View Full Version : The differences between North Melbourne and Hawthorn
Skeppersap
7 Nov 2007, 08:30
1. I honestly could not see 30% of North Melbournes supporters voting to merge or relocate their team out of existance.
2. North Melbourne have won a premiership in the last 16 years.
Im sure there are more, but these ones are very representative of the club cultures.
fishbowl
7 Nov 2007, 08:39
1. I honestly could not see 30% of North Melbournes supporters voting to merge or relocate their team out of existance.
Im sure there are more, but these ones are very representative of the club cultures.
North Melbourne have won more premierships in the last 40 years than Geelong.
Geelong were lucky in a very even year that they hit Port when they were down.
Geelong talks about culture, they have had a culture of losing, choking and homosexuality.
Geelong supporters, just enjoy your premiership and stop trying to find things you are better than us. There are not many things you can find.
You get excited by 1 premiership in 44 years.
Laurie Bingham
7 Nov 2007, 11:26
5 flags ???
$10 m net asset position ???
About 8 - 10,000 members ???
Gilbert_Hodge
7 Nov 2007, 11:31
Waverly Park and Arden Street.
I cant honestly see 30% of Kanagroos supporters buying a membership, let alone fight for their club not to relocate. This has been one of the most low profiled attempts of relocation to date! The Roo fans will get all fired up once the deal is done, and unfortunatly for them it will be too late.
Their own board wouldnt notify their members about the offer the AFL threw at them, they had to rely on their good ol' source...the media :rolleyes:. Maybe a bit to sly for a club that front that they wont be relocating.
Another difference between North and Hawthorn is Hawthorn will be contending in the finals for the next 4 years. All credit due to the Roo boys they are a great team, but its that shinboner spirit that did it for them this year ;) Their backs against the wall, and they love it that way. Next season they'll get more respect and will choke coming into games as favourites.
I believe it was GiantRoo who had a great line to brag about Arden St. facilities. It was something along the lines of "Frankston Rover is just mad that the Roos have better facilities then the Frankston ground" :eek: Wow is that what we have resulted to? Comparing your facilities with FRANKSTON? Dont open your mouth too quick though, Frankston isnt 4 mill in debt, so we could see Frankston leap frog the old Roo boys couldnt we?
Another difference is the AFL isnt pressuring Hawthorn to move any where. You may say "Oh Hawthorn play games in Tassie blah blah". But I would love for someone to quote a statement from Demetriou that ever said he wants to base an AFL club in Tasmania. He has only claimed that Western Sydney and Gold Coast are the next two venues for teams to be based. So the core difference is Kangaroos will be sponsored by U-Haul removalists, and Hawthorn will be staying put.
5 flags ???
$10 m net asset position ???
About 8 - 10,000 members ???
You're selling KFC short, I'm pretty sure Dean Laidley claimed his new bicycle as a company expense :)
Big Ronnie
7 Nov 2007, 18:11
One will be in Victorian in 2010, the other one is the Kangaroos.:o
Skeppersap
7 Nov 2007, 18:14
Considering at the moment Hawthorn are appoximately 30% Tasmanian!
Which, by coincidence, is almost the same percentage of Hawthorn fans who voted to merge themselves out of existance.
What a disgraceful supporter base!
hawks_legends
7 Nov 2007, 18:17
Those 2 points that you gave at the start of the thread have been spoken of heaps of times..we dont need to keep making the same threads everyday so just ***** off mate.
Which, by coincidence, is almost the same percentage of Hawthorn fans who voted to merge themselves out of existance.
It could be worse, we could save our biggest cheer on the GF podium for...Ford :thumbsu:
The Flash
7 Nov 2007, 19:33
Dont be too sure.
The Tasmanian government wouldn't be giving you all this money for nothing, they want the Tasmanian Hawks.
Dont the tv rights end after 2010?
We might be seeing the change after that season.
They might...but the AFL dont :)
The fact that we've got a 20 year contract tieing us down to Waverley Park could also be a potential stumbling block.
The Dees will be long gone before us, I believe they call it economic rationalism :)
SweetLeftFoot
7 Nov 2007, 19:40
One has relocated, one is fighting relocation.
DeeMan27
7 Nov 2007, 19:43
One has very few members, the other has a pack of moron members.
SweetLeftFoot
7 Nov 2007, 19:43
One played a Prelim Final this year ...
DeeMan27
7 Nov 2007, 19:46
One isnt a pack of co.ck chugging gays
NimChief
7 Nov 2007, 19:48
One club is clean...
SweetLeftFoot
7 Nov 2007, 19:48
One club doesn't need injunctions.
Frankston Rover
7 Nov 2007, 19:56
One isnt a pack of co.ck chugging gays
It says NORTH MELBOURNE. Didn't you see the North bit?
One played a Prelim Final this year ...
"Played" is being generous. You turned up but that's about it.
One club is clean...
Have you seen Arden St lately? It looks like Beirut. Not clean at all.
One club doesn't need injunctions.
You could use a fund injection, though. $4,000,000 last I heard.
Thanks for playing, morons.
DeeMan27
7 Nov 2007, 20:07
It says NORTH MELBOURNE. Didn't you see the North bit?
Have to say i only really looked at the word Hawthorn and many inappropriate, buddy orientated images popped into mind. Queers
Frankston Rover
7 Nov 2007, 20:13
Not our fault you have gay thoughts about Buddy.
Control yourself, sonny.
Gilbert_Hodge
7 Nov 2007, 20:35
Who's North Melbourne?
SweetLeftFoot
7 Nov 2007, 20:37
Whos' Hawthorn?
Are they like the Tasmanian Hawks?
Gilbert_Hodge
7 Nov 2007, 20:39
Whos' Hawthorn?
Are they like the Tasmanian Hawks?
Nah there isn't a team based in Tassie. I do know that the Kangaroos are going to be renamed the Gold Coast Kangaroos. Could that be who they're talking about?
Big Ronnie
7 Nov 2007, 20:44
http://blogs.venturacountystar.com/vcs/dennert/archives/money.jpg
and
http://www.starstore.com/acatalog/Simpsons_Donuts-l.jpg
crawf_legend
7 Nov 2007, 20:51
Hawthorn are better than Kangaroos. We have won more premierships on the whole. Pretty much somes it up. Go hawks!
SweetLeftFoot
7 Nov 2007, 21:08
Hawthorn are better than Kangaroos. We have won more premierships on the whole. Pretty much somes it up. Go hawks!
North doesn't instruct matchwinners to keep quiet in key finals.
SweetLeftFoot
7 Nov 2007, 21:09
Nah there isn't a team based in Tassie. I do know that the Kangaroos are going to be renamed the Gold Coast Kangaroos. Could that be who they're talking about?
You've already been re-named the Tasmanian Hawks.
You've lost your fight.
Ours is still going.
Mr Lizard
7 Nov 2007, 21:15
You've lost your fight.
Ours is still going.
Only one club has been flirting with name changes though, Sweetness.
crawf_legend
7 Nov 2007, 21:17
Hawthorn are still better, one game doesnt change anything, especially with a 33 point loss to the Roos.
Gilbert_Hodge
7 Nov 2007, 21:19
You've lost your fight.
Ours is still going.
Last time i looked we were the Hawthorn Hawks. You guys are a dead club. You either move or die and you know that. It's all over for you.
meh 4 games away aint bad :)
caddyhawk
8 Nov 2007, 01:20
gil you should look more frequently
Tassie will never get an AFL club as long as Demetriou and the current commision is in charge. Even if they are somehow force to relocate a club to Tasmania, it wont be a club the tassie public will support like the hawks. They'll just dump the bulldogs or even St.Kilda just to piss them off. In the meantime, 4 telstra doom games -> 4 tassie games = $$$
Collins-Langford-Ayres
8 Nov 2007, 01:25
Why the f_ck is a Geelong supporter doing initiating this post? Are you seriously so deprived of attention that you feel the need to stir up trouble between other clubs?
Pathetic. Get a life loser.
Who :confused:
Mr Lizard
8 Nov 2007, 08:40
Nice.:):thumbsu:
tigers_of_old_08
8 Nov 2007, 09:12
BOTH clubs have produced champions - The Roos have Wayne Carey, Malcolm Blight, Wayne Schimmelbusch, Barry Cable, Glenn Archer, John Longmire, Keith Greig, David Dench, Ross Glendinning etc
and the Hawks produced Leigh Mathews, David Parkin, peter Hudson, Don Scott, Peter Knights, Dermott Brereton, Michael Tuck, Jason Dunstall, Shane Crawford etc
And BOTH clubs have passionate supporters!
The game would be nothing if it were not for the depth of other clubs guys..
DeeMan27
8 Nov 2007, 15:17
Yeh i wonder...?
SweetLeftFoot
14 Nov 2007, 04:16
Nice.:):thumbsu:
True, you have no match-winners, just one streaky forward who likes getting his hands on the PILL but can't perform when it counts.
dipper86
14 Nov 2007, 09:24
One club is clean...
http://img20.imageshack.us/img20/9328/1300950574mdv5.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
Hello Aaron, big weekend ? :)
dipper86
14 Nov 2007, 09:35
Kangaroos are about to die or relocate Hawthorn isn't.
Kangaroos are over 4 million in debt Hawthorn has over 6 million in the bank.
Kangaroos have no assets Hawthorn does.
Kangaroos have under 23,000 members Hawthorn has over 30,000
Kangraoos have no supporters watching them play, Hawthorn does.
Kangaroos are on a drip feed by the AFL Hawthorn isn't.
Kangaroors have less premierships 4 to Hawthorns 9
Kangaroos have more wooden spoons.
:) :thumbsu:
dipper86
14 Nov 2007, 09:51
You've lost your fight.
Ours is still going.
Bahhh wrong answer. Our licence to the Australian Football league says Hawthorn Football club on it, The Kangaroos licence will be renamed the Gold Coast Kangaroos, or if you remain in VIC the club will die and the licence cancelled.
Its a win win, you relocate, your name on the licence will change, you choose to stay and your football club will die and your licence will be erased from existence.
Your football club is dying and a part of you is dying with it.
:) :thumbsu:
Willow_2000
14 Nov 2007, 10:19
No the real difference between the Kangaroos and Hawthorn is that Hawthorn are financially secure with that 15mill they got from that Tassie deal where as the Kangaroos are nearly 5 mill in debt.
ARDENSTREETforever
14 Nov 2007, 10:27
Hawthorn has a drug problem.
North Melbourne do not.
Case closed.
GAMBLER
14 Nov 2007, 10:31
Hawthorn exists, North Melbouorne doesn't...
North Melbourne beat Hawthorn, Hawthorn does not beat North Melbourne.
North Melbourne's jumper is not the colours of sh*t and piss (line stolen from someone else)
GAMBLER
14 Nov 2007, 10:41
North Melbourne beat Hawthorn, Hawthorn does not beat North Melbourne.
North Melbourne's jumper is not the colours of sh*t and piss (line stolen from someone else)
On the 1999 premiership cup the words 'Kangaroos' are engraved.
What's a North Melbourne :confused:
dipper86
14 Nov 2007, 12:28
On the 1999 premiership cup the words 'Kangaroos' are engraved.
What's a North Melbourne :confused:
Even so, Carlton owns a quarter of that premiership :)
Kangaroos 3 and 3/4 premierships Hawthorn 9 premierships.
Bombers 2003
14 Nov 2007, 17:34
the other has a pack of moron members.
it also has al c as coach
Mr Lizard
14 Nov 2007, 17:38
it also has al c as coach
hahahahahahahahaha you're bagging our coach?
hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha
Bombers 2003
14 Nov 2007, 17:38
Hawthorn exists, North Melbouorne doesn't...
You are right North Melbouorne doesnt exist,nor does Melbouorne-south,east,west or any other direction.However the tashawks exist:p
GAMBLER
15 Nov 2007, 11:56
You are right North Melbouorne doesnt exist,nor does Melbouorne-south,east,west or any other direction.However the tashawks exist:p
According to the AFL's ladder last year
Port Adelaide
Kangaroos
Brisbane Lions
W Bulldogs
No TasHawks to be seen :confused:
Keep in mind geelong have pretty much re-located to the TD to survive. Upon completing valuations on all team current financial statements, i'd look out coz geelong, melbourne, and bulldogs are not all that far behind the roos.
Bombers 2003
15 Nov 2007, 17:33
According to the AFL's ladder last year
Port Adelaide
Kangaroos
Brisbane Lions
W Bulldogs
No TasHawks to be seen :confused:
look at the team in 5th place
Anthony_
15 Nov 2007, 22:58
I see Hawthorn...hey who is your coach again?
thatswhatimtalkinabout
16 Nov 2007, 00:04
Too busy laughing at the 'team' in 12th to be honest.
This year Matty Knights has a plan to instill discipline that all players have to polish their own boots, wear their shorts at full mast like the skipper and make some sort of effort to actually get the ball.
CJ is excused.
North Melbourne have won more premierships in the last 40 years than Geelong.
Geelong were lucky in a very even year that they hit Port when they were down.
Geelong talks about culture, they have had a culture of losing, choking and homosexuality.
Geelong supporters, just enjoy your premiership and stop trying to find things you are better than us. There are not many things you can find.
You get excited by 1 premiership in 44 years.
Culture of homosexuality? Who's the player who dances to tracks by Michael Jackson and the like every year during the Player Revue on the Grand Final Footy Show? I'm telling you now it isn't a Geelong player.
Getting back to the topic....
One team was good enough to make the top 4, and did so. The other team was good enough to make top 4, saw they would be playing Geelong in the first final if they did, so shat themselves and finished 5th.
MinerBoy
16 Nov 2007, 08:39
You mean there aren't 3 supporters out there who would vote that way?:eek:
Bombers 2003
16 Nov 2007, 17:35
I see Hawthorn...hey who is your coach again?
Matthew Knights!
just because Rocket and Aker arnt playing drop the soap atm doesnt mean they dont sniff each others arse