horne (Coburg); Cam Howat (Richmond rookie); Lachlan McKinnon (Essendon rookie); Darren Pfeiffer (Adelaide); Guy Richards (Collingwood); Jarrod Silvester (Coburg)
St Kilda - Rohan Bail (Mt Gravatt); Michael Barlow (Shepparton United); Ben Woods (Riverview)
Sydney - Brendan Murphy (County Carlow, Ireland); Matt O'Dwyer (Sydney); Jake Orreal (no previous club); Sam Rowe (Sydney)
West Coast - Ashley Thornton (West Coast Eagles rookie); Beau Wilkes (West Coast Eagles rookie)
Western Bulldogs - Cameron Lockwood (Williamstown); Scott Meyer (Williamstown); Liam Picken (Williamstown); Patrick Rose (Williamstown); Ryan Williams (La Trobe)
MickyCrow
14 Nov 2007, 20:51
A new list of players with permission to train at AFL clubs has been released, 3 names caught my eye, Mark Johnson at the Roos, Guy Richards at the Tigers & Todd Grima at Port
Informative little closet crows supporter arent ya ;)
J-Ro-20
15 Nov 2007, 07:54
Adelaide - nil
why does Adelaide have no new players training with them? it cant hurt to have a few training? or are they all at port!
Markthirtytwo
15 Nov 2007, 07:56
why does Adelaide have no new players training with them? it cant hurt to have a few training? or are they all at port!
Does't matter where they train we would still be keeping an eye on them being in one place just makes it that bit easier.
There are two on that list I would be seriously thinking about.
Macca19
15 Nov 2007, 08:04
Yeah doesnt really mean much where they train...except for older guys like Mark Johnson or GUy Richards. The Crows will have their recruiters having a look...just like we did in 04 and 05.
Asgardian
15 Nov 2007, 09:14
Informative little closet crows supporter aren't ya ;)
HA, what a joke
Port currently have the following 14 SANFL players training with them:
I think a few other clubs are thinking about him as well.
johnnypanther
15 Nov 2007, 13:09
I think a few other clubs are thinking about him as well.
good - as long as it aint us that picks him up
macca23
15 Nov 2007, 22:18
good - as long as it aint us that picks him up
You wouldn't even pik him up with our 6th pick at 70 something??
I've seen him a little of him on telly and he does have some talent and mobility with a bit of height.
To Norwood supporters and close SANFL watchers.
Would you take Obst with pick 70 something??
Drummond
15 Nov 2007, 22:30
You wouldn't even pik him up with our 6th pick at 70 something??
I've seen him a little of him on telly and he does have some talent and mobility with a bit of height.
To Norwood supporters and close SANFL watchers.
Would you take Obst with pick 70 something??
Seems johnnypanther has something against Aish. It probably has something to do with how much media attention he receives but it's not his fault, he can't help it. Here’s my thoughts on Aish which I posted on the previous page.
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=9425546&postcount=17
As much as it hurts me to say if I had to pick either Obst or Aish I’d probably go for the former. I just think Obst has a lot of potential, AFL potential. As I said he has excellent speed, aggression and a great leap. He has a few weaknesses and areas for improvement, but there’s a lot to like. Aish is injury prone and although there’s definite potential, I’m not sure if he’s good enough to play at the top level. He could, but I’m not convinced.