View Full Version : $540,000 Profit.
According to the Herald Sun this Morning the dogs have made a $540,000 profit this year.
Good to see us actually posting profits, a rather rare occurence, also good seeing that we would have also payed off more of the debt this year while still posting a profit. Looks like Rose and Co. have really done some good stuff.
Smorgon said Rose had significantly lifted key areas of the club, including helping post a $540,000 profit this year, and would now be given the chance to leave his imprint on football.
http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,22722149%255E20322,00.html
[quote=incubi;9432610]According to the Herald Sun this Morning the dogs have made a $540,000 profit this.
Good to see us actually posting profits, a rather rare occurence, also good seeing that we would have also payed off more of the debt this year while still posting a profit. Looks like Rose and Co. have really done some good stuff.
Yes, agree well done to everyone who worked so hard to achieve this great result. The challenge is now to use this as a base for sustained improvement especially in light of the horror on field end to 2007 which could slow the 2008 membership campaign.
Dogs Rule
8 Nov 2007, 13:01
[quote=incubi;9432610]According to the Herald Sun this Morning the dogs have made a $540,000 profit this.
Yes, agree well done to everyone who worked so hard to achieve this great result. The challenge is now to use this as a base for sustained improvement especially in light of the horror on field end to 2007 which could slow the 2008membership campaign.
Nice work Dogs.
Let's now wait for the criticism from opposition supporters about it not being a 'real' profit.
According to the Herald Sun this Morning the dogs have made a $540,000 profit this year.
http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,22722149%255E20322,00.html
Rose obviously was holding the aces in the poker showdown with Rocket.
Cyberdoggie
8 Nov 2007, 14:04
[QUOTE=DDog;9432676]
Nice work Dogs.
Let's now wait for the criticism from opposition supporters about it not being a 'real' profit.
it is a great result considering where we came from but technically it's not a profit.
If anything i think it shows that we are much better at running things, and we are striving to improve ourselves financially.
It's great news,
but i'd really like to be self sufficient one day.
It's great news,
That will never happen.
Not unless
We are given a better deal at TD
We are given more Friday night games
We are given games on ANZAC day, Easter Monday, Queens Birthday
We wind back history and enter the competiton at the same time as the original clubs - hence improving our supporter base.
They are not going to happen, and the AFL acknowledges that, and hence we are given assistance.
We made a profit of $540,000 - end of story
[quote=Dogs Rule;9432789]
it is a great result considering where we came from but technically it's not a profit.
If anything i think it shows that we are much better at running things, and we are striving to improve ourselves financially.
It's great news,
Agreed. In simple accounting terms, a profit = revenue - expenses, which tells me if the trading activities the business is engaged in are being successful. That is, the revenue generated by the activity exceeds the costs of running it. A handout is not revenue. A handout disguises whether what we are doing is making a profit.
To grow our revenue, we need to increase our membership significantly and increase revenue streams outside the football club. To decrease expenses we need to eradicate debt (assuming we pay interest on it).
Rose has done a great job, but we remain vulnerable while we depend on the AFL for survival.
Cyberdoggie
8 Nov 2007, 14:44
That will never happen.
Not unless
We wind back history and enter the competiton at the same time as the original clubs - hence improving our supporter base.
They are not going to happen, and the AFL acknowledges that, and hence we are given assistance.
We made a profit of $540,000 - end of story
i understand where your coming from but we've only got ourselves to blame for it. We had a reasonable free to air fixture last year but we blew it with our shamefull second half of the year.
if we win games and become a successfull team on the field we will automatically start getting better tv coverage which means more members and more sponsors which equals more money.
I'm sure all of us here would of never of believed that whitten oval would end up getting the 20odd million dollar upgrade a few years ago. When you think about it, it's an amazing achievement considering the state we were in.
If Whitten oval can get a face lift like that i refuse to believe that the bulldogs will be always be the afl's basket case.
or perhaps it's just this medication i'm on.
That will never happen.
Not unless
Thats rubbish mate. I work closey with shares and have seen companies turn themselves around countless times. Going from absolute dogs to the cash cows they are now. Nothing in this life is impossible.
I have faith in Rose and Co and understand the change cant happen overnight. They are implementing a long term strategy that will hopefully see our survival.
Being on the verge of faster internet speed's via digital and sattelite technology.
The club's with best revenue potential going forward might be the ones who harness web based technology the best for their self promotion.
Our club along with most of the rest could look at giving us members some quality web based production on a members only basis maybe as an upgrade add on to our exsisting membership's.
Maybe for something like an additional $39.95 per annum we could get an enhanced set of player stat's, more in depth injury report, in depth coaches and captains match summary and maybe 15 - 30 min video on the players and training.
Anything along those lines anyway.
wimberga
8 Nov 2007, 17:46
Being on the verge of faster internet speed's via digital and sattelite technology.
The club's with best revenue potential going forward might be the ones who harness web based technology the best for their self promotion.
Our club along with most of the rest could look at giving us members some quality web based production on a members only basis maybe as an upgrade add on to our exsisting membership's.
Maybe for something like an additional $39.95 per annum we could get an enhanced set of player stat's, more in depth injury report, in depth coaches and captains match summary and maybe 15 - 30 min video on the players and training.
Great idea Acker, maybe put that one into the club. I would certainly sign up.
campbell
8 Nov 2007, 17:50
Going in the right direction, well done.
The Coon Dog
8 Nov 2007, 18:09
Sounds like a great idea, just keep Telstra away from running it tho.
If every supporter signs up next year it will go a long way to posting a substancial profit. I worry about the possibility of a merge or a relocation for the dogs in 6-12 years time, if we dont get our act together. If we can't post a profit next year, there is something seriously wrong with us and frankly we wouldnt deserve to be in the AFL.
there is something seriously wrong with us and frankly we wouldnt deserve to be in the AFL.
Dam right. If Brazil(biggest debt) don't start turning a profit then the USA deserves to have it. Same goes for all those pov countries in Africa. Start making money or die.
Yep I should have added definitely DO NOT bolt it on to the 3rd world outback dunny site (current western bulldog's official site) that is linked by 2 cans attached to a dirty old long piece of string, to the pre fab donga that is currently the official AFL site.
I know buying the PMG's old equipment might have seemed like a dood idea at the time. But please.
I'm a Telstra shareholder as well, and Sol's salary and golden parachute doesn't really bother me because the share price is good and the dividends are not bad.
But having Telstra's name involved with the shambles of the AFL official websites does.
the dog catcher
8 Nov 2007, 19:48
The most important thing is to be turning a profic without the hand out by 2010. That is what I think Cam is working towards. Hope they have watched South Side Story.
gangsta deluxe
8 Nov 2007, 19:53
What will Tabcorp get if they sue us?
Could potentially wipe out this tidy little profit
if we dont get our act together. If we can't post a profit next year, there is something seriously wrong with us and frankly we wouldnt deserve to be in the AFL.Thing is though, memberships are going to be down without a doubt next year on the back of this years effort. Even if we start with 3 or 4 wins in a row... membership will only be about 25,000 next year I'd wager.
Hope I'm wrong.
flamethrower
9 Nov 2007, 12:17
Whilst the $540K profit is a very good result, and will help us move towards wiping out all of our debts, there was another figure mentioned in another article that I think is a better indicator of how we are doing financially.
Since 2003 we have increased revenue from $13m to $28m. That allows us to spend more on infrastructure, payroll and debt reduction, which will auger well for the future of our club.
It is unfortunate that last season fell away so badly on the field, because off the field we have never been stronger.
Football is a funny game though. If we win our first few games next year, 2007 will be soon forgotten and we will be back on track towards the ultimate on field success.
www.westernbulldogs.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/4112/Default.aspx?newsId=53105
boydsno1
10 Nov 2007, 10:55
When does our deal at Telstra Dome end? Surely we deserve better.
Dry Rot
10 Nov 2007, 21:22
What if any impact will the redevelopment have on revenue?
OldSchool
10 Nov 2007, 21:35
I believe it's already been factored in and won't hurt too much.
Anthony_
10 Nov 2007, 22:56
But having Telstra's name involved with the shambles of the AFL official websites does.
Yeah Bigpond hosts that shite...and bigpond would have to be the worst ISP.
scooter600x
11 Nov 2007, 09:23
Quite a bit actually.
We have a minor issue with Tabcorp. It looks like our pokies will be out of action for a while and Tabcorp want us to ante up the revenue they will be missing out on.
Quite a bit actually.
We have a minor issue with Tabcorp. It looks like our pokies will be out of action for a while and Tabcorp want us to ante up the revenue they will be missing out on.Greedy buggers. As if they don't already make enough.
gangsta deluxe
11 Nov 2007, 21:56
Quite a bit actually.
We have a minor issue with Tabcorp. It looks like our pokies will be out of action for a while and Tabcorp want us to ante up the revenue they will be missing out on.
To gain the funds to complete the redevelopment we made agreements with certain parties not to have poker machines on site. The redevelopment was sold as something for the community, and to get the funds we needed to agree to remove poker machines, things intrisically opposed to the community. We have a contract with Tabcorp for multiple poker machines on site. We are in a catch 22. If we remove the poker machines Tabcorp can and will sue us. If we dont we are reneging on our agreements with groups(VU etc.) for the funds given to us for the redevelopment.
Either way we are going to lose out:(
gangsta deluxe
11 Nov 2007, 21:58
Greedy buggers. As if they don't already make enough.
damn right they are miserable scum :mad:
scooter600x
11 Nov 2007, 23:15
To gain the funds to complete the redevelopment we made agreements with certain parties not to have poker machines on site. The redevelopment was sold as something for the community, and to get the funds we needed to agree to remove poker machines, things intrisically opposed to the community. We have a contract with Tabcorp for multiple poker machines on site. We are in a catch 22. If we remove the poker machines Tabcorp can and will sue us. If we dont we are reneging on our agreements with groups(VU etc.) for the funds given to us for the redevelopment.
Either way we are going to lose out:(
The pokies will be moved to Edgewater when it is ready and Tabcorp are cool with that and so are the Government.
The only issue is the 2-3 months were there will be no pokies venue for us to use.
damn right they are miserable scum :mad:We'll lose alot of money not having pokies machines at the oval though.
I think maybe for the first couple of years they may not be there, but then once everything settles down a bit they'll sneak em out the back ;)
I won the wildcash down at the kennel earlier this year. Picked up around $600 from memory.
Prince Imperial
12 Nov 2007, 08:13
The pokies will be moved to Edgewater when it is ready
Any further info about this? I haven't heard about this. New suburb and new opportunity no doubt.
scooter600x
12 Nov 2007, 08:59
Any further info about this? I haven't heard about this. New suburb and new opportunity no doubt.
We are building a new social club complex there. It's fairly advanced from what I can gather.
http://www.mvcc.vic.gov.au/calendar/Photos%5CBernard_Saundry.jpg
Dont forget the assistance this guy gave Smorgo and Rose in 2002.
Some may even say if it was not for him we would never have got this result.
Or survived to see this result.
Which ever way you like to look at it.
gangsta deluxe
12 Nov 2007, 09:22
We are building a new social club complex there. It's fairly advanced from what I can gather.
Is the Rising Sun Hotel still derelict?
I havent been to that part of West Footscray(across the bridge) in years. The size of that pub is such that it could easily, and quickly, be turned into a pokies venue. Edgewater sounds great, however if we could buy that pub(wouldnt cost that much either) before the intervening period when we dont have pokies we could actually make more money. We could have a pokies venue near the old site, and have them at edgewater. Whilst I hate pokies I care more about the success of the club, and this would provide a nice stream of revenue.
just a thought lol
Borgsta
12 Nov 2007, 09:56
The worst thing is they dont run it now. They buy it and outsource.