View Full Version : QLD U18 SCORPIONS leaders named
keatings_gal
23 Jun 2002, 16:24
it was great to see that 3 out of the 4 Leadership panel are from the South East Queensland Bushrangers.... GO THE BUSHIES!!!!!!
the leaders are:
CAPTAIN - Paul 'nugget' Shelton..... what a ledge!!!!!! i sooooo hope we draft him...... but he is too good to be left for when we get our draft selections...... (BUSHIES)
VICE CAPTAINS
Hayden 'h' Wilson.... superstar.... he is just such so enthusiastic about his footy & that's what we need..... (BUSHIES)
Tim 'TIMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMY' Harders... yay...... he is a medium sized player who can indeed play & if anyone watches that show on channel 10 on saturdays before the game him & nugget were on there with Michelle Cort the lions dietician cooking themselves some grub..... it was good.... (BUSHIES)
& last but certainly not least is
Chris Lambart... he is the biggest by 200000 miles of all the rest of the leaders.... can take a great mark & is very strong..... unfortunatley he is from the Northern Raiders... LOL (RAIDERS)
the bushies do have more players in the team... as you would expect of a team that won the state championships....
Chris 'cc' constable
Matty ' gilesey' Giles (Ledge)
Rory "roars' lake..... mate....
it is great to see nugget lead in the footsteps of Melbourne player and former bushie Brad Miller who was the U18 Captain from last year.....
footyman
24 Jun 2002, 18:03
Can you tell me what you think of Daniel Merrett?
keatings_gal
29 Jun 2002, 10:53
great kid
he sure can mark a ball
& his kicking has been making him very predominant..... we had Simon Northcott as FF but when we moved 'strawb' up there at the last training session i got to he was going very well....
TONY_77
29 Jun 2002, 23:18
http://afl.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=44037 (http://)
keatings_gal
30 Jun 2002, 15:40
thanks Tony mate...
i was just gonna post that....
it was a great game by the boys from what i hear......
GO THE BUSHIES....... we are champs.....roars & timmy & nugget gilesey
& the qld team are the scorpions not the maroons... damn it....
QUEENSLAND 2.4 7.5 12.9 14.12 (96)TASMANIA 2.1 4.3 4.5 5.8 (38) GOALS: Queensland: English 2, Harders 2, Harris 2, Knight 2, Merrett 2, Giles, Hay, Lake, Pardew Tasmania: Crane, Laycock, O’Sign, Shackleton, Thurlow BEST: Queensland Harders, Shelton, MacDonald, English, Harris, Jahnke Tasmania: Shackleton, McCrossen, Robinson
footyman
1 Jul 2002, 00:09
Originally posted by keatings_gal
great kid
he sure can mark a ball
& his kicking has been making him very predominant..... we had Simon Northcott as FF but when we moved 'strawb' up there at the last training session i got to he was going very well....
Thanks. Yeah he's an interesting player for sure and he's good both in the air and below his knees.
You'll be happy on Friday Keatings_gal cos Queensland will win Division 2 of the Championships.
keatings_gal
2 Jul 2002, 20:38
yeah i know buddy....
i knew when i went along to the state championships... which saw the bushies the champs that qld were going to be great this year & they have shown it with great skills...
i was upset to find that we lost to NSW/ACT yesterday.... but we can beat NT.... we've done that before... & i was very proud that day at the gabba.....
are you getting there to the games footyman?
keatings_gal
2 Jul 2002, 20:49
hey guys..... who do u think will get drafted from the scorpions???
i am sure that Nugget (Paul Shelton) & H (Hayden Wilson) will... timmmmmmmmy (Tim Harders) is going so well now which is just at the right time....& joel( Macdonald)... i was upset that he didnt get picked for the lions rookie list this year same with Peter Hay but i am sure that the high level of training they encountered with the lions over the break has helped them alot... they are all just so dedicated... i think that Harro( Mark Harris) is going to be a superstar i am also very excited about Billy English... he is so fast & highly skilled...
i think that strawb (Daniel Merrett) can be moulded into whatever sort of player that is needed from clubs in the future so he would also be high on the priority list. I think that CC (chris Consatable) is also going to be good....
i love rory lake & i know that with a bit of a bulk up that he will be a great player just like his hero... vossy....
keatings_gal
2 Jul 2002, 20:51
although i know that i could go through all the guys in the team & say why i think they should be drafted.... & i know that if i was to go & look at the list now that i woul d have forgotten someone.... so sorry... i may have to post more as they come to mind
footyman
2 Jul 2002, 23:09
are you getting there to the games footyman?
yeah.
they have some impressive players. i guess these are the main ones:
* mark harris is real clever up forward and can kick a good 50m goal, or crumb something and kick it from the boundary
* paul shelton, tim harders & joel macdonald through the midfield have all shown a bit
* peter hay and daniel merrett are the taller players who i've been most impressed with. daniel merrett especially because like you said he can still be moulded into a ruckman or forward.
* rory lake shows a bit but is too young to get drafted this year
they are the ones who i'm most impressed with
keatings_gal
3 Jul 2002, 22:24
yay... so i pick the good ones do i... HAHAHHA
i know they are the greatest.....
i cant wait til they come home & i can see them all again.. i was shattered coz i had to miss their last training session coz i was in longreach.. & i didnt get to go to the Scorpions dinner coz i had to work..... & i had to miss Peter's birthday :(
saw harro's dad down at broadbeach last time we played there & harro had got 5, 5 & 3 in the three lead up games to the championships if i remember correctly.... very proud....
the bushies are having an awards night when the boys get home... so we are all very excited about that.....
footyman
3 Jul 2002, 22:45
Life will be tough for the QLD boys now. After losing the other day, they need to beat NT by a fair margin to win the championships.
The ladder is
TEAM.......................Played.....Wins....Losses....Pts FOR...Pts AG......... %
NTHN TERRITORY........ 2.......... 2.......... 0 ..........205........... 66.....310.6
QUEENSLAND..............2...........1...........1........... .131........... 103.......127.2
So my maths aint that good, but it looks like you have to thrash them to win Division 2.
I tipped QLD ever since I saw them win a Challenge Cup game at Whitten Oval, so I'm hoping they can win as well!
keatings_gal
3 Jul 2002, 23:03
hehehhehe... YAY....
yeah i may have said before i went to the state championships & i was just excited by how great we were shaping up ... then when the team was selected i agreed with most of it... i would have included Brad Box from Palm Beach Currumbin.. he was in the first list... but was dropped... he is kinda like daniel merrett i would say... maybe a little bit more flexible... he has had knee troubles in the past though... so maybe that may be why he wasnt at his best.... i was excited when talking to Harro's momma at coorparoo one cold night at a practice game against my local club morningside.... he didnt get to play in the state championships coz he was really really sick with galandular fever.... poor thing.... is garry Lee still in the squad??? he is short & has sandy short curly hair... he was playing so well for the lions reserves against mayne especially so he was elevated to the team... same with Chris Constable... (CC)... he played so well with us ... but nearlly didnt line up for the scorpions coz he broke his cheek bone...
i could go on forever as to which bushies i reckon should have made it to the QLD team.. i was upset that Stuart Vimpany got dropped though.. & i know that NIck Van Bekkum has worked very hard & should have had the opportunity.....(but i am biased... LOL)
keatings_gal
3 Jul 2002, 23:04
yeah i thought that maybe we were up against it all now... but we can only go out there & have fun & give it our best & that is all that has ever been asked of them....
GOOD LUCK GUYS!!!
footyman
3 Jul 2002, 23:09
is garry Lee still in the squad??? he is short & has sandy short curly hair... he was playing so well for the lions reserves against mayne especially so he was elevated to the team
Yes, but I can't remember him from the game on Saturday. He might've been an emergency for that game. I'll look for him on Friday. He did play in the Challenge Cup lead in match though.
Sounds like you have 'connections' keatings_gal so maybe you can fill us in on who gets the awards at the awards night.
keatings_gal
3 Jul 2002, 23:17
heheh yeah.....
it is only for the bushies.. but i will be proud to post it...
they are the same awards as normal clubs...
B&F
runner up B&F
MOst improved player so on & so forth....
it is for U14, U16 & U18
keatings_gal
3 Jul 2002, 23:24
great to see that some one else cares.....
up here i struggle to find many ppl who follow the championships... ask 90 out of 100 at the gabba & they wouldnt know they were even on...
it is hard to find ppl to come to our ressies .. the brisbane reserves... i nearlly died when i saw that the box hill & essendon game drew a crowd of nearlly 4500 ppl.... we wouldnt even get that on a grand final day... we struggle to get more than us the loyal few who go to all the games we can get to... & training... there isnt many.....
when ppl do see me at the games they all think that i have a brother who plays or something they all think that i am a weirdo coz i just go coz i love footy & love to see what is going on around me...
footyman
3 Jul 2002, 23:37
it's a shame that there is still lack of publicity in queensland with the footy at this level. this week you have about 30 U18 AFL players representing the state as well as trying to impress recruiting scouts to get drafted. and queensland play an exciting brand of footy (you can tell they are my adopted division 2 side - i love watching them play), and probably have 6-8 players who could be considered draftable this year. have the courier mail done a story on the U18 scorpions side?
i'm lucky i live in victoria. the U18 championships are still not overly recognised but the awareness of them seems to be getting better - through fox footy's coverage of them and the success of last year's draft.
i guess for you keatings_gal, you seem to go along and because of the small interest can get a bit closer involvement. you seem to know the players etc anyway. maybe thats a benefit and makes the whole thing more interesting for you.
keatings_gal
4 Jul 2002, 21:25
i love it.....
i love being involved & love to help with any level of footy.. we have been through alot & i know how much these guys have tried.... HAHHA... the COURIER MAIL... HAHAHAHAHA... never.... we are only getting some stuff for the lions in the paper this ytear coz we won the GF last year... now they dont even have the AFLQ results in the paper half weeks..let alone anything about the Championships.....
i only got to know most of the players coz of going along to the state championships the past 2 years & watching the lions reserves games coz we have had most of the guys play for us at least one time if not more.... I hope that i can always have some sort of involvement with AFL at the local levels coz it is where it all begins... i might look for a job with AFLQ one day coz i love it so much...
footyman
5 Jul 2002, 19:42
keatings_gal - a question:
is daniel merrett the son of roger merrett? i'm positive i heard that he was no relation, although could you confirm that for me?
keatings_gal
5 Jul 2002, 21:30
that's right... no relation...
footyman
5 Jul 2002, 21:32
Thanks.
keatings_gal
6 Jul 2002, 22:23
YAY.... our bushies dinner is gonna be like one great big party for Paul Shelton coz he got picked for the All-Australian team...
YAY...BEST OF LUCK NUGGET!!!!